Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 81 Elegance 2 stars

30 Foch Road, Lavender, 209276 Singapore, Singapore

#334 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2401 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff overall responsiveness and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room's Air-Con is not cold, adjustable but no use. Pillow is too soft and low, not comfortable. Location on local bars and Karaoke district.

    Staff overall responsiveness and services.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could have a better set up. Rest is pretty solid.

    Comfortable and affordable. The facilities in the room were ample, if not a little crowded.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice Group 18 for Solo travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole of 5th.Floor Aircon broke down.Full night I had to suffer due to dusturbed sleep snd humid suffocation. Next day staff was kind and shifted me to another room in 4th.floor which was really comfortable.Then next morning I checked out to travel to Kualalumpur.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was a little unpleasant.They we're cut throat on many occasions.Prior to the day of booking ,I enquired whetehr I could have a glimpse of the hotel room.I received a cutthroat No with many explanantions.Also a pleasant and warm iniviting smile would be good. The centralised AC facilities was too cold.If any manual AC option was available,that would have been better.

    Clean room good proximity to the the places to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Clean, Comfy Bed, Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at the reception was awesome! We are able to leave our things early and everything was easy. The bed was more comfortable than other Hotel 81 beds. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Close to metro and malls and other places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money at all. It should have been less than half of what I paid. From the photos, it looked way better than it actually was.

    Close to metro and malls and other places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Best doesn't mean good. Good doesn't mean best.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff front desk was not friendly and was rude in explaining things. I'm ashamed to tell that the bad customer service itself came from the assistant manager of this hotel. When he actually should give a good example to others on how to communicate with the guest.. Im not trying to critic but I hope they could actually improve their service.. Last but not least, the rest of this hotel and the locations is all good.

    Location. Cleanliness and the good service from the housekeeper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Hotel room was clean and give out complimentary bottled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, they charge high for extra person provide small mattress bed

    Hotel room was clean and give out complimentary bottled water. The staffs are also approachable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Interesting area, close to the marina, plenty of food options close by.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is value for money compared to a larger hotel, you get what you pay for. Little things could be better, example , 1 coffee packet, 1tea packet for a double room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Compliments for my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are too small... The TV should be wall mounted and should be able to assess the internet or YouTube... The soap and shampoo could be personal meaning to say one soap or shampoo tube for each stay... Like all other hotels... Should have more ticker pillow... The bed should be higher

    The air conditioning was good...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Rooms are clean and its worth for money, from the Hotel you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Street in front of the Hotel not clean.

    Rooms are clean and its worth for money, from the Hotel you can walk to Some main Shopping Malls in Singar. Also you can enjoy the night life easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    I think there are much better deals for this price in other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is not the same as pictured. First room was stinking with sigarette smoke, and we asked to change. No windows, even though it is not mentioned in the room details. No wardrobe in the tiny room! (only a hanger on the wall), no proper furniture except one bed-side seat and small table. Shower corner in the tiny toilet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.3
    Uncomfortable stay. Expected better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, from room size, no ironing board, staff behaviour, amenities

    Just the location. There is a food court, a 24 hr cheers and easily connected to city. Nothing other than location is good about this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have invest in getting a small fridge for bigger rooms.

    The location was great...its near to lot of places and restaurants.Even buses to other places is easy to get there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in the room I was not informed before changing the room that room have no windows. I was only told about double bed available this room than the room you book which has 2 single bed.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Clean room and comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from mrt and the staff also not so friendly. The centralised aircond is difficult for you to control the temperature especially at night.

    Clean room and comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    The room and bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to mention.

    The room and bed was very comfortable. Room and toilet was cleaned very well daily. Staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. All facilities were up to meet my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy hotel. People coming and going all night talking, laughing and slamming doors. The bathrooms and toilet are in the same space and the floor gets very wet and slippery. Not pleasant and potentially a hazard,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Its clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't like the foot rug. Would prefer towel foot rug for the bathroom.

    Its clean. Love the hot showers. Good location with easy access to food courts, bus stops and MRT.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    dissapointing, uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms, no proper tea coffee facilities, micro bathroom,cramped,very noisy (NO SOUND PROOFING). Expensive . Was more of a single room backpackers for $170 a nite including taxes

    Staff were helpful and organized, seemed to be 24 h reception,central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    great stay in Singapore 81 brand
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. if can change tea different brand its more good.

    Great property.. front office staff and housekeeping very good. Alex is good person @ the frontdesk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location for bus and train and city center all.so close location .24 hours shopping is 10 min walk Mustafa center. Many restaurant and shop around. Down has a coffee shop and a mini market for everything .i will stay again .need late check out they have me 1 hour plus if need they can hourly rate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Super clean room and bathroom, nice staffs, easy and quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Super clean room and bathroom, nice staffs, easy and quick checkin/checkout, no deposit for key, surrounding by food, cafe dan groceries, walking distance to MRT sta Bendemeer and Lavender

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Stayed more than 12 times. It is my first choice for location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cheaper rooms have TVs very close to large mirrors, this causes a "double vision" experience when watching. This is not so much a negative point, just advice.

    Location, comfort and value. The hotel is in a reasonably quiet area despite the bars nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    2.5
    Worst ever stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced paid 100 dollars for room which is just barely bed inside. Guy at reception name Kim misbehaved so badly with me without any reason on being questioned about the cleanliness n size of room. Worse ever stay in m life that too in 100 $ should have been priced 25$ as per Singapore standards as well. Left the hotel in few hours worse ever neighbourhood this is not recommended for tourists all attraction and tube/ metro is really far and neighbourhood is only fast food local joints nothing to do

    Nothing zero

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location. Facilities are of average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't adjust the tempurature in the room so I got cold during my sleep. The bathroom is quite small.

    Location is perfect to me. Food, MRT, bus stops are close by. Just 1 or 2 minutes walking. So it's super easy to get around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were clean and just met my expectations as shown in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean and just met my expectations as shown in the picture they provided, Accessible to MRT, bus stops going to different attractions in SG.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant and private which I liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected a bigger room and a better view from the balcony. . I asked for top floor which I wasn't given 😐

    Local cheap restaurants around..closed to Litrle India and the friendly staff😍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to carry our luggage to the upper floors. No baggage service offered by the hotel which is embarrassing.

    Situated in a good area nearby to all restaurants. Nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Taxes will be added to the prices shown
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxes are excluded from the price shown in booking.com. Usually booking.com show the price with the taxes, but not this one. Therefore i missed out other cheaper options

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    The one of the budget hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not really good, it’s center of the city but to all station it takes more than 10 min. And it’s quite hard to walk more than 10 mins under Singapore’s humid and hot weather. Also the room was air conditioned. But it was cold too cold so tried to turn off but I couldn’t turn off. It’s controlled by hotel.

    The staff was so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    First stay in Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room without a window.Nothing to dry wetroom bathroom floor with after shower...Hard bed.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location for MRT and food halls

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Ok..just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its nice for a budget hotel but the toilet doesnt have bidet..which is i think needed..instead of using tissue and quite far from mrt..

    Clean and nice..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Location of the hotel is not amazing but considering it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a budget-friendly hotel. Don't expect much, you get what you pay for.

    Location of the hotel is not amazing but considering it is rather near to a bus stop is convenient. It is also around 8 minutes away from the nearest MRT station. it makes it easy to get around. There are also plenty of restaurants near the hotel. If you're feeling peckish in the middle of the night, just head downstairs to get your food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    Checked after 2 hours, will not coming back to this place.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon cannot be switch off, can't sleep with noise. I didn't know the bed is facing directly with a huge mirror which is insensitive and should expected a refund.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Worth the Money, nearby MRT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottled water is only one for 2 guest

    Food just beside the hotel with tasty and reasonable price. It is also near bendemeer station and lavender station, golden mile, bugis which are the bus stations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall is still good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room walking space is limited and tv is place near the window. Suggest should hang on wall to create more space for us.

    The room is clean and with window is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Because the rooms are so small people are outside in the passageway throughout the night talking and visiting with friends.

    Nice and central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    I'll definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard for me.

    Kim was a fantastic help on front desk and really welcoming on my arrival. The staff spoke excellent English and were really helpful with directions/ recommendations. The room is basic... bathroom and a wet room but for Singapore, this was great value. The location was exciting .. amongst locals ... temples, markets and hawker centres within walking distance.. even a 7/11 next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Small room but nice for a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please have a pair of clean toilet slippers since there is no slippers inside toilet.

    The room is nice and suitable for budget.Looks everything is nice according to money have spent.No problem for the small room as long clean is priority.Have toiletries! Suitable for short stay.Will be on list for next time :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    A bustling city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no window. We dealt with it since we were there a couple of nights.

    The location is good if you don't mind walking. We enjoyed the location as we walked around to explore every day. The room was rather small for us. We made it work since we were only there for two nights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.0
    Ok but no character. Just a room and reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt badly of spoke on entering. Wanted to move room but alternative had no safe or fridge. We stayed in the room but smell did not go in all days we were there.

    Room size ok. Shower hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Food and Access is Hotel 81 Elegance
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none actually good value for money

    accessibility to good food and lots of hardware stores I like .Easy to go to rivervalley rd for my target supplier officr

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    All and all its nowhere near the best placed I stayed and it's not the worst. Stay at a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could've been alot better. It was thin and covered in some plastic that was uncomfortable. Also I over looked the shower portion. Maybe it's me but the other hotel I stayed at the shower did not share the same space as the toilet and the sink. I have never seen that before. The last thing is that they are outdated with the as far as hotels go with the keys to the room. They still use actual keys and not the card that unlocks your door. So we had to leave the key with the front desk everytime we left because the key still had the address to the hotel and the room number.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    2.5
    It was not a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not a good hotel. It was so expensive comparing to its real value. Not warm welcome on check in time. The room was not clean and without window. The hotel location is so poor. Never come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    Cheap but not good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad Reception. Very loud. Room with no windows. Shown photos are not this Hotel (there are more Hotel 81 in Singapore)!

    Location was okay. 4 Buslines stopping close to It. 15min. from Little India

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.9
    their was nothing to say abt this hotel.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was so small, bathroom was very small and no place to take shower. bad smoke inside the room. TV was not working..etc

    their was nothing to say abt this hotel...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    We adjusted patiently because we searched other hotel and can't find room vacant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cleanness

    No service of any kind, viz;concierge, bell boy,room service. Only self service even glass for drinking water available only tea cups 2 No.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    The hotel had good facilities - fridge, WiFi, safe, air con...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet/shower room smelt horrible all the time. Despite the toilet being a wet room we weren’t provided with extra towels so our hotel room floor was damp most of the time. Bed sheets were stained and the bed itself was rock hard. Very small room

    The hotel had good facilities - fridge, WiFi, safe, air con etc. The hotel staff were friendly. Good local transport links

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.6
    nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.provision of free services like shuttle service not given or informed about 2.break fast,lunch,dinner not provided 3.high charges and variance in charhes on daily basis

    the cleanliness level

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good . Good job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need hand shower to the toilet. Because some Nationality have practice not use toilet tissue. So better to keep shower in the toilet

    Daily cleaning process was so impressed. And your staff very helpful .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Was ok budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To switch off the air con you need to call every time and it switches back on every time u remove the key/ put back on. Sometimes when I called they switch it off immediately but sometimes I'd have to call 2 or 3 times as they forgot (?) and was told it takes time to switch it off which is not true because on other occasions they did immediately. AC makes me sick so it was a bit inconvenient.

    Room cleaned every day, smells fine, quite comfy but to be honest looks nothing like the photos, I booked the superior room and the only difference is that there is a window in the room... Does not look any better than standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    I will come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't expecting much, but it was a great experience. The balcony was spacious and the room was clean. Bed was comfy and they provide coffee and tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    A place to relax and enjoy everyday we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge

    A place to relax and enjoy everyday we were there. We will all be coming back on March 2-5, 2018 Soon.! Nice hotel and very nice staff. I like all anything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.0
    No wifi, no movies on tv, pillow is flat, bedsheets has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi, no movies on tv, pillow is flat, bedsheets has stains on it and musky odor when entering the room. limited parking place, if not you gotta pay for parking, the balcony does not offer much view except for the foreign workers working in the next building but then again i was in the 2nd floor, there were ants on the table and moth flys in the gully trap flying in the bathroom.... Air con is cold which is nice and thats all to it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.0
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small a little bit smelly. I did not sleep well coz of the smell

    I like the area ciz the food is everywhere and the accessibility of the taxi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Ok, good enough value. Nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, as not only is located in a busy area with loads of traffic, but it was no parking available at all around and getting out of a taxi, has to be done in the middle of the street (in my particular case this time, under the rain). No one there to help you with luggage, not even to open the door to you. They have no room service at all. If you want a drink, there is a Cheers store conveniently located next door, but forget about asking for help to get anything or anyone coming to your door. The building seems tired and to give an example, the ac controls in the wall -near the door- have no buttons anymore and I had to wonder and experiment to find out which one was for what function...

    Hotel facilities are pretty basic, but ok. The staff was busy, but friendly and helpful. They even helped me to find a replacement charging cable for my phone, which I appreciated very much. Very nice bathroom with much water and heater working to perfection. There is a simple cafe next door and a Cheers store next door as well... It's a budget hotel and quite fine for a cheap night of sleep. Period. You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a budget stay with the family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a bit small, and we had some trouble with the airconditioning temperature.

    Room was clean, and had basic toiletries and towel. Staff were friendly. Comfortable bed. Can request for additional pillows. Good TV reception. Good wi-fi connection. Had a hawker center at the GF which was perfect for early morning or late night eating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    as backpackers, we appreciate the little things like the free water bottle and coffee & tea, toothbrushes and tinie winnie toothpaste. Staff were great! We stayed for 3 nghts all in all we had a lovely stay. Cheers!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall i rate Hotel 81 as a good place to stay in want cheap and clean Hotel in Singapore.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel first time is not easy.

    The hotel is near food centers and convenient store. MRT Lavender station is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Not great, but cheap for Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found blood on the sheets...they almost charged us to change it but thankfully didn't. The toilet and the shower were not separated so the floor was always wet

    Room is a decent size with a big window

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a little noisy at night, but if you leave the aircon on you probably won't notice.

    The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the train station. It was clean but small, suitable for budget travellers. Fairly central. There was a hawkers food court right underneath so it is really easy to find food nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.3
    A Reasonable Short Stay Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remember this was budget accommodation - felt the floors required a wash more often, the aircon seemed always too cold regardless of settings. As for value I believe you can find other Hotel 81 facilities at this price range offering a more comfortable experience

    There are 3 x Hotel 81 in the local area so ensure you find the right one as they are all different standards. This is a budget hotel that provides the miminal level of comfort and appears this is exactly what you get. That said, the room was quiet and bedsheets clean and that was quite enough for my short stay! The location is great with travel options all around with hawker centers and restaurants to choose from and a wonderful public swimming pool a short distance away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    3.3
    Reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C do not work from the room, if you need to switch on or off you need to call the reception all night!!!! Room small Overall low quality hotel

    Reception staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room have no window, the fug need to be handle with cares. The room don't have sound filter, so we can heard everything from the outside.

    Staff really friendly and helpful. Easy restuarant access. Cosy but clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Familiar with location
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We sad off lossing one of our new brand stuff at the 2nd day we stay at hotel which is happen after hotel's cleaner tiddy up our room , until we check out from the hotel , the only say sorry without do anything 🤔 we feel so disappointed.. there nothing responsible from hotel .

    Familiar with location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room (This is common in Singapore)

    Great location, walking distance to Lavender SMRT and surrounded by shops and restaurants , friendly staff, clean room. We extended our checkout time by 6 hours and they offered a discounted price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.4
    One night is enough
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room hot water wasn’t working well, it gets hot in the beginning, and less hot afterwards. The bed blanket was really bad cause the cover sheets gone out, and the inner part was ugly.

    Quite a happening area in the night, many hawker stalls around. There’s a convenient store downstairs too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place to keep our clothes as there was no wardrobe. We had to keep the clothes in the bag and use the couple of hangers fixed to a rail on the wall. A wardrobe was much needed in the room. The bathroom lacked a muslim shower which might not be a problem for others. But for us it was very difficult to manage with.

    We chose the place because it was very near to public transport, shops and restaurants. It was value for money. The hotel provided cleaning services everyday which was very nice. The bathroom was clean which was very important for us. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were originally given a room on the second floor but when we asked about a higher floor, manager gave us a room on the fifth floor with a minibar and safe for no additional charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    Very centrally located and close by to little India which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small and hardly any space to move about inside. The rooms don't look the same as given in the photos and rooms are over-priced.

    Very centrally located and close by to little India which is a very popular location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Conveniently located near shopping and city centre with easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located near shopping and city centre with easy access to transportation to tourist attraction such as marina bay area habourfront and orchard road shopping belt

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location. Helpful staff. Very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on 3rd floor. Very noisy until 3a.m. each day. Doors banging. People shouting. Lots of noise outside, too. Room was very small. Hardly anywhere to put things.

    Helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.6
    Not suitable for long stay here. Room is very cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room: 1)Twin size bed combined to a queen size bed? 2)There’s a hole in the blanket. 3) Pillows and bed not very comfy Location: 1) Around the area is very ulu. 2) Quite far away from the MRT station. 3) Nothing interesting around the area. (Entertainment)

    Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    It was a great stay & loved every bit of it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People do sent know the road so it was hard to get a taxi to find the place..

    The Please is very secure & its so clam & quite its a great place to stay & value for money..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Centrally-located and convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave just 1 free small bottle of water for two guests which is quite weird.

    The property is centrally located. There's a convenience store and a restaurant on either side side. They let you store your baggage after you've checked out so you can still roam around the city without it.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel 81 Elegance traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: