Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Rubinen 4 stars

Kungsportsavenyn 24, Centrum, 411 36 Gothenburg, Sweden

#44 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2696 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are not any minibar or kettle in the room

    Breakfast was excellent with lots of choises. Hotels location is in the center of city and at the walking distance from everywhere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really tiny room Service at the roof top bar not very friendly Parking was quite expensive and dirty We were promised a room with a nice view and in front of our window was just the next house wall

    Really close to the city center and nice looking lobby. Breakfast was okay, but nothing exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously small twin room with ridiculously narrow and short beds for this price. No AC. The interior is all run down and in desperate need of repairs. In the communal areas, every single window, mirror, and flat surface such as an elevator door is stained with streaks. I felt dirty walking around in the hotel.

    Good breakfast. Central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy place. I don't think this place is suitable for you if you are travelling for work. All the nights were super noisy because of traffic, people, and loud music even at late night.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm (warm summer day) and we couldn't really keep the windows open during night as we faced the busy "Avenyn" with loud (party) voices and trams. The room is also very small and old but OK.

    Simple hotel with great location. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a mini-bar/ fridge, and a bathtub in the room (superior, with view)

    Very helpful staff, especially at the second floor restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    English literature ; guide to Got.Berg.

    good but crowded, breakfast. no English language papers. excellent staff who take a genuine interest in customers. I got to know many of them due to the length of my stay. Excellent view and service from the roof spoilt by some racauss holiday makers. Swift attention paid to any requests. Book your taxi well in advance (not a hotel problem but a taxi one). Be aware that Sweden leads the EU in settling expenditure by credit cards!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Or room was very small (11sqm) and definitely needs to be renovated. Bed is tiny for two people and linen are not meant to be used by two. This room was definitely not worth the money. Breakfast area was not cleaned up for days.

    Gluten and lactose free breakfast option available. They even have a toaster for gf bread only!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms, the noise whether from the ground floor bar or from the elevator We initially got room 525 which was apparently an economy room with a very narrow bed We went back to reception and they proposed, for a supplement of 200 SKR room 329 which was bigger and with a wider bed we went out for dinner and came back around 11:00pm at 12:00am, the room was so noisy, above the ground floor bar, with poor noise insulation, and with one of the evevators malfunctionnig that we had to go back to reception to ask for another room. We were this time given room 420 whihc was smaller but quieter at check out i refused to pay the supplement whic the person at reception agreed to immediately.

    location and roof bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was terrable, my room was old and badly need to be fixed. Also peoble not staying at the hotel are going to the roof top bar are using same elavator as guest.

    Location at the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with a doublebed, but got a a 3/4 bed. There was a terrible smell in the lobby the whole week. We payed nearly 2000,- for parking at the place recommended by the hotel and our car got robbed. We chose to leave one day earlier because of all this, but didn’t recieve any refund or a i’m sorry to hear. The standard of the room was very low compared to the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and especially the bed felt much smaller than described in pictures (even though only economy double). Not recommend this room type as too small. Bike deposits can only be made in cash not by blocking amount on credit card. Rooms could do with an overhaul. Shower drain let water into drain in middle of bathroom floor, resulting in water getting everywhere. Wallpaper becoming undone on some spots and sheets overused (seam ripped open here and there) No airconditioning which is why we had to sleep with open window letting a lot of noise from the Main Street in. Main Street is filled with bars and clubs making a lot of noise and was packed on Friday night. Roof top was not accessible on Sunday afternoon/evening. Rooftop bar understandably not open on Sunday but also rooftop itself not open which is a shame because the whole city seems in sleep mode on a Sunday and not many places to visit.

    Staff was super nice, friendly and very helpful. First night in our room facing the Main Street was pretty bad and loud because it was Friday night, it was very warm without air conditioning and we had to sleep with an open window. However, it was possible for us to change to a room facing the back yard which was much quieter. Got a few Tipps on public transport and how to use the hotel’s two bikes free of charge (only cash deposit required). Breakfast was very good although crowded but not hectic and a good variety of foods with typical Swedish dishes and lots of fruit. Again staff were quick with tidiying up and providing food quickly to the buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed two nights requested a quiet room. Fri morning, Extremely noisy from the steet in the morning. Sat night very loud from street and then the gym from 6am. Rooms below standard, not clean, dull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great hotel. The rooms are great, very comfortable and with lots of natural light. The hotel is located in a great area and it has great services. The breakfast is excellent and both the Ruby bar downstairs and the rooftop bar are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is a little small,poor interior decoration, always a little noisy outside so that i had to wear my earplugs at night to get a good sleep.

    Excellent location! Reception is kindly and breakfast is hearty and delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a big queue for the elevator when we arrived at 5pm on a Friday as there is a rooftop bar that shares the lift so we waited about 15mins for a lift to our floor

    Amazing breakfast buffets, really central and close to tram and bus stop but you don't even need it as you walk to central quickly. Lots of nice restaurants and bars around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room - you were expected to go down to reception and pay for a cup if you wanted a hot drink! Not a big deal but even budget hotel chains provide teabags and mugs in the room.

    The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice and was very tasty. My room was nicely decorated, and I liked the theme of each room having a plaque describing something red, it was interesting to see all the rooms along my hallway. Room was comfortable, quiet, and a nice size, with a good view from the window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be finished better

    Cool bar area with very helpful and pleasant bar staff- excellent breakfast, great choice and delecious and a very central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt like second hand guests in the reception due to the fact that we had booked a standard room.

    The room needed repair urgently, some painting for ex. It should have been made clear that standard rooms are unsuitable if you have s slight disability. The toilet was very low for ex. The breakfirst was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly shabby. One side of double bed against wall. A light in bathroom not working. Angle of TV meant that difficult to watch in bed. Restaurant closed on Sunday

    Very central location. Excellent and friendly staff and service. Clean. Breakfast excellent. Fast lifts/elevators

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room I had was rubbish, found hair in the shower and the varnish on the walls and toilet would peel off - can't believe they refurbished this property in 2014. I asked for another room but here it was the same; peeled off walls, stains in the sheets and I found again a hair in the shower, this is defo not 4 stars..

    nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the safe wasn't working, so we had to wait about 20 minutes for someone to come and fix it.

    The staff were super friendly, the room was lovely with a cool view over the street outside. The location was excellent, great to take any tram or walk. Breakfast buffet was really great, loads of fresh bread, fruit, cheese & cooked foods freshly prepared.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no bath in the room, only a shower

    Very nice hotel along the central boulevard of Goteborg. Large breakfast buffet with a large variety of hot and col items. Room was spacious, clean and had bunk beds for our children, as requested. Staff was helpful by printing the boarding passes. Hotels is located close to tramstop and easy acces with Flygbussarma airport bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Fridge - although I did have a balcony room, so - being winter - could chill water, juices, etc outside. The room was small and quite cozy in decoration, but not well designed in terms of layout. There was no designated decking area, there was a round table but it was really awkward to work on! The car parking was reasonably convenient being in the street next door ... but it wasn't secure!

    The central location. The restaurant / bar area was also quite funky in appearance and had a nice atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had single beds which were narrow and were given single quilts, a bit mean as they were adequate really for children not adults. When we asked for double or larger quilts they refused our request as these were given to to more expensive rooms. Our room WAS expensive £100 per night so unacceptable response!

    Amazing breakfast. Banquet describes it well!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room need some renovations: the mattress was sinking in the middle, the floor and walls were stained. Keep in mind that its rated as a 4* hotel...but the overall conditions of the room didnt match a 4*. The toilleterie products didnt match a 4* eighter: no air conditioner neighter body lotion were available.

    Good location. Good wi-fi. The room had a good size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very good positioned in the city.However, I have stayed with this hotelline for many years. Throughout the years a change of ownership has made this hotelline arrogant. Not a very good breakfast to start with,,small tiny rooms with resemblance of a walk in closet. This was the last time with Scandic after more than 25years in work/private and I thats my advice to others.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in great need of refreshing. There were plastered, mended holes in the walls that had not been repainted over, paint was flaking off the radiators, furniture was outdated.

    Great breakfast buffé with an excellent varieté of choices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with a view over a corridor, extremely crowded breakfast, bad air in room, some wear and tear in room.

    Nice location, close to central area of town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room

    The room we ordered was not what we got. The room was very old, cramped and had no window. Crazy to think a hotel can advertise a room with no natural light. Very poor I would rate this. The hotel blamed booking.com. We got an upgrade the second night after complaining but this was to a room...with a window. This is not what I consider an upgrade. I never wanted an upgrade, just the room we ordered. Staff were friendly but were very little help. They mostly just blamed booking.com. Stay clear of this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a decent place, in line with most other 4 star hotels in central Gothenburg - nothing special. They don't go the extra mile. The first night they forgot to empty the rubbish and the breakfast wasn't particularly clean/tidy at 9am (served until 10am on weekdays). The bar is very noise being on the Avenue so don't expect a quiet glass of wine in the hotel bar, on the other hand, do expect a lively and nice atmosphere if you're plan is to go out (be it mid-week or a Friday).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired and tatty. Beds were very average. Bathroom not the cleanest. Very busy hotel felt it needed decorating and upgrading.

    Good breakfast. Bar was good and lively.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though I received an upgrade, the decor in the room was tired, some tiles were missing in the bathroom. Ok but not great.

    Good breakfast with lots of choice, friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared to other 4-stars hotels this one does not deserve a star. Although the receptionist was nice, but the rest of our experience was not good. The breakfast chef did not even know what meat was in the hot dogs and meat balls, and did not even cared to check. The breakfast serving was messy and unorganized. The cleaning staff did not change the towels, instead folded them together and put back on the rack. The windows are not sound isolated and it was impossible to get some sleep because of all the noises from the outside. Big disappointment to be a 4-star hotel.

    Fresh bread.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No windows in the room, not possible to have a bit of fresh air. Parking agreement in the parking house is expensive! (even if cheaper than paying directly there).

    Family room was ok but a bit small for 2 adults and 2 kids. Would be great to have the option of a bigger room (or 1 big room with a "living room" separated). Very quiet. Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken furniture, sink does not drain properly, towel drier not working, poor experience, I cannot believe such room level for such a country asking such premium price.

    Close to restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. OK, but a bit more space would have been nicer.

    The breakfast! Great variety on offer, and very high standard. The gym - clean and peaceful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Black mould in the shower, felt dirty. No option to adjust the temperature in the room, too hot for my liking. Didn't sleep well. Decoration of room tired. No kettle in room. Expensive cuppa from bar SEK 25. Poor quality and size of towels in room.

    Good breakfast. Nice restaurant Ruby Bar in the hotel however cod was over cooked. Comfortable bed. Quiet room. Friendly staff at front desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How can we take a shower? There's a funny picture near the bathtub to make you understand (actually useless) how to use the shower. If you have time, take a bath, if you don't, just choose another hotel (with a normal shower system of course)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The decoration and facilities are old

    The hotel is located in the most popular part of the city, full of cafes and restaurants. Walking distance to many major locations, and easily accessible to public transportation and airport buses. The breakfast buffet is splendid with lots of choices for all tastes. I highly enjoyed the stay in the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A huge hotel with too many guests. The breakfast room was super busy, though well managed by the staff. The family room was very bare in terms of amenities. No fridge either. Corridors were very dirty and and communal areas could do with refresh.

    The staff were helpful and efficient. The breakfast offering was very generous. The location was spot on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit older, so the rooms are not the newest.

    Great location. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Sauna was also nice. Great view from the roof top bar. Use the parking area next to the mini golf (cheap).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking options. Room was tiny and we were missing some towels. It took the hotel staff 2,5 hours to bring an extra towel and they were very unapologetic about the situation. Very much a budget hotel atmosphere.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little dusty (this didn't bother me that much, but still). The only thing I really bothered me was the bad flow of people during breakfast. There was not enough capacity to get everyone late to breakfast, and the people working there didn't have the capacity to ready the tables when someone had finished. This lead to a lot of waiting and you couldn't get a table of your own.

    Breakfast was great and the location was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was smaller and less inviting than we would have liked but adequate for our stay.

    Fabulous breakfast. You could do without lunch! Close to trams, waterfront and shops. The rooftop bar was nice with views accessible over the city from the right table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had to wait 4 hour for our room after a long haul flight from Toronto via Frankfurt. Also being in the room next door to the roof bar was rather noisy till late

    Amazing hotel overall

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opened balcony door, but we can not close it anymore!! And reception can not help us because it was sunday. The parking garage was so low that we must take off our car roof box!!

    Big room. Very friendly stuff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful room, very small and way too hot and exceptionally poor value for money at 3200sek. We had to to wait an hour and a half for poor quality food in the restaurant and would never consider returning.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was rather disappointing. Wallpaper drab and curtain rail broken - beds very uncomfortable - not really value for money

    Staff were excellent and friendly and the breakfast has plenty of options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows to the right size. Both my wife and myself got head

    Very nice restaurant, Ruby or something, and also Nice terrace bar on the 7 floor. Bed was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny standard double room with no A/C forces you to open the windows to the noisy street. Only 140cm wide bed in poor quality, very high price tag on the room compared to standard other places. Not recommendable.

    Nice breakfast, polite staff, excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about Scandic Rubinen was misleading and expensive from the get go. We found the cheapest option as any traveler would try to find (pretty expensive, and I come from Norway), called Economy room, which are basically shabby, smelly and in the section of the hotel in dire need of renovation. The bed was the worst, it was a cheap IKEA cot which had been over utilized with nothing left in the name of springs. We had a first horrible night, after which I had to go to the reception to get a change of room immediately. The reception staff was kind, but, outlined that the next level room (basically renovated) would cost me extra money per night. They could have given me the room complimentary, but, still charged me for it. I paid extra just to come back to a room that at least had a normal bed to sleep in. I would recommend that you make sure that you DO NOT have the economy room, otherwise, your stay would be a nightmare. If you want to stay cheap, then find another accommodation, NOT the Scandic Rubinen.

    Staff was kind and location is central

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows in the room were on the side of Kungsportsavenyn and the street on Thursday night turned out to be quite noisy.

    Convenient location, nice view over the city from the roof-top bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy on Friday and Saturday night (even with earplugs) if your room is facing north-west because of the night club around the corner.

    very good breakfast (fresh fruits, warm meals, variety of breads, etc), good location (public transportation, restaurants, a supermarket open on holidays nearby)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (#537, labeled as "economy") was pretty spare. We had brought a pet, and one could tell that the furnishings weren't top-notch due to it being "pet friendly". No AC, and as it was rather noisy outside late in the night (there are several pubs and clubs nearby, and a weekend), sleeping with the window open wasn't an option. The shower flooded the bathroom floor in no time, and there was no squeege to remove the water.

    Central location, close to a wide variety of good restaurants, close to public transportation. Nice breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Nice rooftop bar. Good, if somewhat narrow double bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Water from the bathtube runs first to the bathroom floor directly (it seems to be a hole at the bottom) and then comes off through another hole in the floor. Alike a flood after each shower session. A strange noise overnight from outside, like a signal of distant train. Not too loud, but annoying. Possibly, from the compressors or a/c under the windows.

    Breakfast, location, WiFi. Many restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor airconditioning. We had to sleep with the windows open. Even though we were at the 6th floor, we had to listen to screaming drunks and cars blasting old sweedish pop songs all night long. I know this is not the hotels fault, but we would have had a better nights rest if the room was properly fitted with a climate system. In the bathroom, the climate system pumped in air that smelled like poop several times a day. The room was not very clean. We found greasy finger marks on the walls in the bathroom. There were dust under the bed and in the corners. The room was not equipped with signs for 'do not disturb' or 'clean my room'. The hotel did not offer parking. We had to put our car in a parking house at a rate of 270 SEK per day (the hotel gave us a 20kr discount)

    Great breakfast. The location was very good, even though the street became really noisy at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of the room disappointed us and so did the overly charged prices for the parking.., apart of that things were fine.

    Bed was very comfortable to sleep and the breakfast was awesome :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evertyhing was as good as it can get - to near the hot buffet at the breakfast. The bacon, sausages and the scrambled eggs, did not taste of much. It was not specified if the meat was free range/organic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is fitted with basic furniture, almost feel like Newley operating star hotel. There was no hair conditioner. (Only shampo and shower gel).

    Breakfast is super, location is on the main shopping street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds no more than bunks. NO AMENDMENTS at all.. no toothbrushes no nothing. Way too expensive for what you got. Booking.com said parking, no parking available. Late checkout? Forget it..

    Breakfast was ok, if you like no service and queues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could be abit of waiting time at the elevators, one elevator was out of order one day and that really slowed down the service especially when people wanted to go to the bar at the top floor.

    Really nice hotel at excellent location. It's close to most sightseeing locations and attractions. The breakfast is above standard and very popular so it can get abit crowded at times. There is plenty space though and the atmosphere is calm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One unpleasant situation at the bar: Waiting for my turn to be served, standing at the counter, and when it came, the waitress served another group that just arrived. The bar was not that busy and I was obviously waiting. Strange.

    2nd stay; almost perfect. Hotel, location, breakfast, staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of any substance.

    Excellent staff, very helpful. Perfect English spoken throughout. Business facilities were very good. Comprehensive breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the family room and no drinking glasses either.

    Delicious breakfast, great location, easy to step up on the tram and just go explore the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs in the morning were so soggy that they were more like an egg soup than scrambled eggs, not very appetizing.

    The location is perfect for a city trip and the staff is really helpful. There are some great restaurants in the vicinity. The hotel is not brand new, but it is clean and well kept. I would have no hesitation to stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family. The hotel is easily accessible by the airport shuttle (bus stop: Berzeliigatan). The bus stop for the shuttle is around the block from the hotel, so it takes no time to reach it. The breakfast was great with all kinds of alternatives from savory to sweet. There were plenty of gluten-free breads and cakes on offer, as well as a small fridge filled with soy milk, almond milk, etc. for those who wish to avoid dairy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avloppsröret från badkaret fattades så att allt badvatten rann ut på golvet. Detta måste städpersonalen ha sett tidigare då de gjort rent badkaret utan att meddela servicepersonal.

    Utmärkt frukost med dagstidningar samt att vi blev uppgraderade och fick byta rum andra natten p.g.a att det inte gick att duscha på vårt rum.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My daughter and I stayed 1 night at the hotell. The room was small and not comfortable, the bed was too small for 2 persons. Our room was located next to a bar with a lot of screaming and drunk people. They didn't leave until 4 o'clock. The room was too hot, but we couldn't open the window because of the noice. It was really bad.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit spartan. No mini bar. Some place to sit in the room would've been appreciated but I guess that I need to pay for a bigger room for that.

    The scrambled eggs was amazeballs. Great bartenders and very friendly staff. Nice view over the Avenyn. Overall a really pleasant stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit impersonal , to big for our taste , just long korridors with doors and doors and doors - no cosy "feeling"

    Great location , okey value for money! Nice and fresh breakfast !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fragrance of cleaning chemicals in the room was overbearing. Needed to keep door propped open for an hour.

    Enjoying the sunset from the balcony. Popular bar, and good breakfast variety and quality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition - very warm rooms during summer. Old rooms, not really fresh, except for the bed which was comfortable. Limited selection of beers, and no snacks at the rooftop bar

    Great location. Good breakfast. Comfortable bed. Nice rooftop bar with afternoon and evening sun.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor rooms. Just an internal window and curtains which let in the light. Dated bathroom. Paper thin walls so heard noise from other rooms.

    The staff were great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed that we couldn´t get the 20% Scandic Friends discount from our booking through Booking.com. The parking in the nearby garage was very expensive.

    The breakfast buffet was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast has a great variety, but if the hotel advertises gluten- and lactose-free products, you might expect a bit more than what was available.

    The location is amazing. Staff was friendly the room was nice even though it was small.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Rubinen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: