Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Scandic Mölndal This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Barnhemsgatan 23, 431 31 Mölndal, Sweden

#2 of 4 hotels in Mölndal

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 642 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.3
    Good for overnight stay close to Gothenburg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    In Molndal centre with choice of restaurants and small shops. Tram terminus and railway station close by. Short journey to Gothenburg. Lots of development in Molndal centre - good for the future with more shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Great for a family with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surrounding road work and construction make it a little challenging navigating the immediate surrounds.

    It’s the second time we’ve stayed here, and both times we’ve been very happy with the hotel and our experience there. The hotel it quiet, clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. It’s perfect for our needs as a family with young children, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    3.8
    I didnt like it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is very far from the city centre and it is almost 30 minutes by tram that you have to buy a ticket in each and every trip. I didnt like it becuase i booked the hotel via Booking.com and charges were taken directly from my credit card and again ghe hotel charged me for the stay.

    I didnt like it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking price was mentioned to be 50 SKR. But when we then showed up, we had to pay 160 SKR for in-door parking (which was pictured), and we could get a parking space in the back outside for 50 SKR.

    Breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent choice for travelers with a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really. Ok, if checking out early You have to wait a minute for the receptionist since reception doesn't have a dedicated staff during the night but then this is not a 5 star hotel.

    Great location for people travelling by car, cheap onsite parking. Breakfast was excellent, good selection and great quality. Everything was clean, friendly staff. Rooms were quiet. Family room has an extra bunk bed for two people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    8.8
    Delicious breakfast, nice Italian style restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bottle of mineral water in the room would be a nice welcome drink.

    Delicious breakfast, nice Italian style restaurant. Very good a handy location, easy to reach from motorway. Quiet rooms to sleep in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    5.8
    A little bit ”poor” furnituring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite.

    A little bit ”poor” furnituring. Without carpets it is cold to walk at the floor. There should be some textile-shoes for all guests in the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    8.3
    great hotel for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms with small amount of daylight - windows directed to inside of hotel made rooms dark while at the same time during evening lamp from hall was annoying

    comfortable bed and very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    9.2
    Good choice for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit out of town but tram station is 2 min walk away.

    I travelled alone and stayed in the family room so it was quite big for myself, but could be tight for a family of 3-4 persons. The breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    8.3
    The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had two single beds pushed together in our room, would have preferred a double bed. I would have liked tea/coffee in the room although it was available in the lobby.

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Choices for breakfast were good, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    2.5
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is very expensive Sek 165,- in the parking garage, which we had to as there was no parking available. The breakfast staff could not supply enough dishes and spoons. It smells in the bathroom Old and worn out hotel Not a 4 star hotel, the far worst Scandic I stayed in so far

    Nothing really

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Rooms are quite beatiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are quite beatiful. Breakfast is No.10 and hotel staffs were very helpful. I strongly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.3
    Fin service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At man ikke kan slukke for aircondition

    Fin service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly cozy industrial design.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surprisingly cozy industrial design. I liked a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    10
    Always a good stay at a Scandic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold and no way of turning up the heat

    Size of the room and facility’s

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel near the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast choices. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location,

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    5.8
    Bathroom was not clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not clean!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    5.0
    Somewhat below average for hotels in this price bracket. I will not use them again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the floor in the room could have done with a mop

    Decent break fast and a comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.1
    Uninformed ongoing renovations
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uninformed ongoing renovations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    Nejdou otevírat okna.
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nejdou otevírat okna. Non e possibile aprire le finestre. Is not possible open the window. There is only ventilation. No fresh air.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.2
    Great newly renovated bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great newly renovated bedrooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    5.0
    ok for 1 night stay over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was very small and really basic

    people were friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    9.6
    Nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice staff. Good room, comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    6.7
    A nice hotel with a few minor issues to address.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple details which they forgot about:- - No plug in the wash basin. - Tissue box was empty too.

    Airy, contemporary hotel. Burger was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2016

    7.5
    Budget and it shows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna out of order. Room cold

    Location. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    6.3
    The staff are good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location

    The staff are good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    10
    Molndal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay to visit Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel design, nice spa open till 10pm and large breakfast buffet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    9.2
    Location, staff and breakfast where excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price room little bit expensive for family with kids.

    Location, staff and breakfast where excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking should be free.

    Close to tram stop for the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2016

    7.1
    Reception and waitresses very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A High price and a lot of construction work in the neberhood.

    Reception and waitresses very friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    9.2
    Quiet room, high ceiling and huge windows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Quiet room, high ceiling and huge windows. Due to very delayed flight I only had 7 hours in the hotel. Breakfast was varied and tasty. The welcome by the staff was just what I needed and all was efficient and friendly.

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2016

    4.2
    Nothing much I liked.
    • Family with young children

    Long waiting in reception... Same incheck, same outcheck... Lost the time... Exactly in the morning... Was hurry to competition and was pushed to stand in long road to reception. I saw 3 or 4 tables in reception, so question is why only one girl was working, why not 3 or 4???? And parkering!!!! Far from entrence, no place...felt like personal was laughing at us... Got the parkering's paper, but there were no place there!!!!!

    Nothing much I liked.... Just remember how longwere standing in the road to reception and after trying to find place in parkering which was full up. So I tried to leave the car in snow and got damaged it... So, nothing good I remember....

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2015

    5.8
    Buffet breakfast was great (extensive hot and cold food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely uncomfortable pillows (couldn't sleep all night), Very expensive drinks at the bar (charged €18 for two glasses of house wine!), Very basic decor and facilities so certainly not a 4 star hotel!

    Buffet breakfast was great (extensive hot and cold food selection), Hotel was clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    5.4
    Nice breakfast, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Next to a large buildingsite. Didn't feel totally comfortable going to and from carparking area at night. They charged me for parking although it was originaly stated free. Not very nice bathroom.

    Nice breakfast, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    8.3
    We were directed to a public parking some distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were directed to a public parking some distance from the hotel, because all slots belonging to the hotel were taken, although we have specifically asked for parking place close to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2015

    8.3
    We stayed at this hotel twice in one week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at this hotel twice in one week. The first day when we checked in the door was faulty on our room but we had to go and visited family. When we returned the staff had moved us to a gorgeous suite for the same price! We had a free bottle of wine too. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2015

    10
    The breakfasts were outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Just the road work outside and the challenge parking . It was beyond your control, we understand.

    The breakfasts were outstanding! The rooms and desk service also outstanding.

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2015

    5.4
    Leaving
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Waited to long at checkin desk while the women were on the phone. Didn't even awknowledge me. Asked for a double. Got two singles. Breakfast was a sorrow affair.

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2015

    7.5
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I arrived late (9.30pm) with my wife and 2 young children (5 & 3) after driving and flying for 13hrs. The room was small and upon trying to go to sleep I realised the bar downstairs in the hotel was playing loud music with deep bass that made it difficult to sleep. It went until midnight. I was not happy.

    The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful when I left my ipad on the plane...
    • Solo traveler

    The staff were very helpful when I left my ipad on the plane they sorted it out for me and I got it back .The staff were also friendly .Breakfast very good .

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds a bit too hard, and room on inside could not get dark due to light from the lobby (curtains did not close completely)

    Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2015

    8.3
    Lower price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lower price

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2015

    8.3
    Buffet breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is building work being carried out next door but it just looks unsightly.

    Buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    6.7
    it was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    small room with old fashioned decor. also no windows to speak of and dark.

    it was clean

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    7.9
    Very helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to say negative

    Very helpfull staff. Hotel is not far away from Liseberg amusement park.

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2015

    7.5
    Bra valuta for pengene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bra valuta for pengene. Enkelt å komme seg til Gøteborg sentrum.

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2015

    5.4
    The restaurant had not the cooking and service capacity...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The restaurant had not the cooking and service capacity needed.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: