Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vitranc 3 stars

Podkoren 94, 4280 Kranjska Gora, Slovenia

#12 of 17 hotels in Kranjska Gora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect for me.

    Excellent old hotel full of character in very small country village. Good welcome plenty parking Hotel easily found. Restaurant with good choice of well prepared food . If you are seeking quiet,reasonable cost and honest accomadation this is the place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fault of the hotel, but all the early-morning bikers and walkers gathered noisily outside the hotel at about 6am - not a good start to my day!

    A pleasant hotel. What wasn't obvious on booking is that the hotel is about 3 Km from Kranjska Gora. Although the hotel has a restauraunt we wanted to try another restaurant in Kranjska Gora and this meant driving there. Don't know how the hotel restaurant would have been, but their breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the price I do not have any complains, only the hotel is not situated right in Kranjska gora,but on the way to Wurtzenpass.No problem if you have a car.

    The hotel has a romantic look specially in winter and the building itself is old and looks as if from a fairy tale.We were there in late March,but it was snowing and everything looked nice and quiet.The room was nice,overlooking the small square,heating ok.Bathroom could be a little bit more modern,but it was ok.We were satisfied with the service and nice breakfast.Will go there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is fantastic, food is outstanding for the price. The karma is gooood.

    The breakfast is standard... Could be cleaner and the beds should be better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Attic (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for us since some liked alpine skiing others preffered nordic and hotel was located so everythig was accessible directly from the hotel by foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that ought to house three people was actually a double bed + sofa. I'd expect at least the number of sheets and towels to reflect that it houses three people, but I had to manage most of the amenities myself.

    Nice and clean old hotel, the staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great, WiFi reception excellent and it was overall a nice experience. They had a decent and heated storage for ski equipment as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matresses are really uncomfortable and should have been replaced like 5 years ago. The blankets are made of non-breathable materials and it got quite hot after a couple of minutes under them. The wifi was unreliable. But overall it was a pleasant stay.

    The hotel is nicely decorated and the wooden interior really feels cosy. The breakfast was decent and the staff nice and helpful. The room was nice and big with a lovely view of the main square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 3rd floor is not for tall people - there is not space in the bathroom at all due to bevelled ceiling.

    Nice accomodation, well equipped kitchen and very clean (just windows were quite dirty). Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have paid by Master card from my account in EUR. The receptionist WITHOUT ASKING ME converted the bill in EUR into CZK. Consecvently Master card provider converted amount in CZK back into EUR. So I've lost without any reason 7%. It has never happened me before if paying in eurozone. Unbelievable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    good as it is.

    This place is in a nice but very small village between Kranjska Gora and the Italian border. We went there in summer for a short vacation, we meant to visit places around (e.g., the lakes in Fusine, Italy). The position was just perfect for that. Also, this old wooden building is wonderful. Dinner (not included in our offer) and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The village's annual summer festival took place directly in front of the hotel with live music and lots and lots of people from the early afternoon until 7am! As a consequence, we were not only unable to park in the neighboarhood of the accommodation but also hardly got an sleep after a very long and exhausting hiking trip in the mountains. The information about this event was sent out the day of the event itself, which did not give us the chance to reconsider our stay (and cancel if needed).

    the hotel has a lot of charm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very last minute booking and it was a lovely surprise. Few minutes drive from Kranjska Gora, Vitranc is a lovely hotel with annex building of "apartments" all decorated in the same rustic style and with restaurant that also has some very local and typical dishes. Staff is lovely, cleanliness is exceptional, really great stopover.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I could fault was the mattress on the bed had seen better days and needs to be replaced.

    Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. We found it a little hard to find as it is off the main rd. The room was spacious and clean and had a small balcony which we could sit and have a drink. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel restaurant both nights and really enjoyed the food and the service. The breakfast had plenty of variety. Beautiful area of Slovenia.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only thing missing for me would be a coffeemachine with real beans rather than a nescafe machine but there was also brewed pot of coffee. so close to italy, a great coffee in the morning is a must for me, that would have made it perfect.

    country hotel in a quaint old building, very cute. the restaurant is excellent. breakfast fully OK for our needs, with eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, breads, fruit, cereal, yoghurts, juices, and lots more stuff. the room was fully ok, this is a country hotel so there was no air condition. we just left the window open, as this is in the mountains the air is so fresh and cools the room. the employees are supernice and helpful. we parked our motorbikes directly outside the hotel, more than enough parking spaces. we took a quadruple room for 2 people, which was a bit more expensive, but is wasnt that big, so this is why I mark value for money with 4 stars, overall i can totally recommend this hotel as a base for traveling the great country of slovenia, and the best thing was coming back from a day riding and sit outside for a drink, the sun shines directly on the porch until it sets behind the spectacular mountains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good, nothing to complain about.

    Small village with only a few houses next to the road and beautiful mountains, only a short drive from Kranjska Gora and about 45 minutes drive from Bled lake, Bohinj lake and Vogel. Absolutely stunning landscape, reminded me of New Zealand to be honest. Staff was welcoming, breakfast was good and so was the food in evening (Slovenien menu), cozy bedrooms -- great stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside is THE SAUNA DOESN'T WORK. If sauna is one of the reasons why you want the book this place (like it was for us), you'll be disappointed. Sadly the hotel doesn't in any way compensate for this shortcoming (would expect a discount or another form of apology).

    Very nice, charming hotel with lots of character, like in a movie. The beds are very comfortable, the views from the room spectacular. Breakfast is good and for us there was plenty of choice. Also the location is great, close to Podkoren chairlift and Zelenci.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is ok, but could be improved with more fresh food and a broader choice. Be aware that there is no elevator, although the nice guy at the reception will gladly help with the luggage.

    A charming old style Alpine hotel, it recalls the movies of the 1940s and 1950s and features all the typical Tyrolese décor: wood everywhere, neat details, cozy, warm rooms with checkered linens and curtains, small but with a nice view on the Ski Championship slope, green wood blinds with a heart carved inside. The restaurant is also very good, and it offers typical local cuisine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the main road we didn't see any sign to the hotel and there is no minibar in the room.

    In the winter evening looks really nice. It is clean, old fashion design and architecture. Rooms are small, but nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Attic (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were accommodated in an attic and it was quite uncomfortable. Too hot, not spacious in our bedroom and loud.

    Perfect place, nice personal, cleanness, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait a bit for someone to show up at reception desk.

    Great ambient, "the hotel" of Kranjska gora, fantastic food, everything local and old alpine style.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man working at the front desk was not very friendly. Barely greeted us each day. Was more interested in looking at the computer or talking with a female friend who he had there.

    The meal in the hotel was excellent. Very friendly waitress.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The middle leg of the bed was broken. The bedframe was also broken on the left side. The mattress was extremely soft and used (U shaped).

    Easy to find, clean, free parking and wifi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Facilities somewhat basic but still OK stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    no dinner after 20.00 we missed the vegetables from the breakfast

    comfortable room, good price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable & really small beds.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy athmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Attic (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be more varied.

    The apartment was large and comfortable. The decor was characteristic of the region and very cozy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was OK, hotel is situated on centre of village, we had no problem with parking and good view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Attic (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was not clean, no comment about towels,...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect accommodation!Thanks a lot for everything! Hvala na svemu i vidimo se ponovno! :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner very bad and much expensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice vintage furniture, excellent food, helpful staff, great location for day trips

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very slow dinner service, they were very apologetic as they were short on staff

    Very cosy hotel and pretty village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, especially in variety

    Extremely confortabled bed, cosy room and atmosphere, wonderful surroundings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    very interesting ambience of the hotel (interrior and exterior)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant delta bit understaffed, but overall was a very pleasant experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A real double bed would be nice

    Beautiful location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel and nature, friendly staff, excellent cuisine. We will go back for more days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy rooms, nice and helpful staff. The hotel is close to the bike road D2, everything is given for a beautiful holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can't smoke in café bar in Slovenia :(

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful wi-fi and bad cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good lokation in travel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very loud German tourists

    location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with beautiful views on Alpes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't book room No. 19. ;)

    Nice hotel, excellent service and restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet connection . On and off Cleanliness is ok .

    Easy to go around the mountain Free parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little dull.

    Situated in quiet village. Very characterfull hotel. Lovely room and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    n/a

    Gorgeous village, great scenery, helpful and friendly staff, lovely food - excellent trout.If you want to slow down and relax in a friendly hotel in mountain scenery this is a great place. I had not been here 5 minutes before I decided to return.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Missing few parking lots more in front of the Hotel. You will always find parking lot, maybe not every time in front of the Hotel.

    Close to ski slopes - Vitranc, walking distance. Staff is professional, polite and cultural. During stay in Hotel I had problems with health and staff offered medicine to help.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wished there was a kettle for hot water/tea/coffee and the towels were tough( wish they were softer)

    The decoration was cosy and made us felt at home at once. Alja went out of her way to help us look for info.The beds were so soft.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the apartment as a last-minute solution for an overnight stay on our way home. What an excellent surprise! The apartment was in the historical building right across from the hotel. It was fully equipped and very nicely furnished - giving you the instant home-away-from-home feel. I imagine in winter it has the ideal location - close to the numerous ski slopes. Bonus: On our only night there, there was a firefighter village dance (Gasilska veselica) which anyone could attend. Live music, local food, friendly locals - we will definitely come back!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Almost nothing. The parking is small but the staff let us park on the roadside, just beside the entrance to the hotel, so it was ok

    Perfect localisation in cosy suburb of Kranjska Gora, very quiet surrounding. We stayed in the apartment in the building localized next to the main hotel (20 meters) -it's really old, fine renovated, the atmopshere of the common area like in the mountain shelter 50 years ago. Good restaurant in the hotel. Good place for a couple of nights

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The distance of approx. 3 km to the nearest "centre" and shops at Kranjska Gora may be dissuasive for some travellers (there is just a single restaurant in the village, no shop or so). The location (and the region) is popular with motobikers which may be disturbing at times.

    Beautiful location in an old vilage, verys pretty, stylish and relatively quiet (unless motobikers arrive). Spacious stylish apartment.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Couple

    Could be better on the breakfast front: from the hall to the breakfast table, which could offer local jams, breads, etc.

    Very cosy rooms, kind staff, warm atmosphere, good price.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just a tip though is to be careful where you park because we got a ticket just in front of the hotel.

    The apartment was very comfortable and made me wish to stay in my cozy bed all day. Also, the interior is amazing and fits into the scenery very nicely! The location is great, you can walk to go to ski, Kranjska Gora is 2min by car or if you wish to walk the path is very nice and it would take you 25min by foot to reach Kranjska Gora. The staff was also lovely and we appreciated the sauna that was just steps away. Overall, me and my friends enjoyed our stay there and will gladly return!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - Very bad accomodation. Old , nothing works. As said guest 404.Discrepancy between online presentation (comfortable room with a view of Vitranc) and accommodation (small bedroom under the roof, with thin walls with noise from the neighbors and steep stairs without light working, dangerous for children, despite the new light bulb). A microwave didn't work. After complaint, we got an answer that we reserved through booking and we have to pay what we reserved ! Wi-fi didn't work in the apartment and the heating sounded like an air plane. - BAD LOCATION. 1km to skiing area (black skiing line only for the best skiers), while in Kranjska gora everything is below the ski area

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Oil smell (probably from the central heating boiler) all over the building

    Good location, friendly staff, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    low wifi signal on the second floor

    very good friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet connection very poor, small space for breakfast, expensive

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    towels are really terrible crunchy and hard!!!

    kind staff warm greetings great position

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice "alpine" style hotel as all village

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything - adorable chalet(ish) property near the mountains and close to Kranjska Gora.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi not working on the top floor. Water tap in the bathroom is not bolted to the wall... Bidet ... just HOT water. Smell of sewage...

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no hot water before midnight. WiFi was not working at all.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quite apartment

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everyday the same breakfast. Still the same things. Not a lot of vegetable. Quite noisy if you are in apartment.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    So warm and comfortable interior

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stuff and hotel:-))

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was really fantastic time we had there. Everything is perfect. Owners and people who work there are kind and open.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location, friendly staff, good food, and good value

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly staff clean room

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: