Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4 stars

390 Victoria Street, Kampong Glam, 188061 Singapore, Singapore

#184 of 450 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4193 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.1
    So so
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door Locks get broken. Reception is in the 3rd floor the elevator from 3rd to ground get broken Boring restaurant (mooi chin)

    Bed is fine. All is in cleanness

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    4.2
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Staff so so. Couple of lift not working hence guest need to wait for long durations.not worth for money spent.

    Location was good. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in a very convenient location. Great staff and service.
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - MIS Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Very impressed by the service and attentiveness shown to us by Kevan Lim. He looked after us all really well and went the extra mile to make sure we were happy and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    5.8
    Its good but not best one in Singapore.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the reception point and hottel loby, corridor and also the conference or meeting room.

    Bed and central AC were not comfortable. The smell all over rhe hottel ground was not pleasant for me. Always it reduces my hubger for food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Very Value Stay for a 4 stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was very slow during the peak because of some wedding function. I was waiting 10-15mins for the lift. Staircase climbing is not allowed due to security reason. Otherwise, nothing much to complaint about.

    They gave me free deluxe room upgrade. The room was very big and comfortable with free wifi and a free mobile phone to use. It was a very pleasant stay, the gym and swimming pool were well equipped. Bugis MRT is about 10min away, and there was some market and attraction nearby to visit to. The money is very value for a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is looking tired, other hotels quieter and more comfortable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel old and renovation cheap, lifts and escalators not working, air conditioning in room damaged and not adjustable, tv volume kept going up and down without input.

    Location was good for hospital appointments and close to MRT.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Muslim Friendly Hotel. Love!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the elevator service is a little too slow and need to wait longer in the peak hours.

    Great location with lots of eatery, muslim friendly Hotel with halal certified international food restaurant. i love the breakfast spread everyday with the different menu walking distance to Mrt station, bugis street market and shopping mall. Clean hotel, clean bathroom. totally deep sleep and very quite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location, shame about some of the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weak shower pressure, fridge didn't keep drinks cold

    Location is fantastic, very close to Bugis St MRT, Bugis St Market, 4 great Indian/Muslim restaurants on same street, Haji Lane infront of hotel. I would stay again for the Location only.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Very close to bugis mrt which is like 5 min walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to bugis mrt which is like 5 min walk Hotel staff was really nice and ambience was really good You can find lot of food restaurants beside the hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    2.9
    Poor service by the hotel.the hotel is now equal to 2 star hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room&bathroom wasnt proper clean there was smeĺl and noise of the neighbour whole night couldnt sleep. There no hot water available for the shower at all couldn't fix upon the complain.

    I didn't like any thin about the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was a nice stay and would recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included and was quite good however could be improved with a little more variety. Coffee from the machine was not nice though.

    Great overall stay, nice place for families in good location. The rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. The pool was a hit with the kids and the water temperature was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.3
    3star in my ratings
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited up to 25 mins for a lift. Average wait time was 7minutes. When lifts arrived they stopped on majority of floors even though there was no one on these floors. We were staying on the 18th floor so this became very frustrating. Another issue was the laundry, 10$ for a small wash cycle and $10 for a small dry cycle. This wouldn’t have been that bad besides the fact you had to only use $1 coins sign said to go to reception when I did they said they didn’t accept eftpos or credit card and couldn’t charge our room so I found myself walking 10 mins to the local atm machine after another 5minute wait for the lift I could start my washing. After the drying cycle finished all our clothes were still wet..... Also given my son was sick we ordered room service told food would be 15-20minutes waited 45 minutes and called them only to find out they Hadn’t even started on our food. Rooms were rather tidy though quite dated and mould was present in the bathrooms.

    Location was good, staff was ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.0
    Old & Scruffy Hotel in Great Location
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel in need of major upgrade. Elevators and escalators inadequate for number of guests. Club floor breakfast a total rip off

    Great location to access Bugis, Kampung Glam and Raffles Hospital

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not applicable, i like it.

    they upgrade to king size bed for me, love it! the room is big & clean, v comfortable. location is good, quite easy to shop around bugis area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Loved our stay at Village Hotel - Bugis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable beds, lovely sheets and great pillows. Hotel very clean and staff helpful and friendly. Great location near Arab Street and Bugis MRT station. Left our bags with the concierge while we explored Singapore and they were safe and secure. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is run down,clean but tired. Only 2 lifts working and they are slow. Floor coverings in room was plastic not carpet. As I said Clean but tired.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Super clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super clean! Friendly staff and great location. Walking distance from Bugis MRT and Bugis junction. Definitely will stay there again. Breakfast has a lot of vegetarian options. Good value

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location and the staff were helpful and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was little bit tired and a could have been a little cleaner such as under the movable seating

    Great location and the staff were helpful and professional

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.5
    Staff especially Alan Wei Lun SEAH and Wahid treated me and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is a bit tired.The common areas need a revamp.breakfast was average Just don't expect a full continental breakfast. Other than what I mentioned the hotel fine for what it is.

    Staff especially Alan Wei Lun SEAH and Wahid treated me and my family very well.I did like the location.Rooms are value for money .Hotel is fairly decent and offers a pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Overall, a simple and nice place to stay a night.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no house slipper and the floor has no carpet, so the floor is very cold. Quite uncomfortable when walking around the hotel room.

    Big space and comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Free parking and great location(near Bugis MRT).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Location is really good, close to almost every thing what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really bad to say about the facilities or services, but the building and is not brand new, not all the equipments at the gym was in working condition.

    Location is really good, close to almost every thing what we needed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel was excellent, with so many...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel’s lifts really need an overhaul. We waited 20 minutes just to get in to go up to our room. There were 4 lifts but only 2 were working. The ones working did not show which level the lift was at. There were two entrances to the hotel, from the 1st and 3rd level (lobby). From the lobby level, there were no signs stating that 2 of the lifts were not working. So people were just waiting and waiting. During the evening, my friend went down to buy food, and when she was going up, the lift could not read the key card. So the lift was just going up and down without control. It wasn’t the key card issue, because a few people tried their cards too and it did not work. It was scary.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, with so many eateries nearby. The hotel had spacious room too for the price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, near to bugis, little india and took me 15 to 20 mins walk to melion park. Good value for money. The hotel rooms are modern and luxury...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff initially put us in a room right next to a lift that was undergoing maintenance. It was soooooo noisy. We requested to change rooms and they put us in a much better room on the 8th floor. The first room was not yet renovated so I suggest you request a renovated room when booking.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The room (second one we were moved into) was renovated and spacious overlooking the pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked for deluxe room but was given superior cause interconnecting not available. i paid higher price but was given cheaper. hotel under construction. they should make up for these issues. would not recommend it

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels did get changed everyday, however some of them either has holes on it or still have stain.

    We booked "Luxury 2-bedroom suite" (50 Robinson Road, Marina Bay, 068882.) for 4 night form 22/9~26/9. It was a totally nightmare!! We got a message said they need to rearrange another apartment due to air con issues just before 10 mins take off from Perth which is very unusual. After 5 hours flight we landed and got told to meet a lady name Cecilia outside of Japanese restaurant to get keys from her. She leaded us to the apartment (18 Tong Watt Road, 238010, which located in other side of river) and roughly said this apartment is the same as the one we booked. Apparently, this is her apartment located in a private residence and completely different form booking.com. Apartment is poorly built, and rooms are very tiny. We don't have other choice but stay on the first night we arrived. After dinner we found out there are problems everywhere! Bathroom 1 drain blocked, Bathroom 2 shower head broken, no soap or shampoo, TV not working at all, no clothes hangers in wardrobe. There were people walking in and out banging door, dog barking whole night..... We sent message to Cecilia and report the problems on that night but she never gets back to us. Next morning we moved out. They didn’t apologize and still go ahead and charged us for one night AUD $309. To be honest, We are very disappointed and not happy for the whole arrangement. This apartment should never appear on booking.com. Village hotel Bugis is in a good location with welcoming friendly staff. We booked two connecting rooms and stayed 3 nights from 23/9~26/9. Although the hotel is dated but the size of room and bed are big and comfortable. Kids enjoyed the pool. Overall, we had a pleasant stay for 3 nights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    4.2
    It’s near to Arab street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the second night, we smell like the hotel was painting near our room, and the smell of paint came into our air conditioning, it’s horrible because we have baby and the small it’s very strong. The hotel give us the new room, but they didn’t explain why and how come that was happened. They should inform us first, not after we complained, it’s not good for our health, we are assuming if we didn’t complained, they wouldn’t change our room

    It’s near to Arab street

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    OK for a One Night Business Trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old, musty carpeting. Understood that the building is old, but at the very least carpet should be able to refurbish la. If you want a newly refurbished room there's an extra charge of SGD 20 per night - which, in my opinion, should be considered to be offered for free when available or at a lower price for a stay of over 2-3 nights for instance.

    Great room size, great location with easy access to transportation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall I loved my stay at the hotel, I've stayed there twice now and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would appreciate it if the hotel does not consider a booking made a few hours prior to check-in as a last minute booking. There are things that I have to accept if the booking is considered as last minute booking such as I can't get double bedding etc. I don't know what my Booking.com Genius perks is for if booking made a few hours prior to check-in is also considered last minute booking.

    I will definitely return to this hotel when I come to Singapore again. It's the most reasonably priced hotel in Singapore with an excellent location, big room, cool air conditioning, comfortable bedding, TV with accessible HDMI ports for laptop connection, fast internet connection, free parking, quick check in and friendly staff. It's one the few remaining hotels which has a smoking floor/room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff trying to convince me to pay extra get an upgrade room other wise the room I booked will not be ready for another two hours. After a tiring trip you just want to rest.ao I feel I donor have much choice.

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    Old and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old and was quite expensive. Access to floors a bit slow but probably due to one of the lifts being out of order.

    The location was convenient, shops n restaurants around and MRT

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were a bit touchy when selecting floors and would cancel out your selected floor resulting in you ending up on the ground floor and needing to start again. Only complaint and that's a pretty minor one

    Loved the location. We had a double club room and the size of the room was great with the option of 3 different levels for breakfast and 6pm to 8pm happy hour on level 18

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Place as it was very close to Sultan mosque and Bugis metro...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The halal breakfast was good but I didn't find variety in food

    Place as it was very close to Sultan mosque and Bugis metro station WIFI was very nice The free cellphone usage during my stay with amazing and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was just one small window so there was hardly any light and no fresh air at all.

    The location is great. Just a few minutes to the bugis metro station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good, would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 10 sun beds around the pool! Plenty of room for probably 30 more.

    The staff were pleasant, room was very clean. Good location to get to the Formula 1 circuit, about 20 minute walk. Also very near bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t have anything really to majorly complain about! Really enjoyed my stay! It was my first time in Singapore so it’s given me a very good first impression! Thanks so much!

    Some wear and tear in room but nothing too bad. The light in my wardrobe wouldn’t go out when I shut the doors but I understand the rooms must undergo a check so I know this will be picked up on. The shower took a while to heat up but I understand this isn’t the hotels fault at all. Only little tiny things but didn’t effect my stay really. Staff were very polite and welcoming and the room was spotless every time a clean was done. Would book again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location to Bugis village and the MRT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very dated throughout but wasn’t an issue. The toilet was really squashed in to a corner against a side wall and bath (too squashed) and a kid would struggle to use too!

    Good location to Bugis village and the MRT Staff were very friendly on what would be one if their busiest weekends (in Singapore in general) Bed was super comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m one who booked the room for my overseas Friend and her hubby who transit in Singapore for a night. This friend of mine and her hubby were disappointed that the hotel staff disclosed their stay to stranger n allows that person to came up to the room. This stranger happen to be my frenz. He thot that I’m the one who stayed there and do something bad behind his back. He took the pic of the room number and stand there for more than hours to eavesdrop. He sent me the picture of the room door. I felt so disgusted and disgraced that the security of the hotel are so bad and I felt so sorry for my frenz. It’s really created lots of uncessary misunderstandings for both of us.

    Location is good. Room is clean and neat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Spacious, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was advertised as family&child friendly. We have booked a room for 2adults and 1 child (4y) and had asked for extra bedding for the child. Nothing was done to accommodate our wish in advance. Room was with large double bed (with 2 pillows and 1 large double blanket). Towels for 2 persons only. Would have preferred a separate bed and/or separate bedding for each family member as 3 persons with 1 duvet is uncomfortable. Staff was bit slow to fulfill our request of additional towel and blanket. Would not say that this is a family oriented or especially family friendly hotel.

    Spacious, clean room. Great location in the Arabic quarters, near eateries and metro station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.1
    Convenient location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor light in room - but the helpful staff gave us a lamp for reading in bed. No bed tables.

    very good location near Bugis MRT The very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    dated hotel need refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very dated. Dust accumulate on the ventilation fan and sound coming from the thermostat is quite annoying for sleep.

    the location is very central , walking distance to bugis junction.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    a comfortable, regular stay and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in the shower the water splashed all over the floor and there was no way to avoid it. it didn't matter how you regulated the derection of the shower or the position you took under it.

    good location, all facilities also ok. however, there is nothing that exceeded my expectations

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Will definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel isn’t too far from the airport so for a 10 hours transit it was worth it. The area was also fantastic. Lots of restaurants and chic retail shops to look around. The gym was good. The staffs were very good too! Already planning for the next stay! Breakfast was also OK.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, Location, Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is a bit run-down, but it was very clean. So not really much to complain about.

    Location was the key factor. Staff who checked us in was super friendly and helpful with giving us tips about traveling around Singapore.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    I love everything about this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None! I love everything about this hotel!

    The location is very near to Singapore Zam Zam, MRT Bugis, 7 Eleven and Queen Street Bus Terminal (bus to and from Johor Bahru)! It’s really really convenient! The room is big enough and super comfortable! The hotel staffs are also very helpful and friendly! Will definitely recommend the hotel to everyone! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The attending personnel were very courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attending personnel were very courteous and helpful. Attended to my many enquiries and always with a smile. I took the family room and it was cheerfully decorated, had a little sofa bed and a play tent too! a definite plus point to families with kids. If you need tickets to Universal Studios or S.E.A. Aquarium, check out the travel agency on the 3rd floor, right next to the reception area. Convenient with good discounts!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect Location for short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls tends to be noisy along corridors. Lifts are of great issue - slow and always busy due to sharing with other businesses in the building.

    Perfect location with great accessibility by foot or local transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Weekend in Spore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet, smell along the corridor and the chair in our room couldnt be adjusted. Should put in more plain water in the room; there were only 3 small bottles each day. The towels werent folded nicely though

    Efficient house- keeping

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Maybe somewhere to have a drink and a relax. Like a pool bar area or a lounge area.

    Bed was comfy, room staff really good. Hotel going through some upgrades, so some toxic smells around lift area's only temporary I'm sure. Not really anything around the pool to keep you there. Seems a bit of a waste as hardly anyone used it. The pool was the main reason I booked the hotel, so I had an enjoyable time around it reading in peace. No pool bar or music. Great location, close to everything. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Spacious Rooms with easy access to food and transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given the fact that in Singapore most places are expensive, it was good value for money Staff was helpful Location was good. Around it many places for shopping and food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    The deluxe room is satisfactory.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upsetting service from the staff. Operator and front desk are not aligned when resolving room booking issues. Reflects badly on the service when a bride has to go down to the front desk to settle the issue in which she was locked out of her room although her reserved duration was still valid on booking.com.

    The deluxe room is satisfactory.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    Top up few more then u can stay in a even better hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason of staying here mainly is because of the location. I would say this is an old fashioned hotel but trying hard for being a four stars. Facilities are out dated, especially the lift also the bath towels are smelly and yellowish.

    Location is perfect, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed my stay; everything was neat, simple to understand and accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underneath the bed wasn't clean. The bathroom wasn't very spacious.

    Very nice window view. Very spacious room. The staff were friendly and easy to communicate in English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    The kids room was enjoyed by the kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needed updating and the elevators were slow. The breakfast, although tasty, felt rushed.

    The kids room was enjoyed by the kids. I would rent it over again just for that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff and the service they provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat too close to the wall. Even with the shower curtain pulled close water was leaking through cracks in the cement of the bath onto the bathroom floor.

    Staff and the service they provided

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi wanst working, staff advised me to leave the lugge outside of the room not informing when it would be picked up as also don't giving me twice confirmation on the pice of paper that I did left the luggage in the storage room... Room itself is avarage- not very modern, neither comfortable for that amount of money

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Will be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby can be chaotic

    Great value for a Singapore hotel. Spacious room n very clean. Great location, only 5 minutes walk from Bugis MRT n 2 minutes from nightlife at Haji Lane, 5 minutes from Chinese/Thai/local food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    It was ok overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I discovered my room was unlock after I left for the last minute shoppongbefore checking out... (I opt for late check out at 2pm)

    The location.. the view from room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Satisfied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wouldbe mich better if slippers are provided since the floor is not carpeted...however, turning the whole room into catpeted one would be a good idea

    Location wise..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Really good value and clean and comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised how good this hotel was. I had been recommended to it because of it's proximity to Raffles Hospital but the MRT & Bugis Junction shopping and eating was fantastic. The check in & out was easy & very pleasant especially since the foyer was jammed packed with people. I got a cheap room & it was near the lift well but not noisy at all & the bed was great & the sleep quality was excellent. I come to Singapore a couple of times a year and I will stay here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable stay in an excellent location
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The renovation going on The breakfast room was switched to the poolside nothing in the fridge

    A firm bed. Breakfast Location - proximity to halal food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible breakfast we were relaxing around the pool on the last day felt unwelcome as they were setting up for a wedding which took up all the space around the pool. Very noisy at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Good 😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less item in the continental Breakfast. Annoying sound from the renovation site.

    Location was good. Very close to Bugis MRT. Took family room and it was great. Secure and safe. 👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean room with a nice view . Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom is a bit small.

    Cannot fault the location of this hotel - It is situated less than 5 minutes walk from the Bugis MRT station and two shopping malls. There is also a local food market close by. Staff at front desk are helpful and friendly. We got upgraded to a bigger room for all three nights in Bugis Hotel and also got given two single beds instead of a queen as per request made during booking. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here and would like to come back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    The food was absolutely delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are too basic and plain. The corridors have a damp smell.

    The food was absolutely delicious. We enjoyed the breakfast, lunch buffet as well as in the Indian food dine in experience. By far the best food I tried in Singapore. The chef that prepared the Indian food could give the chefs in India a run for their money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about... Just that the hygiene in restaurant for breakfast needs to improve. They put it under renovation on our last day of stay. Hope it gets better with that.

    Friendly staff at the reception (Mr. Rizal). Got us checked in and provided useful information on request for going around the Bugis area. Travel agency in the hotel was good to get us good packages for tours. Location of hotel is close to Bugis Junction MRT which is ideal for going around Singapore. Masjid Sultan is close too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    cleanness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- Customer service needs improvement 2- i called many time to the operator from the room and nobody answered. and it was very hard to reach the reception, operator, luggage man. 3- i waited a lot of time for chick in.

    cleanness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    Shabby decor, poor AC (in Singapore!!!???)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to amend my booking to see my cousin who was dying in hospital. I asked whether could be done for free. Just say not possible rather than asking for proof of his medical condition. Intrusive and downright rude. No service culture other than staff on ground. Probative at its worst.

    Fantastic location. Nothing to do with hotel but 500 metros from the best Murtabak restaurant in SG. Zam Zam is magnificent. To be fair the staff are lovely. Working with a hotel that is falling apart. Bit like Fawlty Towers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Conforter cover is dirty and stained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conforter cover is dirty and stained. There were hair on the mattress cover, which I requested it to be replaced. Rain shower is leaking. Waited 15 min for lift to get to the room. The indicator is very confusing. Signal of button is not functioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.3
    Never ever will go there even if it free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess I did not like anything about the hotel for the price I paid.i have stated in more girls which are cheaper as much better.i had ask for a late checkout but I just left early.the the programme and reception was bad it was a real nightmare for me to stay in this kind of hotel after paying 166 sing dollars.just felt cheated.lat time around I had stayed in Amara for just 150 n they upgraded me mad was real good stay.

    Nothing as I felt it would as too expensive n the rooms looked old n dingy.amd the Aircon made so much noise .could not sleep well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Dissappointed with hotel policy to charge the same rate for a room that is clearly sub-standard
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room given to us was one of those that are just off the lift-area and in the corner of the building - typically these rooms are number 17 on each floor (s0 817 on the 8th floor, 917 on the 9th floor etc).. These rooms, while having the same floor area (apparently as the others on the floor) have a tiny window (around 1m wide) in the corner and have minimum natural light as a result. The shape of the room further limits the space around the bed and in general is an awkward shape to stay in. However despite these differences the hotel policy still charges the same rate for these rooms as the others where the windows are wall-to-wall across the breadth of the room. Given the shape and resulting constraints on the room, these rooms should not be charged at the same rate as other rooms.

    Staff were friendly and helpful - specially the lady that cleaned the rooms who was very accommodating and helpful to work around our schedule which was worked around medical care and support. We had problems with the air-conditioning (temperature control did not make a difference on the set temperature and shower fittings loose), which were addressed promptly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Good base for exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no extractor in the windowless bathroom. The lifts were a bit unpredictable. The doors closed too fast, which was sometimes a bit dangerous.

    The location is excellent- 5mins walk from bugis stn & kampong glam. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    We don't mind coming back as it meets our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints. It was perfect.

    Location, location, location. It was next to Zam Zam Restaurant and other halal food outlets. Central to the places we want to go to. Transportation was easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Quite Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were malfunctioning, The A/C did not work so well, they did not have showers next to the toilet only toilet paper

    The shopping malls next to the hotels, The facilities and the location was great 😃,Had a nice view, Good place for taxis

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    $60 charge for the extra bed. Teenagers are considered as Adults for room billing. 3 Adults allowed only in family rooms or suites.

    Staff was helpful. Breakfast variety is good. Luggage store facility.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: