Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Slottshotellet 4 stars

Slottsvägen 7, 392 33 Kalmar, Sweden

#11 of 16 hotels in Kalmar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 668 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Stay away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can (thankfully) not recall having ever received a more unpleasant treatment than what I and my husband experienced at the Slottshotellet in Kalmar. We are both very surprised that it still happens in the age of Tripadvisor and other instant 'online' reviews websites. But we seriously doubt that this hotel's receptionist knows of these “modernities” or she would have thought twice before behaving the way she did. From the moment she laid eyes on us this woman made us understand that our mere existence was a nuisance; 1. When I arrived at the front desk (a few seconds after my husband) I was thoroughly and utterly ignored. Don’t you greet (or at least give nod of acknowledgement to) new guests when you work at the front desk? 2. When we asked where we could park our car this woman rudely snapped that their parking was full (due to a larger wedding party), referring to a small sign on the desk where it said "our parking is full" and told us we had to solve the thing best we could. How a front desk staff can treat paying guests in this way is beyond my understanding. Isn’t one of front desk’s most important roles to help their paying guests the best way possible? And that sign indicating that the car park was full is hardly helpful (rather the opposite) for a visiting guest who knows nothing about other parking options. Perhaps it’s now time to (again) remind that there are effective 'online' forums that hotel guests use to report this kind of treatment. As you can see I’m one of them. 3. When we then asked for a city map, the woman told us that they were to be found in a brochure stand by the entrance door. We suspect that any hotel school will teach their students already on Day 1 that you unfold a city map in front of the guest marking where the hotel is located (ie where the guest is) and ask if you can help to point out the way to public transport, restaurants, shops, museums, entertainment etc.

    I didn’t like anything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, a comfotable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was intermittent, but the hotel was full and I was in a room at the end of a corridor. I suspect it was better in other areas.

    Beautiful location, near a park and the castle and an easy walk into town for plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Quite outdated design. WC floor wasn't super clean. Had to use public parking (under trees = nasty). Bad wifi.

    Good location, easy to find. Bed was ok, breakfast ok. Fan in room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    A little overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expect to stay in a annex. The room was dark and old. It need a update. For that price I expect better facilities.

    Nice location close to the park and castle. Nice courtyard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot in the room. Sure it was the summer to blame but no fan or cooling system was offered. Parking was not free. Staff was not particularly welcoming. Correct I would say.

    Location was great. We were allocated a giant room with fancy classic decor in a detached building across the patio Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel was perfect, within five minute walk from train station. Lovely main building with a lot of character. Breakfast choice was very good. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location and very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    We were in the main building which had a bar, leather chairs, a fireplace and an ambiance like a small boutique hotel. Also, location was perfect as was breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    This is a compound of buildings - some old, some newer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a compound of buildings - some old, some newer. The older, main building where we stayed is very charming. We had 2 rooms; our room on 2nd floor was a good size, the one on 3rd floor was small. Both were charming and cute, though the bathroom showers weren't that great. Coffee & tea always available in lobby, breakfast and light dinner included in price. Located right by Kalmar Slott (Castle), Gamla Stan (old town) and contemporary museum, with bonus kids' playground across the street. For our 1 night there it was perfect. If you are staying in Kalmar a few days, you may prefer the downtown area where there are more restaurants and shops handy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Very nice room in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather basic. No need to include dinner, we missed it both evenings due to our travel and excursions

    Very nice room in excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    A memorable, comfortable stay in old town Kalmar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A comfortable stay at a nice hotel close to the historic sights of old town, restaurants, and shopping. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful, well kept and in full Spring bloom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful historical building close to train station and Kalmar castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As is common with older structures, sound proofing wasn't great, but I could only hear people in the hallway, not through the room walls. While the furniture was beautiful, they were not very functional. The bureau was possibly supposed to function as a writing desk, but it was stuck and I didn't dare to yank too hard on it. Of course I could have asked at reception, but I didn't. The only thing I really didn't like was the smell of the bathroom. I recognized it from other bathrooms that have the same type of carpeting and it's a trapped odor that's not very appealing.

    The building(s) were beautiful and historical, the bed was comfortable and the reading lights were optimally placed. Staff was lovely and WiFi was free and worked everywhere (fewer bars in certain places, but it didn't impact much). It was a very short walk from the train station, and there was a beautiful park just outside from where you could easily walk to Kalmar castle. The town center was also within short walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do better breakfast

    Fantastic stay... Min husband and I really enjoyed the place and services. All personal are friendly and with great smile. Location cannot be better-so close to Kalmar castle. Will definitely recommend friends and other visitors to try this hotel and their luxury double room. Good value for money!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    People were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy! !!!!!!!!!! Bathroom not so clear Had 2 single beds vs 1 double

    People were friendly Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Bad restaurant and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A bonus was the complimentary evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bonus was the complimentary evening meal. Also a short easy walk to the very children (5 - 10 years) friendly castle. Perfect for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room, close to train, very helpful staff. Bonus simple meal at night included , after busy day it was appreciated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in bathroom was poor, probably pipes?... I assume it is something seasonal

    Everything! Location, atmosphere, breakfast, facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    My wintery stay in Kalmar Sweden.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was spotty.

    Quaint and charming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Just Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just Brilliant. Comfortable and a regal home away from home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Always a pleasure to use this hotel , i use it a lot
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always a pleasure to use this hotel , i use it a lot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Convenient parking. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small, but well designed

    Excellent breakfast! Fantastic shower,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and facilities

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for a weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and value

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Quaint, unusual, most comfy bed in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn't amazing, but ok

    Quaint, unusual, most comfy bed in the world

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the idea of a light evening meal included in the room rate. During my three day stay, the light dinner was wonderful: two salads, a main pasta dish, bread, butter, and soup. The second night it was basically the leftovers from the previous night and a new salad. The third night, well, I ended up going out to eat as there wasn't enough available. Nowhere does Slottshotel advertise this as more than a light meal, though, and it's not meant to be a full course dinner. Don't count on it being one, and you won't be disappointed. :-)

    Highly recommended! Wonderfully historic buildings dating back to the 1840s with cozy rooms and very classy sitting areas where you can enjoy a cup of coffee or tea free or sit with your reasonably priced glass of wine or beer. In the morning there's a very nice breakfast and in the evening a light dinner included in the room rate. Fabulous location in Kalmar. It's a five minute walk from the train station and then you're just across the street from a beautiful park and a short walk to Kalmar Castle and the art gallery. Old town? You're in it. My great grandfather grew up in Kalmar so it was wonderful to be in a hotel building he might have actually been in as young man.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    10
    Great location--across from the park and down the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator in our annex. Had to trek suitcases up a couple of flights of stairs.

    Great location--across from the park and down the street from the castle. Nice people!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.8
    Close to the castle and to the centre of Kalmar, quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the castle and to the centre of Kalmar, quiet, parks around the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall quality of the rooms does to meet the pricing level that hotel is charging.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice location close to downtown of Kalmar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfirst

    Nice location close to downtown of Kalmar

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fabulous location Lovely breakfast patio

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.0
    Beutiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Get some proper coffee!! Not from a machine. Terrible beds.

    Beutiful setting.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    8.8
    Close to the city center, a historic building, nice room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the city center, a historic building, nice room, good food.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.1
    The location and the buildings were lovely.
    • Group

    Staff lacked enthusiasm and the room was in need of renovation.

    The location and the buildings were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.2
    The location ( inside the bar )of the restutant is not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location ( inside the bar )of the restutant is not good Many people like me did not like to take breakfast in bars.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.9
    good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cheap beds, railway crossing right outside that was sounding every hour or so.

    good breakfast

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: