Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Visby 3 stars

Färjeleden 3, 621 58 Visby, Sweden

#32 of 47 hotels in Visby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Practical but not very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are located in separate blocks of flats from the reception area, which gives you the feeling of a holiday park rather than of a hotel in this price range. It's all very massive and anonymous. The rooms and bathrooms are very small and awfully hot (there is air conditioning in the rooms, but it cannot be set to a temperature lower than 19 °C, nor can it be shut off). The rooms do not have a seating area, and neither does the block of flats where the rooms are located have any common seating area. Water volume and temperature in the shower are very inconsistent, and the shower head does not stay in position (once it even launched itself off the wall after a sudden volume increase).

    Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice, including delicious grapefruit. Reception is open 24/7 and you can check in until midnight, which is very practical if you arrive by evening boat. The hotel is also very close to the ferry harbour (yet within walking distance of the city centre), and has ample free parking spaces on-site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Great, especially if you have your four legged friend with you!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were excellent and although travelling on business, I took my wife and small dog along for the trip. We were made to feel very welcome and the "pet friendly" rooms were fantastic, with dog chews, blanket, bowls, and even poop bags provided. The breakfast buffet was super and the whole experience was really good. Normally I am not a fan of Scandic as a brand and tend to avoid them, however I would very much recommend Scandic Visby, especially if travelling with a four-legged friend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location and great family hotel. Lacked some quiet outdoor space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It did seem expensive, even for Sweden, but perhaps that's the going rate in Visby. Other than the busy pool area, there was nowhere to relax outside. Suggestion....the hotel could provide some quiet seating areas in the extensive grounds. We would have used that.

    Great location within a few minutes walk from the ferry and easy walking distance to the old town.....which is just outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Room is very small - Cleaning wasn't performed even though the "Clean my room" mark was placed on the door - Dirty hairdryer - Sink pipe is clogged - Walls in the shower are dirty

    + Swimming pool + Breakfast is ok + Relatively quiet in the room + Online checkout (leave key-cards in the box)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice to come back to after a full day of walking and touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing it didn't have was much of a view. It was across from the harbor where ferry boats and cruise ships docked. It was fine, not and impact on us but just not a wonderful view.

    The rooms were spotless and efficient. The bed was comfortable. Our room walked out into a small patio and we enjoyed using it. We felt like we're were staying in an IKEA showroom. The breakfast that was included was wonderful and gave us plenty of choices and food to have a good breakfast and only have to worry about one more meal. There were cereals, oatmeal, cold meats and cheeses, hard and soft boiled eggs, veggies and fruit, with coffee and tea and juices. Breads of all kinds. We also had lunch at the restaurant the day we arrived and a couple of beers at their outdoor bar the night before we left. The gym impressed my husband (for a hotel gym)and he is a gym nut. We didn't use the pool or hot tub or sauna but all looked inviting. We walked easily to the central part of the city and all around. Wonderful staff!!! The Island Games was happing when we were there and there were a couple of teams staying at the hotel. It is a large property with many building. We never felt that the large number of people impacted the quality of the staff's response to our needs or the restaurant. It really was a nice place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.9
    The location was good, but not having been to visby before,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it was a bit warm when I was there and there was no AC. My room was on the ground floor and my neighbors smoked, so leaving the door open wasn't an option. I also thought it was a bit too expensive, but I understand it was because I was in the height of high season.

    The location was good, but not having been to visby before, I'd choose to stay closer to or within the old town next time. Excellent breakfat buffet and having the pool was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay in Gotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In summer time they only provide electric fan, beter have air-condition.

    Very close to pier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Very Nice Place, Breakfast could be improved, cool Motel like Hotel, Small Rooms but ok, Great Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small Rooms; Restaurant could be nicer; Nothing Close by;

    Isolated in a nice way; Bungalov like; Close to the Harbor;

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Checkout online
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checkout online

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Price ;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price ;-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.3
    Nice weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too small. Shower very small; water everywhere when you take a shower.

    Staff very friendly. Willing to help.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.4
    Improvement areas: cleaning, room received through this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning. Room with no terrace.

    Improvement areas: cleaning, room received through this booking had only a window on the bottom floor whilst there are rooms with terrace also. Positive: easy to reach ( directly at the harbour), pool and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    6.7
    A cross between a university residence and a senior center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was small and far from the restaurant

    A cross between a university residence and a senior center designed by IKEA The pool area was very nice

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    6.3
    Rummet var verkligen för litet, samma sak med badrummet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rummet var verkligen för litet, samma sak med badrummet

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: