Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Tidbloms Hotel 3 stars

Olskroksgatan 23, Örgryte-Härlanda, 416 66 Gothenburg, Sweden

#43 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 407 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast opens at 7:30 am on weekend! I do not know why it is set so late for a Best Western Hotel which is also visited by business guests who have their flights quite early. Anyway, they have prepared a nice breakfast package for me. The room was a little bit too cold for me, the heater didnt work in May, had to use the heater from the bathroom and needed to let the door open. Anyway, it is ok for a 1 night stay

    Very nice front desk team. Quite small rooms, but clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit bad timing, as the restaurant only served burgers the evening I was there.

    Very nice and friendly staff. Even let me borrow one of their personal mobile chargers when I had forgotten mine on the airport transfer bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Cost Staff

    €278 for a tiny room with a tiny single bed in s dated and tired hotel. And the receptionist cane across as blunt despite me not arriving until midnight - no friendly conversation or welcome at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was ok - not really in the city centre but on a tram route, 10 minutes into city centre

    Good clean room, excellent free wifi. Breakfast was included but I didn't have as needed to leave early for a train

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some confusion as to whether the parking had been paid for, however the second payment was refunded.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, calling taxis, suggestions for what and where to visit and switching to English made it all very easy. Also fantastic breakfast. The attached restaurant has a great atmosphere just like the hotel, tasteful not tacky.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely loved our stay - thank you so much! So welcoming and calm, lovely history and details like the pretty stone stairs where the light comes through... and the exposed walls and ceiling in the restaurant. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and huge. The drinks selection was excellent, we felt so at home and as though there was the right combo of it being special yet relaxed. All the staff were super helpful, friendly and relaxed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unpleasant experience. The people who were staying in the room before was actually smoking inside. A really bad smell which is weird as if no one noticed. I had to speak to the guy at the reception, he told me no rooms available and they will give me a compensation. Suddenly after he spoke with the manager, no compensation but they gave me another room which wasn't good, it was extremely cold. Keep moving from a room to another, without even any compensation was extremely rude. Provided that i was there to spend my anniversary and the new year's eve so it was a disaster. One of the worst experiences and I regret paying such an amount around 1,250 SEK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was a bit slow. Room was quite cold due to the doors to the balcony, impossible to heat up completely.

    The hotel is nice, staff friendly, breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit off a stretch from the city centre to the hotel, would have loved a location closer to night-open food and/or minimarkets.

    Everything was perfect, staff was kind and very welcoming. Instructive and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious and very varied breakfast, very unusual for the medium size hotel. Must try the specialities from hotels restaurant, especially the fish soup- the best ever. It was raining evening so we decided to have a dinner in a hotel restaurant and that was the best decision, it`s realy difficult to describe how delicious food they offer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel with beautiful decor. Room was lovely and very comfortable. Breakfast selection was amazing! It was about 10 minutes outside the city by tram, the tram station is about 3 minute walk from the hotel so very easy to get to. Realised after a couple of days that its very easily cycled in 10 minutes to central station also. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat difficult to find - unless you use highway ramp.

    Excellent service at the reception: made me feel not only welcome but also appreciated as a customer without overdoing it too much - a true high end hotel experience. Excellent breakfast: one of the best I've ever had in a hotel - the bread with fruits in it was exceptionally good, and it alone would justify the stay in this hotel. Only had breakfast in the restaurant, but the service there seemed excellent as well. Very good bedding: I had a good sleep. Nice modern bathroom. Small room, but I didn't need anything bigger.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hairdryer in the bathroom (attached to the wall) was poor and kept cutting out due to overheating. However, the staff found me a standalone replacement. The bar was closed both nights which was disappointing when we wanted a nightcap!

    Location was slightly out of main town and so was quiet but easy to access on the tram. The pillow were amazing and the rooms very peaceful. We both had excellent nights sleep. Older style building with character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were still comfortable but the springs have probably seen better days. No breakfast available when we left at 7 o'clock on a Saturday morning.

    Good hotel, well situated centrally in Gothenburg. Very clean. Nice bathroom. Private parking available, very valuable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge, limited selection of tea bags. Unfortunately they forgot to tell us about private quiz in the bar which meant we couldn't use it for drinks or dinner! Very expensive for the facilities on offer!

    The room was comfortable and clean. Very light with big windows that you can open. The bathroom was large with good shower. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room I was offered was at the back on the first floor but because the hotel is built on a hill this is effectively the ground floor. I didn't feel safe and needed the windows wide open because it was so hot. The staff moved me to a room on the 3rd floor which was much better. Although the hotel is 100% non smoking, the people in the room next to me were smoking on their balcony and the smoke wafted into my room.

    The breakfasts were outstanding. Great fresh local ingredients.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault it at all.

    A bit off the beaten track but an excellent tram service a short distance from the hotel gets you into the city centre in 10 minutes.A fine old hotel with plenty of archive material on display betraying its Scottish roots.The staff were very friendly & helpful but aren't they always in Sweden!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None.

    As a matter of fact it was pretty difficult to pick bones in the egg --- friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean room (Rm. 309), fabulous breakfast with a bit of surprisingly nice variation on a daily basis, 3-minute walk to Olskorkstorget Tram Station. I would like to stay in this hotel again next time I am in Gothenburg.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, stretegic position, very lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking in Gothenburg is expensive!!

    great friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing all of it was exceptional

    So much choice for breakfast so clean and comfy staff are so friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Friendly staff, very good breakfast, clean and nice rooms, comfortable beds, good tram connection to the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking place available only at the street, payable 0-24 hr. :(

    Breakfast was fine, wide range of fresh foods and drinks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so easy to find the way to the hotel.

    Good quiet location with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice hotel with nice staff. The breakfast is reaaaally good. We appreciated the comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast options and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very tasty too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room and bed for this price !,,,,,, far from downtown area

    style and breakfast ( amazing !!!) staff and feelings - a big plus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very good breakfast, lovely room. Food very good and staff helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Best breakfast in Gothenburg!!! Great staff and connected to everywhere by tram!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little out of town but very easy access to train for short ride to town. Fun local bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little out of the way but nothing to detract from the overall experience of the stay.

    The staff and the overall feel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room is small, has a strange smell.

    Staffs were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was on the ground floor so too much road noise, and the beds are too soft for more than one or two nights.

    Room nice & clean, good buffet breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could have used a bit more ventilation - the air felt slightly mouldy.

    Super nice breakfast! The hotel is very homey and comfortable, placed in a good location though maybe not central. It was our second hotel around that actually stood by its environmental-friendly towel policy!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The decor in the public rooms is pub style and a little dated. No doubt pleasant for dinner or a drink but not so for breakfast.

    The breakfast was excellent, the hotel is reasonable value for money and the staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Single room rather cold and bleak. No carpet or rug. Heating not turned on in early October. Bed very soft. Hotel location difficult on public transport - away from city centre.

    Staff excellent, speaking English well. Excellent breakfast included. Pub/bar quite cosy.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The double room had one side of the bed against the wall - so impossible to get out of bed without disturbing your partner. Not a good idea!

    Good breakfast, good location near to tram stops but away from the main road and noise

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we booked smoking room, when we check in, they didn't mention anything, but after we left, they wrote us an email asked for penalty. The smooking quest, please notice, when you check in asking smooking room first.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is too small for a mature couple. There is uncomfortable smell outgassed from wooden furniture in the room corridor. The quilt is not well ventilated.

    Clean and friendly staff. Convenient transportation to downtown.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Synd att rummet inte hade kylskåp och vattenkokare. Och frukosten hade lite klent utbud.

    Rent hotell med mycket trevlig och hjälpsam personal. God frukost.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant staff could have been friendlier. The waitress on the second night was better than the first as she asked if I liked the food and if I wanted dessert.

    The hotel was comfortable and clean. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. It was an easy walk to the center of the city.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I've booked the hotel in the booking.com and they didn't credit my best western point due of that based in a policy that in sweden to get the points you must book by best western ir directly. The day after I stay in the best western plus hotel Mektagonen in goterburn and they credit! Huau!

    I've liked the stuff.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit cold in the night

    Very friendly and supporting staff

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was ok, but the nail on the floor in the entrance to the bathroom!!! (room 403) - please fix it!

    Breakfast was great!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    price is high

    locastion All staff names staring with S

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best Breakfast ever!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well located, good value for money. I would book again!!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were a bit soft.

    A breakfast to die for!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Wi Fi dodgy and hence place is useless for any study or business purpose

    Good tramway links to all parts of Gothenburg

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fridge in room. No water.

    Good helpful staff, excellent breakfast.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Best Western Tidbloms Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: