Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Toplice - Small Luxury Hotels of the World 5 stars

Cesta Svobode 12, 4260 Bled, Slovenia

#16 of 31 hotels in Bled

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 799 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    the hotel is right on the lake front and all the rooms have a balcony with a lake view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds were old and not very comfortable

    Its like going back in time staying at the Topliss. Old fashioned service in the most picturesque of settings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.8
    I didn't look forward to going back to my hotel. Not really a pleasant experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room felt old and jaded. Old fashioned. Very noisy traffic and dark room. View of road & trees. Beetles in room so had to keep doors to balcony shut. Woke up with back ache from bed. Loose masonry fell on my head from balcony. Day off to rest and the TV didn't work. No atmosphere in hotel - felt dead. I have a knee injury so couldn't walk down so many steps to breakfast. Both restaurants full each night so just had soup in my room both nights. No fresh milk for the tea. My room was oppressively small and dark. Sorry but true. I felt this hotel was overpriced.

    The staff were great and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - and the private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a bit surprised at how outdated and basic the rooms were for the price. The balcony is pretty useless unless you're facing Lake Bled, so I felt a bit deceived when booking a balcony room and getting a street facing view.

    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - and the private "beach" was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location with free parking at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to make reservation in their la a carte restaurant and told would have to check, gave us 8pm but only one person in restaurant.

    Great location with free parking at the property. Staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Amazing private dock but uncomfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't stay in a lake-facing room and a lot of the amenities are only available in the lake-facing rooms. It was the most uncomfortable bed of our whole Croatia/Slovenia trip and I couldn't believe the amount of money I was paying to sleep on such a terrible mattress. Additionally, there was no air conditioning or air flow in the room and it is too noisy to open the window.

    The private dock/beach and breakfast options are unbeatable. You can order hot options in addition to a very full buffet. We also utilized the spa and I had one of the best massages in my life.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Peaceful elegant hotel for families and couples as well. Definitely worth to spend some days here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However we didn't want to watch tv, our tv and one of the lamps didn't work at all in our room.

    Clean room, neat hotel with very kind staff. We absolutely enjoyed being there. Breakfast was tasty too the hotel's own beach area was clean and relaxing as well. We will definitely visit this hotel again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For such a stunning location , they should improvise on the quality .Its a very old hotel.There is a difference of keeping the hotel in a classical look but a bit modern and clean. This hotel , feels old They could upgrade it a little bit and that could do wonders.

    Location VIEW Parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, service and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor - but a better sealed shower unit in the bathroom

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking is very, very convenient. Views are spectacular

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room with nice balcony and faboulos view over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room with nice balcony and faboulos view over the lake and the castle. Definitely the best view in Bled. Very friendly and helpful staff. Helped us to park our car and there always was someone to help us with any questions. Nice private beach with sunbeds and comfortable swimming area. Good spa. Recommend to check their massage offer - good price and very good therapist Denis! Good breakfast. In general we were very satisfied. Nice experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant scenery of bled!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A staff member told me to shush my 10 month old which made me uncomfortable. Not suitable for children. No games room and pool was too cold. Felt there should be more attentive bar service for the lido.

    Free car parking and lovely location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Loved the room, excellent location and facilities including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast was not great, had to find a server to order off the menu as no one came round, however the food was excellent.

    Loved the room, excellent location and facilities including the indoor pool and outdoor sun lounge area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    The location was right on the lake, the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little tired and could do with some upgrading.

    The location was right on the lake, the breakfast was extensive and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    This hotel has the 5 stars only thanks to the scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa has only a cold water pool...not so useful on a rainy day. Also: get ready to get naked for the sauna. The staff is generally pretty rude, so you feel bad if you dare to order something. This is only true for the older generation. Younger staff is friendly and can speak English. Beware that the property photos are professonially retouched, the reality is nowhere near as nice.

    This hotel has the 5 stars only thanks to the scenery. Take the lake away and you find yourself in a 3 star hotel from the socialist era.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was based on a la carte with a small buffet breakfast which could have been better. Bed mattress was too soft.

    The location is superb. Book a room overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff were first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise and consequent pollution. Restaurants a bit expensive.

    The staff were first class. Breakfast was beautiful. Lido/beach was perfect, as was the view from our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is at a premium, we were fortunate to be able to park right by the hotel, but we didn't see another vacant parking space during our stay.

    Incredible location, we had a room with a balcony with views across Lake Bled to the castle. The massage area and pool were excellent, as was the outside area from which you could swim in the lake. The breakfast was simply superb, with an extensive buffet and a la carte hot items freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Great rest area next to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice antique style, but the Suite can use a makeover. (holes in the Sofa, wallpaper coming loose,...) The five star view from the balcony however, makes absolutely up for it. Breathtaking

    Great rest area next to the lake Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful View
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find car parking in summer time. WiFi has a problem in the first day.

    Staffs, Breakfast, Location very good. My room has very good lake view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    A once beautiful hotel situated in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A musty smell pervaded our room. Even the bath robes which were stored in the wardrobe had the same musty smell, so when you wore the robe, the smell followed you. Our A/C also did not work.

    The location is absolutely excellent but sadly the hotel is in need of extensive refurbishment. The hotel has these small rowing boats and paddle boards which are available for use by hotel guests at a small fee. Really enjoyed using them.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    A real blast from the past, beautiful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the cafe / restaurant failed to direct us to the other restaurant when we arrived here by mistake. We were clearly dressed for dinner and I think it should have been obvious we had come to the wrong one. Unlike some hotels - service for drinks here is a little sparse. When sunbathing by the lido I went to buy drinks from the bar terrace area, I think the waiter does come round but not often. After waiting for a few minutes at the terrace bar, I went inside to find there was another bar and one waiter here. So a little lacking in staff perhaps. The European preference for single beds placed together rather than a double bed is a real shame at a hotel so perfectly romantic. In many respects the hotel, room and view are stunning and a real feeling of being in a movie. A double bed to share with your partner would be something I would hope for. I noticed the lampshades on the bedside tables were dusty. Which isn't really acceptable. The floorboards creak like crazy in the room, but I was never aware of any other guests above us or next door so it wasn't a problem.

    After reading some of the reviews on this site I was a little apprehensive. I guess different people have different expectations. My experience was that I largely loved it. An old world charm, a feeling of staying somewhere from another era. With beautiful furniture in the rooms and a jaw-dropping, perfect, 10/10 view from the room and its balcony. It was a great experience. The bathrooms were clean if a little dated perhaps. We didn't book dinner in advance, and on finding the restaurant, there are 3 - had a magical evening. A note, one restaurant is very relaxed and busy. We found it by mistake and though asked, weren't directed to the other restaurant. After taking a seat we realised this was not the right place, it was very casual and busy. On taking a wander we found the correct restaurant. And were offered the set meal, in one restaurant (this is the one offered when you book), or a la carte. We went for a la carte and were rewarded with a super quiet terrace, largely to ourselves. Perhaps a little more expensive, but to have a terrace entirely to ourselves for most of our meal (a couple left shortly after we arrived), overlooking the lake. Was an experience you couldn't have planned for! The two gentlemen serving us were delightful and charming. There is a lido available to guests, and while busy we managed to find beds. A great place to relax. Loved the free 1 hour use of the rowing boats (you'll need 2), we had tried to leave early before the sun was too hot, but they are not available before 10am which is a shame. Breakfast - really very good. We sat on the quiet terrace with a beautiful view. Buffet options and also a menu you can order from. There was fresh honey comb which was a real treat!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking wasn’t always easy. The a la carte restaurant was expensive.

    Beautiful old building in a stunning location. Bedroom was big, clean and well appointed, and had 2 balconies. Good ,restaurants and spa and all the staff were friendly and willing. Lovely to have private decking and sun beds and steps into the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were on the small end of things. AC in the room didn’t properly work and the hotel‘s own lido closes rather early (7pm!) regardless of whether it was a beautiful warm summer evening.

    Beautiful location, great views from the room and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous but book ahead for lake view rooms as costly to do once there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive upgrade for lake view. Ridiculous at 50 euro per night extra.

    Breakfast was amazing. So much choice and very attentive staff. Boat hire was easy and always sun loungers were made available. Parking was bit hairy but staff on hand to help. Loved the spa and thermal pool. Lake view - stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    A very well appointed and relaxing high quality hotel - recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was over priced- there are better restaurants in Bed. The bedrooms are rather smal but adequate.

    Location is amazing, the AC in the bedrooms works well, the breakfast was excellant and the staff were attentive. The private swimming area was well appointed and rowing boats, paddle boards available too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Incredibly beautiful setting. Too notch staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be a bit more comfortable. Service at lunch of outdoor terrace was a bit slow

    Beautiful setting in front of lake bled. So serene. So perfect. Excellent kind and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Well it's never a 5* it's either a 3* or a 4* at a push but this year it seems to be a 2*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is dated, yes it is meant to be as it's the original hotel but there is a lot in need of repair. The rooms facing the lake have been looked after but the other side are not cared for at all. when i complained about my mattress i was told to use my pump but then said ' oh we have not installed pumps in those rooms yet' clearly non lake view guests don't pay as much so not worth it. if you book a standard room, it's so small that even hotel companies contact their guests to tell them that they have had to change their rooms as the hotel's standard is not large enough to meet their room size requirements for two people. We had a suite with peeling wallpaper and broken air-con but friends and family which had a lake view had nice rooms after changing 1-2 times each! The breakfast is good however the staff are appalling, it is the hotel's choice to have a menu to order cooked breakfast from but then you have to run after waiters to actually serve you. You then only receive half of the description, eggs on toast but they don't deliver the toast, eggs with avocado and mozzarella but one day you will have avocado and the other not. The bar is overpriced at £16.50 for a gin. You can order a glass of champagne but unless a bottle is open or you are going to buy 3 or more glasses you have to have prosecco instead because the hotel charge the bar man if he opens a bottle of champagne and it isn't drunk in 1-2 nights. The best part was, when we complained we were told that other guests where happy! Clearly they were not listening to the couple who go every year for ease to meet friends and were standing in reception saying, "Well it's never a 5* it's either a 3* or a 4* at a push but this year it seems to be a 2*, No point complaining as the Deputy Manager doesn't care and the restaurant Manager doesn't have a clue what time of day it is.

    The location was good but the lake isn't that big so other than the view of the castle and location to the more popular bars any hotel is in a good location. The jetty over the lake was great as no other hotels have this. The jetty and the sunbeds, spa are great. couldn't fault them at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that the king size bed had two individual mattresses instead of one, but that seems to be the theme in every hotel in Slovenia I've stayed in.

    Everything was superb! From the friendly, attentive and polite staff to the incredible room views. Definitely worth spending extra for a lake view - the hotel is right on the bank of the lake and the views are insane! The breakfast is also absolutely fantastic and you can enjoy it on the restaurant terrace overlooking the lake. The Spa, whilst small, has everything you need a range of saunas, swimming pool with thermal water views of the lake (again!), a range of treatments and massages. The deck area is perfect and relaxed - guests can swim, jump/dive, rent boats and SUPs. Not a cheap place to stay but all things considered, I think it offers fantastic value for money and is worth every penny/cent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Superb location, especially the erooms with lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the superb location is the only thing that deserves a 5-star rating here. The entire hotel needs to be updated as the carpets are dirty throughout the hotel, outdated furniture in rooms, old wallpaper that is starting to come off the walls, terrible mattresses. The service needs a lot more work. E.g., the staff at the reception does not know what services are offered in the spa and tell you to go and see for yourself, nor did they know where each one of the three parallel wedding receptions takes place inside the hotel so you are left roaming the hotel trying to find the right one. Staff at the restaurant do not treat all the guests equally and are not very polite. We tried to call them to our table several times durong our 20 minute wait. They just passed us by and went on to serve other tables on the terrace. All in all, a far cry from a 5-star hotel. Sorry.

    Superb location, especially the erooms with lake view. Make sure you go for that, otherwise your room will be looking at a very traffic intensive street. Cehck-in and check-out is quick and easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Too many small shortcomings led to 12 incidents where improvements could be made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Attitude regarding complaints gave impression of could not care. Too many levels of management. "Not my problem " etc.

    Location excellent; young staff members very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Some issue about a "no show" for booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some issue about a "no show" for booking.com - they were expecting 2 guests. I normally book on Expedia, and I have not come across this issue before.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dress restrictions to enter dining room. Breakfast was the most abysmal organisation in 40 years of constant international travel! Incredibly bad!

    Position, high quality facilities and good choice of breakfast food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Amazing Grand Old Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Beautiful hotel. Everything was perfect for us. Great large suite overlooking lake with balcony. Not cheap but worth it. One of the best breakfasts at a Hotel ever. Dined in Juliana restaurant one night which was amazing food. Staff very helpful at all times. Lake Bled is stunning. We rowed a boat for an hour from the hotel out to Bled Island and then swam in the private Lido at Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    What a location! The food, the staff, everything was great. We''ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't expect drink service in the pool area. They were too busy to attend to us, but it was ok we just went to the bar nearby ourselves.

    This hotel was our splurge on our honeymoon and it was amazing. Old prestige and service. The staff were very accommodating, the facilities were excellent to relax and enjoy some time out. The breakfast was THE best buffet I have ever been to, and we have travelled alot. The sunbeds and private swimming area were great, and we loved the bonus of the boats you can take out on the lake. We rowed across to the church and it was lovely. (make sure you know how to row- we had much amusement watching some men struggle out there rather than get some tips from the staff before leaving shore). The location was perfect with a great view and a short walk to some fantastic local restaurants. The concierge's were SO helpful with advice on where to go and what to do. The restaurant onsite Juliana was wonderful for a degustation treat but be warned, the servings are huge so bring your appetite! Make sure you bring something nice to wear here for meals etc as the hotel is high-end. Loved it. Book now.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old and in need of an update.

    breakfast was amazing. The location and the staff were top notch. The spa was very nicely situated with a lakeside view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous break in an amazing setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one negative- the pillows. Too thin and two need to be provided per person. Had to put cushions under mine to get comfortable.

    Amazing location right on the waters of shore. Boat hire included in room rate was a lovely surprise. Staff were excellent. Superb breakfast. Has an indoor pool although pretty cold. Short stroll into town. Will DEFINITELY stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Happy, calm, energetic
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They should try for better coffee..

    Bled is a small but very beautiful place.The lake, the island above the lake and the castle on the hill must be seen.You can see all from Grand Hotel Toplice.you can swim right in front of the hotel Or you can go to the island with the boats the hotel provided,Or But you can enjoy the view with good food and good and gentle service without doing anything.You will be happy in any circumstance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good at all, the restaurant in the hotel was average at best - would recommend going to eat in Bled instead

    The location is unbeatable and the hotel has a wonderful old world charm. The Spa and sports facilities are also excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing view, wonderful staff and an incredible place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furnishings are getting a bit worn and dated but we understand it’s difficult to keep such a beautiful old hotel current without losing its charm.

    Amazing view, wonderful staff and an incredible place to visit. The view is to die for, the pool is incredible, room service was delicious and the breakfasts were fantastic. One of the highlights of our Europe trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    You pay for Good Location ONLY!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very old hotel (damaged curtains remains, bathroom old accessories remains, beds sheets don’t smell new, beds are not comfortable “you can adjust the softness or hardness of the bed but, still remains not comfortable”) As a summary: you are paying for the location only not the room 👎🏼 - Room received was dusty. - Air Condition: we booked a suite & found that the AC supply is just on the door entrance & living room. The Main Room with the bed was WITHOUT ANY AC SUPPLY “Who would do that?!”. - Breakfast: one of the worst breakfast in my life (No variety in food, egg omelette will be brought with tomatoes or any other vegetables cut in huge pieces ruining the whole omelette. - Staff: we order an omelette with tomatoes from (LUCIJA BLAZNIK) & she gave our omelette to someone else. When we ask about our omelette she just brought a raw omelette but, when we told her it’s raw she didn’t like it & went to heat the same omelette until it reached nearly burned & throw the plate on the table saying is it ok now & left whiteout hearing our reply. We had to call her Manager & unfortunately her manager saw everything & didn’t do anything (even though we ask her to apologize but, in the other hand she ask us to leave “like she want to kick us from the resturant instead of asking her waiters to be polite with the customers. Then, a guy (DRAGAN RIKANOVIC) who was a big lier in everything he said. He told us the waiter (LUCIJA) left & she was in the resturant & when we ask for her to apologize he said she’s afraid to come although she was continuing her work in the same hall. At the end, he refused to give us her name when asked but, after we insist to take it ha had to give us. (Totally not a 5 star hotel attitude)

    Great Location on Lake “BLED” & Free Parking Only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location, hotel could do with an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 5* hotel, it was a little worn around the edges - a number of staff were a bit frosty, spa services a bit of a sham, we got messed around with treatments (even though pre-booked well in advance) and was not offered refund - this left a bad taste as it was the spa who were at fault with timings etc., The treatment rooms were quite bare and basic, these could have been much more atmospheric and in line with the treatments offered. Mattresses in the bedroom are not of great quality and rooms are dated, only one lumpy pillow per bed and no extras in the cupboards. Our toiletries were not replenished during our stay. Breakfast options not extensive enough, eggs were grey looking, not enough fresh juices (bottles of concentrated juice) and half the 'fresh' fruit looked like it came out of a tin.

    Location is amazing, on the lake, close to all local amenities and activities. Couple members of staff were great, and the cleanliness was good. Lake Bled is a beautiful place, with plenty to see and do, you won't spend too much time in your hotel room anyway! Good that you can use the facilities of the sister hotels nearby, at least 2 or 3 I think to choose from - pools looked better at Hotel Park. Wall of fame (with photos) suggested many famous people have stayed over the years (royals, presidents etc.,) - though many were obviously taken a long time ago!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    The best location on lake Bled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are in need of an upgrade, the furniture is really outdated. There is nothing seriously wrong with it, but not what you expect from a hotel of like this.

    The biggest plus for this hotel is its unbeatable location: right on the edge of lake Bled. Make sure to book a room with lake view and see the sun go down over the lake. The rooms are comfortable, but in need of an upgrade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Location is great and Reception helps a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    helpful staff, clean hotel, nice beach, nothing to complain...

    Location is great and Reception helps a lot.Especially Jure and Georg (or Gregor) at the reception desk help with anything you need; for reservations for the best restaurants,cave trip; rafting tours... Hotel is the Best with People at the Reception, nice beach, clean rooms, rich breakfast... Thank you Jure thank you Gregor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Superb Lakeside Hotel with Great Pool + Spa + Lake Dock
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff we a little impatient and not mature.

    clean room, nice bathroom, historic balcony, nice attentive staff, super awesome pool and saunas, GREAT BREAKFAST, very calm atmosphere, has boats to use, easy access to swim in lake, parking on site was easy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    A huge disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the only hotel which claims to be 5 star in Bled The location is fabulous and overlooks the lake However, It is basking in very faded glory and is badly in need of a complete renovation We were extremely disappointed and felt that it was very poor value and should be rated no more than 3 star Even the breakfast was very average We had a suite and both rooms were tiny There was no air conditioning in the bedroom so if you closed the door you suffocated

    Location and view were stunning Concierge staff were very helpful and charming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in Bled
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book a triple room, the sofa bed could be more confortable.

    Wonderful hotel with the best views from Bled lake. The pool is beautiful although cold, great spa and the staff is truly helpful and nice. Would recommend this hotel without any doubt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Bled amplified by Grand Toplice Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly available and helpful staff - from check in, to parking assist, to dining, and just sitting and offered coffee and cookies! All with lovely ambiance and amazing location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Worth the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely, old and elegant lakeside hotel. Best part by far was the view of the lake from the balcony. Older hotel, refurbished, furniture and bedding were pretty average.. but certainly comfortable enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    I'd definitely recommend to visit this hotel, but also recommend to avoid the main season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The parking is almost impossible even with the outstanding help of the staff. - The cleanness doesn't really meet the price level...

    - One of the best breakfast I've ever experienced. - I've no vocabulary to describe the scenery what the lake-view rooms allows. It's amazing. - The staff at the reception is one of the best (if not the best) I've ever met. Fast check-in, fast check-out. It was just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly, the spa is great to relax in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit outdated and breakfeast was good but not outstanding for the value you pay!

    The staff was very friendly, the spa is great to relax in the end of the day and the view is just marvelous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The hotel has an old world elegance with an extremely attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The exterior facing the lake is a little shabby and needs attention.

    The hotel was able to readily combine 2 reservations (4-26-18 to 4-28-18 and 4-28/18 to 4-29-18).

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Totally Monarchy-classy with all it's pros and cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wellness is a total disappointment. The pool is way too cold to swim in and the sauna part is rather average.

    Breakfast, view and location are the three things I'd underpin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    A delightful stay in a Grand Hotel in a beautiful part of Slovenia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden tiled floor in our room was noisy to walk on and needing some attention , the staff in the casual restaurant were rather casual .

    As the name implies , a Grand Hotel with superb location overlooking the lake , the breakfasts were excellent .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely traditional grand hotel on Lake Bled
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lift was out of order, had to use service lift instead.

    Stunning lake view from balcony. Convenient location. Breakfast very good. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    What a place! What a hotel!! I can't praise it enough!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We apsolutely loved the hotel and its style. The staff was welcoming and very friendly, the reception staff, bar, restaurant, spa staff...just great. They were all very helpful. As I had broken leg and was using crouches to walk, they've made sure my room is very close to the lift. The spa downstairs is superb. The food in the restaurant amazing, the brakfast...lost for words. Chris and Tatjana

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a touch of refurbishment. More info should be provided by staff on the local offer and many attractions.

    Perfect location. View of the lake unbelievable. Food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Check-in and reception staff were very nice and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While 99% of the staff were very nice and helpful, we did come across one who was rude and arrogant, shoo-ing us away from one of the restaurants late in the evening.

    Check-in and reception staff were very nice and helpful, recommending restaurants in the area and also calling ahead to make sure there was space for us, and also recommending activities around. Thermal pools and the saunas were great, and so were the treatments available. The room was great, although some of the wooden flooring could do with a quick fix as some rocked about when stepped on, but overall a minor issue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Would not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    once a beautiful high end hotel that would need a big renovation. The food in the hotel ( half board ) was horrible. Never had food that bad in a 4-5 star hotel. The spa area doesn’t show the standard of a luxury hotel, it rather has socialist flair , indoor pool freezing cold. There is a second restaurant in the hotel but it is tiny, only about 20 places. We never got a place and also when we were there it only offered two different menues, one fish , one meat. Since our son is vegan , there were no options for him.

    The view. The room was clean, again needs a complete makeover. The location is beautiful and the reception staff is super nice and welcoming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel on the banks of Lake Bled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful, old-world hotel on the banks of Lake Bled with impeccable service. We splurged on a corner suite overlooking the lake and it was definitely the right choice. We had stunning views that we really enjoyed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Breathtaking view and step back in time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the interior is a bit dated and the beds could perhaps do with an upgrade (ours very creaky), but the room was huge and very clean.

    The staff were really friendly and happy to help with any questions. Good spread at breakfast too (even a glass of bubbles!). The view is unbeatable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Would like to come back during summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant in the hotell was not open full hours but we was instead invited to the close by "panorama" restaurant that was only medioker and not at all in standard as the hotel it self.

    Friendly staff and especially the bartender was very good. OK breakfast with quick service. The view is fantastic and the rooms where OK.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location but not worth the expensive price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was disappointing, the swimming pool was freezing. No One could swim at all, rooms are not 5 star quality.

    Great location but not worth the expensive price tag. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent position on the lake with friendly atmposphere and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thermal pool was freezing cold. Mixed sauna requires no clothes.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Good selection of food for breakfast. Good 4 course dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    We will def come back in this fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply that we didn't had a 1 double bed but instead 2 single beds together

    I loved everything from this hotel. The spa, room (not the bed as it was 2 single beds together) breakfast, the staff , the position, the politness , free parking and so many more. Paying €40 extracwe had the suite overlooking the lake bled that was a fantastic view. We ll surely choose again this hotel. We ll be back for sure in Slovenia .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    The staff were great, very pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did 1/2 board, the 1st night but was not happy with the limited selection. Just wasn't anything I cared for. I ate elsewhere 2nd night.

    The staff were great, very pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable and had a great view of Lake Bled, loved the balcony. I was in room 306. The hotel is close to everything and right on the lake. Breakfast was very good, plenty of selections, plus, you can order omelets and such. Enjoyed the spa, Mia was the nail tech for my pedi and did a terrific job!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    Good. Would have been better without 'surprise' charges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking site did not specify which room we got for the price. So we ended up paying a lot more to get the view.

    Breakfast had a good selection. Coffee was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.0
    Nice view, tired hotel with terrible staff. Not worth the price they charge - not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Hotel is tired and certainly seeing its age. They charge €13 for a gin and tonic and yet the bar man struggles to make it.

    The view and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Bled - the most beautiful lake in the world and our hotel was fitting of this experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly all dream-like experiences have to come to an end - leaving was not easy to do.

    The location - when you open the doors to your room and your balcony looks over the mot beautiful lake in the world, it's hard not to be impressed. The smell of the fresh air, cute quacking ducks, the rowers oars swishing across the still water and all this with a grandstand view - a truly spectacular location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.4
    Location with excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired looking rooms, creaky floor, uncomfortable mattresses, noisy neighbours, lift didn’t work for 2 days and food very mediocre. Certainly not a 5 star hotel.

    Location with excellent views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no soundproof with next room. I can hear every word and sound. I couldnt sleep too long.

    fantastic view. nice breakfast with elegant atmosphere. too old but elegant room atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    We booked this hotel for a day just to get the view of lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We booked this hotel for a day just to get the view of lake. i would recommend to book the lake view room even if it is expensive than the normal room. we also were offed free row boat which we used to go center of lake. we always wanted to stay in hotel and take wonderful photos. and happy we did it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Amazing Hotel. Go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is one of the most beautiful, historic hotels you will find....so much so that I got married here. The staff are fantastic, the breakfast is excellent, the views are terrific and I cannot rate it more highly....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Soulful Slovenia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel with an excellent location. Very attentive and friendly staff. Delicious and varied breakfast. We left a piece of heart in Bled and want to come back again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Old fashioned luxury on the lake shore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired looking furniture. Set dinner menu was pretty plain.

    Good old fashioned service with attention to detail. Excellent breakfasts. Luxury on the lake. Good private beach (deck) with diving board. Great views from the lake rooms of the castle and island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is perfect

    Everything is just perfect!!!! Food is excellent, receptionist is nice and polite, room is beautiful, waiters are helpful and nice , view is breathtaking . Strongly recommended !!!! Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall if it wasn't for the amazing location, I don't think anyone would stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid extra for a balcony expecting to then have a view of Lake Bled, only to be given a balcony over the busy road - what's the point? The rooms are dated and looking a bit worn which for the price is disappointing. The pool was absolutely freezing and I was clothing shamed by other guests who told me I had to remove my swimsuit if I wanted to sit in the sauna. Absolutely ridiculous. Overall the hotel is overpriced and I've stayed in far better hotels for less money than I paid here.

    The location was fantastic, the bar and setting were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: