Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Central Hotel 4 stars

Miklosiceva 9, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

#38 of 62 hotels in Ljubljana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1416 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, advertised deal paid for but parts disputed and refused at check in
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked (and paid) for "breakfast included". When I checked in I was told I had to pay £15 per person per day for it ... £60! I argued that I'd paid for it, have a screen shot of the deal showing it was included. It was refused as they'd not included it in their booking system.... I'm following this up with my credit card company through customer protection procedures for a refund if the non provided service I'd paid for... I wouldn't have stayed there had it not included breakfast. We had to go out for it so paid breakfast twice over.... not happy

    The location, 5 minute walk from the old town centre. Pleasant staff. Helpful (except the breakfast issue), clean, good shuttle service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great location between bus station and triple bridges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location between bus station and triple bridges. 24 hour front desk, lift, excellent WiFi. Comfortable and quiet room. Super breakfast. Nice bar with good drinks next door. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, convenient, reasonable, with a great front-desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all; I prefer places with unique rooms, but I knew this wasn't that kind of place.

    It's a straightforward business/tourist hotel, fairly well situated (near Metalcova and also near the main square), but the staff, who were helpful and friendly, brought it up a few notches. Stayed twice over my time in Ljubljana.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    The staff was very friendly and the location is just 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture is very old. The bed made a lot of noise each time we moved. The bathroom was very small and had a piling ceiling. The water in the shower was standing and didn't pass. Parking was very expensive in the hotel (19euro) and we had to find parking in the stret.

    The staff was very friendly and the location is just 5 minutes walk from the old city attractions and stores.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    We loved the comfort of this place and can highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant think of anything other than perhaps the price. The restaurant was not operational during our stay but we found a nice restaurant nearby selling tradition food.

    We liked the fact that there is a lift. The bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfast great. The hotel is located in close proximity to the bus and train station as well as the centre of the old town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice, friendly, clean and well-located, convenient overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, clean room, very friendly staff. Good central location. The room was small, but comfortable, nothing fancy, but everything you need for an overnight stay during a business trip. Good value for money, although Ljubljana also offers nice apartments for rent, which would be about €10-20 cheaper and would be more spaceous and more charming - perhaps better to look around if you are going on holidays.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in the room, most furniture etc rather old and used, expensive parking which in the end renders this hotel too expensive for what you get

    good location close to city center, bed was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly and efficient staff, our friends missed their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and efficient staff, our friends missed their flight and arrived super late so we left them a gift and the desk manager had it placed in their room for when they arrived

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Only thing really enjoyed was the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a quite old furniture possible 20 years old. Bathroom was old and had a lot of moulds. Air-conditioning unit was noisy and probably from early 90's. Beds very uncomfortable for the price and star rating.

    Only thing really enjoyed was the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is close to the city centre and they do provide a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee-making facilities in the room, the bathroom is a bit too small and a bit too old. The hotel bar was closed when we stayed there and the hotel does not have its own parking.

    The hotel is close to the city centre and they do provide a decent, varied breakfast. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff, great location..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dusty. The showers are old and blocked. Just needs a revamp. Room was too expensive for what it was.

    Staff were lovely, really helpful and polite. Fantastic location. Both staff and location made up for the depressing room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    One of my best experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool inside the hotel. However, They give you a discount to go to a near hotel. No bathtub in the single room.

    Sona. Very clean and comfortable. Location, close to the old town and to the train and bus stations. You do not need any kind of transportation. Very good breakfast. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Cosy and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe just the orange juice, but I don't usually drink it Everyday for breakfast.

    The hotel is very clean and the rooms are cosy. It's very well located near the city centre. The breakfast was of quality. The staff was very friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Central Hotel Ljubljana: Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about Central Hotel

    The hotel was Central as the name. It was less than 5 min walk to Preseren Square Staff were amazing Breakfast and the team were awesome Love the candy put down after the room was cleaned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was good as advertised, maybe on the outskirts a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not first European visit, but rooms were smaller than normal. Surrounding area loaded with graffiti, first couple of blocks to downtown a little seedy.

    Location was good as advertised, maybe on the outskirts a little, casino next door. Facility had a large wow factor in its day. not old enough to be old, not new enough to wow. Kind of like you visited 1967 all over again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Certainly central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion, for a 4 star hotel and for the price paid, I do think that a free complementary tea/coffee facility and/or free bottled water should be provided in the room. I’ve stayed in 2 and 3 star hotels that provide this so would expect it from a 4.

    Funnily enough, it’s central location: close to the client’s office and within easy walking distance to all the restaurant, bars, shops and parks of central Ljubljana. Had a single room which was perfect for my short stay and the breakfast selection was good too. Perfect for exploring this wonderful city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff, tired property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired property in need of renovation, in particular the bathroom and the carpeting. Air conditioning didn't work during my stay and it was quite warm during the day. Breakfast buffet average, could be improved for health-conscious guests. A bit overpriced in my opinion.

    Great location (short walk to railway station and center of town), friendly reception staff, comfortable bed. Spacious room. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, pleasant, friendly and great location!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area was a bit cramped and they didn't seem to stay on top of refilling the food dishes. However, I was in during a very busy time, so these things can happen :)

    Our room was very spacious. I especially like the duel entrances to the bathrooms, allowing people sleeping in the other room to not wake anyone. The location couldn't be better, and even though we had to pay for parking, it was directly beside the hotel. Always a bonus for those of us driving into new cities. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i did not like the price at all Booking .com charged us a very high price while other people were booking at the reception accommodation at much lower prices. I am in the position to know because i was at the reception myself when they were booking and i felt like a fool

    the location was quite central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Helpful staff, the amenities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ventilation in the bathroom non existent, had to use hair dryer to clear the mirrors!

    Helpful staff, the amenities were good. Good quality and choice for the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit worn out

    Very nice staff, hotel is on a good location near the old town, valet parking works well though it is quite expensive, ok breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    A central and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room & the very noisy Chinese tour group, who seem to think they have the whole hotel to themselves... they were very noisy, rude and inconsiderate of other travellers and need to be informed by their tour guides to keep quiet and behave in the public areas!

    Central location & good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times the desk staff was manned by only one person which made it difficult to take care of multiple duties.

    Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Friendly desk personnel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal sometimes was slow.

    Perfect location. Just a few minutes walk from the bus or train station and to Preseren Square. Staff was nice. Breakfast start early at 6.00am which is good if you have to catch the early bus or train to somewhere else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    good location and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located a short walk from the main old town area. It is also close to the railway station if required. Breakfast is decent enough to get going in the morning. Staff is friendly and speak English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Extremely helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. Walking distance to major tourist attraction in the old downtown area. Extremely helpful staff who have provided us with all kinds of information. The only drawback is the facility, a bit old though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed every moment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall it was very good. A bit drab but hey, the price was reasonable and everything was comfy and nice

    The man at the front desk was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, always happy to help and service with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, always happy to help and service with a smile. Every request was met. Short walk to all the facilities and bus stop, brilliant location for sight seeing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    I was in this hotel many times.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modernization of rooms is already needed. Carpets are getting ugly in some places, breakfast could be better. To my regret comparing with the past overal quality of this hotel went down.

    I was in this hotel many times. Good location, parking next to the hotel, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Overnight in Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit hot and only one little window for air but not a big deal.

    Easy to find, efficient and quick check in. Polite staff. Rooms nice and clean, mini bar was good as I arrived close to midnight. Close to bus and rail station and connection to airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location, bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are old and in need of an update compared with other places we stayed in Slovenia, so you're certainly paying for location. Also, the breakfast leaves much to be desired and we felt like the woman in charge was watching us like a hawk as we grabbed food, which made the dining quite uncomfortable (however, the rest of the staff was wonderful).

    The best part of this hotel is definitely the location and the staff was friendly and helpful with great English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    A perfect place to stay to see the sights in downtown Ljubljana!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did happen to charge us twice for parking....however, I e-mailed them a copy of my receipts and they happily refunded me one of the charges!!!

    The breakfast spread was pretty good. They supplied us with a crib free of charge. A very good location if you want to walk around downtown. Even let us keep our car parked after we checked out!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Really impressed with hotel, staff, location, price and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘bar’ area could have been a little more cosy I.e. comfortable seating, lower lights, to give more ambiance

    Lovely and warm, excellent location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the location the noise from the street is the fact you have to take in consider. Breakfast was poor, no regular coffee.

    Location is great as it is few steps from the old town. Garage is near by. Receptionist was very helpful with informations as it was marathon next day and the roads were closed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Central Hotel was being renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central Hotel was being renovated. Their staff moved us to Grand Union Hotel down the street which was elegant and located better toward the center of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Not worth the money paid (EUR110/night)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was outdated. We stayed at Room 4130 (at the end of the corridor) and WIFI signal was extremely poor. Had to pull a chair and sit near door in order to get WIFI connected. That's the only spot in the room with WIFI signal. One of the lights in the toilet was blinking which was uncomfortable and harmful to eyes. Feedback to receptionist but issue was not fixed the following day. Breakfast was the same everyday.

    Location - 5 to 8 minutes' walk to bus station & train station. 10 minutes' walk to the main attractions of the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel. Would recommend anyone to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second bed in the room was settee bed rather than a proper bed. It was acceptable, however a proper bed would have been better.

    Ideal location, friendly staff, excellent facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great location, Great value and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel bar closed on Sundays , but plenty of options near by so not an issue.

    The hotel was in a great location, a short walk to the town square. Comfy rooms, very good breakfast. Nice bar area and friendly staff/

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    It is close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs more redecoration as the stuff is a bit old. It was very expensive for the quality we had. Parking was very expensive too.

    It is close to the center Bed was confortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Excellent three night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be kettel in room

    Great location central to all attractions room was very spacious and clean .staff were always helpful from reception too barstaff , breakfast was plentyfull and a variety of hot and cold food.free sauna as well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    A good choice for central location. Easy walk to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a bit worn and needs an upgrade. Small bathroom. Bedside lights not working.

    Quiet room. Comfy bed. Aircon that works. Great breakfast. Great location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    All as expected and at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing that affected me, but I did hear someone say there was no car park.

    Very good choice for breakfast. Good clean and comfortable room . Bathroom also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Staff most pleasant including the young student who was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff most pleasant including the young student who was very helpful with general information and directions We really enjoyed the breakfast . The hotel is in a great location . .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Location is good if all you are doing is sleeping in the hotel, just don't expect 4 star comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is definitely NOT a 4 star hotel. Our room was very small (2 rooms on each floor are very small due to the design of the hotel), more suited to a single. The bathroom was very tired- chipped shower tray, old plastic sliding doors, dirty grout, shower soap dish with no drainage. Sheer bedroom curtains were either discoloured or dirty as they were grey, not white. Hall carpet is stained, looks like bleach spills. There is no evening restaurant in the hotel, you have to walk into town (5 - 10 minutes) to get anything to eat. I think there is some food available from 11 - 3, but most people are in town at that time.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is good - only a short walk to the centre. Breakfast was good. They have umbrellas for guests to use, pay a 5 euro deposit that is returned when the umbrella is brought back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was great (large variety of yummy things).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were creaky. The wifi was very poor (signal probably too weak at the end of the corridor). The bathroom had a bit of mold in some seams.

    The breakfast was great (large variety of yummy things). The staff was very friendly and professionell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Very suitable for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ventilation in the bathroom

    Hotel situated at an excelent place close to the centre of the town and also close to the bus and train staion. Very suitable for a short stay. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So close to the center of town and all the interesting places for travelers. The rooms are not very large but then you have so much to see outside that your really should not be spending so much time inside. Wifi was great. Breakfast served in the hotel. Was not able to use a lot of the facilities since y stay was so short, but the service was good and they a have 24 hour front desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid extra for a family suite to accommodate us and our two kids, one of which is a baby. The air conditioning was not functioning properly so it was very hot in the room, and the hotel staff did not seem to care too much to try to fix it. In addition, there was a random space heater hanging out in the corner of the room (not turned on) we think because the actual heat must not have been working (we don't know; it was summer), but there were some parts missing from the wall and loose screws sticking out of the wall - very dangerous for kids! (Note - this was in what was sold as a family suite!) In addition, the pullout sofa must have been 20 years old and was incredibly uncomfortable. Overall we were overcharged for our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice and central, friendly staff and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and central hotel, good and friendly staff. Even parked our car for us and delivered after our stay.. so calm atmosphere and chill out lounges all around the lounges, super service minded. Slovenian people are so nice, Ljubljana is a hidden romantic pearl for couples or people who wanna relax, but still have fun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    When booking, I made a request for a high floor and quite...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking, I made a request for a high floor and quite room. Was pleasantly surprised that the requested conditions were well accounted for. Nice service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is very good, 5 minutes by foot from main train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old and not so clean, the extra bed for child wasn't good.

    The location is very good, 5 minutes by foot from main train and bus station, 10 minutes by foot to the city center. The stuff is very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Can't beat the location. Beds need to be replaced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main bed was not very comfortable and the sofa bed was uncomfortable, but we made do. Carpet in the hall needs to be replaced and Ice available. Lobby far too small for relaxing

    location, breakfast, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    The room was dirty, especially the bathroom, where there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, especially the bathroom, where there were urine spots on the toilet seat. Additionaly, the floor in the bathroom wasn't clean throughly, with hairs on it. The carpet in the main room was full of diffrent kind of stains and there was a lot of dust everywhere. Finally the air-conditioning wasn't working properly and didn't cool down the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms small but clean

    Great location, rooms are small but very clean, great staff, very helpful with recommendations. Would definitely repeat at this hotel on another trip to the capital.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Conveniently located hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I guess it's hardly the fault of the hotel but there were very noisy works going on right outside our window on Sunday mid-afternoon!

    Very helpful staff and good breakfast. The hotel is very close to the lovely city centre!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location, right in the middle of the main train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, right in the middle of the main train station and the Centre. Parking would cost a little more but there are other options in the Public parking area beside the main train station. The breakfast was up to par with ample menu.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location, close to square and market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs updates. Clean but worn and stained carpet in rooms and hall way. Breakfast area nicely updated and in good condition

    Hotel dated. New carpeting needed. Bathrooms not functional to use your own hair appliances. Staff very friendly and accommodating and breakfast the best we have experienced in two weeks abroad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    Ugly and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no charm, it's a refurbished building from the 1976. The rooms are not insulated, I could here everything that happened in the next room AND in the hall. Pretty bad value for your money.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.4
    Very average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms & corridors probably not refurbished since the beginning. No room service. No staff at restaurant (8 pm). At 140 Euro/night + 19 Euro car park (city parking) vastly overpriced.

    Breakfast good, wide choice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Quite good except room too hot at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No good evening restaurant . Rooms were very hot - no proper way way of adjusting the room temperature . Couldn't;t supply blankets instead of duvet

    Pleasant staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    We loved our stay in this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is very small as we booked a triple occupant room. Staff at breakfast area need to be more polite and welcoming. They looked very bored and fed up.

    We loved our stay in this property. Staff at front desk are very polite helpful patient and welcoming.Location wise one can never go wrong with this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location - just a few minutes walk to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a bit dated.

    Excellent location - just a few minutes walk to the main square. Wonderful breakfasts. Comfortable beds. The room was nice and clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel, awesome staff, great price and all in the center of Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the 3 bridges,the center of Ljubljana. The breakfast was awesome and the room was pretty spacious. The staff was super friendly which made our stay more pleasant!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    We stayed five nights at Central Hotel Ljubljana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed five nights at Central Hotel Ljubljana. Nice location near the old town center from where all main sites can be easily reached on foot. Very nice and helpful staff at the 24h reception. Nevertheless, the breakfast was an obscure show that got constantly "played" every single day by two of the older staff - though food was pretty standard but okay. Every day the staff welcomed you with sense of unmotivated ignorance and as guest you hardly felt welcome at all. Some examples: - they obviously didn't enjoy talking and were in a bad mood - they answered questions rather annoyed and resisted looking you in the eye ("excuse me, are there any more pancakes served today?" "naa! no pancakes!") - they permanently kept walking in your way. - besides non-serving the guests it felt as if their constant goal was to keep all tables emptied (...the hotel wasn't overbooked and nearly two thirds of all tables kept unused during breakfast) - when it got close to 15 minutes before official close-out (10am, Mo-Fr) especially one staff member even started starring at guests when they were still getting new coffee or bread. When it got close to 10am she took away plates from where guests were just eating half a second before without a single word ! - etc. There would be even more examples but guess that's not worth mentioning cause all in all it even felt like comedy. However, we travel a lot and have seen many nice hotels and met very nice people all over... But we have never experienced anything like this before :(

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. It was a small single room on the fifth floor by a terrace. The sun shining on it in the afternoon made it really hot and the AC was inefficient.

    It was a great place to stay to explore the city. The breakfast display was superb! I would stay again here without hesitation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Best hotel for down town visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the coffee bar was not nice as the hotel, We stay at floor 6, the carpet corridor was very old, but the room was nice and new,

    The room very comfort, perfect location and staff asistance, special thanks to help desk name Darja that was very helpful with any questions, parking available, coffee bar open to 23:00,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not a convenient parking - no direct access to car, need to wait for the staff to park it in and out - and also expensive 19EUR a day. Noisy street with main police station in front of the hotel - every few minutes the police car will start the siren. Just average room design and quality. Average wifi speed, in the evenings VERY slow.

    Nice breakfast. Close to the city centre - just few minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Great all round location, would stay here again and hope to soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room on the hot side, we left the window open as didn't want air-con on all the time.

    Great location for city sight-seeing & for visiting Lake Bled and Piran by excellent public transport system. Staff very helpful. Room was a triple which felt nice and spacious. Decent shower room. Breakfast had plenty of choice for my 'full English' husband and my more 'fruit & fibre' diet!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.2
    fantastic location, easy for those arriving by car
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was extra 19 EUR fee for parking, extra 17 EUR fee for having a dog. There was quite lot of choice for breakfast but nothing great (a bit dried out cookies, bad coffee, tasteless fruits...).

    the hotel has a great location (a few minutes walk from the historic center), very kind and helpful kind staff, warm rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    The most friendly staff i ever met
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything is nice, except the hairdryer not so modern.

    Very friendly staff, perfect, various breakfast in a nice, big hall with sunshine and big windows for the street - very nice start for every morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small rooms without flair. Bar/Café was not opened on any day without justification. Airport shuttle at departure was twice as expensive as upon arrival. Bed was rather on the hard side.

    Excellent central location with nearby transport links, yet not very noisy. Acceptable breakfast buffet. Good if you expect reasonable accomodation with no frills.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location, comfortable rooms
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Near to the city center, comfortable hotel offering rich and delicious breakfast. Our room had no view on the castle but still it was nice and quiet. Wifi works fast and reliable. Parking available in the parking house nearby, there was no problem with it. The hotel is a perfect starting point for sightseeing (old city within a short walking distance) but it also fits for business travellers having realistic expectations. All in all not a luxury hotel but it is worth for the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was so good! Really good location, 5 minutes walk to the main bus/train station and to the centre of the town. Very spacy, clean and comfortable room, with large screen TV, large comfortable beds.Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, great service. Breakfast was great. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything was so good! Especially,all the staff were very kind and helpful. The room was spacy and always kept clean and warm during my 3days stay. Breakfast was great. 5minutes walk to the station/bus terminal or to the centre of the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Good value hotel next to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue was the street noise at night associated with the adjacent casino.

    Excellent value for money and well situated for easy access to the old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Central Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: