Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Simon Hotel Resort 4 stars

Morova 6/A, 6310 Izola, Slovenia

#5 of 7 hotels in Izola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 668 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Family resort in a greta location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went with my 16 month daughter and we feel safe with her, beach is very close, greta for kids, there is a playground, but rather for bigger kids, restaurant, grill bar are nice. Great Resort at Izola...fully recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Big and clean room, nice view from a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some kind of nice during all night, so sleeping with an open balcony door was a chalenge.

    Big and clean room, nice view from a balcony. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.8
    THIS IS NOT A 4* HOTEL!!!! Totally not worth it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is advertised as a 4* hotel, although it is far from that! It looks nice in the pictures but in reality it is rather run-down and would greatly enjoy a full renovation/modernization. - Several times there was no electricity in the main building. - The air-conditioning is so loud that it is really disturbing while in the room - although since it was unbearably hot, it was a dilemma whether to really sweat in the room or be disturbed by the loudness of the AC (also, there was no AC in the elevator and the common places except the reception area) - The furniture and the drapes were also great choice 20 years ago, but time passed on so it would need to be changed. - The bed was not convenient, moreover, it was crackling so loudly that we were literally afraid it was going to crash. - I have not seen at any other place/hotel yet that they CHARGE you for using the fridge for your own purpose and not for the items of the minibar (5 EUR/day) - we found it really mean and narrow-minded, not guest-focused at all. - The elevator is really small, 2 people with luggage can just fit in. - You need to have a small walk to another building that calls itself a RESTAURANT, but in fact IT IS A CANTEEN- please name it properly! - The staff is not particularly kind and friendly. - The hotel boosts itself to have a wellness center, but they forget to communicate that the SWIMMING POOL IS CLOSED in the summertime - which would have been okay if they had said it before!!! The beach is really crowded on the other hand and I think in a 4* hotel it would be expected that you do not have to pay for the sun chair and the beach umbrella - but here you have to!!! (I guess they do not charge you for using the chairs on the shore when you are using the swimming pool... why charge the guests for sun chairs then?) For them wellness means a sauna, where you need to pay... I really feel misdriven by the advertisement - booking.

    The quality of the food and the location of the property are okay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.3
    only beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfortunately we check in at 8:00pm. nevertheless very terrible smell(the smell of sewer) on the 1floor room. The facilities were too dilapidated and needed remodeling. I'm sure they'll check in early, but that might give us a better room.

    only beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Short visit to the sea with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not the best. It was not bad but expected better quality from a **** resort. You get better breakfast in a Zimmer Frei in Austria.

    The rooms are clean and nice, the beach was OK. It's great with children, because you just have to walk inside the property. You also can park your car inside. There are nice restaurants around if you would like to go out and have something to eat. You can find shade at the beach, if you are with kids it's nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Close to the beach, nice surrounding, flowers, trees, rich...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be useful if there was a small shelf in the shower cabin to put on the shower gel, shampoo... You can not choose table at the breakfast (reserved places for the guests with half board), and we usually got the worst places. The restaurant is ~100m walking distance from the hotel, in nice weather it is no problem, but in rainy weather it could be inconvenient.

    Close to the beach, nice surrounding, flowers, trees, rich breakfast, large balcony, kind staff, nice (long) walk to the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxation in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Haliaetum or Mirta?? when I booked it, I could't pick it myself.

    Very nice location. Large, excellent room, clean and cosy. Food was good. Parking space was available for free at the time of my staying.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Modern, clean, comfortable, good food, warm salt pool, near town.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing annoying.

    2017 Okt., 9 nights. Good food. buffe all meals. Fresh bed linen, changed regularly. Shower, wii-fi, working well. Many balconies view over the Trieste bay and the Alps. Located in a green area. Clean everywhere. Large, warm, salt water swimming pool no extra charge. Proffesional, kind and helpful staff. Quiet, about 1 km from town centre, a local busstop and a restaurant- pub nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Not any programs in evening.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not any programs in evening. Not for children. Last year every evening was something for kids. Parking card not working for scaner, but all next was perfect. I like it there so hope is not last my holiday there :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    You should probably stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC not efficient enough to keep room cool. 10 min walk to the public beach. Toboggans on pictures are 20 euro per day. Beach extremely crowded. So, place isn't bad but there must be better options in a 50 kilometer radius. Wouldn't stay here again.

    Breakfast great. Area around hotel like a nice park, Well kept.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Food was excellent and accomodation in Mirta was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is hotels complex of 6 buildings. First 2 days we have been in older building in room on I floor, viewing in parking place. It was fare of restorante and from beaches (for us) It was bad experience. After that we have been in building named Mirta. It was excellent and our review is for Mirta

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    If you want to talk to your kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel is good, close to the sea. The beach is 300 metres from reception, and only 200 metres from the closest hotel building. Security is high level, everything opens with room key cards. Breakfast is very good. Rooms are very big, air condition is well, wifi is not the best, but at last children started to talk to us and forget Facebook for some days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    worth it for my children's,good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach wasn't clean as I would like and was very crouded

    Staff very friendly,very good location for family with children's under 10 years old.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Nothing to mind
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Durty room. The balkony table was much clear than in the room. Air conditioneer was so noisy in the room. 20 years old. Not in the hot common corridor. Baech was 300 meters from the hotel.

    Breakfust was good. But you have to walk to it 10 minutes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Mirta hotel building is very good, beach is small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We didn't like beach at all. The 3 first days of our stay it was really dirty with old dead and black seaweed after one stormy day before us. It seems no one cared. But it was dirty, bad and smelly. Not a place you would like your kid to bath and swim. On the other days it just got a bit washed out by itself, but still there. The beach is small and when guests from Austria arrives in big numbers on weekends - there's no place at all. They all use the same ~100m "beach". The rest of the coast is rocky or with stone edge. But in 9km distance you can find another city/town "Portorose" beach with sand, over the hill.

    We liked Mirta hotel building, it turns out recently re-decorated, clean and modern. That's why the hotel has so different comments, I guess due different buildings. The Location is great. There's a good large supermarket near by - "SPAR" in 5-10 min of walk. Food is good enough, not a 5 star restaurant of course. There're different types of dishes depending on the day. First days it goes well with enough alcohol, the next day you find it a bit precooked or over-warmed in the buffet. Enough fruits and cakes. We found it as a good value of money, since you can find many attractions such as caves, old town center near by in ~20-30 min of walk. We also visited an old train museum in Triest, Italy ~30min by car. On the see bottom near the beach, there're many small crabs, easy to find if you like snorkeling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location & nice breakfast by the seashore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the main building (hotel, 4 stars) Rooms there are rather hot - we've been there in the same building also inAugust and had issues with air conditioning. In June it was ok. Bathroom has barely any ventilation. Parking is no longer locked & private (everybody can enter) which is a minus.

    Great location, no issues with parking. Rather big breakfast, quite diverse dishes with a lovely sea view from the restaurant. Helpful staff. We had rooms facing the sea so we got a nice cool breeze (however due to the park you can barely see the sea).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    good but with some spots
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant building needs a renovation, the restaurant staff some training - unfortunately it feels a bit too much of a canteen for a 4 stars hotel, and that's a pity because the view is fantastic

    friendly staff, good breakfast, good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Don't be surprised that San Simon Hotel Resort are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were dissatisfied with the quality of cleaning service. The cleaning lady left her duster on the table in the room and "forgot" to refill toiletry. Hope it was rather exception than a rule.

    Don't be surprised that San Simon Hotel Resort are actually 6 separate hotel buildings standing near each other. Ours was called Mirta, a room was comfortable, spacious enough and with new furniture. Hotel restaurant is also situated in a detached building several dozens or couple of hundreds meters away, so in any case for breakfast or dinner one need to go outside and walk for a while (not a problem, when the weather is nice). Breakfast was fair. The whole complex is located in a very calm and attractive area with park and walks, in a proximity to the sea. There were enough free parking places. Izola is a nice, cozy and pleasant town, with good seafood restaurants. Great place to escape from everyday routine and to relax.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable base for sailing
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a bit too hard and the breakfast was disappointing (greasy omelette, poor selection of cheese, cold cuts, unripe tomatoes). Pancakes and muesli were OK. A lot of sailors stay here off-season, it would be great to have a washing machine to be able to rinse and tumble the neoprene clothes. A drying rack and some hangers would be also a nice addition.

    Staff was excellent, they would just do really everything to help you, we asked for a room change with a sea view, we got a fantastic, more spacious room with a great balcony and amazing view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    exselent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    exselent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Perfect week off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms the big and clean, hotel's beach is very nice and the animation team on the beach is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    A day for me and my wife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and size of the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet paper in the room. Had to ASK for ot.

    The little bottle of wine for my birthday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Everything was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property wasn't on sea shore as described.

    Everything was OK. Good accommodation and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    that we had to pay extra for late chek out though the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we had to pay extra for late chek out though the room was not booked later on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great for weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service at the spa&wellness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    good breakfast, walking distance to shops, beach, old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    good breakfast, walking distance to shops, beach, old town etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.0
    If you don't want to be abused by ugly old waiter. Don't choose this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    If you don't want to be abused by ugly old waiter. Don't choose this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    nice place for family with small children
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is more than enough, but unfortunately fruit juices were diluted ones.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    4 stars? Nope!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrogant staff! This wasn't a 4**** room - old furniture and dirty drapes - poorly!

    breakfast and balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    all together it was a nice and pleasent place to stay.very good rooms.staf was helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dining room was slightly remote from the rooms,and parking was'nt evalable all the time.

    very comfortable rooms,close to the sea,nice suroundings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach/sea cleanliness.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.5
    Very bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every rooms are 2 bad no have big bad if you go to with family or darling you must know 2 bad in the room

    Very bad really very bad

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    In one word - great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In one word - great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place for family with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool was crowdy in afternoon hours.

    Comfortable and clean rooms. Very nice balcony. I didn't try SPA centre so I can not make comments on it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A rather small inner pool facility, although sufficient when not overcrowded.

    Excellent food. Spacious room. Opportunity for scenic walks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.7
    Excellent location for a great walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed was horrible.the furniture is very old and there is a bad smell in the entire hotel.

    Excellent location for a great walk.Beautiful garden and sea view.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    Proximity to sea is good , perhaps this is a nicer hotel...
    • Family with young children

    It's unclear where reception is , car par poorly lit and reception poorly signposted in the dark from car park , many hotels in a resort but it should be clearer which is check in / main hotel , also this should be clearer on the booking info , also when I went to check out I though the person behind the desk asked for 99 euro , I was aware the booking was 89 when I questioned him he shouted at me , not very nice !! Don't think this is worthy of 4 stars decor very old in room we stayed in.

    Proximity to sea is good , perhaps this is a nicer hotel with sunshine !

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    Good location, nice resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The dinner could be better.

    Good location, nice resort.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.3
    For a breakfast we must go to the restaurant 300 meters...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    For a breakfast we must go to the restaurant 300 meters from the main building of hotel Haliaetum

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Different buildings mean a little fuss we don't need.

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air con in the room didn't keep the room cool enough during the night. Also the indoor pool closed between 12-4pm.

    Breakfast and the staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    Sea food restaurants in town were very good, within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sea food restaurants in town were very good, within walking distance of hotel. Only had breakfast in hotel. Good bus service to surrounding area.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.3
    A long walk to get breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A long walk to get breakfast. Not good if rainy weather

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.1
    Distance to the breakfast restaurant (outside)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Distance to the breakfast restaurant (outside)

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: