Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Styles Maribor City Center 3 stars

Volkmerjev prehod 7, 2000 Maribor, Slovenia

#14 of 25 hotels in Maribor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1263 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the city center, with lots of places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few parking spots, hard to find with the car

    Great location in the city center, with lots of places to visit nearby if you are just transiting the city and ypu are tired

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, right in city center, rich breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit difficult to find parking because the sign with direction to hotel has old name "Orel".

    Perfect location, right in city center, rich breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place in the heart of old city of Maribor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing :)

    Perfect localization in the old town of Maribor (its quite tricky to get there, but we found "tutorial" on YouTube :) ). This hotel fulfilled our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.5
    Horible experience! Don't do it and you'll thank me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awfull experience, don't recomend it. Worst staff, outdated, extremly poor breakfast, and most importantly over the top noisy. The staff didn't care at all about our complaint, it was more interested in ensuring that the party people are having their fun ( organizers of the event were also checked-in) Not enoght parking lots, hard to find. Horible, no minimum suport or care for client basic needs. There are other opportunities in the center, make a better choise!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good location - directly on main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No information how to reach hotel by car. You can enter main square only from one side and than have to call hotel. Coffee was really bad, but in each cafee arround you get 2 really good coffees for less than 3€.

    Very good location - directly on main square. Clean rooms, very nice personel, which even warned that in morning, at given time 4 groups will have breakfast, so it can be for that time crowded and missing some products. Private parking is big enough to park car with bikes behind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was offered a parking place in a garage, but there was so little space, that it was not even possible to drive through the garage gate. After a couple of attempts and damaging my car I resigned. I wasn't offerred any kind of compensation! Furthermore, the hotel is located just next to a disco. Because of very loud music until 5am and drunk people coming back I wasn't able to sleep at all.

    The staff were friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    lovely ladies at the reception desk that were willing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only one bedside lamp in a twin bedroom; dirty windows and window blinds; some lightbulbs missing; overall, the room should be cleaner; luckily when we were staying the hotel was not too crowded and was mostly quiet, but the walls are thin and soundproofing is poor; the room is not worth the money, what makes up for it is the location and staff

    lovely ladies at the reception desk that were willing to meet our every need; great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was great, and it was really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start, when we got to the hotel I said "hello" to the reception staff, she was on the computer and didn't answer or look at us for another 5 minutes, and after that was extremely rude. The table light was not working, there was not plugs near the bed, to get to the elevator you need to go through stairs. The furniture was really old and broken, my wardrobe door simply wouldn't open.

    Location was great, and it was really clean. Breakfast wasn't too bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Under renovation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was changing its name when we were arriving: we booked hotel Orel and found Ibis hotel on the spot, so at first we thought that we did not find our hotel. The hotel staff should have informed the guests about this change. The reception and the restaurant were under renovation. Too hot in the rooms with no possibility to adjust the temperature.

    Central location. Low price. Clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Good value. Way too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horribly thin windows that did not drown out the partying and hip hop concert in the Center of town. I wasn’t able to sleep until 3 am for two nights in a row. Property needs to invest in double-pane or soundproofing with its location

    Great location. Good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    The location of the hotel, being right in the center of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel, being right in the center of Maribor is more than convenient. The room was spacious, looked new and clean, the bathroom was very clean and big. The food is also great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great location, the breakfast is vast and the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, the breakfast is vast and the staff was helpful and kind enough. The room was tidy and comfortable and quiet. Can't really say anything wroing about it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isn’t a case

    The hotel is in the heart of city center, close to many shops and restaurants The hotel is clean, the staff is polite and kind, the bed is confortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place and staff. The room was clean. In the center of the city, near bar and restaurants. We used the parking of the hotel. The breakfasts was excellent, I recommend this hotel to everyone who needs an accommodation in Maribor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Good location in old part of city. Room was a reasonable size, adequately furnished and clean. breakfast which was included in room price was quite good but not as extensive as some other hotels. A reasonable hotel for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Good stay for good money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really great location, all sights are to reach in a few minutes. Staff was helpful and multilingual, rooms are clean. Breakfasts were good with variety of options. Good quality for a good price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Very nice place, walking distance to major sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information about parking, where to ring for help at the entrance to the hotel access for the cars.Directions to the hotel were numerous, but the specific street entrance to the hotel needs to have a street sign.

    The service at reception was excellent. Mihael (speliing ?) at the reception desk was very helpful, friendly and accommodating, our room was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 non-smoking rooms, but 1 of the rooms we were given was a small smoking room that smelt badly of cigarettes. They would not change us as they were fully booked. One room was spacious, but the other smoking room was very cramped. An area next to one of the beds smelt as though someone had been sick there in the past. No air-con or ventilation in the smoking room and we could not have the window fully open because it was blocked by an old-fashioned bulky tv (which had very poor picture). No in-room tea/coffee making facilities. Even though we paid the same rate for both rooms, they were very different standard. Disappointing that some of our party stayed in comfort, and the rest in very poor conditions. Would not stay here again.

    Location -very central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Conection to the internet is bad. At any time of the day it is low signal. You can not send any emails, or go to some web pages. The cleaning lady did not have spare soaps. She tell me that she order, but..... Pillow is very big and uncomfortable.

    Hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly. The position of the hotel is in excellent - in the center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value right off the plaza in Maribor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit of a madhouse, but the staff is quick to refill empty stations

    Room was pretty nice, had college dorm feel to it (which makes sense). The bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Marathon in the hotel surroundings which forced us to leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Marathon in the hotel surroundings which forced us to leave early by car in order to avoid getting stucked in the hotel until afternoon. We were not notified by the hotel in advance about that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Very Central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were told there was parking but when we got there there was none but we were directed to an area about 500m away. Very large Hotel/hostel need to be early for breakfast to get a seat or late I guess.

    Was great central location. Only stayed one night so the room suited our expectations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Simple stay in the old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed a kettle to prepare a tea or coffee, did not miss fridge so much (stayed only for one night). I slept well, but some of my colleagues (in other rooms) complained about noise from the street during the night - of course, in the centre, next to many pubs and restaurants.

    The location inside the old town is fantastic, public parking is about 100 m away, hotel seems renewed, room bright and spatious, really wide selection for breakfast. Wifi without a password, and works perfectly. Hostel and hotel rooms are in the same building, actually I did not realize any separation; like the idea !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good, great place to stay and great city to visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, very good coffee, communication with personal without any problems, great localization, they should do something with parking though. Surrounded with lots of bars and restaurants, I definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location...right in the center! Parking for extra cost but just behind the hotel. Nice personal. Atention. If you came by car put on the gps. Gregoriceva nr 2. There is an electrig device tjat permit you to enter in the center of the city and go to the parking. Just ring the hotel bell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    If you do not have to live in the center, it is worth looking at competing offers.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    arrogant guy at the reception, problems with parking near the hotel even the hotel has got its parking.

    The comfortable big queen bed but with high pillows. Very tasty breakfast. The localization in the centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely perfect! We really cannot think of anything to criticise here at all. Ideal location, friendly staff, lovely room with excellent air con and delicious breakfast options. Wi-Fi reliable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Location: unbeatable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A fridge in the room would make it perfect.

    Location: unbeatable! Air conditioning: a real blessing! Staff: very friendly! Slept through every beakfast (bed: comfortable), so no comment on that. All in all a huge bang for your buck. Highly recommendable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air conditioning.

    Excellent location, a small but good parking, big bathroom which is separated from the toilet. Various and good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, in a very nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking available only for some guests. Couldn't find what to do to deserve parking at the property, and in my second visit to this hotel.

    Very good location, in a very nice area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the city centre. An excellent find
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite poor. However, you can have excellent and quite cheap breakfast in one of the bars or bakeries nearby.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic, right in the city centre. All restaurants and shops were a short walking distance. The hotel rooms were big, cozy and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room online it said that the room has a big double bed but in fact it was a twin, when I confronted the girl from.the front desk woth the problem she was very very rude. The size of the room was ok but the cleanliness was awfull. It was the second time I have staied here and this time i was very disapointed!

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    The locationand breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a trash bin full of diapers in the bathroom. It smelled absolutely horrible. The staff on hand wasn't friendly about it aswell. They weren't really friendly to begin with either.

    The locationand breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location hotel at reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had a one night stay and no complaints except no hotel parking. However as located right in town centre it is understandable. Luckily we found free parking on the road close by.

    Location right in the heart of the city centre, but still quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Our 2nd stay in this hotel, this time we did not book the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our 2nd stay in this hotel, this time we did not book the superior, but the "normal" double room, but for one night absolutely ok. As last year, nice and friendly staff, good breakfast buffet, parking facilities, and the best: your are in the middle of Maribor. A variety of restaurants just around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    It was clean and kept somewhat updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not able to park on site but I was charged. I only noticed the charge on my bill after I left as the front counter did not review my bill prior to charging me.

    It was clean and kept somewhat updated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place gets very noisy from 7 a.m. on so if you like to sleep in this might be a problem. The coffee is terrible and the machine ist not adjusted to the cups, so be careful.

    Polite and helpful staff. The breakfast was good. The whole place is very clean and it is literally in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Keycard failed opening the door of our room a day before we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keycard failed opening the door of our room a day before we left. We came at the reception, told the receptor about that, he reprogrammed the card (not saying a word of an apology, but I didn't really care then) and everything went swiftly - but next day, after I paid the bill, I was surprised to see that they added 1€ for "change of stay". We left quite in a hurry, I didn't read the receipt before the night we came home, of course 1€ means nothing in value, but seemed to me a little offensive to charge us for their mistake/malfunction.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    NO PARKING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking was advertised on Bookings but was not available. I was told to find free parking on my own where ever I could or they would give directions to a paid parking garage. I specifically noted in my reservation that I required parking for my car. This hotel misleads customers regarding parking and possibly outright lies. Apparently this is OK with bookings.

    Location was good if you are not arriving by car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Central location gives easy access to the sights of Maribor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in the centre of a pedestrianised area. It would have been very helpful if this had been explained in advance and instructions given about how to enter the pedestrianised area. We had to find somewhere to park (tricky) while I walked to the hotel to get the instructions. Glad I wasn't on my own.

    Central location. Excellent for visiting the centre of Maribor - in particular the castle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfectly located, simple, clean hotel in Maribor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning, though the nights are cool and leaving the window open works well. I found the bed hard, but that's me. Otherwise, I would stay there again.

    Three buddies on motorcycles with GPS and we still managed to get lost and drive through the pedestrian part of the city while people gave us cross looks. But once found, the hotel was in the perfect place, and parking was immediately available. It's a simple hotel, but the room was large and clean, the breakfast ample, and WiFi worked perfectly. The big attraction of the hotel is it is INSIDE the pedestrian zone, which means a very short walk to all the restaurants, bars and sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location in the middle of the old town, surrounded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the middle of the old town, surrounded with shops, bars, restaurants (due to this, it's a busy and a kind of noisy area). Super breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Very good wifi, lots of choice for breakfast, vending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entry card didn't work twice. Room could be cleaned more thoroughly, not just beds made - for example trash cans emptied, floors vacuumed. Beds were too soft for us. Elevator could be heard in the room all night, maybe ask for a room not next to one. Despite these small problems the stay at the hotel was very nice overall!

    Very good wifi, lots of choice for breakfast, vending machine on every floor, couch in the room, room had separate toilet and bathroom. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not great - horrible orange juice and coffee.

    Room was great - no frills but comfortable and well equipped and plenty of space for things . Bed comfy and a/c a bonus . Separate bathroom and toilet . Location excellent , right in town centre and walking distance to plenty of good restaurants and cafes . Only few parking spaces but were lucky each day and got one ok. Helpful girl on reception who recommended places to eat . Good wifi connection . Had room at back and was very quiet .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    We have booked with my colleague Hotel Orel Originaly, but...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have booked with my colleague Hotel Orel Originaly, but we have movet to Hotel Piramida before our arrival - which was quite surprise, my evaluation abowe belong to Piramida Hotel then

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    I reserved double room, we got a nice apartment with...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very unfriendly and unhelpful, did not treat us good at all. It is difficult to find the hotel with car - it is in the walking Zone and there was not parking available. Even difficult to find where to park in the town.

    I reserved double room, we got a nice apartment with jacuzzi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and wel situated for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expecting an old property; finding the parking; no view; building shared with hostel Uni!

    Spacious comfy room; excellent wifi; great breakfast choice. Position.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.0
    Very comfortable and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was in poor shape! Time for a new mattress! The door im the bathroom bangs on the wall, a stopper to holdit would be nice. No fridge!!!!!😔 We came for breakfast at 9:30 but there was nothing left!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.1
    it is very well located in the pedestrian area of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no fridge and minibar. the whole establishment needs a complete refurbishment.

    it is very well located in the pedestrian area of the historical part of the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find as location is in a pedestrianised square, with entry by entryphone at barrier.

    Very spacious and quiet with a comfortable bed and good seating area. Separate bathroom and w.c. Public areas as well bedroom were airy and bright. Very varied and plentiful breakfast. Perfect location with free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    I will come again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that would require comment.

    Varied breakfast. No waiting for breakfast in peak hours. Extremely friendly staff. Room with a view of the city and Pohorje.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.5
    Nice hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We (2 couples) stayed in the hotel 1 night on the way to Croatia and were very satisfied. Our quadruple room actually consisted of separate 2 rooms (1 with double and 1 with 2 single beds), small anteroom, 1 bathroom/WC and 1 additional WC – very convenient for 2 couples also. Possibility to visit thermal pools was nice additional bonus after 2 days of hard driving by motorcycles. For us very important was garage parking for motorcycles (10 EUR). Overall - great location in the center of old town in short walking distance to all sightseeing places, restaurants, shops etc., excellent breakfast and staff very friendly and helpful, good Wi-Fi. Thank you for all!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Much for little money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Holidays Package
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had some troubles with the water in the shower because nothing hindered it from flowing over the floor.

    Very well located, nice and helpful staff, spacious and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location and good price!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swastika graffiti opposite the windows of the breakfast room were quite disturbing to see. When I asked the front desk about removing them, I was told that they had no jurisdiction over their presence, since the graffiti was on a building not owned by Hotel Orel. This nevertheless should be addressed. I did not find the fluorescent light fixtures to be very complimentary.

    Great location and good price! Delicious breakfasts!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in the heart of Maribor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed were a bit hard and one of the windows did not open well, so I could hear some noise from the outside, but it fortunately wasn't too loud.

    Great location and nice big rooms; very clean as well. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Helpful and friendly staff, good value for money, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful and friendly staff, good value for money, location in the city centre, spaceful room. Good and various breakfast. Free parking space for our motobike.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    First - wont be the last visit- nice get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Parking area outside was tight, we drove there and were lucky to got a place (emailed before we went since someone mentioned they have limited parking) for the first day, next days our car was at the car service, "what a luck" since parking area and the lane were crowded - open park 5€ á night - garage / 10€ á night - Power goes off when you leave the room with the roomcard (big minus) - Roomcards needed to re-activate twice: first time that happens so no problem, second time we needed to extend our stay cos the car, booked the room here, went to reception and the older man was there, we got to stay at our room (great) but he didnt re-activate our key and said it is working till friday, even though we knew that is not true and asked twice.. cos the younger told us that before. But the older man didnt do it and just focused on to the screen.. so on wednesday some after 12 our powers went off & when tried didnt get in to our room.. Other staff was very nice and helpful!! - It´s not always possible but people with kids should be places on the other floor than ppl without, it was irritating hear them running and screaming at the corridor at 9, same at the brekfastroom later, it is not hotels fault but this is something all hotels should focus on, please.

    First time in Maribor and we liked, even though we had to stay two more nights cos the car - Location was the best, right in the Old Town, next to some historic buildings, easy to walk everywhere - Spar next to the hotel - Shops, cafes´s, dining places are right next to - Europark, huge shopping mall is just 6min. away (full of shops and karting on the top floor!) - Piramida, Old Wine, fish-bond, terrarium all close -To Pohorje u can go by car or take a bus -Hotel Orel was little bit tricky to find but we knew that from previous reviews, asked and got well-detailed directions on email so had no problem to find (contact them before u go if you go by a car!) - Staff was very nice & helpful (except that older man who just stared at the screen..) -Special thanks to that blond-haired lady who was a huge help for us by calling to the car service - breakfast was good (if it would be available till 11 that would be huge help since on holiday u wanna sleep little bit more): there was a lot to choose from, they also filled out quite quickly if something was missing, many type of bread, diifferent eggs, sausages, diiferent kind of cheese, fruits, cakes, juices and coffee machine- that was the best! Excellent coffee and many to choose from! - Room was quite big so that was a great surprise! Cozy double bed, extra pillows on the cabinet, 1,5 bathroom- super!! AC, working tv, soffa, big windows- we got a view to Piramida Hill - Maribor is nice, small town, we ended up there on Saturday after 2pm and all places were closed, also on Sunday but Monday too since the public holiday, so it was nice but really quiet - BMW service is super there, we could have driven to Finland but good service and half price ;) If we have a chance in future to make roadtrips, we will have Maribor on our list, nice get-away place and surprised there wasnt more tourists!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful Maribor, quiet but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Parking area outside was tight, we drove there and were lucky to got a place (emailed before we went since someone mentioned they have limited parking) for the first day, next days our car was at the car service, "what a luck" since parking area and the lane were crowded - open park 5€ á night - garage / 10€ á night - power goes off when you leave the room with the roomcard - roomcards needed to re-activate twice: first time that happens so no problem, second time we needed to extend our stay cos the car, booked the room here, went to reception and the older man was there, we got to stay at our room but he didnt re-activate our key and said it is working till friday, even though we knew that is not true and asked twice..he didnt do it and just focused on to the screen.. so on wednesday some after 12 our powers went off & when tried didnt get in to our room --> other staff was very nice and helpful though - It´s not always possible but people with kids should be places on the other floor than ppl without, it was irritating hear them running and screaming at the corridor at 9, same at the brekfastroom later, it is not hotels fault but this is something all hotels should focus on

    First time in Maribor and we liked, even though we had to stay two more nights cos the car - Location was the best, right in the Old Town, next to some historic buildings, easy to walk everywhere - Spar next to the hotel - Shops, cafes´s, dining places are right next to - Europark, huge shopping mall is just 6min. away (full of shops and karting on the top floor!) - Piramida, Old Wine, fish-bond, terrarium all close - To Pohorje u can go by car or take a bus - it was little bit tricky to find but we knew that from previous reviews, asked and got well-detailed directions on email so had no problem to find (contact them before u go if you go by a car!) - staff was very nice & helpful (except that older man who just stared at the screen..) -special thanks to that blond-haired lady who was a huge help for us by calling to the car service - breakfast was good (if it would be available till 11 that would be huge help since on holiday u wanna sleep little bit more): there was a lot to choose from, they also filled out quite quickly if something was missing, many type of bread, diifferent eggs, sausages, diiferent kind of cheese, fruits, cakes, juices and coffee machine- that was the best! Excellent coffee and many to choose from! - Room was quite big so that was a great surprise! Cozy double bed, extra pillows on the cabinet, 1,5 bathroom- super!! AC, working tv, soffa, big windows- we got a view to Piramida Hill - Maribor is nice, small town, we ended up there on Saturday after 2pm and all places were closed, also on Sunday but Monday too since the public holiday, so it was nice but really quiet - BMW service is super there, we could have driven to Finland but good service and half price ;)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.5
    Room could have done with air conditioning, but the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have done with air conditioning, but the room wasn't advertised as having air-con, so not a problem with advertising. Great location and pretty cheap room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.7
    Maribor at night;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with parking place... we had to park on the shopping centre (as there was no place near the hotel), which was expensive, risky and troubling (walking with luggage through the city...) would be better to take the hotel with parking and walk to the center for sightseeing

    Maribor at night;-)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.8
    Excellent location but over priced for basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for basic accommodation and you had to pay for parking which was not advised at time of booking. Also slightly confusing to find if driving as the hotel is in the pedestrian zone - pre advice would have been helpful. Old tv with no USB ports.

    Great location, free wifi with strong signal. Breakfast was OK. Maribor itself is small but very nice for a one or two night stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice location, could be better services / attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very difficult to reach - being in the historical center of the city, the GPS won't take you right to the hotel, because there are a lot of streets closed to traffic surrounding the the hotel. And you have to park and walk by foot or phone the reception to give you directions. They don't have free parking - it is extra 5 euro / day and it is full if you arrive in the evening, because it is very small. They have an alternative: garage parking for 10 euro / day, which the receptionist kept very aggresively pushing to add to our bill, even though we had found a parking spot. The alternative is public parking, some few hundred meters far from the hotel and very difficult to find a free spot.

    The location is terrific - right in the center of the town. I like that it is clean and relatively quiet. The breakfast was OK. Overall, price / quality ratio pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    6.7
    Extra costs and fees hidden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra costs and fees hidden. Impossible to comprare prices. Apart from the local tax (as expected), they charge you 'check in' extra and 'bed extra'... Lot of people asking for refunds...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.5
    Value for money with the holiday package.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Holidays Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived tired from travel on a wet evening and the staff who was on reception was not particularly helpful and did not explain what we were entitled to with our package. Nor was the phone answered despite several attempts to contact the hotel before our arrival. First impressions really count! However all other staff were pleasant and helpful. We had a standard room which was basic and a little tired but clean and the bed was comfortable enough.

    Great location, easy to walk everywhere. Free access to Fontana wellness centre. Plenty of breakfast to choose from if you get there early. Great value for money. Excellent wifi and free parking with our package.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast but rolls Vae old (not fresh). Hotel located right in the center of Maribor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Rinse better meat and cheese, since I'm allergic to pork and all cheese was mixed with salami and other meat -Freshly baked rolls / bread for breakfast

    + Very central + Very good WIFI

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel for a night in Maribor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not available at the hotel as we arrived around 9pm but there was a free parking 100m away.

    Located in the main square of Maribor, the hotel is full of young travellers, is very cosy and the rooms are big and clean. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Staff very cheery and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tight and hit or miss as to availability. Functional but basic facilities.

    Staff very cheery and helpful. Large selection of choices at Breakfast. WiFi Very Good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Great room, Great service, Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY thing we missed was the ability to make tea and coffee in the room - wish there was some way to boil water!

    Room is old-fashioned '70's style, but spacious, and in perfect condition. This was one of the most convenient rooms we have ever stayed in: plenty of closet and shelf storage space, plenty of towel hanging hooks in bath, plenty of room around the sink for our things, and a general feeling of functionality and reliability. The air-con was quiet, efficient and responsive to adjustments. We really liked that the toilet was in a separate bathroom with a small sink from the shower. Our refrigerator did not work and it took a few days to replace because of a holiday, but everything else was in perfect working order. The breakfast (included in the price) was excellent in quality and variety of choices. This room overall was thoughtfully designed, convenient, and one of our all time favorites. We would readily return and highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Good basic hotel in center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dated facilities

    Good location & friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is really great, good restaurants in 5 min walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are rooms that should be renovated, these are like back to the 80s.

    The location is really great, good restaurants in 5 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family room with 1 double and 1 single bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No vegan milk for breakfast.

    Spacious room, with separated washroom and bathroom. Easily accessed from the train station. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, helpful staff and reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, helpful staff and reasonable price. Nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the middle of Maribor
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, parking, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    There is a discothek near the hotel,and it was very noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a discothek near the hotel,and it was very noisy for 5:00 am at saturday night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom was broken shower cock.

    Near the center. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: