Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stallmästaregården Hotel & Restaurant 4 stars

Norrtull, 11347 Stockholm, Sweden

#30 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1343 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Boutique hotel experience near lake with SUPERB service staff and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame that our windows/views were blocked by scaffolding around the building, but the service from the staff more than made up for it. The narrow high stairs for the loft in the junior suit are suitable only for fit, slim individuals with good balance...but worth it if you can manage it.

    The staff were professional, attentive and superb. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the lake was a treat. Dinner at the michelin rated restaurant was a highlight of our trip and we would gladly return just for the food and staff. We enjoyed getting out of the bustle of central Stockholm to the quiet of Stallmästaregården in the north, a quick Bus 500 or Bus 2 ride away. Our three nights in a junior suite with coffee/tea/fridge and extra bed downstairs were wonderful (though a little warm in late June, thank you for the fan). Bathroom upstairs in loft was a godsend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant stay in Stockholm. Would stay here again but in a room at the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the front is busy noisy motorway which meant we couldn’t open our windows and it was very hot. A long walk to the centre of Stockholm.

    Very pleasant staff, great breakfast and at the back of the hotel is very pretty lake and park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Reception staff needs to be well informed about how to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff needs to be well informed about how to get around in the city with buses and all the transportation options, nearest bustopp, trains etc. I do not feel the staff was able to explain clearly what was the nearest Busstopp that we could take from the hotel! They also need to be ready to recommend places to visit, restaurants and cafes etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Scenic hotel but close to highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service during the check-in was inacceptable. The additional bed for our child, that we payed for, was not ready and the appartment was simply too overcroweded with furnuture to place another bed. I don´t see that it is the job of a guest to place an additonal bed and rearrange the furnuture if you pay for it. Even in the appartments with windows to the garden you can hear the highway quite well through the open roof top window, which is a pitty because without aircon you have to open it in summer times...

    The hotel is nice and clean. Breakfast is also very goog. Prices at the bar are litlle high.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    friendly staff but hotel too close to the highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very bad, i booked the hotel looking at the pictures.... nice lake but the hotel is also on a very big roads intersection, very very noise !!! The room is very clean, but the furniture and the upholstery are dusty and old . Lack of maintanance around the property. Very disappointing that is in the design hotel list.

    The restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Charming ambience with rustic authenticity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to freeway near Hotel Entrance and there is construction work happening. Disruption is forgotten as soon as one enters the Hotel.

    Charming ambience with rustic authenticity. Large comfortable rooms. Delightful restaurant with excellent menu. Overlooking a charming lake with boating opportunities. Adjoins national park with excellent biking and walking choices available. Highly recommended👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely historical and quiet hotel with some deficits in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the hotel has lovely restaurant areas with a terrace towards the park we refrained from going there (lunch and dinner) due to a very unflexible and unfriendly, almost frosty member of staff that already 'served' us during our first breakfast (and the following days). Whenever this waitress was around she made us feel like staying in a provincial IKEA canteen or worse. It was obvious that she was completely misplaced as well as unsuitable for a job in service. Furthermore there was not a single variation (8 consecutive days) in terms of the breakfast buffet which made the first meal of the day a rather dull affair. A hotel with a four star rating should rethink this matter 'cause it seems to be an easy platform for a better performance.

    The core of this hotel is a building that dates back to the 17th century and has a beautifully historical flair in the best meaning of the word. The staff at the reception was generally lovely and very helpful. They always tried to answer every question no matter what. Besides we had a pleasant room (with a nice bathroom and a little terrace) which turned out to be a quiet, relaxing oasis after long days and nights exploring Stockholm. If you are travelling by car - we loved the easy way of parking in front of the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely traditional Swedish hotel on the water
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is lots of major road construction in Stockholm right now, and the hotel at one edge is next to a construction zone. There's one bus stop nearby, but it's not the easiest location for public transportation.

    A lovely spot on the water and on the edge of abundant parkland for walking, running, or biking. Within easy (~1 mile) walking distance of the university. It's north of the main part of town, but the center is easily accessible if you enjoy walking. The hotel is quite lovely - the Superior room is large by Scandinavian standards with a sizable bathroom and a nice view of the inner courtyard. The restaurant is traditional Swedish - breakfast includes a mix of nice breads, cold fish and cheeses, hot dishes, fruit; we had dinner one night, and the fish was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Great place next to nature and city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For this price, proper espresso coffee is expected for breakfast Restaurant staff not so good

    Excellent location, beautiful hotel (but very high prices -at least when I booked)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.9
    Not really in a good value for staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is smaller than I think. And I will not recommend the restaurant from my experience. It is too expensive, compared with the things that the hotel offers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    The location is heavenly, however it is the people who make...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is heavenly, however it is the people who make this place exquisite. From the reception to the restaurant, everyone of the staff was first-class. You will love it. Go for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Romantic haven away from the busy city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the romantic feel and location of the hotel away from the busy city centre, it is a little haven to escape to after a busy day of sightseeing. We stayed in a deluxe room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful establishment, but rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and slightly incompetent staff.

    Remarkable location by a peaceful lake and walking distance to Stockholm's downtown. Truly unbeatable breakfast & bar-food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Good for Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the hotel personnel at the reception was not friendly except Erica. They did not seem that they want to solve the problem. I cannot say that I felt like I was home. The phone, safe case and the shower cap were not working in the room. I was staying in the superior room which was fine in terms of noise but I am sure the standard rooms were noisy. There was no vanity kit in the room. Every hotel has vanity kit now. This was a big mistake even a piece of cotton was not there. No slippers. No enough space in the closet which was very small. In the shower cabinet, there was no holder to put the shampoo and other stuff, so you need to place them on the floor which is really uncomfortable. They can spend a bit more money to put the holder inside the shower cabin. They don't have like 500 rooms anyway. I booked a room with king size bed but what they call as king size is 2 separate beds with a thin double mattress. Well, overall I was satisfied because I really wanted to enjoy my 4 days. If you are a picky person you can find many other problems in the hotel. The hotel is not close to the airport, you can take a bus for 40 min which is the best solution. The distance to the city centre is around 45min walking.

    I was travelling alone to rest for 4 days. The restaurant in the hotel is to die for. I didn't eat anywhere else. The breakfast was amazing especially their dark bread with anise! The ala carte menu was from head to toe Oh My GOD! I have visited Argentina and been to the best restaurants there but the meat I tried in this restaurant was the best ever! The head waiters are very friendly and surely very experienced. Trust their choices, let them choose for you. The atmosphere around the hotel was amazing, very very cozy and absolutely stunning but be sure to go there when the weather is nice and sunny otherwise no meaning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Nice and comfy, with extremely good service and in generally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little too close to a busy highway. But that can't be changed.

    Nice and comfy, with extremely good service and in generally beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    An elegant, well-appointed hotel in a gorgeous setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit of a hike into town, so this spot is for those who are happy with a good walk (we are, luckily!) or don't mind negotiating public transport / shelling out for what can be a whopping cab fare (it shouldn't be, but the meters rack up fast if traffic is bad and you sit in it). Only down side on the hotel side was that sound proofing wasn't great - we were woken early at the weekend because a pack of kids were racing up and down the corridors. Being a Brit, I'd also appreciate a kettle in the room - having to go to the restaurant for a cup of tea was a downside.

    An elegant, well-appointed hotel in a gorgeous setting (well, the view from the restaurant at least). The staff were all friendly/helpful, and we were very comfortable here. It's a great place to escape the busy centre of Stockholm for some peace and quiet at the end of the day. The food in the restaurant was great too, so eating in one night is highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    We liked the view from the restaurant into the park, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the bathroom door inside the room was made of glass....did not leave much to imagination when you are inside the bathroom with the light on...we put a towel onto the door - luckily we had adhesive tape handy....not so great designed fun! Eating breakfast and relaxing was quite difficult as the room was cleared up for upcoming lunch - breakfast ends right on time, at 10:00h during working days. That’s a bit early...as it was vacation for us.

    We liked the view from the restaurant into the park, the lake and the nice breakfast. Also the room was nice and elegant, the beds comfy and the location close to major bus routes and nice other restaurants within walking distance. Room keeping was very fine, we would definitely stay there again. We slept well with open window, our room had a nice garden view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strongly do not recommend this hotel!!! Disgusting staff, the lady at the reception, talks as if I came to her home. Got the room to the road where there was a loud noise, ask about the change of room, cause my father has heart disease and he slept badly- RUDELY refused, asked for the slippers (in hotel 4 stars !!!!) - refused, bathrooms soap and shower brought one time during 4 days. The first time I see such a service in Scandinavia and from the center go on foot 40-50 minutes. I do not recommend

    Nothing Ничего

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    The bed was extra comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room, the shower gel and the shampoo was not refilled... Don't know if one is supposed to go and ask for more at the reception desk? Though it would be helpful if the cleaning staff do it as they can see it on the spot. Guest's children started running on the hallways as early as 6,45 a.m. on Sunday morning...and didn't stop for at least one hour. Not the hotel's fault but.... In the area surrounding the property there's a lot of works going on so, therefore, a lot of dust and not a very nice view.

    The bed was extra comfy. The room was thoroughly cleaned daily. The breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent. The Bus stop is very close. A big plus for all these (very important) details.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two ladies that checked us in on April 16 at about 10.30 pm was brilliant , very friendly , approachable and helpful. Could not desire more from them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to enjoy Stockhom.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle in the room would have been nice and also better wifi connection.

    The location is beautiful and close to the city too. Lovely food and lovely staff. Quiet (superior) room overlooking the quadrangle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Hotel! Very clean and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast and very friendly staff. And best of all the location was wonderful. You get the best of both worlds. Just a few minutes walk from the city but it felt like you were in the countryside. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice property, excellent bed. Mixed feelings about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at breakfast 10 minutes before the end time, and the personnel started removing already all the food and soon after they pulled the curtains over the buffet, and we could not get more food. We found that a lack of courtesy. It would be nice to be at least notified verbally few minutes before that happens.

    Bed was excellent, but the gigantic headrest was swinging and banging against the wall, and makes too much noise ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    A short break in a beautiful location by the Royal Park & Lake at the end of a business trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I was there in Winter, there was no flask or electric kettle in the room. Getting hot water from the restaurant was inconvenient. Staff was helpful but could be more friendly.

    Picturesque location, not far from center of the city. Beautiful old building next to a frozen lake and the Royal Park, which is ideal for a walk. Good quality food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    We really liked our stay at Stallmästaregården Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really liked our stay at Stallmästaregården Hotel. The breakfast is superb. The place has its charm. The hotel is just next to the beautiful Haga park, so it's a great place to relax. Everyone was helpful. It's very convenient that you can make yourself a cup of tea in the afternoon and sit in the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel in the northern part of central Stockholm
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Unique location with a beautiful view towards a lake and a park, historical building with fusion furniture- mixture of modern equipment and vintage wardrobes, within a 10 min walking distance to metro station, quiet; cosy, clean, comfortable bed, exceptional breakfast; staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Cold but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was cold in the room, we decided to ask for a heater in the last night. Rooms are small. For similar priced hotels closer to center this is not worth it in the cold season. Maybe better for summer season.

    Breakfast was excellent, staff was so and so (either really helpful or awfully quiet), bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    A energizing and restful stay with a classic touch! Very Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the room was not pleasant.

    Nice atmosphere right from the first step into the hotel. Polite and correct staff at the front desk. Helped with late check out without reservation. When we got home later in the evening, the bar-staff was done for the day but that did not stop the personel at front desk to help serve us a glass of wine in the "lounge". Professional and that "little extra" The breakfast was fabulous, not to mention the view of the ice-covered bay. The beds superb and the cleanliness impeccable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Superb, historic, comfortable hotel with bathtub
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I chose this hotel again for the excellent comfort in inspiring settings without breaking my bank account. With its excellent beds and bathtub and a convenient setting, it is my go to minibreak of choice in Stockholm (yes, even though I lived in the same town). This time, I was there to treat myself after a crazy weekend of moving and huge work stress. The staff went above and beyond, even letting me have the room early, which was perfect since I needed to nap to become human again and enjoy the rest of my stay. The perfect bed helped, too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    Very calm hotel and very cosy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was tobacco smell in bathroom

    Very calm hotel and very cosy. For business trip is ideal. Around the hotel is very beauty lake. Inside the hotel is good quality restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Great various breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On breakfast no oatmeal for kids and no fried eggs (only scrambled). Isn't optimised for kids in some little things - no playroom or playground, no additional beds in standart room, no kids menu. Location far from subway.

    Great various breakfast. Nice location just inside a very large park, on the coast of lake, great for running. Interesting for kids to feed a ducks and sometimes swans just in 100 meters from hotel. Free private parking is very valuable for foreigners in Stockholm. Enough various restaurants in 5-minute walk range (most are closed at 20:00-21:00, be careful). Hotel looks strange outside but very comfort inside, looks like 'old traditional place', nice for romantic evenings etc. Very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely recommend for adults. For kids - appropriate, but only as "bed and breakfast".

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Extensive breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were less impressed by the junior suite, than by the standard room we had stayed in 2 years ago. Around the roof windows of the junior suite, there was not only water damage, but also a gentle draft. The shower hose was leaking and the beds were not overly comfortable anymore. There were 3 of us in the room, but after housekeeping had cleaned the room, only 2 out of the 3 towels were replaced. A bit aggravating to have to call the reception 2 days in a row for the same -obvious- request.

    Extensive breakfast buffet. Nice location overlooking the lake (if you ignore the highways) and easily accessible with the airport coaches.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Lovely rooms for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service needs a shaping up. Stayed over new years and the personal felt secondary.

    The room was lovely as were the bed. Very calm energy in room no 111. Breakfast was adequate, served in the restaurant. Nice design but could use some detailing touches in the main areas. Overall a place to recommend. Be aware of the room size.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and historic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was central, but roads was twisting and turning all around the place, and some extensive road works meant you would need to take a detour by car to get from there to the city centre.

    Beautiful and historic place. Very cosy and very Scandinavian. Wooden floor, fireplace etc. A real gem so central in a city. Breakfast not seen better anywhere in Sweden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    We found a tailor's pin in one of the cushions and as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a tailor's pin in one of the cushions and as we had our 2 year old with us, you can imagine it wasn't an ideal find. Bathroom door was frosted and semi transparent. No privacy when using the bathroom!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    It would be good if you would receive spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is smaller than on the photos. There was constant noice from outside which prevented us from getting some fresh air in the night. Bed isn't so comfy as I would expect. Stuff on reception and during breakfast wasn't smiling, I felt myself a little bit unwelcome because of it

    The breakfast was perfect. It was actually the best hotel breakfast in my life! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine dining restaurant was great for a special treat but needed bar menu for teenager or younger children

    Beautiful old coaching inn right by a lake. Other side is a main road but was never a noise issue. Easy to walk to metro stop or indeed all the way into town. Spacious suites with good facilities. Fine dining restaurant served excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    An old-fasion country stile hotel in the middle of the apital
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signs from E4:an is difficult to find. Filmjölk was missing at the breakfast, but apart from that was very good.

    Location is fantastic, on one side towards the park. The syle of the hotel is really nice and a great asset for Stockholm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely lake view, gorgeous walks, cozy location with loads of character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps we could have had a kettle in the room? We were told you had to book a specific room type to get a tea kettle?

    The breakfast was outstanding and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    A gem with beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you want a very central location, this may not be the place for you. We we're happy to do a little bit of walking though.

    Very comfortable beds and an exceptional breakfast with homemade cinnamon bread, croissants and the best scrambled eggs I've had in a hotel. Very quiet. The location was great for us, sitting on the edge of a beautiful park. However, to the other direction there was a big intersection of roads which was less than picturesque.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful old house by the lake, cozy and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No cotton pads and q-tips in the bathroom.

    The house itself is so cosy and the surroundings beautiful. Love the fire in the reception. Very good food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    We would come back anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very comfortable bed. Great surroundings, right in the beautiful Haga Park. Easy access to the city center by public transportation. Quiet zone, delicious breakfast, nice staff. All was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast staff could have been a little friendlier, a smile really goes a long way ;)

    The breakfast was really good. The room was a little smaller than expected, but still big enough. The bed was comfortable and houskeeping/cleaning was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money - spot on Swedish Design and Grace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View to the garden was beautiful. Perhaps a little candle/ light installation would already be nice in October when the nights get dark. One thing puzzled me - right in front of the property front door there was a puddle of water. So when you stepped outside you wet your shoes immediately - I would raise those few steps of keep weeping the water of...

    Bed was very comfortable, and linen felt good quality. I liked Orla Kiely cosmetics, although did not find the style of packaging (70´s style) fitting to the property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, near a beautiful park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to pay attention to the room size. Even if some room are recommended for 2 adult and 1 child, they do not provide an extra bed in those rooms, fore safety issues, so we had an upgraded room.

    Excellent location, near a beautiful park. The hotel is beautiful and quiet. Delicious breakfast, gourmet dinner. Good quality/price ratio.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Although the hotel is located near a busy intersection, once...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Tea & Coffee making facilities

    Although the hotel is located near a busy intersection, once you reach the hotel it’s an absolute delight. It has a beautiful setting and we were lucky enough to be there when the autumn colours were at their best. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was simply furnished but comfortable - no coffee making facilities though. The minibar was well stocked but I would have preferred a cup of tea. Great breakfast. The hotel is ideally placed for the Flygbussarna airport bus shuttle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is very nice, great breakfast, great branch on Sunday, tasty food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair on the towels when we just arrived, broken safe and no desire to compensate us this inconveniences, to move to better room.

    Stay near the lake, summer terrace when it functions, breakfast, bed)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel backs on to a freeway junction which is having major roadworks. Not pretty to look at but luckily not too noisy either. Inexplicably the address on Booking.com is not detailed enough so we ended up a few blocks away and had to look up the full address on the hotel's website. Be aware, Stockholm is crowded and accommodation is expensive even by Scandinavian standards

    We received a very friendly and professional welcome from Malik on arrival. Parking is easy and included in the tariff. Our room was comfortable with a nice bed and lovely shower. The hotel is an older building but very well renovated to a very nice standard. The hotel is located overlooking a lovely lake. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, clean, family friendly getaway in style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was perfect for a family getaway in style. The hotel was able to add a little cot to our room complete with mini duvet and pillow. Very cute. The breakfasts were lovely with two high chairs available. The rooms were quiet overlooking a lovely lake and the bus stops were close by. It was approximately 30 minutes away from Stockholm Central station and a 10 minute walk away from the metro which is why i only scored 'good' on location, but other than that it was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Oasis of excellence 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The downside is that on the other side of the building are roads and rail and much noisy development.

    This is a special place. The oldest Stockholm Inn. The building is traditional style, restrained and pleasing. The position by the Brunnsviken bay and within short walk of Hagaparken is beautiful. The downside is that on the other side of the building are roads and rail and much noisy development. So my recommendation is that if you decide to stay here , ask for a garden room. So to all the positives. The rooms are smallish but have a distinctive Swedish style. We stayed here once before for about 5 days and that time opted for a junior suite which was on two levels. This time, for our two night stop over, we opted for a superior room overlooking the very pretty garden at the centre of the hotel. The bed and bed linen was extremely comfortable and the black and white marble bathroom was well appointed. The breakfast with option for lake views from the verandah  is a delight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    The location besides the lake is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions to the property are incorrect .we spent 2 hrs circling around in the car trying to find the property.in the end a local helped us by taking us to the hotel (we followed his car). The receptionist lady was not very friendly .most of the time she was frowning and never smiled.

    The location besides the lake is very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    A unique, relaxing (although somewhat expensive) venue close to Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is somewhat isolated if you don't have a car, as it's a bit of a hike to public transportation (bus and underground). The hotel restaurant has a limited menu and is overpriced.

    Beautiful, historic property on the northern outskirts of Stockholm, very close to an attractive lake (Brunnsviken) and a huge park (Hagaparken) that is ideal for walking/jogging. Although a very old building, Stallmastergarden has been thoughtfully restored and renovated, and the rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is good, and the hotel staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid room 112, due to the big tree in front of it it was too dark. Dust under the bed. Breakfast was good, but during our stay (9 days) we had the same sortiment - no change. Only few TV channels.

    Nice location, close to a park and lake, helpfull & well informed staff, good connections to the bus & metro network.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    elegant retreat close to city and lake/park area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was close to the aircondition on the roof, quite noisy during the night.

    Nice view from restaurant, especially from the terrace. Delicious breakfast buffet. Recommendation: Rent a Bike, walk to the closest bike station (5 min) and drive to Stockholm center in 15 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    It's nice old, and cozy feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The not so friendly front desk lady but the other one with eyeglasses was okey. She don't even say thank you or welcome back, I will probably come back if she is not there anymore. And rhe bathtub was flooding the floor when you use it.

    The park and peaceful and the bunnies around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, wonderful staff, very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from near-by highway (very prominent at night - had to ask for ear plugs). Relatively far from the city centre and 15 minutes walk to the closes metro station. Rooms on the smaller side and double-rooms not able to fit 1 extra bed. No air-conditioning in the room so may get (very) warm in the summer (in particular on the upper floor of the duplexes).

    Very friendly and professional staff, clean and very nicely furnished rooms, comfortable beds, excellent restaurant (for breakfast, lunch & dinner), beautifully furnished overall and wonderful historical setting (on the waterfront and in the Haga park).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    City break in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly more storage in the room for clothes would have been good, but only a minor quibble since the hotel is furnished in period style and this may have been out of place. Hotel restaurant is good, memo to others is that if you are eating on Sunday evening availability of the fish dishes may be limited quickly as there is no fresh fish delivery on Sundays.

    Breakfast was excellent, as was the location by the lake with dining terrace, public transport links and friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    The inn was on a beautiful lake on the edge of Stockholm but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn was on a beautiful lake on the edge of Stockholm but we still managed to walk to gamla Stan in under an hour. We walked around the lake one afternoon, stopping for coffee and cinnamon buns at a quirky cafe en route. The next day we rented kayaks and explored the lake from the water side. The hotel was elegant and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a short walk to the subway station where we went to the mall of Scandinavia handily. Austins food works was nearby and served good pub grub and craft beer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place with an amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    GPS & Google maps tried to use routes to get there that didn't exist. Caused us to drive in circles getting there. Where informed that this is a known problem, but had not been advised of this in advance.

    Beautiful surroundings with the best view of the lake. Very well maintained property and comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast selection (coffee excluded)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Great hideaway if you need a peaceful break - located next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the area is very quiet, my room was quite close to the neighbouring road - and you can hear every single car passing by you. well, it is not like you are in the middle of the city of course - but you can still hear it. There was also not too much natural light in that particular room, even in day time - so just be careful when you choose your room if you are sensitive to these things. The location is great if you are looking for a peaceful break - but if you are there to explore the city - it is 15-20 min drive from the city centre. which, by Stockholm's size, is quite a long drive. Also - none of the taxi drivers recognised the hotel by the name - Google maps didnt help them at all times either - so be ready to show directions and definitely have the address with you to show.

    Great hideaway if you need a peaceful break - located next to a huge lake, nice food served in the restaurant and the breakfest is hearty and delicious. the decor is very nice, lovely inner and outer gardens. They have a parking lot as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Hope to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little stuffy, but there was a small fan provided which we used.

    Excellent location. So close to downtown, but nestled aside the lake and park. Food was well prepared and staff helpful. Historic building with tasteful furnishings and a variety of areas to relax alone or with friends. Suitable for everyone from the solo traveller through families. Loved the easy access to city bikes and used them throughout our entire stay to explore Stockholm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Great hotel, wonderful food but the service wasn't perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I handed my clothes in for laundering on the Friday night. I came back to check at 7 pm on the Saturday and my dirty laundry was still sat in the corner of reception and hadn't been picked up. Not happy!

    The food was great. The restaurant staff were extremely well trained and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located next to a lake with trails all away around it - great for runners as well. Breakfast was fantastic and as was the evening dining. Very modern updated rooms and can easily walk into central Stockholm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not to fault the hotel, but motorway construction close by took away from the otherwise really lovely spot the hotel occupies

    hotel was charming, staff were great, and terrace overlooking the lake for breakfast (and dinner) was lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Cerenity now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are relatively small and there's no room for the suitcase. The shower is great but dark and there's no place for hanging wet towels to dry.

    The place is beautiful and peaceful. Close to the city and yet feels like being out in the country with the setting of the lake and park. Loved the decour​ and the atmosphere, and having my morning coffee out by the lake with swans and rabbits around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location nearby park, very nice beds, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the restaurant: the vegan option was a bit disappointing (grilled vegetables with fried potatoes, no source of protein); it would have been great to have more vegan options for breakfast (oatly cream cheese, vegan yoghurt, baked beans or tomatoes for example). Early check in wasn't available despite having requested this a few weeks in advance.

    Delicious breakfast (with upon request vegan milk), loose tea, delicious breads, vegetables, fruits; Very comfortable bed & bed sheets; excellent location nearby huge park for walk & runs; easy to go to the center by bus or metro (after 15' walk); restaurant available on the premises.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Close to it all, city and nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with better lightning in the lobby.

    Great and friendly staff and great food. Fantastic ambience in a building from the 1600's. Amazing to have the great Haga park just outside the building and still only a few minutes walk to the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Wow, what an experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much

    Just a little note - I was traveling with a friend with the same dates, he used his air miles to book his room. When I took a look at his room it had the same amenities with the exception of his chairs and bench in front of his bed were nicer as well as he had Two complimentary bottles of water and I only had one. I paid cash for my room and thought maybe I was the one that would have had two complimentary bottles?! :) I have to compliment the extraordinary effort that your evening check in clerk gave to me when I requested extra towels as well as an ice bucket, I requested the same thing for the first two evenings that I was there I think. Earlier in the evening I personally witnessed him PROFESSIONALLY handle one of your guests that was looking for a room facing the lake; he handled the situation with such grace and posture that it truly left an impression on me. I don't know his name but he is about 6 feet tall with Blonde/light red hair; give him a raise:):) He should absolutely be commended. Additionally, I had to leave the Hotel at around 6:40 AM on 5/9, your Breakfast was not completely set out yet, yet they Breakfast crew went out of their way to make sure that I had at least cold meats, warm bread and cheese to eat before I departed; one of the service people ( I think it was the female check in clerk) even brought me some plastic wrap so that I could take sandwiches with me because the Taxi was waiting for me! Their is a little Brown haired waitress that also should be commended for hurrying to get the meats and cheeses out for me!! One more thing; the TAXI driver that picked me up was exceptional, I sat in the front drivers seat on the way to the airport, he was very kind, conversational and fun to be with! Overall; EXCELLENT service and accommodations!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel by the lake with a superb food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is quite difficult to access the hotel, because you need to wait for the infrequent buses. You can also walk from Odenplan station which would take almost 20 minutes to get to the hotel.

    I really like the hotel's vibe as it is situated right by the lake, we enjoyed breakfast with the view. The breakfast is also great with a variety of high-quality food. The room's size is quite perfect with the classic European style that we are also intrigued by. I highly recommend you to stay here during spring time, the scenery will be much more prettier.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Important Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is among the best in Sweden, certainly far batter than that offered by most American restaurants. Additionally, the staff went out of their way to be helpful, both when we were at the hotel and later in searching for finding an item I had left in the room. They then forwarded the item to me. Finally, the hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to the most important tourist sites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    for sure will stay next time when visit Stockholm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find the hotel, using the address from booking – google maps shows wrong location a few kilometers further, using the address from webpage of hotel – arriving to the hotel from one way street without entrance

    Unusual, very nice boutique hotel, good breakfast, nice restaurant, quiet location, definitely will stay next time when visit Stockholm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but hard to find the right exit to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is road construction going on just outside the hotel. My room faced the road. It wasn't a big issue for us because we couldn't hear anything from the road when the windows were closed. Although it's close to Karolinska, we still had to drive to our conference as it would take approx. 18 min by foot. Even with GPS, we missed twice the exit to go to the hotel. Drive more slowly around that area so you don't miss the exit.

    Nice breakfast with lake view. It feels very comfortable with the old house style. Close enough to Karolinska Hospital (3 min. driving), where our conference was. Good for those with car, since there's free parking lot and it's outside city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful place with unique spirits near to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am early bird, and every morning I went to the hotel's garden with my camera. The weather was chilly but the rising Sun was warm and the lights was beauty on the shore of a huge lake with a bunch of birds and bunnies. The hotel gave us a countryside feeling, but in real it was really close to the city center. + the kanelbullar was really delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very limited amenities/facilities in the room (e.g. no possibility to boil own water to make tea or coffee). Small room

    View from the restaurant over the lake. Very good breakfast with fresh products and wide variety - although the same every day. Public transport to the city at walking distance, ~30 minutes walk to city center. Great value for money (we paid 130 euro per night for a standard room)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the location, if you want to be close to downtown.

    The hotel is beautifully decorated and in a historic building. The location is a little out of the way, which means it is very quiet, but requires more work to get to local attractions. Breakfast was a definite highlight - lots of choices and everything was delicious!! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: