Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Spar Hotel Majorna 3 stars

Karl Johansgatan 66-70, Majorna-Linné, 41455 Gothenburg, Sweden

#33 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3150 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was quite small and the shower a little underpowered, but everything was clean.

    This is a good "no frills" hotel, which we partly chose because it has its own (underground) car park. Travel into the city is easy on the tram, and the room was perfectly clean and pretty comfortable. The breakfast had good choices, and the bar serves some light meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good variety of food and drinks served for breakfast, clean and relatively calm place (although noise from cars and motorbikes entering the garage might be disturbing the guests staying in bottom floors of the hotel with windows facing the garage entrance), very good wi-fi internet. Meals served in the hotel bar were delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too far from downtown to walk. Hotel located in a seedy area. Trams accept credit cards only; buses require buying your tickets in advance. Taxi downtown is $16-25 for just 2 miles. Unless you are taking the ferry, which is right next to the hotel, for a few extra $$ you are better off staying at the other Spar hotel downtown and save the hassle and expense (3$ single ticket) of transport.. Bad cleaning service. My first day, the cleaning lady came to do the room at 4.45PM . At 2PM I wanted to have a shower and rest but I had no clean towels and had no idea if/and when the cleaning lady was coming at all so I couldn't take a nap because I was afraid to be interrupted or that they wouldn't clean the room. Also, the next and last day I got permission from front desk to checkout at 1PM because I was feeling poorly. Since 11.50, the cleaning lady kept knocking the door every 10 minutes and rudely screaming at me that check out is 12 and that I needed to leave the room.

    Front desk people are cheerful. Lobby area very nice. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-condition during a hot summer day.

    Excellent breakfast with lots of variety and in good quality. It's the highlight of our stay. The room is very modern and very well maintained. Generous supplies of bathroom amenities. Nice neighbourhood with restaurants and supermarkets nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Cleaning could be a bit better. No toiletpaper. Afterall, good hotel!

    Spacious room with a good breakfast. The staff was friendly and transport nearby. Perfect for a short citytrip to Goteborg!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little small and stuffy

    Good value for money, comfy beds and excellent staff. Staff were happy to help and the location is great being out of the center, it is quiet but easy to get to places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had a garage with free parking spaces, but most of the time it was full. Instead we had to find chargeable parking on the nearby streets, The ventilation in the room could have been better.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Underground parking is very convenient, but even 60 spaces can sometimes be used up by other guests when the hotel is busy. There's other local parking nearby, so not a big problem. The room cards are very sensitive to electronic devices and I needed mine to be reset often.

    Good modern hotel with plenty of local amenities nearby, nice room. Good value for Gothenburg and I'd be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Iron (for clothes) in the passage. no option to iron in room.

    Nothing out of the ordinary. This is a simple hotel which meets basic 1 night stay requirements.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked bottled water in the room, i appreciate the comment in the rooms that tap water is Eco friendly but with traveling in different countries it is nice to have a independent water source

    excellent breakfast, clean and comfortable room..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to fault at all.

    The name SPAR brings thoughts to spar as in save as in cheap, but I noticed that everything was very ecological and maybe spar can be related to saving the environment? I was expecting, for the price I paid 1220 SEK, so much less than I got. Even parking place outside on the street, after solving out on which side of the street to park, became great. Cosy, good and priceworthy food and drinks. Actually I can not find anything to complain about nor say it could have been done better. Will for sure have this hotel in mind next time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast was not good. And the room was a bit small for 3.

    Clean room, had the necessary except for a corkscrew 😉 Breakfast reasonable. Very nice personnel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A chance to have a coffee in the bedroom with a small 2 cup kettle would have been a nice touch.

    The comfy & well heated room.The breakfast was fabulous & very tasty. We had a panini one night from the bar which was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The variety of food were few, though I had to do with what was available. I would have liked some Africa dishes.

    The foam on the bed was too soft and not long I started having lower back pains

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good, staff very friendly and the room was clean. It was also quiet there, it was possible only to hear people walking on the corridor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking slots in the garage are a bit tight; the key-card reader for the parking garage is at a most inconvenient hight (too low in case you wonder)

    Excellent breakfast, including wide variety of milk and lactose free products, some hot choices, large assortment of cold and hot beverages, excellent choices of buns and bread, cold cuts, cheeses; different serials... I never missed anything there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little bit small.

    Great location, easy access to the city centre. Very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Quiet. Beautiful lounge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on our first night we stayed in for dinner at the hotel and we vere not very impresed with the food , Goulash soup and "swedish Jultallrik" it was not any exiting as we could understand some of the food was on the breakfast next morning. I dont think the goulash soup was homemade..

    the hotel was not to big or to small , the staff was very friendly and good speaking english, they knew the area and helped us with pram tickets etc, the room was good beds very good bathroom exxelent. The breakfast buffe was very big and good and value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast omelette from tasteless powder is a minus when the bacon is excellent, and for Norwegians raisins in the bread rolls is a horror. Otherwise ok except that when you discover that you have to stow away your plates and cutlery yourself you need to find out that you should have been looking to find the trays used to stow it away. A sheer oddity is that you are asked to use the same plate to save dishwashing energy, but the plates are so tiny that you need at least two only to get your first serving to a table. Clumsy and a bit comical.

    Location close to the ferry terminals and a good restaurant area outside the city Center. Good hotel parking in basement with lift access to reception and rooms. Nice room but the bathroom tiles have signs of wear.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room was on floor above us. Felt like someone was running on our head when they used the treadmill. This even occurred at 22:00. The reception informed us that the fitness room was open until 23:00 when we phoned to complain.

    Great breakfast. Very big & comfortable bed. Good minimalistic design of room. Public transport very close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more international TV program would be welcomed.

    Rooms are ordinary but fine, breakfast is good and of high standard food. Very good the free parking, a must in Göteborg Fine Greek restaurant nearby, with large portions and good selection of real Greek cuisine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Preço demasiado elevado para a qualidade da oferta. Quarto e casa de banho pequenos (sobretudo casa de banho) com aspecto antiquado e pouco cuidado, mas no entanto aparentemente limpo. Referencia no booking de estacionamento : garagem pequeníssima para a dimensão do hotel e com espaços exíguos sem lugares nunca (obrigando ao estacionamento exterior e bem pago !!

    Pessoal era simpático.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was not the first time we have stayed at SparHotel Majorna. Our last stay was a few years ago, and we did really like it, so therefore, choose to stay at Sparhotel Majorna again. However, the hotel has been significantly changed/improved since last time - buildings have been 'extended' somehowe and renovated. The overall feeling of our stay is very very good. The staff is really very friendly, tram transportation is round the corner (quite useful, despite our availability of car), and we are very happy with our stay. Of course when it comes to 'value for money' it never is in Sweden - since all hotels are very expensive, but Spar Majorna is very good hotel, that offers a traveller a smooth and troubleless stay, so we will definitely prefer it again next year.. The only complaint I will raise is about breakfast. The breakfast is very good, with plenty of choises, actually nowdays pancakes are ready and available (while in the past, you could make them yourself with) - but for a person that wants 'something sweet' (cake, croissant etc) - I was not pleased, because there were not available. I presume, that in a country where healthy food is top priority the lack of cakes and croissants at breakfast is not a problem, but since the breakfast table had so many choices - why not something sweet ?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Appartement building across can look has front seat view into your room when you open the curtains. A bit expensive for 3 stars if you ask me.

    Good variety of breakfast. Clean Room. Excellent WiFi. Staff was nice and helpful. Nice lobby and bar. Nice and affordable restaurants nearby. Only 10 minutes from city center by tram. Supermarkets nearby. Free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing is cheap in Scandinavia.

    Well organized room with air-conditioning. Underground parking for the motorcycle, for an extra charge. Location is a long walk to downtown, through multiple neighbourhoods. So you get to see more of Goteberg. Public transport is nearby. The ride-all-day ticket is a good deal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pity that there wasn't any kettle in the room when I needed some tea to sooth my throat. The lift is a bit weird with double door. The price was not too satisfactorily low but maybe due to the time I booked.

    Nice bright room with a large modern window. Quite tidy and hygienic. Nice breakfast buffet, the home-made yoghourt and cereal was jolly tasty. Spacious enough for my slim body to move about. And I liked the comfy double bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite far from city center but buss stop is just around the corner and you can be there in 15 minutes. The reseption and the lobby could use a makeover

    Everything was good. Clean and spacious rooms, comfortable bed and pillow, very good breakfast, safe hotel -could go in the rooms area by card only. We had a delicious dinner -although we arrived late at night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaners walked into my room once despite having the do not disturb sign up. There was only one towel provided.

    I was staying in Gothenburg for the Way Out West music festival which was a nice little 20 min walk away from the festival grounds. A nice hotel to stay in, a very short tram ride into the city centre (or walk) and very easy to get to the south achipalego islands as well since the tram for it is a very short walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited free hotel parking space. Although, parking in street is very cheap but It may be difficult to find parking nearby. So, try to check-in earlier.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was always full so we parked outside and paid for that extra. The wifi connection was too slow.

    Good breakfast, clean room and bathroom (private bathroom).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise outside during the night was disturbing.

    Really appreciated the early bird breakfast option. We were able to have breakfast and still make it to our ferry by 7:15am. In addition there were a variety of restaurants to choose from within walking distance of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not find teleport room to get around the world in no time.

    This hotel is a small gem. Friendly staff, good location. Safe CCTV monitored underground garage included in price (safety for overnight parking is VERY important in Gothenburg). There is Sparadise (to play with hotel name Spar hotel and "paradise" gym for hotel guests at top 8th floor and there is sauna and very relaxing area with deck chairs and flat screen tv to cool off after sauna. Breakfast is generous and it is from early 5am until so late (10am weekdays, 12am weekends), so you can actually make it, if you need to be early bird or if you like to sleep late when ever possible with your otherwise tight schedule and mountain of work and other stuff to take care of as digital life keeps us busy. The wifi is fast and free. You just need to relogin now and then by opening some non https page to get to click "Open free wifi" button again. The hotel lobby is nice and cozy to spend some time off room too. I tried out on different days the salmon, the pulled pork burger, the sandwiches, the Gothenburg beer, and got friendly advice on how to get around the city and help with printing some documents I needed to have on paper asap.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ,but difficult to find a place to sit,people just sat there Even though They had finished there breakfast .

    Breakfast was fantastisk .it was very noisey in our room,as it was over the terrasse round the back,alot of people making alot of noise on the friday night,wanted an Earlie night as saturday was a long day as was going to a wedding ,but could,nt sleep to good,also the room was very warm, not much Air,could,nt have the Windows open as there were people talking High right under our Windows ,i had room 315.never again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bedroom is rather small, although it has all the necessary commodities.

    The staff (including cleaning) is really helpful and the breakfast has plenty of choices for all tastes and it is available for long hours (at least during summer). The location is also perfect (less than 10-min from the city centre by tram, which stops almost at the door of the hotel).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had selected a small room ( our mistake) and the room was really small and especially the Bed. This was a single room not a double room.

    Location, breakfast, bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and fresh. Slept very well in bed. Room an adequate size for two people. Great shower. Unbelievable huge choice for breakfast and very good food. Private parking a plus for us. A very welcoming feeling from staff. Already booking our second visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was brilliant offfered until 12 on holidays (pancakes, nutella, fesh fruits, 4 joghurts, 4 types of eggs, 5 types of bread & crackers, lactose-free milk, juices, fish, ham, etc, etc) - though sometimes we needed to wait for a free table. Location is good,not beautiful but quiet, tram goes to city center. The size of the room & bathroom is sufficient for short stays (12 sqm) only, design is nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful, theres is a dedicated room where we could leave our luggage for the last day. Small, firendly, cheap bar/restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room itself was quite small, especially the lavatory. No air conditioning. Wished the windows opened more.

    I liked the easy access to the metro, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. I slept on the Murphy bed in a triple room, and it was comfortable. Our room faced the terrace and it was very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking spaces onsite so had to pay for parking. No shampoo or conditioner available in the rooms.

    The breakfast was nice, although very crowded and we struggled to find a table to sit at

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room cleannes was very below the average. breakfast has limited cheese and products. Room is very very small and there is no mini-bar you should order for anything. price-quality balance is not realistic.

    Wifi was efficient you can access to internet from all of your device. Receptionists were smiley and polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff did not explain where to park. when they asked to change position for the car, the regular park in the basement was almost full. without space we would have to pay the parking along the street. During the weekend the hotel was very crowded and the breakfast room was not well organized to manage such amount of people.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. The position is great. You can find good restaurant near by in that area. The public transportation is just 3 minutes by walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a small mix-up regarding the reservation when we arrived, and we were told the room was only booked for one person. The mistake was eventually completely cleared up, but we did not receive an apology, which would have been nice. The rooms are not completely soundproof :-)

    Hotel is in quiet location. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the rooms are clean and cozy. The breakfast buffet was excellent and staffed with polite employees. This is the second time we stay at the hotel and it will be our first choice the next time, too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The faucet was very small and distance between it and the basin was so short.

    The room size is very good, the furniture is good and it was clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking place was very small, very risky, with hard access, small entrance and there were no signs. Actually our car suffered a small crash in one door in the moment that we went out.

    The front desk was good and it was easy to find transport to the downtown.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a bit thin but we were not disturbed - noisy neighbors could be a problem.

    Very substantial breakfast. Easy to get to from the city- two minutes from tram stop. Although the room was small (ish) it was totally adequate and clean. I believe the hotel provided excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Convenient location a short tram ride from city centre. Also, only a 20 min tram and bus ride from AstraZeneca (where I was attending a conference) - very important as taxis in Gothenberg are ridiculously expensive (I saved at least £ 260 using public transport - I don't get expenses !). Clean, comfortable, modern hotel. Excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was deceptively far from the centre of the city and required use of the tram system to get around (or a car). Limited restaurants in the area.

    Good basic hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Cheaper than equivalent hotels nearer the centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant was very poor quality. Some parts of the building seemed outdated or poorly designed. Mattress was collapsing on both sides. Breakfast was by far the worst out of the 4 hotels I stayed at in Gothenburg.

    Quiet area close to a few restaurants, grocery store, 7/11, and train stop.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was well located with two direct tram lines (3 and 9) to the train station. The neighborhood was one of the old working class districts of Gothenburg. Price affordable for Gothenburg.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff knocked on the door at 6pm. We wanted the room cleaned while we were away during the day.

    The rooms were extremely clean and the breakfast was extensive!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much for vegans at breakfast.

    Room were small but big enough for a weekend. Room looked clean and tidy. Staff were nice. Breakfast is very good for meat eaters, less good for vegans but there were tartex and oat/soymilk. It's a start but not enough. More organic food would be nice as well. All in all very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very strong perfume in the bathroom when we arrived, perhaps from some cleaning product.

    I like the many options for breakfast and I am happy that you have oat milk, soya milk, lactose free milk and youghurt.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We accidentally booked and paid for two nights in two rooms instead of just one room for the both of us (we are a couple). The staff at Spar Hotel Majorna were rude, unhelpful and refused to refund us fully for the two rooms, even though they ended up putting us in a new double room together. They told us there was nothing they could do and that we "must have been stressed" to book two rooms instead of one. On our last day there a member of staff refunded us half the amount we should have been "out of good will". We won't be staying at a Spar hotel again and certainly won't be recommending it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a group of partying young people in several rooms on the floor with us which was a bit annoying. The hotel was empty enough to put them on a different floor and thus separate them from other guests.

    Most comfy beds, big room, friendly staff, really good breakfast, perfect location for ferry-travellers (+tram station 100m from the hotel with direct link to the city center)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    first room changed because there was something like blood in pillows , impossible to sleep because of the noise of metro all night long , there is not enoght place to park the car ,unpleasant personal.

    Just the breakfast was ok

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice trip 30 min to center of Gothenburg. Metro to center stops outside the Hotel. Free parking inside. Very good internationsl breakfast with included swedish food traditions. We also had a nice visit to Liseberg Christmas dressed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like about the hotel the only thing I would say is if the hotel was a bit more closer to central gothenburg it would be perfect but you can get 2 trams number 3 & 6 right into the city so I can't complain

    This hotel was way better than we expected. We booked 2 triple rooms for 6 people for a weekend. When we first walked in it took us a few minutes to figure out where the 3rd bed was however we found it. The one thing I have to say is that the rooms were very clean and we were very happy with the space it was nice to still feel like we had some room especially since there was 3 of us sharing. Now the breakfast is absolutely amazing they have EVERYTHING. And breakfast starts from 7am till 12.30 pm so it means you don't have to rush and get up early in the morning so that you don't miss breakfast. We had 2 lovely receptionists a man who worked in the evening and a lady who worked in the day. They were very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was easy and available well ahead of the nominated check in time of 3pm. Stagf were helpful, cherry amd friendly. Closely located to tram stop and just three stops on tram to Stena Line Danica where I needed to be. Room was comfortable and clean and all i needed for a night stay before travelling out to Denmark the following morning. Breakfast included in deal and was a good selection of food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was appalling - almost inedible. It seemed to be dried beef on tacos with a tiny amount of cheese - not nachos as I know them.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Minor issues such as tiny second towel and short shower curtain resulting in a bit of a splash in the bathroom when having a shower. A small mini bar would have also been a bonus for the room.

    Comfortable, spacious room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I feel like this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. Value for money - oh yes

    Everything was actually above expectations, very happy we chose this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a room for three adults. My wife, son and myself. This made the room crowded and uncomfortable. The mattresses were of poor quality.

    Fantastic breakfasts. Free parking is a tremendous plus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are very few places in the parking, we just left the car there and did not move it in order to be sure that we don't have to search for a parking place on the streets.

    the hotel offers what it promises, it is clean, very good wi-fi, comfortable bed, 20 minutes walk from city center. It was a bit cold for me and the bathroom is quite small, but I noted this is applicable in most hotels in Sweeden. The staff were extremely nice and helpful Private parking a lot of options in the breakfast but not very high quality

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blood stains on pillow case, missing tea/coffee making facility. No bar fridge & no microwave.

    Good breakfast, free parking, good sized shower & bathroom, comfortable bed & quiet. Very close public transport.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice room and bathroom. Good location - tram stop nearby, city centre in about 10 minutes. Great breakfast - absolutely amazing that they had different milk for the dairy-free among us!! Really nice staff. And you can get the Gothenburg card from reception. We had a really lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit far walking from the center. The gym is not really nice, litterally almost nothing except running machines. Tiny rooms also.

    The breakfast was awesome. Good and nice staff. Pretty nice bathroom. Confortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, there was no air conditioning and it was pretty hot in the room. The bed was too soft for my taste and the pillow made my neck hurt a bit (but to all fairness my neck is quite sensitive).

    Breakfasts are amazing! Huge variety of really good food. Everyone will leave the breakfast room full. Loved the crispy bacon, the bread and the waffles that you make yourself with the dough provided. Our room was quite small, but arranged in a very practical and comfortable way. Hotel is located only few tram stops from the city center, with some restaurants and supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There where no space for parking the car inside the hotel garage and we had to pay for street parking instead.

    Clean, nice sauna area, friendly staff, nice room, comfy beds. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small, not worth what we paid... the parking is very limited and the staff were not helpful at all concerning finding a place to park. Set right in front of a railway, so it's a bit busy.

    Breakfast was alright- nice park around the back for jogging and located quite centrally.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent city hotel, at Chapmans Torg on tram line to centre. Helpful staff, comfortable bar/reception area, typical modern room, superb Swedish buffet breakfast with range of breads, hot and cold dishes, DIY waffles, of high quality. We would happily stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To small room without fridge, without any cabinet, we have triple room and it was really very small for three people. No aircondition.

    Very good bed, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my booking it was mentioned that I'll have a free parking, but when I arrived at the hotel after 4 hours of driving, they told me: yes we have free parking but sorry it is totally full.. Grate ! ; please be honest to your customers and give them this information in advance!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms at front get noise from trams throughout day and well into night and in early morning

    Location moderately convenient for Goteborg Botanical Garden. Bar/restaurant 'dish-of-the-day' a good budget eating option.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the side of the road the noise of tramway can be disturbing for some people. For me wasn't a problem, but sensible people can be disturbed.

    Nice, clean, easily reachable directly by tramway (line number 3) from the central station of the town. I sleeped very well and the food is very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff excellent breakfast walking distance to center of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Spar Hotel Majorna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: