Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Avance 4 stars

Medena 9, 81102 Bratislava, Slovakia

#10 of 104 hotels in Bratislava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1507 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    The location of this hotel is great, it is very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture was little old and slightly damaged or scratched which was surprising / unexpected in a 4* hotel

    The location of this hotel is great, it is very close to the old town but also to the river, shopping center. . . Also it has private parking for a very good price considering the location. We booked the quiet room and it was really quiet, oriented into the backyard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    A superb small hotel in an excellent, very central location near all the main sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big room and bathroom with tub and shower, hairdryer, gels/shampoo/soaps. Big comfy bed, flatscreen TV, tea/coffee/kettle/minibar. The staff were excellent and friendly and could not have been more helpful. The location was excellent and in a quieter backstreet but very close to the tram, river, National Gallery and opera and most notable sights within a 30 minute walk. A 15-20 minute drive to the airport, which is €15-20 in a taxi (the hotel has a flat €20 deal with one firm but ordered from another firm due to unavailability that was €15 owing to less traffic on a Sunday). The hotel is 20-30 minutes from the main train station by tram/bus, depending on how much you want to do on foot. There is a restaurant which gives guests 20% discount.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for 1-2 day stay in Grand Turismo Travel (+big dog).
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I prefer very light rooms, mine has nice view for trees but with very limited natural light access.

    Everything perfect, 4star standard and feeling of novelty. Great location for sightseeing, jogging, dog accompany and travelling with private car. On site garage. Beautiful birds vocals in the morning - june time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel on the edge of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. The breakfast buffet was fabulous. I just wish it started earlier than 7.30.

    Location, staff, comfort, breakfast buffet, good for those who drive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is wonderful! They were very helpful. In fact, our entire stay in Bratislava was filled with great people. It was such a pleasure after the throngs of tourists in Prague and Vienna. If I travel back to Bratislava I will first look to stay at Hotel Avance!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    No better location possible, and directly across from the Police for security
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stated comfort was poor, but that was due to an air conditioning malfunction on a hot night. Had this not happened, this hotel would be a 9.5+ instead of the lower marks. Booking asks me questions & picks the points. It was very hot during my visit. The hotel has a system that when you remove your key, all electricity in the room turns off (not uncommon in Europe). I turned on the air conditioning to cool off. Later I went to dinner, had a few beers in the old town. Initially the air conditioning worked, and began to cool off the room. I went to sleep but awoke at 3:00am, all hot & sweaty, with no air conditioning. The air conditioning gets turned off at night (maybe for maintenance, maybe just until summer, maybe always- I was not certain). I called reception with no answer. At about 4:15 am, I reached someone at reception who offered me another room on another floor but I would need to dress & pack because I wanted to leave early. I lost an entire night’s sleep. In the morning I complained and initially did not get far- however the general manager was called, was extremely nice & apologetic, and he made everything right,

    There is no possible better location for this hotel, especially if you are driving. It is very close to the old city but not in a pedestrian zone, so you can drive right up to it. Excellent parking, indoors, accessible via freight elevator. The WiFi & breakfast were good. The staff was nice but read the negatives for the explanation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice little gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an early morning flight departing the hotel around 04.45am and we were offered a small breakfast take away snack which we really appreciated. We were pleasantly delighted with this small and compact hotel and it's location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Had a great stay - pleasant spot in centre of town.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is not great - the food is samll portions but well cooked and presented. The staff and very friendly. Breakfast options are limited.

    Plush hotel - rooms are great size. Very modern and clean. Good power shower and beds are OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A hotel which provides for every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What could there possibly be to not like??!!

    This hotel was conveniently situated in the old town. The reception staff were very welcoming and they spoke English. Our spacious room was clean, bathroom very nice, the bed was comfortable , and the lighting in the room was the best we can remember from anywhere. The TV was very good and so was the wifi. There was a comfortable chair as well as a desk and chair, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room were appreciated. Parking was in the hotel's own secure garage. Last but no means least is that the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely boutique hotel with very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great, spacious rooms even with the bath! Love it - and also close to the city center. When I had to leave at 6, they prepared breakfast-to-go for me. Excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very well located and the room is very clear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be a little bit more comfortable

    The hotel is very well located and the room is very clear. The highlight is the staff. Always attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Cozy hotel with good service in the centre of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rates 4 stars, but the owners should take care of that small details such as a leaking shower and empty shampoo bottles in the bathroom.

    Comfy bed, good breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Quite a nice hotel in the best place to get to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a nice hotel in the best place to get to the historical centre. High quality rooms and excellent buffet for breakfast. I fully recommend the venue for a visit to Bratislava!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    near to city center and danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i was in the first floor, so the loud motorcicly crossing the street during the night woke me up. sure, nothing a hotel can do against. breakfast was ok.

    Very near to center, the hotel is rather modern, all was in the room that i needed to find. well done. bd was very comfortable, wifi easy to connect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Central of Bratislava 15 min.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness center nice but small, no swimming poll only ( only a small Masaj poll), breakfast not for a 4 star hotel ( must be improved definitely)

    Central of Bratislava 15 min. walk from the Aupark and Eurovea, nice and clean rooms, nice staff. Parking was free but you need to reserved in advance, spa also you must call before to make a booking and is not for free( we had to pay)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel excellent staff and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't identify any issues

    Great location close to old town. Very friendly and most helpful staff. Excellent value for money including a very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Perfect choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Only one suggestion - to put more sockets for electricity, we have a lot of devices to charge this days.

    Location is perfect, in the old city but on a quiet street. The room was big with enough space to put your things comfortably. Bathroom was also good. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The bed is extra confy, it is a quiet place, the design of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is extra confy, it is a quiet place, the design of the room it is detail orientated and the bathroom it is very spacious and confortable. Extra clean! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice modern big room with nice bathroom and very clean.
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiters at the breakfast were not really attentive. They did everything you ask them to do but only after you got them to get to your table. No one comes and asks if you need anything (coffee, eggs, etc.). Not realy a minus but be careful if you have a big car you will have to have some skill in driving to get it in and out of the garage. I was there with q7 and it did go in but it was tight.

    Nice modern big room with nice bathroom and very clean. We arrived very early and they made a good effort to get our rooms ready until 11am. Also they alowed us a late check out. The bottle of sparkling water in the room is also nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot find anything negative about the place.

    Very good location. The hotel provides reserved parking space in an otherwise very crowded area, so it makes your life much easier. The rooms are very well equipped and really comfortable. Staff is friendly, the breakfast is really good and tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice modern architecture, comfort hotel, personalised...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice modern architecture, comfort hotel, personalised service directly inside the city centre, perfect spot for comfort bussiness or leisure stay in Bratislava

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay when visiting Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big, the bed was excelent! Breakfast is also good. This was my second time in that hotel. All in all very good place to stay when visiting Bratislava. Parking which you pay in every hotel, here is not that expensive (10e).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.5
    Staff was very nice, friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna and parking was extra. from description of hotel you would not understand it clearly.

    Staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. Place clean, room spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Excellent. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was perfectly situated in the old town. Easy to walk to the riverside. The room was perfect and despite overlooking the street, there was no noise

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Spectacular stay in an amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t that good. View as well. Parking was tight. But generally it was good

    Amazing room! Make sure to book the apartment it’s really nice with slightly more than a normal room. Bathroom was nice. Location was really good. Parking was 10 € a day which was cheaper than most of other European capitals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice inexpensive hotel in the center of Bratislava, decent value for money, good for short trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It felt like the walls were paper thin, I could hear everything going on in the nearby rooms and in the corridor: they need to do something about soundproofing. The free toiletries were placed in the room at the beginning of my 3-day stay once, and the room service never replaced / refilled them after the first day. I was told that if I run out of things like free shampoo etc. I need to request the reception additionally, which is honestly not the way these things are meant to be organized in a 4-star hotel. The reception staff can be inattentive: they managed to get the details of my invoice right only after 3 attempts, mistakes were made in the name of the party the invoice is issued to / duration of stay etc. Word of advice: it would be wise to double check after them, especially if invoices are required for business travel. The room is said to come with the ironing facilities, however the only way to get access to the iron is to ask for it additionally, and it gets taken from the room the following day. So in order to use the iron during the stay visitors have to ask for it every single day, apparently. I am not entirely sure whether the rooms were cleaned every day, it looks like the room service is seriously lacking there.

    The room was spacious and clean, with free wifi and really nice furniture. The personnel is very friendly and helpful, and fluent in English. The breakfast was acceptable. The location is excellent, close to the historical center of Bratislava and not far from the central bus station (a 20-minute walk) and two shopping malls: Aupark and Eurovea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful time in Bratislava. Cute town and pretty atmosphere for Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used the Flix bus from Vienna to Bratislava. Very cheap, clean and dependable. Bus stop not clear. Check with google maps before arrival

    Staff VERY friendly and helpful. Location perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent 3 days in Bratislava
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think there is a separate payment for fitness zone, if I am not mistaken, which I do not like because either it is for guest visitors or not. When it is somehow restricted or for extra money I feel it like a barrier.

    Nice hotel, good location, smart staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Best experience In Bratislava so far... And I have checked all the other 4 stars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike...

    - Extraordinar location - Very friendly staff - quiet street although in center - 20% discount in the restaurant... Cheaper than in most other places - Police hangs out (their HQ is across the street) - parking is only 9,90/day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Center located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was unorganized. It was not rich breakfast. The waitress didn't take care of us or the place they were setting inside with there mobil. I even went to the reception to ask for a spoon.

    Center located

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Huge room with 2 sections and 2 TVs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is a little complex. You drive into the lift and they lower the lift to the garage.

    Huge room with 2 sections and 2 TVs. The place is in the center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night and had nothing to complain about.

    Nice and mordern room with excellent bath room facilities. Easy access with car and parking in the basement and the old town just around the corner. Helpfull and good english speaking reception, they even help us store some food in the kitchen fridge. Good beds, nice and plentyful breakfast. A hotel where you feel at home and would like to visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    The behavior of the girl at reception was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The behavior of the girl at reception was perfect. When I arrived to the hotel, I realized that I've forgotten my coat on the airport. It was already 9:00pm but the girl use the max effort and called almost everywhere to help me. She was very kindly and from the beginning I had the feeling, that everything will be OK. And finally around 10:00pm somebody knocked on my hotel door and when I open my coat was there. In much, comfort in the room was on very high level and because I had to leave very soon, the kitchener prepare for me the breakfast package with almost everything. I have a very good feeling from this place and next time when I will travel to Bratislava, I'm sure that I will visit this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant, comfortable hotel within easy reach of the Old Town and river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room directly above entrance consequently high level of noise.

    Access to the old town and Danube. Underground parking at a reasonable price if booked in advance. Buffet Breakfast and a la carts options available. Comfortable bed. A comfortable ‘ business’ Hotel, well located to major attractions, without any outdoor seating/dining facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    An excellent hotel in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no electric kettle in the room. We were unable to make our own cup / mug of tea or coffee in the room after we had been sight-seeing or returning from a night out. Also the hair-dryer was considered useless.

    The hotel was ideally situated close to the historic old town of Bratislava. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and comfortable. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    The only good thing at the hotel was the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was not working at the room, Internet was medium, very poor choices for breakfast, nobody checked that there are empty trays and we had to ask them, almost no staff at breakfast, bad maintenance, the girl at the reception did not speak good English

    Great location, Dinner was good and good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    Spoiled by lack of TV and non functioning room safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV and room safe did not operate. Reported to reception (young girl straight out of school) who could not escalate issue as hotel owner was away on holidays. Totally unacceptable. When you pay for a service you expect to receive it, or be comoensated (e.g. Reduction of room rate of waiver of parking). This was not offered

    Good location. Parking available (booking required)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Two days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff members at the front desk were rude, I didn't feel welcomed and the general atmosphere wasn't comfortable at all! There was no electric kettle or coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

    Excellent Location Cleanliness Excellent Amenities Comfortable bed Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was great. They have friendly and helpful staff. The location is perfect. You can walk anywhere you want in the city. The room was comfortable and relaxing. They have a great breakfast with warm and cold selections.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Good Stay in Bratislava
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast certainly needs improvement, I couldn't find much to eat. The room had no view- if you are interested. it was weird to find the hotel closed when I was back at 11 pm, waited for someone to appear and open the door. But was not a big issue.

    The room was very big and quite comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern. The location of the property is perfect, just a bit of walking to the touristic center. silent in the night so comformtable sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice and quiet hotel in the center of Bratislava in walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and quiet hotel in the center of Bratislava in walking distance to historic city center. We had an excellent dinner with 20% discount on the prices at the day of arrival. The room was very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Modern, quiet, very comfortable and well-situated hotel, with an amazing breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one thing (which doesn't seem very common in hotels in Europe) and that's a kettle for boiling water for tea/coffee. But this didn't detract from a great experience.

    Modern, quiet and very comfortable hotel within 5 minutes walk of the centre of the old town, and also 5 to 10 minutes walk from a bus stop for Vienna airport. Great wifi, and lots of extra features in the living area and bathroom, and a simply amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Good Place in the City centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground parking small and ambitious to park, Car size limitation

    Receptionist very frindly, good Location, close to the historic centre and the river

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Hotel Avance, Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like, apart from not having long enough or the chance to try the hotel food and bar.

    Location is close both to the Old Town (Stare Mesto) and to the riverboat where we arrived in from Vienna. The staff are all excellent; friendly (not always the case in Slovakia, where in some places, eg; Ruzomberok staff in bars and restaurants are almost universally miserable and unhelpful in a throwback to the old Eastern bloc days) and could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Best of both worlds with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ate at the in-house restaurant both nights we stayed here as the food was so good and the waiter on the first night was so knowledgable about local wines giving us some great recommendations. The hotel is close to the old town and also to the newer shopping precinct just along the Danube so we enjoyed the best of both worlds. The hotel bar seemed to be the preferred hangout for the police from the station across the road so it felt very safe. Cheapest parking in Europe at 6 euro per night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    I can not fault Hotel Advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a thing I could fault.

    I can not fault Hotel Advance. Great service; exceptional comfort; great location; good reaturant; great Value. We will be back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing they should look after is the noise of the plumbing in the room. It's not that loud, but you hear constant flowing water. But that couldn't bother us.

    We were there for three nights. Rooms were very clean and nice. We had a very nice stay! Breakfast is also very nice. Parking space is narrow but not expensive compared to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.8
    VERY unfriendly personel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY unfriendly personel - especially Ms Catharina. You should fire her because she spoils your business. Contact with personel made me feeling really bad.. and that spoiled all the stay in not a bad hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was nice (but please use separate spoons for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi at times was loading a bit slow but we managed to stream movies so was OK in the end Receptionist could be a bit friendlier, we felt like our arrival is distracting her from reading

    Breakfast was nice (but please use separate spoons for different dishes!) Located close to the historical center and river, on the quite street - probably the safest place in Bratislava cause it is located opposite the police station and a bunch of officers are always chilling in the lobby bar :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Spacious rooms next to the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting into the parking - it was ok for me however less experienced drivers with bigger cars may have trouble with the car elevator and navigating inside - help with this would be nice.

    You cannot wish more in terms of location - the place is as much inside into the old centre as you can get by car, and it has its own underground parking! Getting there by car is easy. The room is very spacious. Breakfast is good although a bit old-fashioned.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Na

    I really liked Bratislava and the location of this hotel was excellent. I think the staff would do their best to make you feel welcome and look after you but unfortunately the time we were there, there was a problem with the air-conditioning dripping in our room. I am sure they have fixed this now and the next time we are in Bratislava we would still highly consider staying at the Hotel Avance. Bratislava is a very nice city and I would definitely like to come back sometime.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good breakfast, garage for cars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Garage was litle bit small for SUV cars, elevator to the garage.

    Very good breakfast, garage for cars. Clean and quiet room. Everything was like promised. Nice place. Next time we will choose the same hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge (front desk woman with glasses) was very rude and unaccommodating which was a shame as the rest of the staff were incredible. She complained when checking us in and when I asked about an issue with the air conditioning in our room, I was met with more disgruntlement. We were also denied our genius deal of late check out but we didn't let it disrupt our trip.

    The hotel was in an excellent location and the facilities were great. The breakfast was also plentiful and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, right in the city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garage was a bit small - especialy when you try to go out it's very frustrating to go into the lift (btw., there is a car lift who takes you underground).

    The hotel is right in the city centre. Everything can be reached on foot. I like that the hotel has underground parking garage. Breakfast is good, it has warm dishes etc. Overall, everything is as it should be.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location; good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Vacuuming on a daily basis desired.

    Room was very good, did notice the carpet was not vacuumed (crumbs under the edge of the bed) for two days after we arrived, but bathroom was clean. Good buffet breakfast. Hotel helped with arrangements for laundry.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Great break venue in Bratislava!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have 2 chairs in our room rather than one. But this was a small issue.

    Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice and beautifully cooked. Location was absolutely superb. Hotel staff exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.0
    Good location, above average breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room AC was not functional, appears that the power to the unit or the controls were such that the unit did not work properly. Asked staff for a fan and was told no. Breakfast start times were inconsistent and not in line with posted information. Parking is available but extremely difficult to get in and out as it is via an auto elevator and the turn to get out of the basement of the hotel into the elevator is awkward. Staff was not friendly or helpful.

    Good location, above average breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location. High
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was average in terms of the number of items offered.

    The location was excellent for walking to tourist sights, restaurants, and cafes. The room was large and the air-conditioning worked well. The parking is underground right beside the hotel and easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Nice room, well appointed for the price. Bathroom in particular was excellent. Efficient, friendly and helpful staff. Location close to public transport was convenient. Nearby, rather quirky, funfair made great view from room window and was great entertainment to visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    In a nice location but a little bit over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not that friendly. The toilet and the bathroom is not in a good condition, I think is just because of the ventilation system.

    The hotel is in a nice location. It is clean with large room. The breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor trained staff...example: one night I slept extremely uncomfortable because of the lack of air conditioning...when I went to the receptionist to explain and complain she asked " did you have opened windows?"...( of course I know the difference between lack of air conditioning and an opened window!!!!) Another example: cleaners coming early and pushing into the room with you inside! Excuse: they do not understand English!

    Good food. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the edge of the old town and near the Danube - easy walking everywhere from this hotel. We had a well set up, comfortable room with plenty of space, a very good large bed and great shower. And the the breakfast was excellent. The foyer also has comfortable sitting areas and a bar. All good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean modern room, hotel located in convenient location at the edge of the old town. Friendly and helpful staff, our 2ND stay here. Decent breakfast was included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.8
    Never as a choice, Not recommending this hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking system sucks at this hotel. Parking will cost you 30eur/night. The breakfast were just basic, very, very basic. Possibility to boil a water on the room (we have been travelling with 2 years old baby) impossible. I am really not sure, for what those 4**** are for. Very bad experience. Never as a choice and I will not recommend this hotel

    Rooms were pretty clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel location is nearby to the centre of the old town. Good breakfast. We are staying again I a few weeks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    If your heading to Bratislava, book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in the beautiful old town, 2 mins walk from the Danube, just a few mins from the castle The area was very quiet at night, staff friendly and hotel very clean Breakfast was buffet and nice with reasonable selection Hotel also has a lovely smell through out which was a nice touch

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Not so great anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every year I'm going to Europe and staying in this hotel when I am in Bratislava, however I can see how hotel quality is going down so next time I will probably find something else. -horrendous pillows ( almost without filling ) -shower sealant in the bathroom mouldy -big stains on the carpet in the room -really bad quality of TV -door in the bathroom broken Also I don't understand why bar in the hotel closes so early and why is it such a problem for front desk staff to serve a drink. Little things matter.

    - great location - daytime front desk staff really friendly - fast wifi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Just what I needed for a weekend...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A warm welcome by friendly staff, large private underground parking space, a very nice and clean hotel with a big room offering all comfort needed. The restaurant serves a nice collection of perfectly cooked food and the breakfast buffet is more than enough. The location is top, everything you need to see in the old town centre is at walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.8
    Nice in general
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and tea/coffee sacks would be an advantage as well as a couple of plates. No breakfast to go offered to those who check out early

    Clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night we arrived quite late and went out to eat. We wondered back to the bar for a drink to be told the bar closes at 10pm? I have never stayed in a hotel anywhere in the world that closes. This was very odd. Pity as we were unable to have a drink at the end of the long day we'd had travelling.

    The hotel is in an excellent location. Check in was smooth and swift. The room was very spacious and clean. Bathroom was big. Loved the fact we could have a shower or a bath - bonus points. Staff were friendly enough. The young waiter who served on at breakfast was probably the person we saw the most. He is doing a great job and was friendly, efficient and hard working. He seemed to be the face of the hotel. Mini bar was cheap if you wanted to use it. Wifi was good. A great stay at a reasonable price. Convenient to old town and public transport links.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was quite small and limited, but not a serious issue (just book in advance).

    On-site underground parking (6 eur), clean, spacious room and bathroom, superb location, b`fast , Japanese TV channel, large comfortable seats at bar near reception.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a person on a business trip, I would prefer if breakfast is served earlier than 7:00 AM Communication through Booking.com prior to arrival proved to be challenging and required multiple reminders to get responses

    Breakfast is good Location is not far from Nam L Stura tram station and right behind the old town Staff were helpful and responsive for multiple requests I had

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel staffed by great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to complain, but adding a pillow top to the bed would be just icing on a super wonderful cake!

    Gorgeous hotel in a perfect location for exploring Staré Mesto, the old town of Bratislava. Really kind staff and an amazing spread for breakfast - hot items too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.2
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the staff lacked that extra spark and enthusiasm that I am used to around the world. I don't know if that's cultural, but I am used to better.

    The location is perfect. Bratislava is small and the hotel is handy to everything. Very close to the river and a short walk to the ascent to Bratislava Castle. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. My room was perfect for my needs. Nice bathroom with hot shower and enough space to pack and unpack in without cramping the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.3
    Good location, poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)They sale room is like 38 or 39 sq.m BUT ITS NOT TRUE!!!! Complete wrong! I think it's 2 times less. I mean why they said that they have a Business room which is that size when it's not a truth! Or people just lie to us and give us a little one. I don't know. Just told us that all rooms in their hotel the same! And all is fully booked and it's no another bigger one. They change for us another room , but it was still the same size. 2) No teapot and no tea. But they can bring just a hot water if you'll ask them ! At least it was good. 3) Pillows is a really bad quality. 4) Breakfast is poor believe me. But people in a restaurent are really nice. Thank them for their good service. When I read all reviews I thought it's really super hotel, but it's not sooo perfect, but ok for short stay.

    Good location, modern room. It's good that they have a parking, but you need I think pre booked it, because it's not so many parking place- maybe around 10.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Avance traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: