Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Singapore hotel reviews
  3. Singapore hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Hotel 81 Rochor

Reviews of Hotel 81 Rochor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

5 Jalan Besar Singapore, Little India, 208785 Singapore, Singapore

#404 of 552 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1075 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.5
    Staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There's no refrigerator to keep our food or drinks cold. Not enough storage to put our belongings.

    Staff are friendly and helpful. Very fast in service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    Recommend for good location, best value and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No closet but clothesline. Water leakage from air-conditioner on 4th floor walk way.

    Only 150m from MRT rochor (exit B). Spacious room and balcony (triple room). Necessary facilities. Very helpful and sincere staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    5.4
    Very close to the MRT station and within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we first walked into the room there was a very strong cigarette smell. The bed was like a sofa bed than a regular bed.

    Very close to the MRT station and within walking distance to the Tekka Centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.9
    Will stay here again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wet floor, water came from bathroom, but thats not big problem.

    cheap, comfortable, location, 7~10 min to Bugis Street. Staff Edmun and his partner served politely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    It was good hotel for just bed and breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, except the room is small. Some room at level 3 flooded when heavy rain.

    Not so noisy environment, near to the MRT and Bus station. Easy to find halal food, just 2 minutes walk. Bath room also clean and good enough.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Loved my stay and enjoyed the location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    OPen or see through window but I understand the issues.

    Location excellent, and staff very helpful. Being able to walk everywhere was just great ., Food around the hotel fabulous and inexpensive

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    6.7
    value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    linen was fresh and clean, close to 2 stations and Sim Lim tower. Edmund at reception made all the difference. old building but it was value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We needed to call service to change the aircon temperature every time we enter the room again. Limited options for 24hr meal in the area. Only one elevator. Window does not have a view outside.

    Comfortable bed. Big space for the 3 person room. There is a 24 hour store outside the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Recommended hotel for traveler.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    If hotel is not your destination to stay whole day, but you still need comfort, this hotel is the right one for you. The location that near to public transport (MRT is just behind this hotel), Masjid, shopping and dine area (about 10 minutes walk to bugis junction or little india). You can also have a light breakfast (such as bread, cup noddle, tea or coffee) from the mini market just next to the hotel. This is my 3rd time stay here, and off course I'll be back again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.1
    My stay was great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room size was less to my exceptions i tort it was bigger but it wasn't but is ok

    i enjoyed the country the hotel and everything the room was small, I came with kids but we have no choice than to manage but it was fun my kids enjoyed there self and am happy for that..will be happy and please to visit another time

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.5
    It is to the budget! Don't expect too much because it is cheap!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were ants everywhere! There was a strong smell in the room and in the hotel when you were entering. You have no control on the air conditioner! The room is very small and the air conditioner is direct in the room and you can't turn it off; It basically made me very sick at the end of my trip!

    The staff and the location are great. They cleaned the room every day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.8
    My stay was statisfying and pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seems that the hotel has an ant problem in the room I stayed in. Not too serious but a matter to look after.

    The air conditioner was OK The staff is very polite and helpfull. Clean sheets and towels every day on demand. No traffic noise. Close to shopping centre. I would recommend this hotel and in the future I certainly will visit again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.0
    Hotels seems decent and budgeted one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel doesn't have restaurants facilities.. Though the Smoking is prohibited, the corridor full smell of cigarettes... my family, especially children's are not like that smell...

    Hotels seems decent and budgeted one.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Superb Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 2things need to highlight 1. In the morning housekeeper making some noise by talking very loudly and suddenly ive woke up so early and unable to sleep back.. 2. The bed makes my back pain !!! 😏😏😏

    Location was great!!! Only 2mins walking distance from Rochor Station via downtown line to the hotel and its very convenience to go everywhere that you want... staff were helpful and friendly. Recommended

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    3.3
    Never choose this hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. A staff asure to us we could do early check-in by 11am. ->But, when we got to hotel by 11am, staff was changed and they said there's no room till 2pm( which is the official check-in time) 2.The airconditioner was't working from the first time. -> It took 3 hours to change my room. ->They don't care about inportance of time for traveler. ->Even they've never noticed how long would it takes. ->Never called back to let us know how something has going on before we did. ->We just trapped in warm hotel room for that long. 3. No one apologized to us. 4. Reception was terrible. ->especially iresponsible and rude so much. 5. Room was very durty that can't believe they've cleaned and made up before we checked in. 6. The airconditioner had been out of order everyday. 7. The alley was cooler than the room. 8. The manager said, "because hotel 81 is cheap hotel". 9. Worst service than hostel.

    No reasone to be good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.9
    A little expensive with respect to the ameneties available but excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - No windows (well, windows were there, but they were fully sealed). - Air conditioning could be adjusted according to our choice from the room. - Since there were no windows, air was circulated by the A/C vent and the bathroom fan vent. - Rooms were of enough size to accommodate two people, but it was smaller than what we expected for the price. - Bed and the pillows were a little hard. - Two free water bottles were often replenished with only one, and we had to ask for the second one every day except for one day. - Had a slightly strong smell in the rooms probably due to the lack of fresh air but this was no problem.

    - Perfectly located within a few minutes of walking distance to the MRT stations Rochor, Little India, and Jalan Besar. - Located close to the Bugis Street where you can find many, good local eateries and places to shop. - Supermarkets and grocery stores could be found nearby. - Hotel staff was very helpful in helping us find our way around and also in changing our initial room since it had some strong smell. - Housekeeping was good. - Dental kits were provided. - The shampoo and body wash liquid was good. - No sound of the traffic although hotel was right beside the road. - Everything was clean. - Had a lift for all floors.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    Stay at SIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staffs at the reception weren't nice enough.overall the service can be rated as 'good'

    Easy access to all the attractions and walking distance from Jalan besar MRT

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little dusty.. no comforter but a bedsheet-blanket-bedsheet to make it up..

    Theres a convenience store beside it.. easily accesible from mrt rochor and bugis street shops..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    It was a pretty nice accommodation in beautiful Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absence of ac controller Absence of feet mopping towel. Absence of Hand jet for toilet

    The room was a bit small in comparison to what was shown in picture on net. There were missing towels meant for cleaning feet after taking bath. Rest it was ok...ac was not having control panel in the room so when ever it was needed to manipulate, I had to call the reception. Rest all was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.7
    see i wrote before
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    air condition is very cold even if turn off from front office, it may be cause some room got air from another room, because the room is near another room, you should seperate air , mean , guest can turn off air from their room, very cold , and you should prepare place for guess to do job, put laptop, wifi, near lobby. anyway , receptionist is polite , good service, service excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Couldn't open the curtains or windows so the room felt stuffy on days you want to stay in for a little longer. Some ants in the corners of the room.

    Location was very convenient - near 2 Downtime line stations (Jalan Besar and Rochor) and a 8-10 min walk from a North East line station (Little India). A convenience store right next to the main door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    6.3
    I thought they should offer us some sort of compensationsations spontaneous.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If not for this incident, money for values,it was o.k.

    One night it was heavy raining, when the morning comes, our room was heavily flooded,some of our clothing was damaged by the leaking ceilings. When I informed the manager, they didn’t give us any apologies nor offer us any form of compensation. When the water stopped dripping down, the moped up the floor, that was they did. For us it was quite a bit of disappointment. We didn’t lodge a formal complaint to them. ( we stayed 5 nights st this hotel this time )

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.5
    Strategic location, near MRT to city and airport. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping is a bit poor - they forgot to refresh my tea/coffee sachets and toiletries. The reception was fast in replenishing these items when I complained. The pillows were a bit flat and uncomfortable. Should be replaced for better comfort of guests.

    The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Willing to show directions to eateries, places of interest and transportation. Most are nearby. I liked that hotel provided 2 bottles of water everyday. There is an elevator to service to higher floors. Hotel has 6 floors. The hotel is a short 200m from MRT Rochor Exit B. Hotel has wheelchair access ramp and convenience store located in same building with hotel. Store opens long hours for snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.2
    A well deserve night sleep acquire.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet has a mouldy smell in it. Perhaps the management may want to consider room re freshener. Although staff made me feel welcome and comfortable while waitng for my room to be ready, perhaps Management may want to look at late check-in eg 2am or after midnight check-in .

    The staff made me feel comfortable while waiting for my room to be ready. They are friendly. The place is quint for a night stay. Parking was easy for drivers. And for those taking the public transport, it is accessible to the nearest public transport link.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    5.8
    Front office staff very helpful and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not even a chair to sit on in the room, TV far too small. No where to place cases either.

    Front office staff very helpful and courteous. Hotel is in a great position, close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    7.9
    Value for money (:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is too small. While taking a shower, the water leak out to the small gap of the door. The blanket is a bit too small.

    The staffs are very friendly. The location is near to mrt station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.5
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Alot of antz,1st day on our check in we found bunch of hair on the blanket

    The staff is extremely helpful, they come right away to fix the problem change the blanket soon after we call

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    6.7
    No. Of people mentioned in booking .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No. Of people mentioned in booking .com.did not tally with hotels fits to stay.hotel staff were quite confused with their offerings and blaming it on booking site

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't sleep on our last night cause of neighbor's baby crying all night, but it is not the hotel fault tho. The room was clean just a little note, we found some dust on the cups and on the tea/coffee maker so we need to clean it our self.

    Stayed there for a short trip. The location was great, cheap food at bugis and close to 2 MRT (rochor and bugis). The staff on the receiption was nice, they gave us an early check-in and also lend us an umbrella on a rainy day. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some very rude reception staff especially a person named Fazri. Since there was no refrigerator in the room I sincerely requested if they can keep it in their refrigerator but he simply rejected my request. Moreover, after checking out I needed to use the washroom and he simply declined to give me an access to the staff washroom as there is no washroom in the lobby. A person working in the service industry should not be like this. Very disappointing and unacceptable.

    Great location. Some of the reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly especially a lady named zovina/ zinova while there are some rude staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    5.0
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The twin toom was very small and if you're looking at shopping you might have enough room to kerp your baggage. No mini bar /fridge in the room.

    Convenient location to many food outlets , shopping malls , MRT and Church.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    5.8
    There were no safety box in side of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to pay the all the amount of booking during check in to the Hotel

    There were no safety box in side of the room. Small room. No cupboard to keep the clothes. But Cleanliness and room service is good. Had to pay all amount during Check in to Hotel.If we had a chance to pay during check out, it will be easy to the customers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    6.3
    Rooms are very old, worn out, a bit dirty(hairs and ants on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very old, worn out, a bit dirty(hairs and ants on a floor). Not at all like in hotel advertisement pictures. And mine smelled for smoking(but were better after ionizer) I asked to have room like in pictures but they said that ”you know, there is decoration in those pics”. Hotel staff were so nice and helpfull so cant blame them about that hotel quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    5.4
    I took this hotel only because of the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot to mention. But mostly this is the situation in a budget hotel. This is even a bit below the average of others in same hotel chain.

    I took this hotel only because of the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    thumbs up!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing!!

    honest and helpful staff.. i misplaced my goldring in the room and they helped me out to find it. i got my ring back!!thank you so much!! happy with my room. with tv,decorder, fridge. just everything is there!! will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.0
    Try & avoid this hotel if you. Except the location, they dont have anything else.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room Size - Room was not clean - Room damp, something kind of sweaty. As a whole completely disliked the room. 1st of its kind in Singapore = This hotel doesn't have any restaurant. Very pathetic

    Their Front Office staffs. They were very courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    near from center city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    i can hear another voice from the other room and i can not sleep at 3.00 a.m there's another woman voice with man..really bad

    near from center city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.7
    OVERALL WAS OKAY
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    KITCHEN WAS PROVIDED IN THE APARTMENT. BUT ON A HOT CATTLE WAS AVAILABLE. WHICH IS FOR NOTHING, JUST MAKING TEA OR COFFEE. ON REQUEST I GOT RICE COOKER. THEY SHOULD ALLOW FLAME-LESS COOKING.

    THE LOCATION OF PROPERTY

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The beds were so clean and the staffs were friendly. Good location as the hotel is located very near to Rochor MRT station. There was also a convenient store next to the hotel, masjid and halal food are very easy to find

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    MRT very close
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor was sticky! Not the most comfortable of beds but it's okay. And walls are thin so you can hear what's going on outside. I could hear a staff (I think?) humming and you can hear tourists talking loudly while they were on their way to the lift.

    Very close to Rochor train station. There is a convenience store right next door to the hotel, where you can get snacks and even a sim card for your stay. Toilet was huge, plenty of space in the toilet. Ample room to move around in the guest room itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.3
    Location is best, near MRT station which is JALAN BESAR...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water Heater was not hot and in the morning was in cold temp water, window can’t be open duno why, trying to take a breath for fresh air but can’t

    Location is best, near MRT station which is JALAN BESAR & ROCHOR station, staff is polite, room is comfortable, 1pm to 2pm reach hotel, they are allow us to check in quite good for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Location is its positive side. I enjoyed my stay as i love just walking to the malls and parks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, the only problem i had was the size of the rooms, it was small and felt suffocating especially since there was no window.

    It was so accessible to the places where we wanted to go and availability of all kinds of transportation. The hotel is safe and secured and the staff is honest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great Location. Clean. Friendly Staff. Decently Priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Located very close to the Rochor and Bugis MRT stations. - Easily accessible by Grab Cabs or otherwise. - Clean and well maintained. - Very good air conditioning. - Has a convenience store right outside the entrance. - Close to a lot of eating places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    6.7
    Still ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was ants at the coffee table n saw mouldy mirror. Fridge without freezer....thus needed to place the milk at the reception freezer, not sure how but received defrosted milk upon check out.

    Simplicity of the deco despite a small space given

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.8
    This place near many foods courts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price is high! With this price in other countries, I can stay in 4 stars or even 5 stars hotel with better conditions!

    This place near many foods courts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    First time experience in a budget hotel in Singapore.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time experience in a budget hotel in Singapore. Not as bad as I expect, really! Extremely nice customer service from the front desk despite she is actually an intern(?) and fast room service as it is already completed for the period when I am out for dinner! However, the air conditioner gets really cold in the night despite adjusting the controller, and some of the guests are very uncooperative who speaks very loudly in the corridor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.5
    The front desk team were excellent at helping us plan what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls were very thin, and the floor we were on seemed to have a lot of young families. We had trouble a couple of nights/early mornings with children running up and down the corridor very loudly waking us up.

    The front desk team were excellent at helping us plan what to see and do in Singapore, free maps of the city etc. They also seemed interested in us and were very kind and smiley!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    2.5
    We arrived in Singapore very late.
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived in Singapore very late. We had pre-booked and paid for our accommodation. When we arrived we handed the staf our passports. They asked for my husbands work permit card - My husband did not have in possession at the time. And that was that, because he did not have this card we could not stay there. They did not offer us any help or solutions. If we did not have this card we could not stay there. Staff were rude and unhelpful. 3 weeks ago we had stayed in Hotel 81 Chinatown with no issues. My husband is in Singapore every month and regularly books with Hotel 81 and has stayed many times at this particular Hotel. By the time we were able to find another hotel close by it was past 12am. The only form of ID they require was our passports (like all other Hotels). Very disappointed. Will not be staying with Hotel 81 again.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    5.8
    just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room#501. too small. when put the luggage hardly have space to move. very very uncomfortable room Room#501. not recommanded to stay this room.

    staff were very nice to us ; location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Compact toilet in wetroom/shower, so became very slippy. Grippy mat or wooden bathmat could help this?

    Excellent location and price. Staff very helpful minding luggage and booking taxi after we had checked out. Also very efficient and friendly throughout. Excellent English

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    6.3
    It was a good value for your money considering accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed is quite small and hard.

    It was a good value for your money considering accommodation in Singapore can be quite expensive. The hotel is just a few minutes’ walk from the metro station and restaurants. The room is being cleaned every day and the sheets and towel are changed too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.1
    staffs are very good the location is quite and full of arts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the bed is small and the blanket not good, the room is quite small

    staffs are very good the location is quite and full of arts you can walk around and find something to eat so easy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The a/c not adjustable. We were taking hot bath early in the morning for the sake of shivering all night😂

    Despite on other people review on this hotel, I did stayed for an overnight due to tight budget. Hence my expection was wrong, this room was decent enough, nice and comfortable. They did provide us iron including iron board.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    4.6
    The Wi-Fi too slow, we can not use during we stayed there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Wi-Fi too slow, we can not use during we stayed there. And one more thing, we are really sad when saw the room because we are booked the Triple Room but they arranged for us with 1 big bed and 1 small bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    6.3
    Good for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we left we put the tag can clean the room but only bed & toilet is attended the floor is not mapped. Anyway nice place to stay.

    I like the location because its near train station . Also walking distance to bugis mall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    Staff was approachable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a bit small. Strong smell of cigarettes on the first day of our check-in even though it was a no smoking room.

    Staff was approachable. Rooms were clean Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    4.6
    The location near to mrt station
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The aircond didnt really work that well, i cant even sleep cause it was too hot, then we were asking for an iron but they dont send it to our room so we have to go downstair to get it by ourself, the staff doesnt really greet that well, not even explain about the checkin and checkout time also not even explain for the payment, we didnt really wanna ask, cause their faces seems to be mad or something, they doesnt give us any receipts for the payment at least they should explain that for the guest but they didn't.

    The location near to mrt station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.9
    Ok, Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is other guests smoke, so the smell went thru my room

    excellent location, there is downtown line MRT; Rochor & Jalan Besar which bring us to everywhere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.5
    Staff was courteous and ready to help
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise could be controlled inside the room

    Close to the Bugis station..clean rooms.. but small rooms, lot of noise in the night as people moment was there though out the night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    5.8
    Simple hotel next to MRT STATION.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They were not cleaning the bathroom every day and no health faucet in the bathroom The bed and pillow was not comfortable.

    1.The location very close to MRT Station. 2.The balcony, luckily we got the only family room with the balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    7.5
    as a budget hotel this one is valuable
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    so far so good... only that frosted film on the glass at shower should be higher and non transparent

    good location...although at the road side but cannot hear any vehicles sound

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    5.4
    Not so cheap, not so comfy, just easy access to everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staffs are not friendly. Air conditioner was centralized and can't be controlled from room. We feel very uncomfortable with the AC. Hot water was not very good, only hot a few minutes then turns cold. Windows are fake, can't see anything from inside the room, so this is not a room with view.

    Very close to public transport, only 2 minutes walk to Rochor MRT Station. Bugis & Little India area (full of shops and food) are reachable by foot (5-10 minutes walk). Room is clean and quiet. Bed, towel, and sheet are clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    3.8
    It’s dirty, the dirts are everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s dirty, the dirts are everywhere. It’s also noisy at nights The beds are too small and it moves when I move while sleeping that is very annoying!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows is not usable abd accessable although my room has it. Not sure if its due to local regulation.

    Location..location...location. Bus and MRT available in few minutes walking distance. The room is small but clean and comfort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small, little to no amenities..old bedsheets, bathroom small and uncomfortable...shower is not properly demarcated and is combined with toilet. breeding ground for germs. Air con is controlled elsewhere... client cannot turn it off or on. And it seems to be on cold regardless of client request to turn it off..

    Nothing..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    5.4
    MRT station is very close to the hotel 5 min walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    small room. there was a water leak to the room for the washroom. this is actually is a not very good place to stay if you are coming with your family. 2017 December 31st night and 1st of January 2018 the room changes are very high we paid more than 300 Singapore dollars for two nights for a basic double room. It’s not worth it. Very close to rocher MRT station. That is the only thing I like about that place.

    MRT station is very close to the hotel 5 min walking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.3
    Okay for budget business traveller but not so for leisure travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size is tiny. No bar fridge available in our room.

    The location is very central; easy access to public transport i.e. buses, rapid transits, taxis. Easy walking distance to Bugis Junction Mall and central civic areas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    4.6
    Restless and sleepless.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Me and my wife got a sleepless night. All the noise from outside can be heard. You can clearly hear all the discussion and phone rings from the reception and it's very loud. Worst is you can hear the flush of the toilet of nearby rooms, and it happens like every hour, it's so disturbing. I am sure this is not the first time that someone encountered the same issue. I hope the management should take this matter seriously.

    Location is right in the middle of the City and the MRT station is just a few walk away. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    3.8
    The hotel's located far away from the lively night Little India
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not at all. The service was overall cold. Upgraded the room to Triple Room. Upon checked in, only 2 towels provided for 3pax. 1 small bottle of mineral water to share with 3pax. 2 sachets coffee but no sugar and creamer. Tooth brush was only for 2. Probably those are complimentary items. But I expected that the hotel will provide those as normal as other hotels do since the rate is like 3 star budget hotel. I could get better rate at other hotels in Little India if I really careful during my booking. No reservation fees for the booking, but immediate charges incurred for cancellation.

    I regret for chosing the hotel despite it said in Little India but the place is so quiet at night and not many restaurants and shops open at night, not like Syed Alwi Street which is close to Mustafa Centre and plenty of restaurant and shops open at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location but a terrible morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very noise in the morning around 8-9am outside the room, and when I look outside, it's actually an air-con staff fixing the air-con in the corridor, and it was very noisy that I and my partner woke up before out alarm rang. It was very disturbing.

    the location is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    5.0
    Do not stay here if you’re not used to hard bed poor pillow & corridor noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so hard and the pillow definitely need to change for new that it already out of shape after a long time usage. They did not provide the in room shoes and the floor not that clean and comfortable to walk on although just a little space to walk around in room. The hot shower didn’t function well. Water will automatically change to cold after a while of usage. Can easily heard people walking by our room, sounds of close the other doors and talking on the corridor even at late night.

    The location is excellent with foods, public transport and in the city center that easy to travel and explore around by walking or public transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    6.7
    Value for money in and around Little India Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt it is a bit cramped. I saw ants come through walls for sweet dish we had left on table. It needs to be taken care of

    Location. It is walkable distance to popular vegetarian restaurants like komala vilas, Gokul and others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    5.8
    Location is good,affordable price,close to average quality
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy guests and repairment activities early in the morning are very disturbing. Matress sheets can be selected from better quality ones,really so thin...

    Reception desk is helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.5
    For the 2 star hotel, they provide hairdryer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They only give 1 mineral water each day. The size of the room is quite small also the TV.

    For the 2 star hotel, they provide hairdryer. The location is near MRT. The checkin process is fast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    6.3
    It's value for money and good for short stay but not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom is very small.

    It's value for money and good for short stay but not suit for family. Location is perfect very close to MRT just 50 meter.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: