Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 81 Orchid 2 stars

21, Lorong 8 Geylang, 399090 Singapore, Singapore

Review score

Based on 1181 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.8
    A place to just have that overnight sleep and have no other place to go
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Aircon way too cold even already set at low settings 2. Bed's upholstery is made with PU leather and bed sheet cover is very thin that makes you feel cold even more 3. Blanket is just a normal home blanket and with the condition of the bed and its freezing aircon, it doesn't really help to keep you warm. 4. Pillows provided are just a normal type -- woke up having headache and stiff neck. 5. Hotel only provide 1 bottle of water in the room. 6. TV is just a size of a computer monitor and not much channel selections to watch

    1. Location is quite near to central and and is easy accessible if you wanna go to Bugis, Chinatown or Orchard 2. Lots of nearby local food eateries

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    The room where we were in were not too spacious but comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it could have been nice to have the check-out time at 12pm instead of 11am.

    The room where we were in were not too spacious but comfy enough for both of us. The best thing is the room was clean, including the bathroom. Our room has bathtub so it was a plus. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.8
    This was probably the worst hotel I ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything I guess

    This was probably the worst hotel I ever stayed in. Horrible bed, sheets, smelled weird, windows could not be open, the room is very tiny, the bathroom was not nice. I can't say a good thing about it, maybe just that it was kind of close to the metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Only go in emmergency, not good for staying
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was dirty, badrom very smal, no good WiFi, zinc un Bath room was asch color, and roof really disrty, Staff isn't really freiendly, and very expensive for this Indian quarter

    Not much without the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.6
    The hotel accept debit card and able for family with 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It actually shocking me when the price i confirm when reserve the hotel thru booking.com is different when they asked me to pay with my debit card. The booking is on price Rp.700.000 something forgot the exact amount but when i arrive they charge us sin$ 90 about 900.000. At this point i dont mind to pay but at least it should not be happen sinc e on final price

    The hotel accept debit card and able for family with 2 children in one room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.3
    Totally disastrous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never going to any of the Hotel 81 chain. We complained about the room and the manager on the reception desk asked me to read the cancellation policy instead of addressing my problem. We were more like forced to stay in there as there superior rooms are worst. Once you have shower you cannot use the toilet because the floor is wet. We just used the room to sleep and relaxation part was not there. Photos are misleading. Good job on photoshoot, money well spent.

    Nothig to be honest. The room was too small and cluttered and the toilet and shower area was really bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    Almost good
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last night I got some ants. Need to be more careful about that

    If you add breakfast so it will be more comfortable for living. At morning when I go outside that time I couldn’t decide to eat anything because I don’t know how about the foods. If I eat local food I don’t know what’s happen there. At morning sometimes we are hungry

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Front desk staff was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room walls wasn’t soundproof and i could hear voices and sounds from rooms just beside mine.

    Front desk staff was excellent. Requested for early check in and was duly given a room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    Very very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all we don’t like this property, Even, I was charged $40/- Anyway it was too bad.

    Very very bad. Room was dusty, Washbasin was dirty. Stool, coffee mugs was not clean even all these holding try was dusty. All around it was funny.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    2.5
    Cigarette smell inside the whole room even after Air con...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing is good there.

    Cigarette smell inside the whole room even after Air con running. No value for money. I will recommend none to stay there. Booking.com should not register this type of hotel under their umbrella.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    OK for a cheap, last-minute emergency room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are dated and basic albeit clean, as to be expected for the price. Staff are fairly blunt and uncommunicative, and the rooms can be a bit noisy in the night with people moving around and slamming doors. The room is comfy enough although some small additions, e.g. hand towels as well as bath towels would go a long way.

    This property is extremely cheap for Singapore. While it's not a luxurious property, and the accommodation is best described as dated and basic, it fulfils its function and is clean. I would recommend staying here if you need a cheap, last-minute room like we did due to flight changes. I wouldn't necessarily recommend staying here for a long period of time if you can afford to stay elsewhere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.6
    Will never come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. I can not mention one by one, but if you travel with your mother (above 60) and your niece (3,5yrs) I would not recommended this hotel. Location is not closed at all, either to Kalang or Aljunied. you have to walk, in my opinion quite far to reach the MRT station. The hotel room is not really clean, there are dust here and there, and the bed was not comfortable, there's dirty spot on the bed sheet.

    The restaurant around the area are good and there's plenty of it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    Staff okay and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Red area; very small room; no food court near by; not recomend for family; in the middle at night a man knocking my door like hell

    Staff okay and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Great. Quite place and easy bus access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for 8hrs stay because they let us pay the whole 1 day stay instead of early check in with less charges

    The bed and cr were clean esp when we went back to thr hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Apart from watching tv. Every thing was fantactic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in the room was covered with full of dust on screen plastic. As i wanted to watch tv, i couldnt see proberly due to dust. May be they cleaned it dew years ago.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    Very friendly manager, the only helpful person in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning extremely strong and noisy and not possible to regulate. So you can wear a woolen hat and jumper or sweat all night if you switch it off. No possible to open the window! A group of guests which arrived late at night was probably not properly advised by the receptionist, so they were running around and shouting for two hours until they placed themselves in the rooms. I called the receptionist to help them but nobody did.

    Very friendly manager, the only helpful person in this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Okay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room didnt have a fridge, but the second time we came back there was one. Same for closet. So be careful if you bring food:)

    Value for money. Has all the basics!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    A good stay in economy price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The rooms are too small...little more space would comfort the guest ..like room no 201 is ok. 2.The Indian lady in reception was neithercooperative to guests nor accomodative.Because of her attitude guests / Tourists will not feel like to go Hotel 81 Orchid again. Man receptionists were far better.

    The location is little far from MRT and major attractions in Singapore but good for living and leisure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.2
    It was not too bad to stay at this hotel except that the room was so small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were so small and so were the TV and working table. There was no wardrobe. The window could't be opened. The facilities were old and the reception and lobby were so small. We were charged extra for taxes or something.

    The hotel itself was clean, the lifts were excellent and its location was easily accessible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    2.9
    Pictures and the reality is totally different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures and the reality is totally different. I was shocked after entering the room. Toilet was 2x3 and the room was 6x7. Cleaning was very poor. 2 days even we request also the room was not clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    2.9
    It sucked
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and the geylang area

    Had to change rooms 4 times in 3 nights due to flies in rooms and noise from inconsiderate people and a mattress that should have been thrown out. Bathroom and shower were really bad. I would not recommend the geylang area to any one. Next time I would pay more for a better area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    VERY SATISFIED and MOST AFFORDABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    All staff are approachable and they help me to contact with my another booking schedule disregard that they cannot benefit with it. And none of my stuff misplaced when they clean our room when we're outside. Thank you HOTEL 81 ORCHID. I'm very satisfied with your service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    The experience was what I expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot water ran out half way through my shower and the price was higher than I was quoted!

    I was looking for cheap accommodation that was clean and handy to most attractions and this fitted the bill. The room did cost more than I was quoted and when I wanted to extend by 4 nights the price I was much higher than a room across the road, the room here is larger and better value!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.8
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear outside. A little upgrade might help

    Maybe 2 minute walk to the nearest bus stop,but then 8 minute walk to come back coz the street is only one way. Old room, but was serviced everyday which is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.3
    Not worth for money. nothing more than a very old tiny rat hole.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a double bed but 2 attached single beds were given which always slipped away each other making the sleep a suffer. Tiny room no space to keep luggage. Tiny bathroom toilet fitted within the same with very old bathroomware and tap ware which not easy to use. Staff were not that smile or friendly. Absolutely Not worth for money and just a rip off. Never recommend to anybody.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Location was great, Staff was friendly & helpful, Value for money for sure!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little dusty around the bed edges & window ledges. Air con was too strong (cold) & didnt make too much of a difference even when the temp was switched to low..

    Location was convenient to travel via public transport with the bus & metro station both being within close proximity. Many food places around with different cuisines.. Many mobile repair stores too to serve any electronic purposes..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Very easy to get taxi and the staff are kind & polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for iron to iron my clothes and the staff said he will send later but i never receive it until the end.

    Very easy to get taxi and the staff are kind & polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Cheap price, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner makes the room very cold. That's why you have to turn it off at nights. But, if you turn the air conditioner off, everywhere getting wet when you woke up, walls and floor too.

    Approximately 10 minutes near by the MRT station by walk, so this hotel has a good location. The price and quality comparison very very good because hotel is cheap and its comfort was really nice. If you don't look something extra, this hotel will be the best choice only to sleep and rest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was too cold although we set at 30 degree Celcius, nothing changed.

    The room was clean, good location with lots of food nearby. The bus stop is just about 100m. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    will not recommend the place to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no privacy; you can hear what is going on in the other room; staff not friendly and not helpful; no initiative to ask if customers are comfortable; not even helpful with the luggage; will not recommend

    no privacy; you can hear what is going on in the other room; staff not friendly and not helpful; no initiative to ask if customers are comfortable; not even helpful with the luggage; will not recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    2.5
    He’ll on earth and Cant believe I’m not being offered full refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Had a horrendous experience at this hotel didn’t sleep because other guests Arriving from China all ours of night shouting screaming in corridors no respect for other guests and when complained to staff they didn’t seem to care at all....nether the less didn’t get a wink of sleep for 4 days better off staying on farm with pigs 🐖 get better sleep and respect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    2.5
    Dieses Hotel wird als Bordell betrieben.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is in the red light district. It is more like a brothel. People come and rent rooms for one or two hours. The men in the hotel treat you like prostitutes. In the evening men come and try to open your door. In my room I was not able to lock the door. It’s dangerous for women to stay there alone. I directly had to leave as men started to be persisting. I was afraid to stay there and the staff doesn’t care. It’s well known that this “hotel” is more like a brothel. The taxi driver warned me to not stay there alone. I really hope that booking.com doesn’t offer these rooms as normal hotel rooms. These are definitely rooms for prostitutes and I hope other women travelling alone don’t have to make the same bad experience than me. For the good price i expected a simple room but not to be in a dangerous situation. And I hope I get my money back as I had to book a new expensive hotel for the same night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    SG Tour with mom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is small but for the price it is reasonable. Cable channels are limited. The room is showing its age but if you are looking for something to just sleep in after touring SG then it should be no problem.

    The shower and sink has hot and cold options. The location has a lot restaurants outside that are open almost 24 Hrs. There is a bus station nearby that goes to the city center (but MRT station is a bit far). It is near the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit away from the main city. A bit more space in the room would make it even better.

    It's value for money. The service was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value, but red light area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was old, with a dip in the middle We didn't realise this is the red light area! Not a big problem.. .

    Good value accommodation. Hotel 81s are always reliable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    It's a budget hotel, located on the edge of the red light district
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I found it too noisy as there appears to have virtually no soundproofing in the rooms and the windows are also single glazed. People were moving around in the early hours and I could hear them in the corridor and surrounding rooms, so we ended up checking out early. Hotel would benefit from some renovations Small bathrooms set up as a wet room, so everything gets wet after a shower

    For a budget hotel, the rooms were adequate for our needs, however, the bed sheets were quite old and thin and the AC cannot be controlled so I ended up switching it off to sleep at night. The rooms themselves are slightly shabby and in need of a renovation (for example, the rubber around the windows had perished), however, can't fault the housekeeping with the cleaned and water bottles supplied every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    We'd definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The family room consisted of two rooms knocked together. Only one side had a wardrobe, and only the other side had any shelving. But a real plus is that each side has a shower/toilet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.8
    There was a no refund policy, or I would have switched the hotel with aome other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had allergy everyday. The room was changed, but still all rooms were dirty. The beds had bed bugs and were old and out dated. Sheets had cigerretee holes in them. The hot water only lasted for 2 mins max and then became cold. There was always noise in the bathroom of the sink being used by someone upstairs. The T.V screen was defected. Overall the place was in no way a 2 star hotel. It was neither value for money. At least they should keep the place clean. The neighbourhood is also a bit shady. The hotel is quite far from the nearest MRT.The worst part was, however, getting up at the middle of the night with severe itch and hives all over the body due to allergy or bug bites :(

    Nothing good. Only the staff was O.K.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Good place to stay if you want to watch a concert in the National Stadium with a good bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot shower only worked on the first night (but we didn't inform anything to the receptionist, so maybe we could've)

    We went to see Foo Fighters in the National Stadium, it was super easy to walk from this hotel via Guillarme Rd . It only took us around 8-10 minutes and of course after a long night singing non stop for 2 hours, it is always a great thing to have your accommodation close to the concert place. And of course, it's really easy to find food in Geylang no matter what time is it. Bus stop was also close, only took us 3 minutes or so.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    It was just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if the receptionist would give a little bit of information or orientation. Please never assume that customers always know the know-how. No assistance given until we had to go down to call for help. There's no bidet in the toilet//bathroom.

    Complimentary mineral water but only one when we were two. A sachet of coffee and a sachet of tea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    good value for money. location is good, lots of resto around the area and is near the main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is a bit far from the city proper but quite near the airport.

    price of the hotel. even i booked a bit late, a day before my last night in Carlton, they still have available affordable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.0
    Fair enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connectivity is very slow, toiled in the ground floor isn't that well-maintained, no trash bin inside the room. (Maybe, this is what we paid for.)

    The value for money is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was very good. The location was ok, not too far from the station but a bit dodgy at night. All in all good value for money, room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    I paid 90 singapore dollar just because I booked online or else it will cost me only 60.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad experience, if I didn't booked it will cost me 60 singapore dollar per night but online booking cost me 90 dollar per night so already had a lesson, never ever book online again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    3.8
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com prices is not correct.it said, i should pay about 450s$ by the counter but they asked me to pay 540s$ and they said it's not our problems, that is between you and booking.com!!!!!. And because my budget was limited, it made me a little in trouble. And i paid about 70 s$ for per night, but i stayed for one more night by 60s$.

    No window, bed was wet and so so cold.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    2.5
    never book any hotel like this
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room and the web site pictures and real are different. this area is not safe at all because it is red light area and very poor customer services and very less facilities. compare with my last few bookings this is the worst hotel I have been in last few years almost around five years I am booking hotels via booking.com, kindly do not recommend for foreigners to this hotel(most of the prostitutes are there in this hotel)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    3.3
    sadly dissapointed for this one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unit #04-20: -tv not working remote control no battery. -no pillowcase. -no blanket / old bed sheets with burntmarks. -(worst) around 5pm toilet wash basin emits sewer odor... went in 1:30pm but check out around 5:30 look for other place....

    with wifi and coffee maker..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.5
    As near to Changi Jail as anyone can be.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Map in error. No hot water. Bleak room. Mouldy furniture. Holes in bed sheet. Staff downright nasty. Singlish only. No clothes storage. Singapore hotels are not value for money.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    The location was ok, it was a 15min walk from the MRT and 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small along with the bathroom, not even enough room for a couple of bags

    The location was ok, it was a 15min walk from the MRT and 5 mins to the bus into downtown Singapore

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money, close to a bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries, they only provided toothbrushes, staff could be a little more engaging.

    The room is clean, the staff provided bottled water throughout our stay, aircondition is ok, bathroom is clean it has warm and cold water. Bed is ok, they provided blankets upon request.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    great value hotel great comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionist was not helpful. Instead of giving us options on how to go around the city, he dictated to us what we should do.

    Cleanliness and feels like home

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for the budget money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled smoke, don't know if it's from the hotel or outside. Guests chattering can be heard as well from inside of the room. Hard to sleep because of that.

    Bed is comfortable. With complete toiletries. Aircon is so cool. They cleaned the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    overpriced, run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very run down place, overpriced considering the state of the facilities and the location (a bit of a walk to the nearest metro station).

    Staff was nice and was ready to help out with several things.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    Not worthy for long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out time 11:00 AM and Check in 2:00 PM. Three hours in between. The TV in the room is out dated very old model small screen LCD which are of poor resolution. There should have been a plug point for charging iPads/tabs/phone which wouldn't go off while we are out visiting places. Room size too small. No table and chairs in the room. No safe in the room. Bathroom size only about 1.2 square meter (14 sq.ft.).

    For the family room - there were two bathrooms, but each bathroom only about 1.2 sq.meters.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Great stay with a budget in mind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too small, we could not store our luggage properly.

    Value for money, close to food stalls and amenities, able to catch a public transport without hassle. Staffs on duty were helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Great price, good location but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is small so there are very few places to put your bags. The shower has no screen so water goes everywhere.

    Separate areas for children & adults (a wall separates the beds) & two bathrooms. Short walk to restaurants/cafes. There is a small mini fridge in the room & also coffee making facilities. The apartment is about halfway between two MRT. And having the luggage storage free of charge was a bonus. For the price the room was great (basic but cheap).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    It's a good place if you are a backpackers and won't...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good place if you are a backpackers and won't like to stay in a sharing place. It's pretty close to the city centre and to the MRT kallang station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Well done, everyone :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very small not like what they posted on Ads. We are near at the elevator. Someone is playing outside of our room and they are so very noisy!!!

    The Location is very easy to find. We like the Hotel, near at the Restaurant. Our room is very small but its fine me and my family we are satisfied. Wifi is very slow ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel. Value for money on week days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxes were not included in the quotation. I was a bit disappointed. Also their prices keep changing depending on day of the week. Weekends are expensive.

    The hotel was clean and spacious. Near MRT stations. Restaurants nearby. Quiet. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    The location was within walking distance to all my favourite...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Wifi was very weak, often disappears. Could not do much work when in the room. 2. Every time you showered, the toilet seat also became wet.

    The location was within walking distance to all my favourite food. Transport to work location very easy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Bad Details about Property(Hotel 81 Orchid)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so small and Facility not as per standard....Price Was way too much high....First Time from Booking.Com I feels it is not not as per their standard...By the Way Booking.Com is great site last 4 Trips was Awesome but due to this trip hotels amenities,Location,Value Gor money I would be not happy this time... Regards Amit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    affordable stay in Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    picture looks like a much bigger room

    Friendly staff, supply is prompt, i left something in the room after check out and when i emailed they found it and can collect it later

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.0
    OK if you have a tight budget, and it's not too far from a train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the days the bed sheets had what can only be described as a large patch of mould on them, quite horrible really, a large black mould patch.

    Singapore is expensive, this gave us an option to stay somewhere affordable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    A good basic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cupboards/drawers to store clothes.

    Room was comfortable although there was no hanging space. Was always clean and staff were very helpful. Only a short walk to transport. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Good place to stay if you're just looking for somewhere to base yourself and sleep there. Creature comforts are not really high on the list.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    3.8
    Close to Buses even though Bus drivers in Singapore are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and the small rooms Its ok if you are 5 ft but i am 6 foot

    Close to Buses even though Bus drivers in Singapore are very cranky guys No patience fro tourists

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.8
    The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't look like the pictures at all, room was very small, some of the furnishing were torn, the tv was dusty.

    The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Hot water for shower, ac worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.8
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff a bit rude, our key wouldn't open the door so a bit of a mission then we finally got a new room but we had to pack and move ourselves...... not ideal after a long bus ride

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.0
    Good for a single male, if you just want a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. The AC was not cooling enough, and it was a bit warm in the room.

    There are a lot of small restaurants close by, which offer Indian/Pakistani and traditional Chinese food. These are not specialty restaurants, so don't keep your expectations high.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    You paid what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon too cold even if you adjust it ,you will feel the same cold. Thr water is not hot enough for bath, cooler than warm water .

    The bed is comfort and room is spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.4
    Facilities n management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet tap spoilt,tv not fixed center of the waĺl...but its fixed side next to the window.....someone nid to come n check the facilities before its can be say its worth to stay at dis hotel....

    Staff very polite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    10 mins away by bus from Aljunied MTR Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I don't like in this hotel is the decription which fooled us saying it is a 10 minute walk from aljunied mtr station but it is not. We have difficulty searching the location from aljunied mtr station and We booked this hotel because its near mtr station for our early flight in the next morning. So we took bus no.80 just to get to the right street which is 10 mins away by bus (maybe this is what the description of the hotel should be). Other than that the hotel is ok if you dont mind the distance from public transport station like mtr.

    Not much expectation as the hotel is very basic and just good for one night stay before our flight back home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    3.8
    Poor WiFi and old interior furniture!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much!

    Poor WiFi and old interior furniture!! Small room and toilet. Broken showerhead! Much different from the photo itself! Definitely wound come again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is so cold. We turned off the aircond but the temperature of the hotel is still super cold.

    The receptionist said I will be charged SGD10 per hour for early check in since I arrive at 9AM. I decided to check in at 12PM because I was so tired from the long journey. The receptionist was kind enough to give me early check in for free. and they even let me check in at 11AM. Thank you for your kindness! This is red light area, I didn't know that at first. My Uber driver told us on our way there. He warned us not to buy cheap cigarettes on the street, we might get caught doing so. But the area is actually okay. We even walked to the MRT Station 10-15 minutes from the hotel and still feel safe. Just don't hang around the street late at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Reasonable price for a reasonable comfy hotel room for a night stay. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the room is a bit off most of the time so we need to go down to the lobby to stream with wifi.

    The management was really good. We requested for an early check in before we arrived and they mentioned that there are some extra charges. Luckily when we're there, they let us check in early without charges! What a way to arrive at the hotel. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.7
    Not a bad place to rest,... :)
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom is too small. No cupboard to put our luggage and items. Too far from nearest MRT station (Kallang MRT). And I found out that there's a slightly cheaper room around the property with almost the same facilities.

    The room was clean & tidy, the staff are very welcome. Towels and cups are changed every day, coffee and mineral water added every day, air conditioning was good. Lots of halal and affordable food around the property. The administration is very quick. The wifi connection is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel 81 Orchid traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: