Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amara Singapore 5 stars

165 Tanjong Pagar Road, 088539 Singapore, Singapore

#145 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2613 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, very comfortable and very polite staff ! well located, close to all major facilities...!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Came in at 9h00 am and no room was available at that time.

    Hotel was very comfortable, staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. facilities were of great quality... very well located , close to all major facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff didn’t check if my room card was correct. We had to keep going down to the reception before we finally got keycards which could open our room door.

    The location was convenient. Short walk to the Tanjong Pagar MRT station, attached to the 100AM mall and walking distance to a lot of cafes, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is brilliant with all main visiting areas very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is brilliant with all main visiting areas very close. Personal service received from concierge was ace. Raymond helped find out lost phone. He interacted brilliantly with all family and had the courtesy to leave a note through our door on the last day to say bye as it was his day off when we left and also got a call from him to our room to say bye. I mean he sees so so many guests yet he called from home. What an amazing personal touch. Breakfast was ace, customer service brilliant. Shops all around to get anything u want and a lovely local bakery across the road. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed, stay at club room $330 aud for one night it’s not worth it , room too old , look different on the picture, bathroom so old that’s the most I don’t like. Bonus hotel doing renovation for down stair at lobby very noisy , I stayed in the club room but still hear the noise , anyway very disappointed

    Good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    I was given an upgrade, thankfully!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given an upgrade, thankfully!! , I didn’t get my original booked room. The dirt and old facilities in both the bedroom and toilet was to say disgraceful!, if that was an upgraded room, imagine what I would have got if they gave me the original.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Such a great place we will book for our return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was ever in the pools! Maybe it wasnt hot enough for everyone else :) not a major but would have like a minibar :)

    The staff are really lovely and helpful! Very inviting. Concierge are lovely too! Thanks guys! Amazing location, close to everything. Breakfast is amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Not the best experience but not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature for our shower was not consistent throughout our stay. It gets really hot before becoming really cold and before you knew it, become unbearable again.

    Friendly and helpful staff throughout our stay. We stayed at the club floor so having access to the club lounge was pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The website claimed that there are triple rooms in Amara hotel with either three single beds or one single bed with a king size bed (but NOT a rollaway bed). Yet when we checked-in the hotel said they don't have any triple room but can only add a rollaway bed to a double room. And the manager was extremely rude as well.

    Location was excellent. Super close to MRT station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great concierge who goes out of his way to help you, good location, fabulous pool and amazing gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    the club room manager left and the staff working on the floor now weren't half as personal as he has been during our last stay.

    the concierge mr raymond went out of his way to help us. Unfortunately the club lounge manager from last time left, which was a very different atmosphere at the club floor. Location is great, facilities fabulous and over all experience very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and great staff, surrounded by local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted another $100 per night for extra bed when booked for 2 adults and 3 children in a family room, very disappointing. Too expensive food and drinks in hotel bars and restaurants.

    Excellent location and great staff, surrounded by local places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.4
    4 night stopover between Europe and NZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom drains were a little noisy with water from other rooms.

    Club room on 17th floor was very good with breakfast and happy hour free each day. All staff were excellent-friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is superb, food stalls all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mine is deluxe with free wifi. The facilities are a old. There are mold on the bathroom ceiling, plus the tub has scratches on it. not much sockets for charging, i can’t use my travel adaptor as the socket got switch on it, which hinders the adaptor to fit in

    The location is superb, food stalls all around. 7 minutes walk to Chinatown. Sentosa and Gardens bu the bay is only 2 or 3 mrt station away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    The location was excellent and the staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms and kitchen were never completely cleaned (still grime in the bathtub and sinks between days). No kids channels on the television.

    The location was excellent and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    My family members enjoyed our staycation at Amara hotel n would book again this coming Dec holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queue on check in n check out as the guest had no idea where to queue n end up at wrong line n waste time when other guest that came in later got attended to it first. Please improve on it. Thanks

    Good location n value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfy Staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much

    We booked into the club room which is on 17 and 18 floor. The club lounge service is good and there are coffee and tea for you to enjoy through the day. The cocktails are amazing and I love the Singapore Sling. Was there to celebrate my friend birthday and they bother to arrange for a small slice of cake with Happy Birthday wordings for us. Room wise I will say it is good enough and huge, although the view is towards the HDB I felt it was Okay. We got some special deals from Booking.com so for the price it was worth it. Swimming pool and Gym were also good and a residents can relax away. Beside the hotel is 100AM shopping mall, making it very convenient for all and there are many good eateries and restaurants around. We had breakfast at the hotel cafe, it was amazing and the eggs station was really good. Definitely a value for money hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    2.5
    ;(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been disappointed we have order 3 single bed and we got two and one for the baby nothing has been prepared and we have been waiting long to for the baby bed I have complained to the manager and he told me this is not his problem I need to make a call to booking They made a reservation basically he told me to F… Off he has cleared his hand I do not recommend any one to stay the because of the staff skills

    Nothing because I was to disappointed with my room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Bad internet! not advisable if you here on business and need to do research. 5Mbps is standard here.
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 Mbps is standard internet speed in a 5 star hotel. a 13 SGD tourist sim card goes 100-200Mbps easy. So free wifi yes. can barely play youtube like this. Would NOT advise this hotel if you here on business Unasked wake-up call "when will you check-out" 2.5 hours before actual checkout. This can be an isolated case

    many plugs and they offer adapters for free. In Singapore as EU citizen, it is very hard to get cash. I lost my credit card, but the hotel helped me out, as I had the info of my card. Though it took a while Their complimetary body lotion/shampoo(5 bottles) and everything you need, you will get new every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Awesome service from staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services provided by the staff were tip top! Special thanks to the duty manager working on the shift on 10/06 at about 1pm and also Mr Raymond Foo from the concierge. They are very attentive to all details, helpful and very polite. They represented Amara hotel very well. Would visit again when the time permits! Good job!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Club room good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was all good

    We loved the location, the pool and our club room. Excellent value for money in the weekend. Great to walk around the Chinatown area. Supermarket across the road. Great staff in the Club. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Helpful staff, have a very nice room and the MRT is so easy and everything is closeby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little overpriced. 30 years old tv in bedroom and the flat screen was old too. Few equipment for kitchenette. had to cook with a spoon and fork.

    very clean correct and very helpful staff I lost my mastercard which was a disaster in all other places. Here they found a great solution, havent left since.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.3
    I changed from this hotel after first night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly room and hall. Stains on the chair. This should be 2 star experience at the most. And also for intl travellers who don't know, it is known locally as a love hotel.

    Nothing about this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Expensive for the rooms quality and the services
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smells everywhere on the floors. Humidity cigarettes ...I changed rooms 3 times and floors ..breakfast is poor and not good. No ham. The bread was a disaster

    Very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite I booked has faulty kettle. The TV set is very old. Need to upgrade given the price paid. I asked for an extra one complimentary carpark in addition to the two given and was rejected. Very disappointed at their inflexibility despite paying high for booking a suite.

    The hotel staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Will never stay there again !
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Molds in the ceiling, over-used towel with holes, no facial tissue, staffs cant understand English well. Its overpriced, 5 star hotel is cheaper, this only a 4 star hotel, but i guess i booked it just the night before because i was in a hurry... not good for people with asthma definitely

    Restaurants near the hotel are very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the hotel is pretty comfortable, it definitely is looking a bit tired in places and could do with an overhaul to freshen it up.

    Good hotel in a decent location in Singapore. Room is comfortable and the swimming pool is very nice. Lots of good restaurants nearby and also close to public transport. Managed to get a pretty good deal so it was pretty good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to MRT station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wouldn't keep a constant temperature and kept ranging from hot to freezing.

    Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to MRT station and China Town. Rooms are a great size and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay,would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Loved the breakfast and range of places to eat in the Hotel.The concierge Raymond was exceptionally helpful.All the staff were very friendly.We also enjoyed the pool...nice depth for adults and children.Chinatown location was very interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall clean and comfortable with lots of hot water and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Provision of yoghurt,as in most hotels +more choice of fruit at breakfast would have been an improvement ,as would dispensers for cereals and milk.However these are minor grievences

    Bed and Pillows very comfortable. Club room staff polite and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable. If we return to Singapore we will stay at the Amara -if we get the same deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Glass door in the bathroom. Only one coffee cup in the room. Drinks glasses were different sizes -mismatch.

    Room size was generous and very comfortable. Room layout was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet door is blurred. Would prefer if it could be locked and not visible from outside.

    Room is well kept. Clean and well maintained. Wifi is good, streamed YouTube/movies like crazy with no issues. 5-7min walk away from Tanjong Pagar mrt which is very central. Connected to a mall which has several food choices and a supermarket at the basement. Good value relative to other hotels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    I won’t recommend people to stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cockroaches everywhere on the table, at the bathroom. The whole room is very dark even all lights are on. Bed is not comfortable at all Pillows are not comfortable at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location everything you need is nearby, staff were all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a tad firm for me would be my only negative but that’s personal choice.

    Great location everything you need is nearby, staff were all great particularly Raz who looked after us on the club floor 🌟. Rooms were a good size and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Amara for a 24hr Singapore escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. There was no bar service at the pool and my bed was a little hard but im stretching to find any negatives.

    The location was great. Club rooms were spacious and lovely. Club benefits were a nice addition. Pool and surrounding area is beautiful. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay with good sound isolation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly expensive. Love it if they have promotions

    It is clean and location is ideal since it is next to a lot of eateries with a shopping mall nearby known as 100am

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but seemed unreasonably expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The girl who helped us check in.

    The check-in staff was kind of cold, and without much of any greetings. Totally unprofessional which instils a negative impression right away. She even did not guide us about the breakfast timings or pool timings!! Strange!! Breakfast has been fantastic and staff has been very helpful over there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful. A must stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs filtered water dispensers. Way too many water bottles on the planet. Also needs to replace individual shampoo bottles with large refillable canisters.

    Location. Comfy room. Breakfast excellent by far the best after 35 days of travel in Asia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Spacious & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. They have a Handy phone in which is great for sightseeing, as you can use data and google maps, etc. which was really great for us. The location is great, about 2km from the Marina and 1km from Chinatown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and bathroom are in need of some work. Paintwork and woodwork looking a bit worn.

    Huge rain shower in the bathroom, bed very comfortable, very large room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Clean, spacious, good facility, nice decor, good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Clean, spacious, good facility, nice decor, good position. It was our last minute booking due to an eff-up by our Australian travel agent who randomly booked a horrible hotel that we had to pay full, move out and look for a new one. Thankfully Amara hotel ticked all the boxes that we wanted and they had great deal for last minute booking as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    spacious room and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the check in staff spoke too fast and worked a bit slow, wifi is very slow, the toilet is secondary school's size (too small) and doesn't have sprayer which is not convenient for ladies, swimming pool and gym are quite compact.

    the room and the public areas doesn't have any smell which is very nice for people with sensitive nose :D, the room is spacious, twin beds has wheel so we can move them to make a big bed, the window is big, concierge staff is friendly and helpful, bathroom is spacious and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in a good location at a reasonable price,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls too thin. Could hear the guests in the adjacent room using the bathroom.

    Good location, very comfortable bed, bathtub and separate shower. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Very well run hotel with excellent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like :-)

    Super helpful & friendly staff, loved the pool and Handy Phone was super convenient. We had a Club room; highly recommended as it was very spacious, very clean and with all u may need in the room. Great brekafast and also evening cocktail buffet at the club floor was top quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great and relaxing staycation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in process was a little slow

    My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary with a staycation at the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite, and were also presented with a bouquet of roses by the staff in the room! It was a relaxing stay - the bed was comfortable and the additional space we had because of the suite was a major plus point. The hotel is also situated conveniently, near the MRT and plenty of food options available, ranging from hawker fare to cafes to restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    This is my favorite hotel in Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I don’t like about this hotel.

    This is my favorite hotel in Singapore. It’s expensive but you get what you pay for. The staff are excellent, Raymond the concierge is very friendly and welcoming. I always get a club room which is well worth it for cocktails and food. Location is good too, 3 mins walk to metro Tanjong Pagar, on the line from the airport. Plenty of places to eat locally. I had a late flight and the staff gave me a late check out and allowed me use of a shower and cocktails before I departed. Can’t wait to stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay but would probably not stay there again, as bed was just too hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was very very hard and we have stayed in lots of Asian countries. Air con in room was extremely hard to adjust, and very slow to change to a higher or lower temperature.

    Hotel was in a great location. Staff very helpful with what to do and see, and getting taxi's for us. Breakfast and buffet dinner were great. Lots of choice. Buffet was expensive, but when you get all you can eat Crayfish I guess that is too be expected. Great little restaurants on the same road. Swimming pool was nice, but not enough lounger chairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Thinking of moving elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes 20 min to check in even when there's no one else in line because only one counter is open, the water temperature in the shower is either scalding hot or freezing cold

    Value for money (but increasingly less so with age), convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    This hotel is not worth with the price that we paid, totally under our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not so clean. Light system has problem. There is iron table however iron was not available in the room. Water bottles were not provided for 1 day.

    The bed is so comfortable. The staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    The bed is comfortable, room & toilet are spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathtub is a little old and small but it is not a problem for us because we prefer to use the shower

    The bed is comfortable, room & toilet are spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Location is the best for shipping industry.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes, specially student exchange work has not to be hired for “club room & lounge” need an experience staff there

    Location is the best for shipping industry. Staff normally really helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Amazing Amara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the hotel. It was amazing. What annoyed us though was the arrogance of some guests who showed no respect or gratitude to the staff who were there to help. Absolutely no manners whatsoever... infuriating

    Very clean hotel, helpful and friendly staff, delicious food. Club room booking highly recommended as virtually offers an all inclusive deal with 3 meals a day in private club lounge dining area. Superb value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location and kind staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room 1224 including bath room were a bit smelly. We requested to change room.The room after changing was a bit better. The room facility was a bit old. Based on the rate we paid, I think it was overvalued. I suggested checking the whole air con system to see if any smell from Smoking Room could be in nonsmoking room.Staff were very kind and good location with walking distance to China Town.

    Good location and kind staffs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Big room, polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big room, polite staff Various facilities nearby - public transportation (MRT - Tanjong Pagar of EW15 line) - shopping mall, super market, local food court - restaurants (Korean, Japanese) - Walking distance to Buddha Tooth Relic Templet / Chinatown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Premium comfort and power cuts all in one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They informed us of an electricity power outage and so I was guided by a staff member with a torch early in the morning (Saturday) to my dark room. Imagine Singapore without AC that night..... I couldn't sleep well. Now I know why it was cheaper that weekend. For a 5 star hotel, the reception lacks visual appeal. The check in desk is in front of a large pane of glass with brown curtains covering it.

    Room was large and the bed was comfortable. That's all we really want from a hotel - cleanliness, comfort and quiet. I got it all here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect hotel for our short stay in Singapore. Fast check in. Clean and big rooms. Staff are really friendly. A few minutes walk to MRT station. Very easy to catch a taxi. Overall very happy with my stay. We are highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Well located hotel with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little dated and tired. Paint peeling off walls in room and chipped vanity and cracked wall and tiles.

    Staff were attentive. Pool was impressive. View from room was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Thank you Amara! We can’t wait to visit you again for a longer stay than our all too short 5days!
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic food, very worthy of the awards received. Club rooms and club service first class. The chefs remembered us and how we preferred our food. Excellent service from the Concierge when we asked where to try ‘street food’ was given great recommendations! Thank you Amara

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    We were given the King suite since the connecting rooms we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had informed the hotel and arrived earlier than the check-in time. Soon it became apparent that the hotel did not have the connecting rooms we had booked. We were given a suite room with additional beds instead, with a temporary resting room while they sorted this out. While we appreciate this, it would have been nicer if they could have done this earlier in the day, rather than have us wait in the lobby for several hours.

    We were given the King suite since the connecting rooms we had booked were not available. The bedroom was very spacious and nice. The bedding and pillows were very comfortable. The sitting room however, became very crowded when they added the 2 extra beds we needed. We liked that the suite did have the 2 bathrooms that we needed for the family of four.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    We didn’t like the fact that charging the breakfast cost to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the fact that charging the breakfast cost to our room account made us pay an additional sum without letting us know about the surcharge. We would have paid directly if we knew it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall experience, including comfort, cleanliness and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the bellboy does not seem to be very helpful when we reached. Had to carry all our own luggage to the room.

    Overall experience, including comfort, cleanliness and staff was helpful as well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall is a very good hotel and I highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My booking was from 1 to 5 April 18 and did not include breakfast. However, we were very disappointed with an unpleasant experience at breakfast. We had some visitors for breakfast one morning and as we had not booked breakfast in advance we proceeded directly to the “breakfast restaurant”. The waitress asked for our room number and then informed us that our rom did not include breakfast. We said that we knew that and that we would pay for breakfast. She did not tell us that if we booked breakfast at Reception it would be significantly cheaper than paying in the restaurant. When we checked out we got the bill of $150.70 (included tax and GST) for 4 people. To our surprise, your reception staff said that if we gone to the reception to buy breakfast it would be at a cheaper rate. There was no way for us to know that in advance. There is a small sign on the Reception counter that offers breakfast at $20++. However, it does not say that buying breakfast in the restaurant will cost significantly more. Any reasonable person would assume that going to the restaurant to buy breakfast would be at the same price. There is no logical reason for the price to be different. Having stayed in very many hotels over the past 20 years I am quite familiar with how this works. I cannot think of any other hotel that charges guests a different price depending on where they order their breakfast. I suggest all guests should be entitled to the same price breakfast regardless of where they place the order. If there is some reason this is not possible then a large sign in the entrance to the restaurant should say “if you are a guest and have not pre-booked your breakfast please place your order at Reception”. In addition all restaurant staff should be instructed to inform guests that have not pre-booked a breakfast that they should proceed to Reception to place their order.

    The hotel room was perfect and service provided by staff was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, with excellent location and value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I could only mention very minor cons. The only bigger issue was that the coffee at the breakfast was absolutely undrinkable, but it was not a big problem, since we had our own Dolce Gusto coffee machine in the room ;-)

    We stayed in a Club room with access to the Club Lounge. It is totally worth the price! We even got dinner in the evening, which we did not know! The waiters were very nice in the Lounge, and of course everyone else in the hotel. Excellent location! We simply had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good location which is very close to MRT Station &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location which is very close to MRT Station & easy reach to China town by walking. Lots of choice for food around. Room is comfortable & cozy for 3 people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I believe it is Booking App's bug or your booking system problem. When my wife and I selected hotel in Booking App, we found your hotel provided 3 single bed or 1 single + 1 extra-large double under Deluxe twin bed room. Of course we don't have the screenshots, no one asks the guests must to get the screenshots by every step, but I think I will do this later! We thought we found treasure. That is also the unique reason why we chose your hotel. Because we have 2 adults and 1 child. But the confirmation e-mail from Booking shows 1 single, 1 extra-large double is SPECIAL REQUEST instead of BED PREFERENCE. In App it shows 3 single bed or 1 single + 1 extra-large double as room bed preference option. And I had never type so normative words with free text in the SPECIAL REQUEST input box. Because it is just bed option to choose by guests, not a extra request, not input by myself.

    good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, easy access to MRT, pleasant staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good... omelet was very well made... not a huge spread, but everything I tried was good... pool area is very relaxing... gym is a little industrial, but had a nice hand weight selection and a view of the outside which was pleasant to look at...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Great comfortable hotel good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had the deluxe triple (1 king bed and single) staying with 2 kids, it was great to have shower and bathtub shower in the same bathroom because the young kids could take shower and/or bath at the same time. Pro: Clean & comfortable hotel in good locatio Cons: Not much of con, but just nit picking. If you decide to have a swim at night, they could use my light at the pool facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Not pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club King or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of variety of refreshment in club lounge, same menu for 2 days. I extended my stay for additional night, I already have a deposit using my credit card for 1st night, the receptions was keep calling to ask for my credit card for the deposit for 2nd night; felt very disturbed.

    Club lounge staff are friendly, offered to reactivate key card at lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Good, but would consider other options next time.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dusty and furniture looked like it had been through a war. Lacked a plush feel which was a bit of a let down.

    Overall, a reasonable experience with good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    The stuff were friendly and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditions was not that much cold,

    The stuff were friendly and kind ,helpful information with the transportation and truism attractions, the location perfect near to the mrt,loundry,fruit market,starbocks next to it,Macdonald,seven eleven. ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appliances are pretty old - one of our power sockets was falling off, and there were none near the bed to conveniently charge our devices.

    The bed was wonderful to sleep in and you can’t beat the location. Got a good price for a room with a bathtub too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    An unexpected gem off the beaten path.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We usually stay in the Orchard road vicinity so this was a nice change. Had originally booked one room but added another as my daughter decided to accompany us on this trip. When checking in I had requested for our rooms to be close together, preferably on the same floor. We were pleasantly surprised when we were offered a two bedroom apartment instead! Totally loved the extra space with kitchen and living room. Thank you Amara! There are lots of hip restaurants and bars within walking distance frequented by what I assume are the locals and expats. Nice to be away from the hoards of tourists. The supermarket is literally downstairs so that was a huge bonus. The mrt is just a short walk away making the whole of Singapore accessible. Definitely nicer to be where the locals are for a change. Even though the hotel is a little dated there’s no denying the glimpses of the grand dame that she was In her heydays.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Modern facilities, excellent location, friendly staff and great sized roooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service - breakfast was slow arriving and just okay. Food was cold. Second day and the lady struggled to take the order correctly. On topic of cleanliness, I feel like the rooms could do with a detailed clean. There was lots of dust evident on the walls, especially where a picture frame had been removed so it was totally obvious.

    Check in/check out was painless. Lobby entrance is great. Location is excellent. Accessible. Room size was awesome. Lots of space for me and my travel buddies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Unfriendly and unhelpful staff who couldn't/wouldn't give us the rom type we had booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Were told that we had to take a twin bed room despite booking a king bed. When we got to our non-smoking room, it had a clear odour of smoke. Beds were very uncomfortable.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast is OK .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the eggs are always fried for you and sometimes cold and not enjoyable . the eggs must be fried as the guest thinks fit and fried or done according to guests choice . the availability of fresh fruit juices should be more .

    Breakfast is OK . More quantity of fruit juice is expected at this level of hotels . the staff and the location is excellent . the mrt is just 5 minutes walk from the property. the mall downstairs and the restaurants adjoining is helpful .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Tired rooms, poor value for money. Good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given an upgraded room but we were shocked. It was so tired looking, paint flaking off of bathroom furniture and walls, mould, Black stains in bath. Totally not what we had expected. The bar area was freezing and had no atmosphere

    The location of this hotel is great. Staff are helpful and friendly. There are restaurants but they seem soulless, more like hotel buffets. We did enjoy the high tea in the tea rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was outstanding, very close to MRT and bus station. many eateries and shops nearby. Breakfast was good. The staffs were very friendly. A secial thanks to Raymond, he was very helpful and an outstanding person. A very nice pool and gym. Highly recommend for families with younger kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amara Singapore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: