Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 81 Sakura 2 stars

181 Joo Chiat Road, Katong, 427452 Singapore, Singapore

#331 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 955 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small, and the walls are thin. It was troublesome with children suffering from jet lag.

    Ken was an amazing employee. He helped us check in early with our 2 year old after 34 hours of travel. Priceless!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is not soo friendly

    When we arrived a non smoking room was smelling like a smoking room; thou they changed the room upon request, not all the staff were friendly, just one person at the reception was responsive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small The air conditioning was not very effective The bathroom was mouldy it was very noisy AND it is in a area that had a lot of brothels “bars” around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mixed experience with staff. A young lady who gave us really bad, inacurate directions several times and a man, heavy set, glasses who went the extra mile several times!

    Great no frills location with amazing foods all close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Huge cockroach in my bathroom. Door not closed after cleaning. Stranger's underpants in my garbage. Mugs not cleaned. We changed rooms because the first room smelled of smoke. The second room I was shown has no windows and also bathroom smelled of smoke. My night stand was burnt with cigarette butts.

    Good location, Joo Chiat is lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room has no window, but I had not be mentioned on booking.com

    The hotel located in Little Vietnam with many good Vietnamese restaurant also bars, night clubs and furthermore.. Easily to get a taxi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. Didn't expect the walls to be sound-proof but also didn't expect the toilet flushing from the other rooms to be heard in our room!! 2. The bathroom needs a shower curtain. The floors get quite messy once you have a bath. 3, Too expensive...and no extra services provided.

    1. They accommodated a last minute booking request. 2. Provided an extra towel as we had our child also with us in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the next MRT station, but instead of walking 20 min. you can easy drive there with ofo or other rental bikes.

    One of the cheapest and best hotels around in that area. Very friendly stuff and housekeeping, good coffee, clean room, very good area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many rooms have no window. The area is not very convenient for public transport, nearest MRT stations, Eunos and Payar Lebar, are both about 18 minutes walk away. More than 5 minutes walk to Geylang Road with its many bus routes. Unless you have strong aversion to the red light aspects of Geylang, I think the budget hotels there offer better convenience and value for money.

    Typical budget hotel in the 81 chain. Room is clean and has effective air conditioning, fridge and WiFi. It’s in Joo Chiat, a quiet area of Singapore during the day but there are a few places to eat nearby and some convenience stores. At night many bars and karaoke places open up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faster wifi is preferable. The location was ok on the day but I felt like a red light district on the night.

    The room was clean although small. House keeping team was great. Amenities was really worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and accommodative to our requests. The nearest MRT is Paya Lebar which is about 1.3 km from the hotel. So if you are someone who doesn’t mind walking then it’s one of the best options out there. The sheets were clean and stay very comfortable. Value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no free parking. But there is a public parking just at the back of the hotel. Also the lock of the door keeps on getting the guests locked from their room.

    The staff are very friendly. The location is great and accessible. Restaurants are everywhere. There's a 24-hour laundry shop in front of the hotel. There is 7/11. There are provision shops too. Massage parlors and pubs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioning was a bit over the top: The room got actually very cold during the night. Also the location is quite bad: the distance to the nearest train station is quite long and there are only some buses going near the place. Also the toilet in the room was not very comfortable.

    Inexpensive hotel. Staff was quite helpful: we asked for a possibility to change the room (we didn't like the first one) and they just handed us the keys to the new room. Wifi worked quite well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right next to the reception and they kept playing music loudly over the television in the lobby. I also requested for a wheelchair accessible room but there was barely enough space for my boyfriends’s chair to even enter the room.

    The room was clean. The toilet was big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, cramped, & desk space for a laptop was barely adequate. No shower curtain.

    Quiet, AC worked well, TV selection was fine, close to laundry & a convenience store.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odd smell coming through the ventilator at some point, very sweaty

    The staff was friendly, check-in was smooth, and it was extremely good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The doors provide no sound isolation, you hear all the other guests and what happens on the hallway, and there were noisy cleaning activities around 2AM (!). There were many small cockroaches. When I wanted to use the water boiler there were noodles in there from a previous guest. (Which I'm sure was nice for the cockroaches!)

    At first the room looked okay. Bath and shower were fine, although there was no shower curtain

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a high floor through booking.com but I was given a second storey floor by the hotel. The check-in time was 2pm and the check-out time was 11am. These check-in and check-out times of this hotel were not stated at all in booking.com. There was no flexibility to check-in early at about 12pm eventhough the room was already available before 2pm. The staff informed check-in was strictly to be 2pm and any earlier than 2pm, an extra day room rate will be charged. Indonesian, Malaysian and Australian hotels are very flexible in their check-in time. If the rooms are already available a few hours before the check-in time, they allow early check in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small rooms, it was too cold even if you turn off your air cond

    Cleanliness, easy to reach to public transportation, nearby 7 Eleven shop, staff was friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironning board. No cleanliness on the bed, wardrobe dirty & too noisy (can hear people fight/argue, running & etc). As we can hear people flashing from top units.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff/ receptionist not friendly, no smile face, no greeting, not helpful when I out of hand to open the front door to enter the lobby, the staff saw me but no initiative to come and give me a hand to open the door.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Low public transport. Hotel was not closer to MRT and have to wait at least 20 - 30 min for a bus to go to the main road in order to take another bus.

    Hotel had high speed internet. Great Staff. Had total privacy. Value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fridge No shower curtain therefore have to bend to shower to prevent splashing water everywhere Old furniture Locked window and not able to view outside

    Easy access to food eatery, taxi and night life around is interesting Staff OK

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel was nice, small rooms but it had all that it needed. There was a bathtub in the bathroom and all amenities, it had a hair dryer , coffee/tea making facilities, a television and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual in SG a wet toilet meaning the shower is right over the toilet basin and suggest you prioritize your body activity:-) The location is pretty isolated compared to other places and suggest this better for those with plenty of time on their hands.

    We chose the hotel for a relaxing weekend in the Katong area of the East coast and were not dispappointed. The street has a relaxed funky vibe with cafes, bars, fitness centers and different food choices. We enjoyed the walk to the famous 112 Katong Mall and thereafter the beach and other outdoor activities. The room was the smallest (maybe 10m) ever in SG however was quiet and cozy for our needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a big one. The place is too noisy inside the hotel. They need a big sign in the lift saying, " Please speak quietly whilst walking to your room" and a huge sign on each door that says, "Please close your door quietly". There is no refrigerator in the room.

    Very good staff from front desk to the cleaners. Great location. You can catch Bus 33 to the city (and 16). Walking distance to MRT. There is a good laundrette just up the road. There is a lot of good food in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are rooms with windows upon request but you cannot open them or they are sealed with panels. Location is a bit far from the main attractions (20-30 min usually) but the neightbourhood itself has a lot to offer.

    Very friendly staff, cheap rooms, clean, rooms with a window. A lot of reataurants near by. Bus stops very close.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer broke down, but response was fast when asked to replace. Stained mugs. Otherwise ok. Comfortable.

    They clean the room every day. Fresh towels every day. Provide 2 bottle water and a packet of instant cofee and tea. New toothbrushes but strangely no soap. Only a dispenser of body and face lotion. But when called the response is fast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a tiny window so felt a little closed in. The bed was really hard and not very comfortable.

    Friendly/helpful staff who sorted taxis and printing at no extra charge. Bottled water in the room every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good staffs and clean hotel , but the area is quite far from town , it will be abit incovenience for tourist transportation , but the hotel is clean and reasonable price good for a try .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wakened at 3am by water coming in through ceiling and had to change room. Room moved to was smaller and shabbier and had a smelly bathroom. No compensation of any kind offered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though I didn't have the AC turned on, there was cool air blasting through another vent. I prefer to have control of the room temperature. Also, the wifi was intermittent, and that would have really frustrated me if I was depending on it during my stay.

    The hotel is well designed and the room was a comfortable size. Around the hotel there are plenty of places to eat. Taxis are always available too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size (bearing in mind this is Singapore), helpful staff, value for money, distance to public transportation - just few hundred meters to nearest bus stop, where you can catch bus 33 and quickly connect with MRT. Vicinity is relatively quiet as well. Yet another plus - travel to/from airport doesn't take much time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom gets flooded, there are no hangers in it. The TV is in an inconvenient position, so you have to look sideways from the bed.

    Comfy, private room for an okay price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Joo Chiat is a great area for food and just an interesting street (especially in the evening) that connects Katong (east coast road) to the Geyleng Rd. You'll still see a lot of culture here, unlike more well trodden paths in Singapore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were not. cleaned properly. One day no cleaning was do in the bathroom. Other day the towels were not kept in the room.

    Front desk Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the wall.

    Bed was comfortable. Room looked old but it was rather clean. Room was located on ground level but it was quiet, easy to access. Lots of eateries around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    negative : i got a room next to reception area, air cond is too cold, no air cond remote provided, not really sound proofed

    positive : the bed is comfortable, room is spacious, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was very small, although we booked a "superior" room, we could barely move around. The room was only a bit larger than the bed in the middle. Although quite far away from the metro station (Paya Lebar) - about 20 min, there are a few buses going close to the hotel, eventually to the neighboring streets. Google maps will help you plan your journey :)

    Everything was perfectly clean, the room and bathroom was cleaned on a daily basis. The staff was friendly and helpful. Although located on a street with a few clubs, our room (on 4th floor facing the street) was perfectly quiet in the evening and during the night. Fresh water, coffee and tea were resupplied each day. Air conditioning was good and quiet, cooling the room down efficiently and gently.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was smaller than that in pics, small ants, blankets too thin, other than this the price is good, location is a quiet refuge from tourists, cute neighborhood - + more : ) than : ( Do it.

    fast check-in, nice lighting in room (low), good a/c, fast internet, hot shower available, cute Japanese decor, room quiet & private, very soft sheets / bed linen, thick towels, coin laundry acr. st

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room was not so clean.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms ok, not so big. If you have a heavy language, to reach the hotel use metro to Dakota station and from this place use the bus number 33. Distance from Eunos metro station is 1,5km. Hotel is silent, but the street is full of pubs, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Between airport and city making it good value compared to airport hotels. Clean and comfortable. Lots of local restaurants nearby. Possible to walk to MRT for return to airport. Helpful and friendly 24 hour reception,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were under the impression that we booked a room with a window. Alas no window. A weird experience if you hail from Africa. If I wasn't so tired it would have been difficult to sleep. All the wooden furniture had plenty cigarette burn marks on it,which gave the room a tatty look.

    The staff was very friendly and most helpful. It was well situated for restaurants. It was within walking distance from the ECP.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door was left open before I even checked into my room, which was a bit scary.

    It's a very cheap place to stay compare to other places in Singapore

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just want a cheaper price for our SMALL rooms😳😳😂😂😂 the price of the room are almost same even my sister room is big n mine room with husband & my dad's room with nepehw is really small! N also i request for upper storey & they just give us very lower storey😂😂😂😂😂😂

    faster service...The freshness or the smells of hotel make us very fresh & calm😂😂😂😂

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street it was on seemed to have lots of noisy bars and pubs, though we were in a room at the back, so didn't hear much.

    This was a quick, literally 8 hours sleepover stop for us as we transited from airport to Legoland Malaysia. Booked a triple room, which amanaged to fit 2 kids and mum and dad ok. It was not too far from airport, and staff were helpful in getting a taxi for a quick departure the next morning. Seemed clean and value for money, given rate we paid. Not sure about location as we weren't here long enough to know.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the center and it takes 1h to get to Sentosa.

    Rooms were nice, bright and clean. The location is great for strolling around two story high architecture of traditional pernakan buildings. Staff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no window in my room. The sizes of furnitures weren't be matched to the room. Tiny space to move your legs inside the room.

    Good-looking interior design and clean. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking floor that was assigned to us

    I have requested non smoking floor because i was with my 2 year old son but the room that was assigned was on the smoking floor.Everytime we go out we can smell the smoke and it's not comfortable for both of us.Overall the place is quiet and peaceful.The staff are very accommodating and helpful.Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not convenient to get there if you don't have your own transport.

    Very nice japanese theme and comfortable beds. The staff were welcoming too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing the streets will hear the noice from the bars late at night. I found a HUGE cockroach in my room and the staff gave me a new room right away. Really small bathrooms with no showercurtain wich makes the whole bathroom wet.

    Lots of bars and restaurants in the area. Some small minimarts and busstop 2 minuters away. Clean rooms with refrigerators. 7 Eleven across the street

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nice, comfortable, everything prepared and ready. Had an issue with AC, informed staff, straight away gave a key allowed to move to another room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't bother with a train to get to this location. Just take a taxi and spend the 15-20 bucks. Train doesn't get you very close

    Staff was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked almost every thing.

    Room was equipped with all necessary appliances.(AC/Hot Water/TV/Mini Refrigerator/Hair Drier/Tea Preparation facilities/Comfortable Bed/Dressing Table)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and considerate specially with my late check out with two kids..location is clean quite kids friendly for me nothing much special but money wide it's good place to stay..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff is rude and not professional! his Name is Adriane. He ask me things to do like i dont know what im doing and its my booking via online. He must be trained on handling guests professionally! He should what good customer service is and I can tell him that as im also on service area!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its quite far from mrt station. the walls are thin u can basically hear people next door showering. drunks were noisy loitering the hallway in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made a request for an early check-in, but the request was not processed and one of the hotel staff members became rude when I requested him for early check-in.

    The place was extravagant and calm. There are a lot of exquisite places to visit nearby only if you know the way. The hotel staff were cooperative and guiding especially for the tourists.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just yuck. The rooms reek of cigarettes. The hot water in the shower doesn't work. The air conditioner is weak. The hotel staff wouldn't even help you with bags even if they are you still struggling to lug them to your room. If I could rate this hotel half a star I would.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is my second time staying here. Quite liked it, price was cheaper than the other place, location ok, got many nice food places around, staff was friendly, allowed to come in half an hour early, as well asked why leaving early. Room was ok, got all the needed stuff in, room was clean, didn't notice any issues.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, the staff were friendly, and the room was cozy and clean. I did however spend the night before at Tristar which was 5 mins walk around the corner, 5% more expensive but got a room that was more than twice the size.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked the hotel if they could increase tv vol, they could not. Tv volume was so soft we could not make out what the tv was saying.

    Its in a nice part of sg

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although they did a great job by transforming an old house into a modern house I would have like a bedside table and lamp or at least a switch for the main light close to the bed.

    The room was clean and everything functioned very well. The location of the hotel in the Peranakan District with colorful vintage houses is perfect, it's close to the airport and the city. There are plenty of Chinese, Vietnamese, Malaysian and Western restaurants in the area, the street is quiet albeit a number night clubs. Nearby are shopping centers and the area has not too many tourists. Staff was really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small. They generate ozon in the lobby apparently to deodorize the area. The smell came all the way in to my room and I couldn't open the window as it was glued shut for A/C efficiency or some other reason. That smell made me sick but looked like no one else was affected but me. When I complained, they stopped the machine. The staff is very nice except for one. She wasn't bad but very naïve. She has to learn that she is not supposed to argue with the customer, especially when she is not sure what the problem is. In Asia, most people have a heart of gold. I wasn't upset at her. This hotel wasn't for me. The biggest problem in a small room is I cannot open my luggage as they open like a book. Just not enough space and I have 2 :-( Bare in mind, every traveler is different. What is not good for me may be perfectly OK for you! I like to thank the hotel staff for being so nice. If I am travelling for leisure, perhaps I will try it again.

    I like the street. I liked stepping out at night or in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower rails need to be add. when having a shower water is allover the bathroom. very dis-comfortable. Also air fresheners need to be in the rooms to avoid bad smell.

    Cleanesss

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont have lots of options when it comes to food in that location since i would prefer vegetarian that isnt costly 😊. its also quite far from mrt. But There are bus stations nearby.

    Its clean and comfy..well maintained

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a good neighbourhood, there are a lot of restaurants and pubs on the street. Price is quite good comparing with other hotels in Singapore. Just keep in mind that tourist and service tax will be added when you check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For going to City Centre a Taxi is the only reasonable solution, which is not that bad when travelling with a family with little children, as it's quit cheap and really fast, but for young budget traveller this might be a con.

    Close to Geyland Serai Market, which is really nice. And the Joo Chiat Road is also a highlight itself.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture is a bit old-style and would need some refurbishment. Same for bathroom.

    My flight arrived late in the night and booked the place last minute. It's just a 15 min taxi ride from the airport and check-in was efficient. Nothing to complain about with the staff. Room Is small but did the job for a short night. Coffee/tea making facilities, free bottle of water. Generally clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the only thing I could complain about really is the fact that the rooms are not soundproof adequately at all. You can hear absolutely everything on the floor - from the cleaner who walks around watching videos on his phone, to the snoring of the guests and chitchats at 4 am... - no breakfast included which could've been nice - room is really small (despite being called Superior double)

    - wifi is great, no issues at all - location is quite good, 20 min walking to ECP, bus around the corner and Eunos MRT 10 min away - rooms are being cleaned daily, free mineral water provided - tea and coffee in the room, mini fridge too

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of amenities. Like in-house resto, pool or even a rooftop to hangout in at night. Probably because it's a motel? I don't know. And the bed which was super hard. It was hard to sleep at night. Location wise it was ok because there's lot of establishments outside the hotel. Though, it's a bit far from the MRT.

    My privacy was respected. The rooms are clean. There's free coffee, water and tea daily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and the hotel didn't have a restaurant although there were plenty of restaurants nearly. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The nearest MRT station is quite far so we needed to get a bus or a taxi to the hotel. The room has a lot of karaoke bars and nightclubs nearly so my advice is to forget if you want a quiet stay in Singapore.

    The hotel was clean and very well situated close to many restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The staff were friendly and it was in an interesting area in Singapore. We only stayed at the hotel for two days and used as a base to explore singapore

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place wasn't that bad but sadly I found out after I had already paid that this area is known for prostitution. I did not see them inside the establishment but I did hear stiletto footsteps early in the morning. Area is a bit far from the center of things.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff hospitality was super great. They are all kind, attentive and helpful. The hotel is clean. The room is quite spacious, the ac is cold and it's quite sound-proof. Hot water works quite ok, has bathtub too. The location is quite strategic, easy to be accessed. Got 7-11 eleven and many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment asking rushing wen we are out no pleasant stays we stays almost more then a month.Aircon problems at night the room temp change in middle of night and shifting many rooms every now days.One of the staff his name lbrahim very rude to us when we staying during one of the night i told him i will pay the hotel bill later he said no we will call the police and vacate us immediately we are already staying there more then a mths and we are paying daily or sometime 2 days once booked by booking.com.No discounts given and treat us like although like we are not paying promptly to the hotel 81 sakura.We are Singaporean not a fireigners b.coz our house is renovation going on.I am very dissapointed and regreted to stays there.We don't iwe them everything paid by cash.

    Nothing in common

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: