Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Union Business 4 stars

Miklosiceva 3, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

#19 of 74 hotels in Ljubljana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1501 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.1
    Best location in LJU but everything old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was nothing special. Less variety of tea selction, even they did not have earl grey. big gap of service quality depends on the staff. everything too old.

    Locating the central of LJU!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertising in Booking.com states the hotel offers free parking but they charge 20 eur per day. The hotel is nice, but the rooms could be refurbished in the business part.

    Perfect location. Nice breakfast and friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    A marvellous corporate hotel in the very heart of one of Europe's most beautiful cities. Just wonder
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area on the top floor could have done with a hot tub or jacuzzi, and the ensuite bathroom lacked a fan.

    The room was extremely comfortable and spacious. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, and it really catered to everyone in terms of the types of food it offered. The hotel design and decor are very chic, and the location is superb: just a couple of minutes' walk to the very centre of Ljubljana.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    nice location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price is to high. i used to stay here in the past at half the price. I am considering other places if the prices are not coming back down.

    It is a good hotel nicely located in the hart of Ljubljana. The breakfast is good and location perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Staff very kindly, very good hotel to stay in Ljubljana.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it would be better to change the heating control of the rooms. My room was so hot at the night and I had to open the windows with the temperature outside 3 graus Celsius

    Staff very kindly, very good hotel to stay in Ljubljana.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    The positive attitude of the staff and service, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really good, but I would love to see a corner or table dedicated to some of the local food options and traditional information. The overall selection was really Nice.

    The positive attitude of the staff and service, especially with arranging transport to the airport (wheelchair capable) for an early departure including a prepared breakfast to go.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    2 star at best, bath with shower above. Shower head halfway down bath so water shoots all over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Double Plus Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded on arrival to a huge apartment with a padded adjoining door, behind the door was a man talking so loudly you would have thought he was in you room with you. We then moved to a room with scaffolding around the balcony, the biggest problem is that there is no air con. The hotel has a master switch which either supplies hot or cold air, the two nights we had were the most uncomfortable of our stay with hot air blowing in the room. We opened the door to the small balcony but the taxi rank out side and the screaming drunks kept us awake. I would not stay there again if you paid me. The whole place needs a complete re vamp and a change of attitude. Book late and you can doss down here for half the price of what we paid, that's if you are desperate.

    Leaving the property was the best thing about our stay. We asked for a restaurant booking and the girl behind reception stated we should walk to the place and ask ourselves, I mean what is your problem!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    every thing was ok the spa and swimming pool, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed was ok but i expected a bigger bed. The blanket was too small we asked for another one and got it.

    every thing was ok the spa and swimming pool, good breakfast, the room and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel still after 100 years of its building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was a little out of breath..

    Location is prime right on the old Town convenient parking on site for whose who have cars! Costs 25 euro per night though. Breakfast was greatt

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Really great and wide selection of everything at the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really great and wide selection of everything at the breakfast. Clean rooms, nice furniture, and a comfortable bed. The nicest view from the floor with pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good, especially due to the brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast for one could have been better. The spread, especially for a vegetarian was poor. So also the choice of breads.

    The location of the Hotel is the biggest plus. And the staff very friendly. Their advice as to the city, the travel options, providing map etc were all very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.0
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No appointments for massages left in the spa within the 24 hours Paid for a triple because I wanted the main bed and the sofa bed made up (as it was me and mum) but they didn’t make the sofa bed up so we had to share the main bed.

    Breakfast was amazing, lots of choice and fresh fruit and also gluten free bread! Room was clean, beds comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large room with nice bed and deacent view. Bathroom is large and clean. Everything is quiet and cosy. Very close to the main square. There is a nice swimming pool at the top.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in the city center, but we paid (a lot) for it... (see points)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although our stay was good, there still were some points of improvement, especially taking into account the price we've paid: - Parking was full; we were in luck finding a spot (by ourselves), but others had to leave their car and drop the key at the reception, so personnel could park the car later - In the night general bathroom-ventilaton was too loud (this was not air conditioning and could not be turned off) - Swimming pool was full and had to wait 45 minutes

    A high quality hotel in the center of Ljubljana. Our stay was overall very comfortable, thanks to the following points: - Comfortable room with large bathroom, all very clean - Swimming pool was very refreshing coming home from a day of walking through the city - Breakfast was great, a lot to choose and all high quality - Location: being in the city center is great, also good to park within the hotel parking (paid)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Facilities and near by everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff at breakfast should help a little bit more. Guests should be indicated a table to seat, because one lose time looking for a free one. The process for renting a car takes too much time.

    Facilities and near by everything. The food is good. The upper floor view is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Double Plus Castle View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited menu for room service but lots of places to eat nearby.

    The hotel has a prime location near the city center, easily accessible to all "must see" places in Ljubljana. We also liked the view of the castle and cathedral from our balcony, which you need to request in advance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location and splendid breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was amazing! My husband and I are really breakfast people and I have to say that we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building just around the corner from the city center. It is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. We stayed only for one night but we enjoyed it. The triple room was comfortable, big and clean. The hotel was just in the city center. Car parking very useful. The receptionist made a reservation for us to a wonderful restaurant. The breakfast was very good ( Big variety )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    It’s a beautiful place in the center of a downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a beautiful place in the center of a downtown. But if you go in August of 2018, call them to find alternate route to them as most of the roads in downtown are closed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The 8th floor sauna, and the pool is really lovely,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing negtaive.

    The 8th floor sauna, and the pool is really lovely, eventhough it is small, but during summer, when the doors are opened, it is amazing cool, with a view to the city center. Big spaceous room, great bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff is very kind, we were in a hurry to get a gift and...
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first they gave us the wrong room, when we realized that, they immediately changed it. I noticed that some rooms still have old dusty carpets (not our case), I think they are gradually renovating the old building.

    The staff is very kind, we were in a hurry to get a gift and the car valet guy understood our need and suggested the best and closest shop. They also took care of my car with due diligence. The swimming pool is well maintained and offer a nice view on the old town. Breakfast is crowded but very well supplied. Beds are very comfortable. I would surely go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for another 2 nights and was given the presidential room but we were not given the complimentary water every day as it was in the business side of hotel

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    We loved the whole experience of the beautiful hotel.It was very well located.Breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was great.We loved the location, the swimming pool, help from the staff.

    Excellent location .Very comfortable beds.A very helpful staff.amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    It was an absolutely perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel parking is quite expensive... maybe they can find a better deal for hotel guests.

    It was an absolutely perfect stay. The rooms are clean and big, breakfast is spectacular, great variety that you can top with champagne, I also visited the gym early in the morning, which is clean and very well equipped. I would love to come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic cops from inner city is issuing penalties to tourisms only because the road is under maintenance and there is no clear sign in English for foreigners. Robbed 80 EUR on my way to this hotel by this cops.

    Breakfast is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    The breakfast buffet was comprehensive, Just what we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was comprehensive, Just what we needed before our long flight home. The taxi service to the airport is a bit pricey, but the hotel staff arranged it in 5 minutes, extremely efficient!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast is delicious with a variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is delicious with a variety. The room service and the restaurant is great especially the lamb stew and they offer local cuisine. The bed is of king size and the room is comfortable. It’s within walking distance to the train station and also the points of interests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value, great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was good value considering it had access to a full buffet, pool and sauna. Walking distance into the centre of town and easily accessible from the bus station. Was able to print documents I needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay- would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A suggestion might be to provide milk with the tea and coffee facilities and complimentary water.

    Clean comfortable rooms. Pool and sauna included for guests. Nice spa- got a back massage, which was excellent. Friendly, approachable staff. Large breakfast which was delicious. Good location close to the centre of Ljubljana. Quick check-in and check-out procedure. We were able to check in slightly ahead of schedule which was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location near all the main sights of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Free Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little difficult to use. It located in the middle of the bath rather than end so water was not all stopped by the shower screen and can get on the floor making it slippery

    Location is very good. Close to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, facilities in the room were above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the hotel isn't included and costs 20 euros per day which is rather steep

    Very good location, facilities in the room were above expectations with the massaging chair and trouser press. Nice spa and pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay right in the centre of Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door insulation was terrible, a lot of corridor noise. A bit dissapointed that we had to pay separately for parking.

    Big confy room, very clean and plenty of toiletries, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location to explore the city on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of street construction, difficult to find and noisy , not the hotel‘s fault. Parking 20 euros a day

    Perfect location to explore the city on foot. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Charming rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking - for a fee Price difference of EUR 30 on the booking site Between my phone and my wife's

    Excellent location near the Old City Convenient parking - for a fee Charming rooms A delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    City Centre stay with great spa and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a triple executive room so we did expect to have 3 beds but got 2 beds plus an extra bed, which was a bit disappointing as the booking stated triple room.

    The spa section and the breakfast were very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with parking, indoor pool and spa just minutes from the centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was incredible considering that breakfast was included, room was great and the added bonus of the heated indoor swimming pool and spa on the rooftop! Staff were very helpful, lending us umbrellas, restaurant recommendations and great attention at breakfast time. Underground parking was so worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    An excellent place to stay in Ljubljana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff did not always replenish the coffee supplies and we were almost charged for mini bar water we did not use.

    The hotel is perfectly placed in the old town. It is also extremely quiet for sleeping because of the pedestrian only streets in the city centre. The breakfast buffet was excellent as is the pool and sauna room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely return. Peaceful town. Friendly people and good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Double Plus Castle View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in we were not given the room we booked. But after having a snack and back to reception drawing their attention, this was rectified professionally. Not complaining.

    Good breakfast. Very professional, obliging and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very helpful and the hotel wellness is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room the TV was not working (remote controller was not functioning) and window over the balcony door was also broken and I was not able to close it completely. This imperfections however does not affect our stay too much.

    The staff was very helpful and the hotel wellness is excellent. Location of the hotel was perfect as well - just a few steps into the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location and really friendly atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is quite small with limited equipments. Also the original street view room was very noisy.

    The staffs were extremely friendly and welcoming, we had a noisy night and got upgraded to a city view room! Breakfast was excellent, lots of options!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Quality stay close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV was a bit wonky in my room, but given the weather was incredible throughout the entirety of my stay, there was no real need to use it! Otherwise, the only other thing that I might mention is that information for public transport was a bit scarce - but could easily be accessed.

    The included breakfast was a good mix and variety with plenty of hot and cold options along with standard continental fare. The property itself is just a 2 minute walk from the main square of the town at the heart of Ljubljana. The rooms were spacious and offered great amenities, and the concierge was knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Short stop in Ljubljana downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baby crib didn't have mattress, they put blanked with linen over it. Our baby often ended up sleeping on the hard bottom of the crib. Breakfast was ok, but could have been richer. Parking could have been included in room price.

    Location is perfect, in Ljubljana downtown. Comfort of bad and pillows was great. Spa is very good if you want to relax after busy/intensive day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    The room was exacly as described and shown in the picture on...
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not included in the price, but it was nice and spacious

    The room was exacly as described and shown in the picture on the website.Forniture superior, excellent view from the terrace. Nice functional training gym

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excellent and fast check in service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent and fast check in service.We were giving a free upgrade to a room with a large balcony on the same floor as the Wellbeing Centre.We were kindly given a map of the town by one of the receptionists.Bars and restaurants overlooking the river are a 5 minute walk from the hotel.We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and the food and service was excellent as was breakfast the next morning.Very quiet hotel also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast. For the first time in 4 star hotel we could taste so many different dishes: raw vegetables, fried vegetables, eggs in many different ways, cakes etc... I really recommend it. Satff very polite. Rooms spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous, relaxing weekend break in a beautiful city. Fabulous choice of bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not allocated the room we had booked and the room we were allocated did not suit our needs. However, we raised this with reception and were relocated to a more suitable room with an offer of helping to move our possessions.

    Location was perfect. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    excellent hotel in the city center with a wellness center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think that they should offer some fresh fruit juices and smoothies in the wellness center. Otherwise, everything is great

    The hotel is located in the city center. The rooms are very nice, perfectly clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast is excellent with a variety of different food options. There is a nice fitness center which is free for the guests. Also, there is a wellness center with a warm water pool and saunas at the top floor of the hotel, and it is free for guests. It is possible to get various massages for a charge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Aplace to relax and enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is always delayed. Tv is locked to external input and remote control isn’t working properly. No many varieties in breakfast

    I liked the room space, furniture, cleaning and facilities. The receptionist is very friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not the one we booked. We booked a superior triple room which in description and picture showed one existing double bed and one single/twin. The room we got had only one large double bed. An extra bed was added latter which had a broken leg and we had to ask for another at the time we found it out, i.e when we got to sleep around midnight. The staff tried to convince us that our room was even better that the superior one we booked which was not true!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Centric location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worn out furniture. Outdated bathroom. Exaggerated prices for minibar.

    Centric location. Delicious breakfast. Nice pool and Spa facilities. Excellent hotel personnel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaned more carefully. Found some 'souvenirs' of former guests...

    We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable room and the breakfast was very good! Perfect location for visiting the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Certainly be staying there again as the location and staff are both Great !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue was the tea and coffee facilities in the rooms were not restocked each day, after we used the 2 tea bags on the first evening, we had to keep requesting them and also ask for the little milk cartons as these were not replenished either. Also on the first evening they brought a bottle of drinking water to the room with only 1 glass!, after this was drunk we asked for another the next day, and we were told to drink the water out the bathroom.... But this certainly did not spoil our stay - Thank you

    The Location is fantastic and the staff were very polite and could not do enough for you, very well run Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Great value, location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Man, this was one of the best hotels we stayed...there is nothing to complain...check in was a breeze, every employee super friendly, pool and sauna were great at no additional cost...bathroom was huge...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Great staff and locationa and comfortable rooms. Only bad thing is parking for guests (20 EUR/day).
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint is 20 EUR/day parking price for hotel guests. There are quite nice open parking spaces at the railway station for 8 EUR/day covered with cameras.

    I've been there for just one night during Ljubljana marathon. Great personel and location. Center of town is literary 2 min. walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Awesome Location** and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, easy to walk to all the action. (And we walked to and from train station). Staff were very helpful with any questions we had. Our room was large and clean, bed fairly comfortable. Bathroom had tub shower combo which I enjoyed. Breakfast was amazing! Huge buffet and lots of options! Didnt use any other facilities in the hotel so can’t speak to those. Overall a great stay and would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    Hot rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were too hot at night and the AC is not available since its not summer any more... The staff gave us fans, but we had to open the balcony door at night to allow some cold air in and then we had to suffer from the church bells that rang ever 15 minutes. This is unacceptable in this rate of hotel. Other issues: We ordered one double room and one twin and got two twins. The parking is 20 EUR per day.

    Great location. Very good breakfast. Large rooms (the studio). Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    great location in a charming city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning was not operating even though it was more than 20 degrees centigrade outside...Apparently, in October the cooling system is switched off and when you turn to air conditioning on it heats rather than cools!...And since the room temperature is centrally controlled, you cannot manually change it for individual rooms...well, apparently they have not heard of global warming and I had to sleep with the windows open (thankfully they could be opened manually).

    The hotel has the best possible location in the city....it is 1-5 minutes walking distance to the city's central square, Cathedral, Central Market, old city streets, the charming bridges over the river and the vibrant cafes and restaurants always full of people young and old...Even Mac Donald's is at the same walking distance and so are the post office, numerous banks and a supermarket. Day tours to other Slovenian attractions start and end in front of the hotel and can be easily arranged by the hotel's concierge. The people at the reception are super friendly and efficient...They did enable me early check-in as I arrived around 9:30 in the morning. The taxi to the airport that I ordered through the hotel was 1/3 cheaper than the taxi I took from the airport to the city. The breakfast had top quality and great variety... In short, this is the place to be if you are coming to Ljubljana for a few days.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful cultural experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast room is barely big enough for the number of guests and it wasn't always easy to find a clear table

    We liked the welcoming and helpful staff, the very comfortable and spacious room, the excellent location and the quality of the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant location in the heart of Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - you couldn't get more central. Nice big room. Massage in the spa was good. Breakfast extensive, although a little slow to refill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    One of the best hotels in the world in which I've stayed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Almost everything. The suite was spacious and very accommodating. The staff was very attentive. The breakfast was wonderful. It was close to the center city but rather far from my conference location. It's rather pricy but worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    well situated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel, good service, but all needs some update, it's all a bit "passé". It's clean, so it's certainly not a bad place to stay, but maybe too expensive for what it is.

    Fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful location with excellent staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were lovely and the assistance we received with information about the area was great. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices and the room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious as well. The location is excellent right in the heart of Ljubljana.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    So close to main city centre and also to the bus station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So close to main city centre and also to the bus station, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast makes you satisfied. Everybody in the country speaks fluent english. You will love beautiful green natüre and admire to the clean and sweet streets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was out of use during our stay, but the staff at the hotel and everything they did for us more than made up for this

    Great location, lovely breakfast and very accommodating staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel very close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pool was lovely but too small for the number of people in the hotel . The staff restricted the number of people using the pool at any one time to about 20. This was a good thing as it meant you were able to enjoy the pool once you were in. But the downside is that it is pot luck as to whether you get access at all

    Lovely spacious rooms , very clean and good air conditioning. Liked been able to park the car underneath the hotel . Very convenient for the city centre on foot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a Fantastic location and great and very friendly staff! It is a Very Nice and clean hotel with very good facilities! - even a swimming pool and relax area! By far this hotel had the best breakfast of our whole holiday trip!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    The room was very comfortable, very clean bathroom and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking management was far below standard, accepting cars above capacity and putting the safety of the cars and drivers at risk. Not acceptable at this level of hotel. Personnel not knowing what to do in this kind of situation, showing clear lack of leadership and management skills in the field.

    The room was very comfortable, very clean bathroom and good breakfst

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room interior is dated. The pool and sauna are small.

    The location is very center of the city, you can get to every main sight. The room is big enough, very clean and confortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is gorgeous!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and helfpul staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dated décor in parts.

    Good size rooms with a great view towards the castle, excellent city centre location, helpful staff, good breakfast options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, good breakfast, but tired / dated look for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally a little tired hotel Had to switch rooms, which was not a problem, but for the cost I was hoping for a little better.

    Great location very near the city Breakfast was great Swimming pool was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    best hotel in Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its hard to park in the garage- free places are far from elevators so it difficult to use with a lot of luggage ! there is only on -1 level entrance for grand hotel union exclusive, so if you find free place in the other levels you should walking throughout the hotel.

    best location and great hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    very pleasant stay, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Location is excellent, 1 minute walk to the old town center. Room is clean and neat, with all facilities in good condition. Quite spacious for a couple. Private parking is super! especially in the town center. Staff are polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Wish to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is over crowded with many cars parked on the way!. However, the hotel staff was kind to bring our car to the front door. Many thanks!

    Very good, large room, excellent breakfast, location very close to any tourist attraction, restaurants, terraces and other. The room was quiet and we had a very good rest after a long drive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Don't miss Ljubljana - this hotel is a great choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. A short walk into the center of town; a short walk to a launderette who did a great job for a good price; a short walk to the bus station for a day trip to Lake Bled. The staff was excellent. They were clear and accommodating to every wish. Also, they gave us great restaurant recommendations, including AS - one of the best meals we have ever had. Ljubljana is a fantastic, charming, artsy place. So glad my brother recommended us to go there. People are great, and very interested in giving the best service and experience possible. Will surely go back some day. Very good breakfast - including champagne.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Great value, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient parking right under the hotel, but it cost 20 euros.

    Great location for exploring Ljubljana. Clean, updated property with a touch of luxury. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great rooftop pool. Huge breakfast variety and selection. Excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Union Business traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: