Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand hotel Starý Smokovec 4 stars

Stary Smokovec, 062 01 Vysoké Tatry, Slovakia

#7 of 13 hotels in Vysoké Tatry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1199 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Old style beautiful hotel in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food is a little poor... I was expecting a more luxury hotel, the food is not up to that standard. Orange juice for breakfast is really bad (water with some colour and sugar) but... you can order the real stuff for extra money.

    Beautiful building centrally located. Nice and comfortable rooms. Good Sauna.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Amazing - high standard hotel based in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar area needs a bit of modern update of the furniture.

    Well located, clean hotel with a high standard of service. Rooms were very clean and Spa area was an excellent addition after hiking in the mountains. Staff was very friendly esp.in the SPA area, very helpful and professional. We will come back again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Fine but under construction
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside needs a little bit facelift. Inside the noise from the corridor is disturbing, especially during working hours when the renovation is going on. The carpet floor was not the best solution to me.

    Location near to the railway station and funicular railway to the mountains. Looks charming old architecture. The surroundings is beautiful and very central. The staff was ready to help. Sometimes even with a smile. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Grand hotel in a nice mountain village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well preserved grand hotel that still has the style of the time around 1900. Well renovated. The management apologised for some disturbance from renovation works but we were not disturbed at all. Friendly staff. Nice spa area with a pool and three saunas. Good restaurant - we took the half board option, which was a good choice. Large breakfast buffet (however, the only black tea available was Earl Grey). Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Location and facility were excellent for hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall between rooms was quite thin, not soundproof. You can hear when they talked.

    Location and facility were excellent for hiking. Spacious area for guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    the location, the building, the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i dont know what about the other rooms but room I had, 101, is not a 4* hotel room. it was run down and would need renovation but it shouldn't be offered as a regular standard room.

    the location, the building, the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Traditional building being kept really neatly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I've e-mailed the property a few days prior to arrival and confirmed that we would be put in a room with a bathtub, our room was only with a shower, but it might have been just that they tried to give us a room with better view, so it's OK. Also, the water out of the faucet was a bit toward red, might be contaminated with iron, though I understand that it's a difficult problem.

    The breakfast had wide variety of selections! The view Visoke Tatry from the room was magnificent! The atmosphere of the historical building was succinctly solemn and the restaurant tables and chairs were luxurious! We were given a room with a spectacular view of the mountains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    * definitely has a grand hotel flair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues, which, however should not occur at a grand hotel: * Billard equipment really needs to be replaced (is badly worn out) * floor in the wellness area was slippery (please wipe more frequently)

    * definitely has a grand hotel flair * great Easter programme!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    If you wish your stay in H-T to be in style, there is no better choice than any of the Grand hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only minuses were that the rooms were before reconstruction and there are not enough parking places for the hotel capacities.

    The Hotel staff was really **** (4 star), location is gorgeous, views simply exceptional. Buffets for breakfast and dinner with wide choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    beautiful location , reasonable value, enjoyable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wallpaper seams were peeling, but I understand everything is to be decorated this year

    This place was clean, warm and surprisingly cosy for such a grand building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Friendly personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel equipment is really old and needs to refurbish Paper walls in the rooms - you can hear all your neighbors Wellness opens only at 3pm

    Friendly personal A la carte dinner menu is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Fine historical hotel, but needs a bit of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms. Wallpapers were unsticked in several places. Carpet and sofa looked very bad. Thin walls. You can hear your neighbors. Good coffee only for extra fee. No free drinks for dinner, even water or tea. Ski resort in front of the hotel are for very beginners. You should drive 10 minutes to find a good piste. (not a minus, just note)

    Stylish old fashioned historical hotel. Good spa facilities, big pool. Very helpful and friendly staff Good food (we had half board) Free parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    I expected more for the money it cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Of 4 star hotel I have simply expected more...facilities did not meet high price. If the price was 50% lower, it would reflect the reality. Our room was very very simply furnished but the major issue was in the bathroom...floor tiles were cracked at several places and definitely before reconstruction. In wellness center there were signs of wear-off...especially in steam sauna several tiles were separated. I did not feel cozy or at home at this place, unfortunately.

    Food was always tasty with wide variety and staff very helpful. Wifi availability was ok, yet the speed of connection was okay at most. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for the holidays over new year and it was a pure catastrophe. The Hotel was extremely full with little children and the cherry on the top was a family with three little children and a non stop howling dog that stayed next door! No possibility of changing room. Simply unacceptable! A four star Hotel with supposedly long history and prestige turned into a kindergarten. Unfortunately we could not enjoy a quite mountain holidays. An other critique about the interior, torn wallpapers and squeaking beds are not representable for the supposed quality the hotel stands for. Run down interiors and way too small spa for the amount of visitors.

    Nice and helpfull staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Best location Hotel in the middle of Tatra mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I missed was coffees in the room but we could get hot drinks from downstairs so it was good.

    Brilliant breakfast. Friendly staff. Really great location close to station and lift to skiing areal just in front of the hotel. We went to the spa every evening. Really recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Good stay, if the weather is fine and you know what to do around)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - overall impression is quite high, probably the pool could have been bigger - nothing

    - perfect location between LOmnica and Strebske Pleso , close to sledging slope - good restaurants around - not crowdy, nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location, not so great value for what we paid per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's spa wasn't the best, the massage service was descent, the Jacuzzi water were cold and also the wet Sauna steam wasn't strong enough.

    The fact it's close to the city of Poprad, the easy access and the facilities around, also, of course, the magnificent view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel but problem with hotel management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel staff and director wanted to cancel my agreement with booking.com and change reservation to different hotel in Tatranska Lomnica. They used negociation out off booking.com. They contacted me week ago and they claimed that the hotel is closed. When I arrived I found that it is not true. I booked the room in Feb for Sep. The room was occupied. After 1 hour discussion they change opinion and found the solution and offer different room.

    I liked location, old style of the hotel, welness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a great stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior is worn out, it need renovations and sometimes there was a little sewage smell in the bathroom, but nothing major to complain about.

    We had a great stay here. We had a half-board and the food was amazing, we really enjoyed both breakfast and dinner, it was buffet-style and there was plenty of options to choose from. Our room was really big and had a nice view over Stary Smokovec, the hotel is wonderfully located, there are also lots of hiking trails nearby. The wellness is also great, the pool is large enough to have a little swim and there were 3 spacious saunas and a hot tub. Overall a really pleasant experience, the staff were nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Feel the Tatras in a stylish way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some spots require a bit of refurbishing, wellness center accessible only via stairs on a "minus 2 level". Tricky walkaround with a stroller on the ground floor.

    Friendly and helpful staff, very good cuisine, nice historical facilities, right in the center of Stary Smokovec. Saunas and swimming pool are a standard now, but this hotel offers still very high standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location at the bottom of the mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a bit hard, and if you ask for a cab be prepared to wait about 20 minutes.

    Perfect location at the bottom of the mountain. The spa is so lovely and great as well - definitely worth trying out. So happy I stayed here in Stary Smokovec!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    An excellent old hotel, full of charm in a magnificent setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the dining room was far too bright, needs to be dimmed to create an atmosphere to this beautiful room.

    Breakfast was excellent, we paid to have a menu choice dinner and this was a very high standard and excellent value. The Spa and pool were beautiful, in a great area with lots of light and good views from the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is in the centre of Stary Smokovec.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel needs upgrading.

    The hotel is in the centre of Stary Smokovec. It is old hotel with beautiful tall ceilings and large rooms. The staff is very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    2.9
    Dirty and tired hotel, poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was advertised as "deluxe" and we expected It to be a "treat". However, the room was tired and dirty, with yellow patches all over the wallpaper, dirty sofa, broken hangers in the wardrobe, broken and not needed cot bed (apparently provided for our 4 years old son!). The staff didn't even make a bed for our son, but I had to make it myself. Very very disappointed customer service and the hotel. We feel we were midsold because the hotel was not as advertised. You should add OLD AND TIRED WITH POOR CUROMER SERVICE within a description.

    Pool and spa were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Aging star in need of an i
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A ling way to go to restore this buikding to its firmer glory. It's a tired old beauty with incredible potential but needs a coetic upgrade to achieve true 4 star status.

    Good location. Charming older hotel with obvious historical value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Food excellent, some of the waiters had good English but all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, which opened in 1904, desperately needs a face-lift.The outside needs a good coat of paint and the bedrooms are badly in need of redecoration. They are rightly proud of their history and it must have been a fantastic hotel in its heyday, but at the moment it looks tatty and tired. The reception staff could do with more English or German speakers.However overall it is a very good, comfortable hotel and would gladly stay there again.

    Food excellent, some of the waiters had good English but all were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the menu and drinks offered. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Desperate need for refurb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and bath were really old and horrible, no curtain, so the whole bathroom wet after having a shower. Sink did not drain well. Sofa in the room looked very old, used and dirty :(

    Staff were fantastic, food nice, hotel and room really spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    It could so easily have been great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor with cold food and drinks. The bar was closed on the day we arrived and although we were told we could have a drink in the dining room we were made to feel awkward by the staff. It's welcome and atmosphere did not match a 4 star hotel.

    The hotel was in an excellent position. It had a certain old style charm. We did not use the sauna etc but those who did seemed to enjoy the experience. We felt this hotel has a lot of potential but needs to be managed better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    8.8
    Grand old house with its historical aura.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some little repairs needed in some places...

    Grand old house with its historical aura. Like the option for half board and offered food was quite variable and tasty! Spa and pool was great too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    Grand looking historic mountain hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Torn lounge in room needing recovering. Bit run down needs tidy up.

    Great location. Beautiful historic building with interesting history. Close to train, cable car and nature walks. Chef was great and adapted meals for dietary requirements. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    The right place to stay for those who like historical atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The historical hotel deserves some renovation step by step. The breakfast is really delicious, but the juice machine sometimes gives very light drink with more water and less fruit.

    We had 2 rooms in the old hictorical hotel for a long weekend. Central location, customer oriented staff, tasty food, nice wellness centre - all these to support a pleasant stay. We return to this Hungarian origin hotel always with pleasure, we feel like at home. This time we had some problem with one of the 2 rooms. The Manager was very kind and helpful and gave another, higher category room. I really appreciate her flexibility. This gesture further strenghtens my confidence.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    Simply Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has vitage athmosphere, but in some points need renovation. However it did not disturb our stay.

    Room was large, comfortable. Offer for breakfast very good, with possibility to add some paid options, which was fine. Restaurant was a surprise - everything was fantastic! We enjoyed it a lot! Wellness was good, not too crowdy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    The best service I have ever encountered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best service I have ever encountered. I travel a lot on business and on holiday around Europe- the staff at Grand is unbeatable by hotels in Poland, Spain, Paris, London and you name it. You feel like a noble travelling in 1920s. Keep it up and thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    7.5
    I really appreciate the approach of the hotel staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs renovation, is quite shabby. I would expect lower prices - especially in low season.

    I really appreciate the approach of the hotel staff, especially of bartender.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    Staff at night was not terribly interested in asking kids to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at night was not terribly interested in asking kids to quit using the hall as a playground after 10 PM! A lot of people's rest was interrupted as a result. The next morning management seemed to have empathy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    A Classic Art Nouveau Gem in the Heart of the High Tatras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A stay at the Grand Hotel Stary Smokovec is like stepping back in time to an era when things were a bit less hectic and more refined. The Art Nouveau architecture is beautiful and the entire complex has a comfortable, lived-in feeling that, while not pristine, somehow adds to its charm. Given the almost surreal atmosphere of this gem embedded within the stunning High Tatras mountain range, it's easy to imagine Fidel Castro playing a spirited game of table tennis with the hotel staff here during an official visit in 1972. Plus, the hotel's location, in Stary Smokovec, is perfect for exploring the string of lovely nearby villages to the east and to the west via the convenient (and incredibly economical) electric railway that connects them all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Great hotel - a blast from the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, it is a great hotel but it could do with some renovation, it all seemed a little bit dated, as if stuck in 1953, it added to its charm but sprucing up is definitely needed to bring it up to speed with the needs of a modern traveller

    Breakfast was very good, nice selection of hot and cold food, fruit, pastries, etc... rooms were nice and big, bathrooms very good and clean, Great point is - 3 different saunas and a nice swimming pool. I/we would definitely return and stay longer to explore High Tatras a little more!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Hotel with atmosphere and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suggest to invest in changing sofas in the room, looked dirty and had blood stain. Did not feel well to sit on it

    Overall atmosphere of hotel and staff. View was great too and our room was extremely spacious! Stayed in deluxe room. We had our 9 month old with us, so i welcomed the fact that we could sit in the living area while she was already asleep in the sleeping area. Another very positive experience was the restaurant. We had half board, so you can choose from 3 menus for dinner. The dinner menu did not contain info on allergens( i dont eat dairy). So when my saffron rice with cherry tomatoes and peas arrived and it was made with cream and parmesan, the waiter brought me an alternative with chicken within 10 mins. Food overall was delicious. When it comes to bfast, i have had better when it comes to variety but it was still good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.9
    Grand hotel let down by restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was completely let down by the restaurant. The waiting staff were lovely, and the restaurant had an extensive wine list (including some very expensive wines indeed), but the buffet food was a joke - I have had better in a works canteen. The nights when they did not have a buffet were even worse - very little choice, amateur food, and the courses arrived so quickly the meal was over in no time. Such a shame - the lovely setting deserves so much better.....

    The hotel is in a lovely position, handy for the railway station. It certainly looks grand from the outside, and has a historic feel inside. Personally we liked the chandeliers and the 'faded elegance'. Breakfast was good, and the bar area was lovely for relaxed coffees or after dinner drinks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. The parking is a little chaotic, tell the attendant that you are lodging at the Grand hotel to avoid paying a fee.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Spa was excellent, saunas were properly heated, even for nordic standards. Great attention to detail and comfort. Delicious breakfast in a pleasant setting. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and location perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Great view over Tatra mountains
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel which splendor has passed away many years ago. Need renovation.

    Great view over Tatra mountains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stylish base to explore high tatras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fin de siècle style

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing in the Wellness Centre and practically everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, breakfast, nice oldstyle hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, breakfast, nice oldstyle hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Half board evening menu rather limited and quite plain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half board evening menu rather limited and quite plain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel. Better than many 5 star hotels I've been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Exceptional view from the balcony. Great choice of local wine at the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A Four stars hotel should provide bell ( luggage) service

    excellent restaurant & meals generous and elegant common spaces

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need some renovation

    Atmosphere in hotel was awesome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Coffee at the pool was TERRIBLE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at the pool was TERRIBLE!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    The hotel staff is not fully fluent in English and rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff is not fully fluent in English and rooms require some refurbishing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Location, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture

    Location, food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect mountain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed, but small complaint!

    Beautiful old hotel, the spa is so great and the views are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bathroom poor. No shower curtain in bathtub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location with great history and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer bed

    Bed very hard and uncomfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Location close to the mountain, perfect view on the valley,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location close to the mountain, perfect view on the valley, breakfast and dinner arrangements are very good, wellness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Friendly staff:

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    If it's good enough for Castro it's good enough for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could use an upgrade

    It is a magnificent place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Charm of the past century in a building in good shape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphrere! Building, good public transportation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Grand old hotel in the high mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful views of the mountains from the room. Old time elegance in the public areas. Breakfast buffet was more than ample. Grand

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    In general good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With this size room and bathroom You do not expect to find so small shower ...

    Nice stuff, good breakfast, spacious rooms, very good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Everything OK as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything OK as usual. Warm atmosphere and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    semi good! Too much money spent with booking with booking.com Other travel agent -50% less!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No real coffe! Extra fee! Amasing! Breakfest were poor! No flood for kids!

    Well. Location only!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice holiday at nice hotel !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.7
    The Wellness is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both dinner and breakfast were below standard

    The Wellness is very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Amazing atmosphere, helpful staff, great food, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing atmosphere, helpful staff, great food, nice wellness! We will come back again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small number of beds near pool

    Middle of High Tatras

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    5.0
    Was not worth of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was not working room 105 when I call reception I was waiting for answer 45min I light in the room was not working

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.5
    Overall enjoyable. Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Grand old hotel, but a bit tattered in the furnishings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Great stay in Stary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater water pipes noisy

    Old world charm in beautiful setting

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    Old and uncomfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and uncomfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Pricey but nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked a contraction site

    Over the top decoration and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel great customer service NOT a communist type hotel at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel outside lights shinning through the windows at night

    excellent staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Furniture dated, worn out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture dated, worn out.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand hotel Starý Smokovec traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: