Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grad Otočec - Relais Chateaux 5 stars

Grajska cesta 2, SI - 8222 Otočec, Slovenia

#1 of 3 hotels in Otočec

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator ruins the beauty of the castle, I wish it was better camouflaged. Without it, castle would be near perfect.

    The nicest and most diverse breakfast we have ever had. Restaurant is exquisite in every term. Room was very spacious, with huge, and I mean huge TV. Everything was so classy, romantic and breath taking. Wish we would come again soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Romantic Weekend Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given the inclement weather, we couldn't go far afield, so we stayed in the hotel for most of the time. Lovely as our room was, we would have appreciated a guest lounge to sit in, even if only to give us a bit of variety or change of scene.

    The Grad Ototec is a beautiful hotel with first class decor, as you'd expect. The meals, breakfast in particular, are very good and the choice is excellent. The location and views would have been wonderful, I'm sure, but there was flooding while we were there, so we didn't get to enjoy them!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a suite and ended up with a two bedroom apartment that was spacious and very lovely. Fresh fruit was in our suite upon arrival. The restaurant was terrific, wonderful breakfast, beautifully presented. We also enjoyed the restaurant for dinner one evening and were not disappointed. Great staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could be better. My husband was carrying the luggage to the car, even though there were staff standing around, they did not offer to help at all. Also, my husband left his heart medication behind and phoned and requested them to forward it to our next relais and Chateaux ( Kendov Dorec ) place. That was a Friday, they promised to send on Monday and said we should receive it on Tuesday. We did not know what happened, but by the time we left Kendov Dorec on Thursday, the medication was still not delivered!

    The location is exquisite. Being in an actual castle and on an island is amazing. The restaurant is one of the best we had been, and we had eaten in many Michelin star restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since it is a 5 star property that has 5 star price, I am surprised that they missed turn down service for both of the rooms that we stayed in.

    The location, the food and the staff are superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambience of the hotel and peaceful location in the middle of the lake. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant with superb choices of food and excellent service. The breakfast buffet offered a lovely range of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well I do realize this is a 5 star hotel and all, but for the amount of money you spend I do feel there's not too much value for money. But I do feel like everyone should try staying for at least a day or two once in their lifetimes.

    We liked the decoration of the castle ,the castle's surroundings are very well maintained and beautiful, it's an extremely romantic place. The staff couldn't be nicer, and the breakfast (We ordered ours in our room) is some of the best tasting food I ever ate in a hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or sitting area - only lots of dining rooms and outdoor space which is weather dependent

    Loved the location on its own island. The tasting menu and a la carte were extremely good with interesting and delicious selection of local wines

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of any

    Wonderful location in a small island of Krka river, trustful staffs, and nice meals. We rather like to stay longer in hotel than exploring around the neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique property with an elegant twist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice rooms, setting and excellent service. Amazing breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The restaurant is very good ! Our dinner was all about local products and local wines perfectly executed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Unbelievably good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You are staying in the castle from the 13th century in beautiful surrounding with the top amenities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one option for dinner

    Amazing place, great service, very nice room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a wonderful place!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellente hotel. Beautiful! In castel. Beauty nature! 10 plus!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional breakfast. Truly stunning room (get room 10 if you can).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is absolutely perfect!!! The nature, the place, accommodation, food, hospitality! Excellent!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive compared to other top quality hotels in Slovenia, but still a good value for money compared to the price of other relais & chateaux in some other countries.

    wonderful setting.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the weather could have be improved.

    Atmosphere and island location superb. The service was exceptional probably due to the fact that a cancellation meant we had the hotel to ourselves overnight. The taster menu was fantastic as was the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Like other reviews; the wifi is limited to common areas. Not necessarily a bad thing; other than to show my family and friends how awesome this place is, I didn't really need it. Unfortunately for us the main dining room was full with a large external group. We were served in the smaller bar to the side of the main entrance. Was still nice, but as we were the only ones in there, lacked atmosphere and no background music. Was also a little cold. A first world problem for sure!

    The setting and facilities are outstanding. A wow around every corner and through every door. The staff at every friendly and enjoy a good laugh.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    From the moment we arrived at the Grad Otocec, we felt relaxed and welcomed. It's setting on an island in the river and its stunning English-style gardens made us want to stay longer. The staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Our family suite was spacious and beautifully decorated with an enormous bathroom and lovely toiletries. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, as was our breakfast the next day. We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi wasn't great in the room but understandable due to the thickness of the castle walls!

    Everything... The junior suite was beautiful with a huge bathroom, grounds were peaceful and quiet, dinner in the restaurant was amazing and staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi doesn't work in the rooms (castle walls - but you could easily fix this with wifi extenders in such a luxury property). Semi-hidden charges for children staying in the room an annoying surprise at checkout given that the rooms are already quite expensive

    Fabulous suite - an amazing amount of space - in a beautiful property.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, cozy room, superb staff, high quality cousine, nice service. We spent one night there with special romantic weekend in a castle package. Simply perfect!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The castle and island were very beautiful The staff were exceedingly helpful and attentive The double room was very beautiful, clean and extremely comfortable We would highly recommend a stay in the castle, a once in a lifetime chance for us The 8 course degustation dinner is a must, an outstanding experience

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi could be better in rooms. It's good only in public areas.

    Overall setting, on a secluded tiny river island, in an old castle - simply priceless!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is so delicious, and the accommodation room is so comfortable. Moreover, the river review is unbeatable .Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food & accomodations fabulous!

    A very special place ... If you have the chance go!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and service were top notch

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the unique location of the hotel and its history. the attentiveness of the staff, the tranquility of the environment and the golf course nearby.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Received a room upgrade. Professional staff. Room very clean.)"

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dinner Expensive!!

    Nice surroundings. Food at breakfast and Dinner was Excellent

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we were only able to stay 1 night!

    Everything-room, staff, breakfast, restaurant, setting!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing !!!

    Fabulous location. Wonderful staff and food

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    More than a wonderful experience, a beautiful castle and gardens, elegant restaurant, and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ------ nothing

    Everything!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent staff and they even put in a wifi boosting station as our suite had poor internet connection

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staffs, beautiful surroundings, good food.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The castle, it's setting, and staff make the castle a most pleasant stay. Restaurant and dining experience are second to none.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it's a castle superb interior design gentle staff charming surrounds

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I can not think of anything.

    Fabulous service and atmosphere, exceptional accommodation and food. With one word- fantastic.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: