Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4 stars

Adelgatan 4, Norr, 21122 Malmö, Sweden

#4 of 40 hotels in Malmö

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4207 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was with view on the wall, not very attractive. Maybe some flowers on the window would be good view improvement. Sign “no disturb” would be useful, if we want have longer sleep

    The hotel itself is beautiful, lot of history documented and shared. Very friendly staff. Location is great!; 5 min from Central train station, 5min from city attractions. Room comfortable, properly equipped and clean. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like that the website didn't express no lift as you walk into the hotel. Handicap people, especially those in a wheelchairs wouldn't be able to stay at this location. It's not handicap friendly. When I go on a trip I always roll money into some of my clothing. Upon my return home, a $100 bill wasn't in any of my clothing. It must have fallen out without my knowledge, so if the cleaning lady found a $100 bill, I know she's one happy individual. Have a couple drinks on me. :)

    The whole experience at the hotel was good. The breakfast was good and fresh. The staff, Ann and Natalie (I didn't spell correctly) were absolutely the sweetest young ladies to work with at the front desk. They always had a smile on their face and willing to help at a moments notice. They made the stay enjoyable, made us feel like family and not like just another person coming through.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent, close to the train station and in a good neighbourhood. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff went the extra mile for us, preparing an early breakfast at 6 a.m. on our day of departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an interesting hotel with a long and proud history. The unique location of the restaurant for breakfast was really enjoyable. The friendly staff were helpful and we were able to leave our luggage all day after we checked out. We could use the lounge rooms with free coffee etc until it was time for us to go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small but we managed.

    This hotel is cosy and charming with a fascinating history and lots of memoribilia on the walls. Its lounge, coffee and cake are lovely homely touches. The breakfast was varied and fresh. The hotel is not too far away from the station but tucked away in a quiet street and is close to the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom shower very small and my bed was not only too soft but also sagged. No problems with lift. Idiots outside in street at 4AM (I was one floor up).

    Love the breakfast and the 14thC breakfast room, comfy if small room and smaller bedroom, friendly staff, free coffee, amazing library/reading room (with biscuits!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking and hotel website didn't express there were no lifts as you walk into the hotel. You have to carry your bags up 8 to 10 steps and that's not easy when it's full and heavy. It also doesn't state it's not handicap accessible, this can be a big draw breaking decision for those who are handicap.

    The eggs were cooked just like I like them. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were lucky to stay in the old part and in the new renovated area as well, both places were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff, flexible attitude. They moved us to a cooler, quieter room. Historic hotel with an excellent situation in the centre of Malmo. Lovely breakfast and characterful public rooms, especially the vaulted cellar and library with free tea and coffee available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast alternatives was a bit poor. Very few options and no alternatives for allergic people, like milk without lactos and so on.

    Interesting old style of the building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room only had a very small window that couldn't be opened, so we had to open the window in the bathroom and the door to the bathroom.

    Perfect location to walk around and explore the city. Hotel is old, but stylish and fine. Lovely library to have a coffee and relax (and read :-)) Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where a bit hot due to lack of air conditioning. There was a fan though, and it’s kind of understandable since it’s more likely to be cold weather than hot weather.

    Great location Nice staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    It was like staying in a museum but not spooky. The hotel is rich in history. The staff was very professional. Breakfast is great! Location is very near the Central Station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains in the room did not reach the bottom of the window, leaving a big gap letting in the sun. Since Sweden is light at 4 in the morning this time it's not good. Hotel is rather old and "used". All is clean and functional but not very nice for the price of around €180 per night in Malmö.

    Nice and friendly staff! Good location on a quiet street close to the center and station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff s behaviour was from impolite to ironic.They did not inform us about placing the payment receipt for the parking, to the windshield(The parking is in a nearby building and the entrance is code protected).So we payed four times the price due to the fine.When we talked politely to the reception stuff the answer was that it was written with tiny-tiny letters on the receipt...and they laughed quietly the time we were leaving.. In adittion first time stayed in a hotel where the stuff did not say goodmornig or hello... Petty....if Swedish people have problem with people spending money in their country then we can easily never come back again.

    Historic building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find! Maybe an ashtrei for smokers😂 in front of The hotel!

    Leonoras Boudoir, discreționar of the place, easy to found, Malmo Central Station almost 5 min by step ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too soft, sound from the street if your windows face it.

    Amazing staff! Very friendly lady at reception let us change the room because we wanted mattress to be less soft. Breakfast had everything you expect to eat in Scandinavia: salmon, matjes, different kinds of marmalade, different cheese sorts, tasty eggs, healthy bread and croissants of course! Soy milk was standing just there without asking. Breakfast area at a 1307 built cellar, where kings of Denmark and Sweden used to dine. Beautiful library which were an actual city library some time ago. Perfect location - 5 min walk from central station and main shopping street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby doesn't fully express the character of the rest of the establishment.

    Great location ,just off the main square, this is a bit of a hidden gem. The breakfast was excellent and served in the rathskeller like cellar that dates back to the 1300's and features vaulted ceilings. The Beatles stayed here and so did we! Sweet remodeled rooms with comfortable beds, WiFi and all modern conveniences wrapped in a history laden package. An attentive staff sees to your comfortable visit. The attached restaurant is awarded Michelin recognition but was closed (Sunday) when we stayed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    loved it all

    the restaurant is magical with a vaulted ceiling in the basement area, atmospheric and peaceful with a great quality breakfast served with plenty of choice of hot or cold food. The library is a great place to relax any time of the day with complimentary coffee and other drinks to enjoy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have scored higher but my room was a little small and some musty smell. I know there are better rooms in hotel but it served my needs.

    Good hotel, good location and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel - comfortable bed and the free coffee and biscuits in the library were a nice touch. Delicious breakfast in unique surroundings. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym, but in nice weather, you can run easily to the beach and be outside!

    The bed was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent, neighborhood was close to all the sites and the train station, making for an easy commute to places like Copenhagen, airport, Lund, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs. Not the hotels fault (it's an old building) but a bit of a pain with a toddler and a stroller and bags etc. But the hotel staff were really helpful letting us leave the stroller in the lobby etc

    Rooms nicely decorated and comfortable. Bathroom was great with strong water pressure. Location is superb. Very near the station, boat trips, parks, Lila Torg and castle. Hotel staff genuinely friendly and wanting to help. They went above and beyond during a difficult time with our child and I was so grateful. I wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel combines two old building together, some room with strange shape not easy to open your luggage. In fact, it was so small that I thought I was in Tokyo or Hong Kong but lack of facilities . Be careful those with big luggage, there is a no stair-free facility to get to the lobby. The check-in experience is not comfortable as the staff showed to be arrogantly polite.

    It is near Malmo Central Station, great location to stay if you wanna visit Copenhagen with limit budget. With the same money, you will find yourself live in the hostel in Copenhagen. And the hotel itself is a history of Malmo. Lots of celebrities has visited here. The breakfast here has good variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains and blinds don't get anywhere near properly covering the window so it was fully daylight in the room at 5am. Don't stay here if you want to sleep well.

    Clean room, great shower, late check out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tortuous corridors, the steps and the awkwardness in getting to and from the room with luggage.

    The location and the public rooms. especially the library/sitting room. The excellent breakfast in a fascinating environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suddenly we discovered that we are staying in of the oldest buildings in Malmö! The whole building is filled with history: from breakfast in a 14th century cellar (which was quite good by itself, with the atmosphere tuning it even better) to lots of posters with old promo materials and stories related to different rooms in the hotel. We especially enjoyed sitting in the renovated library, drinking hot tea, looking over the hearth and feeling history of the place. The inner courtyard was a very calm and serene place to spend some time on the fresh air. Also, the staff was very welcoming and helpful. Wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for the price it was good value.

    The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and you can get as much as you like plus very welcoming staff. There was also tea, coffee excellent biscuits available at all times in the library.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was that the window opened onto the roof of the level below, so I didn't feel safe leaving the window open at night (although in general Malmö felt incredibly safe, as did the hotel). One of the things that had drawn me to the hotel was the mention on TripAdviser that all windows could be opened. It didn't turn out to be a huge issue though and I loved the hotel overall.

    The breakfast was delicious, the library was wonderful for a late night cup of tea and the room was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel, right in the city centre, made it very convenient, but inevitably it also meant there was some noise from the traffic and people outside.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful.’ ‘Little extras’ added to the feeling of hospitality: good coffee was freely available in the library during the day and the evening and there were kettles in the rooms too. I had to catch an early train and was provided with an excellent packed breakfast. Only a short walk from the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable and slept like a baby. I prefer a bit softer beds, so was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was big and with great variation. The breakfast room was large but still intimate and a lovely setting. The location is magic and very close to the train station. All in all, great value for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the breakfast actually. The bacon was extremely dry and too much burned. Pancakes were thin, sticky and not tasty. I also think the choice of food was not big, when comparing to other 4* hotels in the city centre. The heating in the room didn't work properly, although I turned the heating to a maximum level, it was still pretty cold.

    The staff was friendly and check-in went very fine. The hotel is very good decorated and it is very interesting walking down the corridors, reading and exploring its history. The room was very small, however extremely clean, which I appreciate a lot. There is a library room with "fireplace" near reception and they serve complimentary hot drinks with cookies there almost 24/7. A very nice place to have a calm rest after a busy day in the city. The hotel is situated very close to the main Stora & Lila Torget, as well as to Malmö C, a central railway station, so you won't ever miss a train/bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom decor could be updated a little, however everything worked well so this is just a minor thing.

    The location is excellent, very close to Central station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was large, comfortable and very quiet despite being on a busy street. The breakfast was delicious. The shower in the bathroom was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although clean, the hotel tries to maintain a traditional look, which makes it look old and obsolete, instead of having a classy feel.

    Very good location, just minutes walk from the train station, and in proximity with a lot of good restaurants. Breakfast was amazing, served in the cellar downstairs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom size was not in line with the room size (big room, tiny bathroom).

    Size of the room. Comfortable bed (even the sofa bed was reasonably comfortable). Historical building. Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold. I went to bed with a jersey to stay warm although heating was at maximum what made a lot of noise and I needed to use earplugs. The TV didn't work. And I was woken up by the neighbours upstairs

    Location and history of the build

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor issue - we were woken by enthusiastic housekeeping staff one morning.

    Excellent, friendly staff; all speak fantastic English. Breakfast range and quality is very good. Location is ideal - near central attractions and a short walk from the rail/bus station, but quite quiet. The Hotel is rightly proud of its rich history and there are plenty of information boards etc around the building for those interested.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I loved the beautiful room where they served breakfast--wonderful jazz music in the background, very ambient lighting, lovely and elegant. Ten out of 10 indeed. Also served the best coffee in the world--or at least that I have ever had! A class act, all around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Cafe Latte at breakfast had a weird side taste. Everything else was pretty much perfect. Our room was quite small, which we didn't mind at all, but this could be important for those who are looking for enough space.

    The reception lady was very nice, it made the visit a lovely experience right from the start. We also loved the history of the house, library and staircase were so pretty. Will definitely visit again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude evening staff, boring check in. No mini bar, no glasses, Jacuzzi bath not working and no apology.

    Building, room. Breakfast was good. Morning and breakfast staff were nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    first-class location near the railway station but nevertheless quiet; very friendly staff; excellent breakfast in the basement (a historic cellar); cultivated interior; homely atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Perfect Breakfast , A Historical Building, Good Staff, Clean Rooms. We stayed in a three person room with my family, and liked everything about hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the view in the courtyard and the vis a vis

    Great place to stay, very charming, close to everything included the train station Beautiful breakfast room Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Charming historic building. Comfortable bed and good size room for 2 people on the second floor with a view to the street. Very good breakfast with a lot of choice including cold and cooked options. Good heating and easy to adjust.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double bed, and been given a room with double bed which made our sleeping/resting experience really bad. The beds didnt stay in one place and drifted apart easily. Not too comfortable either. Very disappointed.

    Nice looking place, very good breakfast and a great cozy library with drinks on demand.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t keep the water contained in the shower and so it went all over the floor.

    After flying for 30 hours with 2 children under 3, the room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. I credit our stay at the Mayfair to be responsible for our (and our children’s) complete lack of jet lag.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just perfect. Exceeded my expectations.

    Great breakfast! Great staff! I particularly liked the library where they offer free coffee and snacks. An excellent hotel in the middle of the city center and near the station. Couldnt ask for more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is so beautiful, but everything is a little bit old and rusty.

    The hotel is beautiful and the room is big and clean. The bed sleeps wonderfull. The location is great and the staff is very friendly and helps you in every way they can. Breakfast is in the most beautiful room of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy but for me it just simply strengthened the characteristic medieval atmosphere.

    It's the most charming hotel we've ever been, an affordable paradise in the middle of Malmö. Even the small rooms are spacious enough to spend a lovley weekend here. Not to mention the very good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I really liked the library space, it was a little cold (compared to the rooms, which were toasty and you could control with a heat dial).

    This was an amazing place to stay! There's a real sense of history, with information about lots of the rooms and pieces of furniture shared around the hotel. I especially liked the lift, which is several decades old and has those doors you have to open and shut yourself (for some reason I found this really charming). The breakfast room is also atmospheric - so unusual for a breakfast space! I liked the library as well and thought it was great that we could get complimentary tea and coffee here all day. The staff were helpful when we needed some assistance with a restaurant reservation. The room, despite being quite small, was fine for us - I believe bigger beds are available, but we found ours comfy and quite acceptable. Also, the location of the hotel was probably as good as it could be. Overall I was surprised that we had managed to afford somewhere so nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants were amazing, as was the breakfast choice. Orange juice was delicious. Very, very pleasing experience. Staff were brilliant, very friendly, class.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you take economy single room, expect tiny bathroom with tiny shower.

    very atmospheric in a historical building, especially the breakfast in the cellar under the arcs. very convenient for a business trip, in the hearth of the city but still a serene location. Coffee/tee in the room, WIFI, good breakfast. Would certainly return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was OK even if the bathroom was a bit small and the bad only 140cm wide as described in the listing. Surrounding and rooms corridor a little bit noisy.

    Location is perfect only 5 minutes by foot from the train station and 5 minutes from the city center. Breakfast was huge and for all tastes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prior to our arrival, we asked for a baby crib, which is usually free in most hotels. We got a message saying it would cost around 30 euros PER NIGHT. As this was clearly extortion, I asked if they were sure they would charge us 3 nights 30 euros for a total of 90 euros. They replied they would make us a favor by only charging 30 euros since the cleaning company charges them for the baby crib too. That was not a very good beginning, and I became very suspicious of a hotel clearly overcharging. But the story does not end here unfortunately. In the baby crib, we discovered a small glass bottle of perfume... very dangerous if a 2-year old sleeps with it. It seemed the baby crib had not been cleaned properly to say the least. When I told reception about it, Sofie told me that the sheets were clean, and she had no idea how the bottle could end up in the bed. Since I did not know either, I concluded the bed had not been cleaned. Amazing answer from Sofie "the sheets are clean, the bottle does not make it dirty". I wish I could have had a word with management about it, but it was nowhere to be found. Apart from that, location is good but you have tons of hotels nearby that probably will not overcharge you. Also, there is no access for wheelchair or stroller. Avoid this hotel, please.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was 2 single mattresses laid together, with the inevitable gap in between! And the coffee/juice section for the breakfast buffet was at the other end of the restaurant so not intuitive to locate.

    The staff were very friendly, the location is awesome, 5 mins walk from the train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i did not like

    The library to chill and have a coffee or tea is beautiful. It is open 24/7. The rooms are amazing and in terms of value for money this place absolutely is a steal! The staff are so efficent and helpful. The location was 3 minutes from our flixbus to oslo and 5 minutes from central station while being 3 minutes walk from all the coolest and fanciest restaurants in Malmø. I have never been to Malmø before but would 100% come back again and stay in the Mayfair. So much history and elegance in the one place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    The breakfast was incredible : a large choice of product and very good products. The bed was extra comfy, and the room was warm as we wanted in winter in Malmo. The staff is great, and the decoration of the hostel, and the room is very nice. It's like a travel in time !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Given the age of the building it wasn't surprising that the wiring was elderly - not many charging points if you have a few electronic devices. My only other observation is that it would have been helpful to have an accessible mirror other than in the bathroom - to help with the morning rush. Breakfast finished sharp at 9.30 on weekday mornings - it would have been nice to have an extra 30 minutes......

    This is an ancient building with bags of character. Our room was cosy and the bed extremely comfortable - what I had taken to be an electric blanket control turned out to be one of those things that raises the bed at either the head or foot. The small shower room was neat with black and white tiling and the shower was powerful. Breakfast was really good but beware, the 1938 lift (fun in itself) doesn't reach the vaulted breakfast basement. Free tea and coffee was available all day in the library. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and, in turn, a very short walk to the main squares and shopping areas. All the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, wonderful breakfast, super-comfy bed, hyggelig library with a fireplace. The hotel is just a few steps from the "Malmo C" station and a bus stop. And all that at a very reasonable price. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - WC too small. - Wi-fi was functional but could be a bit faster.

    + Very reasonable price in Sweden conditions. + Staff was amazing and very helpful. + Breakfast was richful and really tasty. It was possible to have a breakfast in early time or breakfast package. + Location is pefect very close to Malmö Central train station. + Comfortable bed. + Big screen TV.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very good. Location is amazing. The room decorations are from different locations(museums, old houses, etc..). The library is a very nice place to stay in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing missing was an in hotel bar for a quiet drink in the evening.

    Fantastic breakfast, great staff - very helpful. Excellent location - could not be better. Beautiful 13th century vaulted cellar for breakfast room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet link was not good, sometimes disappeared and was slow. Doors are not sound proof, so in the morning you can hear sounds from the corridor. However, not much noise was there.

    Just great hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little too soft for my liking.

    There was an awesome old wooden beam structure visible in the ceiling our room, and an enormous old lifting wheel! It gave the room a lot of personality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi signal was not the best. No signal at breakfast, in the cellars - we could've used some internet to plan the day ahead. Also, little WiFi reception in the lounge as well, but in the rooms, it worked perfectly. Breakfast is earlier on workday (6:30-9:30), running a little late on weekends (10:30). I guess that suits business travellers very well, but for us just visiting the city, it was a bit early on weekdays and we missed it on a Monday. With the timezone difference, it was a bit early for us to wake up sadly.

    Location is perfect - just across the street from the Central Train Station, and the bus stop from the airport is 150m away. Extremely easy to reach and also very close to the old town, I could not ask for a better location. The hotel itself is in a historical building, with bits and pieces of articles, postcards and historical references throughout the hotel to emphasise their history. It all adds a very nice and personal touch to the place. Breakfast was amazing. I cannot stress it enough. Breakfast was served in the cellar dating from 1306, with amazing arched brick ceilings. Food was very diverse, with a buffet of pretty much everything, and very good. Rooms were beautiful, exactly as described and pictured online. Cleaning was done daily, rooms were warm with extra blankets if needed. The bed and pillows were very nice and soft. Our bathroom had a walk-in shower, very clean and looking great with blank and white tiles. Toiletries included a vanity set, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion - and they were replaced daily. Everything was super clean. There's a luggage room for guests and a sitting area with free tea/coffee - perfect if you have to wait for your flight and it's too cold to go outside :) very welcoming and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before our stay we had read that the breakfast was very good but it didn't really meet our expectations. For instance both mornings the bacon was burnt (black!). But the breakfast location was excellent! The extrabed (sofa) where my sister slept was not very comfy.

    The hotel was very cosy. Nice rooms. Good location close to trainstation and shopping. Free coffee in the library.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully renovated historical building. Fantastic buffet breakfast in the medieval vaults. Helpful and friendly staff. Perfect position in the centre of Malmo - close to station, shopping areas, restaurants and sights of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lamps next to the beds didn't work

    Style, design, friendly staff, library room with coffee, tea and biscuits. The lift was temporary out of order and the receptionist arranged a quick help to carry up our luggage, while we drank a good coffee in the library. The quests of the hotel were earlier: the Beatles, Roxette, Samantha Fox, David Guetta etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit of a maze. Our room was located in a corner of the building, so it took a lot of turns down long hallways and up and down stairs to get to it. It wasn't intuitive where the elevator was. There are lots of signs though to guide you to the reception desk.

    The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of variety choose from in a unique setting. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was a bit small but clean and cozy. We loved the heated floor and towel rack in the bathroom. The location is ideal. Just across the canal from the train station and in the heart of old town Malmo. Close to shopping and restaurants. We also enjoyed the historic ambiance of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed. No Bar. No food or drink available when we arrived. Room was pokey and extremely hot...central heating on full blast and no ventilation. Booked on basis of it being 4 star...do not understand how it achieved this rating.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choices were comprehensive and could not be improved. I always look forward to my stays in Malmö and the Mayfair in particular which is just a few steps from the station and the historic old square and surrounds with many good restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is not fast enough to work well. Parking can be done on the street but limited space while the opposite parking garage costs an additional fee.

    Great atmosphere and breakfast and very well located.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was too small , my luggage can’t fit in the elevator . The room is too small , i have to jump over the luggage to rich the bathroom . And acces to the room was very hard - i have to take 2 elevators, to move up and down on stairs .

    The location was perfect, the hotel is interesting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (140cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotell is a place with many stories to tell through it's great history. We got a nice and quiet room, perfect for us. The staff was very kind and helpful. We could definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the public areas could do with cosmetic updating

    The room was spacious and had character, the breakfast was very nice, the whole hotel felt like the owners cared about it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quality of bath towels could have been better. Blankets instead of overly warm duvet would have been appreciated.

    Retained character of the buildings esp reception/library-cum sitting room and very particularly the cave-like breakfast rooms. Proximity to railway station and shopping precinct were also big plusses.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mayfair Hotel Tunneln traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: