Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Singapore hotel reviews
  3. Singapore hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of AMOY by Far East Hospitality

Reviews of AMOY by Far East Hospitality This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

76 Telok Ayer Street, Chinatown, 048464 Singapore, Singapore

#3 of 543 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Staff went out of their way to make certain we enjoyed our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.

    Staff went out of their way to make certain we enjoyed our stay, from meeting us in front of the hotel to collect our luggage, providing complimentary bus tickets to explaining various sites to see.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience of Singapore hospitality and solicitousness in a nice little boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Transport from Airport to hotel with personal driver free of charge (ask for it prior to your Arrival) Boutique hotel located in former temple, entrance is a little museum as well Extreme friendly and helpful staff in hotel, familiar atmosphere Nice little comfortable rooms with everything you need + free local smartphone Minibar free of charge, coffee detto Very good location of Hotel close to Chinatown and Marina, many restaurants and bars close to hotel MRT-Station (Singapore Underground) and taxi-stop just opposite of Hotel entrance Very good breakfast in Cafe next corner (cooperation of Cafe with Hotel, breakfast included in room charge) Nice little details like "Every day a new page at the room with a nice speech on it as well as a complementary cookie"

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    The hotel staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel staff were amazing. From the airport pick to the willingness to look after all of our needs...to the quality of the room.....it was a perfect stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, clean and centrally located with a quirky entrance through a temple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no common areas eg toilets within the hotel. Getting to the room was quite tortuous and we were concerned as to how easy it would be to get out in an emergency.

    Really like the room design: ultra-modern within an old building. The entrance through a temple was a real feature. We looked forward to breakfast at the cafe next door. Staff were extremely helpful and room was very clean. The complimentary airport pick-up was also particularly welcome. Finally the location was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    An interesting and enjoyable one week break in a comfortable hotel away from dreary November weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast menu options - served in Dean and Deluca cafe next door were unfamiliar and complicated. A buffet style meal would have been preferable.

    Convenient, central but secluded location in small hotel. Modern facilities in historic building.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    The Amoy Hotel is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Amoy Hotel is a gem. In addition to the location and the history of the building, the staff was exceptional. We experienced the best customer service we have had in a very, very long time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well located, small but comfortable room which is well laid out, staff friendly and helpful, reasonable value. Interesting combination of old Chinese architecture with modern hotel. I would be happy to return on next trip to Singapore.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was served in a Dean and Deluca around the corner. We knew that beforehand, having read other reviews. Would have liked though that the hotel opens up its own restaurant for breakfast, serving up a wider range of choices, including asian fare. It would make the Amoy boutique feel more complete.

    Great boutique hotel. Well worth its rating on booking.com or tripadvisor. Close walking distance to some very good restaurants and hawker centres for nice food. And right opposite MRT station for easy access to the rest of the city and gardens by the bay (two stops away)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    I will recommend the Amoy to my friends and would stay here again in a minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing that I would change about this hotel. Everything was top notch. The bed was comfy and the room high tech.

    I love this hotel! First, it is partially an old temple, so cool. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to many top spots. Metro and taxi stand across the street. The staff were terrific, very personable and welcoming. Many little extras were very appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast didn’t meet the expectations for a such hotel price/ level

    Location close to the Chinatown and 20 min walk from Marina Bay. Room clean, nice design, complimentary room bar drinks and staff really gentle and helpfull

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    I'm glad I chose this hotel from the many available. I will definitely stay here again.
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting was, generally, too dim. The room was very small, but it had all the necessary.

    The hotel was quirky and well-placed. The staff and service were excellent. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Excellent experience and service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything that we didn't like.

    Service was at the highest level and all the staff is extremely friendly. Any request that we made was fulfilled without problem or additional charge. We are definitely coming back next year.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All brilliant

    Staff were amazing. Security Lim was so helpful showing us where things were and looking after our suitcases. Bryan & Ramzanah gave us lots of advice which saved us money. It was my birthday as we were checking out and they'd got me a cake and card to make it very special. The service was the best I've seen. All the extras you get: pick up from airport, free minibar, coffee machine, phone to use we're so useful. Forgot to say what an amazing building, so unusual and very handy for Chinatown and across road from underground. Many thanks

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    Good location excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view and small room

    The staff were fabulous and very generous in allowing us to return a few days later and store our luggage before our flight home after midnight - Isabel and Bryan thank you! Great location opposite the Telok Ayer MRT and readily available taxis plus a vibey street restaurant alley attached - Far East Square. The Amoy is a converted Chinese temple with a beautiful entrance and foyer. A breakfast takeaway also kindly arranged for our early morning departure and free airport transfer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    It was just fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really minor comment, but the curtains in the bedroom are thin so sunlight can penetrate through early in the morning,

    It was just fantastic. The price included a ride to the airport which is very convenient. A lot to do around the are. Chinatown in metres away. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    AMOY is a perfect hotel for your stay in Singapore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AMOY is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed! Hotel is based in a historic building, which is very unique and beautiful. Rooms are not big, but very comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the restaurant was exceptional as it wasn't a regular buffet style one, but everything was freshly prepared to order along with some fresh fruits, yoghurt, orange juice and tea/coffee. There are plenty of restaurants and bars just outside the hotel. Both Marina Bay Sands and Chinatown are both short distance away from the hotel. A free pick up from the airport in a limousine, complimentary mini bar and a free welcome drink is a rare find for the price. Hotel staff was very friendly and helped us with any questions we had. They have also noted that we had our wedding anniversary and left a lovely handwritten card, complimentary 2 mini bottles of red & white wine and decorated our bed with paper hearts and 2 towel swans. Also, every night we had a handwritten note saying good night left with some sweets by the staff. Overall, Singapore is an amazing city and AMOY is a perfect hotel for your stay! <3

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    10
    a peaceful place in the middle of colourful Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    exceeded my expectations

    after a long flight, the welcome and attention by reception and security was excellent. The room was clean and well furnished. It is in China Town and close to eateries. Yet, it was quite and restful. My overall impression was the attentiveness of the staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.2
    the staff surprised me on my birthday day!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for a so nice place and hotel the breakfast outside the hotel is...bad surprise! and also poor breakfast

    the staff surprised me on my birthday day! very very nice! very nice design hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    10
    AMOY has gradually become my second home in Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing that I did not like about AMOY hotel. Its location is very convenience to move around to many tourist attraction points. Taxi stand is located just in the front of hotel!

    I love the generous and great hospitality of all staff members of the hotel. Every time I have stayed here has made me felt like I am home. I chose to stay at AMOY for the 4th time in order to give a present to my elders parents. Every small request has been answered with all of the staffs' consideration and attention. They have made my family trip in Singapore become very precious and beautiful. Location and room of the hotel is very excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and staff service. I wd recommend it to everyone.
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was superb,wifi, international phone calls and service bar free. Pick up fro airpirt includex in price as was a 3 course breakfast. Staff outstading.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    9.2
    Small friendly hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike

    This is a small hotel in the heart of the city, close to China Town. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, even taking us to the metro to show us how to use the system. Added benefits such as a mobile phone to use, complimentary hop on bus tour, pick up from airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a little expensive

    Everything was perfect! The staff were a delight and went over and above the call of duty! Rooms had everything you could possibly need and they made so much practical sense with a small space. The foyer is a sight to behold and it's like we stayed in our own temple😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.5
    confortable hotel with perks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a lot of perks at this hotel, but, when you are staying for 2 weeks, you don't get anything more than if you had stayed one week. Rooms are cleaned late during the day. You cannot have access to a shower room or courtoisie room on the day of your departure, which is annoying if you have a long flight, late in the night. Due to the structure of hotel there is no view, windows are small.

    The location is excellent. Close to CBD, close to Fullerton and the river. You can easily walk to chinatown too. If you are a good walker you can push to Marina Bay Sands. The hotel is part of an open air complex of bars and eateries with great atmosphere. Opposite the hotel is Telok Ayer station. Breakfast is given by a nearby restaurant. Good full breakfast, well organized and tasty. There is also an excellent japanese restaurant inside the hotel (expensive). and a less expensive one on China Road. With this hotel you have one transfer to airport included as well as mini bar included in the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed by the fact that they don't make any difference between long stay clients and the other ones. Lack of recognition on this point

    Good location. Perks included in rate. Good vreakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.6
    Hidden gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Still lovely, but showing her age :) Maybe time to do a refresh here and there.

    Amazing staff, very personal. Small but comfortable rooms, ideal for a solo business trip. Location very convenient to food, MRT, and Chinatown. Atmosphere is outstanding as usual, with very pleasant touches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly helpful staff. An outstanding place to stay in Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service provided by the AMOY staff was outstanding. They made us welcome immediately which was great for new arrivals. The facilities and locations are also fantastic. Spacious rooms allowed us to unpack and settle in. Good location provided ample options for dining and drinks thought out the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    A great boutique hotel. Excellent location and staff. Well designed bedrooms offering good amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom vanity was inadequate. Air conditioner seemed a little noisy at night.

    We were delighted with the hotel location and the clever design. Whilst the room was not large, it was full of well-thought out amenities. Staff were excellent - friendly and incredibly helpful. The breakfast provided at the nearby coffee shop is adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Great great great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish i stayed few more nights ...

    The recepcioners were so kind and helpful. The room is so well designed that it makes you feel like you are in the temple.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent room and great location for attractions and nightlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is not provided by the hotel. They have an agreement with a very close patisserie (international brand). However the breakfast was nice, but far from the hotel standard.

    The room, the location and the staff. Also a very nice detail by offering the inbound transfer. The location is great and you may find all major city sights in a short walking distance. Even closer Lovely restaurants and street food markets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.6
    Awesomeeeee
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you get up late, you may not be able to shower with hot water.

    The hotel is a converted old building, offering a different experience. I feel antique from the entrance. The rooms are not very spacious, but they use the narrow space really fantastic. Drinks and snacks in the minibar are both free and replaced daily. Tea bags in the mini bar also provide TWG. Breakfast is served at other restaurants outside the building, and is very fresh and delicious. My girlfriend was happy to receive a postcard for a long time as she also provided postcards and sending services. There is also a nearby Chinatown where there are plenty of good pubs to visit outdoors. I am willing to visit again if I go to Singapore again definately.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Clean room, with a good shower and a comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Clean room, with a good shower and a comfortable bed. The handy (data enabled) device is very convenient if you do not want to buy a local SIM. The hotel is really central for sightseeing, restaurants/bars and with good public transport to get anywhere within minutes. The staff are extremely friendly and professional, and the complimentary breakfast has some good options (I mostly had the fresh fruit, granola, yoghurt, and coffee).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could have been bigger

    Very good location. A very good alternative to modern hotels that are more or less the same whereever you go. Amoy was different, cost and had a fantastic staff...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room could have been a bit bigger, imho too small for two but ok if alone. Sometimes there was a slight sewer stink in the shower. Breakfast at Dean&Deluca disappointing.

    Very unique boutique hotel in an old converted temple. Nice room with free amenities like espresso, softdrinks and snacks. Good central location. Efficient and fast housekeeping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.2
    Loved it, would recommend it to anyone but particularly if you don’t want a ‘big hotel’ experience.
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No pool on site (which I knew) .

    The ambience of the hotel and the location was fantastic. Telok Ayer Street is vibrant with bars and restaurants but I also had one of the best reflexology massages there. PQuite unique. The room was very well equipped and spotless and felt more like staying in a beautiful home. Breakfast was served in a cafe nearby an was delicious, nutritious and fast! The staff at Amoy could not have been more helpful and friendly, including pick up from the airport in a spotless and comfortable car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.3
    construction noise the whole time I was there made stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    construction noise the whole time I was there made stay un-enjoyable. If this had not been continuing 12 hours a day it would have been an enjoyable stay. The construction has only just commenced so would imagine the noise will continue for at least the medium

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Good location for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No.

    Good location for sure. Service are great, room kind of small (good for one person) but really nice, tidy and clear. What I impressed is the service, super. I will definitely recommend Amoy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Location is perfect, niche/kitsch boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast arrangement are not great... suggest the owner looks at this...rather let’s the hotel down.

    Location is perfect, niche/kitsch boutique hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel. Stay was very comfortable. Hotel was in the very busy business area with easy access to public transport restaurants and bars. Staff at the hotel were very attentive and always happy to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything just perfect! Excellent staff! Central location, 2 min away from mrt station.Very comfortable bed. Complimentary airport pick up, free mini bar, free tickets for sightseeing bus. We wish could stay longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Great hotel, warm and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are compact but very tidy. Especially the staff is very warm and welcoming. The helped us with many things, like taxi, extended stay, recommendations etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay away from the bustle of life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation were going on in the day and the noises could be heard.

    The in-room complimentary snacks and drinks were a great welcome. The nice touch of leaving a message and light snack after we came back from dinner was a great bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.6
    The character of the original Chinese temple has been well...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Placement of shaving mirror. No bath towel in room

    The character of the original Chinese temple has been well maintained and the rooms are ingeniously dovetailed into the old structure. Breakfast next door at Dean & Deluca was less confining than a small hotel dining room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    Very pleasurable stay with the staff going out of their way to make sure we were looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to not like! Everything was good, very impressed

    The hotel is in a great location with the metro right across the street. Lots of things to eat around there an easy walk to the hawkers market.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    10
    everything is perfect. I will be back to this hotel if I have to go to SG again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I feel very happy with this hotel. Everything is perfect and value of money

    Hotel staff is very very nice. They provide the excellent services. I feel really impress. Room looks warm and cozy, small but good functional. Clean and safe with good location, very convenient to go anywhere in SG.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable visit to Singapore made all the better by ALL the Amoy Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a bit more drawer space for some clothes but hanging space was OK. This might be because of Room shape and size. I had selected a small single.

    ALL the Staff were extremely helpful. Nothing was too much for them to do for the Visitor. Lovely people

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Very good meeting with the hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a window that could not be opened

    The front desk staff was very helpful, especially the lady who worked the night when we checked in. She explained us everything about the stay. It was a great help that a mobile phone with a local sim card was proposed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.6
    Singapore traditional downtown atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The climatisation fan is too noisy , you can just swich off

    Friendly Staff, perfect loocation, free minibar,free airport transfer,free ticket for hop on hop off bus

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    9.6
    A home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms on the Far East square side can be noisy at the weekend but ear plugs sorted that out. Or just go and join in the party!

    The location, ambience, reception, room, breakfast and level of service were all exceptional. I was even personally guided to where I wanted to go on my first night. Extra points for the fantastically useful Handy phone which saved on personal data and meant that finding WiFi wasn’t an issue. The free mini bar and use of umbrella were also thoughtful touches that were much appreciated. I absolutely loved it....so much so that I’ve booked again for when I return to Singapore in a couple of months.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    Extremely good decision, I can recommend for demanding travellers whi likes butiq hotel style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to really bad.. the location is on saturday an sunday little too quite, no really good restaurant open, but weekdays nice busy nightlife and many restaurant.

    Perfect location, china town and marina walking distance (10min). Great design and extremely nice and helpfull staff. Free transfer to the aiport with a very nice driver and a limousine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    Would come again in part because service was top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast in the dean and deluca next door (voucher) was average although there was a good choice for a voucher brekafast

    Good location near lots of food outlets and across road from MRT (and walking distance to other MRT). Excellent customer service. Comfortable rooms with interesting vibe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced & nothing special for anyone who's well travelled.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property was grossly overpriced on New Years Eve. Everything in the area was closed including the onsite restaurant. The hotel wasn't even in the vicinity of the fireworks & with the rainy weather walking wasn't an option. The TV didn't work as the remotes batteries were flat. I tried to call from the room, but the room phone was also not functioning & was replaced.

    The staff were friendly & helpful. Having to deal with a TV remote with flat batteries & also the room phone not functioning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    6.3
    There was a free pick up from the air port, it was a comfy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For business, there was no study table table or something that you can work on while in the room.

    There was a free pick up from the air port, it was a comfy hotel though tiny.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    10/10 the perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was lovely, free WiFi, a handy phone to take out with you that had maps and internet to help you find your way around and you could call the UK for free from it too, also gave you a postcard to give back to reception to pay and post for you and free drinks in the minibar which they refilled each day. Super helpful staff and they let us borrow a room to change in before our flight at 2300, we also got a complimentary car ride from the airport and the driver was very informative about things to do whilst you were there and history of Singapore, they all really love their City too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful place to base a stay in Singapore with a great mixture of old and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of proper towel rails which meant that it was no point asking us to consider re-using the towels as there was no way they would dry during the day.

    A lovely use of historical buildings with small but charming and well designed rooms. Hand rails for the stairs inside the room and a night light system that was gentle on the system when jetlag woke us up at strange times were most appreciated. The provision of a complimentary Handy phone to use in Singapore was fantastic. Having access to a phone, maps, tourist information etc while wandering around Singapore was so helpful and to do so without having to worry about a data plan was great. It helped make the hotel stand out. The breakfast that was provided through the local cafe was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, fabulous staff, excellent room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast at Dean & Deluca next door was a poor experience. We preferred paying at one of the cafes across the road. Some might need or prefer a bigger room.

    The staff are excellent from the genuinely warm and friendly greeting to the departure farewell. The location, opposite Telok Ayer metro station, and close to the waterfront area, makes this a great location. The room, although small, was extremely well thought out and equipped, with plentiful supply of Nespresso coffee and water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Not perfect, but this place is close. They'll take great care of you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing big. A raft of tiny maintenance issues, but they leap to fix them when you tell them. Because the hotel is a mish-mash of small buildings connected, there are weird little sets of steps and weird little slopes in the hallways. There were even three steps inside my first room! If that would be a problem for you, just tell the staff when you book. It wasn't a problem for me.

    The staff here is amazing. Kind, patient, timely and truly concerned with making your stay successful. I had trouble with a few features of my room, and they did everything possible to fix them. The location is great, and they offer free airport pickup at Chiangi. They even have a free mobile phone for you to use while in Singapore with free phone calls to 5 countries, including the US!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.2
    Loved it - felt like a 2nd home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved this boutique hotel, nicely renovated from a Chinese temple which later became a museum - so it has real personality. Excellently situated for Gardens by the Bay / Downtown / Chinatown areas, and directly across the road from Telok Ayer station for easy access anywhere in the city. Very friendly staff who were helpful and went the extra mile (advice, daily messages, willingness to substitute a complimentary airport pickup I didn't need for a taxi when I was leaving instead). Felt very homely and relaxed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.8
    Service by the hotel staff was excellent right from airport...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is unfortunate that they don't have their own breakfast facility, thus we need to walk out a bit to the coffee shop around the corner for a basic breakfast.

    Service by the hotel staff was excellent right from airport pick up to check in and the speedy check out. It was above of what I expected. The hotel itself is a unique boutique hotel which may not provide all the facilities compares to other hotel, but the service provided is above par.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Step into some history of Singapore
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very beautiful with some history behind it to make yourself really feel like you've been a part of the Singapore experience

    Perfect location for walking distances to some really good restaurants and very very beautiful location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Amazing property in a great location with wonderful staff - I will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a cosy single. The room was small but perfectly formed, and had everything you could possibly need. The staff were wonderful - friendly, very accommodating of requests, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast around the corner at the cafe was also fantastic. Very close to the MRT station and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable few days in Amoy, would recommend to anyone looking for something different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little too much blue light in room at night time with lights off from high tech light switches and different levels within room could be a problem for elderly or guest with mobility problems.

    The location was perfect for getting around the city and was adjacent to the underground Blue Line. The property is very unusual and was previously a temple. It has great character but is also very modern internally with every modern facility available to guests. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and nothing was a problem to them. If you want something different with a real oriental feel to it and can stretch your budget a little the Amoy is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    fabulous would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    A lovely unique boutique hotel tucked away amongst a moisture of new and old buildings. It is right across from the metro so easy to get anywhere. Staff really helpful and I felt very comfy and safe there as a lone female traveller

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Fantastic service in a unique and beautiful hotel that puts you in the heart of Singapore
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice to have a few more options for breakfast.

    This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in terms of service. From the minute you step into reception the staff are attentive, friendly and personable. They feel like people who really enjoy their job and are genuinely pleased to have you stay. The hotel is beautiful and unique both in its design and also it's approach to customer service. The location was also perfect for the business trip I was on as most of my meetings were in walking distance but it would also be a great hotel for a holiday as it's close to the MRT and lots of the main tourist areas. Can't rate it highly enough and looking forward to having a chance to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    A good value for money 5star option in the centre of Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a bit small but that didn't matter to us as we were only there for one night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and this is an extremely good value for money option in the centre of Singapore. The rooms were clean and tidy and well decorated and their were thoughtful extras - like the handy app which could be used to get around singapore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    Excellent boutique hotel that pays homage to the local heritage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel and staff far exceeded our expectations.....and we have high expectations! Loved the historic temple entrance. Excellent stay. Sorry that it was not long enough!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly noisy on a Friday night, due to the central location.

    Staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. Price included personal airport transfer, all minibar, excellent breakfast, and the use of a smartphone (with internet) during the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing staff, hotel with personality, excellent ammenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Built from a temple to add character. An expresso machine in your room. Adevice called Handy which should be used by all hotels in every country for tourists right now, amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    7.1
    Hot water did not come from shower even after the staff said...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot water did not come from shower even after the staff said it's fixed. Probably their tank for hot water is not big enough. Everything else is good, but I don't stay here anymore

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    10
    A great place to stay in Singapore, cosy, quiet and centrally located, surrounded by restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a second chair in the room, but that is nit-picking.

    Central location, friendly, helpful staff. Proximity to Telok Ayer MRT and Chinatown make it a great spot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    The Hotel Amoy is just excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel Amoy is just excellent! The staff was kind and really helpful. They even gave me stamps and mailed my postcards. The room had just everything I needed to rest after a long hot day. I could really recommend the Amoy Hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    Outstanding staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better variety/flexibility with the menu at the neighbouring restaurant who serve breakfast. However, when the hotel heard of this they even offered for us to eat elsewhere at their expense! An example of their exemplary service

    The hotel is well located outside Telok Ayer station where you can explore Singapore quickly or walk using their complementary Handy phone which you can use for internet, google maps and calls locally and to the UK! The hotel staff, Timothy, Brenda, Jonathan, Silvia, Jonny and Lam were all very pleasant and helpful with any queries. Outstanding service aiming to please which didn't go unnoticed and greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    10
    Great Location for Bars, Food, Tranportation and Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can't think of anything in Particular to be honest.

    Very unusual Chinese Temple conversion into a boutique hotel. Very tastefully done. Old and modern at the same time. The Staff were very helpful, with some nice personal touches, airport pickup, waiting for you specifically when you arrive at the Hotel with all your details and a complementary drink. You are given a mobile phone to use with internet and free calls to 6 international countries. You are given vouchers for breakfast in a small modern restaurant a few buildings down. I'm not a breakfast person so did use the vouchers, it looked fine more western pallet. I ended up using the many Chinese noodle kitchens, highly recommended. MRT station right across the road from the AMOY, that means access to all of Singapore in minutes (Get a Singapore Tourist Pass).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    A place where you feel cuddled and treated well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is served in a coffee close to the hotel, but the buffet is very basic and the staff non very friendly.

    Wonderful staff: welcoming, problem solver, helpful, ready to give suggestions. The location: close to chinatown, but without the mess of Chinatown. The facilities in the room: Nespresso machine, selection of premium teas, snacks and soft drinks for free. The comfort of the room and the bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing, really

    Fantastic experience - location is amazing, staff incredibly helpful, welcoming and World class professionals. Rooms have style yet are very functional. Wifi super fast, lots of amenities, all in all an ideal experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    10
    I won't even research other hotels anymore. Incredible!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Cozy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredible hotel. One of the best services I've ever experienced. The staff was very kind and efficient and the room was clean and comfortable. It is a precious gem located in the hearth of Singapore.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: