Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 5 stars

20 Merchant Road, Clarke Quay, 058281 Singapore, Singapore

#42 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5073 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel kindly gave us a bottle of wine as we were on our honeymoon. All the staff were polite and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. The smartphone provided was really handy. Short walk to Chinatown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottle opener in room. I know you have to watch for Australian alcoholics, but we are not drinkers and had one bottle of apple cider, had to call reception twice. annoying

    Great location, especially with MRT at the back of hotel. Visually appealing, great pool, great layout, great staff. Superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff always available and very kind. Room not very big, but beautiful, well furnished, very clean and with a nice view. Perfect position for visiting the city (central and very close to the metro). Nice swimming pool, gym and SPA.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find the pool can built better. More slides and play area for kids to enjoy.my son had a fell on the rough, big rocks and had abrasions.

    Place and staff were excellent , friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We held our wedding reception there few years back and returned during our wedding anniversary, this time with our toddler. I mentioned it in passing during check-in when the receptionist asked if we had been there before. The hotel staff arranged for a bottle of red wine and a box of chocolates to be sent to the room. That was very sweet and generous of them to do so! Thank u for making our stay as memorable as our wedding reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only one small thing - the fridge was a cheap, ineffective product that was not in keeping with the rest of the room and didn't keep things cold.

    The staff were wonderful and the facilities were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a mass-market 4-star sold as a 5-star. Check-in and check-out procedures were very slow. Loud crowds of guests. The room was very ordinary with limited provision of toiletries: no toothbrushes and toothpaste. I asked for an iphone charger and concierge told us there was none available as it was “very high in demand”: if it is in demand - I cry - why don’t you make one available in every room? This is June 2018 and you are supposed to be a 5-star hotel...Come on hotels: iphone chargers, Netflix and usb ports in every room. It’s the 21st century!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much not to like. My room was a little bit noisy but that is entirely dependent on the other guests

    Great location ; friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, I didn’t have any bad experience and expectation. For me, I’m Satisfied.

    First time to stay at your hotel. I like the ambience. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The room is clean and very amazed with the types of pillows you offer in the room. Location, as Singapore is a small place, it’s accessible to restaurants, party places,shops and transport. Very good hotel for me and il stay in it again in my next visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive to eat in, but lots of amazing restaurants within a 5 min walk.

    Amazing location! Staff very helpful, rooms comfortable with everything you need in them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very comfortable hotel, breakfast was far better than we were expecting, buffet style. Rooms were well kept and clean. Pool area relaxing. Hotel had good connection to MRT line, just across the road. Hotel on Clarke Quay so access to good places to eat and drink also. All in all very good, and I would use again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a leak in our bathroom in the ceiling from the room above. Asked 2 times for it to be looked at. Stayed 8 nights and still wasn’t fixed! Just ended up putting towels on floor to collect the water. Didn’t ruin our stay but a bit frustrating.

    Location is great. Close to restaurants and shops and evening entertainment. Boat trips nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and cocktails prices in the swimming pool were a little bit higher than we expect.

    The hotel has an excelent location, it is very close to China town. The staff is very kindly and friendly and we received some gifts (a nice bottle of red wine and chocolates) because it was our honey moon. Our room had a expresso machine and capsules for free and it very appreciate to take a coffee just wake up. Everything was very clean and the swimming pool is very beautiful and confortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited options for veg breakfast. Lighting could be better

    The property is awesome, location is excellent prime in the centre of the city. Worth a stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this property.

    This is a beautiful property in a great location. Staff are excellent. MRT Station right across the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue regarding the preparation of our room which was evident after checking in, though this was quickly resolved with a free room upgrade.

    Excellent location by the river in Clarke Quay, and only a short walk from Marina Bay along the riverside; very professional and helpful staff (particularly Gayle B, the Duty Manager), who provided a free room upgrade following an issue on our first day; very good choice of food at the breakfast buffet; relaxed and comfortable atmosphere; free access to WiFi throughout the hotel; excellent service from Fiona & the other staff within the executive club, with complimentary drinks & high quality snacks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There should be one more chair in the room We had a couple massage at the hotel spa and all was good but the background music, it was not a relaxing one.

    Excellent location to explore the main tourist attractions in the down town; next to the Jubilee Walk round the Singapore River; Spotlessly clean room and comfortable bed; Relatively good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we only had a short stay, we'd loved to have stayed longer in this hotel

    Great location for access to great food and restaurants. Great facilities for kids Staff were awesome, incredibly helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wrongly booked hotel, I had to book Stamford swissotel. Room condition and Facility were not good than the stamford. But service was much better than there..

    I’ve met many korean staffs, front desk, bell desk and lounge bar they are really good. The bell desk man staffs are also very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were expensive if you only eat a small amount. If you like to eat as much as you can, the price was probably ok. We ate out. If you didn't sign up for their expensive breakfasts when checking in, you had to pay a premium on the day (a walk-in price). After travelling all day, it felt like a hard-sell. As a guest, I don't expect to pay a premium.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfy bed, large and spacious room. The staff were ever so polite and wonderfully accommodating. Excellent location - close to Clarke Quay, Chinatown. RMT station nearby. Food at the poolside bar was lovely and great value for the portion size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have a bad knee and trying to get in and out of the shower/bath tub was extremely difficult.

    everything we asked for was delivered straight away the staff on the desks were terrific and very informative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing it was perfect.

    Great location, I read before we went that it was in the nightlife area, so a little worried, never heard anything, nightlife being, lots of lovely cafes and restaurants. Hardly anyone about after 11pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were just so helpful and friendly. The room was extremely comfortable, the air con was excellent. Very comfortable bed It was so handy to restaurants and the metro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue is they don't have very great sound proof rooms, so if you're staying facing next to Clarke Quay you can hear the night music through your closed windows. Otherwise its great rooms just notices in the room amenities they don't provide hot chocolate. Also if your staying in the left side or hotel on main road, you have to walk past lobby to get to pool.

    The Premier rooms are spacious and so is the bathrooms. We had interconnecting rooms. The staff at the concierge, pool bar and lobby are very polite and ho above and beyond to help you. The hotel is located literally 2 blocks from Chinatown, and Clarke Quay central shopping mall is opposite the hotel. Location is excellent for Clarke Quay. Rooms have universal plug sockets but if you need an adapter hotel will provide.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of food and beverage was excessive in the pool area restaurant and also the bar inside. Perhaps more specials on drinks or drink and food would be more enticing.

    The room was big, the staff were fantastic and genuinely warm, helpful and always welcoming when entering or exiting the hotel. Every one of the concierge in particular were very helpful and always helpful with organising taxis and places to go. Always smiling and greeting us as we approached hotel and the foyer. Breakfast was perfect and so much choice and the staff in there were also fantastic. Very secure, safe to walk around at anytime of night and Location is fantastic and cheap to get anywhere by taxi. Less than 10 min walk to chinatown and right next to clark quay for the night entertainment and food. Even though is is a tad expensive to stay here I would go here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the street site are very noisy.

    Location is very good. Nice swimming pool. A lot of variety for the breakfast. Very kind staff ready to support you at any time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the beds - advertised to sleep 4 comfortably - the beds weee quite small. Only a small double and quite squishy. To order an extra pull out bed would cost $80 per night - even though there were no extra people staying. Was quite expensive!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    comfortable, spacious room, no request too much, well varied breakfast, great location, helpful friendly staff. nice décor, lovely pool, phone at your disposal to use around city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    View from my room is the worst, facing inside the building Bed making doesn't change bath towels. Although they explained used towel put on shower room can be changed, there was not any instruction at any place. TAXI may not be coming to the hotel and have to wait for this for 5-10 min.

    Location is one of bests in Singapore, MRT station is located within a few minuets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had a very late flight it would be nice if one could check out later than 1:0pm even at an extra cost

    The staff were always courteous And very helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool area was very comfortable clean and a very pleasant to relax Around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors were unpleasantly smelly - possibly the hotel had just finished a pest treatment and the chemical smell was residual from the treatment, however there was an unpleasant sulphurous smell throughout Level 3 during our stay. No breakfast was included, which made the cost of US$350/night seem very bad value. There are no pleasant finishing touches in the interior decor - it is spartan, no ornaments or pictures on the wall for example, and uses poor choice of wall colourings. The pool area was looking tired with cracked and stained concrete everywhere, and the whole place desperately needs an update and makeover.

    Check-in service was excellent, staff attentive and polite. Convenience for Clarke Quay is outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst the bathroom is big and spacious, the shower is above a very high bath and has a sliding door across making it awkward for us to get into and out of. We needed a hand to help get out especially after being wet. Not suitable for those with limited mobility or flexibility. This also make the clothesline above the bath very difficult to access. I would recommend the hotel changes the shower / bath design.

    Lovely room, spacious, clean and very comfortable beds. Big bathroom. The cafe was lovely, the pool restaurant was great and we loved the pool! My son especially loved the slides into the pool. Individually controlled room air conditioning meant we had perfect room temperature the whole time. Good quality bathroom amenities and complimentary bottled water were a nice touch. I had a wonderful massage at the excellent spa facilities. Josephine was excellent. We really appreciated the late checkout and the opportunity to store bags all day and stay and play in the pool until we were ready to move on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are spacious, clean and well stocked with everything you need for your stay. The included handy phone is an excellent inclusion. The staff are friendly, courtesy and professional. Breakfast provides a variety of food and beverage choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested for complimentary cakes to celebrate Mother’s day for the 3 rooms that I’ve booked. I requested through booking.com but it was not delivered to the hotel staff. Upon checked in, I requested for the cakes again. Though it was a last minute request, Ms Nayani Hewage professionally attended to my request. I was given 2 cakes instead of 3 cakes and when I requested to purchase for an extra bed she gave me a complimentry mattress instead. It was a nice gesture from her although the matress was actually a quilt cover..It didnt help much though. She was the second Guest Service Agent that assisted me. The first staff was not even helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub was a little high to get in! But other than that nothing negative.

    Lovely hotel in a great location, lots of restaurants nearby and right by the MTR station. The room was spacious and clean. We asked for a quiet room and this was accommodated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room and bathroom, very comfy beds and linen. Very convenient location. Wonderful staff that wen far beyond expectations to accommodate our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best to label clearly somewhere if the drinks in the fridge are free or require extra charges!

    The room looked much better than the photos on booking.com. It was quite spacious and really tidy. The pool was great as well, big enough for many guests to enjoy. Location is just right next to Clarke quay too if you're up for some nightlife.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were absolutely not sound proof - could hear all the noise from the corridor. The floor trap in my bathtub was also stuck - water flowed down very slowly.

    Size of the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All top hotels have good amenities. What is special about this hotel is the staff. Not just the meet and greet, but behind the scenes. Especially the staff in the dining room. Nothing was to big or little for them and with a SMILE. I have traveled a lot and all I can say is I would recommend your hotel just on the staff. Thanks for a enjoyable stop over of 3 days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like 👍

    I found the experience at the Swissotel excellent. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The facility was superb and the location so handy to Clarke Quay. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Swiss Advantage King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Comfortable and clean room. The staff went above and beyond in every way, and greeted us every time we passed them. They were great with our young kids too. Perfect. We will return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange and sometimes overwhelming smell on level 2 from the lift to the swimming pool.

    Staff were amazing - so helpful and friendly. Great pool and amenities. I thought it was a great location. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not a very smooth check-in experience. Despite every detail that had been provided, the check-in staff managed to make typographical errors when filling in my details, such as the e-mail address, the postal address, the number of guests, the number of nights. Did I need to go through and correct such mistakes when all this information had already been provided?

    Location. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My balcony overlooking a peaked roof Felt that there should have been a stand with tourist activities. I had to ask reception for them

    Breakfast excellent Used the gym everyday Water and internet in room a great bonus Only complaint was that I paid for a balcony room and the balcony overlooked a peaked roof Having access to a Laundrette on site was also an extra bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very new and nice hotel in a great location. I'd book it again. Not cheap but you won't find cheap good hotels in Singapore. I also liked the smartphone which is good for google maps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None.

    Their customer service is excellent. All the staff I met there were friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Great location also. Close to metro station, restaurants and bars. My kids love their swimming pools. There is a big swimming pool for big kids and adults and a smaller one with shallow water especially designed for small kids and baby. There are water slides in both pools for the kids to have fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pastries for the breakfast need quality improvement. Even I saw that they cook them everyday, they are not crispy at all and looks like they have been cooked 1 or 2 days ago.

    Very clean bedrooms and hotel. Very friendly, polite and helpfull staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we got upgraded to a room with balcony, but the balcony was horrible, tiny, no chairs and the room located on the 2nd floor had no view. I just wish we didn't get the upgrade because it just didn't meet our expectations at all!

    the room was big and very clean, and the staff at the check in was extremely friendly and location is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival (after 11pm) my room had a leaking toilet and based on the amount of water clearly the room hadn’t been checked before we arrived. The porter suggested that they could get the facilities ‘man’ to come and fix it. I told them they either changed my room or I cancelled my reservation, a bit rich to expect me to put up with their plumbing issues at midnight. We were then changed to another room which unfortunateley was dirty and hadn’t been cleaned properly. I had to put up with this as we had two you g kids and it was late otherwise I would have simply walked out and gone to another hotel. They tried to remedy this by telling me they had escalated it to the head of housekeeping but the damage was done and no one actually came to apologise after that and we stayed there for 5 days!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to insist on being given the room I expected. Jino worked hard to meet my expectations.

    Staff were excellent. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Loved the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel very close to the Clarke Quay MRT. Close to Chinatown. There are shopping malls next to the hotel. There are many restaurants. It is a very good hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant screwed up my breakfast order and took over 30 mins so I had to leave. I complained and within about 10 mins the Duty Manager was bringing TWO breakfasts to my room. She was awesome, but I wish they had just got it right the first time! Shower tap very old - almost impossible to adjust temperature. Water was either cool or boiling hot - never just right. Did not complain as I was too busy to change rooms or wait for a plumber.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There's really nothing to complain about.

    Fantastic hotel. Returning customer and we are definitely not disappointed. 10 out of 10. For kids the highlight was certainly the pool. As for the adults, everything was great, comfortable beds, functional bathroom and fabulous breakfast. Location excellent, near the river, but only 15 min walking to Merlion. As I mentioned in my last year's review, this is our hotel of choice for Singapore. For years we were looking for the right hotel and we now have the winner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like coming back here for business visits primarily due to the location and ease of travel . Rooms and breakfast are good and service has always been good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tiny Beds (for such a large room). I was very annoyed when I asked for a late checkout and was told that this was not possible because next day was full. I asked to speak to the Manager who then said I could have it, until 6pm but I had to pay half day rate - I refused this, and in the end she agreed to give me a 2 hour later checkout (which is all I really wanted) BUT why did I have to speak to the manager for this ? And why do front office staff give rubbish answers that next day was full when clearly, if you agree to pay half day rate, you can stay until 6pm !?!??!

    Large Rooms, Laundry room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was told my birthday cake is ready, I asked for it to be delivered in my room, it never came. I asked if possible for a late check-out and was told its a full-house and won't be able to give me one. When I asked again until when I can check-out if I pay, I was told my room was free till 6 PM and I can do a late check-out. The plants at the window sill are almost all dead. Poor things.

    The pool, executive lounge, breakfast spread and Aubrey who gave me a good suggestion of upgrading my room instead of paying extra for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pricey that’s why didn’t opt for it.

    Great location, it is in the heart of Clarke quay but the room was very silent. The staff from A to Z were so helpful and positive. Being right next to the MRT is a big advantage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room should have had a coffee maker and the food/drinks overpriced.

    The swimming pool was a major attraction. The concierge staff and front of house staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like about the hotel.

    We liked everything about the hotel from the service of the helpful and efficient staff to its location, the quality of our room, the view over Clarke Quay and the provision of the Handy phone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    About 10.30pm when going to bed, lots of shouting and partying noises began. It was obviously groups of people drinking and cheering each other on. It lasted until 3.30am. We did not get a wink of sleep. The hotel is next to Clarke Quay but having recently stayed elsewhere just round the corner in the same area for the last two weeks where we did not have this problem, it was quite a shock. We had to get up at 4.30am to get to the airport so we flew home on a 13 hour flight with no sleep. It is really bad that a hotel of this rating does not have sound proofing in those rooms that face noise. Deeply disappointed. So glad we didn’t stay there the whole holiday. Would not stay again.

    The room and bathroom were as expected for the star rating of the hotel. Worth paying extra for a room with a balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not included in the deal. It seems expensive to add it on at 40 SGD while there are a lot of cafés and restaurants just next door.

    Clean and quiet. Good location. Not far from the airport. Staff very professional and courteous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The extra service which i liked that the hotel provide in each room a mobile phone with FREE unlimited internet and calls which thy can use during there stay in the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Singapore is fabulous but very expensive especially alcohol. Food is of a high quality so shop around for deals. The breakfast at hotel was in region of 90 dollars for two which is way over the top. Hotel was in great location right on Clarkes Quay which has many restaurants and bars. Tip go early and buy your drinks during happy hour. Use the MRT for getting around as it is the best way of seeing the City.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We weren't able to check in as early as we would have liked but I understand availability affects this.

    We stayed here as part of my birthday trip and even though we didn't notify the hotel this reason, they gave me a really tasty mousse cake birthday cake complimentary which I think was a really nice. The room was always clean and the bathroom was a nice and proper shower (I HATE BATHTUB SHOWERS). I definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast and general standard of food very expensive for what you got. For example s$23 for two coffees by the pool that were barely drinkable. Good coffee across the road at a cafe was s$5. Breakfast not included , rooms very average, poor layout, awkward bath and shower access and rooms expensive given other places we have stayed. We have stayed at the Swissotel a number of times over the past 14 years but I think we will be looking at alternatives on our next visit.

    Location was excellent and pool was great for kids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The in house breakfast was expensive, but we ate elsewhere so not really a problem

    The location of this hotel was excellent. We loved being close to all of the bars and restaurants in Clarke Quay, also the direct access to the MRT. Love love, love the use of a smart phone also access to portable Wifi. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa - I have some feedback on the spa; getting appointments and bookings, and figuring out what times were available seemed more complicated than it needed to be, especially for the price point.

    Room was lovely. Check in was easy. Bed was comfy. Everything in the room was very clean. Nice size tv, and helpful extra toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location in the city centre with a lot of restaurants nearby. Great pool and awesome breakfast. Executive lounge was well maintained and staff was extremely helpful. This was my 2nd time in this hotel and surely there'll be a third.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "no trouble at all sir" attitude of staff, The pool and surround served for a great relaxing enclave from the brilliant bustle of this fantastic city. poolside diner and bar served their purpose to the full, try it !! well situated hotel,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the breakfast could be priced more realistically? Think $40 per person is a bit too much, found lovely cafe at the end of the street, both ate very well for half that price, fresh food in a quiet atmosphere.

    Room was lovely, bed very comfy, great to look out over the pool area as well. Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I regret that I could not stay longer.

    Although we arrived much before check-in time (at 11:00 a.m.) we already got a room. The vicinity to Singapore's main attractions, to the MRT, and to restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Bar Area. Not Set Up for entertaining. Should have a daily jazz or any other entertainment so we can stay and talk with friends instead of moving to another bar!

    Great Location! Great Employees in the Reception Area and Concierge Area!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff open my door with his own key ,I told him to wait but he open my door. That is the part that I am very unhappy,this is my first time that I stay in a five star hotel with no toothbrush ever 3 starts have it. I will never book that hotel again.

    Cross to Chinatown I can have all kinds of food I like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room door should have been checked if it was working instead of trying to fix it st 11 pm at night when complain was made.

    I was upgraded to a higher floor with a king size bed, when my room door couldn’t lock! Thank you to duty Manager!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: