Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 81 Bugis 2 stars

31 Middle Road, 188995 Singapore, Singapore

#405 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 842 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small,no fridge,no chair, shower was in the toilet so the floor was wet most of the time after morning shower. No safe for valuables .

    The location is great. The staff is brilliant, the rooms are quiet, the mattress excellent, it is clean and well kept.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location and basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Conditioned air too strong and you have to call the reception everytime you want to change the temperature and no possibility to call foreign numbers from the room or reception not even if you pay extra. Much better the Hotel 81 in Chinatown.

    Good Location and kind staff, they call us a taxi using their uber app so that we would save money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Good, Small budget hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very small boutique hotel with almost no extra facilities besides bed and bathroom. It's very clean, nice and reasonably priced and in a good location. No facility for food, break fast and even place to sit outside the room. Standard room is small and just enough to sleep. Good Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.2
    Just near center, that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small, price is very expensive, room is not clean at all, they get service charge but the houseskeeper not clean my room floor, everything in my room are tiny and uncomfortable, i dont want to back there.

    Just near center, that's it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.2
    Staff accomodating
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is small for the cost. The bathroom very small. You can do your thing while bathing. Since we book 2 guests in the room then they should automatically give 2 bottles of service water.

    Staff accomodating

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable place to stay with an excellent location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would make a better pleasant stay for future guests if provide an extra floor mat, shower cap, and slippers.

    Very good location with easy access to public transportation and shopping areas. We had a room with windows with a street view and a nice garden view on the opposite side. The room facilities were very comfortable. However, the toilet didn't separate the wet and dry areas thus after showered the floor was all wet. We brought our own shower caps and slippers. We would come back to this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Budget Hotel with Convenience at Bugis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Budget hotel is quite pricey, but understandable due to posh area of Bugis. Bottom of the bed is not being cleaned for a long time. No bidet. Room is not cleaned on the second day when we arrived at 5pm, but we asked the staff for clean towels and to take out the trash.

    Early check-in, 5min. walk to MRT, near malls, surrounded with restaurants, bus stations, few blocks near Haji Lane, Arab Lane & Masjid Sultan. With tooth brush, courtesy bottled water & 3n1 coffee/tea. AC and toilet are fine (quite small). Late check-out up to 1pm. Staff are ok, esp Calvin. We left our luggages after check-out, bag tags are provided for security.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    The sheet is dirty, needs to be clean.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheet is dirty, needs to be clean. The dirty sheet makes my whole experience is not good for the hotel. I probably will not chose this hotel again if i come to Singapore next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception lady is not friendly at all. She didn't give me any receipt even after I paid the whole fees for 4 nights at the time I checked in. She said I'll get it when I check out the hotel, but in the end they gave me nothing.

    Location is perfect. Close to MRT Bugis. A lot of food choices nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    In total I like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room has no window, I wasn’t aware that you should specified if you need to be at the window side.😏

    I like the people working there they were very efficient to the needs of their guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    I'll not stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't like this hotel at all! First, the room size is too small. Room is lacking a lot of facilities: no window, no refrigerator. Bathroom is not cleaned well. Hairs are still on the floor. Room maid doesnt keep tidy my clothes properly.

    Location is the most convenience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.3
    Not a very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff reception is not very welcoming. Room is not clean. The floor is sticky. There's a lot of dust inside the room. Bath towel stinks. The bed is smelly. You can't control the air-conditioning. I can hear the loud air-conditioning compressor from my room (3-14). I have requested for a late check-out. The Hotel approved my request through bookings.com with no extra charge (Booking number: 1007516386) but the receptionist declined this request and mentioned that I have to pay extra (xx SGD) per hour! All of those that I have mentioned can be easily corrected. I hope they do.

    Location was nice. A good 5 mins walk from to Bugis MRT, and the same distance to a big hawker store which has great selection of food with reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Location is around the busy bugis junction shopping center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small and no shower door. So water splashes all on the floor and toilet seat.

    Location is around the busy bugis junction shopping center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have put more clothe hangers. i don't like we pay first when check-in and not getting resits for that. its better to get resit straight after we pay. rather than getting resit when check-out.

    i like our room's view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Wont recommend to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the small room and even much smaller washroom.Approx USD 900 per night is nt worth what you are getting. While taking shower the whole washroom gets wet and thats v ugly. For USD 900, I was expecting better.

    wifi and staff. Location is good. Around 10mins walk to bugis mrt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    This hotel is OK for business travellers who spend most of the time outside.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very small. But fortunately, room is clean.

    The best I like most about this hotel is the location. Very near to Bukit Junction where we can find almost everything there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Service - front desk and housekeeping is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had higher expectations for the Hotel81 group. Need pest control & detailed cleaning of the 'small' toilet/shower - will have problem with the toilet door as shower water is splashed onto it.

    Service - front desk and housekeeping is excellent. All requests for extra hangers, towels and pillows were promptly given. Doing their best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Tiny room and Bed but the location is very great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room Central control air conditioning ( u cannot control ur room temperature

    Very convenient location ( near bugis and public transportation)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Friendly , helpful staff and for the price and convenience of location I would stay here again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in the room! Room very small!

    Right smack bang in the middle of the city! Had everything I needed right there! It was an affordable place for a quick business trip! Somewhere clean, comfortable and safe to sleep!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    This is our second stay at Hotel 81 Bugis.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is our second stay at Hotel 81 Bugis. The staff are exceptionally understanding and helpful. Although this is a 2-star hotel, the level of service delivered is even better than a 3-star hotel nearby. The surrounding area is safe and convenient. Within walking distance to shopping centers and local food stores.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Good Location but the hotel price is not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of the Hotel has few lighting in the evening. The hotel price is not that worth it especially the facilities kinda old & need some renovation & improvements.

    Good Location. Near the Bugis Junction Mall & some restaurants. Bugis MRT is walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Hotel in a central location but needs improvements.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of the room was small. It would be cramp for 2 people. Very little space for luggage. No space for canteen and breakfast is not served at the Hotel. Hotel needs refurbishing.

    I had mixed up my earlier comments with that for Hotel G in Yangon ? Please ignore my earlier review. Central location and close to Cafes and Restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    It suited my needs... decent enough for a passing grade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could have cleaned surfaces in the room itself... I can literally see the little table tops need cleaning. And there were ants all over that table. I kept having issues with finding suspicious stains on sheets not just once but twice and I was only there for 3.5 days. They looked like they were old stains. They need to find better laundry detergent or a better cleaning service for their bedding! Unlike the rest of Asia, Singapore is one of the most expensive cities in the world (and definitely well developed) so the price you pay for this hotel is that of Canada for roughly the same accommodations. It's not a negative though. I just wanted to make it clear to everyone. $5 here doesn't get you much like it does in say, Thailand or Vietnam.

    This is a budget hotel chain so don't expect room service, a restaurant, a gym, etc. The location was great in that it is near Bugis Market, a couple of shopping centres, a metro station, and if you want to walk more, you're between Little India and Chinatown. The rooms are for the most part small and windowless as the hotel is squished between buildings on either side so the rooms that have a window are the two in the front and perhaps in the back. I was upgraded to a slightly better room after I discovered a suspicious stain on the sheets and went to front desk. So I got the room with a window. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was OK for a wet bathroom (no tub or shower stall) which is common in Asia. I was able to move and shower with ease... not cramped. Bathroom was clean and rooms were made up daily. Staff were nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Hotel 81 is really close to all the tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel 81 is really close to all the tourist attractions. We arrived ahead of the check in time and they've let us check in early without any additional charges. The staff were polite and nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom too small. No bedside tables to keep small items.

    Excellent location. Only wish is that the bathroom could have been a bit bigger and they had small tables next to the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Location is good, nearby Bugis station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too tight. Facility in toilet is not in good condition (water leakage). Noisy from corridor.

    Location is good, nearby Bugis station. There is a lot restaurant and shopping mall nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.2
    Location only good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dirty and toilet many ants and dirty! My bed sheet even have dirty and yellowish liquid on it. Won’t be going back anymore.

    Location only good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.0
    The staff were helpful in giving directions to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos of the room are misleading as the room is actually smaller and darker. Might be bad for claustrophobic people. The bathroom was grimy.

    The staff were helpful in giving directions to the train station. They have free wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Good for limited budget short non-business stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can never sleep or have some rest between 8 am to 5 pm as there is a construction directly behind your wall !. Unfortunately, they don't declare that on the website or while your are checking in, just a small note in the elevator when it is too late to change decision!. Also, most of the time noisy teenagers neighbors.

    flexible check-in and check out times, most of the staff are helpful. Location is good and room facilities are sufficient (I got their biggest room with a big window, don't know about other rooms !)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.6
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All. .very bad.. Noise, bath very bad,the shower is close together and the bath all wet. The air conditioned only works calling in reception. The window no open. It's like a shoe box. WE DON'T LIKE THIS HOTEL AND NOT RECOMMENDED.

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Good location, very welcome, and helpful staff. Its highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was traveling with my mom who was with wheelchair. The hotel staff was welcome, friendly, and helpful. The hotel is good location. Its near to MRT station and shuttle bus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The manager, he is kind of selfish man.

    Calvin, the staff here is a very good man. We are happy not because the hotel especially its manager, but feel happy with Calvin.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.2
    miserable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had no window and not suitable for claustrophobic. bathroom sink was clogged. you take a shower and you end up having to swipe the entire bathroom. Every time someone opened and closed their room door and walked down the corridor the whole floor is wide awake. poor soundproofing

    i didn't like anything at this property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Terrible service, unclean and faulty facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After making sure I paid for a room that had a window, they put is in one that didn't. After complaining they 'upgraded' us to the room I booked and paid for. In the new room the bed sheets were dirty, (the pillow had what looked like a foot print stain, photo included), the hair dryer didn't work and one of the draws on the desk fell apart. We reported it all to the staff, and none of it got fixed. Terrible, don't use this hotel.

    Location. That's it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You've to request for a drinking water shampoo and etc. In other Hotel's that automatic no need to request..

    Near Train station and other places to visit in Singapore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist can be improved to be more friendly...at least a simple greetings will do CCTV in elevator is advisable, happen somebody (irresponsible) just pee in it

    Smart tv facility

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    It was right in the center, very accessible and lots of food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was water leak on the floor and also sachet of used condom under the bed. There was also bad smell from the bathroom.

    It was right in the center, very accessible and lots of food places nearby. The staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    Bearable for quick stop off in Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't turn the air-conditioning off (in room), makes the bedding/room slightly damp. Bed covered in plastic, sticky and not nice to sleep in (we asked for the AC to be shut off, lay on top of the covers and got an extra sheet to cover ourselves). You can rent rooms by the hour too.

    Great location: reasonably near East-West & Downtown Metro lines, walking distance between bay area & Arab street and good restaurants nearby. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.6
    only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when we arrive, we can get early check in it was perfect since i got morning flight, we just drop the bag and go out again till night, when we back i found my room was leaking and i called to reception , i forgot we also have problem with TV remote control when i called the lady at reception told me that i have to bring it to lobby but i don't want it. then someone come to change the batterai. they told us to move the room, can you imagine how was tired day for us and have to move room again. I think the new room is better, but the real is the room more smaller and no cabinet inside, in the previous room we got cabinet for our cloth. I don't wanna complaint again because its already late and i need rest. No one say sorry or do apologies for the leaking. I pay the hotel i'm not stay for free.the rest of the stay was normal nothing special. I'm the hotelier so i know what is the hospitality is what the plus that they have it only the location.

    only the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    No frills accommodation, very close Marina Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like any of the pictures on booking.com. A lot more basic. Published pictures possibly from another branch?

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.0
    If you expect nothing you wont be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no window. Very small bathroom. Mattress was vinyl wrapped, not necessarily a bad thing but the sheet kept slipping off. Was told by many locals that it was more a 'pay by the hour' hotel, explains the mattress i guess.

    Location. Actually nice pillow. Shower pressure was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    It was near by the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small without a windows and no waredrop. We have to keep our clothes into the luggage. Beside that there was a reconstruction work just next to the hotel that create awful noise during the whole day..

    It was near by the city center. They clean the room every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.9
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No fridge to store cold drinks 2. Air conditioner too noisy 3. Construction workers right next to my room and the noise was very annoying 4. No windows for the standard room even though I have required for that but no one reply and advised

    Nothing makes me like it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.6
    No more next I stay here again..
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not in good service, because I cannot get the hotel location, then I call to hotel and ask.. they give me is very unhappy served me..

    The hotel very near the junction. That's was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Location, location, location - when I travel to Singapore...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location, location, location - when I travel to Singapore now solo, I always book Hotel 81 Bugis for its closeness to MRT, bus connections, meeting venues, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    It was alright to stay for short period but I don't think will stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark without a window. Bathroom was too small. No kettle nor fridge available in the room. No tissues provided. ? Odour in the bathroom Too expensive

    Great location- but it takes about good 10-15min to the MRT station Good air conditioning in the room. Staff members were kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience. Waste of money and time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff make me pay extra $51 which shock me. Want we req we didnt get. Pictures are diff when we get there. Construction next door. The construction work starts from 8am to 8pm. Very irritating. I hate staying there.

    None

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.9
    my first and last stay with this chain hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room phone smells terribly bad, obviously never been cleaned! i almost threw up when using it upon checking in the room to call the operator (terrible terrible experience). Filthy hairs and tissues in the toilet remained unflashed when I checked in, terrible! Staff was very unfriendly when checking me in, doesn't made me felt welcome.

    Not a thing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    price of the room is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms are a little noisy. you can hear people walking and talking outside the room

    price of the room is great. hassle free booking and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.8
    Can find other hotels that are slightly more expensive but much more comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really hard, no view, no fridge, no desk to put things, found hairs in shower, weak wifi connection, hot water only for few minutes

    Location and price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    The place needs to be renovated and updated facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and at the time of booking it was informed the room had no windows. The toilet had leaks in the wash basin. While the staff was prompt to help but the leak was entirely resolved.

    The staff was very cooperative and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    It was really nice. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were very polite and accommodating, especially Ms. Rhea. They're really cool. Also, the room and CR are clean. No insects. Really loved the view from the large window of my deluxe room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    No WiFi on 4th Floor & No Storage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi on the 4th floor wasnt traceable in my phone.. & the hotel room didnt have any cabinet for luggage storage..

    Near MRT and Bugis Junction Mall..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom Smoking in the rooms ! Noisy from 09h30 since the hotel is close to construction site

    The location and the manager of the hotel great assistance and flexibility !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Located at a very nice spot in Bugis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window for standard room. Can't walk on barefoot inside the room because the floor felt greasy or something.

    The property is very close to Bugis Junction. Very easy process of check in and check out. Hassle free. Just a few steps away from the bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Too much money for an old basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a bit of renovation as the rooms are showing how time passes. Totally OVERPRICED, not justified at all the price for a hotel so basic.

    Well located near the Bugis metro station and run by friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.8
    BUGIS CONNECTION!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really didn't like, but more of a surprise that it was unexpected. Hard to tell and provide a good description of what we thought of the place when we saw visitors and guests. Not here to judge, so its all good. So what was it? it's for you to find out :D Door Knobs doesn't make me feel comfortable whenever you leave the hotel. Some doors locks doesn't look safe and feel safe. Our room was not, so i made sure to place all my belongings inside my luggage before going out. So nothin' really bad happened during my stay and it was safe all throughout (a bit paranoid i think). Overall, it was good.

    Bed was comfortable. A/C is pretty cold. Has good channels for the cable. Location was pretty amazing as well. 7-11 store just beside it. Near Bugis Junction, CapitaMall, lots of food choices. Staffs are a bit conservative meaning they do not talk that much, no small talk or whatever. But hey,maybe they're a bit tired right. Then MRT is just around the corner of Bugis Junction. There's a money changer beside it as well. Better try the street food and not settle with the big restaurant chains. lots of money to be saved. So if you are saving a lot of money, you can opt for this one or fragrance hotel just beside it as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Security & Convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bath soap

    Security & Convenience. We have booking tomorrow in Hotel 81 Rochor. Do you think it's possible to move in Hotel 81 Bugis? We're are worried because we're not quite comfortable in Little India. Please let us know asap.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.2
    If you are only care about the shopping and location , this is the right hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the aircom too cold, hotel amenities are just toothbrush and toothpaste. don't take 0402 ( room no) cause the wifi is out of service. everything is just basic.

    the location is terrific. food courts are around, bugis junction is 3 mins walk, bus stop is just in front of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.4
    Accessible to different establishments & mode of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The room is too small compared to the posted photos 2. Housekeeping was not done regularly 3. Aircon is leaking

    Accessible to different establishments & mode of transportation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel 81 in Bugis. Great place to stay in a busy area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door to the patio didn't have a lock, but being in Singapore there isn't much of a concern for safety. We encountered a problem though when we locked the door. We weren't informed that there was no need to lock the door when stepping out and because we did that we locked ourselves out of our room. But the attendants were quick to resolve this issue.

    While the restroom and bathroom were a bit small, the bed was comfortable and big enough for 2. There was also a patio behind the curtain which gave the place an extra amount of space. It's a great location in a busy part of the city with lots of places to shop and eat near by. Mustafa, the 24hour place where you can buy almost anything you will need for your stay is about a kilometer away and is easily accessible by foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.3
    Disastrous & Bitter experience at Hotel 81 Bugis !!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didnt like anything!!!! All I can say is that changed Deluxe room was of adequate size and cleanliness was OK!

    The experience was very bitter. The wi-fi never worked! It was even worse when you hear that your friends are staying in another nearby hotel (Park View) for 50 - 100 SGD cheaper price and they are getting free breakfast and wonderful wi-fi and here in this hotel there is NO OPTION to have breakfast and wi-fi given is as good as not having the facility!!! Very, very poor experience!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    The location is pretty good with some local restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The vents for the air conditioner had mold on it and the bathroom smelled like bad body odor. Room 402

    The location is pretty good with some local restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walk. The air conditioner works very well. I got lucky and was able to check in at 1100 so that was a surprise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Singapore_ business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the surrounding area is not safe, so when going out, you feel uneasy. I was given a room when I arrived, and it was very dirty and inhabited by beatles and insects! The staff was very nice and found a different solution for me... and it was a little better. But very small. Poor furniture.

    very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    2.5
    horrible
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The bathroom floor is slippery. Whole place smells cigarette. U can hear the noise coming from the other room. This place is where they bring the prostitute to stay.

    Nothing at all. The staff took so long to check my booking. It was almost 2 am I have a little boy with me we r so sleepy. But they can check in people who walk in straight away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    4.6
    Confusing rate
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In booking.com website rate is IDR 808.460 (1 SGD = IDR 10.000) When i reserved,booking.com email me informed that i have to pay SGD 84-85 include tax At the hotel, they charged me SGD 99 In last 8 years i always make a hotel reservation by booking.com, and the final rate that i have to pay always exactly with final amount at email

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.6
    Terrible for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was incredibly small everything got wet when the shower was used - nothing to wipe the toilet down with if you wanted to used the toilet after the shower was used. no shower mat or shoes to wear that would allow you to walk on the wet floor after the shower was used if you wanted to use the other facilities. The room size was too small to fit suitcase in and the room layout was inadequately planned considering the room sizes. There was only enough space to walk around half the double bed unessecarry window shelves stools tables could of been moved or cleverly concealed. Wasn't very clean Felt claustrophobic and I'm not claustrophobic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.8
    Most rooms don't have windows. There is construction next door, ask for a room away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most rooms don't have windows although the pictures on booking.com say they do. The air con temperature is not 'true' and it's all centralised. Our room looked like a cell. Construction next door woke us up at 8am. Asked to change room and got 'upgraded'. Quite dirty and very noisy.

    Can't fault the central location of this place. You get what you pay for. Upgraded us to a room away from construction even though could still hear it. Wouldn't stay again though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Overall, very good. I am more on the service and personnel. The staff are very courteous.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small toilet. No space between shower and toilet bowl.

    Clean room and accommodating staff. Ideal location, it is near to the central business district of Singapore.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location to stay👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small.

    Location,location and location 😊close to most tourist destination..some are just walking distance only.. like suntec, Bugis , Marina Square ..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Little heaven after our busy convention!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was really small. They just don't have breakfast to offer and no major amenities.

    We had a very small room, but it was comfortable and clean. The location was perfect, It was near to everything, shops, malls, atms, bugis junction. At the same time it was 500m from the convention center which was really great! no need for us to ride taxi or bus anymore. Staffs are really accommodating too. If you are travelling for business and your just looking for a decent and comfortable place to stay this Hotel is a must on your list in Singapore! =D

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    It's middle of everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff does not endorse properly to the next shifts/on-duty. They confuse us and they messed up with our itinerary.

    It's middle of everything! You can easily commute from this place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Convenient place with a good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small but managable and the Washroom smelled bad and had to ask the reception to spray some air freshener to get rid of the smell.

    Comfortable Bed, Clean Rooms (cleaning daily), providing water bottles daily while a water bottle costs 2 Singapore Dollars outside, easy access to shopping malls and other locations (amusement parks, adventure parks and etc), easy access to public transportation and very friendly and helpful staff. Really happy with the service provided by Hotel 81 Bugis.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Affordable and Accessible accomdation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise on the next building, no small fridge or small bar option in the room

    Friendly staff, ideal for people who just needs a place to stay without being particular about high end requirements

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    2.5
    Check the room before you pay
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have seen better looking places to leave my pet then this place. Did not stay and they refused to give back money for room. Please anybody looking at this premises look at room first don't just pay online like I did. Very poor service. If you have 2 people and a couple of suitcases do not expect to be able to move in your room.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel 81 Bugis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: