Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau GrandCastle 4 stars

Magdaleny Zai 1 , 03101 Liptovský Hrádok, Slovakia

#2 of 14 hotels in Liptovský Hrádok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and definitely worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only few things that could improve would be few details - pillows that were not very comfortable, cleanliness of the bathroom - particulary the bathtub - and the TV, that was too far from the bed (I recommend it could be either bigger or not there at all)

    Our allround experience was great. Very nice and special ambient and you could see that they really care to improve and keep the good level. The receptionist was super friendly, we got a free upgrade to a nicer room and our dinner was great, even though we are vegetarians and they didnt have many choices for us in the menu - they created smth especially for us and it was very delicious. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice place, really good food, nice bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some workers at dinning room were "not nice", but I thing it is just the "culture of East block"

    Nice place, really good food, nice bedrooms. Just perfect place to rest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    It’s a real castle that is being reconstructed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    It’s a real castle that is being reconstructed. We stayed in room III since upon booking I requested a room with the free standing bathtub and was incredibly happy to hear the request was fulfilled. Furniture and all the stuff at the hotel creates authentic local atmosphere. More modern items/facilities are not new but neat and clean. Room was clean and beautiful. Good food at the restaurant and for the hotel guests there are free tickets for the castle overview tour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    For history lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-out time is very early, 10.00 am and you cannot even request late check-out.

    The hotel is at a beautiful historic site and reconstructed with a lot of attention and love from the owner, keeping the historic details to the maximum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Poor breakfast, room not cleaned (they forgot), poor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, room not cleaned (they forgot), poor customer service, nice dog...but i don't need him to wake up me at 5-6 am in front of my door...or asking for food on my table...and please remove spider nets and dust!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    One night is too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a wonderful historic hotel in a beautiful location. We received a very warm welcome to our giant suite in the manor house of this medieval castle. Delicious dinner with impeccable service in the restaurant and a very comfortable night in our suite. Every member of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had the best stay possible. We stayed here on a road trip in Central Europe. We will definitely book a few nights here the next time we visit Slovakia. Ďakujem!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.5
    Excellent Service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fitness room is not in same level with other facilities but with these outdoor possibilities it will be needed only if weather is really poor.

    Excellent Service. Rooms and public areas with very good style decrated, fit old castle style and cute hotel dog Dio is as friendly as whole personnel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Superb stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -a wider variety for breakfast; -really tiny spa area; -maybe some sun-beds in that amazing courtyard? -a safe and a mini-fridge in the room would be really appreciated; -some areas/spots require some renovation work or at least some more attention.

    -super staff; thank you for the amazing introduction performed by the family member, who was very professional and kind; -free upgraded room, a very nice surprise; -great lunch and dinner; -nice location, including here the creek/river from behind the castle; -very nice terrace; -general feeling of staying in a special place, with lots of history and high quality decorations and furniture. And thank you Dio, for playing with us and with my daughter in particular :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was charming and language (I speak only English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely, but a larger comfortable chair needed for 21st century men. The bathtub needed a better shower attachment.

    The staff was charming and language (I speak only English.) was not an issue. Beautiful setting and the castle renovation result remarkable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Just loved this place. Cathers to its guests. Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect! Not crazy however about the bear skins decorating the hotel.

    The fact that front desk exceeded any expectations we had regarding requests we made with restrictions to our diet( vegan) and arranged for the kitchen to prepare a vegan dinner for us and had a table reserved for us in the morning for breakfast filled with vegan food and beverages. Denise, the server in the evening was a delight- polite, helpful and professional. The beds were comfortable. Loved that the hotel had a dog. The hotel was beautiful. The spa was an added bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice fireplace in the bar, but they refused to light it .... they only do on special occasions Place would have been nicer and its not nice to hear that they dont do sth for you but for others Like second rate guest? Would also have increased our consumption, so a pity for the business as well

    Staff was friendly Building great and has potential Wellness was nice too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    A Hotel With Lots of Character and Friendly Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting from the car park to the hotel entrance was troublesome as the car park is made of gravel. Trying to drag wheely bags through gravel is difficult, especially when it's pouring with rain. There was very little signage to indicate where exactly the entrance was and then it was only in Slovak, and not also in English. To then get from the entrance to the reception meant going down one set of steps and back up another. Not so easy with heavy bags and no porters to help. Given the status of the property it would have been better to have had linen napkins instead of paper ones. Although there was a very large TV in the room with 14 channels, not one of them was in English. Youtube came to the rescue! There are only two ways to get into the property - through the car park which has an electronic gate and then through the restaurant entrance, which is located out of the way and out of view, so not easy to find.

    The suite was very large and also very comfortable. A shower would have been a bonus in the bathroom, but the bath was also OK. The property itself is amazing and the restoration has been carried out with care. The character of the property has been enhanced with the restoration and the decor fits the character very well. The breakfast was OK - a reasonable choice of food and drink. The staff were all very helpful and spoke good English. I arrived mid afternoon after a four-hour drive in pouring rain and needed some lunch, and a waitress gave me a menu, on which were all cooked meals. When I asked if I could have a simple sandwich she spoke to the chef and 10 minutes later I was able to enjoy a very large and very tasty ham sandwich and a much-needed pot of tea!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    I loved our stay here! Very beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu at the restaurant very limited, service very slow. Every time we wanted to pay we had to go find a waitress ourselves.

    Amazing location, nice rooms, good outside patio sitting. Bed was comfortable, room had good amenities. Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Experience an authentic castle and old mansion...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't book a breakfast, so have no opinion on this, everything else was fantastic!

    Amazing place, both the castle and the old mansion offer a wonderful experience and travel you back in time. The restoration (still taking place at parts of the old castle) is perfectly done and the guest can enjoy all modern facilities (internal swimming pool, spa, sauna, etc) without losing the feel of the ambience of the place. All the rooms are nicely decorated. The restaurant offers a minimum selection of gourmet dishes, but the food was very nice. The lake by the castle (old ditch) is also nice. Will certainly consider staying there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Our stay was like in a historical fantasy movie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything, really.

    Whole hotel was beautiful, from the hotel entrance door to our room. There is authentic antique furniture and decoration everywhere, you are continuously feeling like on the castle tour but without restrictions or travel guide. We love owner's passion for saving and restoring whole place. Nearby panorama is breathtaking. We will definitely come back. Hotel sauna, jacuzzi and pool are (hot) icing on the cake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    5 stars for the atmosphere. It was like being in a movie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived very late, lady of the castle stayed up to greet us. Everything was surreal as they showed us to our room in the castle, going through the dark corridors of the castle, which looked amazing. It was like being in a vampire movie, when the innocent and naive tourists arrive, who will then be later sacrificed :-). We received even received a bottle of free prosecco on arrival. To sum up, 5 stars for atmosphere, for staff and for everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a restored castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a fabulous apartment. The staff were very helpful and tiendly. The hotel itself is amazing and the location for exploring the local area is excellent. We will definitely return here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    One of the most beautiful European castle hotels
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather - too hot :-)

    My room no. 3 overlooked the garden and was full of antiques. High painted ceilings, amazing antique furniture, a desk that I wish to have at home, and a great and comfortable bed with a selection of pillows, that's what made my room really a chateau chamber. The crystal vase with fresh flowers was just the perfect final touch. A marble bathroom with a standing bathtub in which I could not miss to take bath, and through the open window I looked straight out of the tub at the nicely smelling pines, and I just wondered who lived in my room centuries ago. A great and up-to-date gastronomy, which is still difficult to find in Slovakia even in a better hotel, is a matter of course. Excellent breakfast, helpful staff. But what most impressed me was the castle owner, who is constantly present among the guests and interested in their views. During conversation her guests with children came to say goodbye her and she even knew their names. The entire chateau is full of paintings, column clocks, and each piece seemed to have been very carefully chosen. On the way to the pool and the sauna I came across a jasmine tree in the corridor, its scent was so fascinating that I went back several times. Visitors come to see the castle, and in one of the halls you can watch a movie where you can see how the castle with the hotel looked before the reconstruction. I will definitely come back here and thank you for the perfect service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful place, the most beautiful and luxurious hotel we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A wonderful place, the most beautiful and luxurious hotel we have been in our lives, it is imperative to invite, as in heaven, a comfortable bed, pampering room, lake and gorgeous garden, in short, we did not want to leave

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful rooms in picturesque scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is a bit basic (limited selection of fruit and sweet offerings) considering it's a four star hotel. Not all rooms are pram accessible, but to be expected since it is a historical structure.

    Beautiful rooms in picturesque scenery. The hotel is very well taken care of; the staff is friendly. Make sure to take the free tour of the castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Be a king for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing beatiful place. Very clean and quiet. Everybody from the staff was extremely polite and very friendly. Rooms were clean and very confortable. Parking was also in the hotel's yard, so cars were in safe place. Restaurant is very tasteful and everything is fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Historic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are furnished with turn-of-the-century furniture which contributes to the historic looks, but cupboard in our room needed interior renovation and provided little opportunities to hang clothes

    The atmosphere of the renovated castle, quietness, restaurant, eating and drinking out in the castle garden, information provided about the castle by the very friendly owner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Excelent
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have a more options better choice for different mornings

    Great location full of energy and history. Beautiful place for every special occasion.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.9
    Very nice stay but with exception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localisation is quite far from Jasna Chopok. But it is ok. It depends on what is purpose of our stay. For example - if we were focused on skiing it was quite far for us. On the first day after night we had not got water. For this price it should not happen. Breakfast and service were very bad. Not suite to the standard of the hotel. For us those breakfasts were the worst even had. For the first day there were not any hot meal like sausage or eggs. On another there were only for first 5 people! And there were no key to understand why it was so. I will recomend not to take breakfasts at this hotel. Also wellness was poor due to the hygiene. Very fine sauna, pool but smell were bad, not should happen - but old castle...

    Acomodation, atmosphere and whole object were perfect. Looks really nice and charming. It was a lovely time to stay there but there were some exception.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    True Romantic Time Travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredible historic venue, authentic, super clean & comfortable, big rooms, great food and lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    We definitely would come back and would recommend to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative,everything was perfect

    The whole atmosphere of the hotel exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, carefully decorated corridors,rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, carefully decorated corridors,rooms and garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Lovely castle, great atmosphere, very obliging staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Lovely castle, great atmosphere, very obliging staff and excellent food. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Personal approach of Chateu staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal approach of Chateu staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    If you travel to Slovakia take the time to sleep in this castle in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing!!!!

    an absolute thrill!!! a beautiful castle in the Tatras Mountains. Nice romantic dinner..great service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place in castle, stylish old equipment in rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place in castle, stylish old equipment in rooms, hall, restaurant everywhere.. really nice experience

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    -old castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -sink is situated in room, not in bathroom

    -old castle -wellness -medieval style -localization

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.5
    Wonderful setting in an old castle, with tasteful decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not cleaned up; the receptionist seemed suprised but I read it also in other guests' comments so it's probably not uncommon. There was no curtain in the shower-thub so a lot of water on the floor. Restaurant closes at 20.30 and opens at 8.00. The lift was not working. None of these things were a big issue for us, but might be for others.

    Wonderful setting in an old castle, with tasteful decor. Spa facilities available. Very quiet

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    9.2
    Girls on reception were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over-priced restaurant that didn't refund us for a badly corked glass of wine, brought us a new bottle of a better wine then simply added the higher cost to our bill! They should have given us complimentary glass as recompense! Also, leaving early on the last day for our flight we were promised a breakfast box to go at 7am yet person on duty knew nothing about it so we had to leave without even a snack/drink.

    Girls on reception were excellent. Dio the resident dog was also a real character!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in the Chateau, it is very charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We enjoyed our stay in the Chateau, it is very charming place. Everything we needed at one place - tasty food served in nice restaurant, room was clean with stylish furniture so we could feel the historic atmosphere. Staff was very nice, always ready to help and to give the necessary information. We loved the relaxing sauna and lounge. Looking forward to come with friends again and enjoy the atmosphere of the Wine cellar which is really unique! I will highly recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking to have nice time in Slovakia with easy access to all places - mountains and sights.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    6.7
    The building itself and the rooms are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception was closed before 9 o'clock (why does a Hotel reception close at all??) which meant we arrived to a completely dark and shut up place at 8:30pm We had no hot water the first night, the internet didn't work and none of the "night service" telephone numbers worked. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is "typically eastern european". These issues were fixed the next day with not a single "sorry" being said - they left a bottle of red wine as an apology in our room, but it wasn't a great start at all

    The building itself and the rooms are amazing. You are literally staying in a medieval castle that has been done up very tastefully. The food and service in the restaurant (when it was open...) was actually very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    It is a historical style hotel, old in a good way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a historical style hotel, old in a good way. You can visit the castle while staying. Tours are available. The only down side maybe the breakfast. But it is still much better than the US continental standard.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.2
    Everything was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They forgot to clean our room the first day. Not a big deal!

    Everything was very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    The atmosphere at the castle is unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The atmosphere at the castle is unique. It is beautifully presented. The staff are welcoming and we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.5
    Nice castle and large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They forgot to clean our rooms. Not a big deal but I expected more.

    Nice castle and large rooms.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful old castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful old castle!!! 고성에서의 하루 밤. 좋았어요... 적극 추천...

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    tremendous spirit atmosphere, details of renovation, rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    tap beer:-)

    tremendous spirit atmosphere, details of renovation, rooms, indoor related space, outdoor, the way you connected the old with recent

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.6
    Staying in the old Renaissance manor house was a unique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staying in the old Renaissance manor house was a unique experience. Excellent restaurant. The Caves about 20 km away are worth a visit.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Chateau GrandCastle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: