Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen 4 stars

Falkenbergsgatan 3, Centrum, 41285 Gothenburg, Sweden

#28 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1745 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    All of it - v helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swedish wine licensing laws are strange as you can only buy a bottle from specific outlets - not a criticism of the hotel though as you can buy a bottle from their restaurant

    All of it - v helpful staff. V comfortable and quiet room with nice views. Kitchenette was excellent too. 3 minute walk to the tram which were superb too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    lovely Hotel a bit outside of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for the price and as a best western hotel I expected thick curtains, which make the room completly dark. Unfortunately they were not thick enough...

    lovely Hotel a bit outside of the city extrabed as a sofa bed worked well and was fine... greak breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing, whilst feeling luxurious.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some building work outside but could not be heard in the hotel.

    The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious as were the restaurant meals. There is a supermarket next door with good bakery and salad selections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next to a building site

    We stayed in the deluxe room which had a balcony on the top floor, the hotel was excellent, very clean, comfortable and had a kitchenette and seating area. We ate in the hotel both nights, the food was plentiful and well cooked. Access into Gothenburg was easy by catching the tram about 5 mins walk away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is close to main attractions , stores , easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone mentioned it comments that the stuff is very helpful specially when you have kids . They where very wrong I have 1 year old and 4 year old . And the lady in glasses her name I think was Jennifer favourite words was UNFORTUNATELY we can’t do it or we are an able to do it . What ever I ask for it 😤. Ifs you travel with small kids make sure you are in the time for check in and out . You will not get room early or stay little bit longer ( they where not busy on dose days ) even if you travel from 4 am and kids crying and tired or you need to catch late flight . You need to go straight to airport or just wonder around to kill the time 😕. Good luck but never coming back there . I travel a lot but never encounter stuff person so unpleasant .

    The hotel is close to main attractions , stores , easy to get to Center . Very big comfortable room , clean as well .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient comfortable and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area wasn’t very clean but we went late so assume it was very busy

    It was just a pleasant stay, the little kitchen and supermarket next door was a great advantage and the location next to the tram was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    A convenient stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I choose this hotel for its vicinity to Svenska Mässan (~2km; 25minutes walking or a short ride by trams 2 or 4) and the beginning of the road 40 (towards airport, Borås, Jönköping), and I was very satisfied. Reaching city centrum was also easy and fast with the public transport that seemed to work well. The parking hall was nice and its price (175kr /night) reasonable. I didn't hear any noise to my room. The room was spacious and clean. I felt safe since you could enter the corridors only with the key card. There was a big supermarket in the same building. The breakfast was ok, not luxurious but had everything I eat for breakfast. The wifi worked well. Having microwave oven and refridgerator is nice and if I visit Gothenburg again with my family, this is indeed an advantage and I'll choose this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    The room is big, with a kitchenette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tram station is close to the hotel. But as there is a construction site near to the hotel, upon getting off the tram, you need to go round the site to reach the hotel entrance. But once you know the way, it is not inconvenient. Just means a few more minutes walk. No noise issues encountered.

    The room is big, with a kitchenette. The beds are comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a supermarket next to the hotel. It is convenient to travel by tram to the conference centre, and the main tourist attractions. I enjoyed the breakfast and the dinner in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    We had a good holiday, tell the receptionist to smile as they are welcoming the guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the tram stopped and we got off, we could not find the hotel; there was no sign of where to go. I went to the sports club and asked where is the hotel... Not everybody comes by a taxi :) So You should do something about informing where the hotel is. The check in process was too long. We came there with 3 children and nobody tried to check us in quicker. There were two receptionists working and they both were checking the same company. Do not You have some kind of policy of how to check in families with small children? There are bicycles in the hotel, but there are no seats for children; it is really a pity. We expexted a wider variety of food for breakfast: there were only one plate with sweet things and it was almost empty; no salmon - in Sweden? How can it be? We also missed diary products. the menu for breakfast is like for a two star hotel,,, The constructions around really annoys; when you open the window, the noise is coming. i believe You should have send families with children on the other side.

    The location is quiet good but it is not a center of the city. There are supermarkets around so You can buy anything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is very simple with minimal choice of hot dishes. I would suggest to have more fruits. Be careful with taxi - I waited for it over 30 min.

    The hotel is not far from centre, just 7 tram stops. The trip takes around 15 min. The room is big and spacious, comfort bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient for the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing, too much white bread, scrambled egg was packet mix so not egg at all!

    Convenient for the motorway. Lovely staff in the attached restaurant. Good space in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Our room was super clean, extremely spacious, readily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite the room being super clean on arrival, what we noticed is that during our stay the room was not being cleaned - we only got new towels, empty trash bins and have our beds made. With a crawling baby, this was a major minus for us. Similarly, because of our baby it was impossible on one occasion to make the breakfast time 6.30-9.30.

    Our room was super clean, extremely spacious, readily equipped with a baby crib and high chair. Proximity to a big Willys supermarket was a major plus for us, a family with a newborn. Reaching the city, Universeum/Liseberg or Slottsskogen is convenient both by foot and tram.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit too far from the city center. But I had a rental car,so it was not a real issue.

    Best WIFI ever, extremely fast and excellent coverage. The room was large and clean, with a small kitchen area, sofa and a table with 4 chairs. Like a small flat really. Parking was conveniently located literally 10 steps from the elevator. This time of the year (March) the hotel was not crowded at all, so had no trouble at breakfast with queuing. Supermarket again a few steps from the hotel, making it convenient to buy drinks for the trips and food to cook in your own kitchen area. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Family room, bed, fast elevators, brekfast, extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit far from the city center. Not so nice neighbourhood due to construction works.

    Family room, bed, fast elevators, brekfast, extra cleanliness, staff, etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Actually the construction around the apartment, but its a matter of time, the view will look 'nice'.

    The apartment was very excellent in term of the apartment itself, clean & spacious. Willy supermarket was just next door. Very convenient indeed for us to do marketing as we cook our own meals. Breakfast was included in the package, simple but good. We love it! We took a cab from the Centralstation to the apartment for the first time as we are not familiar with the area. But we travel daily by Tram to Central Gothenburg. The apartment is between Elisedal Tram Station & Vasbergsgatan Station. Same line to the Liseberg Amusement Park. Quiet surrounding but safe, no worries. Helpful & friendly reception counter. "Home away from Home" ..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    I liked the room size, that's really why I picked the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are too thin so I could hear my Neighbour snoring 😒 and on the other side I could hear the "fight" and door slamming...😒

    I liked the room size, that's really why I picked the hotel. The space was great. Having a kitchenette and the fact that the hotel is right by the supermarket is awesome, if you want to cook something in particular.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That there was no info that we had to pay for parking, or that we could not order parking as part of the booking.

    Very comfortable beds, and good service. nice to have a store right next door. and close by to the Arena we where playing at.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    We stayed at the hotel because it was a short cab ride from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the hotel because it was a short cab ride from the Theatre where we were going to see a show. This is not the most picturesque place but parking was relatively simple although not free. It was close enough to town that you could comfortably walk in good weather. We didn't get to try the breakfast as my alarm clock failed to function. The facilities looked pretty reasonable although we were really only there for one night so didn't get to try everything out. Staff at reception were pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    lots of space, modern furniture and good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleanliness could be improved. We had to call reception more than once to ask that our room be cleaned a little better. It was all superficial and clearly not being vacuumed every day (we found crumbs from our previous dinner on the floor). Breakfast is organised in a "canteen" style. The variety is limited and they often run out of stuff and the cutlery/trays are frankly quite old. Location is what it is but if you are travelling with children it's possibly the best option in town. If you are only adults then go for the city centre.

    lots of space, modern furniture and good beds. I recommend booking the suite if you have children you get more space and a private sauna. The kitchen is a big bonus if you are travelling with little ones. Very good laundry facilities for free so great if you are travelling around for longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    An average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. We come down around 9:50 for breakfast and the restaurant is closing the section . It is however can see the choice of breakfast is quite bad and limited compare to other best western or same grade hotel.

    We arrive very late after midnight . There is 24 hours reception and she is very friendly and patiently check in for us. The room is quite big and clean, simple design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    We stayed to go to Liseberg and when leaving the day after...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed to go to Liseberg and when leaving the day after we needed to go to the airport. This hotel is ideally suited for both. Liseberg is on walking distance and access to the highway going to the airport is direct, without having to pass through the often congested city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent choice in Goteborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately we chose the public parking lot next to hotel, recommended by the hotel staff for better cost over several days (parking is available in hotel but much more expensive). We had a vandalism act overnight on our rental car (one tire knife destroyed) which cost us money and half day to repair on a lovely day. So we do not recommend do use this parking, despite in general Sweden is a safe place.

    This hotel is very recent and rooms are simply great. Very spacious, well equipped kitchen, large clean and modern bathroom (which is not often the case in Sweden), quiet. Clean and free laundry room. Good buffet breakfast. Nice and friendly staff. Location is good, few tram stops from downtown and close to Lisberg park. All together a very good experience and warmly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    fair but overrated by previous guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked the family room with a bed-sofa. I had to build this up by myself. The mattress is too thin (even for kids) and it was not entirely flat. The mattress of the main bed is only little thicker. it is one of the beds I woke up with backache. If you are for more comfort sleep I'd rather book somewhere else. The WIFI is ridiculous. You kept losing the signal every minute. it is unusuable.

    Hotel is quite good located and proximity to the center is good,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    - spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - far from the city center on foot (but there is a tram stop just near the hotel), about 15 minutes with tram

    - spacious room - good breakfast - kitchen

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction in progress next to the hotel. Though hardly hotel's fault, not nice view anyway

    Kitchenette quite useful to cook sea food bought around Gothenburg area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Kitchen in room coupled with supermarket in building was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Kitchen in room coupled with supermarket in building was a great benefit. Able to make easy, healthy meals in the room to save money. Several kid-friendly parks within walking distance. Easy access to major tram line direct to Ullevi Stadium, train station, Liseberg, and other major city sites. Laundry facility onsite was also great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    I have booked two interconnected room, they were perfectly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the room was not cleaned the second day and the other room was not cleaned the next day even though the door between the two rooms was left open.

    I have booked two interconnected room, they were perfectly ready along with the requested baby cot. Parking is convenient and has direct access to the hotel elevator. Grocery store at the entrance of the hotel. Kitchen is small but fully equipped, all the kitchenware are available. Express checkout is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Lot of choices at the breakfast table, we were surprised...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of choices at the breakfast table, we were surprised with the size of the room and we even had a small kitchen! Overall a very pleasant stay, this was the second stay and I will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Great amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couch a little hard for sleeping but otherwise all great. Could not adjust temperature to make it warmer in room.

    Great amenities. Buffet breakfast. Comfort and all provided including robe and slippers. Great blockout for white nights. In room sauna.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    30min walk into city centre. Tram available approx 3min walk away. Public transport cheap.

    Very large room. Kitchen area, seating area, dining area, huge shower room. Clean and tidy. Staff at reception really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but needs staff attitude improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude was poor when we checked in.

    Staff was a little rude as we arrived in the evening. Otherwise, location was nice and good accommodations for what we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    good place for short and long stay in the centre
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quite simple and modest breakfast. It could be even payable extra but more choice for breakfast would be reccomended.

    excellent equipment in the room, spacious, comfortable for sleep and work, big bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel anyway
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They do not trust on people, I bought a tram´s tickets for the family and I did not use them. When I tried to return back the tickets they refers that they were not sure If the ticket were used or not. I paid them and I did not use them. Maybe it is a hotel rule that the tram´s tickets they sell are not reimbursable at all. I believe this should be notified when someoneI buys the tickets.

    Everything was ok, no problem at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Ok to stay with family but no charisma!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was far far away from the typical sweedish sympathy! They just replied the minimum to our questions, didn't offer prompt solutions, ... They were never rude but also never nice! The hotel lacks charisma. It’s ok is size, organization, etc, but it’s not really nice in absolutely anything! It’s just not special!

    Everything was ok. Comfortable room. Kitchen available. Breakfast ok. Public transportations near by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    The bed was comfy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location , it was a building site. Far from the centre. Non chic interior. I could not work the tv. Drab curtains....

    The bed was comfy. The kitchenette handy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    A good stay at Western Plus Hotel! Close to centrum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't liked the breakfast, it could have been better, it's a 4* hotel, and limited choice at breakfast was the most annoying part, parking spots are not free for hotel guest, charging stations not available for Electric car! SEK 145/- per night for parking!

    Good size room, comfy beds cleanliness was up to standard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Good comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of the room should be done daily. I stayed 2 days. One day the room was not cleaned. Also I used utensils, it was not cleaned both the days.

    Staffs are very helpful. Room was spacious. I wanted to more warmer room..staff arranged extra heater.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because of the offices in the opposite, nearby, building one has to close the curtains as soon as you switch the lights on in the room.

    Great breakfast, everything one could wish is available.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Always a pleasent stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Esther expensive parking, but as the dog are free of charge at the exhibision weekend we have nothing to complain

    Our second stay and favorite place in Gøteborg

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    New building and plenty of space in the room, also with a...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not on all the days the room was cleaned. In two or three mornings, when serving the breakfast was really disturbing, as some families left their kids running, screaming, 'checking the food' and this kind of stuff.

    New building and plenty of space in the room, also with a big bathroom. Staff was really helpful, for example, providing an extra-heater when I went to ask for it. Having sauna at your disposal was also a good thing. Plenty of options for breakfast, served in a big area at the ground floor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Perfect for weekends in Gothenburg, close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative really.

    First of all the room was very spacious and comfortable. Nice air, not hot as many small hotel rooms can get. Other comments: - the breakfast was very nice overall. - quiet hotel during the night - good parking area at a fair price - efficient check in/check out

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Family trip to Liseberg? Fortnight at an office in Gbg? Stay here, chill effectively
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are only two bummers, one of which isn't their fault: 1) (This is more of a warning for North Americans not familiar with this.) The room uses your RFID key to keep the power on. When you first walk in, it's dark. Flicking the switches doesn't do anything. When you enter: look for a panel adjacent to the door with red and green LEDs on. Slide your room key into it and leave it there while you're using the room. However the fridge will stay powered even when the rest of the power is off, so your milk won't spoil. 2) Mektagonen is surrounded by office and condo construction. This is good for the city, but it can be annoying to navigate, especially when you need to catch the tram to work at 7 and you can see a train you've already missed. When you arrive, use one of two approaches -- A: Get off at Elisedahl, the earlier stop. Cross the street toward the Tools and 7-11 and turn left into the long alleyway. There can be puddles. B: Get off at Verbergsgatan, the next stop (and the more obvious stop if there weren't construction). Cross toward the hotel (away from the VW dealership and the Maxi ICA) and stay on the near side of Verberg's Street. Cross at the corner, turn right, and use the far side of the street. Then cross again into the Willy's lot to get in the front door. When you're coming home for the day, there is one more approach. However you can't get in via Nordic Fitness (which makes it look like you could). It's not worth describing unless you really like steeply-ramped garage entrances.

    Comfy room, kitchenette complete with fridge and freezer, cutlery and utensils, stove top, pots and pans, even an electric kettle. The laundry room is free, the sauna is awesome, and the place is right off the 2 & 4 tram lines only six minutes from the Crossroads (Korsvägen) transfer plaza in front of Liseberg. This hotel is ideal for families, where you would want to save money by cooking meals yourself. There is a big-chain supermarket at the entry level. Also it's only six minutes by tram from many of the children's museums by Liseberg. This hotel is superb for longer business stays. You can cook meals, sit on your own couch, work all evening, then take a schvitz and sack out. The bathroom is also roomy and well designed: there is a double soap rest in the shower, so you aren't hunting for your shampoo. It's those little touches that make me want to return.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Service and stuff was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is a little far from the city. And it took some time to get familiar with the combination of an office block.

    Service and stuff was really good. Thanks for this.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.5
    Comfy rooms, but expensive and tricky parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking, even if the location is far out from the city centre. There is a parking garage in the same building, but to enter it you have to check in first and then drive around the building, even though there is i direct connection between the parking garage and the hotel. An intercom system between the reception and the parking entrance, with camera and remote gate opening would be a great improvement, especially when it's raining and you arrive late.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and spacious room. Great patio. You get to the center of Gothenburg and Liseberg in 5 minutes on the tram. Food store by the hotel entrance. Nice food in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    The room is very big and quite tasteful decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the family room is quite nice.

    The room is very big and quite tasteful decorated. I like the French Windows in the sitting room, so bright and modern. Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Very helpful staff and great self-catered rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The location is not great "per se", as it is in the middle of an industrial state, but for the purpose of my trip it was very good and handy geographically both for town and business. Of course once the massive building site just in front of the hotel is finished it will be better.

    Very helpful staff and great self-catered rooms. Rooms were spacious and well equipped. The facilities were fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay and walking distance to Liseberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been better if non-dairy milk and non-dairy yogurt products were visibly placed for vegans to utilise, Aside from that, breakfast was excellent.

    The room facilities were top class, and the staff were very helpful as well as nice. Staff at reception were able to accommodate my request for an early check-in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    A true family Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major to mention. Would prefer that they have early check in and late checkout. Sign boards are not visible out side from a distance.

    It's diverse breakfast and friendliness of staff. A true family Hotel. Rooms have plenty of space and toilet space is big. Rooms are very quite as doors are noise insulated. Rooms can accommodate four people easy. Mini kitchen facility in room and iron press. Laundry rooms free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Best hotel Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Attention to detail. We arrived early before check in and the hotel did their best to have our room ready before check in time and checked us in. Will definitely recommend and on my next trip to Gothenburg will definitely use the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated from city life. Nothing in walking distance. No bars no restaurants.

    Suite very comfortable clean and large with small kitchen corner. Supermarket next the hotel with possibility to buy something and have relaxing dinner in the room. Private sauna is an extra benefit. Bus station 300mt.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.1
    Hej hej Goteburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a 'quiet room' in my booking - unfortunately located between a family with at least 3 rooms who were totally and utterly inconsiderate - slamming doors late at night despite my husband asking them on night 2 (we stayed 3 nights) to be more considerate. The following night they chose to almost slam the door off its hinges in retaliation for our polite request. Kind of ruined the trip. If the hotel could take notice of initial requests that would be good :-/ Also over £100 a night (and the rest), quite expensive especially when the hotel was not centrally located.

    Nice front of house staff. Breakfast not bad. Tram almost outside for a quick trip to central Gothenburg.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent place for your weekend trip to Liseberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So close to Liseberg amusement park that we could see it from our room window. Wifi worked great. Big, comfortable room with an excellent bathroom. Good breakfast. Staff was always eager to serve and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    confortable hotel, convenient for family in a remote and gloomy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location far from the centre despite the mention central of Booking.com description. The area is made of large empty parking and warehouses. Because of this poor location, the price is by far overrated.

    The comfort, the big room convenient for three, the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Convenient hotel 5' by tram to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unclear where parking is allowed or not in the streets. Staff should be able to guide clients if they do not wish to stay/pay the hotel parking (indeed it is possible to park for free but we had to find ourselves). Shared hall with other companies/gym and so on, makes the initial perception somehow cold.

    Nice rooms. Close by tram to the center. Nice breakfast (fresh orange juice is always a plus ;))

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Swedish Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fee for parking as there was a lot of space, hotels should take care of parking if they have space even if they required to pay for a third party.

    Great location, clean, comfort, kind staff and big rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Large suite, personnal sauna, very good and large beds in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an air conditionning but only refreshing and Not functionning system. Very bad sofa bed: please change them!

    Large suite, personnal sauna, very good and large beds in the room, helpfull staff . Could wash and dry clothes myself its free just buy powder

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    I’m planning to stay here again during my next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to locate because of the construction.

    All of the modern convienence to make for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast buffet was very good, the room spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast buffet was very good, the room spacious and the rooftop terrace had a great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.0
    It was too far from the centrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings with building sites all around The small bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sauna and sofa-bed for the third person (triple room) - we knew it in advance

    Good breakfast and comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Bikes loaned out for free
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No cash accepted at bar

    Bikes loaned out for free

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice at breakfast a little limited

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in not such a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a great location, a bit too far from the centre. Breakfast selection was poor.

    Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    More than happy whith my visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction outside

    Bed was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice clean efficient
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean efficient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice space in the room very cleaned love the area I...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice space in the room very cleaned love the area I will definitely stay here next time I come here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    great, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms were clean secure and comfortable in a handy location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Very kind staff, tidy rooms, quiet nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff, tidy rooms, quiet nights. Easy to reach the center by tram.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Rooms very clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to take a team to centre but very easy and close by.

    Rooms very clean and modern

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Great stay! Nice staff and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were good size, breakfast was great. Didn't get a chance to try the spa.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    I will do it again very soon
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually nothing was not good

    Everything was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Very spacious, clean and excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very clean, spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: