Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Sweden hotel reviews
  3. Västra Götaland hotel reviews
  4. Gothenburg hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Slottsskogen Hostel

Reviews of Slottsskogen Hostel

Vegagatan 21, Majorna-Linné, 413 11 Gothenburg, Sweden

#54 of 69 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1031 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2019

    7.9
    A good hostel to stay in in GTB
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a odd smell like fried food You had to clean your room at the end to avoid being fined, but we were not told this when we checked in. The cleaning facilties to clean your room with were very poor. The hoover stank, was very dusty and needs cleaning itself! You wonder how clean the room actually is with no one actually taking care of the services from the hostel.

    Comfortable beds, very clean shower and washing facilities, an adequate kitchen to cook in. Good location, near Haga and other sites Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    5.8
    It is economic for the city, where appeared inch is gold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One has to remember despite even if you have private double room - take out your own bed sheet - clean your own room In shared kitchen, one electricity outlet applicable for microwave, water boiler, and toaster. Ie if someone is using one of the above mentioned, others cannot use the other 2.

    It is economic for the city, where appeared inch is gold. The toilet and shower is all in one room, privacy despite “shared” bathroom

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    5.4
    Good location, facilities could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the kitchen was in poor condition with a sticky floor, dirty trash bins and a limited amount of kitchen ware. Also the bathrooms were dirty and limited. It was OK because there weren't too many guests when we were there but I imagine it becoming a problem when fully booked.

    The hostel is close to the city centre and has affordable parking options just two streets further (street parking for about 100 SEK per day). Internet connection in there room was very good. The room itself was clean.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    6.7
    No frills base that does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that you must clean your own room or pay extra should be added on the important info- rather than just being in people’s reviews, my tv didn’t work. My room felt a little claustrophobic. Was fine a night but couldn’t spend a few days there.

    Excellent location by the park & botanical gardens, lots of nice places to eat nearby & a supermarket, very quiet at night, despite shared facilities I never waited for the bathroom or shower. Easy check in & check out. Had a half decent nights sleep. Very goo WiFi. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    8.3
    The room had nice large windows and hence a lot of light,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floors had an old carpet, which is always a bad idea in hostels as they have many guests and the carpets tend to gather a lot of dust.

    The room had nice large windows and hence a lot of light, the shared kitchen was very big (as well as nice) and well equipped, the shared bathrooms were also spacious.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    7.9
    The room is quite clean with good price, the desk clerk is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Distance

    The room is quite clean with good price, the desk clerk is really nice , just it is quite far from the city center but with this price is ok!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    7.1
    Good hotel for a couple of nights - didn't appreciate I had to make the bed myself at my arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived late at night and passed by the reception to check in. The receptionist gave me my card and my beddings. It is the first time in my life I have to make the bed myself in a hotel room (i.e. put on the sheets, the duvet cover, the pillowcases). It really made a bad impression, given that I was too tired after a long trip and the hotel had the whole day to prepare my room. Additionally, I was expecting to find a towel in my room, but this was not the case. Last, I appreciated the fact that there was a TV on the wall, but unfortunately, it was not put in the most convenient part of the wall (one of the beds was blocking the view).

    Despite the small size of the room, it has what you need (bed, plugs, table, chair, tv, umbrella). The shared toilets are plenty on each floor, so there is always at least one that is not occupied. When I arrived at night, they were surprisingly clean (they got a bit dirtier during the day, but I guess this is normal). The building looks new and the rooms are quite modern. Wifi was working quite well.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    8.8
    Good basic accommodation for a very reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extra sms reminder about my trip (on top of booking.com's own) was really unnecessary to the point of causing some annoyance. And for those who are in a hurry upon departure, be aware that you're expected to clean your own room - or pay extra for them to do it.

    You won't find many private hotel rooms as affordable as this in Sweden - especially in a city like Gothenburg. Location is great - very quiet, just outside the center, and with very frequent public transport links. There is a well-equipped and clean guest kitchen, and the shared bathrooms were very clean - both in the evening and in the morning. Room was small, but had everything you needed if all you want to do is sleep there.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    7.1
    Good stay at reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very soft and not comfortable. There was no way to control temperature: sometime during the night it became very stuffy.

    The location is not central, but the bus stop is very near and tram stops are not that far. Hair-dryer was in the room, which is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    9.6
    Would visit here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes the reception would be slow if they were talking to someone for a while

    Really good hostel, more like a budget hotel. Sauna was great and cheap to pay, loved the warmth of the room and the WiFi was amazingly fast. Shared bathroom was fine also. Well insulated room so didn’t hear many people. Comfy bed. Staff were very nice

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    7.5
    Above average hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception is in other building opposite of the room that is not easy to find the staff. Room card control the main power supply of the room. When I go out it is inconvient to switch on the power.

    Free clean bedline and towel. Worthy quality. Good location with long opening hour's supermarket and restaurant around.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    8.0
    Cheap, Clean and Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels are extra price. You have to make bed yourself and then get it to laundry yourself. Also you have to clean the room by yourself or be charged extra. I feel like this is basic things for the hotel to be a hotel. This is not a big deal for me. Especially considering how much money i saved. I always try to leave the room as clean as i can but i was left paranoid that i might left some trash and could be charged extra for that later.

    Hotels are ludicrously expensive in Sweden so i was very surprised to find a single room for a price i would consider a bargain in much cheaper country like Germany. The hotel is what you expect from a hostel from this price range. Small room with a bunk bed and tv. Hair dryer was in a room which is nice. Usually you have to go and get it on the reception in hotel of this price range. Location is very good for the price. You can go to the city center in 20 minutes by foot. It is also conveniently located near 11 tram that goes to the island ferry which is main attraction. Stuff was extra nice and friendly which is surprising. Usually stuff is very moody in places like that. The waited for me even thou my plane was very late and i was checked in way after midnight. It was clean and i felt safe. What else you can expect form the place like that?

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    The hostel is actually an old boarding school that has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hostel is actually an old boarding school that has been converted ,it's pretty cool. The staff and owner is amazing Free laundry service Very huge room. The place is spotless! Not a single spec of dust.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.3
    One of the best comfort to price ratio in Goeteborg.
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At least small towel included in price would be great, however one can rent one in reception.

    One of the best comfort to price ratio in Goeteborg. Teasty breakfast for reasonable price. Nice common area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.9
    Very spacious family room, legoland and shopping mall are...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water had come out of the shower room after we took a shower, and we have already put some towels on the floor of the washing room.

    Very spacious family room, legoland and shopping mall are within walkinc distance.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    A nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shared bathrooms were not that clean. There were things (mold or dirt) on the wall that could not have been from previous users that day. The room was bit cramped.

    - Very friendly staff. - Good arrangement on parking - Room itself was clean - Nice location - Breakfast was well worth the price!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.2
    Good hostel for Göteborg, but the stupid cleaning policy should be eliminated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One BIG negative thing only: Hostel requires guests to clean room before check out, otherwise they will be charged. That is pretty weird... Taking the bed sheets and linens outside is OK, but please do not expect me to line up to use the one vacuum cleaner in the morning. Ridiculous...

    The hostel is located in a very nice area, next to the Slottsskogen Park. The room was small, but clean. We had multiple shared bathrooms, so morning queues did not happen. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.3
    Lots of good facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are small with not a lot of space for luggage - but if your only staying a short time it’s manageable.

    The location and staff were fabulous. The amenities were always clean, and water was hot. They have an amazing sauna, you can book in for, as well as good laundry facilities which you also have to book a time slot for. The walking tour was great, would have been good if it was in the morning, so we had a chance to go back to places we were shown. But overall good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.5
    Affordable Stay in Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed in a twin room with bunk bed and tv. Bathrooms were shared, the wing i was staying in only had 5 rooms so there was only one time i waited to use facilities. There were two sets of combined shower/toilet/sink rooms that were always clean. BYO towel if you do not want to hire one. The kitchen as well was always clean, with ample crockery - make sure you make your dinner before any large school groups!! The hostel was actually close enough to walk to the main city of Gothenburg - about 30 mins to Kungsparkplatsen otherwise you can catch the number 2 tram about 10 mins to Kungsparkplatsen for 30SEK single journey. Very close to Slotsskogen for a refreshing walk in the forest and to visit the free zoo. Closeby is a hemkop supermarket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.8
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were to few bathrooms and they were not clean at all. You have to pay 20Kr for towels. Watch out: Room cleaning is not included (it costs 80Kr extra).

    Staff was friendly. The room itself is similar to the fotos on booking , parking is available for 75Kr (7,5€) per day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    You can chose betwen a Hotel/Hostel option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can chose betwen a Hotel/Hostel option. Very good and quiet location - surrounding area is close by everything you need for daily routine. (Park nearby, Pubs / Restaurants and Shops). Room is clean and comfortable. Personal was professional, very welcome and helpful. there is nothing I wouldn't recommend about this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed staying here in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All details about extra charges should be mentioned in advance. Towels and room cleaning was for extra charges.

    room was clean and comfi, reception desk was professional and very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for you money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi is terrible...on our 3 days stay, the net access didn't work or was terrible slow.

    The location is very good, and has a parking lot that was very usefull for us. The infrastrutures like kitchen and living room are very pleasent and clean. The staff was efficient and kind. Overall is a good value for your money. They have a great concern for ecological issues....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In some of the toilets it permanently smelt bad all the time.

    The bed was comfy, the receptionist was super friendly and the kitchen felt very homely as everyone was respectful of each other and shared food from the communal cupboard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and great surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is distributed in separate buildings, no proper parking available.

    It was roomy and we'll equipped. There were plenty of restaurants and supermarkets around

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    6.3
    great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    showers and toilets are in the same room and you can not take a shower if the toilet is occupied and otherwise. Also its weird to take a shower close to a dirty toilet. Or stuff was stolen from the fridge in the shared kitchen.

    great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, close to nature and restaurants/pubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom had a strange smell, something like mold. Plus the carpet was wet. In the shared WC there was lots of hair in the shower.

    Great location, close to nature and restaurants/pubs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and cosy rooms, tv in the room and not much noise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shared bathrooms could have been a bit better. Every time someone had showered it was wet all over the room and when one wanted to shower there was not really anywhere to put or hang clothes or towels.

    Nice and cosy rooms, tv in the room and not much noise coming from other rooms or corridor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.7
    Was the most affordable room we could find, rooms are in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pretty claustrophobic in the room with no windows, it got really hot inside. They didn’t give us sheets which we didn’t realise until we got home after a night out.

    Was the most affordable room we could find, rooms are in a good state, the kitchen area was good for friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, clean and affordable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot room with no AC

    The location is superb with the Slottskogen park in walking distance. Haga is very close by There are many options to eat in the neighborhood. The hostel offered 75 kr breakfast which i didnt opt for due to my schedule. There was a kitchen so one can buy from superstores and cook to be economical There was no AC and it was very hot at night, with open windows had to bear the noise from Manfred resturant just in the opposite side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    6.3
    Small place in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are quite small. There is no separation between the shower and the toilet (save for a shower curtain), which usually means that after showering the whole bathroom floor is wet.

    It has a well-equipped common kitchen. Toilets are spacious and there is good water pressure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    I certain numbers of private rooms;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the hostel is not centrally located, but near to the most important park 'Slottskogen', I could have appreciated some more additionnal flyers about the public transport (buses, n° 60, and others, trams and some boats). I spent three days and nights over there, and bought a three day/night pass, very cheap at SEK 180 (€ 18). Excellent value for money if you wish to visit the western half of the city, which is the most attractive one.

    I certain numbers of private rooms; I had a twin room; have no window. A fact which I could much appreciate, since in summer time (even May?) the sunset thakes place at about 4 A.M.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    5.8
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was alone in a very small and uncomfortable room with 2 castle beds and payd a lot for a single room, so I was expecting more space and just one bed

    Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was my very first hostel experience and I actually enjoyed it. The staff is really nice and helpful and the hostel has a great location with plenty of restaurants nearby. I can only recommend it, good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Nice location (close to tram stations), friendly personnel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dark (rooms with no windows), you have to clean the room yourself after (if you don't want to pay extra) and bathrooms were not that clean.

    Nice location (close to tram stations), friendly personnel, rooms were fine for what you pay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent organic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had no window and after a couple of nights I was quite claustrophobic in it. I would not book this type of room ever again. Not many showers or wc for the number of rooms. The kitchen was poorly designed and all the plates and mugs in cupboards up above the only sink or one of the cookers so everyone gets in each other's way.

    Excellent organic breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    10
    Best choice if you travel alone
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Convenient spot, nice rooms (I took the single with window), clean bathrooms, close to the city center. The staff is really friendly and Francesco always plans a lot of extra activities for his guests. Then no worries if you are alone, you will meet a lot of new people once there!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    10
    Amazing friendly Staff, The Kitchen Staff was so cute, she...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Sauna was a bit cold.untill we found the restart button for the heater.

    Amazing friendly Staff, The Kitchen Staff was so cute, she even baked a cake for suprice to our daughter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    7.9
    I'd stay here again for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are kinda thin so every closing of a door, footsteps and loud talking can be heard.

    Very clean hostel. Sheets were included. Helpful staff. Good location. :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleanliness seemed up to standard but a chewing gum under the bed had been missed. I guess it happens, not the end of the world...

    Excellent location and pleasant facilities. The double rooms were small but surprisingly comfortable nonetheless. Good value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.6
    Great for city break to Göteborg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Placement of the tv meant only one could watch at a time if top bunk was down. Room was a little tight esp if the ladder was up. And would have preferred to collect the clean sheets in the same building as where we were staying even though it was accross the road, as it felt a bit wierd, worried i would drop them and already had alot to carry. otherwise all good.

    Close to tram or bus stops. Reception easy to find, and open late. Room had a fun cabin feel with the top bunk being able to be stored upright on the wall. Bathroom was nice, really appreciated the toilet and handbasin in the shower room. They had extra sinks and mirrors outside for brushing teeth etc. Beds comfy, sheets nice and clean. room was clean too. Each bed had own light. Staff happy to let us store our bags for free while we went out for the day. Staff all very helpful and friendly (all three that we met).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location to explore Gothenburg on a budget
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just needs a few cosmetic fixes, like hooks in the shower rooms, shower heads could do with being replaced with new ones. General clean out of the kitchen. Small things!!!

    Location, cleanliness, friendly staff and the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    7.9
    In total everything was reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Our room was in another building (not in the same office building) so, if something was wrong we had to exit from building and go to other building. For example at the first night our room was extremely cold and no one was responsible for this. 2. Breakfast was not included so that we had to pay separately, which make it for guests to spend extra money.

    The kitchen area was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.1
    Tiny room for 2 with a bunk bed but good for a night or two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bedsheets or towels provided and has to be clean by the guests at the end of their stay. It felt a bit like the walls are too thin and noises from other rooms could be heard. The socket was not near enough the second floor bed.

    Wi-fi was fast and secure. Reception staff was helpful enough, also seemed to be there at anytime we needed them. We were allowed to leave our luggage in the hostel for s couple of hours even though we have already checked out so we can explore the city a bit more without annoying suitcases.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.4
    The room stunk of sweat when I went in there and I had to keep the window open for hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a twin room. There was no option to say for how many people when I booked it. When I arrived I was told I was only allowed one bed. This is ridiculous!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.4
    soso
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there are many shower rooms, and why the staff try to open the shower room door in the morning. The door is locked means somebody is using!! BTW, what's wrong with my order? 10-11 Nov, but why it display 13rd Nov?

    soso..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    5.4
    I would look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You need to clean before you (this includes vacuuming) leave or you will be charged 80k. Rates are not so low as to explain this policy and it is an issue if you are leaving early in the morning and don’t wish to wake up others. I vacuumed the night before as a result. Aside from the front desk, communication is very poor, emailed twice prior to arrival and no one answered me. Once there, had an issue at around 1130 pm on my last night and tried to call the front desk three times but no one answered, which necessitated walking across the street in my pyjamas to speak with front desk. Entire stay was peaceful until the last night. A woman staying in the next room who is apparently a regular guest went out and left two small yappy dogs locked in her room which resulted in incessant barking from 11pm to 3am. The front desk clerk was very nice and did all that was within his power. I fault the management for this scenario as there needs to be a policy in place and staff need to be trained on what to do in these instances. Although their website clearly states animals are not allowed due to allergy issues, they apparently sometimes make exceptions for regular guests. People’s allergies do not go away because it is regular guest, so this bending of the rules is nonsensical. I certainly was not appreciative of being kept up half the night when I needed to get up at 7 the next morning to leave.

    Close to bus stop. Organises nightly events. Peaceful neighbourhood with vegan friendly grocers nearby. TVs in room. Good recycling program. Walking distance to many cool areas. Key cards work properly. Front desk staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    3.3
    False representation online
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Total refurbishment the room. New pillows as the one in the room was flat and curtains that cover the whole window as it wasn't wide enough.

    I booked this through the bookings website. The photo online is absolutely not a representation of the room I stayed in. I will not be staying here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    The location is excellent - very close to tram/bus stops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was quite cold in the room, but the blanket was very warm, so it wasn't a big problem.

    The location is excellent - very close to tram/bus stops, city center is in just 10 minutes by transport, amazing Slottsskogen park is in 5 minutes walking. The area is very beautiful, with lots of shops, supermarkets and restaurants. Nice view from the window over the street. Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Great location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet sometimes was not was clean as it could be.

    The staff was very supportive and the room was quite comfortable. Internet access was great and especially the location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    5.8
    Only if all other places are booked or no money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was anounced at windowless but the ventilation was horrible. Also the luggage storing room is way to small and they just open it to anyone.

    The location an price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.8
    I have stayed several times in this hotel, it is quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared showers and toilets could be more comfortable.

    I have stayed several times in this hotel, it is quiet, clean and rather cosy, in a very good location not far from Gothenburgh center and close to Slottsskogen. The breakfast is very good, beds are comfortable enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was very nice - good food & plenty of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very nice - good food & plenty of choices. Clean showers. The hostel has a sauna! Good location nearby Haga neighbourhood & Slottskogens park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    8.3
    The hostel is in a great location, right in Linnegatan which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel itself does not have any atmosphere, so keep that in mind if you're traveling alone and hoping to meet people. You're better off just going out and trying to make friends at bars, since everyone in Gothenburg is friendly and speaks great English :)

    The hostel is in a great location, right in Linnegatan which has lots of great places to eat and go out (it's about a 5 minute walk to the Langgatan streets, which we loved!) In the other direction is Slottsskogen park which is beautiful and a great place to wander/bike around. It's right near a bunch of public transit so it's easy to get around. Also, it has good kitchen facilities and the building is quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    6.7
    Good for a couple of days op a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit expensive including the parking

    It's in Linné district. A very cool neighborhood. The sharing kitchen is good to stay a couple of days. The beds are comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    9.6
    Clean and spacious room, accessible by public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit too far

    Clean and spacious room, accessible by public transport Really good breakfast Nice Japanese kitchen for the dinner

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    9.2
    good location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Youth hostel close to the centre of Göteborg - all ok

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    8.0
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window opened towards a noisy street so we could not leave it open at night

    Very nice staff. Totally fine for one or two nights

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    4.6
    staff seemed friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed with wifi connection. I had to prepare for morning that needed wifi and I could not do the work :(

    staff seemed friendly

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    6.3
    Overall for one night it was acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small, no window.

    The Hotel is nearly optimal located.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check out before 10am.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    7.5
    It was a very nice stay at the Hostel!
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very nice stay at the Hostel! Had a room without window, but was no problem for one night. Price was good for what we got

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    5.8
    I liked the hostel location, it was near the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish single rooms were more comfortable and had a window. More qualified Staff.

    I liked the hostel location, it was near the center.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little bit dirty

    Good bed and quiet place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast to a reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great place and for a good a good price, I'd stay there again, no doubts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy beds and clean room, temperature of the room was great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, nice enough
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ok

    Clean, nice enough

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay in a nice city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, good clean rooms

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.9
    Single person room stay at Slottsskogen Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of mold in the shower rooms.

    Great location near a large park and good places to eat/shop. Friendly staff who are available 24/7.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    6.3
    Great location but the facilities near a good old clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms need a makeover, mold on the wall.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay for short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was shared, but I think, for this price it was fine.

    Staff was fantastic. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    6.3
    The staff was very friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be great to have to option of having a room that has been made beforehand.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.1
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was bad...breakfast it is expensive for what you get..not WiFi in the room

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    I would recommend it to anyone especially if you go for a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (No Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, Everything was good

    Everything actually. Great location. I liked it. Love to come again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    8.3
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very helpful staff providing excellent sight-seeing suggestions

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Slottsskogen Hostel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: