Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Malmen 4 stars

Götgatan 49-51, Södermalm, 102 66 Stockholm, Sweden

#116 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2633 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    It was a very nice time I spent in Stockholm which in part...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are kind of small (the shower is a little bit exaggerated in size), changing that would make it a perfect stay.

    It was a very nice time I spent in Stockholm which in part was due to the hotel. I would definitely recommend people to stay here. Definitely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in the basement. Poor ventilation and the electrical-card-switch was broken. The feel of the room was very "mouldy".

    Location was good. Bathroom was decent. Hotel staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    You pay way too much for what you get and some of the staff are unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with no windows by mistake. Not only the room didn't have any windows, it was also a shoebox. I am claustrophobic and I tried to explain to the evening receptionist and ask her to change the room but she was so emotionless, helpless and uncompassionate.

    Location, breakfast and breakfast staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    An expensive stay in a smelly bunker
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Usually I really like this hotel but this time I got a room in the basement floor that looked like a bunker. There were no windows but I discovered that I had booked a room with no windows. Yet I did not expect to feel like I was in a bunker in this classy hotel. There was an odor in the room aswell. The price for the room was expensive and all I got was a room that could be good in case there was a war and one would need to hide but for a normal hotel stay this was a big deception.

    As always the staff and the lobby and the bars are nice. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    It was very interesting.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The payment should be received online during booking time rather than taking at the hotel. The fluctuation of the exchange rate may be affecting either the payer or the owner of the hotel.

    The character and appropriate support of the workers at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money and location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the summer it is very hot in the rooms and the shower is very small.

    Super good breakfast with amazing opening times 07:00-12:00. Ms. Marina one of the housekeepers was super polite and cleaning was excellent. We had room 208 and it was really modern and nice. Little bit loud in the evenings, but we are in the centre so it is normal. Thanks for a great stay! Kind regards Pierre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was extra ordinary, with a huge range of food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining area was a little bit dark, probably as it also serves as a kind of bar/night club.

    The breakfast was extra ordinary, with a huge range of food, also considering gluten free and other special products.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Superb quality, clean, fresh environment and kind, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable beds, clean laundered sheets, good quality toiletries (no hair conditioner though or body lotion), fabulous shower, interesting book about Stockholm in the room, good choice at breakfast (get there early, can be a mad rush around 09:00). Staff are polite and helpful. Ice machine on each floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Disapointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no airconditioning in the room and it was really hot! No minibar either! I paid 240€ for the room and I was really amazed that those things were missing for that price! I will not recommend this for anyone quite the opposite.

    Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Stay away
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of issues: tiny bathroom, horrible scrambled eggs at breakfast, noisy street and most important.y, a brekdown of the wifi for almost the enrire stay...too expensive for a rather basic, rough hotel which I cannot rate as a 5 star

    The bed was quite comfortable and the breakfast was varied

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for a short stay in Stockholm .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel room was very small for a four night stay . Staff efficient but not friendly .

    The Hotel was ideally located a few minutes walk from family we were visiting. And only a 15 minute walk or two stops Metro to the Old Town. The Hotel put only a great buffet breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.3
    unenjoyable - I come to Stockholm twice a month and will not return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground room in 2nd basement, no windows, poor phone and WiFi connection, shower gel had run out, poor breakfast. Overall terrible value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is worn out. Windows in restaurant broken, couches have holes in its finishing. I was given a room in the basement: no windows, no airco, very basic for a price of almost 200€/night. Reception claimed that I reserved 'a cabin'. I did not and was given a better room after one night. This new room was a standard room. Standard rooms are very small, with a tiny bathroom, but with a nice shower. No minibar. This is certainly not a 4-star hotel.

    All amenities are found outside the hotel: walkable distance to Gamla Stan and Fotografiska. The hotel itself is quick to forget. Reception did its best to make my life better, but could not do anything as the hotel was fully booked because of a conference. See above comments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Its location is very conveniente and the breakfast buffet is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was really too small and the bathroom was really non comfortable with a small tiny sink.

    Its location is very conveniente and the breakfast buffet is superior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.0
    The location was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price, the room was really noisy - I was next to the stairs, on the second floor. On the weekend, music from the club/restaurant kept me awake until about 1 or 2 am. Starting early in the morning and continuing until late, people walking up and down the stairs were also fairly noisy. My recommendation: stay on a higher floor, at the end of a coordinator.

    The location was really nice. The breakfast was good. The room was fine. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Basic but convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basic room meets the price expectation but it’s only when you don’t have a room that having a room with daylight becomes a necessity. Eventhough this room did not include tea making facilities it was brought to my room when requested

    Convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Very central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you confirm with the hotel when you book that you don’t have a room in the basement. These rooms don’t have windows! Although spacious, you don’t want to sleep in a bunker.

    Very central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Going to avoid this place if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from from the bar (mainly the bass) keeps one up during the night. Rooms are a bit unclean and the personnel at the check-in desk seemed quite distracted and unable to give clear instructions when asked questions.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Good choice in stylish Sodermalm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very clean and comfortable, though the decoration seems a little outdated. I think it would just be the case of changing the wallpaper. The gym was a little bit small but still nice to have.

    Nice breakfast and convenient location right above the metro with easy access to the whole city. Located in a stylish district with nice restaurants and bars all within easy walking distance. Nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Modern, comfortable hotel with excellent service and facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Warm welcome from staff and check in was straight forward. Extremely comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent breakfast with wide range of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in staff gave bad impression from the moment of check-in. I arrived late, approx. 22:30. He may think that he was informative, but it came out as "I am the boss. You must beg me to let you stay." The guy need a real customer service training. Breakfast Orange juice was sometimes too diluted.

    Room was nice and clean. Staff were nice and very helpful. The hotel is located in a very convenient location, sitting on top of a subways station, with a lot of restaurants nearby. The bar/coffee shop inside the hotel is nice and cozy. There is a barber shop in the hotel lobby too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Not as good as I would have expected from a Scandic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the hotel certainly wasn't bad, but for being a 4 star hotel Scandic I had expected more. First of all, the temperature of the room was adjustable by using a dial, but it seems it didn't work (or it could have been disabled during the winter) and the temperature ended up around 23°c, which is too hot for sleeping to be comfortable for me. Secondly, I was disappointed by the breakfast. Other Scandic hotels I've been to have had a much better breakfast buffet, such as Scandic Hamar for instance. I found the buffet lacking fruit yoghurt, and the natural yoghurt that was available was very low-fat (and maybe low-lactose?) and didn't taste good. There was also no salmon, sausages and meatballs to name a few things. In my opinion, the hotel lacked a few facilities that I take for granted at a 4 star hotel. For instance, there was no fridge on the room.

    Friendly staff. When I arrived at around 12 o'clock my room was ready and I was allowed to check in at once. I had a double room for single use, and it was big enough for my needs. Separate shampoo and soap for the shower. Comfortable beds. Ecological mindset, like all Scandic hotels. Rooms were very well sound proofed. Hotel is just a few meters away from the metro, allowing easy access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced and not as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a queen size bed. This was not what we were given (a twin) then to a 'queen' sized bed - this was smaller then a double and the room was smaller too. We had no option but to upgrade....... This was a twin too...... tried discussing with receptionist, not sure if she was fobbing me off about the country standards or she didn't care larger room however. Opposite the lifts = bing bing every 5 mins even through the night. Said we could borrow a HDMI cable - 3 days in a row none were available. Temp controller when turned down emitted a bright blue light so couldn't keep the temp we wanted. Cheap metal chair in room with armchair...... conditioner was empty, Road noise on our last night was horrific - some sort of scrapping/ cages??? went on for hours meant we were not rested for our travel home. Breakfast host was not interested, didn't explain how it worked. all in all, for what we paid was far removed from standard of expectation. Would not recommend, would not return.

    Breakfast choice was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Good for a short business trip, but not for a romantic vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms. Really small bathrooms. Didn't like the interior design of my room, looked very depressive.

    Perfect location in the center of Södermalm, next to metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in trendy Soder
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little loud in the evenings from the bars nearby

    Great room and bathroom size for Stockholm, huge breakfast selection, fabulous bar/food. In the middle of a trendy area and not far from main tourist sites!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    A perfect stay at a well situated hotel in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The staff was so nice and friendly. As we are living outside Sweden and the purpose of our stay was Xmas food shopping it was important for us to be able to store the cold storage food in your cold rooms. And this was accepted without any problems and that was sooooo nice !!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for your kind assistance and understanding in this matter ! Breakfast was excellent !!!! I can even say it was a dream. Mmmmmmm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Overall fine, I just wanted a bit of me time and have a nice dinner. The food was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may just have been that the staff usually deals with people that stay at their hotel reguarly, I don't. How am I supposed to know that the bar is separate from the restaurant, especially when the staff tell me to grab my own seat after asking for a menu and if the kitchen is still open? No, the bar/resturant staff could use a little training in making the guest feel not like a burden that does things wrong. If you tell me to find a seat on my own you can't blame me for sitting in the wrong section.

    My stay had the purpose of just relax and I did just that. Nothing stopped me from doing it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, felt super safe there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something for everyone (and plenty!) at breakfast. Staff were really friendly and helpful, arranged early check-in and late check-out. Hotel was quiet and room was very clean and comfortable. Hotel is in a fantastic location, right next to a metro station and within walking distance of Gamla Stan. Hotel bar and restaurant were vibrant and food and drinks were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.6
    The room (queen double) was beautiful and silent, bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold. Bathroom very small.

    The room (queen double) was beautiful and silent, bed was comfy. I got an extra heather after I claimed the coldness in room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.2
    its a RIP-OFF PLACE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very disappointing, extremely small rooms, bathroom size unacceptable, not even a proper sink fits into the room dimensions - had to be mounted as a corner sink... breakfast room, small, super crowdy, typically one shall wait for some time to get a seat...tables are extremely close to each other...crossing the line of privacy. no minibar in the room, if you arrive late, also the hotel bar is closed. Never again, nor even if free of charge!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean, but there were quite many stains on the floor. One of the nightstand lamps was broken. I would wish the hotel staff to pay attention to little things, like saying enjoy your stay when checking in, on breakfast greeting guests little bit better, asking did you enjoy your stay when checking out. Those little things make guests feel that hotel is really caring about guests opinions!

    The athmosphere in hotel was great, location was easily reachable (with public transportation especially tunnelbana), interiors were beautiful. In the rooms there was everything we needed, and breakfast was delicious :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    We were just looking for somewhere to sleep at night and have breakfast and that's what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very busy buffet. Eating Breakfast in what had been the bar the night before. Ask if I could have secure WIFI and was told no. No help or alternative suggestion given by the staff at the front desk.

    Very central, Next to underground. Easy to find. Wide breakfast selection. Not too expensive for Sweden!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was rather small (more like 1.5 person bed, in stead of 2) and the bathroom wasn't too big either.

    Clean room, great location and really, really good breakfast. Also we could checkin around noon and our room was already ready.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    The bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con broken room very hot / asked for an adaptor at reception none available - for 4* I would expect to be able to borrow these type of items

    The bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    I will not recommend scandic malmen
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable bed! Couldn't sleep!!! The room was underground, but this was not mentioned on site. Although the breakfast was very good, the breakfast area had a bad smell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No window in the rooms. Not possible to get a desk to work for 6 nights! Terrible staff assistance in the reception. Worst experience ever in a Scandic Hotel

    location only good thing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    aşırı ulaşım kolaylığı
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A small wardrobe would have been better and more useful instead of ironing table. The breakfast was assorted but a bit over Swedish. Since stockholm is a touristic city a hotel's breakfast must have international taste.

    The subway entrance is right under the hotel. Probably the closest hotel to subway in my life. Hotel is also close to the old city (Gamla Stan) can be walked easily. The room was not big in square metres but it was decorated so cleverly (IKEA ideology!) that it was very comfortable for two people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.0
    If possible, try and find another hotel to stay in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At checking in, it took a long time to find a room. I was allocated a room 2 floors below ground - no window and stank of sweat. I found out that this was not the quality of room I had booked. Couldn't be given correct room (above ground with window) until next day. Got full refund for 1st night, but none of this would have happened without complaint.

    Not a great deal. The bar was okay and the Restaurant was satisfactory, however, they had no black pepper grinder (not even in the kitchens!). I cannot see how this hotel gets a 4 star rating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    This hotel rocked!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower isn't fully enclosed so it soaks the rest of the bathroom. not the end of the world, just a bit annoying. Our room also opened to the street so it was noisy at night with the window open... didn't bother us much though. You can just close the window if you want.

    This hotel rocked! The breakfast was amazing--- so many food options! It was a huge buffet! The room was clean and very cool looking. It wasn't big, but we didn't care much. The location can't be beat-- it's literally right outside of the metro (T) station and it a fun neighborbood. There's a hopping bar inside the hotel, which is fun. The front desk people were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was great and the location is spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer didn't work, I was given single duvets for a double bed and I was flat refused a double duvet. There was a curtain covering a hole in the wall and there were no little perks in the room. Did the job, wasn't a 4* experience.

    The breakfast was great and the location is spot on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.6
    Not coming back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the first time ever, I was placed in a basement room. No window, no phone connection and a bad wifi connection. And the price was way too high for a room like this. I will never come back The day after, I asked the staff to ring a taxi - that was apparantly not possible, since it was raining in Stockholm. So I was left to my self to get from the hotel to the airport... no help at all. Had to walk 3km to the train station to catch a train to the airport

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    my experience of finding stockholm pleasurable was greatly dissipated due to sleep deprivation becau
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    very, very noisy from street; asked for different room, and was met with snarky attitude, even though our stay was for 11 nights

    nice breakfast, great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Good place to stay if you're looking for a night out but not if you want to sleep in peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled a little funny upon arrival but eventually cleared up. Noise from cars in the street was very audible even on the 6th (top) floor. Also, the noise from the elevator bell dinging every two seconds was rather annoying as we could hear it from our room with the door closed. At night, some noise was going on for ages, it might have been a car outside or it could have been the bass from the party in the bar downstairs.

    Breakfast was awesome. Bed was nice and big. Decor was really cool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Hip hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very small for a couple and room was quite stuffy (this was cheaper room though - I think larger rooms are available for a higher price)

    Location great for exploring hip sofo area and also close to old town and other main sights. Good breakfast. Good busy vibe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Centrally located in Soderlman and busy and eclectic surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better tourist info display

    Central location, large and extensive breakfast buffet, free bike rental, Comfort and amenities despite having a small bedroom without window in 2nd basement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.3
    Terrible service and tiny bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was woken up at 8am by male cleaning staff standing in my room. Asked him to leave and come back later but he refused to come back so our room did not get cleaned. We booked this room because it had a 'queen sized bed', however it turned out to be tiny, smaller than a normal double. Presume this is Swedish bed sizes but room info online was misleading. Room also tiny and extremely cramped, barely room to walk round the bed. Would not stay here again.

    Location good and nice breakfast buffet, but not enough to make up for all the negatives.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    We would go back but maybe select a superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had reserved a queen size bed, and we got one, except that the light mattress on top of the bed was about 6 inches narrower than the bed, and the duvet cover was even narrower. We had to request a second duvet cover to cover both of us. We got one but the staff removed it before the last night. Also, there is no hair conditionner in the bathroom. The room was quite hot. There is not a real control on heat. The window could be opened but there was noise from the bars downstairs, and other noise, so we had to close it. There is a very popular bar at the first floor, so it's better to request a room on an upper floor. The area around the hotel is rather for young people.

    Great location to visit Stockholm; there is a metro station just besides the hotel, three stops from the Central train station. The breakfast is excellent. The room is large enough and the bathroom is modern and well designed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    The cabin rooms are great for getting some sleep or some business done.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's rather crowded at breakfast.

    Last summer when I stayed in one of the cabin-rooms it was aweful hot. This time the airconditioning worked much better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Crowded and unpersonal, but with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast area was dirty (carpet, tables) and too crowded (even at the suggested better time before the "rush hour"). At night it is used as a bar and is also packed with people. Staff at front desk was professional, but didn't seem to want to be really helpful. The room was without a window (which we knew), but they didn't make any effort to brighten it up with better light.

    Good location. Good variety at breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location but would choose a different hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small no coffee or tea facilities, bathroom basically a box wet room with not much space, a large person would have difficulties, step up to the bathroom, shower thermostat difficult to control mostly too hot. - and this was supposed to be the queen style room. One grade up from the basic. Worst part of the hotel was the fact it was cashless, which basically means just that - the bar or even to get a cup of coffee you need a credit or debit card, no good if you are a tourist with exchange rates and commission charges to think of, we got caught out when we wanted a cup of tea, and a wine not realising this and it was only thanks to a very kind gentleman that our embarrassment was saved. We did not bother drinking there again. If it had not been for the included breakfast we would have been stuck.

    Breakfast was excellent incredible amount of choice all you could eat buffet style, location next to underground and 10-15 min walk to Gamla Stan and ferries. Room had a safe, always a bonus, Plenty of people around as it is a busy area and our room was on the 4th floor so noise was not an issue, bed was fairly comfortable, staff pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location, cramped rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    On my second day, when I returned at 5.45 p.m. or so the room had not been serviced. I had to phone Reception twice before a houseman came to clean and straighten it up. Breakfast food hall has been reduced in size than in years before and there is only one two-slot toaster which you had to hunt for by the gluten-free bar, and stand by it while it toasted the bread. If you are there alone, the haphazard seating at breakfast is a problem as, when you return to the food hall for a second course, your first course could be cleared away and other people are already seated at your table! The Queen rooms are OK for single people but not good for couples - not enough space to move or storage space for clothes. Also, the wet room is very cramped, 5 ft. x 5 ft. with a toilet, wash hand basin in front of the toilet (difficult!) and the shower. Don't have a windowless basement room as it is just above the Tunnelbana station! On preparation for departure, I ordered at taxi for a specific time and it didn't arrive. On enquiry at Reception they said it hadn't been ordered and had to re-order it. Not good for those rushing for trains, planes etc., especially at morning or evening rush-hours.

    Good location, just above the Tunnelbana station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    The place of the hotel perfect if you want to stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place of the hotel perfect if you want to stay in Södermalm. Still short walk to Gamla Stan and city. Nice rooms and clean. My favorit hotel in Södermalm and Stockholm. Seija and Gavin.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Avoid Scandic Malmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff refused to allow us early check-in although other guests were checked in ahead of time by droves. Meantime, travel partner dozed in lobby. Purse was stolen containing passport, credit card and much needed medication. Staff did little to help. Provided wrong address to police station and also stated that police report had to be obtained in person. Found that trip to police station was unnecessary. All in all a miserable experience after two days of trying to assemble required info for passport replacement and medication replacement. Not to mention loss of expensive leather purse.

    Conviently located. Snacks for sale in lobby. That's basically it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.3
    Poor expérience compared to my overall expérienc of Booking.com ( mor than à hundred )
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain from the washbasin was diconnected and water flooded the floor. Minimalist modernity is not an excuse for the depressing look of the room and junk furniture..Nothing in the Hotel advertisement let us know we would face à nightmarish rock style mural when lying in bed. The only thing good in the two rooms we had were the mattresses.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the windowless room to avoid being woken up by sunlight or noise from the street. But there were some fluorescent fixtures in the room which produced light so it was not all that dark. The airconditioning was noisy and there was no way of switching it off.

    Breakfast was nice. Even though our room had no window it did not feel claustrophobic. Right next to the metro station and close to bus stops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Good place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel with view but ok I am not queen Elizabeth neither.

    Very good breakfast, very good location, quite room on6th floor, nice staff as everywhere in Sweden, good bar downstairs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    fantastic stay in stockholm! bring earplugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so. loud. the room was very warm and A/C wasn't available this early in the summer season. our window was open the entire trip so the street noise was incessant. we usually had a break from the noise after 4 AM. they did provide a fan for us, but it would have had to sound like a jet engine to drown out the street.

    the location couldn't be beat! loved the neighborhood and the ease of access to public transportation. also, the bartenders were great. delicious cocktails!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Top hotel for a weekend to visit city life of Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar is crowded just like any other good bar in Stockholm so you'll have to have a bit of patience :-)

    Nice hotel in a good location in Stockholm next to the metro station and a good parking garage close by which isn't expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    I booked a twin bed but got a double bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a twin bed but got a double bed! Apart from that property is convenient located in the heart of Södermalm, great location. Boozy scene at the ground level as there are three busy bars. You might walk into drunk people in lobby/lifts who were seen making a public areas a bit messy and untidy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice home base to explore Stockholm from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we were on the first floor and above the bar, opening the window was not an option because of noise, cigarette smoke and the taxis below. Regardless, the overall experience was good and I am sure we will visit again.

    All in all, this is an excellent hotel to explore Stockholm from. The subway station is right around the corner and many of the sights of the city can be reached in under half an hour. The hotel has a nice bar with a pricy but good selection, which is frequented also by external guests. Our room was in the most simple above-ground room category, which was functional and entirely sufficient for our needs. The breakfast was good, although seating was limited on the very tourist-heavy weekend that we visited on.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location but avoid stay on Friday night.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no closet to keep our clothes except hanging on the hangers and in our suitecase. Music from bars on the ground floor was quite noisy on Friday night into early morning, eventhough we were on three floor up.

    Domestic staff were friendly and good. Convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    A lovely week at Scandic Malmen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service was very good. The breakfast super. All was wonderful. We hope to come back one day. We even received sandwiches at 4.00 in the morning to take with us to the flight.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excelent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was rich and amazing, they had everything for everyone. Location was great - walking distance from the Old town and the center. A lot of shops and restaurants around, and the bar in the Hotel is one of the most famous ones in Sodermalm so it was always full.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    break with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast room was small and can get very busy at peak times

    the main food menu was good , breakfast plenty of selection . room was a good size and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Good for young couples/friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We swapped rooms as our original room was on the first floor and horribly loud at night from the bar downstairs. After not sleeping until 3am I asked to swap and they kindly put me in a nicer room immediately.

    Good breakfast, comfortable bed. The updated rooms were nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of love to the staff for being so friendly and helpful to my father during that day of chaos. As a native 08 - I can say that the location can't be beat. The bar and restaurant is always hopping and a fun place to be on a Friday/Saturday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Bra läge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frukosten var i samma utrymme som bar och nattklubb. Inget personligt bemötande av receptionspersonalen. Fanns även en smutsig handduk i rummet

    Bra läge! Nära till parkering.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.1
    Great bar and location but poor gym and no company invoicing facilities (like adding VAT)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym is just too poor in equipment. For a business travel, they do not allow to create an invoice with your company VAT and other details.

    Location and bar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    PERFECT PLACE . I LOVE SCANDIC MALMEN HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The house keeping team does not speak English .this is the only challenge that we had but all the rest was PERFECT.

    Very nice service.very nice and clean hotel ,close to many restaurant and shops. everything was perfect and the breakfast was very good . For sure in will come back and i will recommend the placed to many peoplei love Scandic malmen hotel.best place where you can can

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.8
    Mattress was soft but the duvet was divine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in the bedrooms would have been much appreciated, rather than having to go down to the lobby to get hot water.

    Mattress was soft but the duvet was divine. The buffet breakfast spread was generous and offered good variety.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Visit Stockholm, Stay at Scandic Malmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water runs out of the shower because it is not fully enclosed. But maybe I'm just messy??

    I enjoyed the restaurant downstairs, and the breakfast. Nice bar/club across from the lobby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No electric kettle nor microwave oven would be a problem for budget traveler. However, the staff do tried their best to get me a kettle, appreciated. A bit noisy as there is a bar at the G/F of the hotel when I stay at the 4/F.

    great location just near the metro, and close to super market. 3 stations away from the central station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Very strategic location
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small and there is a central climate system not personal one (Tourists come from different countries and they are not all used to same room temperature). However in case of temperature change request they would play a little with climate system

    Location is very strategic. Most of the important places can be reached by walking. Staff was also very kind and helpful. Rooms were clean, in case of cleaning request they would immediately clean the room. Restaurant where breakfast took place was a quite and comfortable one

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    I certainly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was extremely thin as well as pillows. I assumed due to being a budget hotel. Beware for the noise if you are staying at first floor. Rooms are a bit small, no place to open luggage, but it wasn't a problem. There was no mini bar and no room service, weird.

    Breakfast was really good and extensive. There was an iron and a big board in that small room, unexpected :) Metro, bus stops, restaurants everything was conveniently close. The ambiance when you enter the hotel is really vivid. Bar, lounge are was really nice and alive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Malmen is very nice hotel- great location (there is a metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could add minibars to the standard rooms.

    Malmen is very nice hotel- great location (there is a metro station just out of the hotel and all the main sights are on walking distance), nice staff and really good breakfast. I was on the upper floors and it wasn't noisy at all.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: