Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska 3 stars

Bastova 4, 811 03 Bratislava, Slovakia

#24 of 108 hotels in Bratislava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1127 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    The location was ideal just at the edge of the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was spotless clean, comfortable rooms and when we asked for extra pillows we recievwd them. But the room wifi did not work and there are some broken kickboards in our room. Also the door to the room is damaged as if someone tried to previously force it open. The property could do with a sign on the street pointing to it because it's up a small side street and hard to see.

    The location was ideal just at the edge of the old city. You also needs to use your room key to enter the building at night and use the elevator.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing that bothered us was the broken bathroom door, that looked like broken for a while.

    We were three. The room was spacious and clean. Staff was helpful. Good breakfast & wifi.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    We loved the location. This was our second stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 22 had a sewer smell from the shower opening in the floor. The room had been sprayed heavily to mask that smell. We open the windows and turned on exhaust fan. It wasn’t until we took a shower in the night that the smell went away.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    OK but worried about not having anybody from the pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This premise is not manned after 10:00 pm. We were told in the case of lockout or emergency we need to walk to their sister hotel which was about 0.7 km away! Also, hotel was located on a pedestrian area. You cannot drive to the hotel and you need to drag your luggage for 0.5 km across cobble stoned road to get to this hotel. No good for aged travellers like us!

    Location: close to city centre

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location but a little disappointing as the hotel didn't have any facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, however there was a strip club right next to the hotel so at the weekend it was really noisy. The staff were lovely but I wouldn't recommend adding the breakfast on to your stay as its not worth the money.

    The location was perfect, however there was a strip club right next to the hotel so at the weekend it was really noisy. The staff were lovely but I wouldn't recommend adding the breakfast on to your stay as its not worth the money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    A few easy fixes and it would have been perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room did not get cleaned the whole time we were there. The first day was our fault because we left late (Cleaners leave at 2pm) but the other two days we made sure to leave early and our room was not cleaned. The bathroom door was rubbish, it wouldnt slide properly and was almost see through. The shower had a mind of its own. No 24 hour reception. No hot water when we arrived at 2am so could not have a wash after travelling all day! Pillows were very awkward and uncomfy.

    Location was perfect, right in the centre of the old town... beware you are right opposite a strip club though. Nice building, nice room layout with big rooms. Staff were blunt but kind. Bed was comfy apart from the pillows.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    A friendly spot in the heart of old Bratislava.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some loud noise travelling from the apartments on the opposite side of the alley to us. Not our hotel's fault but worth considering if you are a poor sleeper.

    Great central location - a minute from Michael's Gate in a very pretty pedestrian street. Staff were friendly and helpful with all our needs - tourist and travelling/practical. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning in our room was not working properly but this did not bother us as the temperature at night was comfortable. It is true that just opposite the hotel there is a strip club. We stayed there 3 nights and there was some noise coming from the people in the club the first night only. The hotel provides ear plugs for people who are bothered from the noise.

    The room had everything that we needed and was very comfortable. The breakfast had a good variety. Its location is the best in Bratislava, right in the middle of everything there was no need to use public transport, all the places of interest were within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of drains in the room when we came back in the evening. Road outside is quiet, so opening the windows dissipated it. There's no evening or early morning reception - normally I wouldn't care, but there was no one on the spot to complain to.

    Great location for the centre of Bratislava. Breakfast was good - plenty of choice. Comfortable enough room. Wifi was OK. Would stay there again - just not in room 21.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Booked hotel as I wanted parking, only to find afterwards...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked hotel as I wanted parking, only to find afterwards that the hotel didnt have parking on site as its in a pedestrian area. Parking was 300m away and cost 19 euros a night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Lovely small hotel next to St. Michaels gate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the nicest room we had in 5 nights. It was smallish but clean, a great shower, and comfortable beds. The breakfast was wonderful and had many selections and excellent coffee.. Everything was spotless and looked new. Very nice location and quiet on a Sun night. Highly recommend and I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Location,staff were helpful,pleasant and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one minor fault no English Channels on the tv.

    Location,staff were helpful,pleasant and polite. Breakfast was good included in the reasonable price location was brilliant steps away from St. Michael’s tower lovely hotel Thank you Ela and Maya.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable Hotel in the Atmospheric Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only two minor things. There was a faint smell from the bathroom drains. Also, parking is a bit difficult to find. Be sure you have an accurate map. Once you park, you will need to walk a few blocks while rolling your luggage over cobblestones.

    The rooms were cozy, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel has a lift to help with luggage. Breakfast was very good, with cappuccino and all the usual items found at most small hotels in Europe. The hotel, itself, is in a very atmospheric location, wonderful for exploring the old town with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    Go and spent your money elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an intense smell of sewage as soon as we have entered and it went away after a while after opening the window and turning on the AC. Hotel has a really old dirty looking carpet everywhere. In the morning we have been woken up by the smell of fried eggs and sausages coming from the breakfast room. Guess the reason was that we have been on the 1st floor only. The hotel is in overall average with a good location but it's definitely not worth the money!!! Go and spent them elsewhere.

    Great location if you wanna stay really central and walk around the old town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    It was close to major tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning did not work. I was not advised of this upon checkin. I had to ask about how it works and then the woman at the front desk said it is broken and won't be fixed for 2 weeks, that's why there is a fan in the room. I tried to position the fan in front of the window but the cord was not long enough. There was no electrical outlet near the window. There is a nightclub across the alley from the hotel. Our room looked out onto this alley and could hear people until 1am.

    It was close to major tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Expectations are disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was missing, just a very small fan. In front of the hotel entry, there is a night club.

    The hotel is located in the downtown, nearest the most important touristic points and the bus station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money and an ideal base to explore the city - unless you're lugging a heavy suitcase
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was served only from 7:30 till 9:30 - a very small window - and the buffet was the same every day, although there was enough selection to vary it throughout the week. I wasn't too thrilled when I found out the hotel was right opposite a strip club, but in the end, there was absolutely no disturbance. A much worse aspect of the location was the distance from taxis, as the hotel is situated in the middle of a pedestrian zone - although it's less than 5 min from the main road, the last 20 metres that were paved with some very uneven cobblestones were a nightmare to drag my suitcase over. This is only a problem for someone who has heavy luggage though. The AC wasn't working (or I didn't know how to operate it and there were no instructions and no one to ask at night). The room service didn't replenish the soap after it ran out.

    The location is right in the middle of the historic centre of the city with plenty of restaurants and bars around, but tucked away in a quiet side street, away from all the pedestrian traffic. The main shopping street and public transport are within a walking distance. The staff were fantastic - always polite and helpful. The bathroom was great, with a spacious and totally leak-proof shower cubicle. The toiletries were lovely - this was one of the few times I didn't feel the need to buy my own shower gel in a hotel. The breakfast was fresh and served in a room with a nice garden view. There was enough storage space for all my stuff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the location. Hard to get to the hotel with wheely suitcase though. Wasn't impressed with the breakfast although didn't have to leave with empty stomach. Only stayed for one night, room was nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Efficient and friendly staff both at checkin, checkout and buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited space to open suitcases or store suitcases if you emptied their contents into the closets.

    Unlike most hotel rooms in this price category the size of the bathroom was a real treat. All toiletries were provided. The location was terrific as the old town centre is on your doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay in Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was great! Very well furnished and clean. The hotel was in a great location, right by the Saint Michael's gate and the city's center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable stay on the edge of the tourist area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're cyclists - no bike storage...but they did allow bikes to be left in an enclosed courtyard at the rear of the building. Note that there are two Aplend City hotels. We went to the other one first and were then redirected.

    Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. Recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Great location, cosy courtyard where we ate breakfast in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing against it in particular, but be aware that there is a strip club located pretty close to the hotel entrance.

    Great location, cosy courtyard where we ate breakfast in the morning sun! The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    The location of this hotel cannot be beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will say that although the hotel was very clean our bathroom did have a urine smell. We kept the door to the bathroom shut for this reason and it’s window open. I’m not sure why because it was very clean.

    The location of this hotel cannot be beat. It sits on a historical street in the old town that is picturesque for photographers and travellers. The hotel is modern, updated, clean, and just a couple bus stops from the main train station. It is walking distance to a modern shopping mall and river that has many restaurants and bars. The sights of Bratislava are all within walking distance of this hotel. The breakfast was well appreciated with a simple offering continental style. You could eat in the dining room or out in the sunny garden. I would note that the beds are on the very firm side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Don’t catch a taxi from the train station !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon didn’t work and on 30* days it was a bit too warm for me to sleep, however Maya on reception sourced a fan and that made it a little better. DO NOT PAY MORE THAN 5€ TO GET A TAXI FROM THE TRAIN STATION !! 2 taxis said 70€ and 15€ to take you 1.6klm. We called hotel and Maya instructed us to catch BUS 93 for 3 stops 1.70€ then just head for Saint Michaels gate.

    It was just to the right of Saint Michaels Gate. Very clean and breakfast was great. Comfy bed and a big bathroom Room 11 faced the street and I believe a courtyard view would be much quieter. Maya on reception was very helpful. Only use Easy Taxi 5€ they are white and charge an honest fee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room and bathroom were clean, i found a piece of glass on the floor. Also the air conditioner didn't really work.

    All personnel was really friendly and helpful. The location is great too, it's right in the old town, also close to restaurants. We stayed in the twin room on the top floor, it is quite small but cozy and we felt comfortable in it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A lovely little hotel in a beautiful city. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Why do all european hotels give you a doona [quilt] in the middle of summer rather than sheets?

    A modern small hotel within the walls of an old building on a tiny street just within the old city walls. It has it's own garden at the back to add a touch of greenery, a pleasant escape after walking around all day. Breakfast was good but not an extensive menu.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Best location in Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The A/C unit was not very strong and the room was hot (3rd floor single room). The bathroom door was a slide door and it didn't close completely.

    The room was clean and confortable. Location was excellent, in city centre, next to St. Michael's Gate. Supermarkets just around the corner (the room has a huge fridge) and lots of restaurants and bars. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Located on the best street in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a night club a few doors down and people walking by were noisy till 3am. The rest of the street is very quiet but one night the noise made sleeping difficult. There is no AC in the apartment so windows had to be left open.

    We got upgraded to the apartment next door which was wonderful. So I didn't see the regular rooms but if they are anything like the quality of the apartment they are great. The location is fabulous, two steps from the St Michale's gate entrance to the city. The breakfast area - inside and outside seating - was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a very lovely and relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a bit difficult to sleep on since the mattress kept moving apart. The stairs in the bathroom can be quite dangerous when wet from the shower.

    The room and the bathroom are very spacious and clean. The location within the town is also really convenient and easy to locate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Ideal base for exploring Bratislava old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The early morning noise is a price you expect to pay for such a city centre location.

    Excellent location in old city, but close to public transport. Helpful staff. Small and welcoming hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable apartment for the rest. There are all that you need in the room.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited this hotel some times. Now we stayed here 5 nights and it was not good. Nobody washed the shell in the bathroom at all. Every night were very noisy at the street and we didn't sleep well.

    Very comfortable room and bed. The staff were friendly as usual. Very good breakfast we could see every morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Cream location in Old Town, 5 mins from Most SNP station, stylish decor and comfortable stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi sometimes is a tad slow, receptionist Majka could do a little more to attend guests and answer questions properly, the hotel wasn't well aware of the prior email exchanges about our preferences and arrangements. They should know this in the Reception and confirm the same when the guest arrives. Overall, a wonderful stay. Highly recommended!!

    Very Central location in the heart of Old Town, Very warm and helpful receptionist Simi, comfortable bed and all essentials/toiletries in the room/washroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Aplend city hotel - Michalská
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking place was too far from hotel. You have to pay 19€ for parking place what is important to know. Wi-Fi was not working good. Air conditioner was working great but I prefer opened windows what was not possible in this room.

    Great location right next to Michalska brana. If you like a night life then this place is perfect for you. Everything was close - bars, clubs, restaurants. Small cozy room with comfortable beds. The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Bratislava is a pretty place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disturbance from the strip club opposite kept us awake most of the night.

    The location of hotel close to St Michaels Gate was excellent however the noise and disturbance of the strip club opposite ruined an otherwise pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    I anticipated an excellent stay and my expectations were met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Well I would have like brewed American coffee at breakfast. You asked me to quibble.

    I anticipated an excellent stay and my expectations were met.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great location, nice and professional staff, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the location. Close to everything, but not in the noise zone. My room was peaceful and I slept great. The breakfast was excellent - good variety and eating outside in the garden is always a nice way to start the day. I also appreciated the details they provided about where to park and how to find the hotel. Made it easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The location, it’s very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon didn’t cool our room very well so we were hot and stuffy at night (we told reception but they didn’t do anything about it) and the beds are very hard.

    The location, it’s very central. And a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, staff really friendly, good English and really helful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast only ok. No restaurant on site - were able to get 20% off at sister restaurant quite close.

    Location couldn't be better. Staff extremely helpful. Sun on garden for breakfast. No problem going back there during the day and sitting in garden. Were told to help ourselves to coffee!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Met our expectations. Bratislava is a cool little city easy to get around. The old town is compact.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can be a bit noisy on weekend as nightclub across the lane.

    Great breakfast selection. Pretty, small, boutique hotel hidden away. Nice outdoor area off breakfast area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    fantastic location, cute courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff weren't very friendly. Which does not reflect the people of Bratislava atall. My friend fell ill during the first night and we were fined for an extra night although it was already cleaned, something that couldn't be helped so our good value stay wasn't such good value in the end.

    The location was fantastic! Couldn't have been better located. However as Bratislava is so small, any hotel would have a good location. Great room, if you liked your head out you could see the castle to your right and st michaels gate to your left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Great little hotel right in the heart of the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    could have had different choices of eggs in the morning for breakfast.

    Fantastic small friendly hotel right in the middle of the Old Town. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Would definately stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect, the room and hotel were exceptionally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work in the room, and because of the location it could be loud in the night.

    Location is perfect, the room and hotel were exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice for a family, bachelors and couples in the center of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All were well except the Basic choices in breakfast. Nevertheless the collaboration with the sister hotel with Kaliba Restaurant gave us a compensation with super excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO good room , It was under the roof and also so much bad smell of toilets gas . Heater was not working and was so cold

    Good location . Room Had bad smell of toilets , Air condition heater was not working . Breakfast was good , In city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location,clean and comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location,clean and comfy room. Staff extremely helpful and friendly..we have even been offered the toothpaste belonging to lady from reception while we have forgotten our own.. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay if you want sleep or a bathroom door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is located right across from Devil's 'caberet club' - which played music loudly every night from about 10pm onwards - all of us that stayed at the hotel had trouble sleeping because of this. The windows are not soundproof and the music and vibrations kept us up. The bathroom door in the twin room we booked was see-through, AND it was broken - it had come unhinged from the door and could not be moved, meaning there was essentially no bathroom door. The next morning we told a male employee at reception, who simply replied 'we know...there is nothing we can do about it for another 2-3 days'. He did not offer an apology, another room, or another other solution. We were absolutely shocked that the hotel knew about this issue and yet had allowed us to book the room, and that when we notified them they offered absolutely nothing except the reply of 'we know'. We had booked the twin room with two single beds specifically because we were not a couple. A bathroom door is an essential part of a hotel room and this was not offered. I would not recommend this hotel.

    The bed was comfortable and the hotel was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    The location is great, the staff is super friendly !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great, the staff is super friendly ! Also the architecture is pretty impressive.. Pricey but definitely worth it if you want to be in the heart of the city Wifi and breakfast is also acceptable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    nice design, very comfortable room, excellent location, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking is too expensive, little bit noisy at night

    nice design, very comfortable room, excellent location, good breakfast and service for a reasonable price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Met my expectations perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit on the small side which was a bit challenging when getting ready to go out. I didn't like the sliding door to the bathroom. Given the location of the hotel it was a small price to pay.

    We chose this hotel for it's location which was excellent right in the old town. The little touches like tea and coffee making facilities, a good size fridge and wine glasses with a corkscrew added to the stay. Plenty of hanging and cupboard space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Best location and best room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee machine at breakfast was broken for the 2 days we were there and the instant coffee ... was not an instant coffee... but the rest of the breakfast was excellent!

    Our room for a family of 4 was amazing! Big and with privacy, between our area and the children area, but, in the same space. If you are a family of 4, ask for room 32. Best ever!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast quite a simple thing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quite a simple thing. For example during several days stay, as early as 7:30 eggs were not hot, not warm but really cold. No wonder then they also denied fried eggs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Best location-and-price hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the early morning a bit noisy from cleaning vehicles in the street and from the restaurants.

    Perfect location, very kind staff. In the partner hotel there was a great restaurant with 20% discount where you can eat amazing traditional slovak food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice cosy hotel in the old town area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice cosy hotel in the old town area. The location is perfect, close to all the sightseeing. The staff is pretty friendly and the rooms are not small. It was a bit noisy because of the night club located in the building next to the hotel. But everything else was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel has wonderful location, and we liked also our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the beginning of our stay, the WiFi was not working very well, but later on it was better.

    The Hotel has wonderful location, and we liked also our breakfast. Although the room was pretty small, it was nice, clean and silent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel very much, there is really nothing very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lighting in the room a little bit dark, the room a little bit small comparing to other hotels, but other than that everything is great. The hotel has no road near the entrance (like many other in Bratislava) this makes hard to get to it with luggage and then order a taxi from it.

    I loved this hotel very much, there is really nothing very bad to say about it, the design of the hotel is great! They provided even wine glasses with opener at each room, so that you can enjoy some wine at the evening. the breakfast is simple but very good to start the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Central, Clean, great Value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The nearest parking is very expensive -25 euro per day. But you can find free parking spaces in 10 min walk from the hotel . Only boiled eggs for the breakfast. 2 cups for 4 person in the family room. But its rather small thing comparing to the good value the hotel provides

    The location could not be better, small and very old street in 2 mins to everything you may need and all attractions. Very clean, helpfull staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent and welcoming service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a bit thin so you can hear toilet flush from other room.

    Excellent and welcoming service! They clearly go beyond what is expected to make your stay a positive experience. Great location too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, comfortable stay and would definitiely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was tiled and had steps in it and the bath didn't have a curtain, so after a shower it did get slippery and could be a bit dangerous. However, the water pressure and the size of the bathroom was great!

    The location was brilliant, close to everything (within walking distance). The superior room was spacious, clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Did not try the food here, but there are numerous cafes and restaurants within a couple of minutes of walking, so you are spoilt for options. If you get a good deal, definitely use this hotel as it can be very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Certainly coming back to Michalska
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't eat breakfast, therefore I cannot comment on the breakfast facilities. Otherwise, my stay was perfect. My first room was cold, but as soon as the staff had a free room at disposal, they gave me a warm room. Very friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Didn't take photo, but room was more than enough for couple with two teens.

    Very nice place, clean, located in old city. Staff was helpfull. We booked quodroom for family with kids.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Great stay in Bratislava city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice

    Property is in main city center very close to all restaurants and shops. Interior design is very modern and stylish. It is bringing nice vibes. Breakfast choice is pretty big you can find for sure something which you will like.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bar or lounge area as such. No scrambled egg at breakfast.

    Friendly helpful staff. Location just by the Michael Tower and close to all the sights. Very good buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Very clean quiet room with great shower. 20% off evening dinner with several traditional Slovakian dishes at its sister hotel the Perugia which is 3 mins walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Cosy stay in Bratislava
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy, well situated little hotel. Very clean room, comfortable beds. Breakfast is decent, not too much options for vegetarians, but it’s okay. Around hotel you can find plenty little cafes. We enjoyed the stay so much, that we prolonged for one more night. If we ever coming back to Bratislava. This hotel will be our priority.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a night club right across from the hotel. We didn’t hear any noise or have any issues as we were there on a Sunday night.

    The location was excellent for exploring the city. We parked in a garage that was about a three minute walk from the hotel, and wasn’t very expensive. The hotel was very nice, clean, and had friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    maintenance of bathroom could be better, shower pole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maintenance of bathroom could be better, shower pole wan't working, had to hold the "telephone" with one hand all the time. Breakfast buffet very basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Charming little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to dislike.

    Spotlessly clean. Beautiful bedding. Lovely staff who provided us free coffee & biscuits in the charming walled garden when we arrived. Lovely location. Good security.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Location, easy to walk anywhere in the old centre area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room not really large enough, queue for tables at busy times

    Location, easy to walk anywhere in the old centre area Clean and comfortable, spacious rooms Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    More quiet side street in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk could have smiled sometimes. Only diagonal windows in (top/3rd floor) room, no normal view to street or other buildings. Opposite front door is stripper place (slow business, seemed quiet?).

    More quiet side street in old town. Room in 3rd floor is surprisingly quiet even on weekend nights when old town (unfortunately) turns into some party hell. Didnt hear a beeb and slept like a baby. Walkable distances to main stuff to see. Sort of situated between old & new city. Clean, continental feel. Basic, satisfactory breakfast. Natural light in room as windows are on diagonal roof (top/3rd floor single room). Safe. Small kiosk right in corner. Airconditioning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Beware the cobblestone entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to develop more user friendly tv controls and list stations that are in English, such as CNN and BBC.. Our attic room was so small that there was not enough space to access our bags.

    Hotel not accessible by taxi. butt reception staff member helped us leave by carrying one of our heavy bags in the rain!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reading light next to my bed. There was one at the foot of the bed but it didn't work, and it's not much use at the foot of the bed anyway...

    Excellent location and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Nice and quiet at night despite being very close to bars and restaurants. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. Just few steps away from a lively pedestrian area and restaurant street and still so quiet. We slept like babies. If you happen to need something there is a small grocery store just round the corner. Very positive experience like the whole city of Bratislava.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Good place in general ,but not quiet, service not meeting expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi - fi connection, staff -receptionist on last night-morning. The first two days of our stay at A,LEND CITY hotel Michalska was great start of our trip. The last two days / nights / , Friday and Saturday - we were very disappointed -it has not been possible to sleep at all until 03.00 due to the extreme noise from the bar nearby. At the time of our reservation we explicitly asked for a quiet room ?!? The guests should be informed about this in advance. Moreover at the end of our stay we faced impolite attitude from the receptionist. The taxi arranged by the hotel was extremely expensive - 44 euro to airport , provided that the normal cost is up to 15 euro. We relied on the taxi service to be arranged by the hotel ,as we aware of the big price differences for taxis in Bratislava.

    - room, bed -very comfortable, very clean, - 20% off in a good restaurant / Koliba Kamzik /.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    from walking through the front door you felt it was going to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    from walking through the front door you felt it was going to be a pleasant stay,staff were wonderful,attention to detail in every respect was perfect,beds fantastic,breakfast superb,scrummy bacon,beware plug sockets are different,we had a lovely time and would recommend it if asked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quiet location enabling the ability to walk to the majority of the sites in Bratislava. The breakfasts were lovely with a good variety of food to choose from. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasent hotel let down by sloppy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key card didn't work in the door. So i explained the situation to the receptionist, and she seemed so distant and uninterested, or hungover! She must of asked what room i was in at least ten times in the space of two minutes. After a long wait, the non English speaking cleaner helped fix the problem.

    Location great, room was cute and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: