Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Ljubljana 3 stars

Dalmatinova Street 15, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

#15 of 62 hotels in Ljubljana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5605 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Love Ljubljana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    City Hotel is conveniently situated a couple of blocks away from the Old Town. We found the rooms to be very clean, modern and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is extensive and very nice - take advantage of the terrace for dining , weather permitting. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They lined up a day trip to Lake Bled, recommended taking the train rather than the bus to Zagreb and provided fast and friendly service during meals. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Room was excellent but customer service was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initially when we arrived, I was told I had booked for only one person and had to prove I had booked for 2. Wrongly assuming that the parking was too expensive for us and then told us where to park at a parking station across the road in a dismissive way.

    Room was excellent, spacious and clean and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Simply great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise due to adjacent road works but that is beyond the hotel's control.

    The room was spacious and very nice. Location very central. Reception desk very friendly and extremely helpful (especially Teja). Thank you. We will definitely revisit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Central locations and large clean family rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is high for you average city stopover hotel.We booked mainly to use their free city bikes - there wasn’t any available

    Central locations and large clean family rooms. Great shower. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Location, great rooms, great breakfast in a beautiful friendly city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not park in the hotel underground parking as it was full and ended up in the street. Having said that from 1900-0700 its free anyway and we spent 2.50Euro on parking fees

    Location is absolutely brilliant - literally 5 minutes stroll from the old city centre. Very modern, airy, comfortable and clean. Staff were spot on. Breakfast was superb and included. Very Happy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean and modern rooms, our room faced the back- away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and modern rooms, our room faced the back- away from street and was very quiet, comfortable beds. Their buffet breakfast was crazy good- so many food choices ranging from grilled veggies to standard breakfast fare to cake! Amazing buffet!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    A nice professional hotel with warm folks at the reception !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel. Lovely staff (Petra) was so warm and welcoming and guided us as well. The breakfast buffet was amazing and a good spread with fresh juices etc. Big rooms overlooking the castle. And a short 3-4min walk from hotel takes you to the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Lots of restaurants around. Parking lot just across the road so helped us as we had a car with us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed my stay . Staff friendly and hotel facilities were good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One mamnager was a little brusque when I informed hom a lift was not working.

    Very clean, modern room. Great location near to station and easy access to Old city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst I do not have anything bad to say about it, I thought it was slightly overpriced.

    The staff were fantastic and the hotel and the room were clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable! The location is perfect as it bang in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    At the begining we gut a small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the begining we gut a small room. The room was impossibly small so we thought of leaving the hotel. At the reseption we were told that they can change the room for us' and we gut instead big and confortable room. I suggest to book this hotel only if getting good size room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Modern and large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no refrigerator and staff are not allowed to keep milk or food items in the hotel's refrigerators. We ended with milk on ice overnight for our daughter

    Rooms are very modern and close to the center. Staff very helpful, good breakfast and bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel. Loved the city!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults at all

    The hotel was in a great position. The staff were very friendly. We stayed in a comfort room, the beds were SO comfortable, and we have never experienced such an amazing shower! Did not want to leave it. Breakfast was varied. Lots of choice. Would definitely stay again. And would highly recommend people to stay at The City Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks in the city made it difficult to get to the hotel.

    Great location. Fabulous view of the castle ... worth booking a room with a balcony and have some wine in the evening looking up at the castle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and great sevice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, great location, friendly staff and rooms very new. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of food. i would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Great city. Great hotel. Will stay here again in the future and will recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of Hotel parking is expensive.

    The staff was superb: professional, helpful and friendly. Spoke English perfectly! The breakfast was phenomenal! Many choices of various items. The hotel is in an excellent location; walking distance (just minutes) to the center of town. Hotel Parking was somewhat high -18 euros per night. That would be the only complaint.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    The Staff was so kindly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a little bit hard and it was complicted to learn on the heating system. I could not connect the reception via the telephone in the room and told them that.

    The Staff was so kindly and helpful. The location was perfect, both wery close to the center and to the conference I participaid in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything about the property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I would say I didn’t like was the air conditioner. It blew hardly any air at all, there may as well not have been an A/C in the room for that matter. It was really warm at night while sleeping. I do have to say it is Europe so having an A/C is kind of rare if not to have one at all.

    Loved everything about the property! From the staff to the area to the property and our room itself!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Efficient but leaves you feeling cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, which is included within the room rate, was very bland and a lot of the food was unappetising. Very busy around the reception area and caters extensively for tour groups. Not located in the attractive part of town.

    Friendly at both check in and check out. Well sized rooms with free Wi-Fi and safe deposit box. Nice en suite bathroom. Sufficient number of elevators. Well located for the bus and train stations (5 to 10 minute walk).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for three nights The rooms were extremely small. There were no Closet to hang the clothes. The phones didn't work. If we needed something we had to take the elevator and go to the reception. No shampoo, lotion or conditioners. But the staff were wonderful.

    The location was good. The best part was the staff. They were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    Double room was a shoe box, so small it did not even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double room was a shoe box, so small it did not even accommodate a chair. Very uncomfortable and so good to leave. I complained to Booking.com who were told by the hotel that this was the room I booked. It wasn't. The most basic double room on the hotel's booking site was larger and included a chair, surely a minimum facility for a 3 night stay costing €151 a night?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Good option near Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the Center of the city, there are parking lots close by, the personal is very kind, rooms are well maintained and clean. Breakfast is very good, with a selection of fruits, breads and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Will not book it agian
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No laundry for weekends, waiting 15 min for a call respond on front desk, cleaning trolley constantly in front of the room

    Location, breakfast, quite area in city of Ljubljana

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Everything was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in a good position for visiting the old town is and is close to the railway station if you are travelling by train. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    We'd go to Ljubljana again and wouldn't consider staying anyplace other than the City Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ljubljana was the first stop of our three week vacation and the City Hotel the first lodging of many to follow. We booked it for the first (two) and last nights of our travels. The hotel was modern, clean, comfortable and in the perfect location. The castle view from our 4th/5th floor room was unbeatable. We were able to walk to the ‘Old Town’ that is split by the river and could have easily reached the more modern part of town had that been our goal. The staff at this wonderful hotel did not disappoint. Everyone spoke English and was eager to help. Our room came with breakfast (a must for us as we want to get up, eat and get our day started without having to wander around looking for a good café) and City Hotel set the standard high. We worried that other locations wouldn’t be able to compare. The breakfast dining room was in a restaurant that was a part of the City Hotel. The quality, diversity and quantity of the food was fantastic. When we made the reservation for our last night’s stay we knew we’d have time to change it if we didn’t want to repeat our first two nights. It was an easy decision coming back for our last evening. The staff at the desk greeted us like long lost friends! When they found out we would have to leave in the morning before breakfast they said they’d have boxed meals for us to take. They were true to their word and later on in the day the sandwiches, etc. were greatly appreciated. We didn’t have much time in Slovenia but may very well try to work it into a future trip. If Ljubljana is in the area that we decide to visit, the City Hotel will be where we’ll stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Waitress in restaurant very rude. She pushed me out of the way, wiped the table where I was sitting and then put two coffees down for two other guests.

    Excellent location. Comfortable, clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Amazing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with balcony looking across to castle. Massive bathroom. Great location. Excellent staff. Great breakfast, huge choice. Free bikes. Parking available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there would have been a fan in the bathroom and perhaps some additional toiletries.

    Breakfast was great. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. So happy they had a shuttle service to and from the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel has good location, very close to center and has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has good location, very close to center and has private parking. Rooms are quite big, light, clean and comfortable. Good place for staying. WiFi speed is literally 100Mbit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    This hotel has invested in good matresses and all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit youth histel style. Won’t win an ethetics prize.

    This hotel has invested in good matresses and all the facilities are working very well and are super practical.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great central hotel, superb !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Ervin on reception was just so helpful and nothing too much trouble. Room superb with balcony where we had sunrise, sun all day and sunset, all looking across to the castle.Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is better than we expected. Perfect location to explore the city, kind and helpful staff, very clean and 3 confortable beds in the room (the triple room is simply perfect, with a real 3rd bed instead of a sofa bed). Great varied breakfast, everything was very good and we would return with no doubt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A very good, efficiently run hotel, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Plenty of choice at breakfast and lunch. Hotel well located. Staff very friendly and efficient. Room spacious, clean and comfortable. A perfect choice for a City Break.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I don’t usually write reviews but this hotel deserves it. Fantastic location on a quiet street close to the city center, spotlessly clean, gracious staff, good room size and very modern bathroom, great breakfast and luxurious bedding! Just what I needed after three weeks of travel in Europe - a respite of comfort for my final four nights. I was in Slovenia to do genealogy research so the days were long and challenging. This hotel let me rest peacefully each night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Exactly where you need to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drove and needed to park the car but didn’t know where or how to do it until we checked in, but it was easily explained once we got the info. Hardly worth mentioning, but if I had ANYTHING to dislike, I would have to say that, even though it was NOT A PROBLEM. Overall, everything was absolutely excellent.

    The location was central to all the local action it seemed. Very easy to go from happening spots, to tourist attractions, to strolling the streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    City Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was fantastic, within easy walking distance of all the most important things to see in Ljubljana as well as really good restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Location and parking made it easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realize it was a business hotel so I was expecting a little more old world charm

    Location and parking made it easy. Enjoyed taking free bikes for ride around town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing!

    The hotel is beautiful. Our room was great. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. The buffet breakfast was incredible. Location was excellent. We like to walk and the city with all it has to explore was easy walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    We had an emergency while here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection was a little bouncy at times

    We had an emergency while here. The staff was fabulous! I can't rave enough about the help and support they gave us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Great comfortable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in bathroom around 8:00 two days out of three. Too much demand at that time for the supply. Otherwise great place.

    Great comfortable location. Close to all sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, charming personnel, great breakfast, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The too hard mattresses on the beds.

    Very nice hotel, charming personnel, great breakfast, nice rooms but not for single people, but we found the bed rather too hard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Best view in Ljubliana!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been more milk in the bedroom.

    View from the balcony must be the best in Ljubliana, excellent location, lovely breakfast, fantastic shower and spotlessly clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Expensive hotel, but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just average.

    The hotel was very conveniently located - close to Ljubljana train station and walking distance from attractions such as Ljubljana castle. The staff was courteous during check-in. It was a surprise to find that the hotel did not offer any room service. The hotel was a little pricey, but not as expensive as other hotels in the vicinity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value Stay in Llubjana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had one of my best sleeps there. Beds were very comfortable. Liked our family room as it was spacious and at the same time cozy. Breakfast selection was excellent. I was excited to eat every morning to try something. For a 3star hotel, it was a good choice, with great staff and convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in a well maintained hotel ideally located wrt the city center and attractions.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The spread of the breakfast buffet is exceptional. All staff are friendly, fluent in English and very helpful in accomodating any wishes. The location is excellent with all major attractions within close walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful view on the castle from my balcony;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful view on the castle from my balcony; excellent breakfast with lot of choices; perfectly situated near the historic center of the town; good parking facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Within walking distance to train station and major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and basic amenities but good for the price.

    Within walking distance to train station and major attractions. Staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was generous with many options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    keep pricing keen and level. change the sheets and then maybe best hotel in town?
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The other diapointment was the increasing with the priceing of the same room for different days so in fact the pricing actually went above the pay grade of a 3 star hotel and this playing off musical pricing we thought was tantemount to cheating. I would have preferred to have discussed this with the new Russian Manager to request a discount but alas he was nowhere to be found shame?

    The breakfast was fabulous but one thing we did not like was the bed sheets were never changed during the week and we were both bitten by bed bugs several times. not good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Just amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the breakfast was really tasty and fresh, it was the same selection every day - it would have been nice to have different daily selections.

    Clean, smack-right in the centre of the city, beautifully renovated. Staff was very friendly and did the check in and out in under a minute. The bathroom is really good, instant and unlimited warm water, german high-quality brand ceramics and facilities installed. Not a single spot was missed when cleaning. The walk-in shower is incredible comfortable and well installed - it is always a please to see expert installation work on demanding technology. Bed and sheets super comfortable. View was nice too. Breakfast had a huge selection, everything was fresh. Wifi is superfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    vicinity to the old town and all city attractions was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking could be a little bit cheaper :)

    vicinity to the old town and all city attractions was the biggest advantage of this hotel; good breakfast; possibility to use hotel bikes for free;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was slightly too pricey for my liking.

    I never expected the hotel to be so good . OK I saw the write up a from other people but we normally would stay in a Martiot and as gold members would have all kinds of privileges but were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Amazing location and lovely staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A Beautiful hotel in a Beautiful City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff was not up to the mark...everyday our cups n glasses wud be left dirty

    The front office staff was excellent and the bfast was gud.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Super castle views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the public areas is a bit bland

    Easy walk to the old town and the bus station (ideal for day trips). Generous breakfast. Modern rooms with comfy beds, great TV and excellent showers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Decent place to stay overnight to enjoy Ljubliana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was up to expected standards

    The hotel is like the country- decent, clean, quite comfortable, yet overpriced. The only thing which is truly excellent is location. Otherwise, a typical tourist hotel for groups from East and West to stay overnight close to downtown to enjoy it for several hours. Breakfasts are good and plentiful, and meals are tasty. Staff were helpful and all English-speaking. As to anything really genuine or distinctive, it is hard to identify anything. However, facelessness and lack of individuality is its distinctive feature, who knows?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, but..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was rather industrial & chaotic; big on quantity but less so on quality. Horrid coffee machines that either gave you a less than a half full cup, or overflowed the cup. Parking is expensive at Euro 18 per night, but still better than leaving you car on the street

    Excellent location; a few minutes walk to the river and restaurant area. Friendly and helpful staff. Good room; not large but adequate for 2, and with a very nice bathroom. WiFi that worked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value place to stay near the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not sure how to use the 'pillow menu' as we didn't know which pillow we had! Room safe could have been larger and there was a shelf inside which couldn't be removed, making the space smaller. Also the room safe was on the floor, within the bedside unit, which is not convenient for everyone as too low and in a tight space between the bed and wall. Wifi tended to jump in and out and was open with no password.

    Good bed. Room not huge but it had enough space for a week's stay. Good bathroom with a heated towel rail, good easy walk-in shower. Good air-con/heating. Good English speaking tv channels, programmes as well as news, also in other languages. Good power sockets, even a UK 3 pin! Good shelf for items. There is a 'pillow menu'. Good hairdryer with green night light. Room safe is good but not large enough for a laptop. An open closet with hangers. Recycle bins inside the hotel entrance. 3 elevators for the 8 floors and parking below. Good breakfast but can become busy at peak times. Good wifi. Good bar and restaurant with reasonable prices. Good check-in and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Central, clean and with park access. Good breakfast but crowded. Below 120 euro is value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price is a bit high, unfortunately this applies to all Ljubljana, however 143 euro the second day (Saturday) for a double room is really too much.

    The location is wonderful, in the middle of the city center. You can reach all places on foot leaving the car parked there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome location, 5 minutes from Tripple bridge, great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were told breakfast ends at 10:30, but this is only for the weekend. On Monday they ended it at 10:00, we were surprised. Since we came at 9:30 we got to eat but this should be more clear for clients that stay in weekend and weekdays. Other than this, all was very good.

    We asked for a quiet room and we got it. Room and bathroom were looking nice. Very confortable bed. Private hotel garage parking is also something we wanted and it's nice that they provided, it costs 18EUR/day. What was very nice is that they let us keep our car in the parking after we checked out for a few more hours. Hotel is very clean, friendly atmosphere. The breakfast is very good and in a nice atmosphere at the ground floor restaurant. They open the summer terrace sometime during May. Hotel is 5 minutes to Tripple Bridge, the location really is worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel with exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was a bit small

    Brilliant great value newish hotel in the old part of Ljubljana, close to all the sights. Staff exceptionally helpful, all speak English and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. The free breakfast is amazing, I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this is the best free breakfast by far. Three course dinner in hotel restaurant exceptional value. Foyer bar great for snacks and drinks. We had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Quality and class all the way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The buffet breakfast was fantastic! Plenty of variety and continually being topped up. Lots of staff on hand to assist. The rooms are modern and the bed was comfortable and the shower was roomy with excellent water pressure. On arrival complimentary non alcoholic drinks in our room fridge!Loved staying here- wish the rest of Europe would take this quality hotel as an example of how to treat their guests. Location was excellent- very short walk to city centre and our day tour kicked of around the corner. To top it off we met the Globetrotters (who were touring and chose to stay here) at breakfast- this place was just awesome!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Perfect comfortable stay for a late arrival in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was quite expensive, room was quite small, but only there for one night so fine for what we needed

    Easy to check in, great location, friends staff, easy parking (Bit expensive) good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Ljubljana is a great city to visit. This hotel was a good location from which to see it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was an excellent choice. We should have reserved parking, but arrived early enough in the day to use the lot adjacent to the hotel. The cost was comparable to the hotel's rate, so the staff told me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Lovely space in a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to say.

    Extremely stylish establishment, beautifully decorated and maintained. Wonderful position - 4 minutes from the Dragon bridge and the exciing riverside bar and restaurant scene - close to the bus station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be good if rooms had a mini bar (in order to chill water and wine brought from vineyards / wine shops etc)

    Great staff, great location, great breakfast, comfortable bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend in a perfect hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Staff was extraordinary polite. Restaurant and Bar big with plenty of room, even having baby buggy with us. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable. Location excellent for a nice city walk. We enjoyed our stay pretty much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a room with a nice view and balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    During breakfast, no personal attention from the staff. To even order a simple omelette, had a difficult time catching the attention of the staff. And not once did anybody come to ask us if we were happy with the breakfast or required anything. We stayed in April and the room was very stuffy and hot. When we enquired with the reception, they said they don't switch on air-conditioners in April, and open your windows, which was a useless response since we cannot leave the window open for the night as it can get quite chilly.

    We had a room with a nice view and balcony. Good-sized clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great for a couple's weekend in Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid parking

    Nice and accomodating staff, comfortable room, clean, elegant design, good breakfast, excellent location. Comfortable bed. Corner room with a balcony is perfect for couples.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    The hot tub with sea view was a high light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower and hot water were a little difficult, but Marija was excellent in response.

    The hot tub with sea view was a high light. And the room was much larger than we expected based on the pictures. Very comfortable for family of 4.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    the hotel offers some bikes to use for free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel offers some bikes to use for free. it is a great idea and a wonderful possibility! they only have 5 bikes, so some luck may occasionally be needed to actually get them - but we had that luck for two days :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Overall, this hotel is absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Other than wishing I had a few more days there. And that I could take the food with me...

    Overall, this hotel is absolutely fantastic. It is amazing value for money. The room was absolutely lovely, you don't get a teapot etc. In your room, but there's a valid and good reason for that, so don't get put off by that! We were so comfortable in our room, the staff were absolutely brilliant. And the food, wow! I couldn't get over the cost of it for what you get, the flavours! Wowww! I am very into food, and this is by far some of the best food I have EVER had! Seriously, 5 stars, 10/10! Well done guys, keep up the good work!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, would definitely recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, spacious room and I could leave my bag with laptop in a special storage room - not the regular luggage room with felt much more secure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not so nice...

    Perfect location...ALl top areas can be reached within 5 minutes walking...Everyone from staff is willing to assist and they are very kind...Rooms are spacy...I have been 3 or 4 times on that hotel and i recomend it to everyone who wants to be in the heart of a city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Hotel has very good localisation - near the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On breakfest there were a lot of people and the food on breakfest was during our stay always same.

    Hotel has very good localisation - near the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Clean, newly renovated hotel, great location, super friendly and kind stuff, recommended for events
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff, ready to offer the best. Ms. Anja Puc - the event manager is acting very professional in a custom satisfaction manner. Petra at the reception desk is doing great job in a very professional manner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Perfect location literally in the city center - Spacious family rooms with king and queen super comfort beds (in 2 separate rooms) - Nice breakfast with good selection of food - Immaculately clean hotel - perfect staff and very helpful - even great choice of Slovenian craft beers at the hotel bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility

    Well maintained hotel in central location Had quiet room. Modern comfortable bedroom. Smaller than some but adequate Very good shower Helpful staff Good choice at breakfast Arranged transfers to/from airport

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City Hotel Ljubljana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: