Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Singapore hotel reviews
  3. Singapore hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Value Hotel Balestier

Reviews of Value Hotel Balestier This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

218 Balestier Road, Novena, 329684 Singapore, Singapore

#319 of 459 hotels in Singapore

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1443 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    4.6
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    well no complains can't expect a lot for the price

    location was good central. Taking arab taxi or the bus is easy from the location.all places are within 10-20 min distance.Lots of food places around.One of the best hawkers food streets are just walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    10
    One of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no bidet and the door mat coming from the shower isn't absorbent.

    I love almost everything! I especially love the employees. The facilities are clean and pleasant, and they always change the towels. There are different wifi in every room. And you're getting more than what you're paying! Also, outside the hotel is the bus stop, and there are stores nearby where you can buy your needs.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    6.7
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    except for a staff (male) who assist me on my check-in. He is so impolite, wrong info given and not honest. when i asked him later, he denied.

    the room is clean and staffs are friendly and helpful especially Danny and another chinese lady (small size) on duty today.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    7.5
    Good Stay! Clean Room! No Trouble!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom and no bidet available. having the Window didn't add any value since the view was the next door apartment blocking any view. Location was too far from the popular interests.

    The bed was comfy, clean room and bathroom, hot water, and fast elevator.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    7.9
    A courier from India during the stay was well received.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was without a window so for a long stay it can disrupt the body clock with no access to sun.

    A courier from India during the stay was well received. Also a request for upgradation of the room was considered.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    7.9
    We have been there twice now and if need be would consider the hotel again. The staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was suitable.

    I liked that we were greeted when we came in from an outing and sometimes the door was spened by an attendant for us. We were able to obtain a taxi in the basement which was very helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    7.1
    Nil
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) The image of the hotel room is differs from the hotel 2) The room has some fishing/ weird smell 3) As the room is near the walkway, it’s very noisy even after 10pm.

    Nil

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    8.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the smell of hotel room is a little strong as no window there. there is no parking for taxi.

    the personel is very polite and professional. and clean the room timely.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.9
    Would recommend this for budget travellers..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing i didn't like, except that the staff, although very helpful, could have smiled a little bit more.. And, would have been good to have an extra bath mat tho..

    Location was convenient, price was reasonable, rooms were clean, staff were helpful and efficient.. Wifi was user friendly..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.1
    Great location for basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very thin walls. Could hear my neighbors snore, watch tv and drop coins. Also: people smoking on a supposedly non-smoking floor.

    Bus stop is right in front of the door, so easy access to the city. Also, lots of cafes, restaurants, bakeries and hawker stalls nearby.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    6.3
    General View of Room and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The space of the room is tight. Deep step and sharp edge between bathroom and room. Risk of trips, fall and cuts.

    The location is good nearby to amenities

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.4
    Bus at the door stop to anywhere in Singapore which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very tiny and very uncomfortable, we could not even put our bags on the floor because there was no space. No window and its like in a prison cell but luckily we only there for a bath and sleep. Bathroom was very tiny as well. Not valve for money what we paid for but it is busy time of the year. I would not pay more than $80 per night for this room.

    Bus at the door stop to anywhere in Singapore which was handy for us to travel around. Staffs at the front desk are friendly and helpful. Doorman was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.8
    Would love to be back to stay here♡
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no slippers and no toilet mat, the telephone has no information to call anywhere, and no views at all (cause we got no windows),The room is not that spacious (such as you stay in the dorm)

    They always clean the room everyday, in front desk office people were so nice and give us so much inform about bus number and place to go, also the hotel is just in front of the bus station, the lobby was smell soooo well (the room parfume,I guess) The bed is very comfy, clean, and tidy. The TV is quite big n there are so many channels inside

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.0
    Size of the room is just nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for a few days. Daily cleaning is poor. Parts of the floor remain dusty even after room service. Hairs are also left in the bathroom even after cleaning. The hallway smells like cigarette. Strong smell of cigarette.

    Size of the room is just nice. Facilities are okay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.2
    Good quality of bed and linen, spotless.
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Will be better if the floor mat made from cotton for easier absorbing water....

    Good quality of bed and linen, spotless. I checked in very late, after mid night. And the hotel give me late check out, so nice! Thank you

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    6.3
    i hope they lower down the room rate, check & clean properly before customer check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dust & dirt is not being clean up thoroughly because the floor is black, can't see clearly. only one pillow given & is too soft, is like no pillow when the head on it. air cond is not really cold even adjusted. no wardrobe & hanger, no writting table, no place for kettle & beverage making. the room is small with this charges.

    I like the mattress, is a bit hard but comfy. I'm ok with the rest provided

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    5.4
    Rooms were stuffy but bare able.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was far away from mrt. Bus stop was right of the building. It was a bit hidden and it was difficult for taxi to stop as there are no space to park even for a little while. The rooms on the 2nd floor smelled of cigarettes. Felt very stuffy. Toilet was small but bare-able. Staff could have be a little more friendly and smile.

    There’s a convenient store next to the hotel which opens 24 hours. There’s a self laundry opposite the building. Bed and pillow were comfy. Tv channels were great. There’s a halal mamak restaurant at the right side of the building but dirty and expensive. If you walk further, there’s macdonalds.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    10
    Satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a little bit more channels to watch and possible apply Netflix to your list of application options for Netflix users to log in and enjoy their favourite shows while being home away from home. And maybe have more options for the coffee range!! Allow me to reccommebt Ah Huat Milk Coffee!

    The bed was AWESOME. Everything was comfy and I loved the counter staff. .this Malay girl with beautiful eyes and a nice concave hair cut! Very friendly!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.5
    Like the staff being friendly and service oriented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Came back for the second night the room was clean,appreciate it but should inform us about the housekeeping to be done as we left our things behind, please ask permission to clean up the room before proceeding. Wifi was beneficial but couldn't browse and find the typing mode. Floor is sticky.

    Like the staff being friendly and service oriented. Bedding is good. Toilet is clean and toiletries are not bad either.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    8.8
    Valued for location and destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor should have been more clean rather than sticky and housekeeping shouldnt have gone in to make another cleaning when there guest leaving their things behind for a couple days instead of asking permission to clean the room.

    The bed and pillow was comfy

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.9
    We had an enjoyable stay and ticked off all the things we set out to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was adequate. We would like for it to bit roomier so we have more space to perform our prayers.

    My husband and I love the location as the bus stop is just in front of the hotel and so it's easy to move around. Also, there is a mamak restaurant just next door for our food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    2.5
    Value hotel has very bad attitude counter staff .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot to brush up in counter staff attitude and it’s facilities and cleanliness.

    Value hotel is not value for money as the Countr staff attitude is super bad

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    do the job professionally and thank you Singaporean for warm ❤️help the tourist in any way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I appreciate my short holiday but they don't provide the guest for sugar sachet.

    The staff are kind and helpfull The room is clean, big and quiet The lobby, the corridor and the lift have nice smell

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.1
    A good value for its price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I should say the wall are very thin and you could hear almost everything other people talk next door if they are talking a bit loud. Had woken up in the middle of the night due the noise.

    A good value for its price. We could get to the places we went to rather easily as there is a bus stop right at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    6.7
    I could not find back one item I have forgot into the plug...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could not find back one item I have forgot into the plug in the wall and no one occupied he the,so only the staff could take care of it I made a long detour to have it back but impossible Pretty strange it is not the value Only the problème that will cause not to have it to recharge the torche in the job I have difficulty time to find another one

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money if you can bear with the noise and passable cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Here's my biggest gripe and where I might not consider this for a true 'leisurely' stay; there is really NO soundproofing, you hear everything going on in the corridors (footsteps, doors opening and shutting, chatter, every audible thing!). The staff also are not that mindful to keep their voices low as they go about their routine and you can hear them conversing loudly, sometimes shouting to each other as they work the rooms. They are very nice to guests though just not very tranquil. The guests though you can't do much about and frankly they're the worst, you could call reception to deal with only after 11pm. The room, they are fairly clean but not spotless. The fridge I had contained some old bottle of sake and some spilt juice in the compartment (they never cleaned it up after I've called them about it). The water kettle was also pretty dirty, sadly some former guests decided to cook greasy stuff in them and you can see some food remains on the handle, I exchanged it for a cleaner kettle). Then there were ants as well, not a whole lot but you see 2-3 per day in the restroom and on the vanity desk. The staff are generally nice and helpful, but you won't be expecting 5-star service here, so if you call for something, it usually takes much longer than a typical hotel for them to

    Location is really great, there are good eateries around and almost anything you need could be purchased at the convenience stores (yes, there are two, right downstairs). It's quite far from MRT but the bus could take you there in 2 stops or if you are an early-riser, you can take their free shuttles to Novena MRT. I also love their WiFi, really stable one for your room. I got the Superior room for the extra space, window, security box and fridge), completely worth the upgrade.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    9.6
    Good Hotel for a 2 Star Rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Compact bathroom and noises from outside you can hear a bit.

    The location, value for money, friendliness and very accommodating staff. Arrive 2 hours early before the check-in time and receptionist was so nice to checked me in early. Close to local restaurants and bus stop is in front of the hotel. Easy access going to MRT Station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.1
    Convenient, good value for money and fairly comfortable hotel in a quieter part of SG.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the rooms didn't have windows, which made the rooms feel stuffy. The bathrooms were also quite small and without shower stalls. The water tends to overflow or drip into the room after your shower.

    The property was conveniently located, near bus stops, hawker centers, and a supermarket. There was also a restaurant and convenience store right below the hotel. It's in a quieter part of SG, which is also an advantage.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    2.5
    Not worth staying .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs to really filter the staffs and a lot a lot more to brush up.

    The counter staff was super rude and unfriendly. No way I will recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    This is a first time for me and this are my consent.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As a guest we should have a parking coupon. When there is a offer inline we should stay in the same price not when we checkin early ask the guest to pay extra.I find it not right.

    Ckean and good the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Only stayed for a night but worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is EXTREMELY tiny so be mindful of that

    The hotel staff was very friendly, the room was small but adequate and the value for the money was great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    5.4
    convenient bus stop.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    lack of clear info on room type on booking.com. some smell in lobby and corridors. average housekeeping/cleanliness.

    convenient bus stop. helpful front desk. wifi.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    5.0
    Location, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a size of a shoe box, no windows . It was noisy. I could not sleep, as there were lots of movement on the 2nd floor. The bed was awful and the pillows were soft and disgusting. There was not enough storage place. So the rating is - 1 from me this time

    Location, value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.9
    First Singapore Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It could be cleaner. There were stains on the bed's headboard top rail. There were some ants crawling on bedside table (not a lot). There were also tiny flies coming from the bathroom drain and resting on towels in bathroom, as well as on the wall in the bedroom. They were few in numbers but still disgusting to see.

    The bed was comfy and allowed me to get great and restful sleep. Most of the staff were friendly. The guy at the door was especially nice with recommendations of places to see and how to get there. Having the bus stop practically at the hotel door and a convenience store next door was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    not sound proof the room I heard people outside and noisy... and put vidae at the restroom...

    Clean and good staffs .... but it’s not sound proof the room I heard people outside and noisy...

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.5
    It is near in bus station and there is a convinience store...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hallway going to the room smells smoke.. but other than that the hotel is good.

    It is near in bus station and there is a convinience store beside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    6.7
    Decent place to have a staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is not free breakfast, but there are cheap shops near the hotel. the rooms are frankly small, some with no windows so u wont really know the timing till you check your watch. laundry is to be done at a laundry shop which is abit expensive like. $6 bucks plus plus for each wash depending on load and type of wash and the Biggest issue being the super thin walls.. u could hear alot of noises from your room.

    The rooms are kept clean and proper for everyday use. The Wifi is fast and easy to access, alot of decently priced shops near the hotel. the staff are generally friendly and willing to cater to your needs.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    I cant tell how many times i stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I cant tell how many times i stayed. Everytime i came to singapore i booked this hotel. I just wish that there's a special discount for regular tourist costumers 😉

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    Beds n all were beyond expectations for the price compared...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have paid for two rooms for five nights but realised that my business partners will stay for only 4 nights. Can you be able to organise a refund for one night on one room? I would appreciate if your help in this regard. Thank-you Guest.

    Beds n all were beyond expectations for the price compared to many other places that I have been to.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.9
    My stay was good and comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A complimentary green tea or black tea would be better instead of the tea mix.

    The room size was good. The bed was comfortable. Air-condition was also good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    2.5
    It is small and uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is small and uncomfortable. Not value for money. You can have a better stay elsewhere. This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in Singapore. No fridge no windows just walls for standard room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for, tiny but acceptable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is super tiny, literally as big as the bed , no place to put luggages. The bathroom is also very very small. The room is muck smaller than the picture shown on the websites. If i can choose again I would definitely pay for a more expensive hotel.

    There is a bus station right outside the hotel, and the hotel is clean. Staff are nice. Many restaurants near by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel provides what you paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel provides what you paid for. Nice beds, clean room, and with complementary drinking water, which is a plus. Only suggestion is that if 1) they could have more plugs in the room (near the beds) 2) additional tables or seats, 3) slippers. But overall, staff are accommodating, and the place is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    5.8
    comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room as compared to what is advertised. their standard double room is advertised on your site/their site is 14 sq mtr. Your info says it is 161 sq feet. I regret to tell you that their standard double room is not more than 12 sq mtr. Which is 137 sq feet. Secondly this includes the bathroom as well. So either the hotel or you are misleading/misinforming/cheating the customer by providing incorrect information. When you are giving information about this hotel room - the correct information would be that the standard double room is of size 12 sq mtr which includes the bathroom too !!

    The location is excellent. The staff is efficient and cordial. Hotel is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    4.2
    Totally disappointed with the reputation this hotel that I stayed !!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was bed attitude service, and full of smelly smoke and air condition are bad too. Will not recommend friends to stay this hotel any more!

    Nothing that I like!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They initially allocate a room which is too small and the bath room size like you can't move also it was curved. Later I request to change the room and they agreed with extra charge.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom is a little small but still fine

    Good hotel for the money. Staff were efficient and helpful and location good with lots of shops and restaurants around. Room was very clean and although small good use of space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms without a window. Corridors were a bit noisy at night and you could hear everyone returning home chatting and slamming doors. Corridor smelt a bit.

    Cheap and good location to airport. Rooms were clean and basic. Perfect for one night but wouldn't stay here for longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property and service charge is not YET included before you clicked book here in booking.com. The toilet is a bit small and the table too. No cabinets to put the clothes. I think the entire floor is a smoking area for other guests.

    The room was good. Love the smart TV. Theres a bus stop infront of the hotel, an OCBC atm and convenience store. The location is near hawker market.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient location, bus stop is in front of hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very convenient location, bus stop is in front of hotel, have restaurant name 188 and local food court near by, should try, Durian heaven and laundry 24/8 -are opposite of the hotel,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.1
    Friendly & Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could be renovated. A bit of a stench in the corridors (rusty smell). Price could be bit more affordable (Around S$75 including taxes would justify the property

    Very friendly staff. Convenient 7/11 store at the entrance. Bus services at your doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.9
    Room Cleaning was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Room did not have any cupboards or space to keep our things or dirty clothes, that was the only con. If they could have compensated it would have been a perfect value for money. Overall I would rate this hotel 3.5/5.

    Room Cleaning was amazing. No Odour in the room. The hotel gave instant mix for tea and coffee, 500ml Water Bottles, Brush Paste, Showergel, Towel throughout the stay everyday for every person. You also get Internet TV , Spotify Subscription, WiFi (really good), Electric Kettle.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our A/C was broken, it was freezing inside. We cannot control that from the room. I had to call the reception to switch it off every time. Even in the middle of the night. The room and the bathroom are a bit too small.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.2
    We truly enjoyed the place, it's location and the surroundings (convenient stores&food places).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath room has little space. The shower shouldn't have been placed right beside the door. Bathroom too compact.

    Expectations were met and the fact the it is accessible to the bus stop and hailing a cab wouldn't be a problem. Strategic location near convenient stores. Value for money. Had to book a place on such short notice and had a tight budget so the price and purpose of the place means a lot. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money although toilet is small.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good value for money although toilet is small. Cleanliness needs improvement. The furniture looks run down. And the worst part for us.... Noisy!!!!! We were unlucky to get rowdy neighbours and the wall is very thin

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    2.9
    Worse hotel I ever stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con was faulty and I called counter service,at first over the phone they want me to troubleshoot.Ex : aircon must be 22 degree and above if not air con will be shut down,airblower must not be set to high if not will be shut down also and was ask to take off the key card and slot it back and stuff like that.I was like why the hell am i even doing all this trouble shooting for them?In the end i requested to change room and service counter told me all room is full and can only change the next day.Well! I said ok since im already very tired and need rest.I bare one night of sweating while sleeping.Later next day I called service counter again and ask if I can change room like they promise me previous night but they didn't change instead they ask maintainence to come and maintainence change a filter and said he can't do anything anymore if the room is still hot after 2 hours then better to change the room.i waited about 2hours in room.In the end I have an appointment and need to rush out so I went out and never bother to call again and it seems like I'm like a ball being push here and there and no one's really care about this situation.After that I did not bother to talk to anyone else as I'm thinking lucky it's just a few days stay.I was sweating while sleeping.Can u imagine the feeling? Generally it's a very bad experience.Even the lousiest hotel in sg have a proper air con.Air con was faulty,service was lousy,no one bother and push customer around.Very very disappointing experience.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, clean and good air conditioner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite noise . I can heard people talking very loud outside my room in the midnight!

    Comfy bed, clean and good air conditioner. Easy check in and check out. Fast internet connection (wifi at room)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Your hotel doesnot has a wash room in lobby area.it is a hassle for visitors.if u can have a wash room it will be great

    Calm n clean.locate in convenient place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.8
    basic, but clean. good value for singapore.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathrooms are functional but water stays on the floor after showering. no window in room.

    good location for bus to downtown. (bus stop right outside hotel) hotel is non smoking so no cigarette smells in rooms. fairly basic accomodation. room/bathrooms are small but clean. quite a few rooms without window! so check when booking..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Value for money, budget friendly and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No windows!!

    Cleanliness and ease of check in and check out. I had read some negative reviews but that’s so untrue. Atleast my stay was very pleasant. The room was clean daily with fresh toiletaries provided on a daily basis. Smaller rooms but sufficient for 2. Plus enough electrical switches are available in room.Also though the hotel is a little far from the downtown area, considering how small Singapore is it didn’t really bother. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel so it makes travel very convinient. Considering how expensive hotels are in Singapore this was definitely value for money!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    We had a good stay, our room was cleaned everyday, it smells...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a good stay, our room was cleaned everyday, it smells good too. I requested an ironing facility and it was immediately delivered to our room. There's a restaurant, money changer, ATM, convenience store and laundry shop, near the area, and we're 3 minutes walk away from a hawker. There's also a bus stop in front and across the hotel. Going around Singapore was enjoyable, there are a lot of places to see, so it's really nice to come back to a place where you can rest after a tiring day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    4.2
    Location was reasonable with buses to many places.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room felt very cramped. Biggest grip was that the hotel did not enforce the smoking ban as the corridors frequently smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Location was reasonable with buses to many places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    4.6
    Transit Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No chair or bench to put your luggages. Air Conditioner cant be adjusted. The room is dusty.

    The location is good... The towels are clean... For 1 night stay is fine...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    would be perfect if there were 2 simple cushion-type armchairs or at least 2 small stools would make it better, instead of just 1 small stool, and to make it great, there should be just one small & simple coffee table or similar, as the room i got during my stay had this built-in ‘dresser’ right beside the television.

    Peaceful. or at least peaceful enough. 24/7 store conveniently located just beside. overall, good. but can be better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.5
    The one thing i dont like is the smell in the hallway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The one thing i dont like is the smell in the hallway..the smell is like a rotten fish..anyways,the staff is very accomodating. The room very cozy in a way..thank you for the stay..till next time..😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    3.3
    Will not come back again
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Immediately welcomed by a cigarette smell when we first stepped into the room. And then the room access card was not functioning and power supply to the room kept cutting off and we had no choice but to call the concierge to change the room for us. And the staff picking up our phone call was not professionally trained and this could be observed from the tele-conversation I had with her.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    It was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No slippers available and bidet. The wifi in the room was cut off long before checking out. The comfort room was a bit small and no window in the room.

    They allowed a two-hour extension for checking out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    3star for a budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is very small (that should be expected for the price). The bad is you can hear the snore from the other room (worst the moaning — you know what I mean). The hotel location is 25mins walk away from MRT.. which is not so comfortable in a hot weather.

    Staff are friendly. They will clean your room everyday, change all toiletries, towels and free 2 bottles of water everyday. Across 7-11 or small convenience store.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    An awesome place to staycation! Value for money, location of the place and great customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no bidet in the rest room. The view of my room was not that great though I’ve requested it from booking.com so I think this request did not reach Hotel Balestier.

    I love the customer service. The staff were very patient, helpful and assisted in anyway they can - giving instructions on how to go another place, how much should we pay for the bus ride, quick action on things we have requested (towels, water, coffee, toiletries). There is an ATM downstairs, convenience store is just beside the hotel, money changer is just a few minutes walk and hawker food area is just 5 minutes away. The AC of the room was very cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.3
    value for money, clean room and facilities, location wise, safe place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room is very small only good for 2 person

    transfortation very convenient just infront of the hotel, walking distance to food shops near the hotel, good location very safe to walk around even late at night, with nearest laundry shop, value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    6.3
    book when you have nowhere else is available, and not a penny extra to pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    despite having the do not disturb board on room attendants knock until you open, AT 9 AM IN THE MORNING charged extra to have a room with a window but it was facing the back alley staff were not friendly not close to MRT gap between the potty and the wall too small to sit.....

    bed was comfortable quiet to stay despite being next to major road wifi is fast access to youtube from the TV early check in was easy but charged extra 5-10 minutes walk to cafes, restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    5.8
    The room overall is fine and comfy enough for me to rest after a long day of adventure :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is fine is just that the toilet is smaller than I expected, and the images in the bookings are the pictures of another Value Hotel, not the one I'm staying.

    The aircond cold enough and the TV inside the room is great with wifi connections which I can watch youtube videos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One think i don’t really like of my view from my room is completely not good view, there is view of my room is complex of houses, Which is not privacy if i do open my curtains. So it mean, what the point i got the superior room if i can’t open my curtains to see nice views outside. Anyway my reccomended is for traveler is, make sure ur superior room view is not bad as iam. Thank you

    Good location. Staff friendly and good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    5.0
    Very rude staffs. Bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was Not worth the price. It was a small room without window. The staffs were very rude. Not a single staff had a smiley face on them. The hospitality was poor. The prices were confusing. The price is different from the price when you book. At the arrival only they told the real price which is much higher that the price on booking.com. it was late when we arrived so we did not have time to make another booking. Otherwise we wouldn't stay there. I advise everybody to check the actual price before arrival.

    The cleanliness only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    5.0
    Not that great, only location of the hotel was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon check-in the hotel personnel asked us to pay the entire amount for our stay, have never come across this policy at any other hotel and this was not communicated to us earlier. Also, they first refused to issue a receipt/bill for the payment and we only got one upon insisting for the same. Secondly the entire property had cigarette smoke smell and we had to use room freshener constantly every day, bathroom also had a terrible odor, I believe something was wrong with their air con. Thirdly we wanted to change the room to a room with a window and we asked them to show one however they refused to show a room and only made us see a picture in the catalogue on the basis of which we changed the room and guess what the room was not at all what we saw in the catalogue but since we did not have an option we settled for the same.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Value Hotel Balestier Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: