Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Matyšák 3 stars

Pražská 15, 81104 Bratislava, Slovakia

#29 of 108 hotels in Bratislava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1263 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.9
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the star rating it was very good.

    The bed was actually the least hard I had on my recent holiday so was the most comfortable. Great size room, bathroom renovated and wonderful shower pressure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    6.7
    We ordered large double bed, but bed consisted of two parts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered large double bed, but bed consisted of two parts.. so it was not comfortable for us. In breakfast wasn't fresh fruits, omelet, fresh salads.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    A unique fine dining experience and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service in the restaurant could have been a bit better. The girl that served us was a bit confused but very dedicated, whereas her superiors were a bit cold, and whenever we would wait for an answer to something, or wanted to pay, or anything out of the ordinary they would make us wait for several minutes without telling us why we are waiting in the first place, and even sometimes ignoring us.

    Clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast, amazing menu at the restaurant - we had wild game, beef stake and fantastic wine for very affordable prices, and there was a cigar room where we could smoke and drink their very own VSOP brandy, which was also great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    My favourite for our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly at hotel and restaurant. Room 110 had balcony, no noise, very spacious and well appointed. Had room service if you wanted. Had a lift. Restaurant stocked with house wines. Our dinner was delicious. Waiter showed us their well stocked cellar afterwards. Only 15 minutes walk to the old town, ten minutes walk to the railway stn.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    A very fine hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel exceeded expectations. I largely chose it as it looked fairly straight forward to drive to, had free parking and was close to the city centre (about 10 minutes walk away). We arrived fairly early on the Friday morning and the staff obtained rooms for us. The rooms were lovely - quiet, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The evening meal was exceptional - beautiful food and attentive, helpful service. This is a very fine hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    getting around on public transport from the hotel ,was very confusing on the main road

    The hotel was top couldn:t be better ,the young man on reception was so helpful and friendly,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Bratislava gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant closed at 10pm and no local bars around for a trip. You had to have a good walk. Not great especially if you have a late flight

    Excellent location, staff very friendly. Comfortable rooms and easy hotel to find. Restaurant was excellent and food very good indeed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Would book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurant wasn't too friendly.

    The staff at the reception was nice and helpful. Clean, spacious room, good breakfast. The hotel is 10 minute walk from the railway station, 15 minute walk from the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel Matysak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room altought outside temperature was only 15 degree celsius. In the room there is only internal transferable air conditioner which was very loud. If you open the window there is another thing for which I don't no what is it but it is also loud.

    Spacious room with spacious bathroom and free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was a twin bed with an annoying gap in the middle Aircon wasn’t effective enough in the room Really nice hotel, but it’s in a neglected and unattractive part of Bratislava

    Very clean Great breakfast Friendly staff Nice room with fridge and drinks Good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Close to train station 8 min walk, near to the city 15 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station 8 min walk, near to the city 15 min walk. Nice rooms, comfy bed, clean facilities and kind staff. Highly recommended to stay in Bratislava.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served downsrairs in the restaurant cellar with specific smell

    Very nice hotel with friendly stuff and big rooms. Its not far away from the railwaystation although you need to go down from the station, cross the bridfe and to go up the parallel street. Not so far away from the old town, Slavin memorial and the Castle.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    just a day to see the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As with a lot of central euro hotels they need permanent aircon fitted to rooms not just supplying a fan on request.Check taxi prices from the town before you get in!.

    on site parking resto good, breakfast good,a bit out of town but opposite the rail station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay for Bratislava!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that it did not have air conditioning. However this was something I was aware of ahead of time, so I cannot complain. The hotel was nice enough to at least have small fans placed in each room which helped.

    There was a private parking lot around the back of the hotel. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were nice. It was about 15 minutes or so walk to downtown. We could have taken public transport but found it easier to walk the straight shot to the city. The restaurant downstairs was charming and had delicious meals. We had dinner there the first night and had a young waiter who was fantastic! This is also where breakfast was served each morning which was a typical European breakfast, it was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    big room but long walk from railway station(big u turn though it seems just across in google map), not much for vegetarian in breakfast no air conditioning, no wifi

    big size room , good staff and wine cellar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Safe parking, comfy bed and not too far away from the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not anything special, everything was very salty, could not eat many things on the table there because of the amount of salt.

    Safe parking place in behind of the hotel for motorcycle, a nice restaurant downstairs, close to the railway station and a reasonable walk to the center. Comfortable bed and clean, spacious room. Friendly, english speaking staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the breakfast - the staff there was not interested in filling the empty trays or cleaning the used tables, on the second morning there hasn't been any staff for half an hour, during which all food was gone, and more hotel guests kept coming trying to have breakfast. Coffee served at breakfast is also very bad and an option for expresso should be also available.

    Tranquility is the mark of the country, the city and also of this hotel - ideally located if arriving by train or by plane - bus 61 takes 20 minutes and stops very close to the hotel. The rooms are huge, very comfortable, fit with all what you may need. Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Resturant is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk with luggage from train station to hotel is difficult. No air conditioning and the provided fan is very noisy.

    Resturant is good. Close the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    brief but enjoyable and close to the rail way station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was separate from the bathroom which was not what we are used to but not a major issue

    friendly English speaking staff who assisted with late arrivals due to transport delays Hotel is what is states and is near the train station not that you would know as never heard any trains! Breakfast is continental with grilled eggs and continental garlic/seasoned sausages as a hot alternative, which we found enjoyable. The mini bar price is acceptable with prices for drinks lower than UK expected hotel prices. The shower was very good and the bed was very comfortable. All round a good hotel to visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Useful hotel for visiting Bratislava.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just great.

    Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, especially when we wanted to visit Devin Castle by bus. The room was a good size, well equipped and we loved the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Small boutique hotel near the main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast the first day was a disappointment. I was there 30 minutes before it closed and most items were gone. The staff wasn't very welcoming. I had to ask for coffee as none was available. The second day it was significantly better so hopefully they just had an off day before.

    Reception was great! Close location to the main station and close enough to the city centre. Great price and I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant without any worries!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I loved how easy it was to get there from the airport. Just a bus ride from airport to train station which costed me € 0.90 and then a 10 min walk. I loved the friendless of staff (specially Petra), super helpful and couldn’t do enough to make my stay easy! The rooms were clean & comfy and breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    good rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t go down for breakfast early tough luck they don’t replace or the coffee. The two guys who cleaned and served breakfast were miserable. Also no coffee or tea in room.

    Property had parking. It was clean and tidy. Reception staff lovely and helpful. We walked into town was a good 20mins steady pace. But transport to Old Town not far from hotel so good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    I was a little worried about the region, because the hotel is close to the main train station but don't be like me :) The region is pretty nice, it is nice walk to the city center. There is also a bus/trolley station near by so if you prefer you could take a bus for 2 stops. The location is just perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Silvia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the portions in the restorant for lunch/dinner are extremly small.

    Walking distance to city center, good breakfast, clean and quet room. Everything that i want! Perfect hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    As a tourists for 1 day only, we were happy to visit Bratislava and stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I assume that breakfast could more interesting with more fruits.

    Cosy hotel placed not far from the historical center of the city. Good cleaning, nice double bed, good wifi. In our apartment, bathroom and toilet were separate. Both were very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    A shame our visit was so short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is only 10 minutes from the station, but we spent 30 and didn't find it due to poor directions.

    The directions to the hotel were unhelpful. Once we had found the hotel we were happy with the room,but were disappointed that we were too late to dine there.The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was simple in an attractive dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, comfortable and spacious room with its toilet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, comfortable and spacious room with its toilet separated from Shower room ! Good breakfast included ! Pretty convenient with a bus stop at the left corner - can take bus to lain train station , to old town n etc Or simply walk to old town And attractions within 15 -20 mins

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    More than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better.

    The hotel has a large parking and it was included in the room price. The hotel is close to the city center, about 15 minutes of walking. The room is nice and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was rather poor. At the breakfast, everytime when they were running out of something like bread, water, coffee you had to ask the staff to bring more.

    Convenient location. Walking distance to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is well located and has a nice restaurant and wine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is written that the hotel is located just near railway station. In fact. it takes much longer to get to the building, as there is no direct access from station, and that is not very convenient in case you travel with heavy luggage.

    The hotel is well located and has a nice restaurant and wine cellar with own production just in the same building. It takes about 15-20 minutes walking to get to city centre. The hotel has its own parking area and a wine shop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    OK in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a big deal, but quite often in hotels you may find a bottle of water for free. In this hotel there is some water in a fridge, however it would cost you extra money.

    Nothing extra special, just a normal hotel for this money. As a bonus, they have a wine restaurant downstairs :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Great short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely comfortable room with seperate toilet and bathroom. Air conditioner provided which was great as it was extremely warm during our stay. My request for a quiet room was met as our room did not face the busy main road. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant in the basement with a good selection of (mainly cold) items. Limited hot breakfast items - fried eggs and sausage at the weekend with the addition of omelettes and mushrooms on the Monday of our stay. The hotel is a short walk from the main train station and about a 30 minute stroll to the old town with all the shops and restaurants etc. We ate dinner one night in the hotel which was very good. Reasonable selection on the menu. Great value for money and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was slow.

    The location is spot on, you can walk to Old town easily. Parking is really convinient and free. Breakfast assortment eas basic, however included in the price, so no complains here. Comfort and cleanliness was suficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel near to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is near the railway station. I caught the train to Budapest in the morning. I was able to walk from the hotel to the station without crossing roads as there is a pedestrian bridge and no need to use any steps. Hotel itself is comfortable. Lift good. Breakfast choice fine. I only stayed one night. Public transport in Bratislava is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location close to the main station might seem a bit dodgy and it's very loud if you leave your window open during the night (which is necessary when it's warm outside since the room can heat up a bit). No international programmes on TV (if required).

    Big room that offered everything I needed. Comfy bed. Toilet separate from bathroom. Breakfast was nothing special but offered enough choice, fresh vegetables and fruit! Close to a bus stop and a short walk from the main station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no supermarket or minimarket within walking distance

    Clean, spacious room. Comfy bed. Wi-Fi connection was o.k. Friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet. Close to hlavna stanica.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was better than we had anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was better than we had anticipated. Clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the price. The restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very clean room and facilities, exquisite breakfast, comfy bed, really good grape juice in the mini fridge and so refreshing after a day on the road. Great parking facility, central location. All in all, would definitely come back!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel. Would recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet could be a little bit faster. Doors were "smashing" a lot from the other rooms.

    Location of the hotel is very good. Receptionist was very kind and she allowed me to stay a little bit longer than official check out time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Good business hotel with local feel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel feels like a local establishment and (probably) not a chain. Clean and comfortable with good connections to my meeting venue and walkable from Hlavna Stanica - the main train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable accommodation close to main station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant served nice food but portions were a touch on the small side.

    Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Close to main station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable visit to a pretty little city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurant gave the impression of being grumpy but got better as they got to recognise you. Giving some directions when you book to help you walk between the railway station and the hotel would be useful as it is easy to go the wrong way.

    The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. I liked the separate toilet and bathroom. I had a quiet room on the side away from the busy road. The reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast had plenty of choices of things to eat. The WiFi was much better than in most other hotels. The hotel is very well situated near the railway station which is very easy to reach by bus from the airport. It is an easy walk into the city centre too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Rooms were spacious, very good shower and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was served between 7am & 10 am, but food and hot water didn’t seem to be replenished after 9 and when we came for breakfast at 7 on our check out day there was no hot water for tea as the urn had only been switched on at 7!

    Rooms were spacious, very good shower and comfortable beds Reception staff were very helpful. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Comfortable beds, clean room. I enjoyed breakfast, it was well prepared. The hotel is close to the station, thus easy transportation to anywhere and even going across the country. It is also a 20-min walk to the city centre. Well worth the money! Overall, an excellent stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Really good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good hotel. Better than I expected. Great breakfast, conveniently located near the train station and 15 minutes walking from city centre/ old town. Very comfortable beds and spacious bedroom. Nicely designed and decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the weather was terrible.

    I enjoyed the peace and quiet.The room was very comfortable.I thought the fridge could have been a bit bigger.The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good, close to the train station and we walked to the city center everytime. Everything was clean. Very quite although on the main road. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel, clean & comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor Internet connection, practically unsable. Wasn't able to not even open a web page to check the e-mail on my laptop. Ended up sharing the 4G connection from my mobile.

    Good hotel, clean & comfortable room. Located about 15-20 minutes walk from the edge of the city centre. Has a very good restaurant on premises and a beautiful wine cellar which can be visited. Free parking available on-site, good for us as we travelled by car. Good breakfast, though the coffee could do with some improving (I prefer espresso rather than american which is what they offer).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Christmas in Bratislava
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wine list of hotel restaurant available on internet is out of date for many years, so are the prices. This is surprising in a hotel associated with a wine-producing company. On the other hand, a small wine shop next to the hotel (do not miss its cellar) offers excellent selection of local wines for reasonable prices.

    Good location within walking distance from the main railway station and historical city centre. Spacious apartment with a terrace is recommended. Outdoor private parking place is available. Excellent breakfasts combining the continental and English style made from local products are included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    The hotel restaurant was occuped for private event, so we...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant was occuped for private event, so we were exluded from having supper in the evening in the restaurant. We were not informed about it beforehand .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is excellent. Spacious and clean room, well maintained, very comfortable bed, good WiFi connection. Truly excellent reception staff. The hotel is located very close to the city centre which makes walking to the main tourist places quite convenient. The main railway station is just 8 minutes walk away. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything was perfect. If you going by car there is free private parking, easy to find. Staff was very kind and our room was spacious and clean. There was nice big terrace as well. Breakfast was nice. We will come back on our next trip to Bratislava.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Clean and spacious room, very comfy bed, new furniture,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and spacious room, very comfy bed, new furniture, spacious bathroom, good choice of meals for breakfast. Stylish restaurant and vine cellars. Parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    great one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good but not much vegetarian choice of hot food and the meat was touching the cheese.

    Nice room, comfy bed, very quiet, helpful & friendly staff, close to train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay at a quite family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Busy traffic - so it is hard to park when coming from the city centre. Due to location a taxi is essential when returning from the Old Town

    This is a comfortable family run hotel - ideal for a weekend or business trip. Facilities are reasonable as it is only a ten minute bus trip to the Old Town with the entertainment and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    The room was extremely clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely clean. For my personal taste a bit out-fashioned, yet comfortable and very well maintained. Friendly personnel. Relatively close to the main train station (count with climbing some stairs when crossing the bridge over the main street). The hotel's restaurant offers delicious meal and excellent wines.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Basically, the hotel was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi is too weak to even send mail. That thing, it is very annoying and you have to be really patience

    Basically, the hotel was nice. Location is bit far away from old town but it is still in affordable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were big, clean and had extremely comfortable mattress so slept well. Excellent breakfast in a beautiful restaurant with lovely shaped ceiling. Helpful staff.located about 1200m from old centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Great ... but could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that my room hasn't been cleaned during the three nights/four days I was there. Breakfast was good but could use some variation. It's great on the first day but when you stay there for multiple days and you see the same food again and again, I kind of lost my appetite. Attendant at the restaurant could have been more welcoming. "Good morning!" "Enjoy your breakfast!" or even just a smile, could go a long way. After all, they are the very first people the guests see first thing in the morning. I work in the tourism industry where a smileg and uest service is very important.

    Comfortable spacious room. The bathroom/shower are nice and modern. Plenty of space for luggage storage and wardrobe. Nice breakfast included in the rate. Close to popular and major attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Very positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean comfortable rooms. Delicious ample breakfast. Convenient location - walking distance to old city. Large wine cellar - worth seeing. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Quiet, comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have prefered more signs, newspapers, and TV stations to be in English. Also for there have been more information about Bratislava tourist attractions and use of public transport.

    I liked being so close to the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    I enjoyed my stay very much even
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel a good idea is to have a shuttle service into town would be a good idea

    Very close to railway station. Front of house staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    My husband and I we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose your hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As vegan I would appreciate few more breakfast options for example non dairy milk and some yogurts, perhaps some more fruit. Other than that everything was really good!

    Very clean, lovely staff, great location, great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay just out of the City centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missed not having a kettle in the room and limited tv chanels .Also think could make more of the Wine celler in the Restaurant .We had to ask for the wine list and found some amazing wine to try .The hotel is set on a busy road but our room was at the back of the hotel so not much of a problem

    The hotel was around a 10 min walk from the station and about 20 from the City centre and was easy to find .Nice room well decorated and lovely Restaurant with a wine celler that we enjoyed .Could fully open the window so made the room nice and cool and even had a table and 2 chairs for a meal in your room if you wanted and not expensive .Also had a fridge in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Wine in Bratislava
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even a fried bacon was available at breakfast for early-morning guests. The prices of wines served in the restaurant were several times higher than those advertised on restaurant website.

    Perfect location close to the railway station. The historical city centre is within walking distance. Spacious and safe parking place. The hotel is associated with a distinguished wine-producing company. Large selection of local wines is therefore available on site. Good continental breakfast including warm sausages and eggs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    They bothered to prepare glutenfree/lactosefree breakfast (alas for me it was pretty sugary). Good reception. Answering questions. Spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    More like a 4 star...excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely homely feel about the hotel. Expensive fittings including timber furnishings. Absolutely spotlessly clean. The area surrounding is run down but hotel is 15 minutes walk from train station and 15 minutes into the centre of the old town. Staff are efficient but not really friendly. Breakfast was quite good although I did have to request more bacon on 2 occasions as the tray wasn't refilled promptly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We spent only one night. The hotel is just behind the train station which was perfect for US as we had to take an train first thing in the morning. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms Big and the breakfast perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Good clean value for money Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the map, it looks very near the Railway Station though in reality it involves quite a long walk from the railway station via a series of pedestrian overbridges over a busy intersection. I believe there was a walkway from the station to gain quicker access to the Hotel though this is now overgrown.

    Very clean modern Hotel with very pleasant staff. Although on a busy road, the Hotel was guiet with windows closed and effective air con.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    A god value comfortable hotel for visiting the Slovak capital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While it is close to the train station, the immediate neighbourhood is rather run-down (though quite safe). Its a 30-40 minute walk to the Old Town down a rather tedious main road. Public transport (bus/tram) takes you through theUniversity and Commercial districts slightly off the tourist trail -a bonus.

    A well run hotel with an attractive restaurant serving good local dishes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Spacious and quiet room, good Wifi connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no tea/coffee in the room just a mini bar and the air conditioning is loud.

    Spacious and quiet room, good Wifi connection. Great secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    excelent choice, if you are lucky with the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms are facing busy street. Watch out.

    Room with air-condition, but not all rooms fitted. Out of historical center, but easily reacheable by local bus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Naturelovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast and comfortable beds and pillows. 15 minutes walk to old city center. Which is perfect if you like to get a bit of exercise after a meal. Try their local food, it's really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was misleading, it's 100m as the crow flies, but it's more like a 10 minute walk from the main station. There's nothing along that stretch of road, so it feels a bit isolated. There was a little too much furniture in the room, the extra table and chairs make it feel cluttered. The television could do with an English language news channel, and to be fair one for German speakers, and so on.

    The value was good. The breakfast spread was very good, continental and cooked items, the attendant constantly refreshes, filling the juice jugs and adding more eggs etc. The room was lovely, a good size and very nice bathroom, with toiletries including cotton buds.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Matyšák traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: