Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fragrance Hotel - Ruby 2 stars

No. 10, Lorong 20, 398730 Singapore, Singapore

#264 of 449 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1558 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    4.2
    First and Last
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheet wasnt that clean. And nobody come to clean up my room. No refills for my water bottle all that. Staff face wasnt that friendly. Loud noises during early morning 2-4am ppl talking damn loud and wifi sucks. Room size damn small, different than the one posted online

    Nothing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Bad/no sleep, good location. Close to MTR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like a brick. Asked for more blankets to pad up the bed. Nothing worked. I'm serious, the hardest bed I've ever had. This hotel isn't even for a one night stopover, you'll get no sleep.

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Not so bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleazy lorong. Eatery nearby is not so economical despite being a normal coffeeshop. Toilet is very small as compared to other Fragrance hotel. Front staff take own sweet time in serving customers.

    Comfortable and clean enough. Complimentary beverages and toileteries provided.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    Room stunk of sewerage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stunk of sewerage. Only issued 1 room key card when card is required to operate power in room and to access lift - meaning that if 1 person goes out they have to get staff to operate lift for them and the person left in the room has to open door to let them in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel should provide small refrigerator and cupboard for the clothes.

    Theres a lot of restaurant nearby,mrt are near,and bus stop as well hotel are clean for sure I will recommend to all my friends who want to visit singapore.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    All good except for the toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seating arrangement is weird. It faces the wall, but there's barely any space. People with long legs struggle.

    Although the room is small but it's neat and tidy and have the basics you will need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Accessible to MRT, staff is friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no slippers provided and they didn't put extra towels on the 2nd and 3rd day after I asked for a makeshift of room. I wish they included breakfast options.

    Accessible to MRT, staff is friendly and courteous. Clean property, too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    everything was fine except for the inconvenience of having to stock on ice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they could not provide a fridge in the room nor do they have one in the lobby to store diabetes medications, it is very inconvenient to stock up everyday on ice from 7/11 store to keep our medications cool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel to stay in at affordable rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sound insulation. Strategic location where eatery, bus stop, and train station are within walking distance. Good hotel service and the rooms are clean. All essential facilities such as clean towels, toothpaste and etc are provided. Excellent wifi service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    lovely place for its value, though a few blocks away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they keep deposit hence no prepayment policy :(

    lovely place for its value, though a few blocks away from the nearest train station, you may find here the nicest indian cuisines :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    The pillows in my room were in yellowish color, I was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows in my room were in yellowish color, I was wondering if they did not change or the color could not be washed away. I have no idea what is the condition of pillows in other rooms, other than that, everything was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    2 black coffee sticks. (not only sweet one like other hotels)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many noisy guests(mostly Chinese old men and women) made a noise in every early morning. Some were chatting in the corridor, some shouted in front of my room. No toilet paper from check-in date. Though I asked to bring it, they rejected it. I was asked to go down to pick up by myself. No space between toilet and shower, wash basin and the door as well.

    2 black coffee sticks are provided. Not just a sweet one.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall, I give it a 7.5/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't know why but the TV plug was unplugged & the remote control was chipped & wasn't working. Previously there was free shuttle to the airport BUT NOT ANYMORE. As a GENIUS member I'm supposed to get an extra 10% off but wasn't given.

    The bed & aircon was okay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Everything was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was OK. Nothing special but it is clean and good located with reasonable price. Rooms are small but enough if you want to be more in the city as we did.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    It's very pleasant staying here. Keep up the good job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough Chinese food stall or restaurant to choose from.

    Have clean upr for the rooms daily and provide drinkinig water bottles too. The rooms are clean, neat and tidy. Just return the card and no need to wait during check out of the hotel. The gentleman staff was honest and kind to return a wallet to us which was lost at the lobby when we came back to find for it after our check out already.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Journey are made by hotel your choose with #ineedvacation Done!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit far from public transport like MRT due need to walk 1km from the hotel. Hotel mention free WIFI in all area but I unable to connect in room. Please rectify this problem. Staff at the counter not friendly at all but they still helping when I ask some question. Hopefully the management can improve all this for better hospitality. Sor far I just said okay.

    Hotel look new and modern style. Rooms also good and we booking 02 rooms and get attach side by side. Easy access for Grab Cars. Hotel also provide ground tour to visit Singapore.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.0
    The room is very small .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small . The hotel its impression is very similar to that of a motel. The walls aren't thick enough and you can easily hear any sounds you wouldn't like to hear.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    There were a lot of food stalls nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The comfort room was so tiny, there was very little space for the shower.

    There were a lot of food stalls nearby. Staff was very accommodating and was able to communicate well when I asked for directions on how to go to Johor Bahru.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    I don’t even stay,because the reception ask me to wait 40...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff service very bad,and the way they talk,need to send her to customers service to teach her how to attend and service customers.

    I don’t even stay,because the reception ask me to wait 40 minutes

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room and the facilities are good and very comfortable i didn't expect so we extended our stay. the staff also they are approchable and calm. We stay at the hotel most of the time to relax and have a bonding together and this place is the best for us. we will surely be back there. 👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Affordable price.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card:There is only one key card per room. It quite hard for two person if they want to seperate to go out and go up to the room by elevator.

    Affordable price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    Friendly, cleanliness, safety without noisy
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, bed smells and all things against the Bible principle I don't like it. As Im one on Jehovah's witnesses was fully concern of it

    Friendly, cleanliness, safety without noisy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean and needing a room key to go up in the lifts gave a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and needing a room key to go up in the lifts gave a feeling of extra security. The metro station is a 5 minute walk away and is connected easily to the main attractions in Singapore. The room was small but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Met my expectations, I often stay here when in transit through Singapore since very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms - but OK for one person. No fridge in room.

    Great price, short walk to Aljunied MRT, plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, clean and comfortable - excellent for one or two nights for one person

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice boutique hotel for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a budget accommodation in Singapore! The value for money was good. We travelled in a group. The rooms were not big, but in Singapore context it was good enough. A nice clean boutique hotel with lots of restaurants and eating options nearby. Aljunaid mrt station is only few minutes walk. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff​ ​at​ ​the​ Lobby​ and​ Uncle the​ house keeper​ who...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi​ not good can not​ connect​ just few mins then it​ was gone, the​ ​kettle​ in my​ room was broken,and hair dryer​ ​too.

    Staff​ ​at​ ​the​ Lobby​ and​ Uncle the​ house keeper​ who wear the​ glasses so​ ​nice and​ ​so polite, Uncle so kind always smiled​ to​ me and​my​ husband.​

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    1. The location relative close to MRT and bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in our room didn’t work. No cool air only fan.

    1. The location relative close to MRT and bus stop. 2. We should’ve asked his name but the old man who has been cleaning our room is very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel got strands of hair on it, didn’t bother to call for replacement coz just a waist of time when they should have made sure that everything is clean before the next guests come. Then, in the morning... the cleaning staffs are bagging the door over and over and over and over again that it seems like they are doing it on purpose ! How annoying cud that be!

    It was said that our room was upgraded due to having no more available bed for 2, but then the room is still small. Though we did not add money for it.. It was so quiet and comfortable as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    This place is very comfortable and room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is very comfortable and room was very clean. Reception are nice. Over all is so nice If have chance to go Singapore again I would go to fragrance Ruby again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    The staff are helpful, the day i check in the Philippines...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are helpful, the day i check in the Philippines staff and the Chinese staff who on duty, they are great, I'm going to stay again and recommend my friends.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall, I give it a 7/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint was the water pressure was slightly low,so the water supply was small & the bathroom area was too small.

    Overall its okay. Aircon was cold enough. Beverages like coffee, tea & mineral water were provided.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    The place is clean and decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the noises from the other room and hallway. There are no slippers inside the room

    The place is clean and decent. It is affordable compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    pleasant stay in a quality yet compact room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only issue was the room size although it was manageable for me. (Some might feel trapped as after the end of bed only 1 or 2 ft was available till the wall). the bathroom was also tight but was usable. WiFi signal strength was low in my room, but was able to make data calls. Strong connection available at the reception area. if looking for a budget place with good bed to rest, i recommend it (Even though small size room, worth the cost)

    Clean , Compact room with Good AC and Heater. The staff was nice, i was able to check in after 30 min waiting bcz change of plans as i went there 3 hours early, Housekeeping was good as i experienced it since i stayed 3 days, the MRT was close by few minutes(10-15) walking distance. Plenty of cheap Chinese and Indian food shops (Bali Nasi Lemak) was in the walking distance (1 to 10 min walk) very close by. A 24h opened Chinese grocery store was the cheapest to buy water and dry food with 15 min walk distance. (Sheng Siong) Attraction tickets were available at the counter with discounts as well (check these before booking attraction tickets directly). ie - Universal ticket was offered here with $3 more discount.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.5
    BAD and WORST Worst Hotel I have seen in my Life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Very Bad room. 2. Dirty room 3. Lift is a problem 4. No smile in the reception 5. Receptionist acts very arrogant 6. The hotel management has to send the workers to some training that how to behave with the guest 7. They are not giving sugar also 8. Even you can’t freely turn in the bath room 9. It’s like a Prison 10. Not good for family 11.

    BAD and WORST Worst Hotel I have seen in my Life.. Foreign travelers DONT GO to this Hotel. Poor poor poor poor Bad bad bad bad bad bad bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from corridore (neighbours)

    Good for budget travellers, couples. MRT (Aljunied) is around 10min by foot from hotel. Gaylang is ok district with local vibe, just 5 min to city center. Hotel is clean, beds are comfortable. Tea & coffee in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Budget friendly but nothing amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, wifi wasnt great, the area around I felt very uncomfortable walking through it.

    Cheap stay for singapore, close to mrt station, air conditioning good, fresh towels everyday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    There's a stinky smell when I first step in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a stinky smell when I first step in the room. Also the bathroom is pretty old and dirty. Towels are gross, I can't even barely use them. TV programmes are boring. It's sad but I ain't coming back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Stay legit!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is understood that the hotel is located in the red light district of Singapore, I never expected an old man 10:00 in the morning rocking up with a young lady paying for a room for 2 hours. The hotel did not seem to be short of business as it was packed with Chinese Tourist.....???????

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I came to check out, I asked if I can borrow a trolley because I had 6 pieces of luggage. The lady staff with strong eyeliner and blue contact lens refused straight away because the trolley was occupied. I took a look and found out that they use the trolley to keep luggages. I ask if you can put the luggage out of the trolley because those luggages can be placed on the floor, but I couldnt carry my luggages down with my bare hands. She said: NO, and walk away. Such a rude attitude.

    Location is good. Staff are quite nice, only the one with hard eyeliner and blue contact lens is less helpful. Room is small but ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Well its just so-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the location is a bit far from mrt, so its quite hard to bring big baggage and the bed sheets is kind of dirty, they also didn't change it even once as i stay for four nights

    The facilities are quite good for budget hotel, like water heater and lift

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed one night and would definitely recommend this hotel. Very clean rooms, many facilities available. In Geylang district, still safe for a female solo traveler. 10 min from airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was the same cold on 16 and 27 degrees, the windows cannot be opened.

    Close to MRT, many places to eat around the hotel, ATM machines around. The double room was quite small but still comfy. Great value for money in Singapore.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Good location to go to central line.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location to go to central line. Clean room and have free drinking water. You can fine restaurant around here and also have mobile shop that you can buy tourist sims here. It’s cheaper than Airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the room is bit smaller

    The location was really good. Very much easy access to the metro/bus. Even at late night you will find restaurants/ supermarkets which is very helpful.Main attractions passes provided at the hotel for a discount rate. Overall a good one for a budjet trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Basic accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - not the most beautiful neighbourhood (but close to MRT) - very small, basic room - weird smell every time we returned to the room - the aircon made noise

    - comfy bed - good water pressure for showers - it's really a basic place to stay, but very cheap compared to other options => if you only need a bed & shower and you don't care about anything else, it's ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could be more space in the room, but it was still reasonable, not a real problem.

    Clean, efficient, with transport connections to everywhere within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    Close to the airport (25 min)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a small room, you don’t even have space to open the luggage. The bad was balancing, you can hear everything from the neighbors, the towels were broken (I’m sorry I didn’t take a picture). The staff not so polite, they barely look at you when you come in or go out, but they were nice to keep our luggages for several hours. I would not recommend staying here.

    Close to the airport (25 min)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    ROOM WAS CLEAN.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BUT ROOM WAS VERY SMALL AND THE BATHROOM ITS EVEN DIFFICULT TO SIT PRPERLY IN THE COMODE SINCE IT IS SO SMALL. WHEN THE UPPER FLOOR ROOM BATHROOM FLUSHED IT SOUNDS AS IF ALL WATER COMING INTO THE ROOM I WAS. ATLEAST THREE TO FOUR TIMES YOU GET WAKE UP DUE TO THIS. WHEN INDORMED THE RECEPTION RESPONDED SAYOMG ALL ROOMS ARE LIKE THAT.

    ROOM WAS CLEAN.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since you can hear most of the stuff going on outside of your room, me ans my partner couldnt sleep since the staff started cleaning/fixing a room at 6:30 AM. Everything else was fine, but that really threw us off.

    Quite cheap and in a nice location surroundes by food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable environment with this reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our last day of stay, the washbasin stuck. Sometimes you need to wait a bit for the hot water before you take a shower. So many people smoking near that area. Every morning there was always some Chinese women shouting in the corridor.

    You can really settle your suitcase and still have space to walk around in the room. There are so many good choices of restaurants nearby. Can go to almost everywhere by bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. Had a stopover in SG for the weekend. Quite close to mrt and the city. Easy to get food around. The room is enough for anyone travelling on budget and only need a place to sleep and get change.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Good choice for couple with no children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size is a bit smaller than I expected, I would recommend it for a couple with no baby whom are planning to spend the hole day out side the room and back on sleeping time only. This is not the best choice If you have a child or planning to spend longer time inside.

    The price was reasonable, kind and professional staff. Many nearby shops and restaurants. Muslims nearby restaurants are available as well, around 1 minute walking distance from the hotel. Nearby bus station around 1 minute walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Small room but it’s ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but it’s ok. Cant ask for more in Singapore. One thing: they make room every day but they dont change sheets, just make it look nice only. I was there when they arrange the sheet and blankets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall, the hotel is just a place to stay to sleep in. No extrordinary reason to come back to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception folks need to smile more to make guests feel accommodated. They need to be more sociable. Rarely do they acknowledge when they are being thanked. Room is small.

    Rooms are clean. Beds and pillows are comfortable to use. I appreciate the cleaning guys for ensuring the rooms are clean and no item was lost. Everyday, complimentary water, coffee, toiletries and fresh towels are replenished. The cleaning guys are very efficient and courteous too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and value for money...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here only 1 night - not enough time to enjoy this lovely hotel and city. The room is small but clean and comfortable, good AC. Good location - it close yet comfortable distance to heart of town and easy to walk to MRT and restaurants nearby. The staff are friendly, we received a warm welcome upon arrival and they tired to advise us about the sight-seeing.They stored our luggage after check-out till departure. In overall, this is a good hotel and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Good budget option in a great neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi wasn't fantastic, but never is in Singapore.

    Great neighborhood, convenient access to food and transport. Small room with basic facilities, but clean and comfy for a great price. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    3.8
    It could have been way better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and so was the bathroom. The room looked bigger in the photos given. Only few of the staff were courteous/ accommodating. Value for money not really guaranteed. The hotel was located in Singapore’s red light district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    OK for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sealed windows.

    OK for sleeping. All the Fragrance and 81 chain are similar. Stayed in several of both. Small rooms. Ruby good for train to airport and bus into town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    We had an excellent stay in this hotel and I highly recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is not very good as you need to walk a few blocks from Aljunied MRT station. No complimentary breakfast was served.

    The room is clean and toiletries are given as well as complimentary coffee, tea and water. Easy check in process, nice staff and strong wifi connection. Location is not very good as you need to walk a few blocks from Aljunied MRT station. But all in all, we had a pleasant stay in this hotel. Cheap and worth your money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Reasonable price , location good hotel in Geylang
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillow don't comfort to sleep, drop a luggage room small not convenient to get inside

    room.,o.k., don't large but don't small too much , clean location close to food shop , bus stop can go anywhere in sungapore by bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    The price is ok for Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small ‘Deluxe’ room, lots of Chinese tourist on bus trips (extra noisy early in the morning and late at night), check in was a bit later than told, had to wait in small crowded lobby with all other guests also waiting for their check in.

    The price is ok for Singapore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean, neat and tidy! I truly recommend this budget hotel to tourists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure is low and the water temperature in Room 501 was not high enough for showering. Nevertheless, given the weather condition in Singapore, it was acceptable.

    Neat, clean and tidy. It is very close to Aljunied MRT station. For first timers, from Changi Airport, take the East-West line to Aljunied, get off at Exit A and take Bus 62, 63, 80 or 100 and get off at the station of “Before Lorong 18” and finally you can Lorong 20 within sight. Hope this information helps you to get to the hotel. On the day when you are leaving for Changi airport from the hotel, cross over Geylang Road (the main road), walk through Lorong 19 to another main road, cross the main road towards right direction to Aljunied station. Hope this information helps you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff & acceptable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi here is totally useless, quite irritated. Room is small and old. The location is between the city center and the airport - not really ideal. It's very near a bus stop but about 10 mins walk to a MRT station. I haven't seen any thief or fight during my stay however the warning signs of crime are detected at many points on the street.

    Friendly staff & acceptable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    If you can put up with some noise and a small room and restroom, its a decent price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Free WiFi does not appear to be secure. Noisy neighbors may be a problem because of thin walls and doors. Cockroaches come out from the gutter and take cover outside the patio when it starts to rain heavy.

    Hundreds of places within walking distance to get food. 10-15 minutes walk to Aljunied MRT. Many pub/KTV joints around area for night time entertainment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.2
    Cheap room with bad service is ok but MISSING INFO and being DISTURBED during our sleep is not ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't know it was right in the middle of the red district of Singapore... This should have been clearly said in the hotel description ! Plus we have been waken up early by a woman saying we ordered a party we didn't actually order, and that was really annoying. She must have knocked the wrong room and it really disturbed us.

    Easy to have a taxi there, and not too far from the airport (we were there for a transit night)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Near Aljunied MRT station, just about 10 minutes on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really tiny room, barely able to have our cabin baggage, got a hole on the towel. staff (front desk) could have been more nice, fake smile is hard to handle when we are tired after long journey

    Near Aljunied MRT station, just about 10 minutes on foot. we get a room with the main road view which is quite nice. Good amenities (Soap, tooth brush, mineral water, even a hair dryer). surrounded by many local restaurant and shop, no need to walk too far for food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.8
    never coming back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rude staff, all of them except the guy. one lady specially is verrry arrogant, they never smile. and always say no without even checking first.

    nothing at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Small room but value for money. Will come back again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet has bad urine smell

    Good - Staff are nice & helpful. Have free upgrading to bigger room. Small compact room. Bed and pillow are very comfortable. 6mins walk to Aljunied MRT Station. 2mins walk to nearest bus stop that you can take bus# 80 to go to Vivo City then transfer to Sentosa (trip duration about 45mins to 1hr). Bad - toilet has bad urine smell. Cleaner not cleaned thoroughly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Very average.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room right next door to the elevator,very noisy location as people were talking while waiting for elevator.Alot of noise until about 0130 am. Room was clean but bed was too hard,had a better stay the first time I went.

    Price was affordable. Location good.Ive stays there once before and it was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small The view from our room was not pleasant The location was not in the best area in Singapore

    The room was really clean. The AC worked The bed was confortable Value for money in Singapore

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Good to stay for 1-2 nights.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A reception staff was not professional. I booked 2 room but the staff gave us only 1 room. After I mentioned, she gave 2 rooms on the different floor. (I have already requested to be in the same floor in Booking.com). The pathway was very noisy since 6 o'clock in the morning!! Chinese guests didn't respect other rooms.

    Located in good location. Easy to transport into the city centre. Many great food around there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    overall it was a great experience in the hotel nice staff bot housekeeping and receptionists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Key card, we were given only 1 key card and we are 2 persons sharing the room. we should have 2 key cards. also the bathroom, the shower room is too small

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Good choice for a low-cost stay in Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cramped standing space only bathroom. Wash basin located just beside the room door. Enthusiastic housekeeping crew will knock on your door if you do not hang out the "Do Not Disturb" sign, understandably though as he has a schedule to adhere to. Red-light district would be unnerving for children.

    Newly renovated as amenities in room works well. Good selection of TV programs. Convenient location, near to MRT station and bus stops. Lots of 24/7 eateries around with 7-Eleven just round the corner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    overall its fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the aircon, its quite noisy. the schedule of aircon maintenance was not informed to us, i suggest that better they do the maintenance when there is no guest on that room.

    the location its near bus stop, mrt and food centers. the staff are very accommodating, i request to change the room during my first night because of the sound coming from aircon, the next morning they informed me that they already have the available room. the housekeeping staff is very polite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    The staffs are very helpful in terms of places to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very small, for an asian size like me the shower area is just enough but for other raises I don't think they will fit there :p

    The staffs are very helpful in terms of places to visit. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fragrance Hotel - Ruby traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: