Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fragrance Hotel - Crystal 2 stars

No. 50, Lorong 18, 398824 Singapore, Singapore

#262 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 983 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Great pitstop for a few nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unfortunately staying whilst a very loud group of guests were staying... They we're very selfish and whilst it's not the hotels fault - a notice of noise being stopped after say 10pm would be nice. The person's involved we're shouting, slamming doors and going between rooms as if they were at home and at ungodly hours too. 😏 Just rude and inconsiderate.

    Compact. Central. Clean. Perfect for a quick trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is located near a metro station in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located near a metro station in a quiet neighborhood about a 10 minutes walk from the metro. The journey from the airport took about 15 minutes by subway. The room was well furnished with a nice bathroom and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Good for food, take into account the location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, it's pretty far from downtown and took us about 15' to the nearest MRT station. It's also located in a complicated place, so I received a lot of warnings, especially in nights. Perhaps that's the reason why the price of hotel is affordable. However, for foodaholic, it's quite near the Geylong lor 9 and chill crab No signboard

    The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    disappointing. I stay at Fragrance Ruby a lot and they are much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Reception didn't listen to my request for towels, pillows The room was really dirty. Underneath the bed there was dust and rubbish. Underneath the sheet was a mattress protector which was covered in brown stains. The bed was really uncomfortable; too hard. Pillows need replacing. Stains on the towels. Telephone broken Housekeeping threw away some seashells and small toys which belonged to my 6 year old.

    The hotel is a budget 2 star, so I don't expect Raffles. The staff listened to my request for twin beds and gave me what I'd asked for. Housekeeping was friendly, offering extra towels and water reception offered an extra keycard when my wife arrived

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The property in Geylang is within easy walking /MRT / taxi distance to everything. Friendly staff and the room was perfect for the 2 of us. Some people might find it small though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Favourite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, but that isn't the hotel's fault.

    The best 2 star hotel I ever stayed in. The room was my favourite. It was really worth the value that I paid for. Sometimes I think I paid too little for the most comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    10 minute by taxi to and from orchid area, easy to find food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If travelling with kids, not suitable since the location in area adult massage .

    10 minute by taxi to and from orchid area, easy to find food near, MRT is about 15minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel to stay only for 2 nights.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting not working,bathroom door latch faulty. Requested double bed but given 2 single bedded,so sad cannot cancelled and staff can't give an option with upgrade to another room type.

    Was so clean room.so quite ,good for resting area. Nearby food area and so many convenient store to bought thing you forget to bring along. Only those area are red light district.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    2.5
    I will not go back and stay in this hotel and I never recommend anybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee tea and water only one time in the day

    it is shit hotel I ever seen . No cold storage ( freeze) no microwave Un comfortable room. No ventilation in room. Bed sheet never change. Smelle bedsheets

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Tolite shower was not in any room's tolite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tolite shower was not in any room's tolite. Only tissu papper is not enough, need water also to clean our body after use tolite. All other facalities was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.0
    Clean and comfortable small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and comfortable small room. Staff pleasant and helpful. Was surprised to find that the hotel is right in the middle of Singapore's Brothel district, so perhaps families may want to look elsewhere for somewhere to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Great room but the location lets you down. Don't be put off by exterior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area in which it is situated isn't the best. Far away from the goings on- but the men on the front desk advised to use an app called Grab (basically Uber) and we got picked up for $10 and taken to the gardens by the bay. The area isn't the safest and seems a local area so wouldn't recommend if you want to be in the centre. No smoking area so you have to go out to the front of the hotel which was a pain but for a non-smoker there would be no problem.

    We turned up at around 8AM and were told we were not able to check in till 1/2PM. After a 12 hour flight we were shattered and after speaking to the men on the front desk they let us check in early for a fee of $45. Considering how we were feeling this suited us perfectly. Room was perfect for what we paid. Bed was comfy and the air con worked amazing. Clean and efficient. Would recommend 100% for a short stay in Singapore. The main road around a 2 minute walk has lots of little marts and 7 elevens so perfect to grab snacks/drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Room is spacious with the price u paid for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a lounge or swimming pool will be great

    Room is spacious with the price u paid for.. Very clean rooom.and the airconditioning is very cold and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall you got what you paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell, OMG.... it's like they didn't change the sheets ( maybe the smell of someone before me) and you can hear everything that happened outside even when your neighbour flushing the toilet. Ah... and no restaurant

    It's close to bus station, clean and cheap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Awful location but clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in red light district. Not a nice location especially at night. Far walk from bus stop when returning from city (going into city the bus stop is 5 mins walk away but returning you are dropped further away due to one was road so it about 15 mins walk).

    Cheap compared to other similar hotels but you pay the price for the poor location. rooms were clean and comfortable. bathrooms were good. if you need a budget hotel it is ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff went out of their way to help our group.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Guests who checked in during the night were very noisy - the receptionist staff could ask them to be quiet after 10pm or put up signs in the corridor (or both).

    The staff went out of their way to help our group.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Will surely not exceed your expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy rooms - you can hear every little noise from the corridor... and from the shower drain. That’s particularly disturbing at nights! Very small rooms One towel per person Shady neighbourhood (by night) - on the very same street many „massage” saloons and some streetwalkers nearby (but to be fair - always felt fully safe - both day and night) No restaurant

    Proximity of a bus station that can get you to the city centre Very good water presure under the shower Movable shower head Rather clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel but families please look up area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in a red light district but pretty safe. Cleanliness of hotel could be questionable as there was a smell in the bedroom. And also there were stains on bedsheets possibly coffee.

    Staff are helpful plus value for money. MRT station close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was either freezing cold or non existent

    The staff was incredibly helpful and the complementary water bottles, kettle and hair dryer was a ice bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    2.5
    Never Again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dirty, smelly room, very rude senior staff. location is in the red light district, not good at all, public transportation is difficult. You need grab. If we did not complained directly to booking.com nothing will happen.

    none

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.8
    Bedlinen stained and pillows stank of other people.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedlinen stained and pillows stank of other people. Fridge doesn't work (even though switched on, humming & at coldest setting. Cleanliness could be improved by a bit of Cif.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.8
    Close to MRT decent location although right in middle of red...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unfriendly. Water for showers was cold and location was in middle of red light district. Hotel staff would not give extra towels, no amenities and they offered discount tickets to attractions yet could not figure out how to get to you after 20min waiting.

    Close to MRT decent location although right in middle of red light district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long story of fails. To give some examples: total and unbelievable stink of chloride in the room and no possibility to open a window. I'm still coughing. The stuff have called me 0.5 hour before check-out deadline and were upset asking me when do I plan go leave the room. Not longer than a minute later a cleaner rang to my door with the same question. People were talking loudly outside their rooms until 1-2 am and stuff didn't do anything. The only thing they done well was calling taxis.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    it was a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had to wait for quite a while to check in

    it was a good stay. neighborhood feels save. there is a bus stop within 2-3 minutes walk but MRT station is a bit further, 8-10 mins walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Our stay is good, I got the lowest price deal for our stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is far from the bus station/train station. Also, far from food stores in case you wanted to have a quick bite at night or wee hours.

    The space is good, as compared to Fragrance waterfront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, more close to 4 stars actually, would go again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet limited to 2 Mbit, too slow for video calls. Upper window frame was dust covered, windows should be cleaned like anything else which was very clean. Bed to short for western people. TV very old, should be replaced with modern bigger verison. Shower temp gets colder after 2 min, boiler too small I guess but stays warm, just not hot.

    Modern room, friendly staff, good power shower !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Location not far from mrt station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheets dirty Weird smell in room Changed towels but didn’t clean floor properly had long hair of girl there for my whole stay even though I travelled alone as a guy...

    Location not far from mrt station... red light District Next to hotel no Problem at all Room looks like on pictures

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This might be the worst hotel I’ve stayed out for years. The family room had one double and one single so be careful with photos advertised as a bit misleading. I have two children and on arrival told hotel does not have a travel cot. The worst thing was the smell. Strong smell of bleach when lift doors opened we thought perhaps there was a pool! The room stank of dirty mops mixed with bleach to the point we couldn’t sleep! Like a dirty dish cloth smell and the floors were wet and sticky like someone had half attempted to ‘clean’ by throwing old dirty water on them. There were two cockroaches on the bed which thankfully my elder daughter removed for me. Glad to get out of there. Had zero sleep.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding area may/may not be for everyone. Main street has plenty of eateries etc and good links into town however there seemed to be some kind of 'red light district' going on!

    Great VFM on booking compared to walk in price. Strong Wi-Fi. Clean. Good AC. Comfortable. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Good one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    absence of push shower for toilet, no toilet slipper, insufficient cable network channel.

    cleanliness, supply of various entry tickets in low price, cordial staff attitude, room decoration.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to carry all my luggage to my room. No one to help also poor reception service. They are not friendly at all. No proper seating area for waiting guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location, close to two metro stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible smell inside room and bathroom on hello. The cleaning staff ( very kind and helpful) managed to eliminate it to a level it was bearable ( with an ozone generator etc.). There must be something wrong with the sanitation system. Plumber needed? Same problem in other rooms.

    Good location, close to two metro stations. Many low cost restaurants on the way to Aljunied metro station. Room was clean with comfortable beds. Nice place to leave your bag pack and sleep. Lack of character though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.5
    6.5 sounds right
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    requested non smoking room got room that smelt like airport smoking room repulsive. the building was busy with Chinese guests many rude pushing in while checking in. Beds rock hard

    the staff were helpful. the rooms small basic. the area although in red light area its safe,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.2
    aircon was so cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bedsheets, pillowcases and comforter were not changed into new and clean ones. it smells so bad during my first night of stay.

    aircon was so cold. comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Larger room and better bathroom than in other Singapore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Larger room and better bathroom than in other Singapore hotels of the same category with more furniture. Very quiet. Very friendly staff at reception desk and cleaning staff. Good bus service very near by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Easy to get to by MRT or bus, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to by MRT or bus, clean and comfortable. Nice hotel, be aware its on the edge of the redlight district. Nobody hassled us or made us uncomfortable while walking to the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    Close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled very bad. Every time when we entered the room we could smell cigarettes. Disgusting. Also our clothes started smelling the same. And also the hotel was very very noisy! There were a lot of Asian tourists and they made a lot of noise till 1 am and again from 6 am!! The bathroom is very small. We spent here 6 nights and the last 3 nights we had no hot water. :( only cold one.

    The hotel is close to the city and also close to the airport. There are two MRT stations about 10 minutes walking from the hotel. Yes, the hotel is in red light zone, but when we were walking here in the evening we could not seen anything visible. So the location is not bad. Especially when you go to the yellow line, there is no red light zone. Good internet connection. Small bottle of water every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    Average... jusy stay for ur tired and sleep
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed too small for family.( 2 adult 1 kid). The housekeepers or cleaners make noisy and talk loudly when clean other neighbour room or besides rooms... the blankets and pillows covers too smelly... not comfortable... the hotel never provide any water dispance service or mineral waters...

    I like wifi connection and discount price for attraction places from the hotel reception...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot open the windows only ac. Not really good location, surrounded by public houses, but looks safe.

    Cleanest of the room, not far from the nearest bus stop

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Thank you guys for you service
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There we no shop around to buy fruits and My Wife like seafood and vegetable but the area doesn't have any around

    The area is alittle far from the train station but iwe loved there cleaning and service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    i heard its refurbished, so price is great and room still look as new
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no water hose. the old chinese guy is not friendly at all. thank god he asked other staff to take over. the malay guy is helpful. red light district area.. i brought my kids. we walked around at night in groups with my parents and siblings, quite safe. no one bothered us tho. check in process was quite long eventhough we booked online

    I like that the room and toilet is clean and has that modern look. aircond and heater are working fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.2
    Easy check-in/out. Very noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a very noisy street. We couldn't fall asleep until very late as people kept running about in the corridors. Be aware that smoking and durian are allowed inside. Therefore the smell and cleanness isn't always as you would expected it.

    Very easy to check in and out. The property didn't ask for a deposit which was quite nice. It took literally 1 minute to check in. The rooms though aren't ready before 3pm which is roughly 1h later than any other room in Singapore.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    For 1 night stay and cheap prize it’s worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thick blankets provided for the cold room,there’s no closet just a rack of hangers,I took the cold shower found out at checkout the next day that there is a button outside the shower to push if you want hot water,we stay on 2 nd floor we were waken up early by loud laugh alternate with crying from kids outside our room

    The bed was ok the ac was very cold,I tried to lower the temperature but still too cold ! The TV is modern with clear pictures. The staffs are courteous and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    It below my expectation (better stay at a fancy hostel with a fragrant smell and cheaper price)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow has very bad smell and i request the room maid to change it but it still smelly The alley outside the guest room was also smelly The room has bad smell and watery on floor in the morning (before the bathroom used) The hot water didn't work

    The location near the foodcourt and night entertainment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.6
    I just liked the fact that is located far from crowd.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is so small. The picture is deceiving. It is difficult to work in the room with very small table.

    I just liked the fact that is located far from crowd.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    4.6
    Not a place for me ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was in the middle of Singapore’s red light district and there was no where we could eat that was appropriate for 2 westerners!

    Room was clean. Tiny, but clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.0
    Fairly priced and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard leather mattress Thin walls, you can hear everything between the rooms because of the air con vent and he thin walls. The doors slam and are pretty loud at night. I would not recommend for girls travelling alone, the hotel appears to be in the heart of the red light district of Singapore, you have to walk past about 10 brothels to get to the hotel. I felt safe with my partner but would not have wanted to do that walk late at night alone.

    Really convenient to the metro station and airport! Fair price in Singapore and the room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the fact that the room had been recently renovated .. so was lovely and fresh. Rooms were clean and functional and the staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    4.2
    Just managable but not comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is really not good environment. Atleast breakfast should have been complementary. It is difficult for international traveller to look for hotel in the morning for breakfast.

    staffs are really fentastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    The bed was super uncomfortable and we couldn't get a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super uncomfortable and we couldn't get a queen which is needed when there is 2 of you and your partner is 6'5". No fridge in the room and they wouldn't give us a 2nd key to keep the aircon on while we were out. The rooms are not soundproof, we heard every person in the hallway and even the people upstairs. We could hear their toilet flushing. It's also in the red light district, so not very safe, felt very uncomfortable walking to and from the hotel. I wouldn't stay here again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Clean room & nice staff, but not so good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that was not so good was the location. The hotel was in the red lights area so if you don’t want to stay in that area don’t book this hotel. Everything else was great!

    The room was very clean and people nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.2
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location (next to red light area), no restaurant near by. Need to go out for coffee also. Rooms are so small.. Fragrance ONLY in the name

    Nothing to like about the property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    This place was more than my expectations!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place was more than my expectations!! Helpful staffs, very clean and quiet room, value money. Although this hotel was located in Gaylang, but buss stops which near the hotel made we can access easily not pass Gaylang!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Recomended for a cheeper stay in Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For what we payed we received what we expected. So all was good.

    Clean & comfortable. Bathroom was also clean and modern. Perfect value for money for a 5 nights stay in Singapore. Location is in the red district but even for a couple it is fine. No one is bothering you even if you walk the streets at night. 10 minutes walk to the MRT. 30-40 minutes walk to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Have known worse but this is no compliment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly a superior room (208) as booked. Couldn't open windows and wetroom v. smelly from drains. No riser rail on shower so water coming out at 90 degrees horizontal 6 feet off the wall. Absolute flood every time it was used.

    Modern. Most front desk staff v good but one was obnoxious. All the taxi drivers knew where it was as it was right in the middle of the red light district!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Price of room is reasonable and near restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel in the room when we arrived and I tried calling the front desk via telephone 3-4 times but to no avail so I needed to go down and ask for towel personally. I think this is an isolated case though.

    Price of room is reasonable and near restaurants. Walking distance to aljunied train station and bus pick up station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    It was okay. Not very close to MRT. It will be tiring if u carry bags. By bus is more convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was not comfortable as it was moving when I try to lean towards the bed frame. Secondly, no window and it made the room stuffy after a while and smelled after a while. Thirdly the room wasn't sound proof.

    The shower pressure was good. Loved the cleanliness of room and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Awesome place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very confusing to get to the address at first but after you find the hotel, it is easier to maneuver and get to and from the train station.

    The friendly, polite, and accommodating staff, the cleanliness of the place, and the air-conditioning. Staff were very helpful in suggesting what to do and eat in Singapore. Only problem was that we requested for a twin bed prior to arrival and they gave us a double sized bed instead. We requested for a room change but said that the hotel was full. But overall, great experience! 10/10 would book the same place again!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    The hotel have all basic need , reasonable price ,clean and the bed is so comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    U might need 5-10 mins walking to to MRT if u come from the airport.

    The hotel is clean and have all basic need. The bed is so comfy. Tts short walk to the bus stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    good air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for superior room accommodation, there should be a small fridge for the convenience of your guest. There is no available fridge where in we can put beverages since it is very hot weather.

    good air conditioning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.6
    Clean rooms, good beds, dodgy neighbourhood, WORST reception, don't use the fridge.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    RECEPTION Hands down, the receptionist who checked us in was the absolute worst (in my hotel experience). He's a tall, skinny, tan male who wears somewhat rounded glasses and is able to speak Mandarin and English. He wasn't wearing a name tag, if not I would've reported him to the hotel management. After a 14 hour flight, we arrived pretty exhausted. Tired, dragging our luggage to the hotel - this was what welcomed us: 1. He did NOT bother to greet or say a single word to us. Actually, he could not even be bothered to look at my face? (???) 2. I said, "Hello, I made a booking-" and he cut me off and replied curtly, while staring at his computer, "I need your ID." 3. The entire time he was just ignoring me, didn't say a SINGLE word - and when someone else approached him for a matter he brushed them off and cursed under his breath (umm.. really?). 4. He seemed annoyed the whole time, and not ONCE did he look up. 5. He kept typing into his keyboard angrily, clearly unhappy about something. And suddenly he slapped two pieces of papers on the table, and barked at us, "sign." 6. WHILE I WAS STILL READING WHAT I WAS SIGNING FOR, he had the nerve to SNATCH the paper away, and I had to stop him and say, "excuse me, I'm still READING." There were other things that he did that COMPLETELY shocked me because I have never, in all of my hotel stays - ranging from extremely cheap hotels to very expensive ones - have I EVER met with such an unprofessional, RUDE receptionist! There was another Chinese man with him working that night - he looked so much more approachable that the only regret of mine is not approaching him instead. After such a long flight - being greeted (or lack there of) by such a RUDE, unprofessional kickstarted my stay at Fragrance Hotel into such an unpleasant one. Not to mention he was incredibly unhelpful when we had some requests. Note to management: PLEASE, my goodness, PLEASE TRAIN YOUR STAFF!

    The room was clean, modern and neat! The beds were comfortable and I love that they had a kettle in the room with mugs. We didn't use the TV but it was a nice to have. We paid extra and got the bigger room so there was plenty of space for our luggage. Location wise - walking distance to Aljunied MRT and Mountbatten MRT - but please note that you will be staying in a neighbourhood of brothels. It can feel a little dodgy at times, but overall it's OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.5
    Never again, the worse hotel I've ever been, a desaster! Don't book this hotel!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was very unfriendly, the room cards never worked, the cleaning woman entered the room although we forbid her, because we were sleeping. The windows in the room can't be opened, there is no space for storing clothes, the plug sockets are out of service, the room was very dirty, the towels and the floor were not cleaned well, hotel is in red light district. Never again!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall good hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like the neighboring area at night where there are too many nightspots around the hotel. Feeling unsecured for ladies to walk by.

    Value for money, Clean, Easy to go to the town center, good for short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very inconvenient too far from the train station, bus stop. In our experienced we need to walk 30-40 mins to reach the location. And we need to ride an UBER in order to reach our destinations. I don't like the location since it's the dirty street the motels and inn besides. I saw girls like strippers. I highly don't recommend the place. Very expensive place for 1 night.

    A quite simple tiny hotel room. Room is only good for partner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Rooms were cleaned every day and we were given complimentary water bottles every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have a window so the whole room smelled very musty. Sheets and pillows also had a sour smell, all probably because of humidity.

    Good value for the money paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Convenient for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast. It's not far away from metro BUT it is not that close either. Hotel in the red light district but we were not bothered by prostitutes or procurers and we didn't see any weird scene.

    15 minutes walk from Singapore metro. Many cheap restaurants of Asian food close to the property. The room was big enough and fully renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    The room is comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated in a red light district.... a bit uncomfortable with the environment!!

    The room is comfortable and clean. The price is excellent!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaner

    Great value for money, excellent option if you have a low budget. Very comfortable bed. In a very authentic area. Despite there are some sex houses in the street they didn't bother me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately just one time we enjoyed warm water in the shower. Most of the time the water was to cold.

    Comfortable beds. 10 minutes walk from the nearest Metro Station. Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    I would suggest this hotel to any of my friends travelling to Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable for the price.But there were no refrigerators in the room.

    The location ,convenient for transportation and food court,everything is walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Great value for money, great service and greate location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved our stay at the Fragrance Hotel - Chrystal. Great location close to many local eateries and MRT station. Great central location in Singapore. Room was excellent value for money for a family of 4. Staff were very helpful answering questions and providing services like baggage storage. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.3
    Cheap and Nasty! Don't Stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty, staff not friendly, in the middle of a red light district and when I asked about late checkout that had been requested via Booking.com the staff said, "Booking.com is rubbish they always say you can have a late checkout but don't communicate with the property." I know this to be untrue. As I have always had good and reliable service from Booking.com. Booking.com may wish to review this property.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    location is so excellent and so easy to find given it was our first time to go to singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i think you need to add lights on elevator area. it was a little scary when you get out the elevator because of dim lights when you step out of elev.

    housekeeping service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Far from main activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the metro and far from the center. Staff could be more welcoming. In the street of whorehouses but no problem for us...

    Good standard room, clean, with the basic facilities. Close from a big food court.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Good stay in Geylang
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing is not great. walking to the hotel through a street of brothels is a bit depressing

    Very clean, spacious and nice room. Comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff, good value. Mini fridge, complimentary coffee / tea / water are very nice to have.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fragrance Hotel - Crystal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: