Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Celica Art

Metelkova 8, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia

#50 of 74 hotels in Ljubljana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1136 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.3
    Good location, near the city center and railway station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 2-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deposit of 10 Euros for bed sheets at the check-in. You get the deposit back at the check-out, if you bring the sheets. Why so?

    Good location, near the city center and railway station, friendly staff, parking space is near. The good thing is a 24/7 reception, which is not so common at hostels in Ljubljana.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Nice central dungeon, friendly awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    hostel I awesome central, staff is friendly, I have wondered many times how it is, but finally decided to try it out and i wasn't disappointed, was there with my own crowd, we booked the 4 bed dorm room and it was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are little bit small and my bed was high, like top of bank bed , and didnt have any fence so it was little bit unconfortable

    How clean the hostel is

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    The decoration, layout, art and creativity in this hostel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 2-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decoration, layout, art and creativity in this hostel are absolutely amazing. The location is great as well, close to the centre and right at the beginning of a arty nightlife area with clubs and bars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Social hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option for women only dorms. Single rooms don't have a shower.

    Great social hostel, lots of common spaces and games. Lovely neighbourhood, very artsy with lots of graffiti. Great location- walking distance to main train / bus station and anything interesting in Ljubljsna. Clean and comfortable. Cool design of a former prison.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.2
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bathroom for 20 rooms. Doors slamming during the night. No curtains so woken up at sunrise. Bedroom dangerous with a steep drop from the bed: could easily fall and break your leg. Cheap furniture with sharp edges that cut and bruise. Poor breakfast. Located in a hippy area with people hanging around outside smoking weed. Loud music at weekends.

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    Average hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was sub par. Despite there being many chill out places, there was no ambience/ atmosphere which was disspointing. We couldn't check out until we presented our used towels and bed sheets at reception, we thought this was a bit cheeky given that our one night stay cost €77.

    The location was cool, surrounding buildings & street art etc. Secure parking. Nice outside area to chill with hammocks etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    It was clean and different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and different. I loved the concept! Breakfast was good value for the money (4euro). Staff were friendly and helpful. Though there were lots of young people everything was quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    A unique stay which we would happily repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very sparse with no curtains/blinds & not even a mirror in them. I think all rooms are different but ours had two single high bunk beds- we did find this a bit of a novelty but it was not particularly easy for you to climb up & down & there was no light accessible from the bunks which meant us having to climb up & down at night using the light on our phones!

    Very cool renovation of a former prison! Very clean- shared bathrooms & showers cleaned frequently. We paid for breakfast both mornings we stayed & felt this was good value for money. Staff were friendly & helpful. Able to store bags on check-out. Right in the Metelkova area which is a must see in the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Again the complete stuff was very friendly and we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time we don‘t had rooms with the fency cell doors :(

    Again the complete stuff was very friendly and we had a great stop over on our trip to croatia. Very fast reply on mails, when we askes for the latest check.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Clean and great location as a bolt hole
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t feel like an authentic prison - the pictures are deceiving that’s not what the rooms actually look like

    Clean and great location as a bolt hole

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice, clean, friendly staff, good location just shame about my bed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a dorm in the attic and it had a lot of beams my bed was squashed into a corner next to a beam which I hit my head off an I didn’t have much room to move! Very close to the person next to and in front of me so much so I kept being woken up by the guy in front of me when we moved our feet!! Shame as it was a lovely hostel......need to re-think the layout of this room

    The hostel was really clean and in a good location, very nice in terms of a hostel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Great stay! Unique Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is cool, but can look a little sketchy at night. About 10/15 minute walk to city center depending on where you're going, and most of the restaurants are in city center. It is a little pricey for a hostel, but it is unique and very nice, so I would say it's worth it.

    It's a very cool concept. I stayed in a twin room which used to be a prison cell, so the room itself was very small (the size of a prison cell). The shared bathrooms were clean and spacious. Never had any problems with overcrowding. They offer 4 euro breakfast buffet (yogurt, cereal, muesli, eggs, cheese, toast, coffee and juice) but also offer 1.8 euro coffee and croissant. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Have luggage storage as well if your flight/train/bus leaves later. Do some live music at night at the hostel some nights and have a bar with good selection. Beds were conformable. People stayed up, but since the main areas are on the first floor, if you want to head up and sleep, people socializing won't bother you. Soundproofed very well. You can also go downstairs where they maintained the prison as is and look around, kinda creepy, but interesting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Great staff with small but comfy clean rooms. Awesome communal areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little small but that’s what you get in an old prison. They are well thought out to maximise the small space.

    The hostel has great communal space and the staff are excellent. Bed was comfy and clean and it’s easy walking distance to the centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Stylish, cozy, vibrant place situated in beautiful, artistic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish, cozy, vibrant place situated in beautiful, artistic neighbourhood, few minutes by walk from central station. Rooms were small, but clean and you have everything you need in it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    A nice experience in a cell dorm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only 2 toilets/showers on each floor. Only 1 power socket for 3 persons in a 3 bed - cell dorm. Only 2 lockers for 3 persons (the last one to arrive...). The room's door blocks the wifi signal.

    Helpfull staff with very good suggestions to spend a day in Lujbljana. Very good relation price/varity for the breakfast. The 3 bed - cell dorm is a very nice experience. 10 min walking from city center. Free parking. Would return again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    THE place to stay in Ljubljana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was very poor quality, it kept breaking down and the signal was very weak. Soundproofing very bad, you can hear every sneeze on the corridor outside your room at all hours (and you get loud talking, laughing, partying etc both late at night and very early morning). Only one towel provided - no face towel. Some fresh fruit for breakfast would be a great addition.

    The location is perfect, minutes away from the coach and railway station, a short walk from downtown, located in the fabulous Metelkova neighbourhood, which is a work of art. The concept (former prison) is brilliant and very well executed. Rooms and beds very comfortable, and enough storage space. Staff very friendly, atmosphere really cool, breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly quiet, very clean and the staff were probably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room with the most beds only has one toilet/shower cubicle (two, actually, one for each gender) and it could do with another one, it would save us the bother of going to the lower floor to find a place to "sit".

    Surprisingly quiet, very clean and the staff were probably the friendliest ones I've encountered during my trips. The location is great, close to the train and bus terminals, 10 minutes walking distance from the town centre and good value for money. The breakfast is not all-that but it keeps you full for a nice exploration walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Cool hostel in edgy neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices were a little high considering the shared bathroom and small room, but understandable given the original intended use of the building as a prison

    Cool building in an edgy neighorbood. Close enough to the city center. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    average good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was too weak not convenient in shower room, need a shelf to place close i suppose

    very interesting design friendly staff safe neighborhood and convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    We had a passport issue and the team was more than helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a passport issue and the team was more than helpfull. An amazing hostel with even better crew and location. We would really recommend room 111 even for a couple.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.5
    Good location, hard to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 2-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a couple and they sorted us in different rooms. We knew it in advance but it was annoying considering also that it was a mixed room. The location is good but close to a very hardcore club which played loud music until 6 am. Not the best place when you need to rest.

    The hotel is very well designed and the space is nice and well kept. The staff is kind and available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Terrific place, wonderfull nieghborhood;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 2-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive, no curtains at Windows in the rooms and a bit high the bed if they are twins

    Terrific place, wonderfull nieghborhood; friendly and welcoming staff. Every room is different

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, modern and spacious hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy during the night due to bad isolation of rooms

    Very clean, modern and spacious hostel. Quite an adventure to sleep in an old prison. Located in hip, alternative district surrounded by museums. Proximity to the city and to train station. Parking spots right in front of the house available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Extraordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the rooms are greatly designed, there are some practical things missing like hangers, mirror etc.

    Extraordinary atmosphere! The hostel and the surroundings are a must see in Lublana. I've never slept in such a room before, I felt like sleeping in an art installation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The design of the hostel was so original and everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The design of the hostel was so original and everything was super clean and the staff was super friendly, also it's a hostel where you both can be on your own or around people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Clean hostel close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel is a bit out of the way. About 10-15 minutes walk into town. There were drug dealers hanging out next to the hostel.

    Cool idea. Big, clean rooms. Decent breakfast. Great staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    For arty people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long and noisy night in a hostel as much as it can be - first a music rehearsal, then concert itself, and a party afterwards. Just in the middle of the week (Tuesday/Wednesday) and until 1.a.m. It's a little too much even for arty people.

    For arty people. Really nice design and a great location. An eco-useful-equipment&advise everywhere. Little rush and humble in a good way. Easy transport from/to train/bus station and also a shuttle to the airport. Easy-going stuff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic new renovation;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Fantastic new renovation; clean and comfortable; excellent location near train and bus stations; really helpful staff; comfortable cafe and lounge areas; simple but good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed - BED BUGS
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed because looking through the images the hostel looked amazing. However it wasn’t like this irl. Our room (12 bed dorm) was over-crammed - no personal space - worst of all was obviously the bed bugs. 3 of us were bitten, 1 friend had a bad reaction. She asked to move beds which she did but the staff didn’t care about the bugs. Also, she got bitten again in the new bed. Lol. Just don’t stay. There’s better places nearer to the centre (this was ~20min walk)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    What a nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 2-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a nice place! This hostel is in a former prison, beside the hipster area Metelkova. Five minutes away from main station, a ten minutes walk to downtown. Free parking lots in front of the hostel. It’s a special atmosphere, very clean, a good mixture of guests. Breakfast is good value, I also ate a toast at the evening - 2,50€, very big, fair enough. I can recommend this place, it’s a somehow must-stay when u are in Ljubljana.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hostel with cool interior design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection could be a little bit improved and the fruit juices were not so great. I wouldn't go for the breakfast option if booked again.

    Very clean and tidy room, lovely staff and great buzz in the common areas. The bed was super comfy! There was a good concert downstairs when we arrived Friday evening. We also loved the Metelkova cultural centre next door with different types of alternative bars and clubs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Lives up to the hype - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Top experience - truly amazing location which justifies the higher price for staying in this hostel. The staff are very nice and the bands they get in are cool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Sleep in a prison!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't very sturdy, only one power socket in the room.

    Really cool location in an old prison, where the rooms are designed as prison cells. Common areas are nicely decorated and they have a garden with hammocks where you can chill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, there is a lot to see around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, there is a lot to see around the property and area. The breakfast was okay, nothing really special. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly, especially Tajda, thank you for all the help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Idea of old prison and accommodation is brilliant. I love it. Rooms are big enough and some of them have double bed. Breakfast was really tasty. Personal was really kindly and help us with everything (even things outside hostel). We really like it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Our room was simple nut stylish as per the expectations of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in 2-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shared bathrooms weren't perfectly cleaned but I imagine so many people use them.

    Our room was simple nut stylish as per the expectations of an ex prison :) The parking available inside the property. The staff super friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Quick city visit
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately at one point the toilets were unusable, the bathrooms could of been a bit cleaner, maybe they could be checked on more regularly. More toilets would be good on each floor, But I do understand that is a risk you take when so many people are using one bathroom!

    It was my first time staying in a hostel! The property was clean and the rooms were really quirky and well designed and staff were very helpful when we needed advice on using the buses. It was a relaxed atmosphere at the hostel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hostel just outside the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airport transfer service that the hostel offered was scary, we drove 150 km/h while the driver was texting and passing cars on the right on dual lane highways.

    The hostel hosts concerts which guests can freely attend, there was a jazz concert on the Friday we stayed there, it was amazing. The hostel itself is good, soundproof, in the Metelkova area. We didn't try breakfast here, as there's many great spots around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Newly furbished, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no extractor fan in the bathrrom or hooks. No blinds on the skylight window.

    Newly furbished, very clean. 15% Discount on funicular & entrance to the Castle. Friendy staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    First hostel experience - better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Curtains in the rooms would be a nice luxury, as the sun did stream through quite early in the mornings!

    This was my first time in a hostel, so it was a new experience for me. However, it was unlike what I expected - the low number of guests per room, the air conditioning, the shower facilities was more reminiscent of a school dormitory, as opposed to a cheap backpackers hostel. I would definitely recommend to friends looking for a decent experience in Ljubljana, especially with the Metelkova district right outside!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Clean. Super friendly staff. Great bar, wonderful interiors which create a really good atmosphere. Best hostel I have ever been in so far. Location is right next to cool artist area, and only a short walk to bus/train station and the historic city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great location (very close to the train/bus station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 10-15mins walk to the city center (but I honestly dont mind). Does not have a good bar or common space to hangout so it’s hard to mingle with people esp. if youre a soli traveller. No activities organized (pub crawls, walking tours, etc.)

    Great location (very close to the train/bus station & the weekend party locations). Very clean and the facilities are great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful, unique hostel with nice ambience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were uniquely desingned and the property situated in Metelkova, right next to UG bar scene of Ljubljana. Hostel was wery clean, safe and peacefull and the staff very nice. If you want to stay next to turist attractions this might not be the best location although it is only 10 min walk from downtown. For us looking for something unique, laid back and wanting to meet new people it was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Good overnight stay with some room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a party happening the night I was there, so instead of having the window open overnight, I needed to close it to shut out the noise. I had booked a double room for myself which included shared bathroom facilities. The bathroom was rather messy in the very late evening when I arrived from my flight, and early the next morning when I was departing.

    The location was great for my purpose - I arrived from the airport late at night and needed to leave by bus early the next morning. I have stayed there previously so had a good idea of what to expect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    The staff were super helpful and accommodating throughout he...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super helpful and accommodating throughout he entire stay. Breakfast was tasty and a good amount of healthy options. The place was incredibly clean and the room was very quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    The hostel is nice, big and the showers are really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the other hand, I missed some essentials such as curtains in the room. Because now you will wake up very early in the morning. I missed equipment in the kitchen as well and on my last night some other travellers took my desperados while it was labelled with my name on it. Last but not least as a solo traveller, I missed the real backpackers vibe at Celica Art. There were a lot of groups, older people and families.

    The hostel is nice, big and the showers are really good! The staff is super friendly. On my departure date my nightbus came at 02.40. It was possible having a shower, to use a towel etc. :) Thanks for the hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable rooms in walking distance to the train station and central Ljubljana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I had was the bathroom light which was automatic and would switch off every 30 seconds if you didn't set off the motion sensors (I just used my phone light).

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom in the room was good and away from the beds so you didn't disturb those sleeping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    The hostel itself is an interesting concept being an old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedding was two single mattresses with single duvets , which we pushed together, however a good idea would be to get a connecting sheet to create a double for couples and provide a double duvet.

    The hostel itself is an interesting concept being an old prison, the room was good sized and comfortable and the whole place was very clean. The onsite parking is especially convenient. Would definitely recommend when exploring Ljubljana.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    So you are staying in an old prison, which is pretty funky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    So this place didn't meet my expectations but to be fair my expectations were very high. There is a lot of hype about how great this place is. I found the booking pictures to be misleading because it seems like every room has prison bars and has painted walls by a local artist. Our room had neither. It was small with whitewashed walls. It's still cool though.

    So you are staying in an old prison, which is pretty funky. Everything was clean. The staff were nice. The place is unique.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Super nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor and the door of our room rattled every time someone opened and closed the door to next ours to exit the building.

    Super nice and helpful staff. Very clean room and common areas. Easy to walk to the centre and to find places to eat and drink on the way there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Very cool place, original design and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive considering you don't have your own bathroom. The breakfast was below my expectations (no fruit, watery juice, no good bread).

    Very cool place, original design and good location. especially if you like alternative cultural movement. close to city centre and main bus station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    The cleanliness, the unique jail-like room, the live music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the wifi is a little bit slow but it’s fine

    The cleanliness, the unique jail-like room, the live music downstairs and Ljubljana, VALUE FOR MONEY!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Wow!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow!! This place was amazing, an outstanding interior and very clean. The breakfast in the morning was very good for being a hostel. The staff was super helpful and friendly. Really close to the central station and a 10 min walk to the old town city centre. Would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common area, and kitchen in particular, quite dirty. Considering the price paid for the room I would expect the common areas to be better kept. Quite busy nighttime with guest partying in the common area.

    Close to the train station. 10-15 min walk to the old town. Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Fun place to stay for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness in the shared bathrooms could have benen beter.

    We slept in an old cell. High ceiling made it feel bigger than it was. Maybe a bit to authentic with a gallery door.. Great location in the Metelkova area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Recently renovated high end hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recently renovated high end hostel. Due to the neighborhood where it is located, it attracts backpackers but also families, which creates an interesting mix of people. It feels more like an hotel than a hostel. Metelkova is very lively, especially at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    This place was just perfect for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was just perfect for me. It wasn't a crazy party hostel, everything was spotless and the history of the building is also really interesting. It's in the middle of an 'artists' area so the immediate surrounds are also fascinating. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    There was a concert in the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a concert in the garden. I was expecting a hostel. I was not expecting a concert under our window. A tip: Maybe a next time you can inform the parents about this before they come. Just t ook set expectat ions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location, nice staff and stylish design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 12-bed dorm is rather cramped and has a bit of a claustrophobic vibe. The beds are so tiny it's almost impossible to turn to the other side without rolling off the bed. The beds are also uncomfortably close to each other and it felt like I was practically sleeping in a stranger's face. And thanks to the low beds one can feel the vibrations of every footstep in the dorm. Probably the most uncomfortable night I have ever had in a hostel.

    Fantastic location, nice staff and stylish design.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    A much improved renovation has given this place a new lease of life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newly renovated hostel is much cleaner & updated, without losing it's character. Bathrooms & toilets, both en-suite & communal ate greatly improved. The she place feels fresher & as always the staff are very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    It has such an interesting history!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be picky about.

    It has such an interesting history! That alone made me want to stay there. We did not know that the night we booked was the first day of their grand opening since being closed for 6 months for renovations. The place is very clean and comfortable. The ladies working the reception were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    I stayed in a 12 bed dorm upstairs on the second floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite bright in the morning with no curtains (they may be going to put some in?) and I didn’t find a kettle in the kitchen but used a pot no worries.

    I stayed in a 12 bed dorm upstairs on the second floor. No bunks! New sheets and pillow/mattress. Ensuite male and female bathroom (seperate). Basic kitchen on the same floor. Very clean! All of the staff were super friendly and helpful even at 6am! So great having the 24hr reception. I also love the location as I had one night here before an early bus - so close to the station! Such good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    The place, where the hostel was situted, (Metelkova mesto)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room with En Suite Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar closed very early and there were no parties into the hostel. Three weeks ago, I stayed in Chillout Hostel (Zagreb) and the bar was always full of people who drunk, sang with karaoke, etc. By the way, it is in a strategic place to find always places to have fun.

    The place, where the hostel was situted, (Metelkova mesto) was so wonderful! The idea to sleep in ex prison room was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Unique experience , noise included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, from our prison cell room, we could hear the oise on the corridor very well, because of that, we hardly slept in the night.

    Hostel Celica has a fantastic vibe, we met kind, energetic and creative people. Everybody is very helpful. It is nice to have a walk around in the hostel and to discover the beauties.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    One of my best hostel experiences so far! You can hardly find a cooler place in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 2-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Climbing on top beds, in the cells, is a bit of an adventure... But you get used to it and it turns to be fun at a certain point.

    I liked a lot the concept of "art hostel" and the design of the hostel. The structure offers a lot of space where hanging out outside the room, also a cool bar where having coffee, tea and drinks. On top of everything, the staff is amazing: friendly, extremely patient, and very helpful, they can really help you to do the best of your stay in Ljubljana. In truth, I think there is no place in town that is cooler than this, even for hanging out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from the hall penetrate the door; location a bit far from the old town center but totally manageable by walking

    The setting in the metelkova art district; the informative, helpful staff; the history of the place, its reinvention from a prison to a place of free expression and love; the eco-friendly house keeping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Young, well placed, very original.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets could do with a renovation, they are old and yellow, as well as the mattress (how many people slept and sweat there?). The bathrooms are not a lot and not always clean. Maybe providing a hand/vase hygienizer would be helpful ( on the upside there are hair dryers in the bathroom). The window did not have curtains nor any other way to keep the light outside.

    We had a very nice bedroom with a very original round loft bed. You need to be fit to sleep up there (and also to make the bed, since this is a hostel and they provide you with sheets but you have to make the bed by yourself), so we appreciated but I guess for older people it is worth inquiring on the setting up of your room beforehand (there are non-lofted rooms). The reception is always available and very helpful. The overall atmosphere is amazing, it is an old prison with lots of history and the rooms, which were previously cells, have been all decorated with different styles. For sure it is an experience! It is in walking distance from the center of Lubiana and it is extremely close to Metelkova (practically in Metelkova, without being too noisy or feeling dangerous because of it). It is totally worth having a look at the nightlife! Parking is free and close by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Funky, great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds and pillows. Place is tired ( needs some Renos) wifi poor in the rooms.

    Funky, great atmosphere. Excellent breakfast. Super staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Great prison experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel was as I expected it to be. I asked for a room with a large bed but I had a double single bed room (I think there was no other free rooms when I booked). I saw the website of the hostel before staying there and unfortunately my room was the one I like less and seemed to be a real prison cell 😂...but no big problems about that!

    The breakfast was good and the price is ok for what it is offered. The idea of the hostel and the its own history is really fantastic and I appreciated so much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room's bunk bed was very close to the ceiling making it difficult to sit up in the bed. Other rooms we looked at had better arrangement.

    Clean and decent rooms and facilities. Breakfast is good for the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Wifi didn’t really work, but we spent little time in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t really work, but we spent little time in the room so that didn’t bother us too much. Also, would be OK to have at least a little soap bar in the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice hostel in the best place for young people in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not so good and which is also to be payed as an extra cost (4 euros).

    Nice hostel in the best place for young people in the city of Ljubljana.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.....too far to walk each time. Better located hostels/small hotels by river in centre. Very dodgy characters hanging around inside and outside often. No atmosphere; needs a proper bar and comfortable lounging area to help create this. We had a loft quad room with bathroom. Don't book one. We didn't mind it being a bit cramped, but the details not seen on the website photos let it down badly: only 2 charging sockets for the whole room/bathroom, no heater in bedroom, only place to sit was on one of the 4 single beds- the one with no height restriction, men cannot stand at the toilet due to sloping roof, broken shower attachment (mentioned after first and second nights but never looked at).... we had to keep using the dorm bathroom toilets and showers, breakfast so basic we only had it once.

    Querky and well converted

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Friendly stuff, interesting room, to expencive though.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in the room was under the ceiling, reachable by four steps. The last step looked very insecure (crashed wall).

    Friendly stuff, interesting room, to expencive though. I took it because of the location - near bus/train station. Room was clean and very interesting. Toilets/bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostel Celica Art traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: