Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 81 Palace 2 stars

No. 25, Geylang Lorong 16, 398867 Singapore, Singapore

#386 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 765 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't cleaned, there was a used condom under the stool.

    The staff allowed a transfer of room to one with a bigger bed, and also a late check out, if the staff wasn't that helpful, I would have left the place once I switch on the lights in my toliet, seeing the god awful decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was highest level ( 7) The A.C. was not serviced at all,so it was stuffy. The hairdryer must be replaced as the heating element got red! After my complaints they moved me to another room on level 2

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful about street during midnight there so many gambling and prostitute around here but they don’t disturb tourist. Outside room corridor was very noisy. And there are rear halal food restaurant for muslim.

    Location was good. Room was clean & comfortable for two person bathroom was clean room number 228 have window view that was good. 10 minutes walking distance from MRT. Staffs are friendly . All over everything was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special. Hotel definitely not worth it's money. In the description they do not mention that it's close to all "adult only" places, which makes it uncomfortable to just wonder around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just stayed there briefly as I arrived at Singapore at 2 am and was leaving the next day at midday. but the staff was very friendly , even at the middle of the night, and the room was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorronding was too bad. I didn’t thought this type of place will be here in Singapore. When I opened the mini rifrigirator so bad smell. Smallest room I ever was at Singapore. Tea cups and Glasses, not in good quality. Very old. When I asked them for cancellation and refund, they ignored it as didn’t care, because it was a one day Booking. If you need to have a better holiday, It’s worth to spend some extras dollars And book another place.

    Price is low

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is really small for 2 beds

    The room is quite small for twin bed however it could just match with the amount of money you paid for by Singapore standards. Not really a short distance from MRT station but few buses pass around the area. You just have to know your stop. Staff was kind enough to provide extra pillow and coffee as requested free of charge. appears that the area is like a red district but not bothered with that as we are there purely to stay over night and sleep. Overall it was a good stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist name Munirah (if I'm not wrong) was really rude. I made a booking and the website stated my email address but not my "real name". So she wont let me check in until i call Booking.Com and asked the person to manually change for me my name instead my email address.. I've travel to Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam etc and never ever had any issues with it. I dont know why this Munirah make a huge fuss abouit it. And I'm a local fyi.. If you dont like ur job, might as well quit rather than you bringing down the company name with ur bad attitude..

    The location close to most 24hrs restaurant.. You will never go hungry.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks and smells old. We had no television at all.

    The place is near the metro station and supermarket. The room is bigger than what we expected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there was no door tag,we didn't tell them to clean the room,but they have already done it when we came back to the room,we didn't even lock the bags and money was kept on the table.if something was stolen how would you help us.there was no safe to put our money either.so if u can add that facility ,that would be really nice

    it was okay, we got what we wanted

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smells too musty in the room. A massive improvement is strongly expected.

    Location. Middle of Geylang area. Lots of food outlets nearby. Convenient bus access.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheets could be a little better, they were really thin. The prostitutes and gangster looking people on the streets outside of the hotel can be a little intimidating, especially at night.

    Hairdryer, shampoo and toothbrush was provided, they changed new sheets everyday and also provided with new bottled water. Was always happy to come back to a tidy and clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in the red light district, very eerie of a night time, lots of men around and stuck out like a sore thumb. Not many restaurants around.

    The WiFi was really good, the cable channels, the reception staff were helpful and friendly and the laundry service. About a 10 min walk to the train station aljunied.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room a little bit smaller compared to the picture but Im fine with it

    Easy to go, 10 mins from Aljunied MRT, hotel can keep your luggage after checkout time which is very convenient for me

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite hot. Air con through hotel main cooling system rather than individual units in room. Not a real problem but had weather been very hot ?

    Rooms basic but clean, good choice of tv and wi fi good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee mug were so dirty. The other mug has coffee stains from previous usage. The other one was used as ashtray by previous tenants and was not cleaned. Cleaners are very noisy outside the room that really disturbed your sleep.

    Bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy AC unit & noisy toilets & water systems. There's 6 hotel 81s within a block, which could be better labelled as they all look alike. It's very easy to walk into the wrong hotel!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brown stains on bedsheets, black stains on towel, hair on the floor, very loud music from outside until late in the evening and when packing our stuff we saw a roach crawling on the ceiling (see photo). The neighborhood is very dirty and there is a brothel next door.

    it's cheap

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi connection, wish rooms/bathrooms were a little big !! ,

    I liked the friendly staffs, the front desks responsibilities when it come to taking care of our luggage, booking cabs etc. Thanks to Rayson, Chris & Siti :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is the hotel with the worst communication I've ever seen. I wanted to stay in a cheap accomodation and that is exactly what it is. Cheap.

    Location is ok.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charged us extra for the first two days. Although booking . com Said we have to pay 101 SGD for the first two days however actually ended up paying close 130 SGD (they said service charges GST etc were not covered)... It was embarrassing for us. When we checked in we also noticed that the walkin rates were lower than Booking .com rates (including taxes). After the first two days we converted our stay to walkin rates (60 SGD per day including taxes) as it was cheaper and rooms were not showing as available in the website (we were extremely busy with our work that we couldn't update the booking .com Team about this). Lastly This hotel is located in ADULT area so this hotel location is not suitable for family travelers. Only limited TV channels were provided

    The property was maintained clean, the room service was OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested for a handicap friendly room. Never have I ever seen a handicap friendly room that had hardly any space to move ard with the wheelchair. Main door and bathroom doors could not be opened unless the wheelchair was folded and put away. It was the worst room I have ever been to. Then.. knowing there is a handicapped person in the hotel, the handicapp parking lot should have been reserved. Instead, 2 cars (without labels) were parked in tht slot.. and when I asked a night duty malay young chap for assistance... he just said he could not do anything about it. The hotel should pay heed to ensuring that the lot is not used by able bodied idiots who have blatant disregard for those with physical restrictions. What made it worse was the attitude of the young man behind the counter. He showed it on his face and the way in which he responded. Had no initiative and basically.. just did not care. I was about to post this on social media sites when your email came in. Wont be recommending any 81s to anyone. Guess it best serves the purpose of quickies!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After I did my booking online, I was doubtful because of mixed negative reviews I've read about the hotel. But as per our experience, I did not have any issues at all and our stay was lovely. The room is small but if you try to move the bed to the side close to the window, you will have enough space to place your bags and move around. AC was cold and wifi is really fast.Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. The rooms are provided with 2 pillows but if you think you need more, they are more than willing to gave you extra pillows if they have extra. Toilet is clean and hot/cold water is working too. It is like 12 mins walking distance to MRT and the metro is close the airport and only a few stops to the city. They have 2 plug for electronic socket but if you think it is not enough for you, just bring an extension cord. There's a lot of local/street foods in the area so you won't have any issues in grabbing something to eat anytime of the day. Outside the hotel, there is a gambling place at night on the streets but nothing to be scared about,really as they don't really talk to you. Also, they said it is a red light district but you can't be bothered as the clubs are very discreet and the girls cannot be seen from outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any wifi access in my room, the pillows weren't fluffy and there weren't many tv channels to browse through.

    The staff were gracious. Bed was comfy, not too comfy but still comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked nothing. Very very poor customer service. Extremely rude,ill-mannered and uncooperative management staff. Misbehaving receptionists who repeatedly started calling me 2 hours before check out time asking me to leave otherwise they'll charge me $90 extra. No one came to help me carry my 3 heavy luggage bags down to the lobby due to which I got 5 mins late at the checkout and the rude checkout staff forced me to pay $10 fine as well. Terrible experience.

    I liked nothing. Awful experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had problems with the intermittent internet connection. Not up to the standard of other Hotel 81s Geylang is a red light area and Lorong 16, where the hotel is situated, is in the heart of it. There are official establishments designated by large red numbers and visible street prostitution. Also some illegal gambling and selling of dubious cigarettes and performance enhancers. The area is safe and you are not likely to get hassled but it isn’t the “squeaky clean” Singapore you might expect.

    Hotel 81 Palace It’s a budget hotel similar to many other in the Hotel 81 Chain. The room is spartan but clean and has the basics. Geylang is an “interesting and colourful ” area with plenty of reasonably priced places to eat and , convenience stores nearby. Aljunied MRT station is a ten minute walk away and many buses run along Geylang Road..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and shower together is really small. No toilet paper. Bottled water and coffee is only for one person even though we booked a double room.

    Room is clean and location is okay. It's near the bus stop but a bit far from MRT. Staff are nice and they allowed us to check-in early.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor is not really clean as can see the hair fall. Very noisy at night. Can hear clearly the talking sound and passby vehicle from outside the building. A nightmare to us.

    Close to nearby amenities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Should add more trash bins in the room instead of placing 1. Only 1-2 outlet, so extension cords are advisable to bring. Hotel staff could be a little bit more pleasant. Room was colder than average and temperature setting can be so confusing due to manual switches.

    new bottled water everyday and location is near Aljunied Station if you like to walk around and explore on the way. There was a problem in our room on our last night due to power trip and they just asked us to changed room with no charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No refunds for early checkouts; i had to checkout 2 days prior, but no refunds; this is second time it happended; but still stayed here, coz room rate and location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel, though accessible, is full of people gambling and some sort of clubs. The room light is also not relaxing to the eyes and bed is not comfortable. :-(

    Cheaper than the other hotels within the area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi barely worked jumping on and off. Like in a 3rd world country not Singapore. Room was not clean. Lots of noisy tourists in bus tours that start shouting and slamming doors early morning.

    Close enough to airport and Kallang watersports center

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more smile at front counter is all it takes.

    It was a tiring trip but the bed was just too good for comfort. I have stayed here every time when am on a business trip.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cleaned the room without asking me. I also did not put the Clean the Room sign. I think it should be asked to the clients first if they want the room to be cleanes with or without permission. Nothing is gone and I think the hotel staff are trustworthy but this one I think must be implemented.

    I like the privacy and the comfort of sleeping.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for the solo traveller on budget. Although in a dubious area felt very safe and secure. Was on busy schedule and I only required place to sleep and fast wi fi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is congested and I felt I was in a cage. Not a comfortable place to relax and enjoy a stay other than just to spend and mark time if you have missed the flight or need a place to keep your bags and baggage until you catch the next flight. Rooms are any way expensive in Singapore

    Accessibility for MRT and airport convenient. The restaurants of wide variety of food with very reasonable prices were in close proximity.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I check-in the desk girl ask if I was staying alone, I told her I wasn't sure if my friend will be joining me so I will check-in by myself, then she mentioned that if i would have another guest I MUST report to the desk or else she won't give me back my deposit. I felt as if I was being threatened. The Internet connection was very weak when I enquire the front desk, she instructed me to sit near the window or near the room door. Oh gosh. Management what did you do to your staffs. None of them seem happy.

    I like it because it was close to the shop lots and eateries. The air con was cool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much bang for your buck! Slightly odd smell throughout.

    Cheaper than the majority of hotels in Singapore. Not far from public transport links to the airport and city. Free left luggage service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of place look scarey surround with a lot of foreigners look us while we are walking along the streets.

    The hot shower water was so good and pressure is great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillow too soft, one of the male staff was not thorough in his administrative skills cos he asked me for payment when I have already paid cash for the room and did not apologize for his mistake. The road leading to the hotel felt unsafe.

    the firm mattress

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I didnt like anything in the hotel. First the rate they gave me was expensive for a budget hotel plus they added addl charge for the 3rd person. The receptionist are like robots no feelings and rude. Definitely will never check in that hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    AirCon can not be turned off in the room as it will result in the water coming on the walls of the room. Even @ 30 C it feels really cold because the room is very small. The bed sheets were not clean and were hardly changed. The service was bad.

    Price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front office staff was very rude and was not helpful in any way. I had to carry my own bags. Very poor hospitality. I would never stay in this place, even if it is totally free.

    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small but clean. Overall Housekeeping stanards were good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    neighbourhood has "red district" activities - so not too comfortable walking at night.

    very clean, friendly & helpful staff & walking distance to MRT

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to get get to with luggage for new visitors to the city using public transport. Room was very small. Internal decore of hotel in need of a lick of paint and a good clean up. Revolting powdered sweet tea available in room.

    The location was in the heart of a buzzing community. The staff helpful. Room clean and tidy. Very quiet inside room made for a good sleep.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really. I didn't have high expectations. I was in Singapore so I knew my budget would only get me a basic room. And that's what I got.

    Location is a good base to get around the city. It's quite pricey for the room but that's Singapore.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit old but still comfy.

    Comfortable hotel. Free coffee and tea including bottled water. Has an elevator. Good place to rest after exploring Singapore.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the third time I've stayed here.....excellent , value-for-money hotel . Lots of good , simple , cheap food courts within a few minutes walk , MRT and buses also available within minutes . Simple to get to and from Changi Airport , and the City . Room kept very clean , friendly front desk staff . I'll certainly be returning !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were Muslim guests...it would have been better if there was a Muslim shower in the toilet

    Place is Fairly Clean. Staff could be extra friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the chinese guy possesed kind of out of world atitude..room was so small that we could barely move around ..rest is good facilities are upto the mark..maybe the owner should put the chinese for some schooling before he sits in front desk and speak rudely or with no compassion with the guest..small rooms are manageable if they welcome us with big heart and broad smile thank you

    it was nice and quite

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent customer service and cleanliness of rooms which were serviced daily. Laundry facilities also excellent and easy to use.Hot showers were good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff name alvin i think he was the manager was unfriendly,racist and rude. if im mistaken by his name i will describe him as skinny,chinese nationality and male. he didnt offer any help and wasnt considerate i have a baby with me.

    its ok nothing much.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start with I didn't like the location at all, this was located in a shabby area , in some bad roads. The roads were full of prostitutes, and sex-item sellers. Just outside the hotel there were prostitutes, and there were gamblers on either side of the alley to the hotel, very unsafe region in my opinion. The staff was not polite at all, in fact one guy was rude to me when i asked for some info at the check in. The wifi was not working and they didn't allow me to make an international call also. Even when I hung the tag to clean the room, they hadn't cleaned it for two days . There wasn't a bidet shower in the toilet. The worst hotel in terms of the service and customer care I would not recommend that any one stays there . Worst hotel choice ever, and for a solo traveler, the place I think is not safe at all, I saw three police raids for the stay of three days there and god knows what they were selling. There were no eateries around , no place to get a taxi. There were better places I saw as I was walking down the road to aljunied.

    I liked the comfort of the room, the cleanliness and there was satellite tv, hot water bath, - hair dryer and a kettle to heat water and some water bottles and mugs with coffee. The room was fairly spacious. AC was working just fine and that's it. The closest MRT was Aljunied, which was 15 mins walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not care for the food in Singapore...I don't care for how the food is prepared throughout SE Asia... I prefer bringing my own favorites and throwing a sandwich together vs eating out...not to mention the prices for something to eat in Singapore.

    Convenience and location for my reason of travel. Had to run to the Air Base again...quick turnaround.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comforter should be change. I didn't like the layers of it.

    The manager is overwhelming. Improve more the approach of other staff it doesn't jive with the manager's enthusiasm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No issues at all.

    It’s a budget hotel similar to many other in the Hotel 81 Chain. The staff is professional, Mr. PASU is very CoOperative. Room is very clean and bed was very comfortable. Free Wifi is also running good in all designated areas. It's located in the Red Light District but not to worry. Was very convenience to reach the city as Aljunied MRT station is a ten minutes walk away and many buses run along Geylang Road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some of the staff are not very friendly and helpful. I suspect she purposely provides me with the wrong wifi information!

    location was good. most of the staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -the pillow was too soft and flat. -the room was quite humid.

    cleanliness, tower, toilet paper, hair dryer, electric plug (can use any type of plugs!) the hotel was quite far from the train station, about 850 m. but it was not the big deal. There were many shops and restaurants along the way so, you don't have to worry when walk at night. And the footpath was good! If you wish not to share the night with strangers, this hotel would be the answer. the price was the same as hostel in the downtown.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old chinese cleaner lady very rude...we complain about the pillow case so smelly, maybe they didn't change it...she came and rudely says that it has been changed - I asked her to smell she refused.....the room is not as appear in the online booking fotos's very small

    lokasi within reasonable distance from public transport

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rom was very cold due to faulty air conditioning that we couldn't switch off. But to be fair we were offered to move to another room. The corridors could be noisy in the middle of the night.

    It's clean and near the MRT. The staff is polite. It's located in a non-glamorous Singapore which we like.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room that we stayed in didn't look nice and needed renovation quite badly. The bed takes up almost all the space in the room. Size is agreeable if you use the room just for sleeping. Window can't be opened.

    Good location, 10 minute walk from mrt urban rail.. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the service, location and the staffs. They're not that helpful enough, no proper outlet for you to charge your device.

    The only thing thats convinient for us was that it's near the stadium where we attended a concert.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms could be bigger; a bit far from SMRT when you have to carry big bags; wifi was weak in the rooms

    air conditioning was good, there was always , everiday, two botles of water in the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The blue cover of the windows, you can't tell if it is sunny or cloudy outside, should be removed. Not able to open the window and let some fresh air in, they are all locked.

    The staf is proffesional, the place and the room are good considering it's among the cheapest private rooms in the city. Nothing luxurious but also nothing to complain about, really good for the price. The metro is 10 mins walking distance (at most), but there are few bus stops within 2 mins by foot. It is in the middle of the red light district but it is a joke compared to other cities because Singapore feels incredibly safe. You can walk around alone in the middle of the night and you are totaly fine even in this area. It is even better than some other residential parts of the city with empty streets. There are a lot of restaurants and food arround, almost 24 hours available. Definitely recommended for saving some money on accomodation and food in this generally very expensive city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, dirty, smell disgusting, prostitutes outside like rats, no good wifi, no even bad connection with Internet.Tiny old rooms all same size, furniture is old and damaged, no good shower inside, just a hanger on a wall inbathroom. For this money it's too much price.

    Nice personnel, good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The condition of the room was not comfortable at all. The room floor damp in all days. I highlighted to the staff but they were keep on telling us because of we didn't switch on the air conditional. Even though if we switch on the air conditional, the air conditional need to be lower than certain temperature to avoid the damp. But we never faced this kind of incident in other hotels. When we seek for their help to arrange the taxi to take us from Hotel to Johor Bharu, they gave us a lot of reasons to reject us. Furthermore, they keep on mentioned to me if I ask them to arrange the taxi, there will be additional surcharge ($3) from taxi. But when I asked the taxi driver, there was no such surcharge. Certain staffs were polite but the rest of the staffs were impolite. When I asked further information such as direction to MRT station, they answered me with impatient voice tone.

    Just a normal ONE START hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was intermittent and the room cleaning was patchy. I didn’t think it was up to the standard of other Hotel 81s . Be aware that Geylang is an official Singapore red light area and Lorong 16, where the hotel is situated, is in the heart of it. There are official establishments designated by large red numbers and visible street prostitution. Also some illegal gambling and selling of dubious cigarettes and performance enhancers. The area is safe and you are not likely to get hassled but it isn’t the “squeaky clean” Singapore you might expect.

    It’s a budget hotel similar to many other in the Hotel 81 Chain. The room is spartan but clean and has the basics. Geylang is an “interesting and colourful ” area with plenty of reasonably priced places to eat and , convenience stores nearby. Aljunied MRT station is a ten minute walk away and many buses run along Geylang Road..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was as hard as floor. The room had no bar fridge. The bathroom was disgusting. The hotel is old and needs renovating. The toiletries was only a toothbrush. The water was hot they didnt chill. The kettle was old. The sheets and linen where bug infested.

    The staff where friendly. The location is in the red light district. The late fighting in the hotel with the noise of men fighting over the hookers. Was disgraceful. I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone. The price was the only good thing. I felt sorry for the cleaners.This was a eye opener as first time in Singapore. The location was ok for transport.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dnt like your staff,i call just to ask hlp.someone answer the phone arrogantly..next time be nice to your customer.

    I like the locationn and the room is clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty

    Nearby food shops

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and comfortable

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    old furnishing. shower area is too small

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not sound proof that i can hear the guest are going here and there😊

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel 81 Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: