Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Strand Hotell Borgholm 4 stars

Villagatan 4, 38788 Borgholm, Sweden

#11 of 15 hotels in Borgholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 929 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Late August if already off season...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are very old and worn down. We looked at three before accepting one of them. But they have just started a renovation.

    Dockside restaurant is very, very good! Good breakfast. Nice common areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was disaster . Too warm in room no aircondition no fans niether.Shower does not work. Actually I claim my money back. Booking 4star rating was wrong. Many people claimed and get discount. I DID not get because I paid before check in. I request booking compensate me. Br Reza Ghorbani

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High time to renovate rooms. Its back to the 80's. No AC.. .bathroom old standard... water on the floor. Shower not possible to adjust properly between hot and cold.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    We asked to have the room upgrated and we luckily had the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night club was very noisy. If you have balcony with seaview, take the earplugs with you, the bands are playing outside on the terrace. Although the room itself was clean and cosy, the bathroom was badly outdated.

    We asked to have the room upgrated and we luckily had the seaview with the balcony. The change of the room was worth paying little extra. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    We had a good time anyway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double room (room number 417) but the bed was surprisingly small - it looked like a single bed+. We stayed in the weekend and the breakfast was closing to to early - 10 am. Normally it should be closing at 11am!

    The hotel was generally good and the breakfast was nice to!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Thanks for 4 days stay but never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff in the bar, close to the restaurant, was most of the time half asleep. Sorry for bothering him in order to order a drink... Too long que in the breakfast part of the restaurant. Didn't made it easier with food displayed all over. Unnecessary long que. Didnt make sense....nice staff in the reception but that's all. Booked from Sydney Australia.

    Only had 4 days thank god

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not meet my expectations at all. The bathroom was extremely small and the shower and the toilet didn't seem to function properly. Also, the room looked very dull and the minibar was empty. All in all, it was okay to stay at, but I did expect much more from this hotel.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.3
    OK Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness of a room for 200 EUR could be better. Dirty sofas, poorly made beds, dirt on the floor, bad shower with old handles and yellow stains. Rusty toilet. Very bad value for the big money as the hotel is very run down.

    OK Breakfast. Weak choices. Good staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the breakfast and Restaurantroom is a little bit grubby

    - very friendly staff - breakfast and the dinner at the Restaurant was excellent! - we had a cosy room with seaview in the old hotel tract, it was quiet, because we´v been there before Midsummer! so there where no Partys. At high season it would be very loud there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Close to town and Borgholm Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little outdated but wasn't horrible.

    Close to the castle..about 10-15 min walk through a beautiful forest trail. Easy walk to town and local restaraunts. Good breakfast selection in the morning, food was good and had a pretty decent variety of items including fresh waffles, bacon, to traditional Swedish breakfast sandwiches, cereal, coffee, juice and more. This hotel is all about location and convenience. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Everything was fine :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can eat your breakfast outside close to the boats :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were so nice, Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa

    Staff were so nice, Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    The distance to restaurants and entertainments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price performance, too expensive.

    The distance to restaurants and entertainments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Room with nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but nothing special for the price.

    Nice view with large balcony. Large room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.3
    Great breakfast and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot in the room during the night and the beds were not very confortable.

    Great breakfast and great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.7
    Strand Hotel - nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noicy in the middle of the night. Beds too short and pillows old and thin.

    Excellent restaurant. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location at the beach, close to sights and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location at the beach, close to sights and nice waslking paths

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    a weekend in Borgholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't check out later than 11:00

    The bread was good. And nice waffles.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Thomas tycker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service i reception

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.0
    The location was exellent and the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Broken bulb i the bathroom. Broken chair in the room. Broken floor. Dirty floor in the poolroom. Used bandaid in the pool. The room was to smal for the price.

    The location was exellent and the breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    3.3
    Location (which is why owners dont have to care, milking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very dated, nothing been done to the rooms in 20 years, which is just poor. "Spa" dirty and old, not recommended

    Location (which is why owners dont have to care, milking the business)

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    5.4
    I would not recommend this place for anybody seeking peace…...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would not recommend this place for anybody seeking peace… All rooms facing the sea are also situated right above the night club / concert hall. We had absolutely awful live music every night, not mentioning the sound test by the different bands starting at midday. The population of this lovely place gradually changed from relaxed middle age guests and family to 20 yrs old drunken kids. Never – ever again!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    6.3
    We felt very welcome and the sorroundings was beautifull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After 30 years some things become modern once more. (Retro) But waiting 30 years to update the rooms, is perhaps not the way.

    We felt very welcome and the sorroundings was beautifull.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    3.3
    Hotel position is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Dirty, old, not a 4 stars AT ALL. Wifi extremely slow, staff not very helpful

    Hotel position is good

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot breakfast cold one morning; difficulty in obtaining a cup of tea in middle of afternoon

    Great location; extremely nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.8
    Great location and awesome breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very basic dated rooms, showers could be better and the bed a double mattress l.

    Great location and awesome breakfast selection

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    5.0
    Very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad standard on the restroom in our room.

    Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    6.7
    Very utility oriented
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift

    Very utility oriented

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Breakfast!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: