Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Botel Marina 3 stars

Nabrezie Arm.Gen.L. Svobodu, 811 02 Bratislava, Slovakia

#23 of 31 B&Bs and Inns in Bratislava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 792 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    Don't book
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole boat. Gang plank on arrival was ripped and the slope at the top was uneven and no hand rail.The room had a double bed and you couldn't swing a cat. Room stuffy, dusty,asked for more pillows after removing the case it was manky couldn't sleep. Went down wrong stairs to find filthy carpets and all wallpaper hanging off. This boat needs a complete refurbishment.

    The surrounding area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    We had some very good days there!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    On hot days, as we had during our stay, the cabin temperature is also hot. That's but a matter of fact and I don't expect more comfort than I've got at home :-)

    It's just a nice atmosphere, nearly situated in the heart of a city... but out of it, watching boats passing, sunsets and more... any questions? pls. ask me for pictures :ö)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great, would book again hopefully to stay longer than just the single night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking close to the Botel Marina was very limited

    We arrived late due to transport problems, we hadn't had anything to eat for hours, the restaurant kitchen had closed already but after we explained we'd had no meal for many hours they re-opened just for us 3. Staff were great, bar and food process were very fair.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    In a very good place, but too hot (no oxigen) in summertime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC and the windows can be open only just a little bit (is blocked). Very small cabine, but the basic things are available. I could not pay by credit card at the receprion, although I offered 3 cards, all functionning and with enough money on them, but it did not work...

    In a good place, nice restaurant, nice people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    2.9
    Rubbish dirty falling apart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay attention not what you see on the pictures is reality .This Botel is rubbish celling falling appart carpets full of dry vomiting rooms you could not breed aircon does not work rooms very small no hot water .Booked for seven nights and stayed 3 nights.We couldint sleep because of heat and no air inside.Hotel manager promised me to give me a refund,called her but no unswer and no refund.There is more nice Botels in the area but thrust me this is rubbish old and crumpy. They should sink it for divers attraction.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant suprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotelboat was a pleasant surprise, we weren't sure if this was a good idea after reading some of the comments on booking.com, but we had nothing then good experiences so don't let them scare you. Friendly staff which takes its time to help you out. We were treated as a guest here, not as a customer like often happens. (Special thanks to Pal at the desk, a great person with good heart). Try the food on board (very affordable price) and enjoy the cosy accommodation, was perfect for a romantic stay :) greets Pieter and lore from Belgium

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.3
    Far below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night from disco boat next door. Room ridiculously hot as aircon inop. Also ceiling and doors damaged and broken. Booking says room has 'seating area' and shows photo of outside seating area which is misleading as rooms have no private outside seating.

    The river view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in. A young man that didn’t really gave a s-t

    Great location! A 15 min walk to Old Town Boat a little worn&torn but charming. Rooms a little small but Hey its a boat! Breakfast ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    The experience of being awaken early in the morning by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pedestrian area along the Danube was being renovated and at the time of my visit was not the best experience for a walk along the river. Surely worth a visit after the renovations works are done though.

    The experience of being awaken early in the morning by the calm little waves of the Danube river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Floating on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ah... not their fault, but work was being done in the promenade and it was a bit dusty.

    Perfect location close to town and close to the bridge and UFO tower. It feels great to sleep on the boat-hotel on the Danube. The outside area was great and the breakfast area was even better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Good experience overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets could be cleaner / renewed. Bathrooms should disinfected at check-in!

    Being on boat, still close to the old town, walking distance. Rooms are small but this was expected. Staff was polite and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    A huge disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole boat is very old, totally unrenovated. The carpets are dirty in the halls. The worst was the smell in the rooms, especially the bathroom. There are no balconies in the rooms and very small windows. The hotel staff told us they were fully booked but we never saw another person, not even in the restaurant.

    The coffeeplace on the lower deck was nice, but you can only eat and drink overpriced stuff from the restaurant there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very, very hot.

    Lovely novelty to sleep on a boat! Rooms were very small but view was lovely over Danube. Staff very helpful and onboard restaurant good value compared to restaurants in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old and untidy. For the money they take from guests, renovation could have been done time ago. But nothing changes for several years already. Location "saves" this hotel. Breakfast. is not worth 8 Euro. For this money you can eat great breakfast in the city.

    Great location. Close to the city center, possibility to park the car free of charge in the nearby streets. Fantastic view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get to if you do not have a car... Need to take bus #90 from the town and it takes cca 40 min, but it only runs ONCE IN AN HOUR!?

    Being on the water....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Sleep with the waves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    First of all, it was a unique experience to spend four nights in a room/cabin. The location is excellent, a walking distance to the city center and all mode of transportation. From the main train station, you can take bus #93 and bus #39 (on the opposite direction) to a bus stop, only about 500m from the Botel. From the main bus stop take either bus 50 or bus 70 to city center stop and walk about 300m to the Botel. The entire staff is great, especially the receptionists, Pal Harendra and Barbara are Awesome. Do not give it a second thought and book without any hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Boat on the Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was dated.

    The botel was in a great location - just 10 mins to the main square but quiet as it was out of the main city. We booked a junior room and it was a good size. The bathroom was small but the shower was powerful! Breakfast was simple but there was lots of choice. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, a quirky budget stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cereals were laid out and open in the afternoon,ready for breakfast! Looked very average...did not partake. Awkward to shower,tiny bathroom,shower curtain clinging to body, but we were in a boat cabin! Some indoor plants in the upper dining area would've looked wonderful.

    Great location, staff were very casual,but helpful..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    beautiful Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some one smoking a cigar in non smoking area

    something different being right on the Danube. walking distance tho old town & castle. parking close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.3
    Terrible. Worst hotel experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, absolutely appalling. We checked in the other day for a two night stay. The location of the Botel was its main drawcard, being close to the Old Town and being on a boat which appealed to us for its uniqueness. I knew I had booked a budget hotel and so things that you expect at such a price-point did not bother me (slightly tired rooms, no air conditioning etc). It started well with our request to change to a water-facing room being accommodated. The staff were initially friendly but this quickly changed when we lost our room key, within a half hour of checking in. We suspect we left it in the door and it was taken, as we thoroughly searched the room and through all our belongings. No big deal, right - it's just a key. Most hotels would be used to easily dealing with such occasional occurrences without making their guests feel terrible and unwelcome. We were informed that the manager had told his staff to charge us 25 Euro for losing the key, an absolutely unreasonable and extortionist charge. This is when we first suspected they were attempting to scam us. Thankfully we had booked through a reputable online booking agency and a check of the published conditions we had agreed to gave us confidence this was not a legitimate charge. This was confirmed when we checked out and we were informed that a 25 Euro fee had been placed on our account for "smoking in the room". Neither of us smoke so this seemed to be there in place of the non-existent "lost-key fee" on the invoice. This was particularly ironic since the manager and staff's cigarette smoke from outside regularly permeated our room. The staff we dealt with seemed confused about what the fee was for and I feel they were in no part to blame - the blame for this situation lies solely with the manager (or who appeared to be the manager/supervisor) who perhaps should consider a career change. Never in hundreds of hotel stays have I ever been treated this badly.

    I was fine with the condition of the hotel as a budget place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    to expensive for that quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible smoking smell in the bathroom (better say “plastic dark and old bathbox”.but not room.) poor quality food for breakfast, bad coffee.

    close to the center. old rooms, but clean. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value in nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm breakfast option were only sausages or boiled eggs. Room size was OK, but bathroom was ridiculous small. Old wool smell.

    Close to city center, nice staff and affordable price. Rich breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    The location was actually pretty good and very easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm! The air con didn't really make a difference, other than being extremely loud!

    The location was actually pretty good and very easy to access the city centre, enjoyed first ever stay on a boat!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Affordable, great location, good view and nice hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was okay with great view but bathroom could be a bit bigger but again no complaints, overall a great place to stay.

    Very good location and view as well. It is really worth to pay for this place and staff is friendly and supportive. Really nice place to stay. Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Old ship
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ship is old, the cabin is small and the bathroom is ridiculous.

    The staff was very friendly and polite. The location was close to the castle. The price was really low.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue was the aircon/heater. Very noisy. So a choice of being a bit chilly and it being quiet (which was ok), or being warm but having what sounded like a car idling over in the roof. Not a big deal if you are out and about all the time, and certainly not a big deal if you're out on the lash and just need a place to rest your head.

    Good location. Great value. Very good breakfast included in the price. Would definitely stay here again. Great for lads weekend away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Really clean and excellent value for money.
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little small but to be expected on a boat, not very sound proof rooms.

    Really clean and excellent value for money. A short walk to the town centre and a lovely view of the castle and the bridge over the Danube.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Great short getaway to Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is really good as its about 15 min walk to the old town. I've never slept in a boat before so for me it was great experience as it was far more comfortable than I expected. The room was nice, simply decorated but had everything you need. The staff and especially the young man at the reception were very kind and helpful. The buffet breakfast offered a good choice of food, unfortunately I didn't have time to taste the dinner menu but will give it a try next time. Overall really good place for value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay, amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bit cold (especially the small bathroom), and the bed was not really comfortable. Our tv was not working (or we didn't manage to make it work).

    The location is great, and the view from the window was just amazing. The staff was polite and friendly, both at the reception and at the restaurant. The boat itself was elegant, cosy and elegant. The terrace of the restaurant offers a wonderful view of the bridge and the castle, and despite being a bit fancy, prices at the restaurant were affordable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location on the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation was under renovations when we stayed so there was some disturbance however it was only minimal.

    Convenient location on the river, short walk to the old town. Room was clean and bigger than expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    One night trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was warm, the bed was large, the room was clean, the people are nice.

    Close to city center. You don't have to spend cash on taxi/bus. Lovely view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.1
    Fine, but I had some troubles
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two nights in a row the air conditioning was working very loud around 4 a.m. and it woke me up. First night I thought it was some kind of a mistake and used ear plugs. But the second night I went straight to the reception and asked them to stop it. Also a blanket cover was worn out and had holes in it. And it seemed like the white towel lay with some red cloth after the washing.

    The location was great. It was convenient. Only 10-15 minutes away from the old town and the international bus station. And the view of Danube and the Bratislava castle was amazing. The breakfast was very good and the room was small but rather clean. It was great to have the fridge and free Wi-Fi. Also receptionists were helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Small room but if u are a couple and u need room only for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but if u are a couple and u need room only for sleeping and shower it’s perfect. Staff very kind. We were a little tired and didn’t hear the alarm and we check out later without problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable overnight on Danube River
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room could have been better. The room was a bit dusty. Also, some of the lamps in my room were broken.

    A cool concept of converting a boat into a hotel. To be honest, the experience was much better than I expected. I visited Bratislava in a period where there was a really strong wind and rain. I was worried that staying in a Botel was a really bad idea due to the strong waves on the river. Turned out that my fear was unfounded. The boat was actually really stable I could not even feel the wind from inside the room. The room itself is small but comfortable. There was also a TV with generous number of channels available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    great location and nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was tiny and the AC was not that warm for a cold night.

    the location was good and have a great view of the castle and the UFO tower while chilling on the deck. it was warm and cosy. the staff was friendly. the boat is just a few mins walk from the bus station so was great for a quick stop in the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Very beautiful hotel on boat situated at the bank of Danube...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very beautiful hotel on boat situated at the bank of Danube river, within ten minutes walk to the Old Town and a great view of the river. The rooms are small but cozy ; great breakfast. The most important : the personnels are extremely helpful and smiling. It's really a pleasure to feel that the people working there love their jobs. I'll come back next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was in need of some basic maintenance, and not a lot of space. Quite a walk from the train station. We did experience a couple of bumps a couple of times during our stay, felt like something had gone into the boat, but when I asked the staff, I was told it was when some of the big boats turn around in the river they can cause a swell.

    Location was a pleasant walk along the river Danube. Within walking distance to the castle, city walls, restaurants, old town. Close to the bus station, where you can catch the bus to Vienna for 5 euros, which runs every hour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    We love the botel because it's on the Danube, cute and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be great if you can provide kettle, glasses/mugs and some coffee and tea facilities. We have to ask for hot water and we have to take it from the dining restaurant on the upper floor. huhu...

    I like the staff at dining when we were having dinner. She even played the Blue Danube music for us to add on to our experiencing the Danube! Wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable will be visiting again hopefully next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought for guests who stay there should be given cheaper rates on alcohol and food and the mini bar in the rooms are a complete rip off far too expensive

    I liked the fact that the botel was quiet and the staff very nice and friendly great place to chill out and relax

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    New and fun experience staying on a boat by the Danube River!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small (but clean) room with a bit old equipment, quite small shower. Some renovation is needed.

    New and fun experience staying on a boat by the Danube River! The boat was nice and comfortable. Overall condition was good, although it needs small renovation. The staff was helpful and nice (we arrived ealier and we could left our backpacks in the storage) Good location, with nice views on either side: the castle (especially by night) or the river. Very well located as it's close to the main bus stop and city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    The location is okayish if you are interested in the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person at the reception responded to my initial "Hello" just by saying "Passport or ID, please". There was an airconditioner in the room, but it didn't seem to do anything besides making sound. The room temperature stayed at 29°C, but fortunately the window could be opened fully for the night.

    The location is okayish if you are interested in the center and other tourist attractions; a longish walk or a few minutes by tram and less walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Really great, cozy place with great spots to view life on the river and the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is pretty tough unless you know the right area to check out and are ok walking 300 meters.

    The area is ideal and close to the old town. The rate was substantially less than any other hotel on that area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    I would stay on the botel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air did not work in my room. It sounded like it was running, but there was never any cool air coming out of the vents. I was glad I had read reviews about people taking out the windows, because once I did that, it was fine.

    I slept very well in the botel. I found the bed to be very comfortable and although the room was small, it was just what I needed. I didn't dine there, but it was nice to know that was an option. Also, as a first time visitor to Slovakia and a young female, I felt safe both walking there from the city center at night and staying there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Interesting concept, though basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being necessarily the fault of the staff, but at 3:00 AM a group of British drunk guys woke up all the clients on the botel. A very negative impression created on us the breakfast coffee, only the instant one being available. No beans, only disolvable powder, which we never drink... Also, the first day of our stay our toilet smelled quite badly and hair was in the toilet and sink. The second day was better.

    The concept of staying on a boat is a unique experience and it gives the impression of an "aristocratic" feeling. Good location, with nice views on either side: the castle or the river. Wi-fi was working just fine and thd personnel was trying to help with any issue.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Novel way to stay overnight. Although difficult to find could be easier to find than in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trying to find the place. There is only a main road nearby (no stopping - definitely no parking to unload). Booking.com instructions sent us 800 metres too far upstream and the road system is very complicated for getting back! But very good for early start for drive back to UK. Lovely sunrise.

    Wonderful experience to dine and sleep on the Danube

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful stay on the Danube.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book, you must be aware of the limitations. If you have any doubts- book a hotel room but if you're up for something different - give it a go!

    Was a novel way to stay in Bratislava. My children will remember, for sure, their first stay in a botel on the Danube River!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.2
    Not a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in tiny room Poor dining room staff /service Smoking everywhere Plastic cover on mattress! Not set up well at all. Food looked old and stale We cut short our stay by two days and it cost us a lot of money. Not happy.

    I didn't like anything about this botel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Regrettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Forget the breakfast! 8 euros for the cheapest instant coffee, hot dogs and boiled eggs. For that price you can get a fantastic breakfast in town. The staff were a problem, mostly the manager. He wasn't happy with my luggage (I had an inflatable SUP board with a value of 1500 GBP that he wanted left outside, in everyone's way). When I said it was fine, the manager clearly let his staff know, because they ignored me the rest of the day! Final negative is that the boat has solid fixes to the shore, which means there is no movement until a really big wave hits, and then you might imagine it's the apocalypse, as the boat jolts and lurches to huge thumps.

    The location was the only thing I liked!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.2
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not properly cleaned. There were mosquitos everywhere and the shower was dirty. Breakfast was too expensive for the offer. On the positive side, it was nice to sit outside with my book before going to the bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    Dirty and hot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, there were hairs on the sink, the fan holes were all black, the carpet was dirty. The AC was not working and it was terribly hot, the windows couldn't be opened enough so I had to sleep with the door open.

    It's a boat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Simple, comfortable, good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing serious. We asked the receptionist where we could rent a bike. It was not easy to get understood in english and she was not able to help. It's a boat so when another boat passed by it caused minor swinging sometimes. It hasn't make to feel us uncomfortable at all, but someone could be more sensitive. Pop hits played during the breakfast were a bit annoying. Some relaxing music would be more appreciated. :)

    The room and the bathroom was clean. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    2.9
    Save your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty out dated not value for money poor customer service still owe me money......do not stay here better off in a sleeping bag under a bridge

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room amenities are somewhat shabby

    the location is great - 10 minuts walking along the river Donau to the city centre. Sitting on board in the evening was very pleasant, we enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is hardly any space to move inside the room! If windows are left open, then the cigarette smoke from the ones who are smoking outside will surely enter your room! Breakfast option is limited.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.0
    The staff is friendly and helpful, the view is nice, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was awful: I stayed at this hotel for 6 days On the second and third day they served leftovers from the first breakfast. No free coffee machine No vegetables. Eggs were served only in boiled condition. Very poor breakfast

    The staff is friendly and helpful, the view is nice, the atmospheare is romantic, the food from the restaurant (except breakfast) was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Fun experience staying on a boat by the Danube River!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fun experience staying on a boat by the Danube River! Very well located as it's close to the main bus stop and sights. Check out the Castle from the boat by night!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    4.2
    nice lobby and shared rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was perhaps not enough people to ask breakfast but it was rather poor in choice. e.g. coffee was served as instant and diy, rather limited offer of fresh veggies and fruits, etc. Reception charges upon arrival. somehow felt like being suspected from not wanting to pay... TV was not working.

    nice lobby and shared rooms. helpful staff in the restaurant. good dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Great short break in Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast. On the Saturday night a function was going on in the bar below. Our friends found this very noisy although we did not notice this.

    Great location with friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant was good and breakfast was basic but decent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    New experience to spend a night before the early morning flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't switch on, but we didn't bother much. You can't get taxi or Uber right to the door, but it's a boat, isn't it.

    New experience of staying on the boat. Pretty cosy and beds are big enough for a rather small cabin. Really warm inside, despite cold weather outdoors.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.1
    The rooms were larger than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very continental. Limited hot food options- just parky sausage, which was not often refilled.

    The rooms were larger than expected. The facilities were functional. Location is just about right, near the castle and the city centre. Everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Good budget choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seen better days. No food or drink available by 8.30 one evening.

    Quirky. Excellent value. Managed to maintain good temperature despite arctic conditions outside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Adequate for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not very welcoming. No hot water at breakfast to make tea or coffee.... this should be a basic thing. Breakfast dissapointing. The bedrooms could do with a refurbishment.

    The location and the view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Perfect location, very good and honest staff😀Very romantic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Perfect location, very good and honest staff😀Very romantic place😀Very good breakfast😀Affordable price😀Internet👍 Higly recommended to everyone👍

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    4.2
    Too expensive over booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive over booking.com, direct booking would have been much cheaper, the staff is not friendly. The water was impossible to balance(hot cold)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit basic although it is a buffet style so can eat what you want.

    The Botel Marina is a really lovely place to stay, situated on the Danube. The food in the restaurant for dinner is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice experience of staying on a boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms. A strong smell of pee in the bathroom. Poor breakfast. Not particularly friendly staff.

    Nice experience of staying on a boat. Relatively close to the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    It's an experience!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small things that need easy fixing in the bathroom - like the toilet paper holder, the plastic thingie on the end of a lamp, etc. These would be one euro things that would need fixing. Just needs a guy with a screw-driver & one trip to Baumax.

    It's a really nice boat hotel just under the castle in the capital of Slovakia, so what more would you want? It's a few meters from the "promenade" of Danube, close to the centre. I liked the historic interior, the wood - that was cool. Sunrise on a boat is an experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.7
    An experience never to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful awful noise from nearby disco boat a few hundred meters away. Music started after 22:00 hrs and continued with rising volume until 3:00am. Although we loved the Botel we could never return. Sorry.

    Proximity to city centre and river views. Novelty of boat hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.5
    Boat Life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet wasn't great. No hot food beyond some crappy hot dogs.

    Having the hotel on a boat was fun... Good views across the Danube from the windows, and I liked the occasional floor tilting. Also it was right under the castle, which was cool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice boat experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat was nice and confortable. Its overall condition was good, although it needs serious restauration. For the price, it was more than ok and very clean. The staff was reasonably helpful and relatively nice. Breakfast is ok and the restaurant's view to the Danube river is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.4
    BEWARE!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is not bad but they charged me for an item in the mini bar that I did not consume. Upon checkout they said that I took water from minibar which was not even there upon my arrival!! I m angry not for the €3 charged but for their dishonesty and to treat me as a liar cos I insisted that I didn't take the item.

    Hotel is very close to the centre and wi-fi is very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.1
    Calm rocking of the boats makes you fall asleep faster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty poor breakfast. OK and definitely safe to eat but poor choices and coffee just instant from a pack. If you are too late - you might not get most of the products as they are not refilling. Hotel (Botel) rooms are quite small but this is to be expected in a boat.

    Value for money. Clean beds. Calm slight rocking of the boat helps to fall asleep faster. Location is ok. Walking distance from the center ~10 min. Staff is helpful, speaks good English.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly stuff, location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party closed by and the music was too loud

    Friendly stuff, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    It was really nice and staff was helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really nice and staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    View, stuff, decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad coffee, breakfast not so great.

    View, stuff, decent price

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Botel Marina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: