Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fragrance Hotel - Emerald 2 stars

No. 20, Lorong 6, 399174 Singapore, Singapore

#314 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 775 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very good value for money. Staff is friendly and helpful, especially the cleaning lady. It is a bit of a walk to get to/from the MRT, but great restaurants are close by and also some other shops. Overall it is nothing fancy but a good place to crash for a few nights and get son rest from your adventures.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location quite far from kallang mrt.but not soo bad. stil 10min walking distance. Overall good stay.

    staff is very friendly and helpful. value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available, towels were torn or had holes in them, there was a very big mosquito inside our room and there was only one small trash bin and the room was not properly cleaned for the duration of our stay (we stayed for 7 nights).

    Comfortable bed, near the bus stop and we could see a partial view of the singapore flyer and stadium outside our window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift going down button from 6 floor is not working.

    The everyday refill of complimentary items. The staff are accomodating. The location is accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small for three people. There wasn't much room for luggage if you travel with a lot of bags. Also, it was a bit far from the MRT station (roughly 10 min walk) - wouldn't be easy if you have a lot of luggage. However, it was good value for money.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have been bigger, it didn't really suitable for a family of three with a child under 18

    The location of the hotel is excellent. It's only 9 mins walk from the MRT station and quite near to some traditional restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC was so loud I couldnt sleep, it was louder than sound of running water. Was either too cold or too hot, both me and my partner got sick

    Nice place to stay, safe and clean. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small. Asked for twin bed but beds can only fit one person. There's no food table. No carpet. No bidet in the toilet.

    The location is what i like the most. Near bus stop, smrt and food stalls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative is the location - it's a 20-30 minute trip into the centre of Singapore (walk 10 minutes then take the metro). Then again, you make up for this with money saved by staying here.

    Good value for money, nice clean rooms, friendly staff. We had no problems during our stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. the bed does not comfort, small for 2 persons and a bit dirty 2. the bathroom is really not wide and it's hard to take shower 3. the blanket is not thick and not suit for using 2 persons (in same bed)

    1. the hotel not too far from MRT-Kallang and bus stop, so convenient for travelling 2. all around the hotel quiet suit for resting and there are a lot local restaurant also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff werent friendly. One staff in particular had an attitude. Expected us to accommodate them and could not find an alternative solution or even be understanding that we are giving them business and putting our hard earned money from another country into their economy. False advertising of laundry facilities. This is what the above issue refers to. Even though it was a non smoking room, the room reeked of cigarette smoke as did the towels provided.

    Complimentary water bottles, coffee, and tea. Free WiFi also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows from the room cannot be opened so it really hard to get some fresh air, the room is really small but livable.

    10 minutes from subway which is really great, nice neighbourhood, really nice stay, close to main atractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here many times, since my last visit in 2016 the hotel has had a very good make over. Was very pleased with the revamp,much brighter in lobby, and made better use of the space.will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the 2 night shift receptions/front desk girls. Can not be any worse. Not even a welcome smile but that look was very cold. When I approached the check in counter, one of them playing online game on her mobile phone. Standing there for 10 secs, then she realized I was at the counter. Gave her my ID card and she asked for reservation number but told her instead to search under my name as I've never been asked for revsn# at other (same chain) hotels. Gave me the key card but still, not even a little smile. - 2nd day came back at night but forgot my key card inside the room, so came down to ask for a spare key. Believe it or not, one of them having a supper (a full set of burger) at the counter while playing online game. Again, stood there and she was still having the game on going. Told her I would like a spare key, then she paused her game and helped me. - Doesn't look like they are suitable for this job as there is no service mind in their services. Need some training or else they should change their job.

    Location - near bus stop, eating places and on a quiet street. Newly renovated. Good room size for budget hotel. Auntie maid was so good and friendly. Says good morning and asked if she can clean my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more friendly, they do the job well though, no emotions

    The best value for money! Hotel is new inside and clean with the highest standards! The AC is central which is great as it doesn't blow on the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a horrible noise during the noise coming out of the sewage line so we needed earplugs in order to get proper sleep.

    Clean, comfy and great value for money (65SD) for a double room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disadvantage is no nearby mall and very far from the MRT station, need to walk around 15mins to reach the nearest Kallang MRT

    Clean and friendly staff, comfortable and value the money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem, we like to sleep with the window open without turning on the air conditioner, but we could not open the windows, so we had to use the air conditioner. It is only our preference as we don't like air conditioner noise even though it was very quiet. Most people are quite happy and are used to air conditioner noise whilst sleeping.

    The beds were very comfortable, everything was clean and tidy. The bathroom facilities are new.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms extremely small, very difficult to move about or even leave ur stuff around.

    Just one nice young lady from the reception helped us with us aboout getting about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free cable tv but it's not essential since you're out most of the time.

    Very clean room, great shower and good location (train, bus, 24hrs food). Checking in and out took less than a minute!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got the cheap price at Booking.vn to stay 2 days in this hotel. Maybe that is the reason I and my husband had to sleep in 2 single bed in the room. Although i already sent them a note this was our honey moon.

    The sfaff is friendly, the room is clearly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are little small. Area is a big no for families as it was in red light district.

    Overall ambience of the hotel was good. Well maintained and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No flip flop to wear in room. Far away Kallang station.

    Very clean and comfortable. They clean up my room every morning. I love the box of orange in front of hotel. A little bit far away Kallang station but you can go by bus No.22. Really love this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not in the downtown area, but there are two train stations one can walk to.

    The hotel is very clean and the price is pretty good for Singapore. Nearby Geylang Road offers plenty of fruit shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't much not to like but be mindful of the area, it's certainly safe enough but it's worth to point out that it's very near the red light district of Singapore. Please don't forget that Singapore is a country with the lowest crime rate in the world!

    This place is quite convenient as it's near Kallang station, roughly 10 minutes walk this station is a only 4 stops from Bayfront for the gardens. There is WIFI at the hotel but there is no portable solution at the time of writing this review, it's quite a basic hotel, offering clean environment. Just don't expect luxury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    me and my wife did not sleep well as your beds was not good we both woke up with sore backs but everything else was good.....

    close to shops and fairly close to the airport ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice clean but small room with modern furniture for good price. Staff is very helpful and polite. Location is good but next couple of street are red light district. Anyway, we felt safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A shower area in the bathroom is kind of small. I hit a wall many times while showering. Also, the pillow is a bit flat. It would be great if the hotel can provide us an extra one.

    This hotel is located near Kallang station and bus stops. It's very convenient for us to travel around (In case you get off from MRT at Kallng station, you can take the bus to the hotel. It's only 2 bus stops far and if you get off at After Geylang Rd. stop, there is a shortcut to the hotel which only take you around 2-3mins to arrive the hotel.). The staffs are very nice, also are the janitors. They're willing to help you with the matters with smiles on their face. The room and bed are really neat and clean. Although the room is quiet small, but there is no problem with it because even if it is small but there are all facilities you need in side the room. My mom and I had really great 5 nights staying here and would definitely come back here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could not be opened, the air conditioning was very noisy, even when stopped (water inside)

    Value for money, very clean (room cleaned daily, towels changed, coffee and tea supplied),good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, my dad got sudden illness in the morning and when we asked about the nearest clinic to check him, the front staff ( who appeared been playing mobile games) did not show any empahty or concern just answer with cold tone. Really not hospitable

    The cleanliness, the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs do not wear a smile on their face. :)

    The location is very convenience & quite. Its very near the bus-stop to City. Overall is ok, but no refrigerator in d room even the delux.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The aircon in the room that I stayed in made loud sudden noises out of nowhere & that was quite a bother especially when I'm trying to sleep. Other than that, the location is quite far from the MRT station (which you probably already know from other reviews) & isn't really a problem unless you're exhausted from walking (like I was) at the end of the day.

    The toilet is very clean (something I really appreciate)! Everything was just nice & sufficient for my trip :) There are also a lot of mini marts around the place which is convenient for me to get food past midnight heh

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet street, no traffic noise. Lots of local eateries in the vicinity. Walking distancr (10min) to MRT. Rooms decent size for Singapore, all you need. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    need improvement of window curtain as it can not be covered the room. People of other side building can see inside the room through window.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom STANK!! Likely due to a blockage in the plumbing somewhere. I informed reception after my first night...they politely did NOTHING to resolve the stench...4 days with an ensuite STINKING of sh*t! Since other reviewers have made similar complaints it would seem that Fragrance (ironic) hotel have no intention of resolving the issue...unacceptable in my opinion :-(

    The room was comfortable, modern and clean (provided you kept the bathroom door closed to stop its stench permeating the whole bedroom!) There was no lounge/dining area to relax in, but if somewhere to sleep is all you're after, this is a good budget option. However, until they resolve the plumbing issues, the place should be avoided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for 5 days. And everytime we ask to make up the room. They didnt even change the bed sheets and the towels.

    Good value of money. Great staff. Good facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in front of the desk looks like no need any customer to check in. The location is too far from SMRT, but good enough by bus.

    There is one fresh orange juice machine just in front of the hotel. It is good. I can not like anything more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a little weird smell in it but it didn't bother me much. WIFI wasn't as fast.

    the place was comfortable and clean. air con was also cool after a long day of walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk agent is not accomodating. They don’t even smile at all. When she’s asking For my booking reference she got a bit irritated I can sense when I gave her the screen capture of my booking. She asked me to look for it on my email. Really did not what I expected because it has good review.

    Location is a bit convinient but you got to do a lot of walking.. but still fine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bidet, small walking spaces inside the room, no enclosure for the shower so the floor gets really wet.

    Efficient electric sockets and usb ports. There's also free drinks (i.e., water, coffee, and tea.)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very unfriendly and didn't even smile once.

    We liked the fact that the room was clean and the hotel was at a convenient location. We could also leave our bags at the hotel after check out.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom and shower were in a quite poor condition. The room floor was clearly not clean. The room itself is very small, and you will hear everything that happens in the corridor and nearby rooms. The staff was quite pleasant but not really helpful - they were not able to help with quite basic tourist questions.

    Price. It's very cheap while the location is well between the airport and the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel wifi was not very good, kept getting disconnected & not speedy at all. Not recommended for those on business trip unless you have your own wifi. Not a big issue but room did not have bedroom slippers & floor is very cold.

    Room & bathroom was very clean & comfortable. Check-in process was easy. Location is very convenient, only 10 minute walk to Kallang MRT station. Hotel area was safe & in a not so busy area. I like how housekeeping is done everyday so we can come back to a tidy room, very satisfying.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a double bed when booking, but instead a got 2 small bed, but really small beds. At check in the staff was a little bit rude and seemed to be upset for no reason (staff when doing check out was nice).

    Good value for money, clean room. Quiet location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor was really wet when I got in. I forgot to bring slippers so I had to step on the wet floor, simple slippers for the bathroom would have been nice. I booked a Double Room but got a Twin Room. Elevator feels a bit stuffy, no ventilation.

    Check in and check out process was really quick. Bathroom and beds were clean enough. Air conditioner was quick to get cold. Has the adequate toiletries one would need. Location is very near the National Stadium so it's very cheap to get a Grab or Taxi when you need to go there (just SGD6-8). Beds were comfortable, not great, but enough for a good night's sleep. Curtains were adequate to shut off the light completely from outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given me the last room of level 2 with huge bang sound on and off throughout the middle of the nights which caused me to wake up with frustration Please provide a better hotel room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything in this hotel. Do not recommend to anyone

    not friendly staff on the reception. the bed-clothes were torn, horrible shower (the shower streams were very thin and under strong pressure that caused strong and unpleasant sensations), loud pipes and sewerage, strong smell of mold in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a strange smell in the bathroom whenever I come back after several hours. Improving this would make the place perfect for tourists.

    Room is spacious as in pictures, warm and friendly receptionists. Around the hotel there are many famous restaurants like the frog porridge and the chili crab

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their hotel rooms would a lot be better if they would have bidet :)

    Location was near good restaurants; rooms were clean and functional. Elevator in the building is fast and always available

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A taxi ride or tube ride to marina bay area. No western food places around this area. Our uber driver told us there were alot of brothels in the area.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin (especially having a young couple next door), the beds are a bit hard (I normally sleep on a firm mattress) but they were still quite comfortable. My curtains didn’t close all the way, so I feel like the people over the street could see me walking around at night time. The drains are very loud, my drain would gurgle when my neighbour had a shower, and it would echo in the bathroom.

    Staff were very nice, it’s in a good area. I really enjoyed Singapore in general. On arrival, the staff gave me a lot of maps and info on tours in the area. Overall, there was a few minor details that I didn’t like, but the hotel was cheap and good value for money. You can’t expect a 5 star hotel for $50-$60 a night!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the front desk when we arrived was not very nice. She announced us we had been upgraded but for a room with 2 single beds (put together so that was ok, as we told her). When we mentioned it was not what we wanted, ie a double bed initially, she just stopped talking to us. We found it quite rude. Also, they give us really tiny water bottle, and they changed the towels when we didn't ask for it. I personally don't think it is necessary to change the towels for a 2 night stay. Not very environment friendly.

    It was comfy, clean and well located (10min walk from the train). 24/24 reception, the hotel looks recent and the room had a decent size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our aircon fan made some loud noise, which woke me up... we have reported it, I am sure the hotel will fix that.

    Nice clean tiny rooms. It is perfectly does the job for Singapore visitors willing to take short walk to bus rides longer to MRT (Metro) or grab a Taxi/Uber/Grab to visit the attractions. There is no breakfast offered but many food courts just around the corner to try some local food! WiFi was also quick!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lounge/common area to meet or relax in would have been welcome. Rooms a wee bit noisy with plumbing and other guest sounds.

    Late check out and ‘luggage room’. Front Desk helpful, value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one power plug in the room. High volume of water pipes coming from the wall. Shower temperature coming back and forth.

    Clean. Worth the price. relatively accessible location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower glass was too short so water splashed out by toilet and the floor every time we showered. Also expected face cloths in the room but these are not supplied. We ran out of toilet paper everyday as they don't use commercial rolls, only recycled toilet paper. Would of been good to have a spare roll left in each bathroom after housekeeping came through.

    Rooms were modern, tidy and clean and the housekeeping gave extra towels when asked. Late checkout was very appreciated. Reception Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are willing to use public transport (which is very clean, very efficient, very easy and very cheap in Singapore) this is a great little hotel. Less than a five minute walk to a subway station you can be at the gardens by the bay or any of the main attractions within minutes. My room was small and basic but very tastefully decorated and immaculately cleaned. In my Taxi from the airport the driver warned that this was the ‘red light area’ of Singapore however on this particular street I saw no evidence of this and felt very safe walking as a long woman to and from the subway station at night. The local area came alive in the evenings with many restaurants to choose from and a great little shop just at the end of the road. Would definitely stay here again as the price was well within budget and a snip of the cost in the more conventional tourist areas of Singapore.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower was not strong, local phone to reception was not working well, no refrigerator in the room, staff need to be trained on which bus to take to give proper instructions, need to be careful when taking bus returning to this location since you need to walk across the street and may easily miss it.

    Location was near airport and taxi to city would be around 10 sing dollars and to suburb is 20 sing dollars, accessible to bus stop within 3 minutes to various points, room was spacious enough, clean towel, sheets and pillow, aircon control was good, value for money was ok, maybe good for single traveller or two at most, good lobby for waiting, there is a storage room for luggage, good hawker restaurants about 2-3 minutes near the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no restaurant or cafe but there are several affordable and good dining places nearby.

    The staff are friendly and courteous. You can leave your things in the hotel's locker room before your check in time and even after you have checked out. Wifi is fast and reliable. There are affordable dining places near the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room. Shower could have be better but it did the job.

    Beds really comfortable. Rooms are quiet. Staff are great especially cleaning lady, she was lovely and respected our privacy. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows in the room are designed to be possible to open, but this was blocked on some reason.

    Small, but nice room. Fast check-in/check-out, cleanness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bath mat would have been handy, given there was no shower glass.

    Well rennovated, clean, friendly staff, and good location. Not much more you could wish for! Great value for Singapore, given we've stayed in hostels for a similar price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night it was so loud in the hotel that it felt like having 10 people in my room :( Was not easy to sleep!

    It is good value for money. Liked free water in the room every day. Room was clean, bathroom as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To be honest, at this price for a Geylang hotel, you really shouldn't expect more. But if I am to be picky, I would have hoped that the room does not smell so bad when we first came in. And the bedsheet and linen could be kept a bit drier, rather than so wet. The shampoo-bodywash all-in-one could have been better. We bought some cheap headnshoulders and some soup from shops nearby to use. The free Wifi sometimes does not connect to the Internet properly, but we got the 100GB 7-day tourist card from the airport, so we didn't care. So yeah, nothing else to complain about for this hotel really. Highly recommended.

    If you have stayed in a Geylang hotel before, you probably know not to expect too much from them. I have stayed in about 4 Geylang hotels, and this particular one has exceeded my expectations for general cleaniness, availability of all facilities, friendly staff, great location, and especially value for money! At this price in Geylang, normally hotels can be really dodgy. But this one actually became the place that my wife and I wanted to return to halfway during the day and at the end of a long day. It's just bright, clean, and classy (for this level of pricing). I also want to highlight that the location is really good. Right outside, you can find Lor 9 Hor Fun and Claypot Frog. If you are into eating in Singapore (you absolutely should!!), there are also many other great traditional famous Singapore food that originate from the Geylang area (just search Singapore Geylang food), like the original No Signboard Crab restaurant, 10 min walk away from the hotel. For travelling around, you can take buses too, the bus stop is extremely near (1 min walk from hotel), and it takes you to the city centre, MRT stations, or most other places. One night we wanted to take pictures of the Sands hotel from the opposite "shore" where the Hilton's are. We just walked out, took a direct bus (maps in your phone will tell you), and after we got off we were there. Nearest MRT is Kallang, which is two stops (10 min walk otherwise) away for quite a few buses. Use your mobile apps (don't want to mention actual names to avoid complications...) to track bus arrival time, and then you time exactly when you leave the hotel, so that you can get on the bus right after you arrive at the bus stop! A note on air conditioning. It is really good. The one at the ground floor lounge is stronger though. If you are like me who cannot tolerate the hot tropical whether, you can turn the air conditioning high until it's so cold that you want to turn it back off!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfy and clean and located a ten minutes walk from Kallang MRT station. Many eateries around. Definitely good value for the money considering we are talking about Singapore

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't disappointed by anything. The rooms are small, and two people might feel crowded, but this is to be expected.

    The hotel is close to the centre of the city, but is at the centre of night-life in Singapore. What is most important is that there are three excellent restaurants within a few minutes' walk that serve frog porridge and other seafood. There are also late-night bars and other entertainment, if the frog porridge is not enough to draw you in. There are nearby personal services such as hairdressers and beauticians that can attend to you even at 2.00 am. The hotel's front desk personnel are cheerful and friendly. The room is modern, clean, and has everything that you need, but just that. This is not a luxury hotel. The airport is only 20 minutes away by taxi, and you avoid the worst areas for traffic snarls.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood, to me, is a bit gang-like area. The hotel room is small. One or two day stays is ok. The night shift fatty front desk girl is unfriendly.

    The hotel is not too far from the bus stops. The room is clean and tidy. The bathroom is ok. The bed is so so.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much

    The hotel is located near many eateries in Geylang. The famous frog porridge shop on Lorong 9, just across Geylang Road, a mere 3 minute stroll . Also near bus stop and about 10 minutes walking to Kallang MRT

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not helpful and very dismissive to us and other guests. When we arrived a woman was complaining that someone had gone into her room and taken her jacket and it is missing. Staff didn't seem to care. When I tried to confirm no one would come into our room unannounced my question was ignored. When we left our luggage to store the staff did not seem to care about the safety of our personal belongings. We left one large backpack, one suitcase, one plastic bag and one duffle bag. She wrapped ONE tag on the backpack and handed me the other tag for pickup. I asked how do you secure our other bags so they are not taken by someone else. She rolled her eyes and asked for my ticket back saying she would need a longer tag. She comes back with a longer tag and only tags the same backpack and nothing else. So I went in and tied that tag on the duffle bag, suitcase, and backpack and took the plastic bag around with me for 8 hours. Room was a lot smaller than the photos. On the plus side, our stuff wasn't stolen.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t sleep well because we heared every wc draining and noise of the sinkers of all the rooms

    Very clean, good location close to metro, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility/room was great however, the price posted in Booking.com is not what you think it is. It would make you think you bought it at a lower price. It was not disclosed prior to booking that the actual price for booking was exclusive of taxes and service charge. It would have been better if there was FULL DISCLOSURE on the actual rate to be paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The attitude and the service of the front desk staffs is very bad, except for 1 Chinese boy with spec who served us during the 1st day we arrive, otherwise the rest of the staffs especially a lady with spec who are on duty at night on 4 Feb 18 is really bad. There are 2 incident, 1 of the night one of the rooms we stayed is running out of Toilet paper, when we called to the front desk to request to top up, the answer we got is that we have to come to the front desk to collect by our own as the staff on duty already left, another very bad experience is, when we go to the front desk to ask for extra bottle of water, the attitude of the mentioned lady especially is very rude, the facial expression and the tone she gave us is very unfriendly and rude, she even mentioned that all the conversation is recorded, and my friend is told her that it will be best if that is really recorded so that he can now tell the boss of this hotel how bad is the services of the staffs there. Well, you can always gives a different approach, we are asking in a polite way, but in return we get a pretty rude and bad experience.

    The location is good, you can get restaurant in walking distant, the room is clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing i didn’t like is that it is quite far (10mins walk) to the nearest MRT station.

    here are the things i like in Fragrance Hotel Emerald: - the location is near to the airport, restaurants, store and it is quiet - free bottled water and disposable toothbrush plus toothpaste everyday - they cleaned the room everyday without telling them - and they allowed us to leave our luggages when we checked out so we can still buy souvenirs and have lunch outside since our flight was at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not for a long stay as there's nowhere to store clothes except your suitcase. Nowhere to have a North American breakfast within walking distance.

    The room was small but all the facilities seemed brand new and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Had there been a self service laundry facility attached to the hotel, it would have been helpful for guests staying for many days.

    Quite a nice hotel which is economically priced in Singapore. Friendly and helpful staff. Calm location. 3 to 4 minutes walk for the bus stop. We stayed in a family room and it was good enough for two adults and two kids under 12. Would recommend to budget conscious families. Room was clean and looking new. Baggage storage facility after check out was useful.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fragrance Hotel - Emerald traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: