Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 81 Tristar 3 stars

1 Onan Road, 424780 Singapore, Singapore

#279 of 450 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1347 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.0
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC did not work in my room. Then they sent Engineers and moved me to a differnet room. In the new room that they moved me too, again, the AC also did not work properly and the room was too hot. I also had a therometer to proove that the tempreture of the room was too hot..usually the tempreture was around 27 degrees - 30 degress in both the original room and the one they moved me too.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    All okay execpt the flying roaches which disturbed our sleep..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my sleep, 2 flying cockroaches came out of nowhere.. big as 2 thumbs.. housekeeping not available during that time.. my partner is not comfortable so for 2 hours plus our sleep was disturbed .. in the end they gave us a room change which i had to repack all the items while those big roaches were flying inside the room.. was expecting they gave a late check out due to the incident .. but no..

    Room was okay when we entered.. facilities were fine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no rubber mat for the bath tub its slippery. I slipped and fell on my knees. The bedside lamp is very dusty.

    The room is clean except for the very dusty bedside lamp. The air con is fantastic. The triple room is spacious. The bed is comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. The lobby is pretty nice for waiting area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Great stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a large family room, and enjoyed the pool. We were able to pay a bit extra for an early check-in which was helpful after a long flight, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The local area is interesting to explore.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Hotel 81 Tristar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is not clean the bed sheet were dirty it looks like someone already use it, the cabinets has small insects (cockroaches) and the bathroom is not sanitized.

    The room is big my son can play around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Cheap and friendly staff and very convenient hotel with value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BathTub is rusty and dirty. Must have taxi stand nearby hotel.

    Very comfortable near to halal coffee shop which open 24hours. Very convenient and near to MRT about 500m. Near to dry market which is geylang serai

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant staff and housekeeping team make your stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room 0420 was slightly warm though it was at 17°C. - After midnight checked-in guests were rowdy and inconsiderate.

    - Friendly and very helpful receptionists especially Ana, Michael, Muhaimin and Nico. - Housekeeping were prompt and have done a good job maintaining cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for 1 night, just 30 min from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was at like 1.60 meter, so you can not stand under it.

    Perfect for 1 night, just 30 min from the airport. It was quite and the airco worked well!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    In General Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got the room that the toilet drainage makes noises especially in the night the noise can be 1 hour or more. Very disturbing. Have already complaint to the hotel staff and hope they will make sure to fix it. Room 404.

    Although its an old building but the room is clean and clean lobby area. Good location near restaurants, department stores. Near MRT station. Easy to get public transportation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Outside the hotel was much better than inside it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The square bed on a circular base served only to make it difficult to get into and out of bed; including cracking one's shins. The bathroom was dirty with a mess of hairs accumulated in the floor trap. Multiple mirrors all around the bedroom walls made the room look like a cheap brothel.

    The markets nearby were authentic and the putu piring bought from the stall just outside the hotel were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    spacious room, great location, fast check out and fast room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having difficulty in opening the door for room 414 and should provide dust bin in the toilet for the tissues

    spacious room, great location, fast check out and fast room services

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound insulation is very bad. Air con. has leakage issue in the first room. After changing to another room, air con. is not cold enough.

    Staff in hotel is helpful and polite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Okay for the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow too soft and painful for neck. Our room's Toilet Flush was not working properly; water filling up the cistern was too slow. Bath tub was slippery. Aircon was dripping.

    Cleanliness, spacious. Halal eateries surrounding the Hotel within walking distance; hence, the convenience. Mosque, markets, hawker food centres, halal bakeries, fruits stalls, shopping complexes, clothes stores, many other budget hotels, lots of parking lots surrounding the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.3
    none.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cockroaches in toilet area, crack in on tile area. very old room, smell smoke all along the way until the room , even I request non smoking room. Curtain torn in all places, even bedsheet also torn and have hole .

    none.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Old hotel but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway has that smoky / musty smell to it. There isn't any bellboy / porter service. But you can borrow their trolley. The front of the hotel has some stairs (difficult for elders). If you need to use wheelchair, its better for the taxi to stop at the end of the block (no stairs, just a gentle slope). There is no separate shower. The shower is in the bathtub (difficult for elders).

    Location is very near to Geylang Serai Market. There are halal restaurants downstairs. The room itself is quite big. Good value for the price. Convenient store just outside lobby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Good place for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Access to floors via stairs is not possible and if you try you can easily get locked out with the only option to exit using a rear door on the ground floor that opens onto the street... Very strange and embarrassing if in your swimming trucks and with no shoes and you have to walk around the block to reenter the hotel at the reception desk!

    Very functional and ideal if you simply want a clean and relatively quiet place to stay. Nearest MRT about 10 mins walk which was relatively simple to get to. Plenty of local shops and eating places close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Family room - great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Close to train station (10min walk) and food with a little shop next door - The pool - Family room was very spacious - Less than 20mins from the airport - Very nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.9
    Three nights I would rather forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff. Self righteous attitudes. Look liked everyone hated working there. Terrbile value for money which is just like Singapore itself

    The day I left.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel really exceeded My expectations, i've stayed in several hotels in Singapore in The price range from 300-400 Singapore dollars, but this time i was only there for a Days visit, and therefore would'nt have something expensive or far from The airport. This was a good choice as this hotel is way better than you would expect from The price! The room is great, The Wi-Fi, The pool just everything you'd expect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleased with value offered and would stay again, just needs a bit of modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are spacious but are dated.

    The hotel is a bit dated and out the way but the staff were exceptional which always makes a huge difference. The location also gets you amongst the Singaporeans and their food markets. It is also close to some Plazas. Overall provided good value for money and cultural experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay in Singapour but...aging
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Clean but aging need for a good in-depth cleaning (behind bedheads, behind toilet, small ants on the wall)

    matress: clean and confortable, swimming pool, close to restaurant, bar, mall

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    It s next a convenience store and some restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was supposed to be no smoking but there was a strong smell of sigarets and i gound sigarettes hidden behind the toilet. They changed us room after we complain. We asked about smoked detectors and they said they dont have them.. ?? What about if there is a fire? I expected to be closer to the airport. It said 15 min but it took us 25 min i sent them a msg via booking asking how to get there from the airport and they didn't reply. When I called initially they said they couldn't find my booking.

    It s next a convenience store and some restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Maybe the cheapest Singapore hotel with a pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from anywhere I wanted to go, a bit of a hike to the MRT and pretty hard to figure out bus routes. Singapore SUPER expensive.

    A Singapore hotel with a pool at a price I could just afford.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Met our needs and reasonably comfortable however in need of major redecoration. Excellent shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms a bit tired and need redecorating. Most light switches on one control which means have to have most turned on when not required.

    Helpful staff. Handy to buses and not too far from metro. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    Over all, the hotel is located in nice locations accessible for the all the main attention of Singap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet bidet spray has been wrongly fixed. It was difficult to use Under the bed , it is too much dusty. They don't clean under the rooms. Bath rooms tiles don't look nice. I paid S$ 20 more than walk in rate. Booking.com promises early check in and late check out. But hotel policy is $10 per hour late check out. MRT is 1 km from the hotel.

    Location Spacious rooms 24 hours food court - close by

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.0
    Needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minimal stuff in the room, no glasses, no soap, no hand towel or face clothe, no extra pillows or blanket, only 1 x coffee sachet & 1 x tea bag each day, Very Hard bed

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay with you hope to book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money you pay. Rooms is in good condition with big space. Staff helpful and friendly. Located in nice area, easy access to food court, shopping mall and etc...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    The room is large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks clean but there were bugs and insects. Quite far from MRT station.

    The room is large and comfortable. Very close to restaurants, mall and convenience store. The staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long flight staff made us wait 2 hours before giving us our room even though we had requested it. Front line staff - males not welcoming. Was overcharged. Said it was tax. No print out given. Room smelt as well as lifts. Cockroaches.

    Pool ok - shallow. Local shops ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    This property is not child friendly and zero help from staff...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is not child friendly and zero help from staff its like u do it urself or forget it..with infants it can be quite challenge.one staff was totally rude in her approch when i requested for some help when i landed there.i was quite taken a back by the staff attitude.. Property requires could be upgraded and improve on there maintaince..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    The location is good and.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no car park available The spray jet in the toilet was leaking and quite difficult to turn on

    The location is good and.the staff was very pleasant and helpful Overall the room was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    A bonus for this hotel is the food stalls and convenience shop is just next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot and cold water in the shower room not working. Only hot water. The toilet n room is dirty with dust on the floor n strands of hair. The bidet hose is too short.

    None

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    My third time at this hotel mainly due to location and size of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dusty. Need to vacuum more often. Very few tv channels.

    Very good location for local food n transport. Took a bus from the airport. Staff were very helpful. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    2.9
    Rooms are not clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not clean! The floor was covered in dirt and the bed cover not clean. We checked in went to our room and decided to book another hotel with in 2 mins. The guy on reception looked shocked when we handed the key back and told him to use the non refundable money to pay a cleaner!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great value, older hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was old but very clean

    Great location. Huge room. Bath in the bathroom. Reception staff were good to deal with. Lovely pool. Food centre and convenience store on ground floor. Lifts to all floors. 5 min stroll to buses. MRT is about 15min.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    I always use Hotel 81 TriStar when I travel to Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some guests bring young and very young family members who can be an earful. Doors not soundproof. A/C should be serviced regularly.

    Ease of check in. I extended my stay without any problems. I also checked out late and they have hourly rate extended checkout fee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    not very happy
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1,the aircond filter light was display,but no action. already 3 time i stay in the same hotel but only the second time the air condition was ok.two time i am not happy 2.bath tube not clean properly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Best hotel to stay for halal food seeker.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It located at the neighborhood - for halal food seeker it would be great to stay here. The Hjh Maimunah Restaurant is just few steps. The Geylang Serai food court is always the best and also not forgetting the Haig Road food court. During our stay there, the Ramadhan bazaar was just open so that area consider very happening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    -
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ants on a table and my bed! I was shocked when seeing a baby lizard in the bathroom.

    Room was bigger than some of the hotel 81 I've been. There is a swimming pool though I did not utilise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Not smiling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom really needed some renovation. It was not only outdated but not very clean. The floor also was not clean and there were a lot of tiny tiny ants. Hope I did not bring them home with my suitcase

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    My husband convenient for him to smoke coz our room at at...
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not cold lucy they quickly send a fan to our room

    My husband convenient for him to smoke coz our room at at 3rd level and easy for my granddaughter to go swimming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Thank you!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flooring looks need some buffing or polishing.

    The location was very good near to mall and hawker stalls.Taxis are very reachable and easy to locate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    bathroom not nice , mattress not good, no kit bathroom ,only...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bathroom not nice , mattress not good, no kit bathroom ,only tooth brust , towels very dry , very old advertise for mini bar // no mini bar toilet and area around the pool very dirty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old. The wifi is so weak. The bed lining is not clean enough.

    We stayed 1 day of our honeymoon in this hotel. It took 10-15 min to the metro station by foot. There are too many markets and food markets around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Its was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bidet isn’t working.

    The location is near from the airport, mall, MRT station ( Paya Lebar) and bus stops. There are also several hawkers around the hotel where you can eat delicious but affordable food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Glad I picked it, keep up the good work. Some busy traveling biz men need it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Knowing it was a hotel for Singapore's migrant workers or lower income, I expected it to be gross and weird, but it was fine, like a basic US hotel along the highway.

    I had an unexpected extra 12 hours in Singapore, and didn't make a reservation on a major government day. I usually stay 5-6 Star hotels there. Everyplace booked, even 4 star HotelJenn. At last minute booked here, and heard it was a notorious hotel. Yet, neighborhood was safe, staff very nice, clean lobby and halls. Rooms were basic, but clean, good tv and wifi. For the money, an incredible deal in Sing. So glad I stayed there instead of sleep in airport or a 6 hour room there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.6
    The male staff is rude and he behaves as strict school...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On checking in, when I ask that is someone there to take our luggage, he said take your luggage by your own, he is talking like a strict school Principal

    The male staff is rude and he behaves as strict school headmaster

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    2.5
    Never stay in hotel 81. Don't trust the price quotation in your website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies in the reception counter are impolite and unhelpful. She asked us to put our luggage in the bell boys trolley. When the bell boy approached, she dismissed him. After accepting our payment, she asked us to push the hotel trolley ourselves to our room. Is that the hotel standard in hotel 81 chain? Also the receptionist overcharged us, instead of S$252.36, she said should be S$297, with taxes and service charge, but I tell you, the hotel charges 17.7% more instead of10% and 7%. Clearly cheating acts. The hotel just posted $89 nett room rate in the lobby. So why am I have to pay an extra 17.7% in your website? The receptionists even said the hotel had nothing to do with what your agent posted in the website, they have no responsibility in your price quotation. The rate must be$297. Is that integrity?

    There're ants and cockroaches in the hotel room. The room is really dirty with dust. Housekeeping staff don't even have vacuum to clean the dust. They just used the broom to swipe the rubbish. I have photos of the dust in the ventilation and the sink. Dirtiest hotel room ever since. The telephone and the Wifi are out of order in the hotel when we checked in. When I went to the reception counter, the ladies said it was mobile's problem. Only after I showed my mobile to her did she realized it's the hotel problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    3.3
    Very expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for what it is. It looks old and dirty. I was placed in a room that smelled of cigarettes. I asked to change and was placed in a better room but still quite bad. I would not recommend this property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Good choice, reasonable value-for-money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No safety deposit box. Viewed when lying in the bed, the mattress sheet often does not fit the length of the bed :) Be aware that the surrounding area is somewhat in need of urban regeneration.

    Staff are friendly. Triple room is quite large. Nice swimming pool. Good location regarding services available (close to supermarket, convenience store). MRT is 10 min walk, but Haig Road bus stop is only a 2 min walk. One KM mall is a 4 min walk away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The family room is spacious. Bed comfort is gd. But lack of toiletries such as hand soaps (not 3-1 shampoo), box of tissue, hand towels. Halal eateries - lots of them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Very spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Misleading information I got from the desk about the beginning time of the shows on schedule at Bayfront.

    Very spacious room. This has been by far the best aspect of my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is really good, if you will stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We missed toothbrush mugs

    The location is really good, if you will stay in surroundings, where singaporean people live. WLAN works well, the pool is nice. Hotel-staff is very friendly, they helped us several times. The Alwadi, a restaurant, where you sit outside near the street, is located directly at the hotel. There you can get there (only :-) ) local food whole the day, also breakfast (local style). The dishes are great, the people who work there and also the guests are very friendly. There is a bus stop nearby reach the Paya Lebar MRT station and all other points of interest, e.g. line 2 to Chinatown / Clarke Quay / Arab street. All in all a good location, if you like this kind of staying. If you will look for the total tourism, you will should look for other locations. We used only MRT and busses, for that it is very recommendable to by and ez-link-card at MRT stations. We stayed there eight nights and it was good time in a not total tourism-driven area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    2.5
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car parking, regarding to this poor guidness, room was dirty, no breakfast, after booking no refund, you do not feel the cleanless of singapore.....

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant and Loving it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything???

    The area is very convenient. Al Wadi "food court" and Cheers are just below the hotel and lot's of varieties of foods that are so yummy and my family love them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Not bad for the price in Singapore....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is only one meter deep. Noisy at night, this is caused by other guests.

    Staffs go above and beyond to help. Perfect location. Food in the alwadi is amaizing and cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    It’s not that great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s NOT CLEAN AT ALL. The room was dusty. I can feel and see the dirt on the floor. The room was outdated. The bathroom as well. The bath tub was slippery. One of my friend slipped on the bath tub. The fridge in our room was not working. I called the reception to report about it and he said he knew about it and asked if we want to change room. Why would you assign us that room if you already know that the fridge is not working??! Do something about it before you offer the room to your customers!

    The location. Very near to restaurants and geylang market. I left my phone when i checked out. And i realised about it when i already arrived at the airport. I called the hotel and they keep it for me until my friend came and collect it. Thank you for that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charges reflected on booking.com excluded service charges and tax. This made it confusing for my parents to pay upon check in because I wasn’t there with them when they paid to confirm that the price on booking.com wasn’t the finalised price.

    The pictures accurately portraited the actual room we were staying in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    E cellent location ne t to a Malay Food centre and matket actoss the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool let down by lack of loungers. Only 4 working. One broken. A relatively snall amount of money spent on a new set would transform the pool area. The tea sachets which were sweet.. Some ordinary tea bags would have been welcome

    Big room and plenty of space. Lovely big quiet pool. We were given rhe room location we requested

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    Overall not too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got 1 queen and 1 single bed But i before booking i already mention i need 3 single bed

    The floor map look old ready and it make people feel not clean the floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.2
    Not happy at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s was not clean and it’s smells and they say one price and when you get there I had to pay $55 more not happy and we have 3 kids and they have us 2 room with no contact door

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.6
    The bed and air conditioning was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provide soap, hand towel and floor mat. Tv was fuzzy, floor of bath all chipped. Some of the staff at the front desk were unfriendly.

    The bed and air conditioning was comfortable. If you want to stay near the locals and the markets then it’s not a bad location. It’s also close to the airport for a very short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Only extra cost was booking in early and that was, $20
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the guests The parents refused to say that they were not the parents of the children. Screening and knowing on your door at early hours was the main problem and after that we booked in to another hotel

    Only extra cost was booking in early and that was, $20

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    Unhappy stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel premise reeks of second hand smoke! No service at all. Noisy even late at night - from guests and kids running around corridors!

    Nothing to shout about!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Weekend getaway in Hotel 81 Tristar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in need of upgrade. Suggestion to remove the rusted bathtub and replace it with enclosed shower cubicle and new fittings.

    Walking distance to food outlets with cafe next to the hotel selling local fares.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel itself is dingy and has an odd smell. The location is also quite far away from the central hotspot of Sinagpore (i.e. Marina Bay) and taxi rides are very expensive. I would NOT recommend this hotel for tourists. There were also tiny bugs all over the table and larger bugs in the bathroom. Not somewhere I would recommend.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Chain Hotel 81's upper level with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just 1 big towel, no slippers it could be confortable becaude floor is cold with AC. Noisy in the morning with staff outside. Pool is nice but only 1m depth. All these are minor issues, all in one good value

    Just 10mn from metro station. Swimming pool, that's why I choosed it. Tube bath to relax. Excellent food court just outside to treat yourself. Large room and TV compared to other Hotel 81. It's added value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean place & Near to MRT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No glass in the room. Remote control battery is weak.

    Place is near to MRT Station. Spacious room. Clean. Food outlet and convenient store next to hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.8
    good for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cleaned well but the sheats aldough clean had some damage on it from previous mould forming and still had the colour of it. Check in reception was very fast and functional but could have been fliendlier.

    Fast check in, location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Rooms are spacious , clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Condition is too hard

    Rooms are spacious , clean and comfortable. Plus is that hotel have swimming pool ! Close to the hotel you can find good local foodcourt , where you can it cheap and tasty, also you can find some vegetarian food and fresh fruits . Location is comfotable to get to the centre ( underground is about 10 min. to go) Near to metro there are two money exchanger's and good shopping mall and post office .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    Large room,shower warm and good though a bit low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor and bathroom ware. Though room and sheets very clean, the floor was dusty.

    Large room,shower warm and good though a bit low.Good luggage storage. Pool large, very refreshing, but only 1 m.deep throughout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    The room was clean however , we couldn't enjoy our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rudeness if the staff at the reception and he first refused to give us an official receipt for our stay and when we talked within us that we should lodge a complaint on Booking . Com , he rang and told us that the system is working to give us a receipt. No tea bags in the room rather it's a mixture of milk, tea and sugar. We couldn't have a black tea and when we requested a tea bag the reception guy asked 'What tea' . Extremely rude and unapproachable for any help.

    I like the bed and the white linen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Good and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi I guess, somehow its not that consistent, opted to use mobile data as it is more reliable.

    Evertyhting was OK, definitely going to go back here, near bus stations, and the food court below is worth trying,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    If space and a big room is more important for you than cleanliness, this is a good place to go!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place was overall quite good for its price, but it could have been more cleaner, especially the bathroom was really dirty, with dirty shower curtains and wholes in the ground and in the floor. There was water dripping through the ceiling permanently (!) and there were little bugs/ ants in the bathroom too!

    The rooms are really big which was the main reason to come to this hotel. There was a big desk that could easily fit two people, which is great when you have to work while travelling. There was also a lot of space to unload your lugguage (unlike in most budget hotels in Singapore).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and good size room. Comfort was good enough for short stays and those not fussy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room has a faulty air con. Requested a replacement room and the receptionist was very accommodating to our request

    Receptionist was very accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: