Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4 stars

5 Coleman Street, City Hall, 179805 Singapore, Singapore

#197 of 475 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4159 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is actually 2 towers Excelsior & Peninsula. We were in the Peninsula. The hotel was a lower standard than expected. The room was quite small but clean. The inward opening shower door meant we had to try & squeeze in sideways between the door & wall. TV rarely worked, bar fridge was missing a foot so it tipped over if you opened the door. Overall just very average but a good location.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Could do with a bit of a spruce up though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we’d booked months ago when we arrived we were offered a double bed room on the smoking floor or two singles elsewhere in the hotel. We opted the double, but immediately regretted it when we stepped out of the lift. The entire floor had a very strong smell of smoke. When we got into our room it was nicely presented ( though a little tired - needs a refurb) but there was a slight smell of smoke there too. The mattress was very firm.

    Location was brilliant. Close to so many things. All staff were friendly and helpful. Great views from our room. Good breakfast and in room dining.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    The location of the hotel is very close to raffles city and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsistency between rooms decor between the two towers. The excelsior tower rooms are more modern whilst the other tower has had renovations but it looks tired and need of a revamp especially the doors as you can hear everything from the next door room.

    The location of the hotel is very close to raffles city and city hall which is a quick walk through capital mall and food court nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Peninsula Excelsior
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On arrival I was given a room on the 17th floor (1733). I was very disappointed with the condition of the bedroom and bathroom. In the bedroom there was thick black dust stuck to the sprinkler head and also all around the aircon outlet. there was also dust on all the skirting boards and in corners of the room. The bathroom had black all around the grouting and the window blind was in a poor condition. After contacting reception and being passed to 3 members of staff before I was passed to the Gentleman who checked me in, he decided to come and look. As he entered he agreed it was in an unacceptable condition and immediately took me to view another room. it was a larger room (1731) and was in a better condition and was a lot cleaner. I decided to change. After returning after business meetings later that day I went for a shower, considering the size of room, the bathroom is very small. The shower curtain was in poor condition and I had to have the maid change it as it had a very bad ammonia odor. The maid changed it and apologized saying that even washing it would not remove the smell. The rooms in this hotel are in need of refurbishment as it lets the whole hotel down. Another issue was the bed, for me it was too hard and after 3 days I did not sleep well at all. The last comment is that on our last day 17/9/18 after checking out we decided to go for a drink in the lobby bar near the reception desk. We sat at a table waiting for a menu and to be asked for our order. The girl behind the bar called YoYo looked at us and we expected that she would take our order. After her serving 2 people and taking orders from the Pool she just ignored us. I then asked her why she had not served us and she quite rudely said it was not a waiter service and we should go to the bar. If this was the case she watched us sit down and after that did not make any contact with us to say we needed to order at the bar. Her attitude was quite disgraceful. Not a great experience at all.

    All common areas were clean and tidy and the location was good. Close to Clarke Quay and also for the Formula 1. Good taxi supply outside hotel also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfy hotel at a reasonable price (for Singapore) in a prime location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi can be intermittent and slow at times.

    Facilities were nice. A little dated, but that actually helped with the charm. Location is excellent and staff were quite friendly. The property is very clean too, which is so important for me when choosing a hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Never again
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was overwhelmed at the sheer number of noisy, unruly and badly behaved guests, especially the children. The buffet meal times were like a 'rugby scrum'. I chose to eat at another quieter location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities and staff at the Sky Lounge (we had a club room) were superb, as was the view! We had an issue with road construction noise in the early hours of the morning and the staff handled this fabulously finding a temporary room for us immediately (at 2:30am) and a permanent replacement room the next morning; excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction next door was extremely noisy all day long from early in the morning till late in the evening! Couldn’t use the pool due to the excessive noise and the fact the workers were looking down onto the pool! Really think there should have been full disclosure regarding the noise.

    Staff were very friendly and the location was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location in the heart of the city, public...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning service could be better

    Excellent location in the heart of the city, public transport availability, helpful staff, room was rather spacious, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was small and awkward to get into

    We paid for a room on the 22nd floor (top) which gave us some extra benefits and it was well worth it. Great views from the outdoor decks with a complimentary drink in hand.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Stay was pretty good, cosy and unforgettable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel rooms look like old little bit. Some repairing works will be good in order to get the highest satisfaction of clients.

    Location of the hotel is really perfect. Next to all the main places to be visited in Singapore. 10 minutes walking to Clark Quay and Marina Bay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Combined with the excellent staff service and the hotel facilities, AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    Honestly I had the absolute best time during my stay at the Peninsula hotel. The staff was amazing. I prepared a special surprise for my girlfriend and they helped me out, I got a room upgrade with the best view of the Marina Bay!!! Incredible! I am so thankful with the staff, specially Jun Feng for being very professional and helping me out!! I will totally recommend this to my friends, just for the service alone! The hotel itself is great too, with great view and a nice pool!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice place with good location to the metro but would pick a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a pool which was nice but there were work men painting walls etc and construction across the street so it was very noisy. When you look closely at the bathroom you see messy walls - paint and plaster works are messy and uneven with lots of mistakes.

    Room had a great view over the park and there was a very spacious bathroom with shower and bath. The breakfast was good with lots of different types of food. We asked to extent our stay until 6pm on our check out day and they were fine with it but we paid for half a day's room charge. Close to metro station and aircon shopping centres with good food courts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    It was a pleasant and enjoyable 2 night stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more impressive lobby

    The room was clean. The staff most courteous and very helpful with arranging our tours at a moments notice. Thanks to the very knowledgeable concierge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Best view of Marina Bay Sand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day we arrived there were some constructions near the building

    Best location - good view of Marina Bay Sand with partial view of Singapore flyer, suitable for taking photograph and inexpensive cost, near City Hall MRT and near Peninsular plaza

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Over all a good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked I was told that I need to give my credit card details as a security for no show i did as asked but the amount for entire duration of my booking was debited. Since I had booked nearly three months in advance I feel it was un just to charge the amount in advance in fact the hotel should charge a deposit if one day as security for no show.

    Service with a smile

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    The efficient help from lobby staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The change of room from our original booking. The room provided was not up to our expected standard. Wished the alternative pool was working. The main pool in front of the reception was not inviting especially with all the children and in full see through glass.

    The efficient help from lobby staff. The great view from our chosen room. The bonus extras from the upgrade.* The acknowledgement of my wife's special birthday and the change of room after our comments regarding problems with 1st room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, easily to move around the city by bus, mrt...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometime, there's something not smell good in the toilet. We could not find out where it comes from.

    Great location, easily to move around the city by bus, mrt or walk. Bed is big for 4 persons like us (2 adults and 2 children).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Please ask hotel realease deposit of 300 usd to our account ms hoang thi thanh thuy. We have paid 23
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please ask hotel realease deposit of 300 usd to our account ms hoang thi thanh thuy. We have paid 23. Ssd for lunch by cash already, tks p

    Please ask hotel realease deposit of 300 usd to our account ms hoang thi thanh thuy. We have paid 23. Ssd for lunch by cash already, tks , for room rate i have paid 20 million vnđ bẻfore the trip

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Good base for exploring Singapore. Walking distance to a lot of must see places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms comfortable, clean and good size, but bathroom a little dated and due a revamp. Very busy at times.

    Good location close to Raffles Hotel, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay. Easy walk to the Esplanade and Gardens on the Bay. Great view of the Marina Bay Sands Hotel from room on 14th floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was very enjoyable, it was very hot but fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely, but the bar was very slow and didn't serve drinks after 10.30pm. You get what you pay for and for the price we paid we were very happy.

    The location was perfect very central. The rooms were OK the bed were a little hard. Have a good breakfast choice we also eat in the skyline restaurant the view was lovely food was a little on the cold side, but there are a lot of places to eat out side the hotel across the road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Large room on corner of building with great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had bad smell, suggest drainage problem. Staff apologetic but did not give confidence matter would be addressed. Check in took ages, much longer than is necessary. Although bookings were made months in advance requesting rooms near each other, it was still not possible to accommodate that request. One person at bar in reception area, slowest beer tap ever.

    Large room on corner of building with great view. Good location, 15 min walking distance to the Bay. Surrounded by many shops and eateries. Consistent Wi Fi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in our preferred location near the National Gallery of Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool was relatively small. Lucky for us, not many people were using the pool when we were using it; otherwise it would be very crowded. Swimming towels were not available at the pool. We found out that we had to collect the towels from the gym. Construction was underway on both sides of the Sky Lounge - potentially the view from the Sky Lounge will be blocked in future.

    Location was perfect for us as we wanted to visit the National Gallery of Singapore (in the next block), the Merlion waterfront and the Gardens by the Bay. The Sky Lounge balcony was perfect to view the sunrise and sunset over the bay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and bed rather firm. Could do with an update

    The location was great, short walk to Clarke Quay and Raffles City. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay there again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the smell ofthe hotel almost unbearable, oth in the foyer and in the room. The hotelis ld, and the moment we walkedin, we found a notice that the place had just been sprayed for pest control, which I found absolutely unacceptale for having travelled seven hours and looking forward to a good restfulbeautiful room, to be faced with smell and pest control.. In addition, would appreciate if these hotels would notify prospective guests that there are roadworks all around the hotel. It does not make for pleasant environment when arriving fr a break. Having said all this, I asked reception for a differentroom and they went outof their way to give us what would probably be oneof their bestrooms, and that is much appreciated, however could not escape the smell in the foyer, the roadworks, nor the sight of peoplein the pool which was in full viewof foyer and allguests walkingpast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service people at reception and morning buffet were not at all welcoming. Very sad, because the view, the place and comfort are brilliant.

    The view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Five day visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unfortunate building works close to hotel. Having a room backing onto a utilities room and the noise from same of a morning!

    The area surrounding and accessability. The close proximity to transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Safe, central, convenient, firm bed and comfortable room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ate in the floor 22 restaurant and the meals and drinks were not hot. Recommend a cover on the food brought up from 5th floor Restaurant. Had to ask that the air con was turned up as too cold. Otherwise everything was good

    Safe, central, convenient, firm bed and comfortable room and ensuite. We were in 2105 so ate in the restaurant at 22 floor and great view over the city. One night had guests to dinner and we enjoyed the drinks, menu and atmosphere Lovely staff, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Very very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fan on our air conditioning only seemed to run on high which made the room cold very quickly. Yes we turned up the temperature to counteract this but would have liked less of a breeze.

    Our second stay. Loved the Cub room and the Club Lounge. What a great view especially for the fireworks. Your staff are your major asset. Such a bonus 2 garments laundered free each day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    Location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 There is a construction build up just next to the hotel in this case, it is extreme noisy in the room and I think this will continue maybe 1 year. 2 Check in staff is Malaysia, and it is really hard to understand his English with bad manners. 3 Room isn’t big. Of course I understand this is Singapore with this price. But facility in the room is outdated with bad smell. All in all, I don’t recommend this hotel. It seems it is the worst hotel I have ever lived till now.

    Location only. Just 5 mins walk to city hall MTR. Housekeeper is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    The location is fine, but it is a old building, but they could have been more caring for the guests. In the end it is a
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were not ready as my booking request. The bathroom has a funny drain that washes out the whole bathroom if you don't take care. They always forget to supply enough towels.

    Location is very convenient!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    As expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Construction site next door, quite noise in the daytime. Walk to the metro station is a little bit long. 2 mins walk to bus stations.

    Room is ok. Good location, can walk to many places. We didn't book breakfast, but there is a little cafe to the hotel entrance which solved our breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Good Location, Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been more cleaner and customer oriented. My room had construction site view and was noisy at times, which was disappointing. Fridge had fungus and was broken which was replaced after reporting. Some fixture in the bathroom was broken which was fixed after reporting. Bathtub was dusty. Hotel should have checked these and rectified the problems before renting the room.

    Good Location, Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.2
    Below average for the price I paid. The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired and dated and some very average businesses and clubs in the building

    Hotel is tired and dated and the aircon in the room and had two speeds.......really fast and very fast. Felt like I was sleeping at the end of a runway as the aircon was so noisy and draughty and could not be turned down or the airflow redirected

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel location is great for people who on business trip...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked for 1 night stay but due to my biz appointment i needed one more day, when i extend the stay the cost of the room is more expensive than what we paid for the first night.

    The hotel location is great for people who on business trip as well as night life, the hotel is close to Clark Quay. Make sure to book your stay in advance, if you happen to extend your stay. Make sure to confirm your extend day cost.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    My friend has bad experienced when we ate our lunch at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My friend has bad experienced when we ate our lunch at Spinelli Restaurant, she kept on vomiting for 3 consecutive days. so our itinerary was spoiled because of her condition. We wanted to complain right away at Spinelli Restaurant but my friend doesn't want it to avoid inconveniences to your part and our part as a guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Great Position, Very friendly and helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like --- If you book on line, make sure you compare the bill at check out time with your booking amount. Mine had gone up and I didn't have the time or the inclination to argue about an extra $50 per night.

    Great Position, Very friendly and helpful Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    I liked the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i liked the staff on the concierge at the ground floor. they helped us in getting a taxi to the airport.

    I liked the place. It is easy to go to and from to any attraction. it is very near to other places . the reception on the ground floor are well trained.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    Great location close to train and bus facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra bed booked, wasn’t ready until we had checked in and paid full amount in advance. Every interaction with reception took 20-30 minutes. Staff made a simple request overly complicated. The standard and cleanliness was poor for the cost of the rooms. Overpriced for the quality

    Location, perfect for getting to most places

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was in serious need of a renovation. The cost of this hotel per night is not value for money but that could be related to Singapore. I booked into the Peninsular but was put in the older Excelsior.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    Poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? Rooms aren’t as shown online, if you want a nice room you have to pay club prices and I wouldn’t bother. Breakfast wasn’t great, seemed to cater for Chinese travelers and we both suffered with a sore tummy. I found this hotel experience poor, and expensive- this is my second trip to Singapore and I won’t be staying or recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    An awesome place to make our new "Singapore Home" for future trips ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    The view of the skyline was simply spectacular and we admired it every single morning and evening. Location is perfect as just a short walks to the City Hall MRT and from the Quays (Clark and Boat Quay)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    It was adequate for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled stale even though we’d asked for a non smoking room it smelled as if someone had smoked in there often.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Room presentation and comfort excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast charge excessive and so we did not use restaurant. In comparison with all other hotels on this trip, your breakfast charge was by far the highest.

    Room presentation and comfort excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Very central and the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little off putting be asked to pay $100 deposit even though we had prepaid for the room. Supposed to be covering the minibar ? The quality of tea and coffee in the room could be improved.

    Very central and the staff were very helpful. Room was very comfortable and well decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Dated service with a structure to match
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room 1717 two nights and changed to 2117 as 1717 had an ant investigation in the room Water pressure too low Drainage slow Ceiling heavily molded Shower glass doors had big gaps causing risks from slipping in the bathroom Extremely slow check in process Rude/aloof reception staff at 10pm Cleanin staff/chambermaids focuses on deep conversations amongst themselves The best staff was the young porter at the door while I was waiting for my taxi on 28th June

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Concierge staff were attentive and helped us with our bags upon on arrival and also when we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking in process took quite some time. The rooms could do with an update. Shower is over the bath which was not ideal for 2 of the travellers out of the 4 of us due to back conditions. There were no face washers provided.

    Beds were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Peninsula Excelsior excellent located to explore Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the airco is turned off the room smelled a bit.

    Peninsusla Excelsior is very well located for sightseeing in Singapore. The hotel is very good value for money considering you are in Singapore. The sky lounge has very nice views and drinks. Great for a night cap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location for sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom floor leaking, reported without response 3 times. Requested extra towels, room staff unable to provide. Bath over shower difficult to climb in and out off and dangerous with wet slippery floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    understand noise but management keep lying to guest about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    construction work going on 24 hrs a day they did a concrete pour thru the night out side our window no sleep for 2 nights management keep saying noise stops at 6 30 but 100 guys worked thru the night making noise

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Our room had a great view facing the Fort Cunning Part.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ventilation of the bathroom is terrible, takes a long time for the bad smell to go away. The hotel itself is kind of old.

    Our room had a great view facing the Fort Cunning Part. The location is very convenient to bus stops and is within walking distance to major tourist attraction.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    - nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wifi was unfortunately not very reliable. If one has to work via VPN it is almost impossible.

    - nice hotel - very clean - comfy beds - bigger rooms as others in the same category in singapore - superb location, just next to city hall station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Old hotel, great location, brilliant view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is quite bad and service can be pretty slow. One night I didn't have electricity in my room the whole night.

    Gave me a free upgrade. Excellent view from the 22nd floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an old hotel and with an odor from the toilet and the air-con needs changing and cleaning up. We had a problem with the wifi and it took front office a while to resolve this.

    Good location with less than 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT. Reasonable size and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is good near from city hall mrt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good near from city hall mrt...n I think that near from everywhere...there's so easy to looking for food...many option for that. Comfortable bed and big room and good view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    The location was great in middle of city the room was good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar lady showed no real interest in what we were after for drinks checkout was bizarre

    The location was great in middle of city the room was good too and the beds very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Really like the location, easy to walk to places and plenty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very hard, wouldn't like to have slept on it for more than 3 nights as was quite uncomfortable.

    Really like the location, easy to walk to places and plenty of restaurants only 10-15 mins walk away. Rooms are a good size too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was unstable.

    Location is very good, near to the City Hall Station. They gave us free room upgrade (with the MBS view!) special thanks to Harry!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that let our two night stay down was the breakfast? If I was to mark it out of 10 I would give it a 4. It’s a shame because they have the facilities to make it good but it is far from good. The second morning we did not have breakfast at the hotel even though we had already paid for it.

    Great location and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect, only 2 minutes from the MRT and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a smoking room next door and you could smell the smoke through the gaps around the connecting room door.

    The location was perfect, only 2 minutes from the MRT and about 15mins walk to China town. We took our luggage on the MRT and only paid $2 each way to get to and from the airport. You could get anywhere in the city easily from here which is what we loved. We didn't include breakfast in our stay so can't comment on that. The room itself was pretty nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Very much below expectation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our toilet STINKED. It had a really intense sewage smell, which was quite nauseous. We did ask to change room but we left early in the morning and honestly we were afraid they were going to place us in a worse room. The check-in process was terrible as well. The staff barely spoke any English and the gentleman who did our check-in was quite unhelpful. He said he was only going to charge a 100$ deposit, which he didn't and charged the full stay, and didn't even explain that we were staying in a different tower. The check-out process was awful. The total amount of our stay had been charged already and they wanted us to pay again. Imagine trying to explain this to someone who doesn't speak English (which to be fair, it's per se a bit odd in a 4 star hotel). Lastly, we were quite unimpressed with housekeeping/reception. We called reception because we needed an iron and it took about 45 min to bring us one. We had to call 3 times the reception because we were late for a dinner.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It's a 5/10 walk to the Riverpoint/Clarke Quay area, which is full of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.2
    Just fine, no second time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm not sure if most of hotel in Singapore has no bidet or just some hotel, but I think it's not too good that 5 stars hotel doesn't has this facility. Moreover, the coffee provided in the room are not should be provided by 5 stars hotel. Overall is not meet my expectation. I also can't believe that I forgot stuffs at the room but the hotel staffs include maids could not locate it, so I lost my stuffs for this hotel. That's all right, it also my fault.

    The location of the hotel with near by MRT, Esplanade, and Merlion Park.. Nice view of the rooftop bar, I like dry Manhattan(cocktail).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    3.3
    Do not always believe the pictures/photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We checked in the hotel at the about 11 pm (room 1400) in the evening and tired. Expecting the room like in the photo. :( Enter the room as cold as freezer!. the temperature could not ajust at all. I have to weak up every 1 hour to turn off and on again. The 2nd day it's repaired.. not cold but still could not ajust! it is horrible!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    Room and View was Nice
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was " Dry" meaning just like an automat doing his job? Yes but not interested in answering my question in relation to their own restaurant or my questions in regards of specific foods near by. Was expecting a better front desk service.

    Room and View was Nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on booking are old. The pool view is covered by another building. The room was not clean. We had dust on the furniture and the bathroom was nit very clean. The hotel is old and not very well maintained

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at hotel and loved the city but be prepared for the humidity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom curtain and shade show black spots.

    Excellent breakfast. Very convenient location. Economical shopping and restaurants within one block and high end stores one more block down. Metro train also two blocks away and many buses going in all directions. Construction in front of the Peninsula tower seem likely to continue for a long time. Recommend getting a room in the Excelsior tower for less noise and great view toward the mountains.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    It was situated in a good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was oldish. Bathroom could have been renovated. There was no mini bar or room service order menu. Very basic accomodation.

    It was situated in a good area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location with great service!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested for a free late check out and was pleasantly surprised to get the room till 6 pm without any fuss. A rare thing these days! Much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    a bit disappointed with the room, the place is aging now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the cleaning/maintenance staff were very unhelpful. We understand it is a humid atmosphere but the visible mould in the room and the un cleaned filters in the air conditioner were beyond acceptable. The smell hit you as soon as you opened the door & not healthy. We were told it will be a few days before they could get to it & repaint. It needed to be cleaned with sanitisers not just repainted which was not done. The safe also did not work & again were told it will be a few days to fix. We only stayed a few days & with no room change offered so we put up with it. The bed was rock hard too but the rest of the facilities were all fine.

    Facilities on offer & position is fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    A good place... Staff and managers feel that it is enough and excellence in service is not required.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is not the first time I visited this hotel, my first stay was excelent, however for now something goes wrong with the hotel. Cleanlines deteriorated strongly; too many dust was on nightstand and behind fridge. This may cause danger especially in case guest have allergy. Bath robes were provided only upon request. Sometimes room service staff did not provide towels so upon upon arriving to hotel the first thing we had to do is to call a reception with a request to bring towels to the room. The qualuty of service was in strong depence on the mood of staff. During breakfast empty plates were removed from the table with their sleeves over our plates with food. Even sometimes members of personel touched head with a sleeve taking away plates from the table.

    Hotel is situated in the center of the city. It takes few minutes to go to the metro station from the hotel. Marina bay (the opposite side is in 10-15 minutes walk on foot from the hotel). Several big shopping centers are close to the hotel. Also there was a very good view from my room on st Andrews cathedral and city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Great and convenient location. Hotel is looking a bit tired and needs a good clean up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds are rock hard and that's fine if that's what you like. The shower didn't drain properly so we had to turn the water off during the shower so that the floor didn't flood. Bathroom was a bit mouldy in the shower recess.

    The location is great and convenient to MRT. Able to walk to a lot of attractions. 2 swimming pools. We were lucky enough to get a room that was not on the same side as the construction site next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    Love Singapore!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ohhhh,.. need some refurbishment, TLC. The bath tub need some good cleaning everyday, I think from previous usage before me, spots some line of stains when in/ taking bath. Just need to check the hygienic properly from time to time, especially in busy lodging premises.

    I like the location. Very convenience for everthing: eating, transportation, place of interest and so on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were renovating the room across the corridor until 10.30pm! Despite calls to reception to complain about the noise.

    The view from our room over to the Bay was spectacular. Room 2200

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money but you need to be used to ice cold temperatures
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon. It was ice cold when I entered the room and I tried to adjust the aircon but it did not work. I needed two quilts to not freeze

    Nice room and the to Marina Bay was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff were frankly - rude, though others were superb. Don't expect to enjoy a late night at the Sky bar, better to venture out.

    Rooms were comfortable and clean. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Peninsula Excelsior Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: