Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Union 4 stars

Miklosiceva 1, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

#9 of 62 hotels in Ljubljana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1546 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to construction work on the street the hotel wasn‘t quite easy to find. More signs on the streets that lead to the hotel Would be helpful

    Great breakfast area Nice welcome and goodbye at the reception Absolute plus is the Indoor pool and little sauna area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    It was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pump in the bathroom made a terrible and loud noise.

    The location, the pool and the breakfast. The breakfast was the best I’ve encountered. The children loved the pool and buffet. The train station was fairly close. The staff was very helpful. They got us train tickets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location. Great stay in Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was small.

    Excellent location. Nice Breakfast. Excellent staff. We requested for early check-in while booking and the time of arrival was allotted room immediately.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in the Grand Union and would recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were very thin and not up to the standard of the hotel in general. The climb into the bathtub to access the shower was steep with nothing to hold on to. The toiletries were very basic. We did not avail of hotel parking but thought it was rather expensive at €22/night.

    Very central location only a short distance from the Old Town. Very good breakfast with a wide selection. Very pleasant and helpful staff including Gregor the concierge. And a spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Super location to downtown/city with great helpful/friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Love the downtown location. The staff is extremely helpful. Was given a upgrade @ checkin which was a wonderful surprise. The pool & Spa area was great. So easy to access many different resturants downtown & shopping ti include local markets. Paid parking available under hotel. Two sides to this hotel (executive & business). Stayed in both & liked both. Both have use of pool/spa & options for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    Hotel in a perfect location and very clean, but hotel not very child friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found hotel not to be very child friendly. The room balcony was not accessible to our infant due to the inadequate spacing of the rails. Had to prepare food for our infant during the holiday after the staff had failed to keep our pre-prepared food for our infant within their freezer, as they had originally confirmed would be possible.

    Property very clean, very good location, very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    just perfect for a night in ljuljana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were a little sad that pool and wellness do only open at 10 o clock on the weekends so we could not go 😔

    the art noveau style is beautiful and the beds are great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.0
    Reception was very funny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because we were arriving late we called reception upfront for a food order but it seemed a very strange question. English was not so fluent spoken at the hotel. Hotel also was a little bit old fashioned.

    Reception was very funny. Very high ceilings which gave a spacious feeling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Awesome stay in the heart of Ljubljana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was good, very comfy bed and facilities were nice. The location of hotel is one of it's best features! Within a minute you are in the middle of Ljubljana. Super convenient! The breakfast was one of the best I've had :) so much choice, but also very good quality foods.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    A great hotel in a fabulous compact city in Slovenia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Great buffet breakfast, comfortable room with air-conditioning, safe, wardrobe space, full length mirror, toiletries, free wi-fi excellent, staff so helpful and smiling, no noise from outside, fridge in room, tv, hairdryer in bathroom, trouser press. Souvenir shop in hotel has excellent gifts and great value, barbers, cafe, clothes shop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Elegant hotel in very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvet on bed narrower than the mattress so needed repositioning every time you turned over. No tea-making facilities in the room.

    Spacious room, generous breakfast buffet; convenient location. Lovely old building. Very nice bathroom. Convenient on-site parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    A perfect location for a visit to Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the appliances (eg hairdryer) were outdated and could use an upgrade.

    The location could not be better and is very central to the best of Ljubljana. We also found the parking to be very easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is right in the city center, close to lots of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right in the city center, close to lots of cafes and bars. The rooms are huge and with the great view. Big thanks to the reception staff especially to Gregory (sorry if I misspelled his name) for the quick set up of the conference room and great patience to our demanding group

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Location location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location. You couldn't get more central in Ljubljana. Great staff, big and comfortable rooms, nice bar. This is The hotel to book for a short stay in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Ljubjiana is now our favorite getaway destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location could not have been better. The room was spacious, clean, had great views of the castle, and the bed was as comfy as at home. The best cafes, restaurants and bars are just a short stroll away. We walked everywhere for four days, and at the end, we tried to extend our stay in beatiful Ljubjiana. A true gem of a country and city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    I like the Union and it is in a prime position with charming...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggest hotel manager visits Sheraton Four Points bedrooms to see the quality of towels, face flannels and bath mats. Those at the Union are a disgrace and should have been thrown out years ago. I would expect better in a Penzion. Also, recommend you source pillows from same supplier as Four Points, and why no kettle for tea and coffee in the bedrooms? Not acceptable in a hotel like the Union! Finally a television channel showing films or tv series would have been much appreciated. I have found better programmes in a penzion bedroom.

    I like the Union and it is in a prime position with charming and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    You could not wish for a better hotel position, it is just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could not wish for a better hotel position, it is just in the right place in the very heart of Ljubljana. The staff is welcoming and professional. Breakfast is quite simple with a limited choice, but you won’t end up hungry. We booked a room with castle view and it was well worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Amazing Location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever

    We had an amazing experience here. Easy to park at, yet in the very center of Ljubljana. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! Very clean, comfortable room. If you have time, book a massage! It was perfect for me & my pregnant wife.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    I liked everything about this hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The side of a bathtub is quite high and in order to get in to access the shower one has to step in very carefully. There are no handles to hold on. I would suggest that some should be installed for convenience and safety.

    I liked everything about this hotel! We stayed in the old , original building which is next to their modern hig hrise section. The stately old hotel retains its charm and a touch of luxury while having all the modern comforts. The location is excellent , right near the three bridges in the very center of old Ljubljana. The breakfast buffet is abundant and offers a lot of choices ( no omelette station though).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Main reason to stay here was location, and swimming pool. Both exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to like church bells . . . The room was very comfortable, but rather bland. I had been hoping for more art nouveau decor.

    Lovely swimming pool, very warm, and bright. Great location, walking distance to everything: on the edge of the old town one way and 5 minutes to the bus and train station the other. Very good breakfast buffet, with hard-working attentive staff. Our room had a great view of the castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 euro for parking for one night

    Great location. Very welcoming and helpful staff. The pool and wellness is a great treat at the end of the evening to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in a lovely country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area shared with the other 2 grand union hotel so it is chaos during the peak period of the breakfast time

    Fantastic location, very comfortable bedding, excellent breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. Breakfast is delicious. This is my second stay here and I’ll definitely be back again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel charge to my credit card even though it was meant to confirm my booking, and I have to go thru hassle calling booking.com and settle the dispute...cos there’s difference in the exchange rate charged and refund. This has been very upsetting as I have enjoyed using booking.com for all my overseas trip

    Staff are very friendly and accommodating and willing to give u pleasant surprise to delight guest, in my case Ursala offer upgrade to street facing room with new mattress Location of the hotel was the main factor I enjoy my stay as it was literally stone throw away from the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is superb, staff is friendly and the breakfeast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit outdated and cpuld be more comfortable. The value for money is based on location, breakfeast and staff while thr rest is average.

    The location is superb, staff is friendly and the breakfeast is extremelly good with a wide selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    excellent service, location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room was a bit crowded the first morning so figuring out where to sit wasn't terribly clear but once seated it was all straight forward.

    Great location right near the center of the old town area. Received a room upgrade even over a holiday weekend. Fabulous reception staff - especially Alija who helped us with a bit of a medical issue on a Saturday and she was able to find the best urgent care facility for us to go to for care (actually cheaper and a bit faster than our one at home). Great breakfast with good coffee to get you started in the morning. Room was comfortable and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    I loved the location of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at breakfast was terrible. Her name was Sara and she was awful....

    I loved the location of the room. When we checked in, there was noone showing us to the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    You can’t beat this location, and the staff is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can’t beat this location, and the staff is amazing... right next to the beautiful main square, you are right next to the heart of the city, yet the rooms are quiet for a good night sleep. The staff was incredibly helpful in getting us settled and finding a fun restaurant (TuBar). The rooms are a bit dated, but the beds are comfy and we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Really happy about our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine at the breakfast area should definitely be replaced. A good coffee is the key to start a good day! :)

    Really happy about our stay! Domen from the reception was particularly professional and very polite. We appreciated the way he treated us. Great rooms, very confortable and clean. Warm and relaxing pool. Location is fabulous! I really do not regret my choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    What a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Family Room with Easter package
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Honestly. I haven't the slightest idea how this hotel could be any better than it already is.

    What didn't we like? Everything from the airport pickup to the airport drop-off was wonderful. We had great and useful recommendations for everything around town and they treated our four-year-old daughters so well. The breakfast is good and varied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower/bath not a walk in shower. Plug sockets down low and behind furniture, should be more accessible.

    Great location. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent power shower. Nice large comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel, deserved the word grand.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the centre of town, beautiful view from the hotel, swimming pool, friendly staff and good value for money. We got lucky and got upgraded without any further costs. Parking garage is available, so easy to go to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in the heart of Ljubljana
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and staff is awesome - polite, helpful, they go out of their way to make one's stay a superb experience. A rich buffet breakfast, with everything on it, and staff that will also serve eggs sunny side up to a demanding child even those kinds of eggs are not in the buffet. Sauna and pool were great, the Finnish sauna larger than I expected and the sauna staff was absolutely lovely. There is no cold pool, but there is a small terrace with a stunning view of the Ljubljana caste where one can cool down after sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, great location, exceptionally friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are huge but have no showers (at least 2 showers would fit in easily), but a bath tub, which is uncomfortable, too narrow and generally cumbersome for taking a shower.

    Beautiful hotel, great location, exceptionally friendly, efficient and professional staff (every single staff member we dealt with!), pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    A real and authentic Slovenian experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only down point was the water at the swimming pool which was not very warm.

    The hotel is located downtown in the old city. I would say the location is perfect. Close to the hotel you have different bars, restaurants with delicious food, Saturday food market, shops as well as different art galleries. The hotel itself has a very nice bar on the first floor, a barber shop and a Max Mara shop. Staying at this hotel was magical. It is very authentic and stylish at the same time. If you want a real slovenian experience this is the right place. Breakfast is just amazing. Fresh orange juice, granola, greek yogurt, different types of smoothies, different types of cheeses, desserts, basically everything with a very good quality as well. We were there during Easter so they also prepared easter eggs which was very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel to couples in particular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The quality-price relation is really advantageous for a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I pointed out to the personel that there were problems with electric installation (one of the sockets seemed to be short-circuiting), but that was really a minor issue

    The quality-price relation is really advantageous for a hotel with all these amenities available and at this location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely, relaxing stay in this centrally located hotel and would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for quiet room and we were next to the lift so not ideal. The rooms are not sound proof. We heard children next door shouting. Duvet was a little too small for the bed. Should be made clear to residents that the pool is not for swimming lengths when it's busy.

    Hotel is beautiful. Location fantastic. Bar in the lobby very friendly and efficient. Staff exceptionally friendly. Pool big enough and relaxing. Wellness facilities great although some are expensive. Room was clean and reasonable size for two people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a very relaxing time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new part of the hotel was ugly on the outside. Shame the architecture didn’t match the original building.

    Loved the Art Deco style of the original part of the hotel. Loved the spa facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Location, breakfast, cafe
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be better to have a walk-in shower, or, as long as there is a bathtub, not to use the glass wall which almost completely covers the tub and to enter it (and especially to climb out of it) is a nightmare.

    Location, breakfast, cafe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Great base for exploration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bells from adjoining church rang every 15 minutes all night. Double Glazing did not stop the noise. Request a room well away from the church. Room also cold at night. We asked for more blankets which came 2nd night.

    Ideal location for exploring a fascinating small city with a long, complex history. Good breakfast and excellent concierge who sent us to two really good restaurants serving local dishes and wines.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Great location with parking on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A male staff at reception was not friendly when we arrived for check in. He was having personal chat on this mobile.

    Great location with parking on site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location in the heart of Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could use a bit of an update, but that's also part of its charm.

    This hotel is located in the heart of Ljubljana's historic centre and just steps away from the river, castle, shopping and loads of restaurants and bars. We had incredible views of the castle from our room and could not have been more happy with our experience. Really tasty breakfast and very kind and helpful staff. In fact, when the airline lost our luggage, the front desk staff were super helpful and attentive, both in guiding us to some great local shops for some essentials, but also in terms of calling for updates from the delivery company and the airport lost and found, and updating us regularly on the progress. Really great service overall!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    Union used to be a lot more welcoming and charming a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Union used to be a lot more welcoming and charming a few years ago. The reception staff is now obviously under pressure and on the verge of rudeness. You can feel bad management behind them, not that they are themselves rude. The price is too high, the parking is crazy expensive and the general atmosphere is cold. The breakfast buffet was really good though and service there was all right. They have all it takes to make it again great and a symbol of Ljubljana. But they do have to make it happen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, a stone's throw from the triple bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly generic and lacking in character. Our room was quite small.

    Great location, a stone's throw from the triple bridge. Pool is small and very warm, but the complex is really relaxing and perfect in winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is in the perfect location with easy access to all restaurants/bars and shops. The staff are extremely friendly!. Love the fact that they have a hairdresser thats open early and closes very late !! Cant fault this hotel at all!! Great value for money!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    What a stunning hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a stunning hotel. Perfect location, great staff, a view of the castle on one side and a view of the alps on the other. I can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    A happy combination of history and modern amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel, itself a great example of Art Nouveau architecture, is located in the city's Art Nouveau Street. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is generous and dotted with locally flavored dishes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no minus here

    We totaly love everything about this luxury hotel, great location, beautifull old building with nice views on Ljubljana, comfortable room( i chose superior room with city view), profesional staff, delicious food,...I could go probably on and on😀

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Grand Union hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room the water or the coffee weren't replenished the drinking glasses were never replaced or cleaned.

    The room was well appointed and clean, the staff were very helpful and the location is brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous place to spend new year, lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been hoovered more thoroughly every day. Piped music in our corridor annoyed my partner as he could hear it in our room, especially New Year’s Day. Best hotel transfers could have been made clearer by booking.com who initially flagged up the most expensive option. Good private taxi service bookable in advance for £25 Sterling. Cheaper options are also easily available from the airport on arrival.

    Fabulous location in traffic free zone right in the heart of this small but very lovely city centre. Great breakfast with lots of choice. Comfortable bed, nice atmosphere, friendly reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Perfect pre Christmas weekend getaway with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything!

    The location is excellent, the lounge bar, breakfast and staff couldn’t have done more to satisfy ! The room was “single” though the bed was a good queen sized in a large room at the front of the hotel. Bathroom amazing with good toiletries provided. Bathrobes & hairdryer also in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice, but we have had better in Ljubljana for a lower price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No available parking places as we arrived, no extra bed for our 7 year old - she was supposed to have a bed sofa at the end she ended up sleeping on a not very comfy portable bed. The coffe maker could be better.

    The hotel looks oldfahionly classy, location is very central and offers a great view, the staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in the center of Ljubljana
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It as bit warm in the room and as I was on 6th floor of executive part, at the exact height of church towers some 200 meters away, I heard every beat of bells during the night (strokes every 15 minutes, luckily full hour announced only starting from 7 am). Breakfast room has a good choice, but somehow gives filling of being overcrowded.

    Clean, neat, well designed. Staff accomodating and helpful, good language skills. Good choice for breakfast, three different parts of hotel to choose before booking (old part, executive and business) Location superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel,very close to the City Center!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff at breakfast and breakfastroom was much to loud and hot.

    Nice hotel,very close to the City Center! Very lovely pool and friendly massage staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    avoid breakfasts there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of electric plugs in the bathroom was annoying but the breakfast was a total mistake: had to fight for the cutlery, wait 20 minurtes for the eggs, one day there all the juice was gone, next day there were no glasses

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A pleasure to be in the hands of professionals in a beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property is a beautiful old tradiitonal hotel (with a more modern wing that used to be a Holiday Inn). The old part is elegant, the rooms are large, bathrooms traditional, but up to date. Staff was amazing; breakfast was extensive and well=managed. The hotel has thank you notes from notables throughout the world, including the Clintons, the UK Royals, Madeleine Allbright.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in the heart of charming Ljubljana
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb location, right in the middle of Ljubljana. Rooms rather big, with modern furniture, some featuring a balcony. Staff was nice. Breakfast is really good. The whole thing was a bit pricey. All in all, would definitely pick Union again when I'll return to Ljubljana.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    todella hyvä hotelli loistopaikka
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was simply not enough personnel to cater for breakfast. had to wait for table to be cleaned up, had to wait for coffee. Why not have coffee as self service, it is not nice to wait 15 min for coffee and have to ask for it again

    great location, high standard hotel, good breakfast selection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, great location, excellent personnel and services and a delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have nothing to complain about this first class hotel.

    The hotel people were very kind and ready to help. I want to give the highest marks to the hotel concierge Gregor who has an excellent knowledge about Slovenia and Ljubljana and a very fine personality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Exceptional service from hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After a detailed search we concluded that my wife's purse and passport had been removed from the room. We suspected that the room had been entered via the shared balcony. The loss was reported to police. After checkout a staff member found the purse tucked under the room safe and returned it to us as we were leaving. Every staff member at the reception desk addressed our issue with exceptional professionalism and kindness. Although the issue was, in fact, our error, we were taken seriously and treated with respect. We also found the hotel location to be perfect for visiting the pedestrian-only old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Superb hotel and staff in the City Center. First class!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike it is great!

    This is a great hotel slap bang in the center of town. Staff were super friendly and helpfull. Looked after me and my dog perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Location is very convenient;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is very convenient; steps away from the historical centre. Staff polite and helpful. Spacious rooms and excellent breakfast. Fast internet connection was a plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked a non smoking room. Reception staff not very friendly on check in. Room was in fact a smoking room, or best case was a smoking room in the past. It smelled of stale smoke. It was an old room not rennovated in some time. Bed was uncomfortable and old, as were all applicances.

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    It was the "grand hotel" experience we were hoping for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was excellent, as was the location of the hotel. Also enjoyed the indoor pool, and the breakfast was the best we experienced on our whole trip. It was a great place to wrap up seven days in Slovenia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location. Great for families. Friendly and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a family of 2 adults and 3 children. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite,which was very big with big rooms. The staff were very professional and friendly. Very clean hotel. Swimming pool was great for relaxing in the afternoon, the kids loved the pool. Location is excellent, close to all the main sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Excelente Ljubljana location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being charged for parking.

    The hotel has a nice spa and an interesting gym (although better than 90% of hotel gyms, I thought it could have more free weights). The location was simply perfect, but the parking was pricy. Nice breakfast, but crowded nearing the end of breakfast service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    We really enjoyed Ljubljiana which is a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was chaotic. It was very busy and possibly they needed more staff. The terrace would have been nice to eat breakfast on but the piped music was too loud.

    Beds were comfy. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were all friendly. Spa was good and spa staff were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Confort and proximity to the centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit difficult for us to find the way to the hotel by car because it is located in a pedestrian area. Bathtub is quite high.

    Very close to the city centre. Very spacious room as well as the hotel itself. Excellent Wi-Fi. Well-equiped rooms with comfy beds and tea/coffee facilites. Excellent breakfast. They parked our car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    A grand hotel indeed in the heart of a beautiful old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a reservation of very long standing for a room with two beds. When we arrived, we were given a very nice room with an extraordinarily small bed--in fact this was obviously a room for one person that they had fubbed off on us. The down comforter was obviously for only one person--in the limited space of the bed my wife and I were fighting for pieces of it all night. I complained the minute we arrived about this room, asked for the kind I had reserved. The clerk could not have been more apologetic but he could do nothing, the hotel was full that night. He promised a big upgrade for the next day and delivered handsomely on that promise BUT I was nonetheless disappointed with the way we had been shunted of to the side on the night of our arrival.

    A magnificent hotel that is both traditional, old-fashioned-seeming, and impressively modern and up-to-date. In fact there are both old and new sections of a physically divided establishment. Entry by car is in the new section, one's car is whisked away, one's baggage is taken up and you are led to the reception desk. All so effortless. The attentive young staff of this hotel are its greatest asset. The proportions of the old section--its hallways, its rooms--are magnificent. It is fun to walk around in this place and dream that you are back in the days of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The hotel's beautiful exterior with the bronze cupola contribute to this impression of olden grandeur. And what a location: right at the head of the three bridges, the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    They really live the concept of service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They really live the concept of service! We (2 adults with one child) booked a studio in Grand Hotel Union. Although the room was quite big, there was only a small bed available - to small for the three of us sleep. The entire hotel as well as most of the rooms of the "sister hotel" Grand Hotel Union Business were already booked. So the manager gave us a huge and luxury room in the Union Business without additional fees or costs for us! Very professional service - we will surely come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Best Place In Ljubljana!! Bar NONE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful everything especially the concierge, knew everything! Name ~ Zagj (sorry, I know the spelling is way wrong!). Wonderful concierge. Went out of his way for bus tickets, advice, finding our bus tickets after we later left them in our room!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel to add a little luxury to our experience in Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chaos at breakfast - no where to sit & when there was a free table it hadn't been cleared. Suggest more staff needed at peak times and if guests from business Union hotel share the breakfast area there should be more space for more tables.

    Great location- attentive & courteous staff on reception. Comfortable rooms & beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Beware: parking not free
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have a good experience in this hotel. When we booked we asked for an extra bed as we are a couple traveling with a 4 year old. We had to ask for this 4 times after we got there and eventually mAke a scene before this was delviered after 10pm. When it finally did come it was nothing more than a mattress on the floor, and it was hard as a rock, very uncomfortable to sleep in. All this for the expensive price of 40€ a night, which I sincerely thought would be waived for both nights since it was so hard to obtain, but we did have to pay for it the second night. The staff was obviously overworked being in high season, and were clearly trying the best they could, but this really makes me think about how the Hotel is managed, being a large chain of hotel perhaps they should hire more staff.., the most annoying part of our stay was the parking: on booking and on their website, the parking appears to be free. Well it is not at all. Parking is actually 20 € a night, so that adds up a lot to the price of the room. when I asked the concierge about this, the answer was: they mean free in the sense that you can always find a place! Again I find that very dishonest from a chain hotel, that obviously know what they are doing, this is not a small local business that made a mistake. We had a pretty view and the breakfast was good, but In general, I found the hotel to be rather impersonal and lacking of local charme, also being that it is mostly a modern building being disguised behind a historical facade.

    The hotel has a good location close to all amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    During our first breakfast somebody entered into the room ("Please don't disturb sign was on the doo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During breakfast somebody entered into the room ("Please don't disturb" sign was on the door) and stole our money. The thief with high probability it was from the staff. There are no cameras around. Better to know.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Ljubjana first time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made small mistake by booking the familial room with 2 double beds. Double bed was too small for 2 adults. However the hotel proposed to open the sofa bed in addition

    Good brekfast, everything from sweet to salted, warm and cold, fruits and you can order specific warm drinks, staff very efficient and professinal. Swiming pool small but relaxing. Quiet rooms, good air co. Staff at the reception was very helpful and explained how worked the parking that you can pay from the hotel reception and get extended time if needed. And not to forget shops within the hotel gallery as max &co with nice ladies .

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Union traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: