Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 81 Chinatown 2 stars

181 New Bridge Road, Chinatown, 059418 Singapore, Singapore

#361 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1030 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    It’s in a good location close to airport and tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in a good location close to airport and tourist attractions.... hotel is clean and staff are friendly... only thing I didn’t like was the room was too small and very limited space to walk around other than that it was a brilliant hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for the first time traveler in Singapore.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls cannot keep no sound, you can hear people walking and talking pass or near by all the time, especially at night, and when you happen to meet not-very-good neighbor (some people just close the door harder than others, too hard, nightmare when you are sleeping). Room pretty smaller than I though.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Ok stay as i was in pain without 2 pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed linens were not cleaned. Askes for two pillows either the staff never hear properly sent me one pillow. I just had surgery done and 1 pillow caused me discomfort whole night.

    Chinatown location Food and transport is easy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Close to everything in Chinatown.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. You can hear everything from the corridor or next doors worst still intimacy noises. Expensive in my opinion.

    Close to everything in Chinatown. Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    i wouldnt go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was hard and extremely uncomfortable. The room was just barely larger than the bed. aircon reset to 17 every time you left the room, but there weren't enough blankets for when it got cold if you forgot to turn it back up. the room smelled of cigarettes.

    the location is excellent, and the staff are very friendly. the wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Other than the room was not what we expected the service was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a window room. Was sure the picture we saw had a window!

    We found the room a lot smaller than it looked on the adverts on line. I did not want a capsule hotel but that is basically what it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Quite ok, location is good. However, ensure room be of no tabacco smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the room was filled with tabacco smell. I guess the previous guests smoke secretly in the bathroom. And please advise those who guest to be quiet after 11.00pm as its can be detracting others while sleeping.

    Reception stafts were good and friendly. Rooms were clean even though its a little small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money! Find other is better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Washroom is so so so so small - Not so much clean, overall - Price is not as quoted on website. Expected to be 50 SGD additional charge

    Location is next to Chinatown station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Location was excellent - central to chinatown and clarke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, smelt a bit musty and like cigarette smoke. Not great value and staff a bit pushy and sly

    Location was excellent - central to chinatown and clarke quay as well as cheap eats and larger stores and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Location is fantastic, right in the heart of Chinatown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows, rooms were tiny , not much space to move around, felt claustrophobic, odd smell from rooms , furniture outdated , needed maintenance

    Location is fantastic, right in the heart of Chinatown. . Close to all amenities. Staff were friendly. Neat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    room for improvement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong stench of Baygon in the room which gives both my partner and I migraine throughout our stay. The moment we stepped out of the room, we were free from the pain! We did not file any complaint because most likely we’ll think trice before going back again.

    Exterior of building is beautiful! Lobby is grand, though slightly obvious that it lacked abit of furnishing to the wall-paint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little space. If you want to spend more time in hotel room, this is not the place

    Location is great. If you are into traveling rather than staying in the room, this is your place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    Location very convenient for food and shopping but drinks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel still using key to open room door and cannot have 2 key cards for two person occupying same room.

    Location very convenient for food and shopping but drinks average only.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is truly great, easy access to food and other...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pls remove the big flower pot in the middle of the lobby, if possible, it makes the lobby look stuffy and small. It would be great if the hall facing the front door is empty and inviting. I just feel the flower pot too big and obstruct the traffic, especially when large group of people are there. Just a suggestion anyway. Thanks.

    The location is truly great, easy access to food and other necessity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.2
    ok to stay in very short time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel quite old. and the time that i've visit they have new paint very smelly that's make me cannot sleep at all.

    Excellent location, very close to the China Town MRT and China Town mall. Convenient store and food street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly surprised - I will be back on my next trip!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    OK - reality check for Western tourists - particularly from the USA where everything is BIIIIIIIIIGGGGGG - my room was small - I had a "deluxe double room" and I couldn't walk around the double bed. There are NO cupboards in the room and placing my suitcase flat on the floor meant wedging it between the end of the bed and the wall - if there had be 2 of us in the room we would have had a struggle. The toilet / shower - sorry folks - this is Asia - the setup is extremely common - the (tiny) toilet room has a hand shower affixed to the wall and the floor is tiled - there is no "shower cubicle" - the room IS the cubicle. Is that a big deal??? I'm sorry for your first world problems - personally, my only criteria was HOT water - not only was it hot but it had excellent pressure and I had a brilliant shower every day - zero complaints. My only single genuine (minor) negative observation was that the lift constantly had a really strong smell of cigarette smoke in it - which is strange as the hotel has a strict non-smoking policy - the minute I stepped out of the lift onto the room floor or the reception, the smell was gone - so as I say - not a big deal - I came to the conclusion it was probably being sucked in by the air conditioning system somewhere. Overall - I will certainly be back on my next trip in a few months time.

    Your assessment of this hotel will be influenced by what you are aiming to get out of your stay in Singapore. I was there for a week to attend a conference, with the chance to snatch a few hours plus the day before and after to explore. I was NOT there to lounge around a hotel pool - you can do this anywhere in the world and if that's what you want then go elsewhere. I wanted 1) a clean room 2) a comfy bed 3) a hot shower - Hotel 81 Chinatown delivers on all three requirements with 3 extra bonuses:- - free wifi - that works! - friendly staff - I can't stress enough how polite and full of smiles they were every time they saw me - location, location, location - come on! This is so well located - I caught the MRT from the airport at a ridiculously low cost and popped out literally across the road from the hotel. PLUS - the best food streets if you want to eat genuine local food are all within walking distance - OUTSTANDING!!!!! Yes, you need to reset your (Western) expectations in 2 areas which will be covered below - but get over yourself and take advantage of the value for money that this place offers. (AND ..... no - I saw ZERO evidence of this being used as a "love hotel" .........)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Singapore has lots to offer visitors, the people always friendly & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't bring me breakfast in bed (joke)

    All staff very friendly and reception staff were very helpful and took time to explain how to reach your destination The hotel felt secure from the moment you entered and saw reception area staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    Good location but not so comfortable and there are better value for money places in the same area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room has no windows! I needed to read more about this before I booked, a room with no windows is obviously not a good idea because the air quality is very poor. To compensate for this the hotel runs the AC continuously in the room and disables the control so that you can't adjust it, so that it ends up being very cold in the room. Other than that its just really tiny and the shower would run out of hot water after about 5 minutes so if you are more than 1 person you need to schedule your showers.

    The location is great but thats about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Great locations, to malls, attractions, food and money exchange
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 3 other rooms that my family stood in, the bathroom was very very small. You can take a shower, use the bathroom and brush your teeth. When you take a shower, you can wet the toilet and sink.

    Our friend recommended this place. It’s in the center of everything and sub is across the street. This hotel is in the heart of Chinatown and close to all the attractions (Garden by the bay, Marina by the Bay, Sentosa, Chinatown, etc). Subway was across the street, so easy to get around. Food (restaurants and fast food) all within walking distance, you have so many choices). Shopping and money exchange was walking distances. We truly enjoyed the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Great locations, to malls, attractions, food and money exchange
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 3 other rooms that my family stood in, the bathroom was very very small. You can take a shower, use the bathroom and brush your teeth. When you take a shower you can wet the toilet and sink.

    Our friend recommended this place. It's in the center of everything and sub is across the street. This hotel is in the heart of Chinatown and close to all the attractions (Garden by the bay, Marina by the Bay, Sentosa, Chinatown, etc). Subway was across the street, so easy to get around. Food (restaurants and fast food) all within walking distance, you have so many choices). Shopping and money exchange was walking distances. We truly enjoyed the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location to all attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The A/C could of been better inside the room. I also had two rooms for 3 of us, what they did, when we arrived, they put us in a Suite, that had 2 beds (queen and twin). Also the other 3 rooms was small and bathrooms in those rooms was very very small. When you take a shower, you can wet the toilet and sink or you can use the toilet, shower and brush your teeth at the same time :).

    Hotel was in a perfect location, right across malls, money exchange, food (fast food and restaurants) and subways. Easy to get around in, use subway and walk around and shop. Close to all attractions (Gardens by the Bay, Marina by the Bay, Santosa, Chinatown, etc). It was Chinese New Year during the week we stood in the hotel, so the area was very festive of New Year decorations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay in Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing-everything was great

    In the heart of Chinatown with MTR across the street. The staff was friendly and I had a room overlooking the mail street. The windows were double paned and I heard NO street noise whatsoever. 2 street over from Pagoda St/ People's Park Complex where you can get great cheap massage. There is a very clean launderette a few streets away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and unfriendly staff. Hotel 81 has a reputation as a seedy hotel for paid sex, so the staff treat every Thai, Vietnamese or Chinese tourist staying there as if they were all hookers.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.2
    Its pretty expensive for very untidy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty! I was charged 5 sgd for the request of changing the sheets on my check in day since the sheets were really dirty. And dust all over the tables.

    Location. Very accessible

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    A good home base for SG trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Centrally located. Reachable from every other part of the city. Lots of food around the hotel. Mall across hotel is unexpectedly good. Staf is also friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Affordable but not pretentious people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smelly rooms and the fact that you cannot open a window to receive fresh air. Very little space in the room and no closets.

    The position was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    2.5
    Hotel not above our expectations.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not above our expectations..we paid more service is totally out. Request for early check-in and not allowed..was waiting for so long. Not recommended for couple or family to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location, cheap and clean, firm sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we only slept on the bed for a few hours, the mattress was very hard and the bathroom was very small.

    We used this hotel stay as a day room following disembarkation from a cruise holiday. We liked the location right next to China town, which was reason for choosing as well as the price. We used the bed for an afternoon snooze only, as we left for the airport at 9pm. The hotel meet our needs on this basis. The room was clean and staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    My husband and I had a very pleasant stay. Its location enabled us to rest in between sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size...

    Although the room was quite small, it was cozy, with essential facilities such as electric kettle, hair dryer, free coffee/tea and bottled water and hot shower. The location is excellent as it is just across the MRT station. 7-11, malls and Chinatown are just a few steps away. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    It was really great staying hotel 81 in singapore, we highly recommend to stay Hotel 81 in Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, just keep it up the great management and friendliness of staff

    Very clean, they did standard cleaning, they always replaced bath towels everyday even we are not using... staff are very very good they even give you a perfect directions for places you wanted to visit... when i asked to have the coffee mug as souvenier they give it to me with a special message. We super like this hotel very accessible. Price also is very reasonable. If having a chance to visit Singapore again, we will for sure stay again in this Hotel 81 Chinatown☺️

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    food and drink expensive in and around the different quays. eat and drink in local chinese restauran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms very small but expect this in most hotels

    location : in the heart of Chinatown walking distance to a lot of places to visit eg raffles hotel, the old bunker used by forces during the war; national museum; clarke quay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.4
    Close to Chinatown. Budget accommodation, rooms very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom extremely small and shower facilities basic.

    nice and close to Chinatown and easy walking distance to local attractions such as Clarke Quay, Boat Quay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    The overall stay was quite good. If they can change the policy for guests and make more flexible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For any guests who like to visit for sometime they were not flexible.

    The rooms were very comfy with good interiors. Beds were comfortable. Though the rooms were small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Though the staff were great the rooms are just too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so tiny and cramped only one side of the double bed could be accessed.

    The foyer and reception staff were jovial and welcoming. Staff very helpful with advice and early morning wake up call.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location, very close to public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was dated, no chair or dressing table, table was tiny so difficult to store things. Shower was tiny as was bathroom

    Location outside MRT was fantastic, central to city and places of interest and in Chinatown. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money even a little bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small! Can't open the windows. Bad Aircon. Bathroom is horrible...you are basically showering on the toilet. The whole room is way waaay smaller than it looks on the pictures! Don't go there !

    Not worth the money even a little bit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.2
    BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire floor was smoky as if someone was smoking in both rooms next to mine. My bathroom was filthy, had cockroaches appear. Rubbish bin wasn't cleared. Also, the pictures are misleading. I expected a room where I can host a short gathering of friends before heading off for dinner and the picture seemed that way. But it wasn't so in reality. No space for luggage to open either!!! Staff was unfriendly to my friends when they visited.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is small but the staff are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room is quite small.

    The hotel is small but the staff are very helpful. The location is excellent, a few steps away from the mrt station, mall & food areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Ok to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are little bit small. My superior room has only one bottle of water per day.

    Staff are very friendly. Hotel placed in the heart of Chinatown, nest to the Chinatown MRT station. Very easy to move to anywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    2.5
    I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd really like people to know that this chain is notorious for prostitution activities, which is fine since it is legal in Singapore but I wish I knew before I booked. I was woken up in the middle of the night because my neighbors were having sex. So if you want a quiet, comfortable hotel, do not book any of the Hotel 81 chain hotels. I'm not sure why all sad face votes equate to a 2.5 rating. I'd give this a zero if I could.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Price and location fir short stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom as the shower head had a mind of its own and kept showering the tiny tiny bathroom all over the walls and toilet.

    Location to mrt and shopping. This was the 2 nd stay here and our room was a little bigger as we could walk around the bed this time. Unfortunately due to roadworks in the night we were unable to sleep as the noise was so loud. We had a window facing the road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    Was cheap accommodation and location was oerfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom. We were upgraded which we thought was a nice gesture as we arrived early hours of morning. But room was so tiny and bathroom you could shower, use toilet and clean teeth all at the same time. I think upgrade was a window

    Location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing concierge staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no breakfast, but beautiful cheap food was close by... So really no problem

    The best thing about this hotel is the Concierge staff. They were tour guides recommending sights, writing down train lines, pointing out places near by for beautiful local food, they were courteous but also hilarious.. if all hotel 81 chains are like this I will be looking for them again. The property is in good location, next door to China Town market, train station, taxi rank. Room was small but neat, had everything that is needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Super good location, just walk from subway 1 min and then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super small room, no space to put your bag on!, but Singapore is small country.

    Super good location, just walk from subway 1 min and then arrived. Nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice staff. Good location-convenient with metro next door. Plenty shopping all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small. No space to move arouind. No stand for the suitcase. The desk with coffee maker too small to keep anything.

    The location. Has the metro across the road. The linen was changed daily and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    will return to the same hotel for my next singapore trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    price a bit expensive.

    this hotel great cleanliness. through a hotel tower, it is just whiter than others hotel. and i think cleanliness is the most important and what customer care for

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    need to work on hygiene .I'd found there are hair strands in one of my bathroom towels.

    Very good location ,suitable for few days visit in Singapore,for there's MRT that's opposite to it,and it is in China Town.Thus,there's no problem in finding food.lol.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff allows guests smoke, although forbidden by law
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many guests were smoking, although it’s a non-smoking hotel! We complained with staff, but nothing was done. For people with Asthma, please do not stay at that hotel

    Localization, historical hotel, next to subway station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Clean and tidy, budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very, very small. Could hardly walk between the bed and the sideboard. Bathroom also very cramped.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Very handy location, right next to Chinatown and about a 100 restaurants. Very quiet considering it was right next to two main roads.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Location,service very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Location is great! very near MRT, Bus Stop & Taxi Bay 2. Hawkers and Food joints very near and walking distance 3. Malls around the area and Chinatown 4. Hotel service is good. They are very helpful and everyday kept our room clean w/ new towels and daily free bottled water. >with own toilet per room and Hot Shower available. >Rooms size - not so spacious but just enough for few bags and people staying 5. Hotel is in the center of everything we need

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    An honest hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was as expected and I was prepared for what we will face so there are no complaints

    To begin with and to be fair to persprctive visitors we have to keep in mind the moto you get what you pay for ok??? having this in mind I gave the above rating. I will first refer to the people working there. Upon arrival I discovered that due to MY MISTAKE there was a mistake on my reservations.Approaching the desk and informing them , they did not leave me alone in solving the problem. One of the two LADIES on duty gave me all the nessecery time and attention to solve the problem. With the help of the booking com lady on duty they solved it right away. For that and only reason the hotel deserves a perfect 10, lets not forget the people of booking com. Having said that lets go to further particulars. Location excellent. Next to the chinatown, next to metro station, plenty of busses, across the street 3 different shopping centers, plenty of eating facilities for every type of wallet. Room , small, but perfectly clean, bathroom average sizw, the lack of shower , as we might know it, it was no problem since the drainage system was perfect,and constant hot water. in this trip stayed ia a same type of room but they are worlds apart . (sandy beach hotel in lanqkawai malaysia which was filthy ) . So the room was ok even though i would like it little bigger. But for nights sleep it was more than ok and pleasant. The area of the hotel excellent . All and all an honest hotel and above all excellent prople to help you out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location for sightseeing in Bangkok.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Small room with little space to put a suitcase, organise clothes etc. Shared toilet/shower which meant that the floor was wet.

    Hotel was in an excellent location. Staff were helpful and check in and check out was prompt. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, Mrt opposite and China town a few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, Mrt opposite and China town a few minutes walk away, yes rooms are small but for the tourists like us it was sufficient for sleep and shower, we had premium room which had a wardrobe and hairdryer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    easy walking distance to many places, train and bus available straight across the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have done with a bar fridge in the room. need more than two seats to be available in the lobby as it can get busy there.

    great staff, location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    No Breakfast. What I absolutelly didnt like ist that the offer stated: Priority late check-out...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No Breakfast. What I absolutelly didnt like ist that the offer stated: Priority late check-out.... Well i did not get it. They offered it to me at a rate of 15 SGD per hour. The rooms are very small, now window adn the hotel is noisy. It doesnt match the price and i am not going to book that again. Sorry for that, but i travel a lot, and this is one of the worst bookings i ever made.

    The Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Great place if you aren't spending much time in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan. Also, it would have been nice to have some place to put our clothes. The room was a bit small.

    the location - right across the road from Exit E of the Chinatown MRT. The Visitor's Centre, Buddha Tooth Relic Temple, Sri Mariamman Temple and Chulia Mosque are all within walking distance. Lots of places to eat nearby. Free bottle of water everyday. Supermarket (Fairprice) nearby (look for it!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, but it was clean. It was enough for us, 3 people, in the double room although it can be a bit cramped. If you only need a place to shower and sleep then it's perfectly acceptable.

    The location was excellent. The hotel was only a short walk to the nearest MRT Station (Chinatown), Bus stop, and Taxi stand. The hotel is surrounded by several shopping complexes and food markets so you won't be wanting for food. There is also a 7-Eleven near the hotel for all your needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    When we arrived the staff were lovely and the lobby was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with updating. Very little ventilation as windows don't open and it's a small room with a small bathroom.

    When we arrived the staff were lovely and the lobby was very light, cool and clean. The location was perfect, directly opposite the MTR which made it so easy to hop a few stops to all points of interest. It is also a one minute walk to tonnes of cafes, pharmacy, little supermarket and other amenities. Our room was small but fine for two of us, we had a front facing, huge window that let in lots of light but also had heavy black out curtains to block out the city lights at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think that the Toilet is too small

    This hotel is outstanding; you can see when you walk way out E, I think that is very convenient for tourists. And also staff is friendly; you can ask any questions all time ;)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Small room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, but very clean

    Very excellent location across the road from shopping mall and many food outlets Right in Chinatown so very good for food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    Dirty,Tiny and doesn't worth to afford
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The hotel was so bad. I do not understand why the attendants gave the room the the air con leakage knowingly (because as we entered the room there was a towel already located under the leakage). The night fees is really expensive that is 3600 baht per night which is not worth it considering the condition of the hotel. The facilities is outdated, tons of dust in the air con and the room size is also very small. It was a complete disappointment. - Noisy!!!! cannot sleep well - Bad smell with cigarettes The only positive things about the hotel was the Location that is very near to the MRT, else its a disaster

    - Location is very near Chinatown MRT station just walk about 5 minute. Chinatown is good location to travel cause it is the middle of Singapore Downtown, easy to have food , and have many café and bar in the night. Something around there quite affordable for the tourist who have limit budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    2.9
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was between 6-9 sqm. Bad Wi-Fi, cigar smell in the hotel, dirty room, broken and cigar burned linens. Simply awful, left after one night!

    Absolutely nothing! Impressed by that!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Good for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small, and the bed was rock hard, the mattress was terrible. Only a few hangers for clothes coming from the wall above one side table no wardrobe. The bathroom when you had a shower the toilet got wet as it was far too small. The room doors very noisy when closing shut, no stopper to stop the bang. Too many rooms for the property size. Would only suit 1 person in the room very cramped if 2 people and suitcases. The photos on website make rooms and bathroom much bigger and better than what is saw.

    The location was great, Chinatown Point across the road. Mrt the best, so easy to see. The staff were very helpful to leave my bags there before and after my stay. Always pleasant to say hello and goodbye good memory and smiling. One lady was a little bit not so pleasant sorry didn't catch her name.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Small room in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is really small. If one person standing, another one have to stay on the bed. There is no space for hanging towel, opening the luggage. Hotel is old.

    Location is great. Close to Chinatowm MRT station, we can even walk to Merlion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    2.5
    the area is very nice, good food nice ppl all perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant post any Picture of the property, i check in and check out . disgusting. to stay there absolutely no Go. old beds, strange small in the room. to be honest i was shocked !!!!

    the area is very nice, good food nice ppl all perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.5
    Outside nice to look at but......
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not as advertised. Discount was given and told original payment voided but is still appearing on card three weeks later and tax not quoted in price.

    Not much maybe location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.3
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super bad hotel .like box hotel .room not like photos.too small

    No breakfast .charge 17% more with the rate we book on booking.com.super small room.nothing in the room .very poor services .3 people but that only set up 1 miniral water .if you book directed at weekend they charge double rate.not helpful staffs .not recommended this hotel for next trip.avoiding this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Super small hotel .too expensive .not helpful stafs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window .room like box too tiny super small .1 * enough

    No breakfast .charge 17% more with the rate we book on booking.com.super small room.nothing in the room .very poor services .3 people but that only set up 1 miniral water .if you book directed at weekend they charge double rate.not helpful staffs .not recommended this hotel for next trip.avoiding this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    Be careful. Pictures are misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size. Pictures on booking.com were very misleading. I had to change the room as the double room booked was nothing but a chicken coop. Not sufficient for one man with one piece of check in luggage.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Good location, comfly bed but inaccurate pictures in Booking.com and no window
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inaccurate picture and no windows (I DID NOT select the room without window).

    Comfort bed and location is next to subway station and where to eat and take photos (Chinatown).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    Poor Room Conditions
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet was very small. Can't sit on the commode properly since there is no enough space. There was only a hand shower to take a wash. Entire washroom gets wet (even top of the Commode) when taking a wash. Also water get spread to the room when taking a wash. There was only one door mat in the room which it doesn't absorb water well. There was no enough room between bed and wall at both side.

    Hotel is located at an excellent location which it has very easy access to MRT & BUS. Very easy access to various type of food stoles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    4.6
    Room space too small and the room rate is expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is convenient to move around.

    They charge me more on +10 and + 7% so it look like booking from your website is more expensive than phone call booking ?.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.8
    Very dirty , full of dust in the room , never vacume
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very dirty , never vacume , full of dust on table on bed frame , only making bed sheet ( but not sure is change to new bed sheet and pillow sheet or not ) I stay there 3 night ,,, never vacume

    Near to restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.3
    in Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in Booking.com total rate for 2days is only S$202.22 (april 27-29) but during check in my bill was S$238 and when I extended another day they gave me a rate of S$149 (april 30). So expensive Lah! for the same room I got. :(

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location. Super friendly staff and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small and no window.

    Both the manager and hotel staff (particularly Mr.Mark) are very friendly and helpful. The location is just perfect to get around by bus or MRT.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: