Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Crocus 4 stars

Štrbské Pleso 4078/78, 05985 Štrbské Pleso, Slovakia

#4 of 14 hotels in Štrbské Pleso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 539 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Reception staff was very nice smiling and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restaurant was either new or very slow...Food however was very nice so that made up for the waiting time

    Reception staff was very nice smiling and helpful. Room and bathroom of good sizes and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Localization was perfect, food tasty and the personnel nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thr only issue, but quite a big one for us, was an permanent, unpleasant smell in the restroom. Cleaning personnel tried, but did not help. Probably a bigger issue with sewage system/ventilation. Unfortunately it was not resolved during 6 days of our stay...

    Localization was perfect, food tasty and the personnel nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Good price/value hotel in the city if You can take the right time to book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bedroom the bed was a bit hard and the pillows were too soft and thin.

    The view was brearhtaking. Fireplace is a good idea but I would never pay for using it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Perfect start of the winter with first snow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful breakfast, excellent location, beautiful view. Our children age 1 and 2 years loved the view from our room at the train station and we all enjoyed the playroom next to the breakfast space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Great room in great environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's hard to connect to wifi and it's slow (on the 3rd floor).

    Large and clean room with all the utensils you need. Close to the lake and restaurants, I am very satisfied!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Not very friendly reception staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very friendly reception staff; you feel not really welcome if told rudely "no way" to a question whether a bit later check-out would be possible. (That in spit of the fact that hotel was half empty, but this is secondary...)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    6.7
    We might come back but definately check some other options next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-Fi not working 95% of the time Some of the personell was not useful at all while others were very friendly and helpful - mixed feelings. Cleaning every other day in a 4 star hotel, never seen that before. Cleaning was a joke, if not asked exactly what to do they would only change towels and leave. We were left for two days with no shower gel. We have reported no light in the bathroom - it got fixed partially, the electricity was back but the broken lightbulb was never changed. Feels like one elevator is not enough for a hotel of that size. Sometimes it took up to 5 mins.

    Excellent breakfast Nice restaurant with decent food (ask for VIP card) Good location Nice and spacious room with a nice view (studio) Great amenities for children, both toddlers and teenagers. Free parking just outside of the reception. Kitchen was properly equipped

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    One night stay in Tatra mountains Slovakia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think a shower curtain is needed in the bath.

    Super clean rooms, nice restaurant, comfortable beds and large rooms including kitchen unit. Good breakfast. Close to Strbske Pleso rail station if you prefer to travel by train.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    One night stay somewhat disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not so friendly. Small issues for parking when departing. Dinner in restaurant was not so good. Could not increase the temperature in the room.

    Room was nice and big. Location was great for one night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.4
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast, tastless orange water (supposed to be orange juice?). We went for a dinner and the waiter forgot to order my starter and my partner's main meal!!! Baby cot had missing bars, the gap was so huge that my 1 year old son could get through! This is not 4* hotel, i have been to 2* hotels in Tatras in Slovakia and i had better views, food and accommodation. I won't be coming back or recommending this place.

    Close to Strbske pleso, great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.8
    A very comfortable hotel, placed perfectly in the close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A very comfortable hotel, placed perfectly in the close vicinity of main mountain trails. Comfortable, well equipped apartaments, many attractions for children, good breakfast and a nice hotel restaurant serving excellent dishes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Great place for long trip in the Tatras
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment on the 2nd floor was just above a kids trampoline, and some noise was a bit disruptive.

    Comfortable apartment for a family of 4, breakfast is tasty and has all kind of food you wished before traveling to the Tatras. Very good location for touring the high and low Tatras.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.7
    the appartement itself was quite comfortable and ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lake is just behind the hill, and we were a bit shocked by the way this entire place is a winter-skiing place ... looking sad/desperate in summer. huge parking spaces, hughe hotels. ... :( breakfast was not 4 star ...

    the appartement itself was quite comfortable and ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.8
    Very Nice Stay in Hotel Crocus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aside from some minor damage sustained in the car park (which is not a hotel issue) the stay was good.

    Stayed for one night on our way back to Poland after sending the day in Tatralandia. Rooms were big and very clean so the ladies were pleased. Rooms had good wifi connections as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.9
    stylish and modern - a good place to stay but in some ways style has outweighed practicality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Massive windows with thin curtains meant we were woken up very early by light penetration. Top part of window opens (and was open) but is far too high to reach to close (or open) - Why?

    Good views stylish nice bathroom (with real bath)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    Very comfortable, clean and spacious apartment with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit pricey but then the apartment is quite big and nice. The breakfast has a decent selection but the loud music in the breakfast room is stressful (but all too common in this part of the world) and every morning every single table would be dirty when we sat down to eat while all the staff just hung out instead of cleaning them. Weird.

    Very comfortable, clean and spacious apartment with lots of details that made it a pleasant stay, such as the walk in closet, bedside lamps, bathroom furniture, couch. I think all rooms have mountain views but some also of the parking lot. Nice cafe and restaurant in the pension next door.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Private wellness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    zatvoreny bar o 21:00

    Private wellness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Our rooms did not have a "real" shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our rooms did not have a "real" shower! You could not fix the position and height and there was no screen to avoid getting the floor wet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have had a large well equipped room with fireplace. The bed was exceptionally comfortable that we have never seen on any other trip in abroad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    nice, comfortable, well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very tough for me

    breakfast was very delicious, there was a wide variety of quality meals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist wasn't speaking english. Restaurant closes at 8pm! Terrible hard bed, with sheets that were to small.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Location and ski storage plus ski boot driers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and ski storage plus ski boot driers!!!👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    The space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattrace in bedroom

    The space

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very not comfortable hard beds, look thru glas wall to WC= zero privacy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Sauna/Wellness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna/Wellness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice view, comfy apartment and excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view, comfy apartment and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    The eara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eara

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff very helpful with goodEnglish Room well equiped &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All goodwould return

    Staff very helpful with goodEnglish Room well equiped & nice view. Breakfast excellent choice. Easy walk to lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    ncie apartment makes you feel like at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurants or shops around are almost all closed after pm9...

    room is big and comfort for long stay and the breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Great location, nice and spacious apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice and spacious apartment. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast

    The room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Extraordinary apartment, we would stay for longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extraordinary apartment, we would stay for longer!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    The best week ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snidane vynikajici, mily personal a perfektni stav apartmanu

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.6
    Very good hotel in superb location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located and very well equipped rooms. Friendly staff and exceptional surrounds. Thank you and we'll be back :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable aparthotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, well located. Good for families with kids

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.1
    Good, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt it was a little expensive for the standard of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Large and spacious spaces, well-equipped kitchenette, closet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large and spacious spaces, well-equipped kitchenette, closet. Rich breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.6
    The hotel provides a fine stay in a fantastic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Staff" category does not reach "excellent" because of rude behavior of one of waitresses one breakfast (followed by apologizes of manager). It is a pity that restaurant in the hotel was not open in a lunch time ( I suppose that it is something temporary) - you need to go outside (just less than 100m, but in winter it means "not with home shoes").

    The hotel provides a fine stay in a fantastic place. (This winter Strbske Pleso seems to be the only place in Slovakia for cross-country skiing.) Good position of the hotel. Large apartment with fully equipped kitchen (in fact, you need it may be with kids - the restaurants are just nearby). Everyday room service. Clean and comfortable. Reasonable breakfast with a good choice.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    the best price vs quality in the area, really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the best price vs quality in the area, really good restaurant in the hotel (a la carte), close to ski resort and nice staff, no problems with parking, we were suprised by the size of the apamartmant and we really enjoyed our hollidays

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.1
    Location is great, rooms are spacious and comfortable, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Wifi not available in the rooms - Restricted wellness facilities (for extra charge) - The bed is a bit hard - No a'la cart dinner is available, had to go out for a meal

    Location is great, rooms are spacious and comfortable, staff is kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    The room space is big and good for a family to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The restaurant is not as good as I expected. It doesn't have much to offer, especially for dinner.

    The room space is big and good for a family to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    amazing people, super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    amazing people, super friendly. My friends and I were definitely not the typical crowd, the hotel was very accommodating even though we partied into the early morning.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location and infrastructure for a mountain holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionist lady did not speak any English and confused my booking with someone else's with the same forname. It took me 15 minutes to convince her that I am a different person with the same forname. She didn't even apoligise... The breakfast assortment was way below previous year's. Only one waitress spoke English from the entire restaurant staff (some of whom were even acting arrogant if kindly asked to fill up something in the buffet). In 2014 they had an i-pad displaying specific weather forecast for the day: we were missing it very much in 2015.

    Excellent location and infrastructure for a mountain holiday with kids. Especially the approximity of tram and cogwheel railway station.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Manager was helpful and minded, so was the reception young...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No AC, it was so warm in the room, we couldn't stay there during the day.

    Manager was helpful and minded, so was the reception young lady. The room decorate nicely and specious

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    The location, the friendliness of the staff and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi or air conditioning in the room that had large windows facing west. The shower was unusable, there was no curtain and the roes faced the room so that when you turned it on it flooded the entire apartment. Bath was good!

    The location, the friendliness of the staff and the breakfast were all excellent. The room was spacious. I left my waterproof in the room when we left and the hotel posted it to me

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    superb breakfast selection, all rooms have great view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi not available in rooms, difficult to find entrance, kitchen made the hotel corridors smell like a school canteen, music from late night bar across the road

    superb breakfast selection, all rooms have great view, stylish and well maintained rooms, superb location in centre of village and only 5 minutes walk from the lake

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    Room spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff not always professional. Breakfast could be better. No wifi in our room - top floor.

    Room spacious and comfortable. Location next to train station.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location in all aspects, very nice, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only wired internet in the rooms, Wifi in reception area.

    Great location in all aspects, very nice, helpful and customer minded personell, private welness, spacious apartment, readiness for families with small kids, quiet, clean and new.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.3
    Big apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad Wifi Hard bed Hotel restaurant is noisy, if there are many kids Wellness is private, but you have to pay

    Big apartment Private wellness Helpful reception staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    6.3
    Milé dámy na recepcii - jediná záchrana služieb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel rovno na Štrbskom plese, izby čisté, ale vidieť praskliny na stenáach. Bývali sme v apartmánoch, kde neboli poháre na víno. Recepčná im ich nakoniec zohnala z reštaurácie. Najmilší personál bol na recepcii. Raňajky boli na 4 hviezdičky viac ako biedne. Miešeané vajčíčka, párky, klobása, biele rožky a biely chlieb plus trochu zeleniny a trochu cereálii. My sme prišli o pol desiatej - cez víkend a už to tam vyzeralo veľmi vyrabovane. Čašníci sa tam veľmi neobjavovali a keď som si vypýtala čierny čaj - vyzerala som, že ju veľmi obťažujem. Fakt bieda, a to má byť jeden z top hotelov pri plese. Radšej do milého penziónu. Na izbách nemajú wifi. ___ Poor breakfast, not very nice staff, disappointment for me - far away from 4 stars... No wifi in rooms.

    Milé dámy na recepcii - jediná záchrana služieb. ___ nice ladies on reception.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    The hotel has a good location, offers free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no WIFI signal in our apartment.

    The hotel has a good location, offers free parking. Our room was nice clean with a good view on the mountains, and very comfortable beds (I prefer harder beds, these were perfect for me). The staff was kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    8.8
    - good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - small children free of charge but when we arrived they said it did not include breakfasts (it should be stated clearly in the hotel details!) - poor WiFi

    - good location - skibus stop 30m from the hotel - very good breakfasts - you can buy skipasses at the reception for a good price - skiing school discounts for hotel guests

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    10
    nice and clean apartment, close to the railway station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I did not find any lacks

    nice and clean apartment, close to the railway station and also to skibus station, reasonable price, excellent ski storage, free parking

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    8.3
    Everything was in excellent shape, but then again, I paid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionists were nice although they seemed to have an awful lot of time on their hands. During our check-in, they talked to each other about work-unrelated stuff. It's not really that important, but I feel that it was possible to postpone the talk and just give us the access card to the room. (I met the total of 3 receptionists, and the third one was fully professional as expected). Also,

    Everything was in excellent shape, but then again, I paid for it. The breakfast was awesome, many choices, different food on different days. The rooms were really nice, big windows, the kind of view I wanted from this trip.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good location, very cosy apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was very slow...

    Nice hotel, good location, very cosy apartments

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.9
    nice new clean apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was ok

    nice new clean apartments

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    7.9
    amazing location, view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was a bit chaotic, items all over the place, needs to be better organized in order to reflect a 4 star facility

    amazing location, view

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.2
    great location, friendly reception staff, big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    selection of food at breakfast could be better, hard beds

    great location, friendly reception staff, big rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    Staff was helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was helpfull Breakfastt was nice

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    10
    Everything was excellet except coffe for breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    coffe and juice at breakfast

    Everything was excellet except coffe for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    the friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the friendliness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi only at reception/restaurant

    spacious room

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    Spacious and new rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi not available in the room. If you want a good breakfast...you must be the first!

    Spacious and new rooms. Excellent localization. Restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    very nice hitel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    missing of Aircondition !!!

    very nice hitel. we'll com again

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    9.6
    - breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - very slow wi-fi

    - breakfast - friendly staff - good atmosphere - big and well equipped apartments

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Hotel Crocus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: