Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kempinski Palace Portorož 5 stars

Obala 45, 6320 Portorož, Slovenia

#1 of 24 hotels in Portorož

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2118 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    The perfect little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the check-in went super smooth. The staff was professional and quite pleasing to talk to. The rooms were super clean and they even came twice to our suite in one day to clean up. Everything else from breakfast to the pool was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Great getaway with scenic views and amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a single thing. it was perfect

    This was a great surprise. I had no set expectation and was blown away from the property, location, amenities and staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Great experience, friendly staff and looking forward to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few parts of the hotel look neglected (like the main terrace) and maybe a little bit more attention should be put on maintenance.

    For a start, a hassle-free check-in experience, staff attention to detail is very high, comfortable beds, nice pool and sauna facilities (included in price), wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Will come again, beautiful palace hotel with all state of art amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    deluxe room sea view should have more space and it should be clear at the time of booking that it is no available balcony in this room

    excellent breakfast, excellent restaurants,bar and spa, stylish cigar launge, central location in Portoroz, beautiful Palace hotel, kind staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Decent but not worth the money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is definitely not worth the money as there were many negatives I would not expect in a hotel of this price/star rating. Especially the annoying pigeons in the outside part of the dinning area which were picking food from your plates seconds after you left the table. Besides that the rooms and its equipment and amenities were not really new and it was obvious that some of it would have needed a replacement. To sum it up book a cheaper room and the money you saved can be used for anything else you wish for.

    The staff was really nice and helpful. I would point out the breakfast which was really good with broad variety of choices for literally everybody.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Location is brilliant, in the middle of the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is brilliant, in the middle of the village. Great choice at breakfast. Good snacks and drinks at pool bar and the staff there are simply wonderful! Had a great massage at the spa and the teenagers had facials and manicures that they were very pleased with. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    The iconic hotel in the centre of Portorož
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel really needs refreshment for its 5 stars (decoration and carpeted floor and walls are outdated for a modern, luxurious, romantic, and even nostalgic hotel that the Palace Hotel Kempinski wants to be; however, the dinning hall is still amazing). There was a wedding in the hotel - the hotel provided ear plugs for us - well, we could not use them because we had to get up early in the morning - plus ... Ear plugs??? Why not a room on the other side of the hotel or at least a choice for it with an explanation? Nobody told us in advance it could be a serious problem. We had to listen to singing and drunken wedding guests all night long. Very disappointing.

    Perfect breakfast, excellent view, luxurious swimming pool, excellent singer Lucienne Lončina, nostalgic hotel from our childhood, which was renovated in 2008 (which was great after several years it had been left to decay).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is overpriced - extra 23 EUR per day.

    Everything was amazing! The room was big, clean and quiet with comfortable bed (we stayed in Deluxe room). All staff members were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Ot is Ok, but dont have super expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite old. At first sight, it looks like a Kempinski, but under the closer look you will realize that bad is not comfortable and old, pillows are artificial and bad. Breakfast was Ok but nothing special. Quite poor selection.

    I am not sure that in this area they have anything better so you can stay here but be realistic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A Genuine Treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit of a walk to the private beach which is extra at €20 each for umbrella and loungers. Only an issue at 35 degrees where walking is a chore.

    Wonderful experience. Staff and check in were first class. We were upgraded to the Laguna Suite which was amazing. The dinner we had in the less gourmet of the two restaurants was outstanding. The bar is excellent as is the barman. Breakfast outstanding. The pool is lovely as well if rather busy. We didn't try the treatments, but very highly rated. Not cheap, but worth every penny for a treat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    A weak 4 star hotel for the price of a 5 star one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    First of all, the handling of the booking is terrible. We wanted connecting rooms, because we were travelling with our 5 year old son. At first, they simply ignored my request. Then after I asked for it, they said it's not possible. Then they said on the phone that if I change the Sea View rooms to Park View rooms, it's possible. I did that, but even after this they denied to guarantee the connecting rooms. So they simply lied to us. The so-called Park View rooms were looking at another buildings wall, and the glass-metal roof of the connecting building. They organize weddings on the roof of one of the buildings. Imagine the noise, but it's not the worse. The guests obviously use the garden for photos, so 100+ of them use the tiny elevators, it takes them about 15 minutes to take everybody down. Meanwhile all the other guests are unable to use the elevators. The stairs lead to a storage room, and you can easily get lost. When we complained about this, they were quite rude about it, and didn't seem to understand the problem. Most of the staff is very young (seems to be between 18-25) and unexperienced. Many of the beach foods on the menu is not available during most days of the stay. At the breakfast you have to search for forks and knives for yourself, and wait a lot of time to be able to order a coffee. To be fair, at least all the young people in the staff work hard and keeps being nice, but they're clearly overworked. The pool is filled with sea water, which is not ideal for children. Most of the outer "bottom-up" showers simply doesn't work, so you have to go inside the building to be able to properly shower. The beach club's furniture is quite worn-out, and the wooden platforms are full of little sticks which go under your skin. We've taken out 12 little wooden sticks from my son's feet one day.

    Location, beautiful hotel and park, great variety of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast overall good, staff helped us to wash the car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price a little bit expensive for one night's stay

    Breakfast overall good, staff helped us to wash the car before our departure, great garden for walking around, having the chance to live in Mr. Bean's room (room 426)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Pure Luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival we could hand over our car to the staff. What we did not know is that parking is charged separately (€ 23/day). I would recommend better communication about this.

    * Great service. * Luxurious rooms. * Phenomenal breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    We were very pleased and got what we expected - service can improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel service could have been better and it suffers, like many other hotels in Slovenia, from having kids in charge rather than more experienced staff. Personally, I didn't enjoy the way the pool is 'every man for himself' with a few people playing loud music and many people drinking while in the pool. It's rude and it's not safe and, I guess, the staff are loath to take on some of the arrogant people who pay these prices and want what they want.

    Excellent hotel and you get what you pay for, which is exclusivity and comfort. Breakfasts were exceptional and the pool and sauna facilities were another very strong feature.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Expensive but beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon control in the room is only goes up and down by two degrees, when we queried this with reception thinking it was malfunctioning, they kindly amended this by their own computer control at reception however if we hadn't queried it, we would never have known and continued to swelter.

    Bed and pillows were very comfy. The buffet breakfast was excellent, catered for everyone with a room full of choices. The concierge was fantastic, organising a very reasonable taxi and giving us excellent recommendations for our trip to Piran.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    there is almost no location / no bar at all to have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there is almost no location / no bar at all to have a drink and a smoke in the evening, like somewhere at the pool or in the garden there are just 3 balconies attached to the bar where you can sit outside and have a drink (and smoke) this is absolutely poor!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    I hope to return to this relaxing hotel soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pigeons on the terrace trying to share our breakfasts were a nuisance.

    The buffet breakfast on the terrace was a wonderful start to our day. Watching the sunset from our balcony was a relaxing end to our day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic breakfast with lots of fresh local meats, cheeses,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were charged 7 Euro for 3 glasses of cold water at the pool. There was a water dispenser but it was empty. Water should be complimentary in a hotel of this standard

    Fantastic breakfast with lots of fresh local meats, cheeses, breads, honey etc. Also, great late night decaf coffee with chocolates in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, superb breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think some former guests may have been smoking in our room before. Maybe the hotel should be more strict in enforcing the non-smoking policy.

    Super well maintained property, extra clean, polished up in every detail. Super comfortable beds, spacious rooms, very friendly staff and extraordinary breakfast! The location is definitely the best in Portoroz. Valet parking in the garage keeps your car cool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Ideal for a special romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a really unforgettable weekend at Kempinski. Everything and everyone at the hotel was amazing. Even if the hotel is more for romantic escapes than family holidays and the beach is not exactly Mediterranean paradise, we had a pleasant stay and we are definitely coming back next spring (and will for sure want to stay at the room with two balconies, seaview and bathtube)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful buffet - breakfast, very nice seawater pool, valet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room had an inadequate bathroom designed for a sanatorium or hospital. No space for necessary things, floods,...

    Wonderful buffet - breakfast, very nice seawater pool, valet service,...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    The Best in Portoroz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use a rennovation, first room we got was not clean - had dead bugs on the table, some stains on the wall and a towel was covered in stains as well - we got a new room no questions asked - the new room was spotless and they gave as a local sparking wine as an appology (not a good one unfortunately so we opted for a selection of fine chocolates instead, a champagne would be appreciated)

    Generally attentive staff, the mattress was great, a balcony with a partial sea view, curtains in the room were enough to block the sunrise, Fleur de Sel restaurant above the pool area - Tim was great, breakfast was abundant although it could benefit from more cheese variety (French in particular) and there should be mini Nutellas instead of the one jar, vallet parking, concierge service, pool area was really nice with salt water, breakfast until 12 is a big plus, you don't need to go out of the hotel at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great wellnes area, rich breakfast, friendly staff, bus stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have easily overlooked the marking to the entrance of the hotel. So I was confused to find the right way with my car.

    Great wellnes area, rich breakfast, friendly staff, bus stop in front of the hotel 1,5 EUR one way to the Piran.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    We loved and enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No coffee machine in the room. It's funny that on the restaurant's terrace can not be dine due to the lack of lighting in the evening. Bed linen was fine but the pillow is very hard, the blanket is heavy, poor quality.

    Very nice hotel with a beautiful garden, the best location in Portoroz. Our room was pleasant and clean with a nice and big bathroom. We loved our terrace with beautiful view. Our room was quiet, but at the open window it was only possible to sleep until the start of traffic. Breakfast is very delicious, sitting on the terrace is very pleasant. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Nice spa area and super pool! To get to Piran is very easy using local public transport - the bus stop is in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very nice facilities, comfort, excellent service, pet...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel restaurant is closing terrace at 6.00 pm already. You can expect that in winter conditions but not in very nice, warm, sunny weather. As we prefer dinning outdoor, we chose another restaurant outside hotel. Strange policy.

    Very nice facilities, comfort, excellent service, pet friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good conference place, I'll return!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road and the traffics in the morning, no hotel's beach, please open the pool earlier ( e.g. at 7.00 for spring&summer)

    staff service, pool/spa, food and music at the piano bar at evenings- two young musicians, the upgrading, garden and all glicinias and the room with a wonderful view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    relax and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the pool is not super hot, so, since we went in winter, it was not as we expected it. There was a few people, so the whirlopool was always available, but I expect it to be more crowded in the Summer. In general I found it a bit overpriced. We had to pay an extr 23 euro for the car. But they were good, we just payed one day.

    Great breakfast, good space in room, good atmosphere. The staff is great, ready to help and can speak several languages, all very well. We loved the spa, the pool and the sauna! I recommend it, definetly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Luxury and relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach are not so special, but if you ate looking to relax, you can enjoy the hotel infrastructure.

    The spa area is really nice. The prices are fair and service very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with very complicated service for coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in the room. In the morning You have to go to breakfastroom and ask someone to bring You coffee. No sence AT all

    Clean room. Nice and big bathroom. Excellent bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Except those issues i mentioned i could recomend the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room towels broken/old definitely not for a 5* hotel. Compair to Estepona Kempinski way different!!!! Breakfast also was weaker than in Spain!

    Nice area beautiful view. Good facilities Kind people 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Kempinski at its best :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking - 20 EUR/day for the hotel of this level. Should be free of charge.

    Beds, size of the room, pillows, bathroom, terrace - actually, pretty much everything was just perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    not worth the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    lady at reception was not friendly. she told me that someone will show me the parking and get the bagage but nobody appeared so I had to park at street without knowledge how to pay. she also told as where to go for supper but this restaurant was closed on Monday. Espresso was were bad so I couldn't drink it

    room was good and breakfast also

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location and convenience for exploring surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best location in Portoroz for seaside walks, shopping or trying out the restaurants and bars in the city. To get to Piran is so easy using local public transport - the bus stop is in front of the hotel. Breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mistike at departure (other’s person dinner charged) Not having the possibility to buy tickets for champagne event in the hotel, as a hotel guest

    Perfect Personnel and cleanness,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Luxury weekend at Portoroz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All services were on highest level as expected for luxury hotel. We have taken dinner in Sophie restaurant, enjoyed a lot, Steward Mr. Branislav gave us brief description of each plate served, thanks. Car was parked in the garage, all service arranged by hotel personnel. Quiet and clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice place for breakfast which is really very diverse...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Additional payment for car parking (20 EUR per day) outside, at the back yard was a kind of surprise to me. The wellness is rather small. In the sauna there is no possibilities to cool down in a water. It is signed that quiet need to be kept, but guests didn’t respect this rule. Staff who could remind them to keep quiet was not present- so only guest. This was strange. When I left the place there was someone at the wellness reception though… busy with smart phone :-)

    Nice place for breakfast which is really very diverse and tasteful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Five Star of Slovenia
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness is too small and lacks extra features for such quality hotel. If fully booked the hotel’s wellness is too crowded.

    Real 5* accomodation, service and staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel, all is perfectly organized for the comfort of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury hotel, all is perfectly organized for the comfort of the guests. Breakfast in the “old”, Belle Époque building, in a breathtaking, magnificent salon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    I'll come back to this hotel definitely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very comfortable, but the pillows and mattresses have to be changed. It's very hard to handle with the strainer (in the breakfast area) The coffee is extremely bad and tasteless :(

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff (especially Daniel the reception desk). Great service, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    The staff were AMAZING.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were AMAZING. They all remembered my name and addressed me personally when I would walk through reception or at breakfast etc. Paying for a water view was worth the extra.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Greatest selection of food at breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked vegetarian food not tasty at all, raw tomatos,cucumbers and strawberry taste like they were grown at a rubber factory, bananas too rape

    Greatest selection of food at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, in an old imposing building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have ben slightly disappointed with the location which is not at the direct front of the sea, although the rooms with seaview have a nice outlook into the sea. ALso Porforoz is a nice location, but not the most charming that you could find in Istria. So the hotel is a good place to relax and to use as a base for exploring Istria

    Very nice hotel, in an old imposing building. The furnishing, the style, the facilities are all very good even for an hotel of this category. The breakfast is a highlight of the stay due to the the variety of choices and the location on the terasse or inside depending on your taste. We also enjoyed the effortless check-in and out process thanks to a very efficient valet service. Last, our dog, for which we had to pay for an extra charge, was welcome with a recipeint for his food and a pack of pet cookies, which our dog enjoyed very much !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    excellent SPA holiday. Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only issue was outside, i.e. the neighbouring bars partying until morning. Not a major issue - this is not Majorca, but a bit annoying nevertheless. Hotel Management should insist with local administration that the local rules (music until 10pm) is applied. Ah, and coffee is often not warm enough, but this seems to be a speciality in Slovenia it is mostly so.

    Nothing to complain about the property. Amazing palace with incredible ball room and nice facilities. Only very little details could be improved. The valet service for the garage is great. Pool is very nice and well kept. Sauna and spa also good, and the local SPA is only a few metres away, offers excellent treatments to a good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    We missed having a coffee machine in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We missed having a coffee machine in the room. Also having to make your own fresh orange juice at breakfast with a rather primitive machine was a bit of a disappointment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, but service not excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast and in the bar is quite slow, swimming pool area is a bit small for such hotel and my room was quite basis and relatively small.

    The hotel is really magnificent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing and luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is salt water and very salty (our son didn't like it at all as it stung his eyes).

    The breakfast was fabulous. Loved it all! The swimming pool and facilities were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have a iron in the room. And you can use a laundry service, but you need to wait for it. Be ready for it. And then I just get in my room, the light actually the key didnt work, and light was off, I was needed to wait for specialists again.

    Everything was amazing!!!! So perfect experience. Pleasant staff, so beautiful halls, huge choice on breakfast. Big swimming pool. Modern and fancy! All made for the guests!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    I love the hotel and will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom splashed everywhere

    The pool and breakfast buffet are excellent. The restaurants on the property are beautiful, great service and spectacular food!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    The Breakfast is excellent, and the Al Fresco sitting area...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    The Breakfast is excellent, and the Al Fresco sitting area is amazing. On Gourmet Restaurant - I have to say that the waiters and the staff is amazing ... the food is ok. Parking is super safe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Superb breakfast spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Superb breakfast spread. Helpful staff, e.g. with parking rented bikes behind the front desk. Car parking is pricey at €20/night - you can park on street for €12 for 24 hours. Large salt water pool with good sun deck and comfy loungers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We stayed five days and took advantage to visit several towns along the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything at the hotel was near perfect. Starting with the excellent breakfast, staff and facilities. The location is great for visiting the adjacent coastline.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice but could and should be a bit better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are too warm and you need to contact reception in order to change the air conditioning, this is the first time that I have seen this. The shower was terrible for a hotel of this standard.

    The breakfast is fantastic, a superb selection of options. The pool is nice, better than the beach. Rooms are traditional but high spec and the beds extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful place & best staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant Fleur del sel, Poor menu,place is like bistto bar, it s not 5 star restourant.

    Beautiful place & best staff. Restaurant Sofia must try, best one in Slovenia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice bed linen and towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bed linen and towels..Although the property itself is not up to Kempinski usual high standards. More just like an average 4 star hotel. Hotel decor not great either. Lovely staff though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing and fun stay at a great luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was incredible, the location and grounds perfect, and the staff fantastic. It was well worth the splurge- this was my first time staying at a Kempenski and I'm so glad we did it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor of the resting area around the swimming pool could and should be cleaner.

    Very comfortable room. Delicious breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful hotel and garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, but very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel lacked atmosphere, restaurants were very quiet in the evenings. €20 a day to park your car was very expensive

    Fantastic room with good maid service. Breakfast was really good, so much choice and freshly made coffee or chocolate. Pool area was nice and so was the lobby bar in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Kempinski palace Portoroz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in the middle of high season, and the pool was really over-crowded, one could expect from Kempinski that there would be a little bit more space.... we didn't get a five star palace hotel experience.... The outside resting area from the spa-sauna area was not clean, full of tree leaves.

    Nice room, comfy bed, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice but not a dream come true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sewage of the sink ( the way it emptied the water, not sure if I used the right words) was not good, also the toilet flushing was not perfect. Although the booking form mentions the parking cost of 20 euro per day I find it a bit strange that at such room rates you are charged with the parking,separately. Maybe I don't have enough experience with five star hotels :). The staff was polite and helpful but one felt they are wary that you may take something from the room (like from the minibar) without the intention to pay. Before we left someone showed up and checked the minibar, with me in the room. I gave permission but not very elegant, is it? Why not let me fill in a form if I used something and give it at the reception, before leaving.

    The size and the cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was excellent and you wouldn't know you were near a road at all. The breakfast was also outstanding. If we could afford it we would have spent longer there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Best stay in Slovenia-
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food and staff are phenomenal. Facilities luxurious. Sophia restaurant is top notch. Chef is fabulous -pairings and flavours perfect. Customized dishes for children including amuse-bouche.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Very friendly and helpful staff- at reception, restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of pool facilities and toillets is below average. Cutlery at breakfast looks very used and old. It is not dirty, but very used. Same goes for cups at the pool site. The room is nicely decorated, but quite small.

    Very friendly and helpful staff- at reception, restaurant, concierge, valley, everyone!!! 5 star STAFF! Good coffee, satisfactory breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Spacious rooms, good facilities at the bathroom, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices are very high for the hotel without own beach. Costs of parking and beach nearby could be covered by the hotel itself. Staff is sometimes forgetful but ready for improvements.

    Spacious rooms, good facilities at the bathroom, breakfast till noon, excellent restaurant "Fleur de sel", renovated building, rich set of TV-channels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in luxury resort with amazing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the redecoration details in the new wing lack in taste and are a fruit of nouveau-riche aesthetics: the sofas in the corridors, for example, or the rose-themed bedframes and armchairs in the rooms are undeniably tacky. It is also a pity that the hotel lost its direct access to the sea, which was one of its main features in the early 20th century: a road was built between the hotel and the shore and the ugly Coca-cola parasols of the beachfront bars pollute the sea view from the hotel.

    One of the most luxurious hotels in the region and a bastion of classic early-20th century aristocratic glory. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the service is absolutely impeccable, very respectful and kind. The breakfast in the lavish Crystal Hall is magnificent and the pool outstanding. The "Fleur de Sel" restaurant is excellent and offers a great regional gastronomical experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    3.3
    Attention!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention! For all who travel by car, do not give car keys to the hotel staff and do not let them park your car, the hotel staff can unceremoniously take your car and drive around the city, especially if your car is a good, expensive brand. Since most luxury cars they had never seen before, for them this is the eighth wonder of the world. Personally, I have disabled the steering wheel adjustment, as far as I understand someone from the hotel staff just had to test the extraordinary model of the Mercedes, by clicking on all the available buttons in it. When my acquaintances told me that they saw my car racing at night at high speed, I almost felt a shock! Because I slept at night. It is very good that has not been scratched. The hotel not only did not apologize, but even more so did not admit its guilt. Friendly smiles left the face of the staff immideately, they told me that I must go to court and prove that it was their fault that caused the breakdown. In general, if something happens, you should not rely on the help of the hotel, moreover they will even begin to ignore you. You should also stock up on cash, although it's not convenient. But the hotel will write off as much funds from your card as they deem fit. Then there will be a long correspondence by e-mail with clarification of circumstances. Personally, after a week, I still have not received a decent amount. Despite the fact that I send them my account statemetn, they just write that everything is fine. In my bank, after looking at all the transactions, they told me that the hotel did not return the funds. In general, after a rest in this hotel, if you are unlucky then you will have to stay nervous for a long time and think why I pay money for rest in this hotel, and still you are deceived. Внимание!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel in Portoroz
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone is so nice and are always trying to help and check if everything is ok. When we came into our room there was a dog bed, water bowl and complimentary cookies for our dog. I've never seen anything like this before.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Hotel, equipment, staff, parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food: breakfast is under Kempinski average. We were also in hotel restaurant on dinner.. unforutanely food was mediocre.

    Hotel, equipment, staff, parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    .Fantastic place to stay in, lives up to its international 5 star prestigue hotel. Breakfast was very generous and served in a nice location on the deck, Friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had problem with WiFi in our room, very weak signal. Also, housekeeping left like 1 shower gel in the room even there has been 2 of us. Not so logical. This didn't ruined our overall stay, but those are some small things that are important.

    Location is great! Staff is very friendly, especially guys behind the pool and concierge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Portoroz.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit cold but outside weather was so bad. Anyhow room always cozy and quite calm.

    Kindest staff and valet parking. Breakfast also was great. Swimming pool and sauna, spa centre staff also very kind and really professional. Location is very close to everywhere to arrive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    More like a 4* hotel - too many mistakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As much as it pains me to say it, the truth is that our stay at Kempinski Palace Hotel in Portorož was a big disappointment. It started badly already when I called the hotel prior to arrival as I wanted to order welcome fruit basket for one of the rooms. I was denied the service even though I mentioned that I'm happy to pay for it. Kempinski staff member dismissed me arrogantly with justification that this type of service is provided for special guests only and that I should call a room service when I arrive to the hotel. This was only the beginning of our worst 5 star hotel experience. Bathroom in my room was left with a DNA sample from the previous guest and the room wasn't tidied properly during the day. Used bathroom towels were not replaced and bed sheets looked like no one touched them. Hotel managers should consider better quality outfit for their staff in a dining service. They looked more like Ryanair staff than Kempinski Luxury 5 star hotel one. Park view room = view to the hotel parking Bathroom with shower/tub combo not suitable for elderly people or injured ones. You can't choose either you wish to stay in the old building or the new one. Expect nothing and you might end up happy with the stay. Expect Luxury and you'll end up with a disappointment. Unless you're one of those lucky ones that the hotel considers as a "special guest".

    During the stay, hotel staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast is good and served until noon in a gorgeous dining room. Although outdoor pool is very small compering to the size of the hotel, it's clean and filled with the sea water. Bed is good and the room is quite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    The view from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. I think that is not ok that they had a big jar of Nutella and everbody take it from there. I think in 5 star hotel Nutella should be packed in small packeges. Same as jam should be.

    The view from room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    beautiful hotel. great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location of the main entrance was at the back. we could not quite locate it until we alighted to ask the staff that was inside the hotel. took us about half hour to figure out

    The champagne breakfast was awesome. breakfast was served until 12pm. we went in early apr when there was not many pple. the indoor pool and spa facilties were not too crowded.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    The location is great, directly on the seaside with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great, directly on the seaside with very many options for dining. The rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed in the new part of the hotel which was great. The walk to Piran Fishing Village is at about 50min (4.5 Km) distance - do not miss it, and plan for dinner. You can order a Taxi for your way back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise isolation between the rooms could be better. I could also hear the lobby bar music in the 1st floor room. Quite expensive car parking.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: