Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lipica - Hotel Maestoso 4 stars

Lipica 5, 6210 Sežana, Slovenia

#14 of 16 hotels in Sežana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not up to expectations and photosmisleading.

    Original room very dreary so it was changed and it was better. Restaurant awful food and breakfast very little choice in a dreary room. But we saw the white Lippizaner horses which was good but NOT from the hotel as was described. No way would the horses have galloped past!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room 2+2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have done with tea and coffee facilities in room and a fan in second bedroom but we brought our own as we read these were not available. I would have liked toast as an option for breakfast. Restaurant frequently got our orders wrong but might have been translation errors.

    Fantastic family room with Large double bed and 3 comfy single beds. Air conditioning in main room and a balcony overlooking the fields. Very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is next to the casino

    It’s a very nice hotel, very good location After breakfast we took a walk around the hotel, it was a very pleased walking! It was sooo amazing that we met some horses, it was really very exciting and created a good memory for us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was in poor condition. There was leaking ( from shower and toilet). There was only a few programs working on the Tv and the mini bar was empty...

    Staff was great, very friendly. Breakfast was also good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Until 2am around 20 kids runing up and down the hotel corridors and stairs, screaming and yelling. House rules mean next to nothing in this Hotel. We slept very thin only a few hours from the loud noise, to get some rest for the next days 10km hike. Hotel reception was helpless to assist with the teens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad organized hotel. Almost nobody knows nothing about other part of the hotel. Also, I ask 2 times something via e-mail before comming, nobody answered. Rememeber you have 15% discount for visiting the stud farm as a guest in the hotel. For us, nobody told us this, nor from the reception nor from the entrance in stud farm, everybody blaming the other side. Maybe because if you speak english you are not very well seen... But in the end we got some bonus riding after we asked the discount in reception. In my opinion the management is very bad. Employees are nice but they need organizing and a better system of work. The hotel needs a updating in furniture, bigger beds, painting the walls, rust balconies.

    The location of the hotel is just perfect for relaxing. Even better when you go out of the season and the hotel is not full. The staff is very friendly and try to make a good time even if is bad organized. The room si pretty simple, I can say normal for an old 3 stars hotel, very clean even if dated. Could be much better with a minimum investition. Breakfast is just normal with most of the things you'd want but without something to surprize you. We had halfboard and dinner is some 3 course menu they decide to do that day. So really, you have no option, but good enough like quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 2+2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The was no heating, the room was not prepared when we arrived, the breakfast room is very small, the lady on the reception was speaking just Slovenian and some English.

    It's an old-fashioned hotel. The breakfast was nice, although it could be better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner is served until 8 p.m.

    Comfortable bed, extremely pleasant waitress at dinner. We were allowed to stay in our rooms until 12 in order to visit Lipica stables. The dinner was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should consider food labels on breakfast items. For guests with dietary issues, it MATTERS what's in the bread.

    You just cannot beat a place where a herd of gorgeous white horses gallops past during breakfast. The staff--desk, restaurant and room--went out of their way to be pleasant and caring.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been done better, in my opinion. We could not have been more pleased with the hotel and the way we were treated.

    Reception staff and management was super helpful. Also, the breakfast was exceptional, both in flavor and variety of options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of air-condition, fridge in our room didn't work (because it's summer as the receptionist said). Promised balcony turned out to be just a big window with some fence.

    Nice location, nice breakfast choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was more than big enough, and the bathroom was also big with a bathtub. We even had a small balcony. It was very quiet at night and the breakfast was really good! There's a vending machine for beverages and snacks in the lobby, great idea! And you get a 15% discount for the stud farm which is like in 10 minutes walking distance. Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 2+2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the family room. It was an extreme hot day in august and the room stayed very warm in the evening. We all couldn't sleep well.

    Spacious room, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the restaurant is very forgetful. Example: When serving coffee, there is no spoon, and often forget about an order at lunch. Breakfast is waiting because there is not enough pre-prepared food on the tables for all guest.

    A peaceful environment and a lot of nature

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and its service.You always had to ask the staff to replace cups,food,glasses... they started to remove before the expected time. There was not labels on some things so you did not know which kind of jam or cookies you were having. Lack of air conditioning in the beedroom! So hot! There is a big parking but as there is also a casino and horse spectacle,sometimes is difficult to park

    The location. Beautiful surroundings with the trees and horses. Size of the beedroom. Terrace to have the breakfast. Cleaning. Kind people in the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic arrange near the hotel to get to Sezana is very bed. You must drive to Divaca that you could reach the best inn in Sezana. If the road will be organized with semafor you could wait maybe five minutes and than drive on narrow road direct to Sezana!

    We get the pot full of ice from receptor. The location is very quiet and night was full of beautiful stars. So you could very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs renovation. We had superior room but it had no airconditioning. All the room facilities were kind of modest or outdated. It is ok value for money but you feel the potential of that place and then you get kind of dissapointed to have such hotel in such state on such a perfect location and neighbourhood. If it could be renovated it could easily become 5* hotel.

    The location is perfect. You can walk around and enjoy nature and horses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 2+2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With daytime temperatures between 35-40 degrees, there was absolutely no cooling for the rooms. No air conditioning and no fans. There was almost no airflow through the entire hotel. Our rooms never got below 30 degrees. The sofa bed for our daughter was virtually unusable due to ear piercing squeaks with the slightest movement and sitting at a 10 degree angle from what I would estimate around 25years of use. The staff were unable to help us with our problems and we were forced to buy our own fans just to sleep.

    The location was in peaceful surrounds, and as advertised on a horse stud

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel are very torn down. No air con. No ventilation Hot as a sauna in the room. Booked half board. Don't do that. Very poor and questionable quality. It is not worth the money. Breakfast ok. If you want to visit the stud farm: stay some where else. Fex Postojna. Visit postojna and drive 30 min to Lipica. Choose he 17,00 tour and you will see the mares coming home from the day out.

    Close to the stud farm Choose he 17,00 tour and you will see the mares coming home from the day out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1980s charm incl breakfast and the distinctive smell of cleaning soap

    Great location right at the Lipica stud farm, large clean rooms, parking right outside, 15 minutes to Skocjan caves

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was not adequately staffed for timely service, resulting in long waiting times and near 'self-service' for coffee etc.

    Very nicely renovated accomodation - except for the rear part of the building which apparently has not been done. Excellent location for visits to Lipica horse affairs, in easy walking distance from there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free Wi Fi is available only in common places, not in rooms.

    Forest around the hotel allows very good sleep. There are many possibilities for walking or biking or play the golf.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many things to list, it was not the same hotel I stayed at last September, it can only be hoped that the new management is given the chance to to turn this building back into a hotel and not a youth hostel.

    The location for the beautiful lipizzaner horses is the hotels only asset.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel itself was clean but tired and could do with a bit of tlc.

    Location was excellent if visiting the Lipica stud farm, also good for caves and military museum. As hotel guest we got a 15% discount on entry to stud farm and on entry the gave us discount vouchers for the caves and museum. Food I'm restaurant was OK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were well out of season. That made it quiet but some facilities were not open as much as you might expect.

    IT was a great base, the lovely horses and the orienteering competition we went there specifically for.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi-fi in the rooms does not work properly.

    beautiful nature, peace and quiet,Lipica Stud Farm (be sure to visit), close to the Croatia and Italy, friendly staff, warm rooms, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Opening time evenings at the restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel brill but Mrs not allowed to go into casino without id ,,,,,,,,,so we walked away evens ....:_)

    brill stay for the horses

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 2+2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom could use a renovation

    Great experience close to horses Amazing selection of breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly reception, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, peaceful,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Near Lipica Stud Farm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfeast is poor becuse of a few variants

    Quiet night because of the location of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was just above staff entrance and were some boxes are deliverd. There were some louder noises early in the morning (trolley ).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold use an update...

    Convenience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The landlord is so kind and help us to fix our car, and the apartment is so beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant menu very limited.

    excellent breakfast. the hotel suited our requirements perfectly ,mind you we probably had the best room in the hotelm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated hotel

    Location in natural area and near Lipizaner horse farm Large terrace with the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so clean. Windows need fixing.

    Horses and location are super

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Very nice place to stay, clean hotel with very kind people. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you go in the summer there is no AC...it's horrible. To hot in the room. The fridge was broken.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can watch the horses in the farm next to the hotel (in a guided tour, also in English language)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is looking old and very tired. No aircon. No balcony furniture.

    Great location, next door to the stud farm, so easy to walk. Lots of parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fost in general destul de placut.

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Lipica - Hotel Maestoso traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: