Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fragrance Hotel - Rose 2 stars

263 Balestier Road, Novena, 329715 Singapore, Singapore

#329 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprise with the big exhaust near the main door, and on the toilet. Should have made that smaller. No slippers provided and no trash bin provided at the toilet. Mirror clearance from the vanity top should not be that high.

    I like the concept of the room, bed fitted in with the length of the wall and with cove light under the bed. The vanity table is also good with water heater and blower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small... bathroom was so tiny! Hardly place to move around.. no bell boy... No laundry service.. however guest have to do their own laundry.. which is in the next block.. rooms had no windows!

    The hotel is in a good location! Everything at hands reach.. staff was very good..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. The bed linen was dirty I think they did not change the bed linen. Bathroom was dirty. Very very tiny bathroom. If you a big person you can't event fir inside the bath.

    Nothing I like about this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge in the room. I asked Reception to chill a bottle of wine, their fridge was not working and would have been nice if the property had little things on hand like a corkscrew, bottle opener, can opener etc. A handheld shower would have been good. The elevator carpet was not vacuumed maybe because the property is being renovated/upgraded. This is a non smoking property but on the 3rd night, there was cigarette smoke/smell in the room and I informed the staff who said they would get housekeeping to do a check.

    Sheets and bed very clean and extra comfy. Staff efficient and professional. Tops for cleanliness; lobby, corridor, room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor ventalation and so humid we catch flu/colds The front desk lady on our check in was ver rude and needs spanking

    The housekeeping guy on the sixth floor was ver helpful and friendly. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not what I expected from pictures, bathroom tiny and wifi signal was rubbish in the room. I felt it was expensive for what it was.

    In a busy area of town, easy to get everywhere. Staff were friednly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size and toilet is very small. Shower water splashes over toilet bowl seating area. A bit dull environment. Limited choices on TV channels.

    Little pricey but okay. The location is good and very close to public transportation. Lot of choice for Food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've requested 1 extra pillow and the ironing board + iron a day before I checked in to the hotel, but when I entered the room, no extra pillow nor the ironing board is in the room. I have to wait till the 3rd day of my 2 nights stay to receive it the ironing board because "it's occupied". I dont mind not having it because I know its based on its availability, but a little heads up upon checkin in will do! Also, the hotel's toothbrush plastic were already opened, the toilet papers were empty on the day we checked in to the hotel. It is quite disgusting and feel like someone were there before us, and its obvious.

    The lighting in the room is good. And the Aircond is awesome! Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells so humid and cigarettes. Dirty linen and toilet. The shower was just over the toilet absolutely uncomfortable and do small

    Personel très sympa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a bit too small. The pillows were really thin so there wasn't much of a neck support. TV didn't have very interesting channels.

    It was simple and neat. You get what you paid for. Staff are very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should tell customers about taxes and service fees, I was surprised when I checked out my credit card transaction (I always check it ASAP) I only found out about it when I asked.

    Has a smoking area and convenient shops directly downstairs which is a plus! Easily accessible via bus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled like cigarettes through out the duration of our stay. We were not able to shift to other rooms as it was fully booked. I was not able to sleep because I had asthma attack because of the smell.

    The staff were all helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So far so good.

    Super comfortable to stay. Near the top rated local marker and some nice dishes such as Bak Tuk Teh, Chicken rice... Easy to travel to the centre, and some sightseeing locations,... I and my friend really love this hotel. Probably we come back to this place later.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a bit tight. The door could not close properly and the pillows were a bit too soft.

    The room is clean with mirrors to create an illusion of bigger space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bidet in toilet. More channels on TV.

    Housekeeper cleaned the room every day. Free bottled waters. Very approachable staff. After check-out luggage service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms is small but it's clean, not so far from the Orchard Road, easy to catch bus. Near the hotel have many market and mall also. The staff here really friendly. I really like to stay at this hotel. Will come back here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on ground floor more spacious but could hear all the noise the staff make through the corridor to their reception area. Even at 1sm you could hear them laugh and shout.and early morning at 7am they were again shouting and speaking very loudly.

    Staff very helpful and room much more spacious than balestier.i had 2 nights in rose as my flight was delayed. The TV faces the bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    so dirty linen, looks like they never change it. smelly pillow. dirty floor until i need use towel to wipe it, a lot of dust & hairs. so small bathroom. dont want stay there anymore

    quite spacious room for budget hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not really where to start. I try: Firstly all guest check carefully the bathroom of the room. If you see photo with toilet please be carefully. directly next to is shower. There is a minimum space between toilet snd shower. Good for people who can want to do two things simultaneously (toilet, shower) because in this bathroom is possible or even harder not to do it tgether because of space. Also hard to close door when you want to shower. The bathroom has maybe 2 square metres not more really and there are sink, toilet and shower. Also this review will be helpful for manager please think about it: we spent 3 days in hotel and we recieved 6x set of toothbrusher and toothpaste. Just 2 sets are enough for stay arent ? Not neccesary to recieve 6xsets - do not really understand maybe better to save money on this and spent money for better towels or even for more towels. Cleaniness is not really good. Please clean bathroom better small room but need more work than nowdays. Also i have some other points but do not write more about it. Thank you David

    Ohhh hard to say :-/

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wi-fi signal, the smallest room I've ever stayed in my life, they didn't clean our room because we took about 20 minutes to leave the room when they first asked to clean it. The shower, sink, and toilet bowl are all squeezed up, so the whole bathroom gets wet after you shower.

    The wi-fi wasn't working in our room, so they changed our room to a better one immediately. The location was kinda nice, far from downtown, but in a good neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff Nice stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound of AC or air suction is very noticeable at night. The mattress quite stiff.

    Location is pretty good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet flush in the above floor too noisy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of cig, wasnt high floor

    Location and price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon Noisy

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet

    Room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is not good. Towel smells a little

    Comfotrable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi too bad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room

    The rooms are very cleàn. The only issue was the size. They are very very small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room service is verry bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is dirty and small

    Air-con good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location was really help-full

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its far from the city

    Its very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected the room was the same as shown in the photo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room size is a bit crowded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly and rude staff

    Near to food center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small toilet. no bolster

    comfy bed . TV channels are quite good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets are too small for 2 people

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is quite dirty, we requested for a higher level but we get level 2 only.

    The manager was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff is good friendly

    I like the place not crowded

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows

    Superior Room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy,,,,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but all you need really.

    Lovely and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Near shops and food courts. Can get cheap ubers to attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality

    Nothing was good. The room standards andand size was poor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t ask for much if it is at that price......

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No convenience parking

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free slippers

    First time we encountered that no free hotel slippers for customers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Fox channel Was played..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom quite small

    Cozy & clean

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Room too small -Toilet too small -Dont have parking facilities -Not worth for money -Can get big room at other hotel for cheaper than this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi never worked on our floor

    Clean and comfy bedding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not really strong.Room is small.

    Room Quite cosy.easy for convenience store and restaurant around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda small and squeezy. No fridge

    Place is clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    None

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is clean but small

    room is clean and has a good smell, i liked the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet too small

    The staff noticed that I had two luggage and upgraded me to a slightly bigger room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap n nice place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was very small and without a window, but I did go for the cheapest option.

    Clean and comfortable. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor WiFi.

    Small and simple, but efficient lay-out of the room. Location (restaurant, 24/7 convenience store, shopping centre).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must improve

    It's ok

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress kind of slippery. Comforter is so thin. No toothbrush in my room.

    The staffs are friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms. WiFi signal poor and no Internet connection every 15 minutes

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is very comfortable and room is really clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small.toilet ,shower too close

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE!!! WELL DONE..TO HAN & THE TEAM!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was near the window

    bed was hard

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recep attitude not so good

    Convenient

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't managed to login their wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi quite bad connection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small

    The location is accesible to hawker center ,orchard and novena.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal very poor

    All gd

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fragrance Hotel - Rose traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: