Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bio 3 stars

Vanganelska Cesta 2, 6000 Koper, Slovenia

#6 of 9 hotels in Koper

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 555 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty weird and sad place. The whole room and bathroom smelled of sewer - I ran away in the morning as fast as possible. Staff didn't know which floor is my room at. A/C needs maintenance. Remote control was from another manufacturer and not all controls worked. Reception is a messed up place. Bathroom too small. Only balcony door, no window. Overall architecture has "we can do it without architect" messed-up feeling. I couldn't find a staircase so I used an elevator to get to the first floor. No fire-exit signs anywhere, I guess I should just jump out of the window in case of fire. Cheap mattress. Old plastic chairs on the balcony. Breakfast below expectations, only the cheapest stuff with a socialist 70s concept in mind. The hotel is next door to some industrial building site. I have no idea what's "bio" about this hotel.

    Nothing much to like there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    + Really good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - It is not possible to sleep with open window at night, because there is too much noise outside - mainly from nearby main road to Croatia and also from some AC, ventilators or similar devices around which are quite noisy. Especially the first night I really had problems to sleep due to this surrounding noise, even with closed window. - The hotel is whole 3 km from beach. (3 km to Koper, 3 km to Žusterna.) So have your car or bicycle ready.

    + Really good breakfast. Really really good. (I just missed real green/black tea. Only fruit teas were available.) + My room looked like new. It was also visible from outside that some parts of hotel were renovated or enhanced recently. That is good. + Air conditioning in the room was good and quiet. That's really good. + It is always problem where to pur car in all these sloveninan coastal towns. Thanks god this hotel has its own parking. But only 7 places (for 30 rooms) so you must be quick or little bit lucky to get one. ;-) + Room service cleans the rooms every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Would be OK for the half the price, not worth for the actual price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom would be rated -1/10. Smell which makes you want to vomit, no shower cabin doors, even no shower gel. The room lock was semi-working.

    Room was quite nice, terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant surprise, with the best pasta with truffles.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit far away from the center.

    We arrived late, still the restaurant was open and in ten minutes we were eating a fabulous pasta with truffles. We did not even asked the price, just had it put to our room. The real surprise came next morning: we paid the price of a slice of pizza in Geneva for the best pasta ever. The rooms were rather simple but clean. The local flavor: guest could prepare their own omelette from fresh local eggs. The staff was friendly and extremely efficient. Overall excellent price/value ratio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    2.9
    I'll never return and never recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff could be much friendlier and welcoming. Rooms had a horrible smell, the water in the shower was warm, but not hot enough. Breakfast seemed diverse, but the quality of food was very poor (some foods were slightly off, such as cut meats). Breakfast is not suitable for vegetarians, people on gluten-free or dairy-free diets or those following low-carb, high-fat diets. Hotel is located between busy traffic roads, offers a view of two gas stations, car garage, construction site and shopping centres - so you can imagine the noise levels at all times. There was a live-music Saturday night party going on until 4:30am on Sunday morning, with an accompanying "chorus" of drunken men at 6am.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Spacious room and good breakfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The from the balcony is great if you're into petrolstation themes. If you're a travelling handyman with a screwdriver in the pocket you can have a great evening fixing the furniture.

    Spacious room and good breakfest. Has a restaurant downstairs. Toni the cat is fun to play with.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    Elevator is fast.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are soooo old, uncomfortable and ugly. You better pray before You take a shower in that bathroom. It's unsafe, with plastic mat that is turned brown of use. And You don't even wont to look under that mat, tub is also brown. In these pictures on Booking the lobby looks nice, but it's obvious that it's been done in photoshop. We were shown 2 rooms, neither looked like in these photos on Booking.

    Elevator is fast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    All in all everything was fine and we've enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are modern albeit a bit small. Staff is friendly and tried to meet our needs in the best way possible. Lovely breakfast with a great variety and selection of food. We even had dinner there which was good! We had pasta with Kolobasa sausage and pasta with truffles and Parmesan, both homemade and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It might be a good idea to get some more comfortable chairs in the balcony.

    Breakfasts fine, varied and an option of preparing eggs as you like it. You eat in a nice garden - but make sure you sit somewhere in the shade if you belong to those who like to enjoy the food first and then sit a few minutes over your morning coffee. Great staff, speaking English, very friendly. Try some lunch/dinner dishes (10% discount for the guests), wine, served with a glass of water and ice... Wow! They have sweet and semi-sweet wines here. Don`t criticise me - if you spent a week in Croatia where 99% of wines are "suho", you`ll appreciate that. Try a dish called "All the goodies of the sea" - salad of both fish and frutti di mare. They also have special olive oil, their own production - tastes great with a bit of bread. If you happen to forget to take something to read, the hotel has a small library (many languages). They also have detailed plans of Koper and Isola, which is important for conservatives (like me) who prefer old-fashioned maps rather than electronic idiots. Drivers! You`ll have considerable difficulty finding free parking places near the Old Town (even at Lidl you have only 2 hours, Spar 1 hour) - perhaps it`s better to go on foot. When it comes to bathing, I`d rather suggest going to Isola. There is a beach close to the marina, and, a parking area (6 euro per day, 1 euro per hour) Dantejeva Street. If you go to Piran - there are huge parking areas in Fornace and a free shuttle bus that takes you from there to the very heart of the Old Town. Apart from the obvious spots like St. George`s Church, I advise visiting the Shell Museum, really incredible exhibits.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Perfectly ok hotel to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is kind of far away from the city center, especially when walking. Hotel was also hard to find, we took couple of wrong turns first and were about to give up when the hotel just appeared in front of us. Could also be our lack of navigation skills.. Breakfast at Hotel Bio could have been better. Nothing on the tables were refilled. So at some point there was nothing to eat anymore nor any staff around to ask.

    Despite some other comments here, to us the hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. We even got our room couple of hours before check-in and free drinks while waiting. Room was clean, had everything we needed and even a balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    The room was a nice size with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a nice size, but a bit shabby. The bed was okay, but not incredibly comfortable.

    The room was a nice size with a balcony. The breakfast was good. There were plenty of linens. The location was not far from the seaside and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No value for money! Serious problems with cleanliness (ants in our beds - we had to change rooms, there were also ants in one of the beds), breakfast was really bad (hygiene: plates were dirty, ants running around the juice-box, etc).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    We love everything in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love everything in this hotel. We want to thank again Senad for his welcoming, his smile, our stay in Bio Hotel was a great moment of happiness. Thank you to all staff!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast, parking, cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, parking, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    The friendly attitude of the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the noise of the concrete mixers.

    The friendly attitude of the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Breackfast choices
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breackfast choices

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    it was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room must be warm

    the room was good but in the room is been cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, nice location and goid rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit loudly during the evening.

    Very friendly staff, nice location and goid rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    Satisfactory for one night, reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation at the same floor where renovation/modernization works were done is a bit uncomfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff and good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needed modernization and and better cleaning

    Good location, friendly staff and good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom. Curtain didn't even cover door

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.6
    Dissatisfied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything. Brekkie was OKAY. No bedside lamp. Terrible wine in the restaurant. Shabby furniture.

    Nothing much really. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Great. W
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room could be cleaner.

    Big room, friendly staff, good bed, only a pillow was not as I like.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    A slow internet, but it works:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slow internet, but it works:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    nice breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite old hotel, needs renovation. rooms not comfortable , smells smoke.

    nice breakfast and friendly staff. for one night it can be okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean, people are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, people are friendly. Just old fashioned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed - too soft mattress

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    An awesome deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind staff and delicious breakfast! Also, the private balcony was a wonderful touch

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.2
    Not a clean property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, pillow/bed can see blood (dried) from previous customer. Air conditioner not working well. Water goes into room during thunderstorms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant, convenient stop when travelling by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, quiet, comfortable and handy to the train station. The staff was very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.5
    Free parking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing Sauna....

    Free parking. Quiet place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Good stopover location. Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    5.4
    Too noisy, cleaning at 8 am
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too noisy, cleaning at 8 am

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel offers a variety of food, but for a vegetarian/vegan it was difficult to find something to eat.

    Friendly people, good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.5
    Location out of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location 1,5 km from the city, a lot of traffic around the hotel

    Air-conditioned room, quite good value for the money, dinner and breakfast ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    6.7
    Ok sleeping place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok location only if you are by car. Breakfast can be little better.

    Nice quiet hotel. Little old, but if you just want sleep, its ok. Car parking ok.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    2.9
    Not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Old rooms and bad beds. Under cnstruction

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.0
    So sorry, but there was nothing we liked about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    According to the photos (showing modern, renovated rooms) and the description about the hotel we excepted much better, and we were very disappointed about the room we got in fact. It was old fashioned with shabby furnitures, garish wall carpet, with extremely old gadgets (e.g bedside lamps without coverings seem dangerous) The bathroom was dirty, so as the furnitures on the balcony. The breakfast was very poor and of low quality food. The hospitality of the staff ( including welcoming of the guests) was not satisfactory. All in all it was not a good a choice considering price and quality ratio.

    So sorry, but there was nothing we liked about this hotel. :-(

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.2
    - Personally, location is excellent as it is within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slight smell coming from the drains in the bathroom - probably to do with the plumbing.

    - Personally, location is excellent as it is within walking distance of where my parents live. - I asked for a kettle, which is not provided as standard in the hotel, and they provided it - along with a cup and spoon - Staff very helpful and friendly - Decent three star hotel & I will stay there again (already booked)

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    2.5
    Nothing was good about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was rude, the room was like a small little closet. Everything was old and too used. The wifi only worked at the reception. The breakfast was really untasty. We have spent a night in a two star pension the day before we came here, but it was much better than this. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone, other guests were also complaning when we were there.

    Nothing was good about it.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    9.6
    Based on the current 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Based on the current 6.7 score, I expected a lot worse. But, it is much better. The room is clean and with enough space. Swift check in&out. the bed is comfort, I had a really good sleep.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.8
    Staff was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were not very comfortable but otherwise we enjoyed the hotel with free parking, WIFI, free breakfast, good restaurant and great staff. The old city was a disappointment, mostly now an industrial port, the charm of what you would expect in an old city, i.e., Dobrovnic, is gone. But we were there on a cold Jan 2015 day and most shops closed at noon on the weekend so we did not see much of interest.

    Staff was excellent! Spoke English, German, Italian, etc. Good food in the restaurant with a nice fire place. Our Jan 2015 stay was good but most outdoor restaurants were closed, must be fantastic in the summer because they were everywhere (but closed). Just down the street was the EMONEC Brewery with excellent food and drink prices so we ate there for dinner one night and in the hotel one night. A short drive away is the VINAKOPER where you can buy and taste wine. ALDI and LIDL were close too. Several malls in the area too. All the locals we chatted with spoke English. Nice weekend escape from Vicenza, Italy.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    6.3
    - Staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    - Room - Wifi (less than 500kb down and up) - Parking

    - Staff - Restaurant - Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent complementary breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was cold at night.

    Excellent complementary breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant was exceptional. Five star service.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    4.6
    Close to motorway exit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cold and ugly bedroom

    Close to motorway exit

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff and the food were particularly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could do with a table lamp in the room next to bed.

    The staff and the food were particularly good.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad interier

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Hotel with good communication with centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not friendly personel

    Hotel with good communication with centre of town. Short way to Italy and Croatia. Very good hotel's restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.1
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    not so close to the center of the town

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everything was great! quiet area, air con in the hotel, good selection at breakfast, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    5.8
    The breakfast was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was shabby and the sink leaked

    The breakfast was okay

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: